Auto Recalls for Consumers

VOLKSWAGEN JETTA - 2001 VOLKSWAGEN JETTA Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by VOLKSWAGEN

There are 663 complaints filed for the 2001 VOLKSWAGEN JETTA

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2001 VOLKSWAGEN JETTA. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2001 VOLKSWAGEN JETTA, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (101) Exterior Lighting (82) Other (4) Service Brakes Air (4) Tires (6)
Electrical System (120) Fuel Propulsion System (1) Parking Brake (2) Service Brakes Electric (1) Unknown Or Other (9)
Electronic Stability Control (2) Fuel System Diesel (9) Power Train (64) Service Brakes Hydraulic (86) Vehicle Speed Control (14)
Engine (5) Fuel System Gasoline (15) Seat Belts (5) Steering (4) Visibility (70)
Engine And Engine Cooling (114) Fuel System Other (2) Seats (26) Structure (43) Visibility Wiper (2)
Equipment (12) Latches Locks Linkages (19) Service Brakes (2) Suspension (10) Wheels (5)

Pages:  
<<  13  14  15  16  17  18  19  20  21  22  23  24  25  26  27  >>  ... 64
 
ComplaintDescription

EXTERIOR LIGHTING: BRAKE LIGHTS: SWITCH

3/15/2006 - ALPHARETTA, GA
BRAKE LIGHT SWITCH FAILURE ON 2001 VW JETTA GLS TDI SEDAN, IDENTICAL TO THAT DESCRIBED IN RECALL CAMPAIGN 04V096000. BRAKE LIGHTS STAYED ON ALL THE TIME, EVEN WHEN CAR WAS PARKED & TURNED OFF. DEALER REPLACED SWITCH AT COST OF $193.23 PARTS & LABOR, DEALER & VW OF AMERICA STATE THAT VIN IS NOT INCLUDED IN SCOPE OF RECALL FOR 04V096000. THIS IS THE SECOND TIME THIS HAS OCCURRED ON THIS SAME CAR, I BELIEVE FIRST WAS COVERED AS A WARRANTY REPAIR. PART NUMBER OF REPLACEMENT SWITCH IS VWN 1J0 945 511 D.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING: EXHAUST SYSTEM: EMISSION CONTROL

3/2/2006 - UNION SPRINGS, NY
: THE CONTACT STATED THE VEHICLE LOOSES POWER INTERMITTENTLY, AT ANY SPEED. THE VEHICLE WAS SEEN BY THE SERVICE DEALER WHO DETERMINED AN OXYGEN SENSOR MAY NEED TO BE REPLACED. THE CONTACT IS CONCERNED BECAUSE THE DEALER WAS ABLE TO DETERMINE THE CAUSE OF THE PROBLEM WITHOUT INSPECTING THE VEHICLE. THE DEALER INFORMED THE CONTACT THAT OXYGEN SENSOR FAILURE WAS A COMMON PROBLEM WITH THE DIESEL ENGINE. ALTHOUGH, THE DEALER DETERMINED A POSSIBLE CAUSE OF THE PROBLEM, THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

2/20/2006 - NMB, FL
I PURCHASED A 01 VOLKSWAGEN JETTA IN JULY OF 04 AND IN LES THAN A MONTH IT BEGAN TO STALL AS I WAS DRIVING, SO I PULLED OVER AND IT COULD NOT START AGAIN. I GOT IT TOWED WAS TOLD IT WAS MY BATTERY AND GOT THAT REPLACED, THEN IT HAPPENED AGAIN A FEW MONTHS LATER AND I WAS TOLD IT WAS MY ALTERNATOR AND GOT THAT CHANGED. A FEW MONTH AGO THE CAR WOULD NOT START AGAIN, I WAS TOLD IT WAS MY SENSORS AND GOT THAT CHANGED, WITHIN 2 MONTHS IT HAS HAPPENED ABOUT 6 TIMES AND I'VE HAD 3 DIAGNOSTIC TESTS THAT REVEAL NOTHING IS WRONG WITH THE CAR. I DON'T KNOW WHAT ELSE TO DO, AL LEAST IF I KNOW WHAT THE PROBLEM IS I CAN FIX IT. BUT MY CAR KEEPS REFUSING TO START( FOR HOURS AT A TIME) AND EVERYONE TELLS ME THE CAR IS OK.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM: IGNITION

2/9/2006 - ETTERS, PA
THE EVENING OF JANUARY 12, 2006 I WAS ON MY WAY HOME WHEN A LIGHT ON THE DASHBOARD OF MY VEHICLE STARTED FLASHING AND THE VEHICLE BEGAN TO FALTER WHEN IDLE. AFTER ARRIVING HOME I CHECKED THE OWNERS MANUAL AND FOUND OUT THAT THE LIGHT INDICATED A MALFUNCTION WITH THE EMISSIONS OF THE VEHICLE. I SCHEDULED AN APPOINTMENT TO HAVE MY CAR SERVICED ON TUESDAY, JANUARY 17, 2006. I RECEIVED A CALL TUESDAY AFTERNOON FROM VIC AT VICTORY VOLKSWAGEN, WHO INFORMED ME THAT THE IGNITION COIL IN MY CAR WAS BAD AND WOULD NEED REPLACED AT A COST OF OVER $500.00. VIC TOLD ME THAT THEY HAD THE PARTS IN STOCK AS "THIS HAPPENS ALL THE TIME". I HAD NO CHOICE BUT TO HAVE MY CAR REPAIRED AND THE TOTAL COST WAS $761.40. UPON SEARCHING THE WEB I FOUND A PRESS RELEASE FROM VOLKSWAGEN/AUDI IN WHICH THEY ACKNOWLEDGED THE PROBLEM WITH SEVERAL MAKES AND MODELS. WITHIN THE PRESS RELEASE IT WAS STATED THAT VW/AUDI WILL BEGIN REPLACING ALL IGNITION COILS IN CARS POTENTIALLY AFFECTED. I ALSO FOUND A DEFECT INVESTIGATION ON THE NHTSA WEBSITE (#DP05004) WHICH STATED THAT VW ISSUED A CSC TO INSTRUCT THEIR DEALERSHIPS TO REPLACE THE COIL PACKS IN THE VEHICLES AT NO COST, REGARDLESS OF THEIR PERFORMANCE. AS I DID NOT RECEIVE THIS INFORMATION FROM VW I SENT A LETTER TO VW ASKING THEM TO HONOR THE CSC AND COVER THE COSTS FOR THE REPAIRS TO MY VEHICLE. I SPOKE WITH CRAIG PETERS AND DON MORITZ, BOTH WITH VW AND THEY REFUSED TO HONOR THE CSC. THEY INFORMED ME THAT EVEN THOUGH THE PRESS RELEASE STATES THAT "ALL VW'S EQUIPPED WITH THE 2.8 LITER VR6" WERE AFFECTED, IT WAS IN FACT, AN ERROR AND ONLY CERTAIN VEHICLES WERE AFFECTED.

View Details

VISIBILITY: WINDSHIELD WIPER/WASHER: MOTOR

2/1/2006 - QUINCY, MA
WINDSHIELD WIPER FAILURE 3 TIMES WITHIN ONE YEAR, WIPERS HAVE STOPPED WIRES HAVE BEEN REPLACED - MOTOR REPLACED HAS BEEN SAME ISSUE EACH TIME - MOTOR STILL WORKING - WIPERS NOT.

View Details

POWER TRAIN: AUTOMATIC TRANSMISSION: LEVER AND LINKAGE: COLUMN SHIFT

1/27/2006 - AUSTIN, TX
I HAVE A 2001 VOLKSWAGEN (VW) JETTA . THE VIN IS[XXX]. VEHICLE HAS 54,953 MILES ON IT AND YESTERDAY I HAD TO HAVE THE SHIFT LOCK SOLENOID REPLACED. SOMETIMES AFTER DRIVING IF YOU WOULD TAKE THE VEHICLE OUT OF DRIVE AND PUT IT IN PARK OR ANOTHER GEAR IT WOULD GET STUCK IN THAT GEAR. I JUST WANTED TO LET YOU KNOW SINCE I FEEL THIS COULD POSSIBLY BE A MAJOR CONCERN. UPDATED 07/17/2012 INFORMATION REDACTED PURSUANT TO THE FREEDOM OF INFORMATION ACT (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6)

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM: IGNITION

1/20/2006 - CHARLESTOWN, MA
I AM THE SECOND OWNER OF A 2001 VW JETTA GLX VR6 WITH APPROXIMATELY 45K MILES. I PURCHASED THE CAR IN A PRIVATE SALE WITH 25K MILES. INITIALLY, WHEN I BOUGHT THE CAR IT WAS DIAGNOSED WITH A BAD COIL PACK, WHICH DID NOT BECOME PROBLEMATIC UNTIL APPROXIMATELY 2 MONTHS AGO. LAST WEEK, I TOOK THE CAR TO THE DEALER AND HAD A NEW COIL PACK INSTALLED FOR $836, WHICH INCLUDES A $99 DIAGNOSTIC FEE AND $560 FOR THE PART. DURING THE PAST WEEK, I HAVE HAD A CASE OPEN WITH VW CUSTOMER ADVOCACY REGARDING THE COIL PROBLEM AND YESTERDAY I RECEIVED THEIR RESPONSE. THEY HAVE STATED THAT MY VIN IS NOT PART OF THE WG COIL REPLACEMENT CAMPAIGN CONTRARY TO THE WORDING OF THEIR ORIGINAL PRESS RELEASE. PLEASE REFERENCE TSB 10005665. AS A RESULT OF THIS COIL PROBLEM, I HAVE HAD MY CATALYTIC CONVERTER REPLACED AT 25K MILES AND HAVE HAD EXPERIENCED AN ENGINE BACK FIRE ON THE HIGHWAY TWICE. AT THIS POINT, I HAVE PAID THE $836 TO RETRIEVE THE CAR FROM THE DEALER AND I HAVE POSSESSION OF THE FAULTY IGNITION COIL THAT WAS REMOVED FROM THE CAR. I HAVE ALSO ASKED VW CUSTOMER ADVOCACY TO SEND ME A WRITTEN RESPONSE TO MY CLAIM. I AM SURE I AM NOT THE ONLY 2001 JETTA VR6 OWNER WHO HAS HAD THIS PROBLEM, ONLY TO FIND THAT VW IS UNWILLING TO STAND BEHIND THEIR PROMISE TO REPLACE FAULTY COIL PACKS IN 2001-2003 VR6 ENGINE CARS. THE ORIGINAL CUSTOMER SERVICE ACTION WAS INTENDED TO PREEMPT THE ISSUING OF A FORMAL RECALL AND VW IS NOT HONORING WHAT THEY ORIGINALLY PROMISED IN HAVING ISSUED ONLY 15 TSB'S WITH A MUCH NARROWER SCOPE THAN ORIGINALLY INTENDED.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING: BRAKE LIGHTS: SWITCH

12/20/2005 - WAXHAW , NC
DT: THE CONTACT STATED THERE IS A NHTSA RECALL CAMPAIGN ID # 04V096000 CONCERNING THE EXTERIOR LIGHTING: BRAKE LIGHT SWITCH. THIS VEHICLE HAS THE SAME PROBLEMS AS INDICATED IN THE RECALL, BUT IS NOT INCLUDED IN THE RECALL DUE TO VIN.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY: DOOR: HINGE AND ATTACHMENTS

12/17/2005 - GREENWICH, CT
OPENED DRIVERS DOOR AND THE LOWER OF THE TWO BOLTS ON THE LOWER DOOR SECURE HINGE SHEARED OFF. THE DOOR HAS NEVER BEEN REMOVED OR REPAIRED PREVIOUSLY. THE ONLY WAY THIS COULD HAVE HAPPENED IS IF THE BOLT WERE OVER TIGHTENED UPON INSTALLATION. THE VEHICLE IS PAST WARRANTY AND VW AMERICA WILL NOT PAY FOR THIS REPLACEMENT. THIS COULD BE A SERIOUS PROBLEM IF MORE BOLTS SHEAR BECAUSE OF IMPROPER TIGHTENING. WE BASE THE OVER TIGHTENING SUGGESTION ON THE OPINION OF THREE INDEPENDENT BODY REPAIR SHOPS, ONE OF WHICH SPECIALIZES IN VOLKSWAGEN REPAIRS.

View Details

POWER TRAIN: CLUTCH ASSEMBLY

12/16/2005 - NAPA, CA
THE CLUTCH OF MY 2001 JETTA (1.8 LITER TURBO MANUAL 5-SPEED) STARTED GOING OUT LAST JULY, WHEN THE CAR WAS NOT EVEN 4 YEARS OLD AND HAD ONLY 30K MILES. (I AM THE ORIGINAL OWNER.) IT IS GETTING WORSE. TWICE NOW I'VE TAKEN IT TO MY VW SERVICE DEALER ONLY TO BE MET BY BAFFLED STARES. THE VW MECHANICS THERE KEEP SAYING THAT THE CLUTCHES ON THESE CARS ARE FINE, AND THAT NOTHING IS WRONG WITH THE CAR. BUT TONIGHT I DID AN INTERNET SEARCH AND FOUND THAT THERE IS A TERRIBLE PATTERN OF BAD CLUTCHES ON THE JETTAS, ESPECIALLY THE 2001 1.8 TURBOS, WITH EXACTLY THESE SAME SYMPTOMS! HOW ABOUT A RECALL? IN THE MEANTIME, CAN YOU PLEASE HELP ME GET THEM TO DO SOMETHING ABOUT MY CAR? MY CHILD AND I I COULD HAVE BEEN KILLED WHEN THE CLUTCH FAILED THIS MORNING ON A CROWDED, FAST-MOVING FREEWAY! THANK YOU, CELESTE WISER, M.D.

View Details
Pages:  <<  13  14  15  16  17  18  19  20  21  22  23  24  25  26  27  >>  ... 64
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds