Auto Recalls for Consumers

LEXUS RX300 - 2001 LEXUS RX300 Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Toyota Motor Corporation

There are 148 complaints filed for the 2001 LEXUS RX300

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2001 LEXUS RX300. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2001 LEXUS RX300, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (6) Engine And Engine Cooling (14) Parking Brake (1) Steering (1) Vehicle Speed Control (18)
Electrical System (4) Equipment (1) Power Train (107) Suspension (3) Visibility (1)
Engine (3) Fuel System Gasoline (2) Service Brakes Hydraulic (4) Unknown Or Other (1)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 11
 
ComplaintDescription

POWER TRAIN

7/15/2014 - RIO RANCHO , NM
TL-THE CONTACT OWNS A 2001 LEXUS RX 300. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE WHILE DRIVING AT VARIOUS SPEEDS, THERE WOULD BE A SUDDEN LOSS OF ACCELERATION. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE TRANSMISSION NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 150,000. DJR

View Details

POWER TRAIN

2/25/2014 - ROANOKE, VA
MY WIFE WAS TAKING OUR KIDS, 7 AND 9, TO GO SHOPPING AND AS SHE DROVE DOWN THE HILL FROM OUR APARTMENT COMPLEX, WITH NO WARNING, THE WHEELS JUST SUDDENLY LOCKED UP AND THE CAR WOULD NOT GO FORWARD OR REVERSE. SHE WAS LITERALLY STUCK ON A ONE LANE HILL, DUE TO A MASSIVE SNOWSTORM THAT LEFT THE SIDES, OF THE STREET COVERED WITH PILES OF SNOW FROM THE SNOWPLOW, WITH OTHER VEHICLES BEHIND HER WHO COULD NOT GO ANYWHERE. SOME GUYS FROM THE APARTMENT COMPLEX GOT OUT AND HELPED HER AND MANAGED TO GET IT TO A PARKING LOT AT THE BOTTOM OF THE HILL. WE HAD THE CAR TOWED TO A LOCAL GARAGE, BUT BEING A SUNDAY NIGHT, WE COULD NOT FIND OUT ANYTHING UNTIL MORNING. I WENT ONLINE AND STARTED RESEARCHING WHAT MIGHT HAVE CAUSED THIS AND DISCOVERED NUMEROUS OTHERS WITH SIMILAR PROBLEMS, ALL OF WHOM REPORTED THE TRANSMISSION FAILED WITH NO PRIOR WARNING. A LOT OF THE PEOPLE SAID THEY REPORTED IT TO LEXUS AND IT SHOULD HAVE BEEN RECALLED, BUT LEXUS REFUSED TO DO ANYTHING ABOUT IT AND DID NOT ISSUE A RECALL. THIS IS THE WEB ADDRESS THAT I DISCOVERED WHILE RESEARCHING IT, HTTP://FORUMS.EDMUNDS.COM/DISCUSSION/9657/LEXUS/RX-330/LEXUS-RX-TRANSMISSION-PROBLEMS/P35. WE PURCHASED THE VEHICLE FROM MY BROTHER WHO BOUGHT IT WITH LESS THAN 10,000 MILES ON IT AND WAS VERY METICULOUS ABOUT HAVING ALL OF THE MAINTENANCE DONE AT THE DEALER RECOMMENDED INTERVALS. THE CAR WAS GARAGE KEPT AND WELL MAINTAINED. IN FACT WHEN I DROVE IT TO WORK AND SHOWED PEOPLE, MOST OF THEM SAID IT LOOKS LIKE IT JUST CAME OFF A SHOWROOM FLOOR. MY BROTHER HAD THE TRANSMISSION FLUID CHANGED 3 TIMES AND TOLD US IT WAS DUE AGAIN WHEN HE SOLD IT TO US, AND WE HAD IT DONE RIGHT AWAY. WHEN I CONTACTED LEXUS ABOUT THIS THEY REFUSED TO DO ANYTHING FOR US. MY CONCERN IS WITH ANOTHER TRANSMISSION, WHERE AND WHEN WILL IT HAPPEN AGAIN? ON A HIGHWAY AT 65 MPH? THEY COULD BE KILLED.

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE

12/26/2013 - FOLSOM, CA
WHEN PARKING THE VEHICLE, THE VEHICLE SUDDENLY ACCELERATED WHILE THE DRIVER WAS NOT PRESSING THE ACCELERATOR. DESPITE THE DRIVER'S EFFORTS TO STOP THE VEHICLE, THE VEHICLE JUMPED OVER A CURB AND HEADED TOWARD A HEAD-ON COLLISION WITH TRAFFIC. IN AN ATTEMPT TO AVOID A POSSIBLY FATAL COLLISION, THE DRIVER SWERVED HARD TO THE LEFT INTENDING TO HIT A POLE TO STOP THE VEHICLE. THE VEHICLE MISSED THE POLE AND HIT A STARBUCKS WITH THE VEHICLE ENDING UP COMPLETELY INSIDE THE STARBUCKS. SIX PEOPLE WHO WERE INSIDE THE STARBUCKS WERE INJURED. THE DRIVER NEVER PRESSED THE ACCELERATOR DURING THE ENTIRE INCIDENT.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

12/26/2013 - FOLSOM, CA
WHEN PARKING THE VEHICLE, THE VEHICLE SUDDENLY ACCELERATED WHILE THE DRIVER WAS NOT PRESSING THE ACCELERATOR. DESPITE THE DRIVER'S EFFORTS TO STOP THE VEHICLE, THE VEHICLE JUMPED OVER A CURB AND HEADED TOWARD A HEAD-ON COLLISION WITH TRAFFIC. IN AN ATTEMPT TO AVOID A POSSIBLY FATAL COLLISION, THE DRIVER SWERVED HARD TO THE LEFT INTENDING TO HIT A POLE TO STOP THE VEHICLE. THE VEHICLE MISSED THE POLE AND HIT A STARBUCKS WITH THE VEHICLE ENDING UP COMPLETELY INSIDE THE STARBUCKS. SIX PEOPLE WHO WERE INSIDE THE STARBUCKS WERE INJURED. THE DRIVER NEVER PRESSED THE ACCELERATOR DURING THE ENTIRE INCIDENT.

View Details

AIR BAGS

10/30/2013 - DENVER, CO
2001 LEXUS RX300. CONSUMER WRITES IN REGARDS TO AIR BAG MALFUNCTION. THE CONSUMER STATED HE WAS TRAVELING WEST AT 30 MPH. A VEHICLE TRAVELING SOUTH RAN A STOP SIGN AND ATTEMPTED A LEFT TURN. HE WAS UNABLE TO STOP AND COLLIDED WITH THE VEHICLE THAT RAN THE STOP SIGN. THE CONSUMERS VEHICLE ENCOUNTERED SIGNIFICANT DAMAGE TO THE DRIVERS SIDE FRONT END AND HOOD. THE AIR BAG DID NOT DEPLOY, AT THE TIME OF THE CRASH. HE WAS ABLE TO BRACE HIMSELF FROM THE IMPACT. HOWEVER, HE DID SUFFER UPPER BACK AND NECK DISCOMFORT. BOTH THE FIRE DEPARTMENT AND POLICE ARRIVED AT THE SCENE AND THE DRIVER THAT RAN THE STOP SIGN ADMITTED HER FAULT.

View Details

ENGINE

2/8/2013 - JOHNSON CITY, TN
I HAVE JUST SAT AND READ PROBABLY 50 COMPLAINTS; SAFETY AND DEFECTIVE, CONCERNING THE TRANSMISSION FOR THE 2001 LEXUS RX300. FROM WHAT IM READING, I GUESS I SHOULD CONSIDER MYSELF LUCKY, I CURRENTLY HAVE 142,000 MILES ON MY VEHICLE AND ALTHOUGH I'VE EXPERIENCED NON-PERIODIC SHIFTING ABNORMALITIES, I HAVEN'T EXPERIENCED ANY OF THE HORRIFIC PROBLEMS I'VE BEEN READING IN THE NHTSA COMPLAINT SECTION OF THIS SITE. IT IS OBVIOUS THERE IS A MANUFACTURING DEFECT THAT NEEDS TO BE ADDRESSED BEFORE SOMEONE (IF NOT ALREADY) IS MANGLED OR WORST, KILLED. IT ASTONISHES ME THAT A COMPANY THAT SURVIVES BY THERE REPUTATION FOR QUALITY WOULD NOT ADDRESS WHAT IS OBVIOUSLY A SERIOUS AND COSTLY BURDEN TO THERE LOYAL CUSTOMERS. WE ARE TALKING ABOUT A 35,000 DOLLAR VEHICLE IN 2001. APPARENTLY LEXUS IS NOT PLANNING ON RESOLVING THE ISSUE, SO WHAT CAN CONSUMERS DO OTHER THAN COMPLAIN WHICH OBVIOUSLY IS DOING NOTHING TO FORCE BIG BUSINESS TO TAKE RESPONSIBILITY FOR THERE POOR DESIGN THAT RESULTED IN UNSAFE COSTLY PRODUCTS, LEAVING THE CONSUMER POWERLESS, WITH NO OPTION BUT TO PAY THEM AGAIN TO FIX THE PROBLEM THEY CREATED IN THE FIRST PLACE.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

2/8/2013 - JOHNSON CITY, TN
I HAVE JUST SAT AND READ PROBABLY 50 COMPLAINTS; SAFETY AND DEFECTIVE, CONCERNING THE TRANSMISSION FOR THE 2001 LEXUS RX300. FROM WHAT IM READING, I GUESS I SHOULD CONSIDER MYSELF LUCKY, I CURRENTLY HAVE 142,000 MILES ON MY VEHICLE AND ALTHOUGH I'VE EXPERIENCED NON-PERIODIC SHIFTING ABNORMALITIES, I HAVEN'T EXPERIENCED ANY OF THE HORRIFIC PROBLEMS I'VE BEEN READING IN THE NHTSA COMPLAINT SECTION OF THIS SITE. IT IS OBVIOUS THERE IS A MANUFACTURING DEFECT THAT NEEDS TO BE ADDRESSED BEFORE SOMEONE (IF NOT ALREADY) IS MANGLED OR WORST, KILLED. IT ASTONISHES ME THAT A COMPANY THAT SURVIVES BY THERE REPUTATION FOR QUALITY WOULD NOT ADDRESS WHAT IS OBVIOUSLY A SERIOUS AND COSTLY BURDEN TO THERE LOYAL CUSTOMERS. WE ARE TALKING ABOUT A 35,000 DOLLAR VEHICLE IN 2001. APPARENTLY LEXUS IS NOT PLANNING ON RESOLVING THE ISSUE, SO WHAT CAN CONSUMERS DO OTHER THAN COMPLAIN WHICH OBVIOUSLY IS DOING NOTHING TO FORCE BIG BUSINESS TO TAKE RESPONSIBILITY FOR THERE POOR DESIGN THAT RESULTED IN UNSAFE COSTLY PRODUCTS, LEAVING THE CONSUMER POWERLESS, WITH NO OPTION BUT TO PAY THEM AGAIN TO FIX THE PROBLEM THEY CREATED IN THE FIRST PLACE.

View Details

SUSPENSION

2/8/2013 - JOHNSON CITY, TN
I HAVE JUST SAT AND READ PROBABLY 50 COMPLAINTS; SAFETY AND DEFECTIVE, CONCERNING THE TRANSMISSION FOR THE 2001 LEXUS RX300. FROM WHAT IM READING, I GUESS I SHOULD CONSIDER MYSELF LUCKY, I CURRENTLY HAVE 142,000 MILES ON MY VEHICLE AND ALTHOUGH I'VE EXPERIENCED NON-PERIODIC SHIFTING ABNORMALITIES, I HAVEN'T EXPERIENCED ANY OF THE HORRIFIC PROBLEMS I'VE BEEN READING IN THE NHTSA COMPLAINT SECTION OF THIS SITE. IT IS OBVIOUS THERE IS A MANUFACTURING DEFECT THAT NEEDS TO BE ADDRESSED BEFORE SOMEONE (IF NOT ALREADY) IS MANGLED OR WORST, KILLED. IT ASTONISHES ME THAT A COMPANY THAT SURVIVES BY THERE REPUTATION FOR QUALITY WOULD NOT ADDRESS WHAT IS OBVIOUSLY A SERIOUS AND COSTLY BURDEN TO THERE LOYAL CUSTOMERS. WE ARE TALKING ABOUT A 35,000 DOLLAR VEHICLE IN 2001. APPARENTLY LEXUS IS NOT PLANNING ON RESOLVING THE ISSUE, SO WHAT CAN CONSUMERS DO OTHER THAN COMPLAIN WHICH OBVIOUSLY IS DOING NOTHING TO FORCE BIG BUSINESS TO TAKE RESPONSIBILITY FOR THERE POOR DESIGN THAT RESULTED IN UNSAFE COSTLY PRODUCTS, LEAVING THE CONSUMER POWERLESS, WITH NO OPTION BUT TO PAY THEM AGAIN TO FIX THE PROBLEM THEY CREATED IN THE FIRST PLACE.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

9/26/2012 - MONTGOMERY, TX
DRIVING ALONG NORMALLY, THE TRANSMISSION BEGAN MOVING IN AND OUT OF GEAR SPONTANEOUSLY. DEPRESSING THE ACCELERATOR RESULTED SOMETIMES IN REVVING THE ENGINE, OTHER TIMES IN ACCELERATION, AND OTHER TIMES SWITCHING BACK AND FORTH BETWEEN THE TWO CAUSING THE CAR TO JERK. THANKFULLY, I WAS NOT FAR FROM HOME AND WAS ABLE TO GET BACK SAFELY.

View Details

ENGINE

9/24/2012 - HACIENDA HEIGHTS, CA
WHILE ENTERING A FREEWAY ONRAMP THE TRANSMISSION SLIPPED OUT OF GEAR. I TRIED TO ACCELERATE BUT THERE WAS NO POWER THE ENGINE JUST REVVED. THE TRANSMISSION REINGAGED AS I WAS PULLING TO THE SHOULDER SO I CONTINUED MY TRIP HOME. LATER ON THE SAME DRIVE HOME, AT AN INTERCHANGE BETWEEN FREEWAYS IT HAPPENED AGAIN BUT THIS TIME THE TRANSMISSION DIDN'T RE-ENGAGE AND THERE WAS ALMOST A DEADLY MULTIPLE CAR ACCIDENT. IT WAS TOWED TO A TRANSMISSION SPECIALIST WHO HAD TO REPLACE THE TRANSMISSION. SOON AFTER REPLACEMENT I WAS ON ANOTHER TRIP AND I ATTEMPTED TO ACCELERATE TO PASS A CAR, THE TRANSMISSION SLIPPED AND I BARELY AVOIDED BEING IN A DEADLY AUTO ACCIDENT ON THE FREEWAY WITH A BIG RIG. ON THIS SAME TRIP I ALMOST LOST MY LIFE THREE TIMES DUE TO THIS IDENTICAL OCCURRENCE. IT IS ABSOLUTELY UNACCEPTABLE AND UNFORGIVABLE THAT TOYOTA HASN'T TAKEN RESPONSIBILITY FOR THIS MANUFACTURING ERROR AND ANNOUNCED A COMPLETE RECALL AND REPLACEMENT OF ALL TRANSMISSIONS FOR THIS YEAR, MAKE AND MODEL OF VEHICLE. IF, I KEEP THIS CAR AND I HAVE AN ACCIDENT DUE TO THEIR MANUFACTURING NEGLIGENCE ACTION MAY BE TAKEN.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 11
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds