Auto Recalls for Consumers

DODGE STRATUS - 2001 DODGE STRATUS Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Chrysler Group LLC

There are 178 complaints filed for the 2001 DODGE STRATUS

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2001 DODGE STRATUS. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2001 DODGE STRATUS, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (21) Equipment (1) Parking Brake (2) Service Brakes Air (1) Tires (4)
Child Seat (1) Exterior Lighting (2) Power Train (20) Service Brakes Hydraulic (10) Unknown Or Other (3)
Communications (4) Fuel System Gasoline (2) Seat Belts (2) Steering (25) Vehicle Speed Control (12)
Electrical System (13) Interior Lighting (2) Seats (3) Structure (9) Visibility (6)
Engine (1) Other (1) Service Brakes (2) Suspension (40) Wheels (2)
Engine And Engine Cooling (60)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 20
 
ComplaintDescription

AIR BAGS

3/1/2014 - BROOKLAND, AR
PURCHASED A USED 2001 DODGE STRATUS AND ABOUT A WEEK AFTER PURCHASING IT I WAS BACKING OUT OF A PARKING SPACE AT THE STORE WHEN I HEARD A SNAP/POP SOUND FROM THE STEERING COLUMN. AIR BAG LIGHT CAME ON AND NOW EVERYTIME I TURN THE WHEEL I CAN HEAR A POPPING OR CLICKING SOUND. THE IRONY IS THAT I BOUGHT IT BECAUSE MY 96 DODGE INTREPID IS HAVING ELECTRICAL ISSUES WHICH INCLUDED THE AIR BAG LIGHT BEING ON AND AFFECTING THE ELECTRIC WINDOWS AND THE HEATER/AIR CONDITIONING BLOWER SO I HAVE NO HEATER NOR DEFROSTER. I HAVE ALWAYS BEEN A CHRYSLER/DODGE PERSON AND HAVE ALWAYS OWNED ONE SINCE I WAS 18, BUT I AM BEGINNING TO THINK I NEED TO CHANGE MY LOYALTY TO ANOTHER MAKE AND MODEL.

View Details

AIR BAGS

2/18/2013 - DORR, MI
I WAS DRIVING OUR 2001 DODGE STRATUS TO PARK AT THE MOVIE THEATER , GOING ONLY 5 MPH MAYBE LESS AND I WENT TO TURN INTO THE PARKING SPOT, I HEARD A CLICK IN THE STEERING WHEEL, A POP, THE AIRBAG LIGHT CAME ON AND THE HORN DOES NOT WORK AT ALL AND THE AIRBAG LIGHT IS STILL ON. EVERYTIME THE STEERING WHEEL IS TURNED, THERE IS A CLICKING NOISE.

View Details

STEERING

2/18/2013 - DORR, MI
I WAS DRIVING OUR 2001 DODGE STRATUS TO PARK AT THE MOVIE THEATER , GOING ONLY 5 MPH MAYBE LESS AND I WENT TO TURN INTO THE PARKING SPOT, I HEARD A CLICK IN THE STEERING WHEEL, A POP, THE AIRBAG LIGHT CAME ON AND THE HORN DOES NOT WORK AT ALL AND THE AIRBAG LIGHT IS STILL ON. EVERYTIME THE STEERING WHEEL IS TURNED, THERE IS A CLICKING NOISE.

View Details

ENGINE

8/6/2012 - SOUTH CHICAGO HEIGHTS, IL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2001 DODGE STRATUS. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 35 MPH, THE ENGINE BEGAN TO OVERHEAT WITHOUT WARNING AS SMOKE EMITTING FROM UNDER THE HOOD. THE CONTACT SMELLED FUEL INSIDE AND OUTSIDE OF THE VEHICLE. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC WHO STATED THAT THE ENGINE WOULD NEED TO BE REPLACED. THERE WAS A RECALL ASSOCIATED WITH NHTSA CAMPAIGN ID NUMBER 00V299002 (ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING:ENGINE) HOWEVER, THE CONTACT'S VIN WAS NOT INCLUDED IN THE RECALL. THE VEHICLE HAD NOT BEEN REPAIRED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS UNAVAILABLE.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

7/31/2012 - INDIAN ORCHARD, MA
TRUNK DOOR DESIGN HAS A DEFECT THAT WILL CAUSE THE TRUNK DOOR TO SLAM DOWN WITH EXCESSIVE AND UNIMPEDED FORCE WITHOUT WARNING AND WILL DO SO ON ITS OWN, EVEN IN CALM WINDS. MULTIPLE INCIDENT HAVE OCCURRED WHERE THE TRUNK DOOR HAS SLAMMED DOWN WHILE THE DRIVER OR THE PASSENGER WAS REACHING INTO THE TRUNK TO RETRIEVE ARTICLES FROM THE TRUNK. CURRENTLY THE ONLY WAY TO SAFELY USE THE TRUNK IS TO HAVE A SECOND PERSON HOLD THE TRUNK DOOR WHILE THE FIRST PERSON PLACES OR RETRIEVES ARTICLES FROM THE TRUNK. INJURIES THAT HAVE OCCURRED WERE MOMENTARY BACK PAIN AND ON ONE OCCASION A CONCUSSION (WHEN THE TRUNK DOOR HIT THE VEHICLE OWNER IN THE HEAD). NONE OF THE INJURIES REQUIRED MEDICAL TREATMENT. PROBLEM GETS WORSE WHEN VEHICLE IS PARKED ON AN INCLINE (PARTICULARLY IF THE REAR OF THE VEHICLE IS FACING DOWNHILL), EVEN IF THE INCLINE IS SLIGHT.

View Details

SUSPENSION

6/27/2012 - ATHENS , GA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2001 DODGE STRATUS. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING 80 MPH, THE BALL AND AXLE JOINTS DETACHED FROM THE VEHICLE. THE CONTACT WAS ABLE TO SAFELY MANEUVER TO THE SHOULDER AND STOP. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO A LOCAL REPAIR SHOP. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT TAKEN TO THE DEALER. THE MANUFACTURER WAS CONTACTED AND THEY STATED THAT THE VEHICE WAS NOT INCLUDED IN ANY RECALLS. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 119,000 AND THE CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 125,000.

View Details

AIR BAGS

4/26/2012 - RIPON, CA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2001 DODGE STRATUS. THE CONTACT WAS STOPPED IN TRAFFIC WHEN A VEHICLE CRASHED INTO THE REAR OF HER, CAUSING HER TO CRASH INTO THE PRECEDING VEHICLE. THE DRIVER OF THE VEHICLE SUSTAINED INJURIES TO THE NECK AND BACK. THE AIR BAGS DID NOT DEPLOY. THE DRIVER WAS TRANSPORTED BY AMBULANCE TO THE HOSPITAL. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO A BODY SHOP BUT WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE VEHICLE WAS DESTROYED. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 130,000.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING

1/11/2012 - WATERLOO, IL
VERY FORTUNATE THIS HAPPENED AS WE WERE PULLING INTO THE GARAGE. SUDDENLY SOUNDED LIKE SOMEONE UNDER THE HOOD HITTING THE ENGINE BLOCK WITH A HAMMER. NOW HAVE TO HAVE A RE-MANUFACTURED ENGINE INSTALLED ON A CAR WITH ONLY 65K MILES. CANT AFFORD NOT TO, CANT SCRAP THE VEHICLE WITH THIS LOW OF MILES. RIDICULOUS AFTER WHAT ALL I HAVE READ ABOUT THE 2.7L ENGINE SINCE THEN. I PERSONALLY CHANGED OIL WELL UNDER MANUFACTURER RECOMMENDATIONS, USING SYNTHETIC MOST OF ITS LIFE.

View Details

STEERING

11/29/2011 - HESPERIA, CA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2001 DODGE STRATUS. THE CONTACT WAS DRIVING 30 MPH WHEN THE STEERING WHEEL BECAME LOOSE, CAUSING THE CONTACT TO LOSE CONTROL OF THE VEHICLE AND CRASHED INTO A FENCE. THERE WERE NO INJURIES AND A POLICE REPORT WAS NOT FILED OF THE INCIDENT. THE DEALER AND THE MANUFACTURER WERE NOTIFIED AND ADVISED THAT THE VEHICLE WAS NOT INCLUDED IN THE RECALL ASSOCIATED WITH NHTSA CAMPAIGN ID NUMBER: 00V225002 (STEERING:GEAR BOX -OTHER THAN RACK AND PINION). THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE FAILURE AND THE CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 130,000.

View Details

AIR BAGS

10/23/2011 - GALLOWAY, OH
UPON A SLOW TURN TO STREET, I HEARD A CLICK AND GRIND SOUND IN STEERING WHEEL.. AIRBAG LIGHT AND BELL CAME ON . TWO DAYS LATER, HORN STOPPED WORKING. LOOKED UP ONLINE, AND THIS SEEMS TO BE WIDESPREAD ACROSS THE DODGE LINE OF VEHICLES. THE SYMPTOMS FIT EXACTLY TO WHAT I FOUND ONLINE TO BE A FAULTY CLOCKSPRING IN THE AIRBAG ASSEMBLY. I WATCHED SOMEONE DISASSEMBLE A CLOCKSPRING AND FOUND THE (TAPE-TYPE) WIRES HAD BEEN BENT BACKWARDS BY THE MANUFACTURER BEFORE BEING BENT THE OTHER WAY.( WITHIN TWO INCHES OF THE CONNECTION POINT OF THE TAPE WIRE) UPON DISASSEMBLY , HE FOUND THE WIRES TO BE SEPARATED WHERE THE BEND IN THE TAPE WAS.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 20
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds