Auto Recalls for Consumers

GMC JIMMY - 2001 GMC JIMMY Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 97 complaints filed for the 2001 GMC JIMMY

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2001 GMC JIMMY. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2001 GMC JIMMY, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (6) Fuel System Gasoline (5) Parking Brake (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (9) Tires (2)
Electrical System (20) Fuel System Other (3) Power Train (12) Steering (6) Vehicle Speed Control (5)
Engine (1) Interior Lighting (3) Service Brakes (4) Structure (2) Visibility (4)
Engine And Engine Cooling (10) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Service Brakes Electric (1) Suspension (17) Wheels (2)
Exterior Lighting (20) Other (2)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  ... 10
 
ComplaintDescription

ENGINE

3/11/2014 - BOYNTON BEACH, FL
HELLO I HAVE BUY THIS CAR IN A DEALER ''GOVAL AUTO SALES'' IN POMPANO AND WE HAVE MANY PROBLEM WITH SAFE. THE ENGINE MAY BE STOP + SUSPENSION + DIFFERENT TYRE. WE GO TO THE DEALER WHERE WE BUY THE CAR LASTE WEEK. BUT HE SAY, IT'S NOT MY PROBLEM. MY QUESTION : IS IT HAS NO RESPONSIBILITY FOR SAFETY WHEN HE SELLS A CAR? THANK YOU VERY MUCH FOR YOUR ATTENTION. JEAN-LUC BOURGEOIS 561-409-7699 EMAIL JLUCBOURGEOIS@HOTMAIL.BE

View Details

SUSPENSION

3/11/2014 - BOYNTON BEACH, FL
HELLO I HAVE BUY THIS CAR IN A DEALER ''GOVAL AUTO SALES'' IN POMPANO AND WE HAVE MANY PROBLEM WITH SAFE. THE ENGINE MAY BE STOP + SUSPENSION + DIFFERENT TYRE. WE GO TO THE DEALER WHERE WE BUY THE CAR LASTE WEEK. BUT HE SAY, IT'S NOT MY PROBLEM. MY QUESTION : IS IT HAS NO RESPONSIBILITY FOR SAFETY WHEN HE SELLS A CAR? THANK YOU VERY MUCH FOR YOUR ATTENTION. JEAN-LUC BOURGEOIS 561-409-7699 EMAIL JLUCBOURGEOIS@HOTMAIL.BE

View Details

WHEELS

3/11/2014 - BOYNTON BEACH, FL
HELLO I HAVE BUY THIS CAR IN A DEALER ''GOVAL AUTO SALES'' IN POMPANO AND WE HAVE MANY PROBLEM WITH SAFE. THE ENGINE MAY BE STOP + SUSPENSION + DIFFERENT TYRE. WE GO TO THE DEALER WHERE WE BUY THE CAR LASTE WEEK. BUT HE SAY, IT'S NOT MY PROBLEM. MY QUESTION : IS IT HAS NO RESPONSIBILITY FOR SAFETY WHEN HE SELLS A CAR? THANK YOU VERY MUCH FOR YOUR ATTENTION. JEAN-LUC BOURGEOIS 561-409-7699 EMAIL JLUCBOURGEOIS@HOTMAIL.BE

View Details

STEERING

3/10/2014 - WINTER PARK , FL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2001 GMC JIMMY. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 20-25 MPH, THE STEERING WHEEL SEIZED WITHOUT WARNING AND CAUSED THE CONTACT TO LOSE CONTROL OF THE VEHICLE, CRASHING INTO A GARAGE. THE CONTACT SUSTAINED INJURIES TO THE BACK AND NECK. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO A SALVAGE YARD. THE MANUFACTURER WAS CONTACTED AND WAS SCHEDULED TO FURTHER INSPECT THE VEHICLE. THE FAILURE AND CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 149,000.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING: HAZARD FLASHING WARNING LIGHTS: SWITCH

7/11/2011 - GILBERTS, IL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2001 GMC JIMMY. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE EXTERIOR BRAKE LIGHT SWITCH FAILED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A LOCAL MECHANIC WHO REPLACED THE BRAKE LIGHT SWITCH YET, THE FAILURE RECURRED. THE DEALER WAS CONTACTED AND INFORMED HER THAT THERE WAS A RECALL UNDER NHTSA CAMPAIGN ID NUMBER: 08V231000 (EXTERIOR LIGHTING: BRAKE LIGHTS: SWITCH) BUT HER VIN WAS NOT INCLUDED IN THE RECALL. THE MANUFACTURER WAS CONTACTED WHO OFFERED NO ASSISTANCE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 130,000. UPDATED 08/30/11

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING: BRAKE LIGHTS: SWITCH

7/11/2011 - GILBERTS, IL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2001 GMC JIMMY. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE EXTERIOR BRAKE LIGHT SWITCH FAILED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A LOCAL MECHANIC WHO REPLACED THE BRAKE LIGHT SWITCH YET, THE FAILURE RECURRED. THE DEALER WAS CONTACTED AND INFORMED HER THAT THERE WAS A RECALL UNDER NHTSA CAMPAIGN ID NUMBER: 08V231000 (EXTERIOR LIGHTING: BRAKE LIGHTS: SWITCH) BUT HER VIN WAS NOT INCLUDED IN THE RECALL. THE MANUFACTURER WAS CONTACTED WHO OFFERED NO ASSISTANCE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 130,000. UPDATED 08/30/11

View Details

SUSPENSION: FRONT

3/7/2011 - WHITE STONE, NY
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2001 GMC JIMMY. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 50 MPH, THE CONTACT HEARD A LOUD, ABNORMAL BANG. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC WHERE THE CONTACT WAS TOLD THAT THE FRONT AXLE FRACTURED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE FAILURE AND CURRENT MILEAGES WERE 85,000.

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE

4/28/2010 - SPRING, TX
2001 GMC ENVOY - GAS TANK NECK LEAKING AT GROMMET. GM DOES NOT OFFER A FIX. THE COST OF REPLACING TANK WITH LABOR IS AN ABSURD $600-$800 DOLLARS. THIS SHOULD BE CAUSE FOR RECALL OF ALL SIMILAR MODELS.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

3/12/2010 - BIG PINEY, WY
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2001 GMC JIMMY. WHILE EXAMINING THE VEHICLE, SHE NOTICED THAT THE REAR BRAKE LIGHTS WERE INOPERABLE. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A LOCAL MECHANIC WHO STATED THAT THE MULTI-FUNCTION SWITCH NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THERE WERE NO PRIOR WARNINGS. THE CURRENT AND FAILURE MILEAGES WERE 135,000. UPDATED 05/12/10 THE CONSUMER STATED THERE WAS SMOKE COMING FROM THE STEERING COLUMN AND THE TURN SIGNALS WERE INOPERATIVE. UPDATED 05/17/10.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM: IGNITION

11/6/2009 - SELDEN, NY
I PURCHASED A 2001 GMC JIMMY. PROBLEM IS IGNITION LOCK. KEY STAYS IN LOCK, HAVE TO FIDDLE WITH IGNITION MOVE CAR, TURN WHEEL TO FIND JUST THE RIGHT PLACE. THOUGHT JUST MY CAR,BUT HAVE SEEN OTHERS WITH SAME PROBLEM, LOCAL DEALER SAID CAN FIX FOR ABOUT 100 DOLLARS THEY NEVER LOOKED AT VEHICLE. WAS TOLD BY GM ON PHONE TO PUSH BUTTON ON COLUMN TO GET KEY OUT, I DON'T HAVE ONE WAS TOLD BOOK SHOWS ONE ANY SUGGESTION THE VEHICLE FITS MY NEEDS WAS REALLY SUPER LOW MILES.

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  ... 10
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds