Auto Recalls for Consumers

LEXUS RX300 - 2001 LEXUS RX300 Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Toyota Motor Corporation

There are 165 complaints filed for the 2001 LEXUS RX300

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2001 LEXUS RX300. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2001 LEXUS RX300, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (8) Engine And Engine Cooling (14) Parking Brake (1) Steering (1) Vehicle Speed Control (20)
Electrical System (4) Equipment (1) Power Train (119) Suspension (3) Visibility (1)
Engine (4) Fuel System Gasoline (2) Service Brakes Hydraulic (4) Unknown Or Other (1)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 13
 
ComplaintDescription

POWER TRAIN

7/4/2016 - WALLINGFORD, CT
VEHICLE HAS 133,890 MILES ON IT, VEHICLE HAS BEEN SERVICED EVERY 5000 MILES, ACCORDING TO THE VEHICLE HISTORY AND OWNERS MANUAL. WE HAD TRANSMISSION FAILURE 100 MILES FROM HOME. PULLED OVER TO THE SIDE OF THE I-90 , HAD TO WAIT 2 HOURS FOR A FLATBED ON THE SIDE OF THE HIGHWAY. MASS STATE POLICE WERE NOT HAPPY HAVING TO WAIT THAT LONG NOR SAFETY OF BEING ON THE SIDE OF THE ROAD FOR 2 HOURS. WE TRIED MOVING VEHICLE AFTER IT WAS OFF FOR AN HOUR, MOVED GEAR SELECTOR HAD ONLY PARK AND NATURAL , WAS AT " FULL HOT " MARK ON THE DIP STICK, FLUID IS CLEAN, DOESN'T SMELL BURNT AT ALL.TOWED TO SERVICE DEPARTMENT AND NEEDS A NEW TRANSMISSION. VEHICLE WAS ON THE HIGHWAY AT 70MPH , AND THEN HAD NO FORWARD MOVEMENT AT 70MPH. GOOGLE " RX300 TRANSMISSION PROBLEMS" AND YOU'LL FIND THOUSANDS OF LINKS TO PEOPLE HAVING SAME ISSUE. TOYOTA/LEXUS SHOULD BE STEPPING UP AND FIXING THESE TRANSMISSIONS , THIS IS OBVIOUSLY A WEAK POINT IN THEIR VEHICLES AND A MAJOR SAFETY ISSUE.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

6/20/2016 - DESERT HOT SPRINGS, CA
WHILE DRIVING THE CAR ON CITY STREETS I ATTEMPTED A U TURN WITH THE VEHICLE AS I WAS COMPLETING THE U TURN THE TRANSMISSION MADE A WEIRD NOISE AND THEN THERE WAS NOTHING. NO FORWARD OR REVERSE AND WHEN I PUT THE VEHICLE IN PARK IT ACTED LIKE IT WAS IN NEUTRAL. I HAD TO PUT THE EMERGENCY BRAKE ON TO KEEP THE CAR FROM ROLLING. HAD TO HAVE THE VEHICLE TOWED TO MY HOUSE 115 MILES AWAY. HE CAR ONLY HAS 145,000 MILES ON IT. CAR STARTS UP AND RUNS GREAT BUT WILL NOT ENGAGE THE TRANSMISSION. THE VEHICLE IS STILL FINANCED SO I NEED TO GET IT FIXED HOWEVER THE CHEAPEST REBUILD I CAN FIND IS $5,000.00. I CALLED TOYOTA AND ASKED IF I COULD TRADE IT IN ON A NEW CAR AND THEY SAID NOT WITH THE TRANSMISSION FIXED BECAUSE THEY WOULD LOSE MONEY ON IT. I FEEL TOYOTA SHOULD FIX THIS DUE TO THE FACT THERE ARE NUMEROUS COMPLAINTS ABOUT THIS ISSUE WITH OTHER LEXUS OWNERS. I STILL OWE $5,500.00 ON THE LOAN AND CANT AFFORD THE COST OF ANOTHER TRANSMISSION. I THINK TOYOTA SHOULD FIX THIS SINCE THERE ARE A LOT OF COMPLAINTS ABOUT THE DRIVE TRAIN.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

3/16/2016 - CORDELE, GA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2001 LEXUS RX300. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE REVERSE GEAR WAS NO LONGER OPERABLE IN THE VEHICLE. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER TO BE DIAGNOSED. THE CONTACT WAS INFORMED THAT THE TRANSMISSION NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 147,651. UPDATED 06/02/2016

View Details

AIR BAGS

2/23/2016 - LOS GATOS, CA
THE CONTACT OWNED A 2001 LEXUS RX300. WHILE DRIVING 35 MPH, THE VEHICLE ACCELERATED WHEN THE BRAKE PEDAL WAS DEPRESSED. THE VEHICLE CRASHED INTO A TREE AND THE AIR BAGS FAILED TO DEPLOY. THE DRIVER SUSTAINED A BROKEN BREAST BONE (STERNUM) AND HEAD INJURIES THAT REQUIRED MEDICAL ATTENTION. THE PASSENGER SUSTAINED NECK AND KNEE INJURIES, AND BRUISES FROM THE SEAT BELT THAT REQUIRED MEDICAL ATTENTION. A POLICE REPORT WAS NOT FILED. THE VEHICLE WAS DESTROYED AND TOWED TO A DEALER. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 156,000.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

10/5/2015 - W HAVERSTRAW, NY
THE TRANSMISSION HAS BEEN DAMAGE NO POWER , NO GEARS ARE ENGAGE TOTAL FAILURE, THE VEHICLE HAS IN MOTION AT HIGHWAY SPEED.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

9/4/2015 - SAN DIEGO, CA
TRANSMISSION FAILURE: STARTED TO MAKE NOISE COUPLE OF DAYS AGO AND FINALLY FAILED WHILE ON THE ROAD. ENGINE IS RUNNING GOOD, BUT NO GEAR ENGAGEMENT. ALL DRIVE TRAIN POSITION SEEMS LIKE THE CAR IS IN NATURAL. EXCESSIVE TRANSMISSION FAILURES WAS REPORTED BY OTHER RX300 OWNERS. COST TO SERVICE RE-BUILD TRANSMISSION IS $3,551.00

View Details

POWER TRAIN

6/23/2015 - BOWIE, MD
VEHICLE HAS BEEN WELL MAINTAINED WITH REGULAR OIL CHANGES AND TRANSMISSION FLUSH. HOWEVER, ON 06/22/2015, UNDER NORMAL DRIVING CONDITIONS IN MY 7 MILES COMMUTE, THE VEHICLE FAILED TO ACCELERATE AFTER COMING TO A STOP. THE RPM/ENGINE REVVED UP, BUT VEHICLE DID NOT MOVE MUCH (COULD NOT SHIFT GEARS). PULLED TO THE SIDEWAY AND CALLED FOR HELP. TOOK IT TO LOCAL MECHANIC, AND DIAGNOSED WITH CODE P0770 (SOLENOID SHIFTER E FAILURE). MECHANIC SAYS NEW TRANSMISSION IS NEEDED ($5K PLUS). CHECKING ONLINE, THIS SEEMS TO BE A VERY COMMON OCCURRENCE FOR THIS VEHICLE AND PROBABLY MODEL YEAR. TOYOTA HAS TO BE AWARE OF THIS MAJOR DEFECT, AND HAS PROBABLY INTENTIONALLY SAID SILENT. I WISH TOYOTA COULD BE TAKEN TO TASK ON THIS PROBLEM AS IT IS WRECKING FAMILY FINANCES!

View Details

POWER TRAIN

6/16/2015 - STOCKBRIDGE, GA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2001 LEXUS RX300. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE FAILED TO SHIFT INTO REVERSE. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC WHO DIAGNOSED THAT THE TRANSMISSION NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 162,000.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

6/15/2015 - MCCLEAN , VA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2001 LEXUS RX300. WHILE DRIVING AT APPROXIMATELY 55 MPH, THE VEHICLE ACCELERATED WITHOUT WARNING. THE BRAKES FAILED WHEN THE BRAKE PEDAL WAS DEPRESSED. THE VEHICLE WAS SHIFTED INTO NEUTRAL AND MERGED TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD WHERE THE VEHICLE WAS TURNED OFF. THE FAILURE RECURRED ONCE. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO THE CONTACT+S RESIDENT. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 200,000.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

5/31/2015 - KEW GARDEN HILLS, NY
WHILE DRIVING AT A SPEED 40, I NOTICED LAG IN GEAR SHIFT WHILE TRYING TO ACCELERATE TO 60 MPH. I NOTICED NO PICK IN SPEED RATHER 40 MPH BECAME 20 MPH, THE MORE I PRESS ON THE GAS PETAL THE ONLY ACCELERATION WAS NOTICE ON THE RPM. I HAD TO PUT ON THE HAZARDS AND PULL OVER TO LET OTHER CARS PASS.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 13
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds