Auto Recalls for Consumers

VOLKSWAGEN JETTA - 2001 VOLKSWAGEN JETTA Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by VOLKSWAGEN

There are 652 complaints filed for the 2001 VOLKSWAGEN JETTA

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2001 VOLKSWAGEN JETTA. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2001 VOLKSWAGEN JETTA, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (98) Exterior Lighting (81) Parking Brake (2) Service Brakes Hydraulic (86) Unknown Or Other (9)
Electrical System (119) Fuel System Diesel (9) Power Train (64) Steering (4) Vehicle Speed Control (14)
Electronic Stability Control (2) Fuel System Gasoline (15) Seat Belts (5) Structure (43) Visibility (70)
Engine (3) Fuel System Other (2) Seats (25) Suspension (10) Visibility Wiper (2)
Engine And Engine Cooling (114) Latches Locks Linkages (18) Service Brakes Air (4) Tires (5) Wheels (5)
Equipment (12) Other (4) Service Brakes Electric (1)

Pages:  
<<  13  14  15  16  17  18  19  20  21  22  23  24  25  26  27  >>  ... 63
 
ComplaintDescription

POWER TRAIN: CLUTCH ASSEMBLY

12/16/2005 - NAPA, CA
THE CLUTCH OF MY 2001 JETTA (1.8 LITER TURBO MANUAL 5-SPEED) STARTED GOING OUT LAST JULY, WHEN THE CAR WAS NOT EVEN 4 YEARS OLD AND HAD ONLY 30K MILES. (I AM THE ORIGINAL OWNER.) IT IS GETTING WORSE. TWICE NOW I'VE TAKEN IT TO MY VW SERVICE DEALER ONLY TO BE MET BY BAFFLED STARES. THE VW MECHANICS THERE KEEP SAYING THAT THE CLUTCHES ON THESE CARS ARE FINE, AND THAT NOTHING IS WRONG WITH THE CAR. BUT TONIGHT I DID AN INTERNET SEARCH AND FOUND THAT THERE IS A TERRIBLE PATTERN OF BAD CLUTCHES ON THE JETTAS, ESPECIALLY THE 2001 1.8 TURBOS, WITH EXACTLY THESE SAME SYMPTOMS! HOW ABOUT A RECALL? IN THE MEANTIME, CAN YOU PLEASE HELP ME GET THEM TO DO SOMETHING ABOUT MY CAR? MY CHILD AND I I COULD HAVE BEEN KILLED WHEN THE CLUTCH FAILED THIS MORNING ON A CROWDED, FAST-MOVING FREEWAY! THANK YOU, CELESTE WISER, M.D.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING: HEADLIGHTS

12/2/2005 - SAN JUAN, PR
DT: CONTACT STATED VOLKSWAGEN, JETTA HAD DEFECT IN THE FRONT LIGHTS. A PLASTIC HOUSING BECAME AMBER, REDUCING THE BRIGHTENERS OF THE LIGHTS. THIS PROBLEM MADE NIGHT DRIVING DANGEROUS. THE CONTACT BOUGHT THE CAR BRAND NEW ,AND THE PROBLEM WAS CONTINUOUSLY GETTING WORST. THE POLICE PULLED HIM OVER ONCE. THEY VERIFIED THAT THE LIGHTS WORKED. THE POLICE RECOMMENDED THAT THE CONTACT REPAIR THE FRONT LIGHTS. .....

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM: IGNITION

12/1/2005 - HUNTINGTON BEACH, CA
2001 VOLKSWAGEN JETTA VR6. IGNITION COIL FAILURE. MY WIFE WAS DRIVING AT 65 MPH IN THE FAST LANE OF THE FREEWAY - NEAR COMPLETE POWER FAILURE. JUST ENOUGH POWER TO STRUGGLE OVER TO THE HARD SHOULDER. VERY DANGEROUS SITUATION. FROM READING THE WEBSITE 'VW VORTEX' A FORUM SITE DEDICATED TO VW OWNERS, THIS IS A VERY COMMON PROBLEM WITH VARIOUS VW AND AUDI MODELS AND ONE WHICH COULD CAUSE (IF IT HASN'T ALREADY) A VERY SERIOUS ACCIDENT. THE CAR COST $1,200 TO REPAIR. MY WIFE'S NERVES WILL TAKE A LOT LONGER TO FIX!!!!

View Details

SEATS

11/30/2005 - ALHAMBRA, CA
A 2001 VW JETTA HAS AN ISSUE WITH A METAL SPRING THAT IS PART OF THE FRONT PASSENGER SEAT. THE SPRING SEPARATES FROM THE MECHANISM THAT KEEPS THE SEAT FROM SLIDING FORWARD. THERE IS NO SPECIFIC REASON THE SPRING BECOMES LOOSE FROM THE CAR SEAT AND ONE WOULD NEVER KNOW IF THE SPRING IS NOT ATTACHED, IT COULD CAUSE MAJOR HARM TO THE DRIVER AND PASSENGER IN THE EVENT OF AN ACCIDENT. THE SEAT REMAINS LOCKED IN A POSITION, BUT IF THE CAR IS INVOLVED IN AN ACCIDENT, THE SEAT COULD SLIDE FORWARD, CAUSING INJURY. VW REFUSES TO COVER THE PART AS A SAFETY RECALL AND IS CHARGING HUNDREDS OF DOLLARS TO FIX THE PROBLEM. OTHER ISSUES ARE : CARS PLASTIC PART ARE GETTING BROKEN . IN MY CAR : GLOVE COMPARTMENT HANDLE IS BROKEN RIM FELL OFF FROM SUN ROOF . IT WOULD HAVE FALLEN ON ME OR PASSENGER AND CAUSED DISTRACTION TO DRIVER.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM: IGNITION

11/27/2005 - STAMFORD, CT
THE IGNITION COILS ON MY 2001 V6 VOLKSWAGEN JETTA FAILED. WHILE VOLKSWAGEN HAD ANNOUNCED A RECALL ON ALL V6 2001 JETTAS, MY CAR'S VIN WAS FOR SOME REASON NOT INCLUDED IN THE RECALL. I SPENT $845 FIXING THE PROBLEM AND SUBSEQUENTLY HAD TO CHANGE THE IGNITION WIRE SET - SOMETHING THAT WAS BROUGHT ON BY THE FAILURE OF THE COILS. THE CAR WAS VERY UNSTABLE AND I WAS VERY SCARED TO EVEN DRIVE IT UNTIL MY APPOINTMENT WITH THE AUTO MECHANIC.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM: IGNITION

11/16/2005 - PENNINGTON, NJ
I HAVE A 2001 VOLKSWAGEN JETTA GLS VR6. IN APRIL OF 2003 I EXPERIENCED PROBLEMS WITH MY CAR WHERE ESPECIALLY IN WET CONDITIONS, THE CAR WOULD HESITATE AND MISFIRE THEN THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT WOULD BLINK ON AND OFF. IT GOT TO THE POINT WHERE IT WAS DIFFICULT TO DRIVE BECAUSE IT WAS LOSING POWER. I TOOK IT TO THE DEALERSHIP AND THEY DIAGNOSED IT AS THE IGNITION COIL PACK WAS BAD. THEY EXPLAINED THAT THIS WAS AN EXPENSIVE PART AND THAT IT WOULD COST OVER $1300.00 TO REPAIR AND WAS NOT COVERED UNDER WARRANTY. I DID SOME RESEARCH AND FOUND THAT MANY SIMILAR VOLKSWAGENS WERE HAVING THE SAME PROBLEMS AND THE MANUFACTURER HAD A RECALL OUT ON THE COIL PACK. I CONTACTED VOLKSWAGEN AND THEY CLAIMED THAT MY ENGINE WAS NOT A PART OF THE RECALL BUT THAT THEY WOULD GIVE ME A COURTESY AND COVER THE COST OF THE REPAIRS. IN OCTOBER OF 2005 I BEGAN TO HAVE THE PROBLEM WITH MY CAR AGAIN. I BROUGHT IT BACK TO THE DEALERSHIP AND AGAIN THEY DIAGNOSED THAT MY IGNITION COIL PACK WAS BAD. I AGAIN DID RESEARCH AND READ SEVERAL ARTICLES ONLINE THAT VW WAS RECALLING THE COIL PACK FOR MY PARTICULAR MODEL. I CONTACTED VW AND THEY WOULD NOT DO ANYTHING ABOUT IT BECAUSE IN THEIR SYSTEM, MY CAR DIDN'T QUALIFY. I EXPLAINED THAT THERE HAS ONLY BEEN ABOUT 20,000 MILES PUT ON THE CAR SINCE THE LAST OCCURANCE AND TO NO AVAIL WOULD THEY HELP ME OUT. THEY SAY THAT BECAUSE OF THE AGE AND MILEAGE ON MY CAR THEY WOULD NOT DO ANOTHER COURTESY AND BECAUSE MY VIN NUMBER DOES NOT QUALIFY FOR THE COIL PACK RECALL, IT WILL NOT BE COVERED UNDER THE RECALL. I HAVE HAD SEVERAL OTHER FRIENDS WITH VW JETTAS THE SAME YEAR AS MINE AND THEY HAVE HAD THE SAME PROBLEM. WHY HASN'T VW LISTED MY CAR IN THE RECALL. HAVING THIS ISSUE TWICE IN THE SHORT LIFESPAN OF THE CAR SIGNALS THAT THERE IS A DEFAULT IN THE PART AND IT SHOULD BE TAKEN CARE OF BY THE MANUFACTURER.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING: BRAKE LIGHTS: SWITCH

11/15/2005 - GLENDALE, AZ
BRAKE LIGHT SWITCH (2001 VW JETTA GLS TDI) RESEARCHED ON INTERNET SAYS THERE IS A RECALL FOR THIS PART, BUT IS NOT IN EFFECT YET. DRIVING WITH BRAKE LIGHTS STUCK ON IS REALLY DANGEROUS AND SPEEDY RECALL FOR THIS ITEM IS ESSENTIAL. I HAVE TO REMOVE THE FUSE IN ORDER TO TURN OFF THE LIGHTS, AND SOON AS CAR IS TURNED ON THE LIGHTS STAY ON MAKING IT IMPOSSIBLE FOR OTHER DRIVERS TO KNOW WHEN I AM STEPPING ON THE BRAKES. COULD SERIOUSLY CAUSE MANY ACCIDENTS IN THE FUTURE FOR ALL VEHICLE OWNERS.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING: EXHAUST SYSTEM: EMISSION CONTROL

11/14/2005 - SOMERSET , MA
DT: THE CONTACT STATED THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT ILLUMINATED. HE TOOK THE VEHICLE TO THE DEALER, WHO DIAGNOSED A PROBLEM WITH THE EMISSION CONTROL AND THE MASS AIR FLOW SENSOR. THE MASS AIR FLOW SENSOR WAS REPLACED. HOWEVER, A MONTH LATER THE SAME PROBLEM RECURRED. THE DEALER REPLACED THE MASS AIR FLOW SENSOR AGAIN. SINCE THE SECOND REPLACEMENT THERE HAVE BEEN NO FURTHER PROBLEMS. THIS REPAIR WAS NOT COVERED BY THE WARRANTY, AND THE CONTACT PAID OUT OF POCKET FOR THE REPAIRS. UPDATED 11/29/2005 -

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM: IGNITION

10/26/2005 - CLIFTON, VA
MY 2001 VW JETTA HAS BEEN IN THE VW SHOP 7 TIMES FOR FAILED COILS THEY FIX IT AND ABOUT 4 MONTHS LATER THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT COMES ON AND THE ENGINE RUNS ROUGH. THEY ALWAYS SAY IF THE PART FAILS THEY WILL REPLACE FOR FREE, SEEMS EVERYTIME WE TAKE IT IN THEY CLAIM SOMETHING ELSE CAUSED IT.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING

10/9/2005 - LOVELAND, OH
WITHIN THE FIRST MONTH OF OWNING MY VW JETTA 1.8L TURBO, THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT HAS BEEN ON AND OFF. EACH TIME THAT I TAKE IT IN TO HAVE THE PROBLEM DIAGNOSED SOMETHING IS REPAIRED, BUT IN A FEW DAYS THE LIGHT IS BACK ON AND THERE IS A NEW PROBLEM. I HAVE ALREADY HAD THOUSANDS OF DOLLARS OF WORK DONE ON THE CAR AND NOTHING SEEMS TO HELP THE PROBLEM. RECENTLY, THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT HAS BEEN ON AND THE CAR WILL SHAKE VIOLENTLY FOR ABOUT 2 MINUTES UNTIL THE CAR IS WARMED UP. IF I TRY TO DRIVE THE CAR BEFORE THE SHAKING STOPS, IT BARELY MOVES EVEN IF COMPLETELY DEPRESSING THE ACCELERATOR, AND THE BRAKES SEEM TO LOCK UP, NEARLY HITTING OTHER CARS WHEN PARKED IN A PARKING LOT. WHEN THE CAR DOES WARM UP IT LURCHES FORWARD BUT THEN SEEMS TO RUN JUST FINE. I HAVE HAD THE RECALLED PROBLEMS FIXED AS WELL AS NUMEROUS OTHER REPAIRS, BUT I AM CONCERNED THAT THIS SAME PROBLEM KEEPS HAPPENING, AND THAT I HAVE SEEN THIS PROBLEM ON SEVERAL OTHER WEBSITES.

View Details
Pages:  <<  13  14  15  16  17  18  19  20  21  22  23  24  25  26  27  >>  ... 63
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds