Auto Recalls for Consumers

LINCOLN LS - 2001 LINCOLN LS Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Ford Motor Company

There are 226 complaints filed for the 2001 LINCOLN LS

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2001 LINCOLN LS. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2001 LINCOLN LS, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (27) Exterior Lighting (6) Power Train (14) Steering (14) Unknown Or Other (5)
Electrical System (16) Fuel System Gasoline (2) Seat Belts (3) Structure (6) Vehicle Speed Control (11)
Engine (4) Interior Lighting (1) Seats (3) Suspension (111) Visibility (17)
Engine And Engine Cooling (27) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (13) Tires (2) Wheels (9)
Equipment (5) Other (1)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 23
 
ComplaintDescription

AIR BAGS

2/18/2015 - MILTON, WV
THIS 2001 LINCOLN LS SPORTS PACKAGE HAS SUBSTANTIAL DEFECTS THAT IMPAIRS ITS SAFETY , THE SAFETY OF ITS DRIVERS, THE SAFETY OF ITS OCCUPANTS, THE SAFETY OF OTHER DRIVERS ON HIGHWAYS AND ROADS , AND THE SAFETY OF PEDESTRIANS. THE ROCKER PANELS , INNER AND OUTER ARE COMPLETELY RUSTED OUT. ANY IMPACT THIS VEHICLE INCURRED WILL LIKELY TO CAUSE DEATH OR SERIOUS BODILY INJURY IF THE VEHICLE IS DRIVEN AND OR OPERATED ON HIGHWAYS AND ROADS.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

2/18/2015 - MILTON, WV
THIS 2001 LINCOLN LS SPORTS PACKAGE HAS SUBSTANTIAL DEFECTS THAT IMPAIRS ITS SAFETY , THE SAFETY OF ITS DRIVERS, THE SAFETY OF ITS OCCUPANTS, THE SAFETY OF OTHER DRIVERS ON HIGHWAYS AND ROADS , AND THE SAFETY OF PEDESTRIANS. THE ROCKER PANELS , INNER AND OUTER ARE COMPLETELY RUSTED OUT. ANY IMPACT THIS VEHICLE INCURRED WILL LIKELY TO CAUSE DEATH OR SERIOUS BODILY INJURY IF THE VEHICLE IS DRIVEN AND OR OPERATED ON HIGHWAYS AND ROADS.

View Details

SUSPENSION

2/9/2015 - LAWRENCEVILLE, GA
TL CONTACT OWNS A 2001 LINCOLN LS. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING AT APPROXIMATELY 15 MPH, THE VEHICLE WAS MAKING AN ABNORMAL POPPING NOISE OR BUMPING NOISE. THE FAILURE RECURRED ON MULTIPLE OCCASIONS. THE CONTACT BELIEVED THAT THE FAILURE WAS RELATED TO NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 00V359001 (SUSPENSION). THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER. THE TECHNICIAN DIAGNOSED THAT THE BALL JOINT FAILED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 138,000. THE VIN WAS NOT AVAILABLE.

View Details

SUSPENSION

2/1/2015 - UPPER DARBY, PA
I WAS DRIVING DOWN THE ROAD AROUND 11PM TO PICK UP MY HUSBAND, AND THE LEFT DRIVER SIDE R/R DS LOWER BALL JOINT IN FRONT OF THE CAR COLLAPSED TO THE GROUND. I HAD TRAFFIC COMING FROM BEHIND AND FROM A CROSS STREET IN FRONT OF ME. LUCKILY, I WAS ABLE TO SIGNAL EVERYONE BY HORN, ARM WAVING AND DOUBLE BLINKERS BEFORE I WAS HIT BY ANYONE. I WAS ABLE TO PREVENT THE ACCIDENT.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

12/22/2014 - MILTON, WV
ON JULY 7, 2014 , THIS 2001 LINCOLN LS SPORTS PACKAGE WAS TAKEN INTO AN AUTHORIZED AND OFFICIAL INSPECTION STATION / ENTITY FOR AN WEST VIRGINIA VIRGINIA STATE INSPECTION . THIS VEHICLE WAS NOT LEGALLY AND / OR PROPERLY INSPECTED AND OR EXAMINED IN ACCORDANCE WITH THE INSPECTION REGULATIONS SET FORTH BY THE WEST VIRGINIA STATE POLICE. THIS STATION / ENTITY JUST PLACED AN CERTIFICATE OF INSPECTION ON WINDSHIELD OF VEHICLE. THIS VEHICLE WAS NOT IN AN SAFE AND MECHANICAL CONDITION TO OPERATE ON THE HIGHWAYS OF WEST VIRGINIA . IT HAD SIGNIFICANT STRUCTURAL AND FRAME DAMAGE ON THE UNDERCARRIAGE OF VEHICLE. BOTH THE RIGHT AND LEFT ROCKER PANELS , INNER AND OUTER WAS COMPLETELY RUSTED OUT . THIS SIGNIFICANTLY AFFECTS THE SAFETY OF THE VEHICLE , THE SAFETY OF ITS DRIVER , THE SAFETY OF OTHER DRIVERS , AND THE SAFETY OF PEDESTRIANS. ON OCTOBER 2, 2014 , THIS VEHICLE WAS REMOVED FROM OPERATION ON THE ROADWAYS / HIGHWAYS IN THE STATE OF WEST VIRGINIA AND DEEMED ROAD UNWORTHY BY THE WEST VIRGINIA DIVISION OF PUBLIC SAFETY AND THE WEST VIRGINIA STATE POLICE. THE CERTIFICATE OF INSPECTION [ JULY 2015 STICKER] WAS REMOVED FROM THE WINDSHIELD.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

11/8/2014 - MILTON, WV
THIS 2001 LINCOLN LS SPORTS PACKAGE HAD AN FAULTY SAFETY INSPECTION PERFORMED ON IT IN THE MONTH OF JULY 2014 BY AN INSPECTION STATION LOCATED IN WEST VIRGINIA.. IT WAS NOT OFFICIALLY INSPECTED AND EXAMINED. IT DID NOT MEET ALL REQUIREMENTS OF WEST VIRGINIA INSPECTION LAWS. HOWEVER, THIS INSPECTION STATION ATTACHED AN CERTIFICATE OF INSPECTION ON IT NEVERTHELESS. [ AN JULY 2015 INSPECTION STICKER ]. DURING THIS PERIOD , THIS VEHICLE HAD STRUCTURAL AND FRAME DAMAGE , INVOLVING BOTH THE RIGHT AND LEFT ROCKER PANELS, INNER AND OUTER, BEING COMPLETELY RUSTED OUT. THIS DAMAGE AFFECTS THE 1] SAFETY OF THE VEHICLE, 2] UTILITY OF THE VEHICLE, 3] PERFORMANCE OF THE VEHICLE, 4] INTEGRITY OF THE VEHICLE , 5] STRUCTURE OF THE VEHICLE , AND, 6] USE OF VEHICLE. FURTHERMORE , THIS DAMAGE ON THIS VEHICLE AFFECTS 1] THE SAFETY OF ITS DRIVER[S] , 2] THE SAFETY OF ITS OCCUPANT[S] , 3] THE SAFETY OF OTHER DRIVER[S] ON THE HIGHWAYS , AND 4] THE SAFETY OF PEDESTRIANS. HOWEVER , THIS INSPECTION STATION DEEMED IT ROAD WORTHY DURING THEIR INSPECTION OF VEHICLE DURING MONTH OF JULY 2014.AND APPROVED IT AS BEING SAFE AND MEETING ALL INSPECTION LAWS, INSPECTION PROCEDURES, AND ALL INSPECTION CODES. HOWEVER, ON OCTOBER 2, 2014, DIVISION OF PUBLIC SAFETY [WEST VIRGINIA] AFTER THEIR INSPECTION AND EXAMINATION OF VEHICLE CONFIRMED THAT THIS INSPECTION STATION INDEED PERFORMED AN FAULTY AND IMPROPER AND ILLEGAL INSPECTION ON VEHICLE DURING THE MONTH OF JULY 2014 . THIS VEHICLE DID NOT MEET SAFETY REQUIREMENTS AS REQUIRED AS AN PROXIMATE RESULT OF THIS STRUCTURAL AND FRAME DAMAGE EXISTENT ON VEHICLE. THEREFORE, THE DIVISION OF SAFETY DIVISION [ WEST VIRGINIA] DEEMED THIS VEHICLE AS ROAD UNWORTHY AND REMOVED THE CERTIFICATE OF INSPECTION FROM VEHICLE [ JULY 2015 STICKER].

View Details

SUSPENSION

5/20/2014 - AUSTIN, TX
I WAS TOLD TODAY WHILE I WAS GETTING THE OIL CHANGED ON MY VEHICLE THAT THE FRONT LOWER BALL JOINTS WERE VERY LOOSE, AND THAT I WAS LUCKY THAT MY FRONT TIRED HADN'T FALLEN OFF YET. AFTER SPEAKING WITH THE MANAGER HE REFERRED ME TO FORD BECAUSE OF THE RECALL ON THE SUSPENSION THAT HE KNEW ABOUT. HE THOUGH THAT MY CAR SHOULD QUALIFY CONSIDERING THE SEVERITY OF THE CONDITION THAT THEY WERE IN. AFTER SPEAKING WITH SEVERAL PEOPLE AT FORD I WAS INFORMED THAT EVEN THOUGH I WAS HAVING THE SAME PROBLEM AS DESCRIBED IN THE RECALL THAT MY CAR 'S VIN NUMBER DID NOT QUALIFY. I DON'T UNDERSTAND THAT AT ALL. MY CAR IS THE SAME YEAR, MAKE , AND MODEL, WITH THE SAME DANGEROUS SITUATION.

View Details

ENGINE

4/4/2014 - COVINA, CA
THE PLASTIC TENSIONERS THAT THE MANUFACTURER PUT IN BROKE CAUSING A HUGE ENGINE MISFIRE. THE VEHICLE HAD THESE PLASTIC TENSIONERS BUT A RECALL SHOULD HAVE HAPPENED AS IT APPEARS SOMEONE KNEW ABOUT THIS SINCE MANUFACTURER CAME UP WITH GENERATION II AND GENERATION III AND THESE ADDED GENERATIONS, ARE MADE OF METAL WHICH SHOULD HAVE BEEN IN PLACED WHEN THEY FIRST BUILT THE ENGINE. AWESOME ENGINE, LOUSY TENSIONERS THAT AT HIGH SPEEDS, COULD HAVE CAUSE ME TO LOSE CONTROL AND PERHAPS GOT INTO AN ACCIDENT OR KILLED MYSELF OR KILL SOME ONE ELSE. PLEASE LET ME KNOW IF THERE IS A RECALL FOR THESE TENSIONERS. I AM ABOUT TO SPEND 1,500 TOP REPLACE THEM.

View Details

ENGINE

9/28/2013 - COVINA, CA
THE PLASTIC TENSIONER FOR TIMING CHAIN BROKE DUE TO BEING MADE OF PLASTIC. INTERNAL PARTS SHOULD NOT BE PLASTIC. ALTHOUGH NO ACCIDENT, CAR IS DISABLED. WHOEVER BUILT THOSE CARS, HAVE NO REGARD FOR SAFETY.

View Details

ENGINE

9/26/2013 - CLOVIS, CA
MY 01 LINCOLN LS 3.9 V8 CAUGHT FIRE WHILE IT WAS SITTING IN MY DRIVEWAY AT 11:30 PM. BY THE TIME IT WAS NOTICED, THE ENTIRE FRONT HALF WAS ENGULFED. IT EXPLODED ABOUT 3 TIMES (POSSIBLY THE AIRBAGS EXPLODING). THE FIRE DEPARTMENT PUT THE FIRE OUT BEFORE IT REACHED THE FUEL TANK. I HAD DRIVEN IT AROUND AN HOUR BEFORE. THE MOST DAMAGE WAS NEAR THE DRIVER SIDE FRONT OF CAR NEAR WHERE THE HEADLIGHT AND AIR FILTER WERE LOCATED. THE PASSENGER SIDE OF THE ENGINE COMPARTMENT HAD NOT BURNED AS INTENSE AS THE DRIVER SIDE. (THE DRIVER SIDE FRONT OF THE HOOD HAD COMPLETELY BURNED AWAY..) THE FIRE DEPT SAID IT POSSIBLY STARTED IN THE ENGINE BUT THE FIRE HAD BURNED SO MUCH THAT THEY COULD NOT BE SURE. NO INVESTIGATION SINCE I ONLY HAD LIABILITY INSURANCE. I HAVE OWNED THE CAR SINCE 2008 AND HAVE NOTICED DIFFERENT ELECTRICAL MALFUNCTIONS SUCH AS RADIO VOLUME INCREASING, INDICATOR LIGHTS RANDOMLY COMING ON/OFF (ATC, ABS, AIR BAG, ECT). ABOUT ONE MONTH BEFORE FIRE THE CAR WAS HAVING ISSUES WITH NOT STARTING AND RANDOMLY DYING AS I WAS DRIVING. THE BATTERY WAS TESTED AND WAS NOT THE ISSUE. I LOVED MY CAR BUT I DON'T THINK IT WAS EVER FREE OF ISSUES. (WINDOW REGULATORS/CLIPS REPLACED EACH WINDOW TWICE, OIL IN CYLINDERS-REPLACED ALL CYLINDERS/COILS/ECT TWICE, CAR WOULD LOSE POWER/HESITATE OVER 40MPH, GAS PEDAL WOULD GET STUCK IF PRESSED TO QUICKLY CAUSING RPMS TO SURGE BUT CAR WOULD NOT GO OVER 25-30 MPH AND WOULD BE EXTREMELY HARD TO STOP (IT WOULD SURGE FORWARD AND I WOULD HAVE TO PUT ALL MY WEIGHT ON THE BRAKE PEDAL TO KEEP IT FROM HITTING WHATEVER WAS IN FRONT OF IT) I WOULD TEMP FIX THIS ISSUE BY FLICKING THE IDLE CONTROL LEVER (WHICH I NOTICED ONE OF THE "E CLIPS" HAD COME OFF OF ONE OF THE ARMS) NEAR THE THROTTLE BODY (WHICH WOULD ALSO GET STUCK OPEN/CLOSED AND HAVE TO BE CLEANED ON REG BASIS.) MANY MORE ISSUES NOT LISTED HERE... BEAUTIFUL CAR BUT DEFINITELY A LEMON...

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 23
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds