Auto Recalls for Consumers

LEXUS RX300 - 2001 LEXUS RX300 Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Toyota Motor Corporation

There are 155 complaints filed for the 2001 LEXUS RX300

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2001 LEXUS RX300. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2001 LEXUS RX300, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (7) Engine And Engine Cooling (14) Parking Brake (1) Steering (1) Vehicle Speed Control (18)
Electrical System (4) Equipment (1) Power Train (112) Suspension (3) Visibility (1)
Engine (4) Fuel System Gasoline (2) Service Brakes Hydraulic (4) Unknown Or Other (1)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 12
 
ComplaintDescription

ENGINE

2/12/2015 - RANCHO MISSION VIEJO, CA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2001 LEXUS RX300. WHILE DRIVING 65 MPH, THE ENGINE STALLED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE VIN WAS NOT AVAILABLE. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 200,000.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

1/5/2015 - PORT SAINT LUCIE, FL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2001 LEXUS RX300. WHILE DRIVING 40 MPH, THE TRANSMISSION SEIZED AND THE GEAR COULD NOT BE SHIFTED INTO PARK. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC WHO DIAGNOSED THAT THE TRANSMISSION NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 145,000. UPDATED 3/13/15

View Details

POWER TRAIN

1/4/2015 - PORT ST LUCIE, FL
TRANSMISSION WENT OUT ,THE VEHICLE JUS STOPPED IN THE MIDDLE OF THE ROAD THANK GOD IT WAS NOT THE HIGHWAY. THERE SEEMS TO BE A PROBLEM WITH THE TRANSMISSION IN THESE VEHICLE ,A VERY SERIOUS LIFE THREATENING PROBLEM.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

11/8/2014 - CLEVELAND, OH
WHILE TRAVELING AT 25 MPH THE CAR STOPPED ACCELERATING FORWARD AND SEEMED TO NOT BE IN GEAR. AS I PRESSED THE GAS PEDAL THE ENGINE REVVED UP, BUT WOULD NOT GO FORWARD. CAR WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER WHO STATED EVEN THOUGH THE CAR ONLY HAS 123K , YOU NEED TO REPLACE THE TRANSAXLE. I CONFIRMED THAT THEIR WAS NO MAINTENANCE REQUIRED.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

10/1/2014 - FORDS, NJ
LEFT HOME TO GO TO GROCERY STORE. AS I ENTERED A MAJOR ROAD NEAR MY HOME THE CAR LOST POWER ALMOST CAUSING AN ACCIDENT. I WAS ABLE TO LIMP HOME. THE REPAIR SHOP DIAGNOSED A FAULTY TRANSMISSION AND COMMENTED THAT THEY SEE MANY RX300'S WITH TRANSMISSION PROBLEMS. THE TRANSMISSION WAS REBUILT AT A COST OF $3214.00. THIS CAR HAS BEEN WELL TAKEN CARE OF, INCLUDING RECOMMENDED TRANSMISSION FLUID REPLACEMENT. I FEEL THAT THE TRANSMISSION FAILURE WAS VERY PREMATURE. JUDGING BY THE NUMBER OF SIMILAR REPORTS AT OR AROUND THE SAME MILEAGE, I FEEL THAT THE TRANSMISSION WAS NOT ENGINEERED PROPERLY AND LEXUS DID NOTHING TO CORRECT THE PROBLEM.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

7/29/2014 - CARMICHAEL , CA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2001 LEXUS RX300. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHEN ATTEMPTING TO SHIFT, THE SHIFTER WOULD DELAY. IN ADDITION WHILE DRIVING AT 35 MPH, THE VEHICLE LOST POWER AND FAILED TO ACCELERATE. THE CONTACT ATTEMPTED TO RESTART THE VEHICLE AND AFTER MULTIPLE ATTEMPTS, THE VEHICLE WAS ABLE TO RESTART BUT THE FAILURE RECURRED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC, WHO STATED THAT THE TRANSMISSION NEEDED TO BE FLUSHED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED BUT THE FAILURE RECURRED. IN ADDITION, THE VEHICLE FAILED TO REVERSE AFTER THE REPAIRS. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 192,000.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

7/15/2014 - RIO RANCHO , NM
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2001 LEXUS RX 300. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE WHILE DRIVING AT VARIOUS SPEEDS, THERE WOULD BE A SUDDEN LOSS OF ACCELERATION. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE TRANSMISSION NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 150,000.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

2/25/2014 - ROANOKE, VA
MY WIFE WAS TAKING OUR KIDS, 7 AND 9, TO GO SHOPPING AND AS SHE DROVE DOWN THE HILL FROM OUR APARTMENT COMPLEX, WITH NO WARNING, THE WHEELS JUST SUDDENLY LOCKED UP AND THE CAR WOULD NOT GO FORWARD OR REVERSE. SHE WAS LITERALLY STUCK ON A ONE LANE HILL, DUE TO A MASSIVE SNOWSTORM THAT LEFT THE SIDES, OF THE STREET COVERED WITH PILES OF SNOW FROM THE SNOWPLOW, WITH OTHER VEHICLES BEHIND HER WHO COULD NOT GO ANYWHERE. SOME GUYS FROM THE APARTMENT COMPLEX GOT OUT AND HELPED HER AND MANAGED TO GET IT TO A PARKING LOT AT THE BOTTOM OF THE HILL. WE HAD THE CAR TOWED TO A LOCAL GARAGE, BUT BEING A SUNDAY NIGHT, WE COULD NOT FIND OUT ANYTHING UNTIL MORNING. I WENT ONLINE AND STARTED RESEARCHING WHAT MIGHT HAVE CAUSED THIS AND DISCOVERED NUMEROUS OTHERS WITH SIMILAR PROBLEMS, ALL OF WHOM REPORTED THE TRANSMISSION FAILED WITH NO PRIOR WARNING. A LOT OF THE PEOPLE SAID THEY REPORTED IT TO LEXUS AND IT SHOULD HAVE BEEN RECALLED, BUT LEXUS REFUSED TO DO ANYTHING ABOUT IT AND DID NOT ISSUE A RECALL. THIS IS THE WEB ADDRESS THAT I DISCOVERED WHILE RESEARCHING IT, HTTP://FORUMS.EDMUNDS.COM/DISCUSSION/9657/LEXUS/RX-330/LEXUS-RX-TRANSMISSION-PROBLEMS/P35. WE PURCHASED THE VEHICLE FROM MY BROTHER WHO BOUGHT IT WITH LESS THAN 10,000 MILES ON IT AND WAS VERY METICULOUS ABOUT HAVING ALL OF THE MAINTENANCE DONE AT THE DEALER RECOMMENDED INTERVALS. THE CAR WAS GARAGE KEPT AND WELL MAINTAINED. IN FACT WHEN I DROVE IT TO WORK AND SHOWED PEOPLE, MOST OF THEM SAID IT LOOKS LIKE IT JUST CAME OFF A SHOWROOM FLOOR. MY BROTHER HAD THE TRANSMISSION FLUID CHANGED 3 TIMES AND TOLD US IT WAS DUE AGAIN WHEN HE SOLD IT TO US, AND WE HAD IT DONE RIGHT AWAY. WHEN I CONTACTED LEXUS ABOUT THIS THEY REFUSED TO DO ANYTHING FOR US. MY CONCERN IS WITH ANOTHER TRANSMISSION, WHERE AND WHEN WILL IT HAPPEN AGAIN? ON A HIGHWAY AT 65 MPH? THEY COULD BE KILLED.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

12/26/2013 - FOLSOM, CA
WHEN PARKING THE VEHICLE, THE VEHICLE SUDDENLY ACCELERATED WHILE THE DRIVER WAS NOT PRESSING THE ACCELERATOR. DESPITE THE DRIVER'S EFFORTS TO STOP THE VEHICLE, THE VEHICLE JUMPED OVER A CURB AND HEADED TOWARD A HEAD-ON COLLISION WITH TRAFFIC. IN AN ATTEMPT TO AVOID A POSSIBLY FATAL COLLISION, THE DRIVER SWERVED HARD TO THE LEFT INTENDING TO HIT A POLE TO STOP THE VEHICLE. THE VEHICLE MISSED THE POLE AND HIT A STARBUCKS WITH THE VEHICLE ENDING UP COMPLETELY INSIDE THE STARBUCKS. SIX PEOPLE WHO WERE INSIDE THE STARBUCKS WERE INJURED. THE DRIVER NEVER PRESSED THE ACCELERATOR DURING THE ENTIRE INCIDENT.

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE

12/26/2013 - FOLSOM, CA
WHEN PARKING THE VEHICLE, THE VEHICLE SUDDENLY ACCELERATED WHILE THE DRIVER WAS NOT PRESSING THE ACCELERATOR. DESPITE THE DRIVER'S EFFORTS TO STOP THE VEHICLE, THE VEHICLE JUMPED OVER A CURB AND HEADED TOWARD A HEAD-ON COLLISION WITH TRAFFIC. IN AN ATTEMPT TO AVOID A POSSIBLY FATAL COLLISION, THE DRIVER SWERVED HARD TO THE LEFT INTENDING TO HIT A POLE TO STOP THE VEHICLE. THE VEHICLE MISSED THE POLE AND HIT A STARBUCKS WITH THE VEHICLE ENDING UP COMPLETELY INSIDE THE STARBUCKS. SIX PEOPLE WHO WERE INSIDE THE STARBUCKS WERE INJURED. THE DRIVER NEVER PRESSED THE ACCELERATOR DURING THE ENTIRE INCIDENT.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 12
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds