Auto Recalls for Consumers

FORD EXPLORER - 2001 FORD EXPLORER Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Ford Motor Company

There are 358 complaints filed for the 2001 FORD EXPLORER

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2001 FORD EXPLORER. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2001 FORD EXPLORER, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (26) Exterior Lighting (11) Power Train (40) Steering (19) Vehicle Speed Control (37)
Electrical System (24) Fuel System Gasoline (9) Seat Belts (10) Structure (24) Visibility (17)
Engine (2) Fuel System Other (2) Seats (22) Suspension (40) Visibility Wiper (1)
Engine And Engine Cooling (40) Latches Locks Linkages (2) Service Brakes (1) Tires (67) Wheels (9)
Equipment (10) Parking Brake (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (34) Unknown Or Other (8)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 45
 
ComplaintDescription

POWER TRAIN

6/21/2014 - SHORELINE, WA
I TOOK MY CAR TO ASTORIA FORD LATE LAST YEAR, BECAUSE IT WAS STALLING AND LOSING POWER. THE CHARGED ME ALMOST $1,000.00 AND THE PROBLEM PERSISTS. THE O/D ON OFF LIGHT WILL STOP AND START. WHEN IT COMES ON WHICH JUST STARTED TODAY, THE CAR IN ANY GEAR WHILE ONLY GO FORWARD. IN REVERSE AND NEUTRAL, ONLY FORWARD. AS A POLICE OFFICER THIS IS VERY DANGEROUS, AND I CANNOT DRIVE THE VEHICLE. MANY HAVE SUBMITTED COMPLAINTS ABOUT THIS TO FORD, THEY CALL IT A PHANTOM PROBLEM. I HOPE THIS PHANTOM PROBLEM DOES NOT OCCUR IN FRONT OF A DAY CARE.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

6/19/2014 - 605-215-3876, SD
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2001 FORD EXPLORER. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 35 MPH, THE ANTI LOCK BRAKING SYSTEM SUDDENLY MALFUNCTIONED AND THE VEHICLE FAILED TO STOP. THE CONATCT HAD TO ENGAGE THE EMERGENCY BRAKE TO STOP THE VEHICLE. THE CONTACT INDICATED THAT THE DEFECT OCCURRED MULTIPLE TIMES. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC, WHO WAS UNABLE TO DIAGNOSE THE DEFECT. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 100,000.

View Details

SUSPENSION

6/4/2014 - VENICE, FL
FORD EXPLORERS MANUFACTURED IN 2001 WERE EQUIPPED WITH DEFECTIVE ENGINEERED BODY TO FRAME BUSHINGS WHICH HAVE COMPLETELY DETERIORATE AND JUST AS EASILY CRUMBLED IN YOUR HAND, NOW, BUT BEGIN DETERIORATING ONLY A FEW SHORT YEARS FROM WHEN NEW. FORD STOPPED USING THIS STYLE MANUFACURED MOUNT BUSHINGS AFTER THESE FEW MANUFACTURING YEARS BECAUSE THEY KNEW THEY WERE DEFECTIVE. I'VE SPOKEN TO MANY EXPLORER OWNERS WHO HAVE THIS EXACT SAME PROBLEM , AND THOSE I ASK TO LOOK UNDER THEIR VEHICLES, WHICH ARE NOT A VISIBLE DEFECT UNLESS UNDER THE CAR AND HANDS-ON INSPECTION, ALSO FOUND THIS PROBLEM. MY VEHICLE IS IN LIKE-NEW CONDITION OTHERWISE AND HAS ALWAYS BEEN GARAGED IN THE STATE OF FLORIDA. THESE BODY TO MOUNT BUSHINGS, WHEN DETERIORATED CAUSE SERIOUS SAFETY PROBLEMS TO EXPLORER DRIVERS AND ALL OTHERS DRIVING IN OTHER VEHICLES, DUE TO UNEXPECTED SWAYING AND OR BOUNCING POSSIBLY CAUSING THE VEHICLE TO CRASH AND CAUSE SERIOUS INJURY TO ANYONE DRIVING NEAR THE EXPLORERS. I BELIEVE, AND AM SURE, THAT THE MATERIAL MIX OF THE RUBBER/SILICONE BUSHINGS WAS COMPROMISED DURING MANUFACTURING AND THESE VEHICLES SHOULD IMMEDIATELY RECSLLED TO REPLACE THESE BUSHINGS WHICH SHOUL LAST THE LIFETIME OF THE VEHICLE. CARS 40 PLUS YEARS OLD HAVE BODY TO FRAME BUSHINGS STILL IN GOOD CONDITION. FOR THESE BUSHINGS TO START DETERIORATING AFTER ONLY A FEW YEARS AND BEING COMPLETELY USELESS AT THIS AGE AND CONDITION OF VEHICLE IS UNHEARD OF. NOW IS THE TIME TO MAKE SURE ALL EXPLORER SPORT OWNERS IN THE 2001 PLUS OR MINUS VICINITY BE NOTIFIED BY FORD OF THIS DEFECT. PLEASE LOOK UNDER ANY EXPLORER SPORT MADE IN 2001 , AND YOU CAN CONFIRM MY FINDINGS. ALSO, HAVE A PRIVATE ENGINEER TEST THE BUSHING RUBBER/SILICONE MATERIALS USED IN THIS YEAR RANGE, AND I ASSURE YOU THEY WILL BACK MY CLAIM.

View Details

ENGINE

5/5/2014 - ST. LOUIS, MO
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2001 FORD EXPLORER. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE REVERSING INTO A PARKING SPACE, THE VEHICLE LUNGED FORWARD WITHOUT WARNING. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT TAKEN TO A DEALER OR INDEPENDENT MECHANIC. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE CURRENT AND FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 26,500.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

4/21/2014 - RENSSELAER, NY
FOR THE SECOND TIME, THE VEHICLE'S TRANSMISSION FAILED, LEAVING THE VEHICLE COMPLETELY POWERLESS WHILE DRIVING. THE TRANSMISSION ALSO FAILED AT APPROXIMATELY 70,000 MILES IN 2006, AGAIN WHILE DRIVING THE VEHICLE IN TRAFFIC. IN BOTH CASES, I, AS THE DRIVER, WAS NEARLY INVOLVED IN ACCIDENTS WITH OTHER VEHICLES BECAUSE OF THE COMPLETE LOSS OF THE TRANSMISSION POWER TRAIN. THE VEHICLE ALSO GAVE NO WARNING OF THE FAILURE PRIOR TO THESE EVENTS. IT IS MY UNDERSTANDING THAT THIS HAS BEEN A LONG-STANDING DESIGN DEFECT WITH FORD EXPLORERS, WITH A HIGH NUMBER OF VEHICLES FROM THE EARLY 2000S SUFFERING SIMILAR TRANSMISSION FAILURES. THIS IS BOTH DANGEROUS AND, I BELIEVE, A DEFECT THAT COULD CAUSE INJURY AND/OR DEATH.. I ALSO WISH TO ADD THAT THIS VEHICLE, WHICH IS 4 WHEEL DRIVE AND INCLUDES A FACTORY INSTALLED TOWING PACKAGE, HAS ONLY OCCASIONALLY BEEN USED FOR TOWING A BOAT (2X PER YEAR) AND IS SELDOM USED IN ITS 4 WHEEL DRIVE CAPACITY (ONLY ON SNOW COVERED ROADS 2-3 TIMES PER YEAR). THE VEHICLE HAS BEEN WELL MAINTAINED. THE COST OF THE REPAIRS IN EACH CASE WAS OVER $2,000.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

2/23/2014 - FORT WORTH, TX
AS WITH SO MANY EXPLORERS I HAVE READ ABOUT, MY O/D LIGHT COMES ON AND FLASHES. I LOSE ALL POWER DURING INITIAL ACCELERATION AND THEN THE TRUCK SHOOTS OFF LIKE A ROCKET. IF I TURN THE IGNITION OFF, THE LIGHT RESETS AND THE VEHICLE IS OK FOR A WHILE UNTIL THE LIGHT AS WITH SO MANY EXPLORERS I HAVE READ ABOUT, MY O/D LIGHT COMES ON AND FLASHES. I LOSE ALL POWER DURING INITIAL ACCELERATION AND THEN THE TRUCK SHOOTS OFF LIKE A ROCKET. IF I TURN THE IGNITION OFF, THE LIGHT RESETS AND THE VEHICLE IS OK FOR A WHILE UNTIL THE LIGHT COMES ON AGAIN. I HAD THE CODES READ AND IT CAME UP A SOLENOID PROBLEM. I HAD THEM REPLACED AND TEN MILES FROM THE LOT, THE LIGHT CAME ON AGAIN. I HAVE READ THAT THIS IS A KNOWN ISSUE FROM FORD, BUT THEY HAVE YET TO ACT ON THIS ISSUE. COMES ON AGAIN. I HAD THE CODES READ AND IT CAME UP A SOLENOID PROBLEM. I HAD THEM REPLACED AND TEN MILES FROM THE LOT, THE LIGHT CAME ON AGAIN. I HAVE READ THAT THIS IS A KNOWN ISSUE FROM FORD, BUT THEY HAVE YET TO ACT ON THIS ISSUE. I TOOK IT TO THE FORD SHOP AND THEY TOLD ME THAT THEY HAVE FIXED SEVERAL AND THEY GO RIGHT BACK OUT IT WAS A WASTE OF MY TIME.. DOES SOMEONE HAVE TO GET KILLED BEFORE U ALL FIX THIS IF U TRY TO TAKE OFF AND IT SLIPS AND WILL NOT GO U CAN AND WILL GET HIT.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

2/23/2014 - FORT WORTH, TX
AS WITH SO MANY EXPLORERS I HAVE READ ABOUT, MY O/D LIGHT COMES ON AND FLASHES. I LOSE ALL POWER DURING INITIAL ACCELERATION AND THEN THE TRUCK SHOOTS OFF LIKE A ROCKET. IF I TURN THE IGNITION OFF, THE LIGHT RESETS AND THE VEHICLE IS OK FOR A WHILE UNTIL THE LIGHT AS WITH SO MANY EXPLORERS I HAVE READ ABOUT, MY O/D LIGHT COMES ON AND FLASHES. I LOSE ALL POWER DURING INITIAL ACCELERATION AND THEN THE TRUCK SHOOTS OFF LIKE A ROCKET. IF I TURN THE IGNITION OFF, THE LIGHT RESETS AND THE VEHICLE IS OK FOR A WHILE UNTIL THE LIGHT COMES ON AGAIN. I HAD THE CODES READ AND IT CAME UP A SOLENOID PROBLEM. I HAD THEM REPLACED AND TEN MILES FROM THE LOT, THE LIGHT CAME ON AGAIN. I HAVE READ THAT THIS IS A KNOWN ISSUE FROM FORD, BUT THEY HAVE YET TO ACT ON THIS ISSUE. COMES ON AGAIN. I HAD THE CODES READ AND IT CAME UP A SOLENOID PROBLEM. I HAD THEM REPLACED AND TEN MILES FROM THE LOT, THE LIGHT CAME ON AGAIN. I HAVE READ THAT THIS IS A KNOWN ISSUE FROM FORD, BUT THEY HAVE YET TO ACT ON THIS ISSUE. I TOOK IT TO THE FORD SHOP AND THEY TOLD ME THAT THEY HAVE FIXED SEVERAL AND THEY GO RIGHT BACK OUT IT WAS A WASTE OF MY TIME.. DOES SOMEONE HAVE TO GET KILLED BEFORE U ALL FIX THIS IF U TRY TO TAKE OFF AND IT SLIPS AND WILL NOT GO U CAN AND WILL GET HIT.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

2/23/2014 - FORT WORTH, TX
AS WITH SO MANY EXPLORERS I HAVE READ ABOUT, MY O/D LIGHT COMES ON AND FLASHES. I LOSE ALL POWER DURING INITIAL ACCELERATION AND THEN THE TRUCK SHOOTS OFF LIKE A ROCKET. IF I TURN THE IGNITION OFF, THE LIGHT RESETS AND THE VEHICLE IS OK FOR A WHILE UNTIL THE LIGHT AS WITH SO MANY EXPLORERS I HAVE READ ABOUT, MY O/D LIGHT COMES ON AND FLASHES. I LOSE ALL POWER DURING INITIAL ACCELERATION AND THEN THE TRUCK SHOOTS OFF LIKE A ROCKET. IF I TURN THE IGNITION OFF, THE LIGHT RESETS AND THE VEHICLE IS OK FOR A WHILE UNTIL THE LIGHT COMES ON AGAIN. I HAD THE CODES READ AND IT CAME UP A SOLENOID PROBLEM. I HAD THEM REPLACED AND TEN MILES FROM THE LOT, THE LIGHT CAME ON AGAIN. I HAVE READ THAT THIS IS A KNOWN ISSUE FROM FORD, BUT THEY HAVE YET TO ACT ON THIS ISSUE. COMES ON AGAIN. I HAD THE CODES READ AND IT CAME UP A SOLENOID PROBLEM. I HAD THEM REPLACED AND TEN MILES FROM THE LOT, THE LIGHT CAME ON AGAIN. I HAVE READ THAT THIS IS A KNOWN ISSUE FROM FORD, BUT THEY HAVE YET TO ACT ON THIS ISSUE. I TOOK IT TO THE FORD SHOP AND THEY TOLD ME THAT THEY HAVE FIXED SEVERAL AND THEY GO RIGHT BACK OUT IT WAS A WASTE OF MY TIME.. DOES SOMEONE HAVE TO GET KILLED BEFORE U ALL FIX THIS IF U TRY TO TAKE OFF AND IT SLIPS AND WILL NOT GO U CAN AND WILL GET HIT.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

11/15/2013 - SAVAGE, MN
I WAS DRIVING AND I SAW AND SMELT SMOKE. I IMMEDIATELY COULD TELL WHERE IT WAS COMING FROM BECAUSE I SAW THE SMOKE COMING OUT OF THE HAZARD LIGHT ON TOP OF MY STEERING WHEEL, IT THEN TURNED INTO A FLAME,IT WAS INSIDE OF THE STEERING WHEEL. I PULLED OFF TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD BECAUSE FORTUNATELY I HAD WATER WITH ME AND I POURED A LITTLE BIT OF WATER ON THE FLAMES THAT WERE COMING OUT OF WHERE THE HAZARD LIGHT IS. THIS HAS HAPPENED 2 TIMES,WITH THE FINAL RESULT BEING 2 FIRES. IT HAPPENED A 3RD TIME WITH JUST SMOKE. I NO LONGER HAVE THE ABILITY TO USE MY WINDSHIELD WIPERS AND SOME OF MY INTERIOR LIGHTS NO LONGER WORK. I DON'T KNOW IF THIS HAS CAUSED OTHER PROBLEMS IE...MY CHECK ENGINE LIGHT BEING ON AS WELL AS MY CRUISE CONTROL WORKING WHEN IT WANTS TO AND OTHER TIMES NOT WORKING AT ALL PLUS THE BUTTONS ON THE INNER SIDE OF THE STEERING WHEEL BEING HOT TO THE TOUCH! I'M TERRIFIED TO DRIVE MY OWN CAR!

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

11/15/2013 - SAVAGE, MN
I WAS DRIVING AND I SAW AND SMELT SMOKE. I IMMEDIATELY COULD TELL WHERE IT WAS COMING FROM BECAUSE I SAW THE SMOKE COMING OUT OF THE HAZARD LIGHT ON TOP OF MY STEERING WHEEL, IT THEN TURNED INTO A FLAME,IT WAS INSIDE OF THE STEERING WHEEL. I PULLED OFF TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD BECAUSE FORTUNATELY I HAD WATER WITH ME AND I POURED A LITTLE BIT OF WATER ON THE FLAMES THAT WERE COMING OUT OF WHERE THE HAZARD LIGHT IS. THIS HAS HAPPENED 2 TIMES,WITH THE FINAL RESULT BEING 2 FIRES. IT HAPPENED A 3RD TIME WITH JUST SMOKE. I NO LONGER HAVE THE ABILITY TO USE MY WINDSHIELD WIPERS AND SOME OF MY INTERIOR LIGHTS NO LONGER WORK. I DON'T KNOW IF THIS HAS CAUSED OTHER PROBLEMS IE...MY CHECK ENGINE LIGHT BEING ON AS WELL AS MY CRUISE CONTROL WORKING WHEN IT WANTS TO AND OTHER TIMES NOT WORKING AT ALL PLUS THE BUTTONS ON THE INNER SIDE OF THE STEERING WHEEL BEING HOT TO THE TOUCH! I'M TERRIFIED TO DRIVE MY OWN CAR!

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 45
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds