Auto Recalls for Consumers

DODGE STRATUS - 2001 DODGE STRATUS Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Chrysler Group LLC

There are 181 complaints filed for the 2001 DODGE STRATUS

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2001 DODGE STRATUS. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2001 DODGE STRATUS, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (24) Equipment (1) Parking Brake (2) Service Brakes Air (1) Tires (4)
Child Seat (1) Exterior Lighting (2) Power Train (20) Service Brakes Hydraulic (10) Unknown Or Other (3)
Communications (4) Fuel System Gasoline (2) Seat Belts (2) Steering (25) Vehicle Speed Control (12)
Electrical System (15) Interior Lighting (2) Seats (3) Structure (9) Visibility (6)
Engine (1) Other (1) Service Brakes (2) Suspension (41) Wheels (2)
Engine And Engine Cooling (60)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 21
 
ComplaintDescription

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

6/23/2014 - BROOKLAND, AR
CLOCK-SPRING BROKE WHEN I WAS BACKING OUT OF A PARKING SPACE AND TURNING THE STEERING WHEEL TO THE LEFT. NOW MY AIR BAG LIGHT STAYS ON AND EVERYTHING ELECTRICAL ON THE STEERING WHEEL DOES NOT WORK, THIS INCLUDES THE HORN, CRUISE CONTROL AND THE AIRBAG. IF THIS IS NOT A SAFETY ISSUE DESERVING OF A RECALL THEN WHAT EXACTLY IS?

View Details

AIR BAGS

6/23/2014 - BROOKLAND, AR
CLOCK-SPRING BROKE WHEN I WAS BACKING OUT OF A PARKING SPACE AND TURNING THE STEERING WHEEL TO THE LEFT. NOW MY AIR BAG LIGHT STAYS ON AND EVERYTHING ELECTRICAL ON THE STEERING WHEEL DOES NOT WORK, THIS INCLUDES THE HORN, CRUISE CONTROL AND THE AIRBAG. IF THIS IS NOT A SAFETY ISSUE DESERVING OF A RECALL THEN WHAT EXACTLY IS?

View Details

AIR BAGS: FRONTAL

5/14/2014 - GREENVILLE, NC
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2001 DODGE STRATUS. THE CONTACT STATED WHILE THE VEHICLE WAS AT A COMPLETE STOP THE PASSENGER FRONTAL AIR BAG DEPLOYED WITH AN EXPLOSIVE NOISE THAT CAUSED SOME HEARING LOSS TO THE CONTACT'S RIGHT EAR. THE FIRE DEPARTMENT WAS PRESENT. THE MANUFACTURER STATED THAT THE VEHICLE WAS NOT INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN RECALL NUMBER 00V306000 (AIR BAG). THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE FAILURE AND CURRENT MILEAGE WERE 100,000.

View Details

AIR BAGS

5/14/2014 - GREENVILLE, NC
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2001 DODGE STRATUS. THE CONTACT STATED WHILE THE VEHICLE WAS AT A COMPLETE STOP THE PASSENGER FRONTAL AIR BAG DEPLOYED WITH AN EXPLOSIVE NOISE THAT CAUSED SOME HEARING LOSS TO THE CONTACT'S RIGHT EAR. THE FIRE DEPARTMENT WAS PRESENT. THE MANUFACTURER STATED THAT THE VEHICLE WAS NOT INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN RECALL NUMBER 00V306000 (AIR BAG). THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE FAILURE AND CURRENT MILEAGE WERE 100,000.

View Details

AIR BAGS

3/1/2014 - BROOKLAND, AR
PURCHASED A USED 2001 DODGE STRATUS AND ABOUT A WEEK AFTER PURCHASING IT I WAS BACKING OUT OF A PARKING SPACE AT THE STORE WHEN I HEARD A SNAP/POP SOUND FROM THE STEERING COLUMN. AIR BAG LIGHT CAME ON AND NOW EVERYTIME I TURN THE WHEEL I CAN HEAR A POPPING OR CLICKING SOUND. THE IRONY IS THAT I BOUGHT IT BECAUSE MY 96 DODGE INTREPID IS HAVING ELECTRICAL ISSUES WHICH INCLUDED THE AIR BAG LIGHT BEING ON AND AFFECTING THE ELECTRIC WINDOWS AND THE HEATER/AIR CONDITIONING BLOWER SO I HAVE NO HEATER NOR DEFROSTER. I HAVE ALWAYS BEEN A CHRYSLER/DODGE PERSON AND HAVE ALWAYS OWNED ONE SINCE I WAS 18, BUT I AM BEGINNING TO THINK I NEED TO CHANGE MY LOYALTY TO ANOTHER MAKE AND MODEL.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

3/1/2014 - BROOKLAND, AR
PURCHASED A USED 2001 DODGE STRATUS AND ABOUT A WEEK AFTER PURCHASING IT I WAS BACKING OUT OF A PARKING SPACE AT THE STORE WHEN I HEARD A SNAP/POP SOUND FROM THE STEERING COLUMN. AIR BAG LIGHT CAME ON AND NOW EVERYTIME I TURN THE WHEEL I CAN HEAR A POPPING OR CLICKING SOUND. THE IRONY IS THAT I BOUGHT IT BECAUSE MY 96 DODGE INTREPID IS HAVING ELECTRICAL ISSUES WHICH INCLUDED THE AIR BAG LIGHT BEING ON AND AFFECTING THE ELECTRIC WINDOWS AND THE HEATER/AIR CONDITIONING BLOWER SO I HAVE NO HEATER NOR DEFROSTER. I HAVE ALWAYS BEEN A CHRYSLER/DODGE PERSON AND HAVE ALWAYS OWNED ONE SINCE I WAS 18, BUT I AM BEGINNING TO THINK I NEED TO CHANGE MY LOYALTY TO ANOTHER MAKE AND MODEL.

View Details

STEERING

2/18/2013 - DORR, MI
I WAS DRIVING OUR 2001 DODGE STRATUS TO PARK AT THE MOVIE THEATER , GOING ONLY 5 MPH MAYBE LESS AND I WENT TO TURN INTO THE PARKING SPOT, I HEARD A CLICK IN THE STEERING WHEEL, A POP, THE AIRBAG LIGHT CAME ON AND THE HORN DOES NOT WORK AT ALL AND THE AIRBAG LIGHT IS STILL ON. EVERYTIME THE STEERING WHEEL IS TURNED, THERE IS A CLICKING NOISE.

View Details

AIR BAGS

2/18/2013 - DORR, MI
I WAS DRIVING OUR 2001 DODGE STRATUS TO PARK AT THE MOVIE THEATER , GOING ONLY 5 MPH MAYBE LESS AND I WENT TO TURN INTO THE PARKING SPOT, I HEARD A CLICK IN THE STEERING WHEEL, A POP, THE AIRBAG LIGHT CAME ON AND THE HORN DOES NOT WORK AT ALL AND THE AIRBAG LIGHT IS STILL ON. EVERYTIME THE STEERING WHEEL IS TURNED, THERE IS A CLICKING NOISE.

View Details

ENGINE

8/6/2012 - SOUTH CHICAGO HEIGHTS, IL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2001 DODGE STRATUS. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 35 MPH, THE ENGINE BEGAN TO OVERHEAT WITHOUT WARNING AS SMOKE EMITTING FROM UNDER THE HOOD. THE CONTACT SMELLED FUEL INSIDE AND OUTSIDE OF THE VEHICLE. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC WHO STATED THAT THE ENGINE WOULD NEED TO BE REPLACED. THERE WAS A RECALL ASSOCIATED WITH NHTSA CAMPAIGN ID NUMBER 00V299002 (ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING:ENGINE) HOWEVER, THE CONTACT'S VIN WAS NOT INCLUDED IN THE RECALL. THE VEHICLE HAD NOT BEEN REPAIRED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS UNAVAILABLE.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

7/31/2012 - INDIAN ORCHARD, MA
TRUNK DOOR DESIGN HAS A DEFECT THAT WILL CAUSE THE TRUNK DOOR TO SLAM DOWN WITH EXCESSIVE AND UNIMPEDED FORCE WITHOUT WARNING AND WILL DO SO ON ITS OWN, EVEN IN CALM WINDS. MULTIPLE INCIDENT HAVE OCCURRED WHERE THE TRUNK DOOR HAS SLAMMED DOWN WHILE THE DRIVER OR THE PASSENGER WAS REACHING INTO THE TRUNK TO RETRIEVE ARTICLES FROM THE TRUNK. CURRENTLY THE ONLY WAY TO SAFELY USE THE TRUNK IS TO HAVE A SECOND PERSON HOLD THE TRUNK DOOR WHILE THE FIRST PERSON PLACES OR RETRIEVES ARTICLES FROM THE TRUNK. INJURIES THAT HAVE OCCURRED WERE MOMENTARY BACK PAIN AND ON ONE OCCASION A CONCUSSION (WHEN THE TRUNK DOOR HIT THE VEHICLE OWNER IN THE HEAD). NONE OF THE INJURIES REQUIRED MEDICAL TREATMENT. PROBLEM GETS WORSE WHEN VEHICLE IS PARKED ON AN INCLINE (PARTICULARLY IF THE REAR OF THE VEHICLE IS FACING DOWNHILL), EVEN IF THE INCLINE IS SLIGHT.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 21
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds