Auto Recalls for Consumers

FORD EXPLORER - 2001 FORD EXPLORER Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Ford Motor Company

There are 361 complaints filed for the 2001 FORD EXPLORER

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2001 FORD EXPLORER. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2001 FORD EXPLORER, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (26) Exterior Lighting (11) Parking Brake (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (34) Unknown Or Other (9)
Electrical System (24) Fuel Propulsion System (1) Power Train (41) Steering (19) Vehicle Speed Control (37)
Engine (2) Fuel System Gasoline (9) Seat Belts (10) Structure (27) Visibility (17)
Engine And Engine Cooling (40) Fuel System Other (2) Seats (22) Suspension (41) Visibility Wiper (1)
Equipment (10) Latches Locks Linkages (2) Service Brakes (1) Tires (67) Wheels (9)
Equipment Adaptive (1)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 46
 
ComplaintDescription

EQUIPMENT ADAPTIVE

11/19/2014 - BASEHOR, KS
REAR END OF CAR THUMPED EVERY TIME YOU WOULD GO OVER THE SMALLEST SEPARATION IN THE ROAD AND ALSO ON A BUMPY ROAD. REPLACED REAR END SHOCKS. STILL HAVE THE SAME PROBLEM OF THUMPING. SOME TIMES IT FEELS LIKE I'M GOING TO LOOSE THE REAR END OF THE VEHICLE. I WAS TOLD POSSIBLY NOW THAT BACK BUSHINGS HOLDING THE BODY TO THE FRAME MAY BE DESENEGRATED. VEHICLE HAS ALWAYS BEEN WELL MAINTAINED AND GARAGED. I HAVE FOUND OUT THAT THERE HAVE BEEN MANY COMPLAINTS ABOUT THIS OCCURING NOW WITH THIS 2001 MODEL. YOU WOULD THINK THERE WOULD BE A SAFETY RECALL BY FORD TO FIX THESE BUSHING PROBLEMS.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

11/19/2014 - BASEHOR, KS
REAR END OF CAR THUMPED EVERY TIME YOU WOULD GO OVER THE SMALLEST SEPARATION IN THE ROAD AND ALSO ON A BUMPY ROAD. REPLACED REAR END SHOCKS. STILL HAVE THE SAME PROBLEM OF THUMPING. SOME TIMES IT FEELS LIKE I'M GOING TO LOOSE THE REAR END OF THE VEHICLE. I WAS TOLD POSSIBLY NOW THAT BACK BUSHINGS HOLDING THE BODY TO THE FRAME MAY BE DESENEGRATED. VEHICLE HAS ALWAYS BEEN WELL MAINTAINED AND GARAGED. I HAVE FOUND OUT THAT THERE HAVE BEEN MANY COMPLAINTS ABOUT THIS OCCURING NOW WITH THIS 2001 MODEL. YOU WOULD THINK THERE WOULD BE A SAFETY RECALL BY FORD TO FIX THESE BUSHING PROBLEMS.

View Details

SUSPENSION

11/19/2014 - BASEHOR, KS
REAR END OF CAR THUMPED EVERY TIME YOU WOULD GO OVER THE SMALLEST SEPARATION IN THE ROAD AND ALSO ON A BUMPY ROAD. REPLACED REAR END SHOCKS. STILL HAVE THE SAME PROBLEM OF THUMPING. SOME TIMES IT FEELS LIKE I'M GOING TO LOOSE THE REAR END OF THE VEHICLE. I WAS TOLD POSSIBLY NOW THAT BACK BUSHINGS HOLDING THE BODY TO THE FRAME MAY BE DESENEGRATED. VEHICLE HAS ALWAYS BEEN WELL MAINTAINED AND GARAGED. I HAVE FOUND OUT THAT THERE HAVE BEEN MANY COMPLAINTS ABOUT THIS OCCURING NOW WITH THIS 2001 MODEL. YOU WOULD THINK THERE WOULD BE A SAFETY RECALL BY FORD TO FIX THESE BUSHING PROBLEMS.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

11/3/2014 - BELLE CHASSE, LA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2001 FORD EXPLORER. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE BODY MOUNTS CORRODED WHICH CAUSED THE FRAME TO BECOME DETACHED FROM THE BODY OF THE VEHICLE. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER AND THE REAR BODY MOUNTS WERE REPLACED. THE FRONT PARTS WERE NOT REPLACED DUE TO THE PARTS BEING UNAVAILABLE. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 100,000.

View Details

STRUCTURE: FRAME AND MEMBERS

11/3/2014 - BELLE CHASSE, LA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2001 FORD EXPLORER. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE BODY MOUNTS CORRODED WHICH CAUSED THE FRAME TO BECOME DETACHED FROM THE BODY OF THE VEHICLE. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER AND THE REAR BODY MOUNTS WERE REPLACED. THE FRONT PARTS WERE NOT REPLACED DUE TO THE PARTS BEING UNAVAILABLE. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 100,000.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

10/16/2014 - DORADO, PR
THE FORD EXPLORER 2001 XLS 4.0L REAR WHEEL DRIVE TRANSMISSION IS DEFECTIVE IN SLIP 4 TO 5 GEAR IN 75000 MILES.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

10/16/2014 - DORADO, PR
THE FORD EXPLORER 2001 XLS 4.0L REAR WHEEL DRIVE TRANSMISSION IS DEFECTIVE IN SLIP 4 TO 5 GEAR IN 75000 MILES.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

10/16/2014 - DORADO, PR
THE FORD EXPLORER 2001 XLS 4.0L REAR WHEEL DRIVE TRANSMISSION IS DEFECTIVE IN SLIP 4 TO 5 GEAR IN 75000 MILES.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

6/21/2014 - SHORELINE, WA
I TOOK MY CAR TO ASTORIA FORD LATE LAST YEAR, BECAUSE IT WAS STALLING AND LOSING POWER. THE CHARGED ME ALMOST $1,000.00 AND THE PROBLEM PERSISTS. THE O/D ON OFF LIGHT WILL STOP AND START. WHEN IT COMES ON WHICH JUST STARTED TODAY, THE CAR IN ANY GEAR WHILE ONLY GO FORWARD. IN REVERSE AND NEUTRAL, ONLY FORWARD. AS A POLICE OFFICER THIS IS VERY DANGEROUS, AND I CANNOT DRIVE THE VEHICLE. MANY HAVE SUBMITTED COMPLAINTS ABOUT THIS TO FORD, THEY CALL IT A PHANTOM PROBLEM. I HOPE THIS PHANTOM PROBLEM DOES NOT OCCUR IN FRONT OF A DAY CARE.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

6/19/2014 - 605-215-3876, SD
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2001 FORD EXPLORER. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 35 MPH, THE ANTI LOCK BRAKING SYSTEM SUDDENLY MALFUNCTIONED AND THE VEHICLE FAILED TO STOP. THE CONATCT HAD TO ENGAGE THE EMERGENCY BRAKE TO STOP THE VEHICLE. THE CONTACT INDICATED THAT THE DEFECT OCCURRED MULTIPLE TIMES. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC, WHO WAS UNABLE TO DIAGNOSE THE DEFECT. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 100,000.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 46
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds