Auto Recalls for Consumers

GMC JIMMY - 2001 GMC JIMMY Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 93 complaints filed for the 2001 GMC JIMMY

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2001 GMC JIMMY. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2001 GMC JIMMY, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (5) Fuel System Gasoline (5) Parking Brake (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (9) Tires (2)
Electrical System (20) Fuel System Other (3) Power Train (12) Steering (6) Vehicle Speed Control (5)
Engine (1) Interior Lighting (3) Service Brakes (1) Structure (2) Visibility (4)
Engine And Engine Cooling (10) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Service Brakes Electric (1) Suspension (17) Wheels (1)
Exterior Lighting (19) Other (2)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  ... 9
 
ComplaintDescription

SUSPENSION: FRONT

3/7/2011 - WHITE STONE, NY
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2001 GMC JIMMY. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 50 MPH, THE CONTACT HEARD A LOUD, ABNORMAL BANG. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC WHERE THE CONTACT WAS TOLD THAT THE FRONT AXLE FRACTURED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE FAILURE AND CURRENT MILEAGES WERE 85,000.

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE

4/28/2010 - SPRING, TX
2001 GMC ENVOY - GAS TANK NECK LEAKING AT GROMMET. GM DOES NOT OFFER A FIX. THE COST OF REPLACING TANK WITH LABOR IS AN ABSURD $600-$800 DOLLARS. THIS SHOULD BE CAUSE FOR RECALL OF ALL SIMILAR MODELS.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

3/12/2010 - BIG PINEY, WY
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2001 GMC JIMMY. WHILE EXAMINING THE VEHICLE, SHE NOTICED THAT THE REAR BRAKE LIGHTS WERE INOPERABLE. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A LOCAL MECHANIC WHO STATED THAT THE MULTI-FUNCTION SWITCH NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THERE WERE NO PRIOR WARNINGS. THE CURRENT AND FAILURE MILEAGES WERE 135,000. UPDATED 05/12/10 THE CONSUMER STATED THERE WAS SMOKE COMING FROM THE STEERING COLUMN AND THE TURN SIGNALS WERE INOPERATIVE. UPDATED 05/17/10.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM: IGNITION

11/6/2009 - SELDEN, NY
I PURCHASED A 2001 GMC JIMMY. PROBLEM IS IGNITION LOCK. KEY STAYS IN LOCK, HAVE TO FIDDLE WITH IGNITION MOVE CAR, TURN WHEEL TO FIND JUST THE RIGHT PLACE. THOUGHT JUST MY CAR,BUT HAVE SEEN OTHERS WITH SAME PROBLEM, LOCAL DEALER SAID CAN FIX FOR ABOUT 100 DOLLARS THEY NEVER LOOKED AT VEHICLE. WAS TOLD BY GM ON PHONE TO PUSH BUTTON ON COLUMN TO GET KEY OUT, I DON'T HAVE ONE WAS TOLD BOOK SHOWS ONE ANY SUGGESTION THE VEHICLE FITS MY NEEDS WAS REALLY SUPER LOW MILES.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

10/2/2009 - JERDEY SHORE, PA
2001 GMC JIMMY RECALL NO.01073 STOP/HAZARD LAMPS THIS WAS REPLACED ON MY JIMMY BEFORE I OWNED IT . I T WENT BAD AGAIN . I CONTACTED A CHEVY/GMC DEALER AND GMC AND WAS TOLD THAT NOTHING COULD BE DONE SINCE IT WAS ALREADY REPLACED. THIS IS A SAFETY HAZARD SINCE I HAD NO BRAKE LIGHTS SO I HAD MY MECHANIC REPLACE THE PART WHICH COST ME $265.31 I THINK I SHOULD GET A REIMBURSEMENT SINCE THIS WAS A SAFETY RECALL.EVEN IF IT WAS REPLACED ONCE ,IT HAS FAILED AGAIN. NHTSA CAMPAIGN ID # 08V231000 MFR'S REPORT DATE :MAY21,2008 NHTSA ACTION #RQ08001 I AM HOPING YOU CAN LOOK INTO THIS MATTER AND ALLOW ME A REFUND. GMC GAVE ME A CASE # 71-762-63641.

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE

7/18/2009 - WOOSTER, OH
EVENT LEADING TO FAILURE: I WAS STUPID ENOUGH TO BUY THE LEMON IN THE FIRST PLACE. THE FAILURE (S) OCCUR ON A REGULAR BASIS. I BOUGHT THIS 2001 GMC JIMMY IN 2004. AS A CERTIFIED USED CAR. IT HAD 38,075 MILES ON IT. I DIDN'T HAVE IT A MONTH BEFORE THE LEFT FRONT WHEEL BEARING WENT OUT. SHORTLY AFTER THE POLLUTION CONTROL AIR PUMP WENT OUT. THEN IT WAS THE AIR FILTER PUMP AND HOSES TO THE REMOTE FILTER. NEXT CAME REPLACEMENT OF ALL FOUR BRAKE ROTORS. ALL OF THIS BEFORE 40,000 MILES. NEXT CAME THE FUEL PUMP(APRIL 2006).A COUPLE OF MONTHS LATER IT WAS THE FUEL PRESSURE REGULATOR AND FUEL SENSOR. THEN IT WAS REPLACING THE 2WD/ 4WD SELECTOR MODULE IN THE DASH. NEXT IN LINE WAS A NEW ALTERNATOR. LESS THAN A YEAR LATER IT WAS ANOTHER NEW ALTERNATOR,A COUPLE OF DAYS AGO IT WAS ANOTHER NEW FUEL PUMP. THERE ARE AT LEAST A DOZEN OTHER THINGS THAT WERE REPLACED. I ONLY MENTIONED THE REALLY COSTLY ITEMS. I HAVE SPENT JUST A LITTLE OVER $5000.00 ON THIS PIECE OF JUNK. CONTACTING GMC CUSTOMER COMPLAINTS IS A BIG WASTE OF TIME. I'LL NEVER BUY ANOTHER GMC ANYTHING. THE FEDERAL GOVERNMENT SHOULD PULL THE PLUG AND LET GMC CLOSE DOWN FOREVER.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM: IGNITION: SWITCH

6/22/2009 - RHINELANDER, WI
TL CONTACT OWNS A 2001 GMC JIMMY. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 25 MPH, THE CONTACT DETECTED SMOKE COMING FROM THE STEERING COLUMN. SUDDENLY, THE REAR BRAKE LIGHT SYSTEM ACTIVATED WITHOUT THE BRAKES BEING APPLIED. THE BRAKE LIGHTS REMAINED ILLUMINATED UNTIL THE ENGINE WAS TURNED OFF. THE FAILURE OCCURRED INTERMITTENTLY AND THE DEALER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE MALFUNCTIONS. THE VEHICLE WAS PREVIOUSLY REPAIRED ACCORDING TO NHTSA CAMPAIGN ID NUMBER 08V231000 (EXTERIOR LIGHTING:BRAKE LIGHTS;SWITCH); HOWEVER, THE REMEDY HAS NOT CORRECTED THE ISSUE. THE VEHICLE HAS NOT BEEN REPAIRED. THE FAILURE AND CURRENT MILEAGES WERE 102,000. UPDATED 10/06/09 THE CONSUMER STATED HE PURCHASED THE PARTS AND HAD THE DEALER REPLACE THE COMBINATION AND IGNITION SWITCH. UPDATED 10/08/09

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING: BRAKE LIGHTS: SWITCH

6/22/2009 - RHINELANDER, WI
TL CONTACT OWNS A 2001 GMC JIMMY. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 25 MPH, THE CONTACT DETECTED SMOKE COMING FROM THE STEERING COLUMN. SUDDENLY, THE REAR BRAKE LIGHT SYSTEM ACTIVATED WITHOUT THE BRAKES BEING APPLIED. THE BRAKE LIGHTS REMAINED ILLUMINATED UNTIL THE ENGINE WAS TURNED OFF. THE FAILURE OCCURRED INTERMITTENTLY AND THE DEALER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE MALFUNCTIONS. THE VEHICLE WAS PREVIOUSLY REPAIRED ACCORDING TO NHTSA CAMPAIGN ID NUMBER 08V231000 (EXTERIOR LIGHTING:BRAKE LIGHTS;SWITCH); HOWEVER, THE REMEDY HAS NOT CORRECTED THE ISSUE. THE VEHICLE HAS NOT BEEN REPAIRED. THE FAILURE AND CURRENT MILEAGES WERE 102,000. UPDATED 10/06/09 THE CONSUMER STATED HE PURCHASED THE PARTS AND HAD THE DEALER REPLACE THE COMBINATION AND IGNITION SWITCH. UPDATED 10/08/09

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING: EXHAUST SYSTEM

2/20/2009 - WEST CONCORD, MA
TL CONTACT OWNS A 2001 GMC JIMMY. THE CONTACT NOTICED THAT THE ON-BOARD DIAGNOSTIC SYSTEM WARNING INDICATOR WOULD CONSISTENTLY ILLUMINATE ON THE INSTRUMENT PANEL. THE VEHICLE FREQUENTLY MISFIRED, WHICH CAUSED IT TO BE INOPERABLE. THE DEALER STATED THAT HE NEEDED TO REPLACE THE SCPI FUEL INJECTOR AND THE MASS AIR FLOW SENSORS AT THE COST OF $1,150. HE IS IN THE PROCESS OF HAVING THE VEHICLE REPAIRED. HE CALLED THE MANUFACTURER IN REFERENCE TO A VOLUNTARY RECALL FOR THE STATE OF CALIFORNIA FOR 1996 TO 2001 SUV'S, BUT WAS NOT PROVIDED ANY ASSISTANCE BECAUSE THE RECALL WAS NOT APPLICABLE FOR HIS STATE. THE CURRENT AND FAILURE MILEAGES WERE 72,000.

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE

2/20/2009 - WEST CONCORD, MA
TL CONTACT OWNS A 2001 GMC JIMMY. THE CONTACT NOTICED THAT THE ON-BOARD DIAGNOSTIC SYSTEM WARNING INDICATOR WOULD CONSISTENTLY ILLUMINATE ON THE INSTRUMENT PANEL. THE VEHICLE FREQUENTLY MISFIRED, WHICH CAUSED IT TO BE INOPERABLE. THE DEALER STATED THAT HE NEEDED TO REPLACE THE SCPI FUEL INJECTOR AND THE MASS AIR FLOW SENSORS AT THE COST OF $1,150. HE IS IN THE PROCESS OF HAVING THE VEHICLE REPAIRED. HE CALLED THE MANUFACTURER IN REFERENCE TO A VOLUNTARY RECALL FOR THE STATE OF CALIFORNIA FOR 1996 TO 2001 SUV'S, BUT WAS NOT PROVIDED ANY ASSISTANCE BECAUSE THE RECALL WAS NOT APPLICABLE FOR HIS STATE. THE CURRENT AND FAILURE MILEAGES WERE 72,000.

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  ... 9
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds