Auto Recalls for Consumers

PONTIAC SUNFIRE - 2001 PONTIAC SUNFIRE Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 61 complaints filed for the 2001 PONTIAC SUNFIRE

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2001 PONTIAC SUNFIRE. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2001 PONTIAC SUNFIRE, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (6) Equipment (1) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (8) Vehicle Speed Control (1)
Communications (1) Exterior Lighting (2) Other (1) Structure (2) Visibility (4)
Electrical System (18) Fuel System Gasoline (2) Seat Belts (2) Suspension (2) Wheels (1)
Engine And Engine Cooling (12) Fuel System Other (2) Service Brakes (1) Tires (4)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  ... 5
 
ComplaintDescription

SERVICE BRAKES

6/7/2013 - GROVE CITY, OH
ALL OF A SUDDEN, MY FRONT BRAKES NO LONGER WORKED PROPERLY?! ONLY REAR, EMERGENCY BRAKE AND L FRONT? HAD R FRONT CALIPER COMPLETELY REMOVED AND REPLACED, YET PROBLEM STILL EXISTED?! WAS TOLD SOMETHING COULD BE WRONG WITH GM'S ANTI LOCK BRAKE UNIT INSTALLED INTO THE MASTER BRAKE CYLINDER? COST WAS GOING TO BE AROUND $800.00 TO REPLACE UNIT THAT, ON MY VEHICLE WAS ASSEMBLED IN MEXICO?

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE

5/18/2012 - YORK , SC
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2001 PONTIAC SUNFIRE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE STALLED WITHOUT WARNING WHILE DRIVING AT ANY SPEED. THE FAILURE WAS EXPERIENCED SEVERAL TIMES. THE CONTACT REPLACED THE FUSES. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT TAKEN TO THE DEALER TO HAVE A DIAGNOSTIC TEST PERFORMED. THE FAILURE AND THE CURRENT MILEAGES WERE 116,000. UPDATED 06/20/12 THE CONSUMER STATED THE FUEL INJECTION WAS NOT REPLACED. HER HUSBAND REPLACED THE FUSES. UPDATED 06/22/12 UPDATED 8/20/12 THE CONSUMER ALSO STATED THE VEHICLE USED AN EXCESSIVE AMOUNT OF FUEL. UPDATED 08/23/12

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

5/18/2012 - YORK , SC
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2001 PONTIAC SUNFIRE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE STALLED WITHOUT WARNING WHILE DRIVING AT ANY SPEED. THE FAILURE WAS EXPERIENCED SEVERAL TIMES. THE CONTACT REPLACED THE FUSES. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT TAKEN TO THE DEALER TO HAVE A DIAGNOSTIC TEST PERFORMED. THE FAILURE AND THE CURRENT MILEAGES WERE 116,000. UPDATED 06/20/12 THE CONSUMER STATED THE FUEL INJECTION WAS NOT REPLACED. HER HUSBAND REPLACED THE FUSES. UPDATED 06/22/12 UPDATED 8/20/12 THE CONSUMER ALSO STATED THE VEHICLE USED AN EXCESSIVE AMOUNT OF FUEL. UPDATED 08/23/12

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

3/22/2011 - FREMONT, OH
I TOO HAVE A 2001 PONTIAC SUNFIRE SE 2.2 AUTO WITH ABOUT 58,000 MILES ON IT. I BOUGHT THIS CAR IN MARCH OF 2002 WITH ONLY 14,937 MILES ON IT. I HAD NO PROBLEMS WITH THIS CAR TILL NOVEMBER 2004 AT 44,874 MILES, WHEN AN 8 POINT BUCK RAN INTO THE LEFT SIDE FRONT FENDER AND DAMAGED IT, THE HOOD, WINDSHIELD, DRIVER'S DOOR, ROOF, AND BACK DOOR WHILE I WAS DRIVING 55 MPH. THE CAR WAS REPAIRED, THEN SAT OUTSIDE FOR ABOUT 4 1/2 YEARS. HAD TO INSTALL A NEW FUEL PUMP AND BATTERY, THEN I STARTED DRIVING IT AGAIN EVERY DAY IN NOVEMBER 2009. NOW I HAVE NO HIGH BEAM HEADLIGHTS, LIGHTS ARE GOOD. ALSO, WHEN I PUT THE TRANSMISSION INTO GEAR, THE DAYTIME RUNNING LIGHTS FLASH REAL FAST ABOUT 7 OR 8 TIMES, THEN GO OUT, AND THE SERVICE LIGHT COMES ON, BUT IF I TURN ON THE LOW BEAM HEADLIGHTS FIRST, IT IS FINE! SERVICE LIGHT GOES OUT AFTER CAR IS TURNED OFF AND RESTARTED, UNTIL PUT BACK INTO GEAR WITH THE HEADLIGHTS OFF! I HAVE REPLACED THE DAYTIME RUNNING LIGHTS RELAY WITH A NEW ONE, BUT IT STILL DOES THE SAME THING, AND IF I LEAVE THE RELAY OUT, THEN WHEN I TURN ON THE HEADLIGHTS, ONE IS NORMAL AND THE OTHER IS REAL DIM!! THIS HAS BEEN AN ONGOING PROBLEM FOR ABOUT A YEAR NOW. I THOUGHT IT MAY BE A PROBLEM STEMMING FROM THE DEER DAMAGE AND REPAIRS, BUT I SEE FROM ALL OF THE OTHER COMMENTS ON HERE FROM THE PAST 9 OR 10 YEARS OR SO, THAT THIS SEEMS TO BE A COMMON PROBLEM WITH THIS CAR. WOULD THIS BE THE TURN SIGNAL/DIMMER SWITCH IN THE STEERING COLUMN CAUSING ALL OF THESE PROBLEMS?? ANY IDEAS?? THANK YOU!!

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

3/22/2011 - FREMONT, OH
I TOO HAVE A 2001 PONTIAC SUNFIRE SE 2.2 AUTO WITH ABOUT 58,000 MILES ON IT. I BOUGHT THIS CAR IN MARCH OF 2002 WITH ONLY 14,937 MILES ON IT. I HAD NO PROBLEMS WITH THIS CAR TILL NOVEMBER 2004 AT 44,874 MILES, WHEN AN 8 POINT BUCK RAN INTO THE LEFT SIDE FRONT FENDER AND DAMAGED IT, THE HOOD, WINDSHIELD, DRIVER'S DOOR, ROOF, AND BACK DOOR WHILE I WAS DRIVING 55 MPH. THE CAR WAS REPAIRED, THEN SAT OUTSIDE FOR ABOUT 4 1/2 YEARS. HAD TO INSTALL A NEW FUEL PUMP AND BATTERY, THEN I STARTED DRIVING IT AGAIN EVERY DAY IN NOVEMBER 2009. NOW I HAVE NO HIGH BEAM HEADLIGHTS, LIGHTS ARE GOOD. ALSO, WHEN I PUT THE TRANSMISSION INTO GEAR, THE DAYTIME RUNNING LIGHTS FLASH REAL FAST ABOUT 7 OR 8 TIMES, THEN GO OUT, AND THE SERVICE LIGHT COMES ON, BUT IF I TURN ON THE LOW BEAM HEADLIGHTS FIRST, IT IS FINE! SERVICE LIGHT GOES OUT AFTER CAR IS TURNED OFF AND RESTARTED, UNTIL PUT BACK INTO GEAR WITH THE HEADLIGHTS OFF! I HAVE REPLACED THE DAYTIME RUNNING LIGHTS RELAY WITH A NEW ONE, BUT IT STILL DOES THE SAME THING, AND IF I LEAVE THE RELAY OUT, THEN WHEN I TURN ON THE HEADLIGHTS, ONE IS NORMAL AND THE OTHER IS REAL DIM!! THIS HAS BEEN AN ONGOING PROBLEM FOR ABOUT A YEAR NOW. I THOUGHT IT MAY BE A PROBLEM STEMMING FROM THE DEER DAMAGE AND REPAIRS, BUT I SEE FROM ALL OF THE OTHER COMMENTS ON HERE FROM THE PAST 9 OR 10 YEARS OR SO, THAT THIS SEEMS TO BE A COMMON PROBLEM WITH THIS CAR. WOULD THIS BE THE TURN SIGNAL/DIMMER SWITCH IN THE STEERING COLUMN CAUSING ALL OF THESE PROBLEMS?? ANY IDEAS?? THANK YOU!!

View Details

COMMUNICATIONS: HORN ASSEMBLY

12/23/2008 - OCEAN SPRINGS, MS
WE HAVE A 2001 SUNFIRE THAT HAS HORN PROBLEMS. SOMETIMES THE HORN WORKS, SOMETIMES IT DOESN'T. WE HAVE TAKEN IT BY DEALERSHIPS AND THEY SAY THEY CANNOT FIND THE PROBLEM. WE HAD A 1998 SUNFIRE THAT DID EXACTLY THE SAME THING. THIS IS AN OBVIOUS DEFECT AND IT IS A SAFETY ISSUE BECAUSE OF THE LOSS OF THE HORN.

View Details

TIRES

8/4/2008 - CLARK, MO
TL CONTACT OWNS A 2001 PONTIAC SUNFIRE. THE VEHICLE HAS COOPER TRENDSETTER SE TIRES, SIZE P195/65R15. WHILE DRIVING 50 MPH, THE VEHICLE BEGAN TO VIBRATE. AS THE CONTACT ATTEMPTED TO SLOW DOWN, THE FRONT DRIVER SIDE TIRE EXPLODED AND CAUSED THE SIDE SKIRT ON THE VEHICLE TO FALL OFF. THE TIRE FAILURE ALSO DAMAGED THE FRONT BUMPER AND THE FRONT DRIVER SIDE TIRE WELL. THERE WAS NO CRASH AND NO PRIOR WARNING. THE TIRES HAVE NOT BEEN DIAGNOSED BY THE DEALER. THE TIRE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 4,000. THE VEHICLE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 90,000.

View Details

OTHER

4/12/2007 - SHAMONG, NJ
VEHICLE SLIPPED ON ICE GOING APPROXIMATELY 20 MILES AN HOUR, HIT A TREE ON THE PASSENGER SIDE DOOR. EXTREME DAMAGE, DRIVER SUSTAINED SEVERE HEAD TRAUMA ON THE RIGHT SIDE FROM THE PASSENGER SIDE COLLAPSING.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING: ENGINE: GASOLINE: BELTS AND ASSOCIATED PULLEYS

11/28/2006 - HENDERSONVILLE, TN
TIMING CHAIN GUIDES WENT OUT AFTER ONLY 50,000 MILES. MY MECHANIC SAID THIS IS THE THIRD ONE HE'S DONE LIKE THIS.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

9/29/2006 - FULTON, NY
ELECTRICAL SYSTEM FAILURE. UNDER DASH WIRE HARNESS NEEDS REPLACEMENT. SPEEDOMETER, TACH AND ALL OTHER GAUGES FAILED. ALL SAFETY AND DIAGNOSTIC LIGHTS COME ON ... REPUTABLE ELECTRONICS REPAIR SHOP DIAGNOSED PROBLEM AND COST TO REPAIR IN EXCESS $2,000. CAR NOT DRIVABLE, NOT ABLE TO SELL, NOT ABLE TO BE REGISTER IN NY STATE.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  ... 5
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds