Auto Recalls for Consumers

BMW 325I - 2002 BMW 325I Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by BMW of North America, LLC

There are 107 complaints filed for the 2002 BMW 325I

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2002 BMW 325I. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2002 BMW 325I, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (11) Equipment (1) Power Train (7) Service Brakes Hydraulic (3) Unknown Or Other (2)
Electrical System (15) Exterior Lighting (45) Seat Belts (2) Steering (4) Vehicle Speed Control (1)
Electronic Stability Control (1) Fuel System Gasoline (2) Service Brakes (1) Structure (5) Visibility (15)
Engine (1) Latches Locks Linkages (3) Service Brakes Electric (2) Tires (3) Wheels (2)
Engine And Engine Cooling (9)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 13
 
ComplaintDescription

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

7/22/2014 - ATLANTA, GA
LIKE MANY OTHERS WHO HAVE REPORTED THIS PROBLEM, THIS WILL BE MY THIRD TIME REPLACING A WINDOW REGULATOR IN MY 2002 BMW 325I. THE MONTH AFTER I PURCHASED THIS VEHICLE I HAD TO REPLACE THE FRONT DRIVERÆS SIDE WINDOW REGULATOR, AND A FEW MONTHS LATER I HAD TO REPLACE THE FRONT PASSENGER SIDE WINDOW REGULATOR. THIS TIME I AM REPLACING THE REGULATOR ON THE BACK DRIVERÆS SIDE WINDOW. THIS IS NOT AN INEXPENSIVE REPAIR. ITÆS ABOUT $400 PLUS PER WINDOW. SOMEONE NEEDS TO INVESTIGATE THIS AND PROVIDE A REIMBURSEMENT TO THE CONSUMER (ME). HOPEFULLY THE NEXT REPAIR WILL BE COVERED BY BMW. IÆM SURE THE BACK PASSENGER SIDE WINDOW REGULATOR WILL MOST LIKELY BE NEXT.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

6/21/2014 - FRANKLIN SQUARE, NY
THIS IS THE THIRD WINDOW I HAVE HAD THAT ROLLS DOWN THEN SUDDENLY BREAKS AND WON'T ROLL UP. WHEN I GOOGLE IT I SEE MANY OTHER BMW 325I CAR OWNERS E46 BETWEEN 2001 AND 2006 HAVING THE SAME PROBLEM AND IT IS OBVIOUSLY A KNOWN WEAK SPOT IN THESE CARS THAT SHOULD HAVE BEEN RECALLED AND THE MANUFACTURER SHOULD BE TOLD THEY HAVE TO PAY FOR THE REPAIRS AND REIMBURSE US. MY BACK SEAT IS NEVER USED SO THOSE BACK WINDOWS ARE NEVER USED AND IT HAPPENED WITH THE BACK WINDOW - IT HAPPENED WITH BOTH THE FRONT WINDOWS - ONE AT A TIME AND EVERY TIME IT IS VERY EXPENSIVE TO FIX.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

6/19/2014 - MANALPAN, NJ
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2002 BMW 325I. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE TURN SIGNALS AND BRAKE LIGHTS BECAME INOPERABLE. THE CONTACT MENTIONED THAT THE FAILURE WAS DIRECTLY RELATED TO RECALL NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 11V438000 (EXTERIOR LIGHTING). THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE WHO REFUSED TO HONOR THE RECALL. THE FAILURE AND CURRENT MILEAGE WAS UNAVAILABLE.

View Details

STEERING

2/27/2014 - TAMPA, FL
02/19/2014 ON A DRY DAY,WHILE DRIVING IN THE CENTER LANE ON I-4 AROUND LAKELAND-FL, WITH 70MPH A FEDEX VEHICLE'S RIGHT REAR TIRE BLEW OFF IN FRONT OF ME. I HIT THE BRAKES TO AVOID COLLISION. ABS DID NOT WORK AND MY BRAKES LOCKED, MY CAR HAS STARTED SPINNING (3-4 TIMES). MY CAR WENT FROM THE MIDDLE LANE TO THE LEFT LANE THEN TO THE MOST RIGHT LANE AND OFF THE ROAD. LUCKILY I DID NOT HIT ANY OTHER VEHICLES OR THE METAL/CONCRETE BARRIERS WHILE SPINNING OUT OF THE ROAD.AFTER THE INCIDENT,WHILE DRIVING I HAVE NOTICED A LIMPING AT SLOW SPEED AND HIGH VIBRATION AT HIGHER SPEEDS. ALL 4 TIRES WERE DAMAGED . 3 WARNING LIGHTS APPEARED ON THE DASHBOARD: DSC + ABS + BRAKE(RED COLOR). ON 02/22 I TOOK MY VEHICLE TO MY MECHANIC.ALL 4 TIRES WERE FOUND WERE BECAUSE OF THE BRAKING.THE DIAGNOSTICS TOOL READ: 5DF5 - CONTROL UNIT INTERNAL FAILURE.I NEEDED 4 NEW TIRES AND MY TIRES HAD 9/32 THREAD DEPTH AND WERE ALMOST NEW. ON SUNDAY - 02/23/2014 - I TOOK IN MY VEHICLE FOR THE TIRES. THE TIRE SHOP DECLINED TO REPLACE THE TIRES UNDER WARRANTY BECAUSE THEY WERE DAMAGED BY BRAKING.THEY WERE NICE ENOUGH TO GIVE ME A DISCOUNT AND REPLACED THE TIRES FOR $350. TEVES DSC MK60 HAS BEEN A PROBLEM NOT ONLY IN BMWS BUT OTHER BRANDS SUCH AS VW AND AUDI. JUST GOOGLE IT.IF YOU ARE LUCKY THE ISSUE SURFACES ITSELF WHILE THE VEHICLE IS UNDER WARRANTYIF NOT, THE ABS PUMP UNIT IS OVER $2300+LABOR AND DSC MODULE IS OVER $1100+LABOR.I ALREADY SPENT $500 FOR THE TIRES AND BRAKE FLUSH. I HAVE TO PAY ONE OF THE ABOVE PRICES TO GET MY ABS FIXED.I DID NOT HAVE ANY WARNING LIGHTS BEFORE MY ABS (IF DSC DOES NOT WORK ABS DOES NOT WORK) FAILED.THE LIGHTS CAME ON FOR A FEW DAYS AND NOW THEY ARE NOT ON THIS IS VERY DANGEROUS AND NEEDS TO BE INVESTIGATED BY NHTSA AND FIXED BY BMW USA WITH A RECALL. I COULD HAVE KILLED MYSELF OR HURT/KILL OTHER INNOCENT PEOPLE ON THAT HIGHWAY.ABS/DSC ARE VERY IMPORTANT SAFETY COMPONENTS.

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

2/27/2014 - TAMPA, FL
02/19/2014 ON A DRY DAY,WHILE DRIVING IN THE CENTER LANE ON I-4 AROUND LAKELAND-FL, WITH 70MPH A FEDEX VEHICLE'S RIGHT REAR TIRE BLEW OFF IN FRONT OF ME. I HIT THE BRAKES TO AVOID COLLISION. ABS DID NOT WORK AND MY BRAKES LOCKED, MY CAR HAS STARTED SPINNING (3-4 TIMES). MY CAR WENT FROM THE MIDDLE LANE TO THE LEFT LANE THEN TO THE MOST RIGHT LANE AND OFF THE ROAD. LUCKILY I DID NOT HIT ANY OTHER VEHICLES OR THE METAL/CONCRETE BARRIERS WHILE SPINNING OUT OF THE ROAD.AFTER THE INCIDENT,WHILE DRIVING I HAVE NOTICED A LIMPING AT SLOW SPEED AND HIGH VIBRATION AT HIGHER SPEEDS. ALL 4 TIRES WERE DAMAGED . 3 WARNING LIGHTS APPEARED ON THE DASHBOARD: DSC + ABS + BRAKE(RED COLOR). ON 02/22 I TOOK MY VEHICLE TO MY MECHANIC.ALL 4 TIRES WERE FOUND WERE BECAUSE OF THE BRAKING.THE DIAGNOSTICS TOOL READ: 5DF5 - CONTROL UNIT INTERNAL FAILURE.I NEEDED 4 NEW TIRES AND MY TIRES HAD 9/32 THREAD DEPTH AND WERE ALMOST NEW. ON SUNDAY - 02/23/2014 - I TOOK IN MY VEHICLE FOR THE TIRES. THE TIRE SHOP DECLINED TO REPLACE THE TIRES UNDER WARRANTY BECAUSE THEY WERE DAMAGED BY BRAKING.THEY WERE NICE ENOUGH TO GIVE ME A DISCOUNT AND REPLACED THE TIRES FOR $350. TEVES DSC MK60 HAS BEEN A PROBLEM NOT ONLY IN BMWS BUT OTHER BRANDS SUCH AS VW AND AUDI. JUST GOOGLE IT.IF YOU ARE LUCKY THE ISSUE SURFACES ITSELF WHILE THE VEHICLE IS UNDER WARRANTYIF NOT, THE ABS PUMP UNIT IS OVER $2300+LABOR AND DSC MODULE IS OVER $1100+LABOR.I ALREADY SPENT $500 FOR THE TIRES AND BRAKE FLUSH. I HAVE TO PAY ONE OF THE ABOVE PRICES TO GET MY ABS FIXED.I DID NOT HAVE ANY WARNING LIGHTS BEFORE MY ABS (IF DSC DOES NOT WORK ABS DOES NOT WORK) FAILED.THE LIGHTS CAME ON FOR A FEW DAYS AND NOW THEY ARE NOT ON THIS IS VERY DANGEROUS AND NEEDS TO BE INVESTIGATED BY NHTSA AND FIXED BY BMW USA WITH A RECALL. I COULD HAVE KILLED MYSELF OR HURT/KILL OTHER INNOCENT PEOPLE ON THAT HIGHWAY.ABS/DSC ARE VERY IMPORTANT SAFETY COMPONENTS.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

2/27/2014 - TAMPA, FL
02/19/2014 ON A DRY DAY,WHILE DRIVING IN THE CENTER LANE ON I-4 AROUND LAKELAND-FL, WITH 70MPH A FEDEX VEHICLE'S RIGHT REAR TIRE BLEW OFF IN FRONT OF ME. I HIT THE BRAKES TO AVOID COLLISION. ABS DID NOT WORK AND MY BRAKES LOCKED, MY CAR HAS STARTED SPINNING (3-4 TIMES). MY CAR WENT FROM THE MIDDLE LANE TO THE LEFT LANE THEN TO THE MOST RIGHT LANE AND OFF THE ROAD. LUCKILY I DID NOT HIT ANY OTHER VEHICLES OR THE METAL/CONCRETE BARRIERS WHILE SPINNING OUT OF THE ROAD.AFTER THE INCIDENT,WHILE DRIVING I HAVE NOTICED A LIMPING AT SLOW SPEED AND HIGH VIBRATION AT HIGHER SPEEDS. ALL 4 TIRES WERE DAMAGED . 3 WARNING LIGHTS APPEARED ON THE DASHBOARD: DSC + ABS + BRAKE(RED COLOR). ON 02/22 I TOOK MY VEHICLE TO MY MECHANIC.ALL 4 TIRES WERE FOUND WERE BECAUSE OF THE BRAKING.THE DIAGNOSTICS TOOL READ: 5DF5 - CONTROL UNIT INTERNAL FAILURE.I NEEDED 4 NEW TIRES AND MY TIRES HAD 9/32 THREAD DEPTH AND WERE ALMOST NEW. ON SUNDAY - 02/23/2014 - I TOOK IN MY VEHICLE FOR THE TIRES. THE TIRE SHOP DECLINED TO REPLACE THE TIRES UNDER WARRANTY BECAUSE THEY WERE DAMAGED BY BRAKING.THEY WERE NICE ENOUGH TO GIVE ME A DISCOUNT AND REPLACED THE TIRES FOR $350. TEVES DSC MK60 HAS BEEN A PROBLEM NOT ONLY IN BMWS BUT OTHER BRANDS SUCH AS VW AND AUDI. JUST GOOGLE IT.IF YOU ARE LUCKY THE ISSUE SURFACES ITSELF WHILE THE VEHICLE IS UNDER WARRANTYIF NOT, THE ABS PUMP UNIT IS OVER $2300+LABOR AND DSC MODULE IS OVER $1100+LABOR.I ALREADY SPENT $500 FOR THE TIRES AND BRAKE FLUSH. I HAVE TO PAY ONE OF THE ABOVE PRICES TO GET MY ABS FIXED.I DID NOT HAVE ANY WARNING LIGHTS BEFORE MY ABS (IF DSC DOES NOT WORK ABS DOES NOT WORK) FAILED.THE LIGHTS CAME ON FOR A FEW DAYS AND NOW THEY ARE NOT ON THIS IS VERY DANGEROUS AND NEEDS TO BE INVESTIGATED BY NHTSA AND FIXED BY BMW USA WITH A RECALL. I COULD HAVE KILLED MYSELF OR HURT/KILL OTHER INNOCENT PEOPLE ON THAT HIGHWAY.ABS/DSC ARE VERY IMPORTANT SAFETY COMPONENTS.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

11/14/2013 - SAN FRANCISCO, CA
I BOUGHT MY 2002 BMW 325I FROM SAN FRANCISCO BMW IN 2003, SO FAR I HAVE RECEIVED ONLY ONE NOTICE ABOUT THE RECALL OF THE REAR LIGHT. I WAS UNDER WARRANTY FOR A YEAR, DURING THAT PERIOD THEY DISCOVERED A FAULTY IDLE AIR VALVE AND THEY DID NOT REPLACE IT TRYING TO SAVE MONEY UNDER WARRANTY. I COMPLAINED MANY TIMES TO THEM ABOUT THE STALLING OF MY CAR ON THE STREETS, IT IS VERY DANGEROUS. I E-MAILED TO THE MANAGER WHO IGNORED MY COMPLAINT. FEARFUL FOR MY LIFE AND SAFETY I DARE NOT DRIVE ON THE FREEWAY. I CALLED ABOUT THE RECALL OF THE AIRBAGS, THEY SAID IT DID NOT APPLY TO MY CAR, I ASKED THEM TO SEND ME E-MAIL TO CONFIRM, THEY NEVER DID. THEY PUT MY LIFE AT RISK. THEIR BUSINESS LICENSE SHOULD BE SUSPENDED.

View Details

ENGINE

6/3/2013 - BURLINGAME, CA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2002 BMW 325I. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THERE WAS A LOUD NOISE COMING FROM THE ENGINE. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER. THE TECHNICIAN DIAGNOSED THAT THE MECHANICAL MAIN BELT TENSIONER HAD TO BE REPLACED WITH A HYDRAULIC VERSION ASSEMBLY. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 119,170 AND THE CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 119,300.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

11/9/2012 - ARWIN, NC
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2002 BMW 325I. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE REAR DRIVER'S SIDE BRAKE LIGHT HAD BECOME VERY DIM. IN ADDITION, THE BRAKE LIGHT WARNING LIGHT ILLUMINATED ON THE INSTRUMENT PANEL. THE CONTACT LOOKED AT THE LIGHT AND NOTICED THAT THERE WERE WIRES THAT HAD BECOME MELTED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE MANUFACTURER WHERE THEY ADVISED THE CONTACT THAT THE VEHICLE WAS NOT INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN ID NUMBER: 11V438000 (EXTERIOR LIGHTING:TURN SIGNAL). THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 154,000.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

9/5/2012 - MOUNT PROSPECT, IL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2002 BMW 325I. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE WINDOWS COULD NOT BE OPENED OR CLOSED. IN ADDITION, THE WINDOWS WOULD EXHIBIT AN ABNORMAL CRUNCHING SOUND CONSTANTLY. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER. THE DEALER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 40,000 AND THE CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 51,000. ..UPDATED 11/28/12 THE CONSUMER STATED HE HAD A PROBLEM WITH ALL THE WINDOWS, GETTING JAMMED, OR BECOMING STUCK IN THE UP OR DOWN POSITION. ALL OF THE REGULATORS WERE REPLACED. ALSO, THERE WAS A PROBLEM WITH THE LOCK SYSTEM NOT WORKING. SOMETIMES, THE BUTTON AND SWITCHES WOULD NOT WORK. UPDATED 11/29/30

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 13
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds