Auto Recalls for Consumers

LINCOLN LS - 2001 LINCOLN LS Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Ford Motor Company

There are 238 complaints filed for the 2001 LINCOLN LS

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2001 LINCOLN LS. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2001 LINCOLN LS, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (33) Exterior Lighting (6) Power Train (14) Steering (14) Unknown Or Other (2)
Electrical System (16) Fuel System Gasoline (2) Seat Belts (3) Structure (10) Vehicle Speed Control (11)
Engine (4) Interior Lighting (1) Seats (4) Suspension (116) Visibility (17)
Engine And Engine Cooling (27) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Service Brakes (1) Tires (2) Wheels (9)
Equipment (5) Other (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (13) Traction Control System (1)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 24
 
ComplaintDescription

SERVICE BRAKES

9/2/2016 - KINGS MOUNTAIN, NC
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2001 LINCOLN LS. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE BRAKE, AIR BAG, AND TRACTION WARNING INDICATORS ILLUMINATED. IN ADDITION, WHILE DRIVING AT ANY SPEED, THE VEHICLE SHOOK ABNORMALLY AND HESITATED TO ACCELERATE. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC TO BE DIAGNOSED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE VIN WAS NOT INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 00V359001 (SUSPENSION). THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS NOT AVAILABLE.

View Details

TRACTION CONTROL SYSTEM

9/2/2016 - KINGS MOUNTAIN, NC
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2001 LINCOLN LS. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE BRAKE, AIR BAG, AND TRACTION WARNING INDICATORS ILLUMINATED. IN ADDITION, WHILE DRIVING AT ANY SPEED, THE VEHICLE SHOOK ABNORMALLY AND HESITATED TO ACCELERATE. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC TO BE DIAGNOSED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE VIN WAS NOT INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 00V359001 (SUSPENSION). THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS NOT AVAILABLE.

View Details

SUSPENSION

6/21/2016 - GERMANSVILLE, PA
ON TWO OCCASIONS MY CAR SUSPENSION HAD FAILED. I AM JUST LUCKY I WAS NOT ON THE HIGHWAY OR I COULD HAVE BEEN FATALLY WOUNDED. I CAN NOT BELIEVE I NEVER RECEIVED ANY NOTICES ABOUT THE SUSPENSION RECALL. THE FIRST INSTANCE I WAS DRIVING IN MY DRIVEWAY AND THE CAR COMPLETELY DROPPED DOWN ON THE TIRES AND COULD NOT MOVE THE VEHICLE. THE SECOND INSTANCE I WAS DRIVING AND THE SUSPENSION FELL ON A REGULAR ROAD NOT A FAST HIGHWAY. IT HAD COST ME $250.00 TO HAVE IT TOWED BOTH TIMES BECAUSE IT COULD NOT BE MOVED BY DRIVING. IN ADDITION THE SECOND FAILURE COST ME $175.00 BECAUSE THE FRONT TIRES WERE RUINED. FOR THE REPAIR WORK ON BOTH INSTANCES COST ME $125.00 EACH TIME TOTALING ANOTHER $250.00 . SO BECAUSE OF SOMEONE'S FAILURE TO TIGHTEN NUTS IT COST ME $675.00 , AND NOT TO MENTION THE RISK OF LOSING MY LIFE. TERRIFYING TO SAY THE LEAST.

View Details

AIR BAGS

6/21/2016 - GERMANSVILLE, PA
ON TWO OCCASIONS MY CAR SUSPENSION HAD FAILED. I AM JUST LUCKY I WAS NOT ON THE HIGHWAY OR I COULD HAVE BEEN FATALLY WOUNDED. I CAN NOT BELIEVE I NEVER RECEIVED ANY NOTICES ABOUT THE SUSPENSION RECALL. THE FIRST INSTANCE I WAS DRIVING IN MY DRIVEWAY AND THE CAR COMPLETELY DROPPED DOWN ON THE TIRES AND COULD NOT MOVE THE VEHICLE. THE SECOND INSTANCE I WAS DRIVING AND THE SUSPENSION FELL ON A REGULAR ROAD NOT A FAST HIGHWAY. IT HAD COST ME $250.00 TO HAVE IT TOWED BOTH TIMES BECAUSE IT COULD NOT BE MOVED BY DRIVING. IN ADDITION THE SECOND FAILURE COST ME $175.00 BECAUSE THE FRONT TIRES WERE RUINED. FOR THE REPAIR WORK ON BOTH INSTANCES COST ME $125.00 EACH TIME TOTALING ANOTHER $250.00 . SO BECAUSE OF SOMEONE'S FAILURE TO TIGHTEN NUTS IT COST ME $675.00 , AND NOT TO MENTION THE RISK OF LOSING MY LIFE. TERRIFYING TO SAY THE LEAST.

View Details

AIR BAGS

3/24/2016 - NORTH FON DU LAC, WI
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2001 LINCOLN LS. WHILE DRIVING AT AN UNKNOWN SPEED, THE HORN WAS DEPRESSED AND FAILED TO SOUND AND THE AIR BAG WARNING INDICATOR ILLUMINATED. THE FAILURE RECURRED CONTINUOUSLY. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE CLOCK SPRING FAILED AND NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 145,000. UPDATED 04/12/16.

View Details

AIR BAGS

3/16/2016 - DECATUR, AL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2001 LINCOLN LS. WHILE DRIVING AT VARIOUS SPEEDS, THE AIR BAG WARNING INDICATOR ILLUMINATED ON THE INSTRUMENT PANEL. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER WHERE A CONNECTOR WAS REPLACED, BUT THE REMEDY FAILED TO REPAIR THE VEHICLE. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN BACK TO THE DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE AIR BAG CONTROL MODULE FAILED AND NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURES. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 142,834.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

1/2/2016 - MILTON, WV
ON THIS 2001 LINCOLN LS SPORTS PACKAGE , THE ROCKER PANELS, INNER AND OUTER IS COMPLETELY RUSTED OUT . THESE DEFECTS SIGNIFICANTLY AFFECTS THE SAFETY OF THIS VEHICLE THE LOCAL LINCOLN / FORD DEALERSHIP HAS VERIFIED THESE DEFECTS AND THE WVSP AND DIVISION OF PUBLIC SAFETY HAS INSPECTED AND EXAMINED THIS VEHICLE AND AS AN DIRECT RESULT OF THEIR FINDINGS OF FACT, HAS DEEMED VEHICLE TO BE ROAD UNWORTHY AND POSED TOO SERIOUS RISK FOR ITS DRIVER (MYSELF) , FOR ITS OCCUPANTS (MINE) AND FOR OTHER DRIVERS ON HIGHWAYS AND FOR PEDESTRIANS AND THEREFORE REMOVED IT FROM BEING ABLE TO MOVE, FROM BEING ABLE TO OPERATE , AND REMOVED IT FROM BEING ABLE TO BE DRIVEN ON ANY AND ALL HIGHWAYS.. THE DEFECTS ON THIS VEHICLE IN THEIR FINDINGS OF FACTS ARE SIGNIFICANT AND SERIOUS IN NATURE AND WAS NOT CAUSED BY ME AS THE REGISTERED OWNER OF IT.

View Details

SUSPENSION

6/11/2015 - LAS VEGAS , NV
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2001 LINCOLN LS. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 15 MPH, THE STEERING WHEEL VEERED OUT OF DIRECTION. THE FAILURE RECURRED MULTIPLE TIMES. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC FOR DIAGNOSTIC TESTING. THE WHEEL BEARING, HUB ASSEMBLY, AND LOWER BALL JOINTS WERE REPLACED. THE FAILURE RECURRED. THE CONTACT WAS MADE AWARE OF NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 00V359001 (SUSPENSION); HOWEVER, THE VIN WAS NOT INCLUDED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 113,000.

View Details

SUSPENSION

5/14/2015 - DANVILLE, IA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2001 LINCOLN LS. WHILE DRIVING AT VARIOUS SPEEDS, THERE WAS AN ABNORMAL CRUNCHING NOISE COMING FROM THE FRONT DRIVER AND PASSENGER SIDE OF THE VEHICLE. THE CONTACT DISCOVERED THE BALL JOINTS WERE NOT ATTACHED TO THE CONTROL ARM. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE CONTROL ARM NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT INCLUDED IN THE RECALL FOR HIS VEHICLE MODEL. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 69,000.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

2/18/2015 - MILTON, WV
THIS 2001 LINCOLN LS SPORTS PACKAGE HAS SUBSTANTIAL DEFECTS THAT IMPAIRS ITS SAFETY , THE SAFETY OF ITS DRIVERS, THE SAFETY OF ITS OCCUPANTS, THE SAFETY OF OTHER DRIVERS ON HIGHWAYS AND ROADS , AND THE SAFETY OF PEDESTRIANS. THE ROCKER PANELS , INNER AND OUTER ARE COMPLETELY RUSTED OUT. ANY IMPACT THIS VEHICLE INCURRED WILL LIKELY TO CAUSE DEATH OR SERIOUS BODILY INJURY IF THE VEHICLE IS DRIVEN AND OR OPERATED ON HIGHWAYS AND ROADS.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 24
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds