Auto Recalls for Consumers

VOLKSWAGEN JETTA - 2001 VOLKSWAGEN JETTA Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by VOLKSWAGEN

There are 666 complaints filed for the 2001 VOLKSWAGEN JETTA

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2001 VOLKSWAGEN JETTA. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2001 VOLKSWAGEN JETTA, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (101) Exterior Lighting (82) Other (4) Service Brakes Air (4) Tires (6)
Electrical System (120) Fuel Propulsion System (1) Parking Brake (3) Service Brakes Electric (1) Unknown Or Other (9)
Electronic Stability Control (2) Fuel System Diesel (9) Power Train (64) Service Brakes Hydraulic (86) Vehicle Speed Control (14)
Engine (6) Fuel System Gasoline (15) Seat Belts (5) Steering (4) Visibility (70)
Engine And Engine Cooling (114) Fuel System Other (2) Seats (27) Structure (44) Visibility Wiper (2)
Equipment (12) Latches Locks Linkages (19) Service Brakes (2) Suspension (11) Wheels (5)

Pages:  
<<  13  14  15  16  17  18  19  20  21  22  23  24  25  26  27  >>  ... 64
 
ComplaintDescription

EQUIPMENT: MECHANICAL: JACKS

4/22/2006 - CHICAGO, IL
MY 2001 VOLKSWAGEN JETTA FELL OFF THE JACK WHILE MY SON WAS CHANGING A TIRE THIS MORNING. THE JACK, PROVIDED BY THE MANUFACTURER WITH THE VEHICLE, APPEARS TO HAVE SOME SORT OF DESIGN DEFECT. I WAS ABLE TO RAISE THE VEHICLE AND REPLACE THE TIRE USING THE JACK PROVIDED WITH A 1994 VOLVO 940.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM: IGNITION

4/5/2006 - CHICAGO, IL
2001 VOLKSWAGEN JETTA GLX VR6. IN OCTOBER OF 2004 NOTICED THE ENGINE SURGING EVERY ONCE IN AWHILE WHEN ACCELERATING. EVENTUALLY, THE MIL WENT ON AND THERE WAS A DRASTIC LOSS OF POWER. AFTER BRINGING IT INTO THE DEALER, IT WAS DEEMED TO BE A $700 IGNITION COIL PACK. RESEARCH ON THE INTERNET FOUND THAT VW RELEASED A RECALL IN FEBRUARY OF 2003 STATING A RECALL ON ALL 2001 COIL PACKS. I MENTIONED THIS TO THE DEALER, AND WAS TOLD THAT MY VIN WAS NOT INCLUDED. I LOGGED A COMPLAINT WITH VW CUSTOMER CARE AND THEY DID NOTHING. IN MARCH OF 2006, THE EXACT SAME THING HAPPENED AND ONCE THE MIL LIGHT WENT ON, I BROUGHT IT INTO THE DEALER. THIS TIME IT WAS THE IGNITION COIL PACK, WIRES AND SPARK PLUGS AND THEY CHARGED $1200. WHEN I EXPLAINED I HAD THE SAME ISSUE 14K MILES AND 17 MONTHS EARLIER, I WAS TOLD THAT THEY COULDN'T DO ANYTHING, AS THE COIL PACK WAS PAST ITS 12K MILE WARRANTY. THE DEALER STATED THEY COULD DO NOTHING FOR ME AND AGAIN REFERRED ME TO VW CUSTOMER CARE, WHO COULD CARE LESS AS MY VIN # WAS NOT INCLUDED IN THE RECALL. THIS IS COMPLETELY UNACCEPTABLE AND UNSAFE, ESPECIALLY DUE TO LOSS OF POWER AND SURGING. I AM IN PROCESS OF WRITING A DEMAND LETTER TO VW, WHICH WILL MOST LIKELY NOT DO MUCH AND WILL FORCE ME TO TAKE VW TO SMALL CLAIMS COURT TO REPAY ME FOR ALL OF THE REPAIRS MADE.

View Details

LATCHES/LOCKS/LINKAGES

4/1/2006 - BLOOMINGDALE, IL
I DRIVE A 2001 VW JETTA. AS I OPENED MY GLOVE COMPARTMENT TODAY, THE HANDLE INCLUDING THE LOCK MECHANISM FELL INTO MY HAND. IT JUST BROKE OFF RIGHT THEN AND THERE. I DO NOT USE MY GLOVE COMPARTMENT OFTEN SO IT IS NOT FROM WEAR AND TEAR. MY ISSUE IS THAT NOW THERE IS A HOLE IN MY GLOVE COMPARTMENT. IF SOMEONE WAS THINKING ABOUT BREAKING IN, THIS COULD BE THE DECIDING FACTOR FOR THEM KNOWING THAT THE GLOVE COMPARTMENT IS COMPLETELY ACCESSIBLE AND AT TIMES THERE ARE VALUABLES LOCATED IN COMPARTMENTS AS WELL AS TRIGGER SWITCHES TO TRUNKS AND IN SOME CASES EVEN SPARE KEYS TO THE CAR OR A PERSON'S HOME! I DO NOT HAVE ANY OF THOSE ITEMS IN THE COMPARTMENT, BUT SOMEONE COULD BE INTRIGUED ENOUGH TO TRY TO BREAK IN. I CONTACTED THE WARRANTY COMPANY AND VOLKSWAGEN AND THE MOST THE DEALERSHIP OFFERED WAS 25% DISCOUNT TO FIX IT. JUST NOT ENOUGH TO ENSURE THE SAFETY OF THE CAR.

View Details

AIR BAGS: SIDE/WINDOW

3/24/2006 - HARTSELLE, AL
RAN OVER DEBRIS ON INTERSTATE AND SEAT SIDE AIRBAG DEPLOYED. VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED WITH NEW AIRBAG AND WAS REPLACED WITH NEW MODULE AND SENSORS. NO INJURIES JUST EAR RINGING. HAPPENED 2ND TIME GOING AROUND A CORNER AT APPROX. 35 MILES AN HOUR, SEAT SIDE AIRBAG DEPLOYED AGAIN RESULTING IN LOSS OF CONTROL OF VEHICLE AND SEVERE BURNS TO LEFT ARM. NO REPAIRS HAVE TAKEN PLACE TO VEHICLE YET.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING: BRAKE LIGHTS: SWITCH

3/15/2006 - ALPHARETTA, GA
BRAKE LIGHT SWITCH FAILURE ON 2001 VW JETTA GLS TDI SEDAN, IDENTICAL TO THAT DESCRIBED IN RECALL CAMPAIGN 04V096000. BRAKE LIGHTS STAYED ON ALL THE TIME, EVEN WHEN CAR WAS PARKED & TURNED OFF. DEALER REPLACED SWITCH AT COST OF $193.23 PARTS & LABOR, DEALER & VW OF AMERICA STATE THAT VIN IS NOT INCLUDED IN SCOPE OF RECALL FOR 04V096000. THIS IS THE SECOND TIME THIS HAS OCCURRED ON THIS SAME CAR, I BELIEVE FIRST WAS COVERED AS A WARRANTY REPAIR. PART NUMBER OF REPLACEMENT SWITCH IS VWN 1J0 945 511 D.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING: EXHAUST SYSTEM: EMISSION CONTROL

3/2/2006 - UNION SPRINGS, NY
: THE CONTACT STATED THE VEHICLE LOOSES POWER INTERMITTENTLY, AT ANY SPEED. THE VEHICLE WAS SEEN BY THE SERVICE DEALER WHO DETERMINED AN OXYGEN SENSOR MAY NEED TO BE REPLACED. THE CONTACT IS CONCERNED BECAUSE THE DEALER WAS ABLE TO DETERMINE THE CAUSE OF THE PROBLEM WITHOUT INSPECTING THE VEHICLE. THE DEALER INFORMED THE CONTACT THAT OXYGEN SENSOR FAILURE WAS A COMMON PROBLEM WITH THE DIESEL ENGINE. ALTHOUGH, THE DEALER DETERMINED A POSSIBLE CAUSE OF THE PROBLEM, THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

2/20/2006 - NMB, FL
I PURCHASED A 01 VOLKSWAGEN JETTA IN JULY OF 04 AND IN LES THAN A MONTH IT BEGAN TO STALL AS I WAS DRIVING, SO I PULLED OVER AND IT COULD NOT START AGAIN. I GOT IT TOWED WAS TOLD IT WAS MY BATTERY AND GOT THAT REPLACED, THEN IT HAPPENED AGAIN A FEW MONTHS LATER AND I WAS TOLD IT WAS MY ALTERNATOR AND GOT THAT CHANGED. A FEW MONTH AGO THE CAR WOULD NOT START AGAIN, I WAS TOLD IT WAS MY SENSORS AND GOT THAT CHANGED, WITHIN 2 MONTHS IT HAS HAPPENED ABOUT 6 TIMES AND I'VE HAD 3 DIAGNOSTIC TESTS THAT REVEAL NOTHING IS WRONG WITH THE CAR. I DON'T KNOW WHAT ELSE TO DO, AL LEAST IF I KNOW WHAT THE PROBLEM IS I CAN FIX IT. BUT MY CAR KEEPS REFUSING TO START( FOR HOURS AT A TIME) AND EVERYONE TELLS ME THE CAR IS OK.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM: IGNITION

2/9/2006 - ETTERS, PA
THE EVENING OF JANUARY 12, 2006 I WAS ON MY WAY HOME WHEN A LIGHT ON THE DASHBOARD OF MY VEHICLE STARTED FLASHING AND THE VEHICLE BEGAN TO FALTER WHEN IDLE. AFTER ARRIVING HOME I CHECKED THE OWNERS MANUAL AND FOUND OUT THAT THE LIGHT INDICATED A MALFUNCTION WITH THE EMISSIONS OF THE VEHICLE. I SCHEDULED AN APPOINTMENT TO HAVE MY CAR SERVICED ON TUESDAY, JANUARY 17, 2006. I RECEIVED A CALL TUESDAY AFTERNOON FROM VIC AT VICTORY VOLKSWAGEN, WHO INFORMED ME THAT THE IGNITION COIL IN MY CAR WAS BAD AND WOULD NEED REPLACED AT A COST OF OVER $500.00. VIC TOLD ME THAT THEY HAD THE PARTS IN STOCK AS "THIS HAPPENS ALL THE TIME". I HAD NO CHOICE BUT TO HAVE MY CAR REPAIRED AND THE TOTAL COST WAS $761.40. UPON SEARCHING THE WEB I FOUND A PRESS RELEASE FROM VOLKSWAGEN/AUDI IN WHICH THEY ACKNOWLEDGED THE PROBLEM WITH SEVERAL MAKES AND MODELS. WITHIN THE PRESS RELEASE IT WAS STATED THAT VW/AUDI WILL BEGIN REPLACING ALL IGNITION COILS IN CARS POTENTIALLY AFFECTED. I ALSO FOUND A DEFECT INVESTIGATION ON THE NHTSA WEBSITE (#DP05004) WHICH STATED THAT VW ISSUED A CSC TO INSTRUCT THEIR DEALERSHIPS TO REPLACE THE COIL PACKS IN THE VEHICLES AT NO COST, REGARDLESS OF THEIR PERFORMANCE. AS I DID NOT RECEIVE THIS INFORMATION FROM VW I SENT A LETTER TO VW ASKING THEM TO HONOR THE CSC AND COVER THE COSTS FOR THE REPAIRS TO MY VEHICLE. I SPOKE WITH CRAIG PETERS AND DON MORITZ, BOTH WITH VW AND THEY REFUSED TO HONOR THE CSC. THEY INFORMED ME THAT EVEN THOUGH THE PRESS RELEASE STATES THAT "ALL VW'S EQUIPPED WITH THE 2.8 LITER VR6" WERE AFFECTED, IT WAS IN FACT, AN ERROR AND ONLY CERTAIN VEHICLES WERE AFFECTED.

View Details

VISIBILITY: WINDSHIELD WIPER/WASHER: MOTOR

2/1/2006 - QUINCY, MA
WINDSHIELD WIPER FAILURE 3 TIMES WITHIN ONE YEAR, WIPERS HAVE STOPPED WIRES HAVE BEEN REPLACED - MOTOR REPLACED HAS BEEN SAME ISSUE EACH TIME - MOTOR STILL WORKING - WIPERS NOT.

View Details

POWER TRAIN: AUTOMATIC TRANSMISSION: LEVER AND LINKAGE: COLUMN SHIFT

1/27/2006 - AUSTIN, TX
I HAVE A 2001 VOLKSWAGEN (VW) JETTA . THE VIN IS[XXX]. VEHICLE HAS 54,953 MILES ON IT AND YESTERDAY I HAD TO HAVE THE SHIFT LOCK SOLENOID REPLACED. SOMETIMES AFTER DRIVING IF YOU WOULD TAKE THE VEHICLE OUT OF DRIVE AND PUT IT IN PARK OR ANOTHER GEAR IT WOULD GET STUCK IN THAT GEAR. I JUST WANTED TO LET YOU KNOW SINCE I FEEL THIS COULD POSSIBLY BE A MAJOR CONCERN. UPDATED 07/17/2012 INFORMATION REDACTED PURSUANT TO THE FREEDOM OF INFORMATION ACT (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6)

View Details
Pages:  <<  13  14  15  16  17  18  19  20  21  22  23  24  25  26  27  >>  ... 64
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds