Auto Recalls for Consumers

FORD FOCUS - 2001 FORD FOCUS Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Ford Motor Company

There are 1758 complaints filed for the 2001 FORD FOCUS

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2001 FORD FOCUS. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2001 FORD FOCUS, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (149) Equipment (24) Other (3) Service Brakes Air (17) Unknown Or Other (34)
Communications (2) Exterior Lighting (34) Parking Brake (6) Service Brakes Hydraulic (198) Vehicle Speed Control (67)
Electrical System (516) Fuel Propulsion System (20) Power Train (92) Steering (86) Visibility (58)
Electronic Stability Control (4) Fuel System Gasoline (291) Seat Belts (24) Structure (61) Visibility Wiper (3)
Engine (29) Fuel System Other (25) Seats (13) Suspension (152) Wheels (27)
Engine And Engine Cooling (249) Latches Locks Linkages (67) Service Brakes (7) Tires (70)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 181
 
ComplaintDescription

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

5/14/2015 - ROSEVILLE, CA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2001 FORD FOCUS. WHILE DRIVING AT APPROXIMATELY 65 MPH, THE VEHICLE STARTED TO JERK AND THE CONTACT SMELLED SMOKE. THE BATTERY WARNING INDICATOR ILLUMINATED. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE WAS STOPPED ON THE SIDE OF THE ROAD AND THE IGNITION WAS TURNED TO THE OFF POSITION AS THE CONTACT EXITED THE VEHICLE. THE CONTACT OBSERVED FLAMES UNDER THE HOOD OF THE VEHICLE. THE VEHICLE RESTARTED WITHOUT BEING PROMPTED AND STARTED ROLLING FORWARD. THE FIRE DEPARTMENT EXTINGUISHED THE FIRE. A POLICE REPORT WAS FILED AND THERE WERE NO INJURIES REPORTED. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO A TOW YARD WHERE IT WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE AND THE VIN WAS NOT INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 02V288000 (ELECTRICAL SYSTEM). THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 130,000.

View Details

STEERING

4/25/2015 - MEMPHIS, TN
AS I WAS COMING FROM DR'S APPT. WITH DAUGHTER AND MOM A ROARING SOUND STARTED IN THE REAR. IT KEPT GETTING LOUDER AND LOUDER, CAR'S REAR WOULD SWAY TO THE RIGHT SIDE A LITTLE. BUT AS I WAS DRIVING DOWN THE STREET TRYING TO AT LEAST GET US ALL HOME SAFE. THE REAR DRIVER SIDE WHEEL CAME OFF AND JUST ROLLED DOWN THE STREET ABOUT A HALF-A-BLOCK. A MAN CAME OUT NOTICING THE TIRE ROLL PASS HIM, HELPED ME RETRIEVE IT AND GET IT BACK TO MY CAR. LOOKED AT THE WHEEL AND CAR AXLE I GUESS THAT'S WHAT YOU CALL IT, AND TOLD ME MY WHEEL BEARINGS WERE GONE.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

4/25/2015 - MEMPHIS, TN
AS I WAS COMING FROM DR'S APPT. WITH DAUGHTER AND MOM A ROARING SOUND STARTED IN THE REAR. IT KEPT GETTING LOUDER AND LOUDER, CAR'S REAR WOULD SWAY TO THE RIGHT SIDE A LITTLE. BUT AS I WAS DRIVING DOWN THE STREET TRYING TO AT LEAST GET US ALL HOME SAFE. THE REAR DRIVER SIDE WHEEL CAME OFF AND JUST ROLLED DOWN THE STREET ABOUT A HALF-A-BLOCK. A MAN CAME OUT NOTICING THE TIRE ROLL PASS HIM, HELPED ME RETRIEVE IT AND GET IT BACK TO MY CAR. LOOKED AT THE WHEEL AND CAR AXLE I GUESS THAT'S WHAT YOU CALL IT, AND TOLD ME MY WHEEL BEARINGS WERE GONE.

View Details

WHEELS

4/25/2015 - MEMPHIS, TN
AS I WAS COMING FROM DR'S APPT. WITH DAUGHTER AND MOM A ROARING SOUND STARTED IN THE REAR. IT KEPT GETTING LOUDER AND LOUDER, CAR'S REAR WOULD SWAY TO THE RIGHT SIDE A LITTLE. BUT AS I WAS DRIVING DOWN THE STREET TRYING TO AT LEAST GET US ALL HOME SAFE. THE REAR DRIVER SIDE WHEEL CAME OFF AND JUST ROLLED DOWN THE STREET ABOUT A HALF-A-BLOCK. A MAN CAME OUT NOTICING THE TIRE ROLL PASS HIM, HELPED ME RETRIEVE IT AND GET IT BACK TO MY CAR. LOOKED AT THE WHEEL AND CAR AXLE I GUESS THAT'S WHAT YOU CALL IT, AND TOLD ME MY WHEEL BEARINGS WERE GONE.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

4/10/2015 - SUSSEX, NJ
WHILE DRIVING A 2001 FORD FOCUS SE AND NAVIGATING A CURVE, THE REAR DRIVERS SIDE DOOR FAILED TO REMAIN SECURE AND SUDDENLY OPENED WHILE VEHICLE WAS IN MOTION. UPON ATTEMPTING TO CLOSE THE DOOR, IT APPEARS THE DOOR LATCH DOES NOT ENGAGE AND THE DOOR CANNOT BE CLOSED SECURE. UPON FURTHER INSPECTION, THERE IS SIGNIFICANT CORROSION AROUND THE LATCH MECHANISM. THE DOOR MUST BE MANUALLY RESTRAINED WITH ROPES TO REMAIN CLOSED.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

4/3/2015 - BROOKINGS , SD
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2001 FORD FOCUS. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE STALLED WITHOUT WARNING. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER, BUT THE TECHNICIAN WAS UNABLE TO DIAGNOSE THE FAILURE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 50,000.

View Details

ENGINE

4/3/2015 - BROOKINGS , SD
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2001 FORD FOCUS. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE STALLED WITHOUT WARNING. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER, BUT THE TECHNICIAN WAS UNABLE TO DIAGNOSE THE FAILURE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 50,000.

View Details

SUSPENSION

2/6/2015 - LIVERPOOL, NY
RIGHT FRONT COIL SPRING BROKE AS I WAS DRIVING TO THE MECHANIC TO HAVE A BALL JOINT ON MY LEFT FRONT TIRE REPLACED. HEARD A CLANGING NOISE WHILE DRIVING. I THOUGHT IT WAS FROM THE BAD BALL JOINT, WHEN MECHANIC CHECKED HE SAID THE COIL SPRING HAD SNAPPED. CALLED FORD ABOUT SAFETY RECALL WHICH CAME UP WHEN I PUT MY VIN NUMBER INTO THEIR WEBSITE. I WAS INFORMED THAT THE WARRANTY PERIOD WAS OVER AND MY CAR WAS NOT COVERED. IT COST ME 600.00 TO HAVE BOTH REPAIRS DONE BY A MECHANIC. I FILED A COMPLAINT WITH FORD WHILE ON THE PHONE WITH THEM AND THEIR ADVICE WAS TO SAVE MY RECEIPT AND IF A RECALL GOES INTO EFFECT FOR THIS PROBLEM, I WILL GET REIMBURSED. I HAVE SEEN HUNDREDS OF COMPLAINTS ABOUT THIS PROBLEM, YET FORD JUST IGNORES THE ISSUE AS IT IS STILL HAPPENING. NOW TODAY MY BACK WINDOW MADE A NOISE AND THE WINDOW FELL DOWN AND WON'T GO BACK UP. I'VE ALREADY HAD A NEW BATTERY, ALTERNATOR, PLUGS AND COIL PACK REPLACED BECAUSE OF SURGING AND STALLING. I AM ALSO GETTING POOR GAS MILEAGE. I WAS TOLD BY FORD THAT THERE ARE NO OPEN RECALLS ON MY CAR YET I HAVE AND AM HAVING THE SAME PROBLEMS THAT MANY OF THE RECALLS IN EFFECT ARE LISTING. VERY POOR CUSTOMER SERVICE BY FORD.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

1/9/2015 - BELLEVUE, WA
BRAKES REPLACED AT 48,763 MILES WE ARE NOW AT 77,000. FOR THE LAST 2-3,000 MILES IF FEELS LIKE AIR IN THE LINE WHEN YOU STEP ON THE BRAKE PEDDLE IT DOES NOT IMMEDIATELY ENGAGE, THERE IS A GAP BEFORE THE BRAKES ENGAGE & THE GAP IS GROWING A POTENTIAL SAFETY ISSUE. THERE IS NO NOISE ASSOCIATED WITH THE BRAKE ACTIONS.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

12/16/2014 - MCBEE, SC
IT START WITH DOOR BUSTING ALL THE TIME ,THEN I SWITCH IT OFF ..NOW IT WANT CRANK ,JUST BUST.

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 181
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds