Auto Recalls for Consumers

BMW 325I - 2002 BMW 325I Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by BMW of North America, LLC

There are 111 complaints filed for the 2002 BMW 325I

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2002 BMW 325I. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2002 BMW 325I, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (12) Equipment (1) Power Train (7) Service Brakes Hydraulic (3) Unknown Or Other (4)
Electrical System (16) Exterior Lighting (45) Seat Belts (2) Steering (4) Vehicle Speed Control (1)
Electronic Stability Control (2) Fuel System Gasoline (2) Service Brakes (3) Structure (5) Visibility (15)
Engine (1) Latches Locks Linkages (3) Service Brakes Electric (2) Tires (3) Wheels (2)
Engine And Engine Cooling (9)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 14
 
ComplaintDescription

AIR BAGS

11/10/2014 - FAN MATEO, CA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2002 BMW 325I. THE CONTACT RECEIVED A NOTIFICATION FOR NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 14V428000 (AIR BAGS). HOWEVER, THE PART NEEDED WAS UNAVAILABLE. THE CONTACT STATED THE MANUFACTURER EXCEEDED A REASONABLE AMOUNT OF TIME FOR THE RECALL REPAIR. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE ISSUE. THE CONTACT HAD NOT EXPERIENCED A FAILURE. THE VIN WAS UNAVAILABLE.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

10/29/2014 - SAN DIEGO, CA
ABS, BRAKE LIGHTS WARNING INDICATOR CONSTANTLY ON. POSSIBLE DSC INOP. POTENTIAL CRASH ISSUE. ORIGINAL OWNER WITH APPROX. $13,000 IN MAINTENANCE AND REPAIR RECEIPTS. 95K MILES ON CAR. NO NOTIFICATION/RECALL FROM BMW.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

10/29/2014 - SAN DIEGO, CA
ABS, BRAKE LIGHTS WARNING INDICATOR CONSTANTLY ON. POSSIBLE DSC INOP. POTENTIAL CRASH ISSUE. ORIGINAL OWNER WITH APPROX. $13,000 IN MAINTENANCE AND REPAIR RECEIPTS. 95K MILES ON CAR. NO NOTIFICATION/RECALL FROM BMW.

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

10/29/2014 - SAN DIEGO, CA
ABS, BRAKE LIGHTS WARNING INDICATOR CONSTANTLY ON. POSSIBLE DSC INOP. POTENTIAL CRASH ISSUE. ORIGINAL OWNER WITH APPROX. $13,000 IN MAINTENANCE AND REPAIR RECEIPTS. 95K MILES ON CAR. NO NOTIFICATION/RECALL FROM BMW.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

10/22/2014 - SANTA BARBARA, CA
THE ABS LIGHT CAME ON FEW MONTHS AGO ON MY 2002 BMW 325I. TOOK THE CAR TO THE DEALERSHIP, WAS TOLD THAT THIS IS A "COMMON PROBLEM" WITH THESE CARS, AND THAT THE ABS/DSC MODULE WILL NEED TO BE REPLACED (WITH A RE-MANUFACTURED PART), AT A COST OF $1,700. ALSO I HAVE HAD TO REPLACE ALL 4 WINDOW REGULATORS IN THE LAST FEW YEARS. AGAIN A VERY COMMON PROBLEM WITH THESE CARS. I AM THE ORIGINAL OWNER OF THIS CAR THAT HAS 90,000 MILES ON IT, AND HAS ALWAYS BEEN GARAGED AND MAINTAINED PROPERLY. LOOKING AT HOW COMMON THESE PROBLEMS ARE, IT IS OBVIOUS THAT THESE PARTS ARE DEFECTIVE. THEREFOR BMW SHOULD REIMBURSE OWNERS FOR REPLACING THE DEFECTIVE PARTS.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

10/22/2014 - SANTA BARBARA, CA
THE ABS LIGHT CAME ON FEW MONTHS AGO ON MY 2002 BMW 325I. TOOK THE CAR TO THE DEALERSHIP, WAS TOLD THAT THIS IS A "COMMON PROBLEM" WITH THESE CARS, AND THAT THE ABS/DSC MODULE WILL NEED TO BE REPLACED (WITH A RE-MANUFACTURED PART), AT A COST OF $1,700. ALSO I HAVE HAD TO REPLACE ALL 4 WINDOW REGULATORS IN THE LAST FEW YEARS. AGAIN A VERY COMMON PROBLEM WITH THESE CARS. I AM THE ORIGINAL OWNER OF THIS CAR THAT HAS 90,000 MILES ON IT, AND HAS ALWAYS BEEN GARAGED AND MAINTAINED PROPERLY. LOOKING AT HOW COMMON THESE PROBLEMS ARE, IT IS OBVIOUS THAT THESE PARTS ARE DEFECTIVE. THEREFOR BMW SHOULD REIMBURSE OWNERS FOR REPLACING THE DEFECTIVE PARTS.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

10/14/2014 - EDISON , NJ
THE REAR WINDOW ROLLS DOWN AND WON'T GO BACK UP AGAIN. HA EMAIL BEEN INFORMED BY DEALERSHIP THAT IT'S BROKEN AND WINDOW REGULATOR NEEDS TO REPLACED. THE WINDOWS ARE RARELY USED. ONLINE RESEARCH INDICATES THAT THIS IS A RECURRING PROBLEM AND THE DEALERSHIPS ARE FULLY AWARE OF IT. THE MANUFACTURER SHOULD RECOGNIZE THIS, RECALL AND FIX THIS ISSUE AS IT IS EXPENSIVE FIX. THIS HAS HAPPENED 3 TIMES ALREADY. MY CAR HAS BARELY 60K MILES.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

7/22/2014 - ATLANTA, GA
LIKE MANY OTHERS WHO HAVE REPORTED THIS PROBLEM, THIS WILL BE MY THIRD TIME REPLACING A WINDOW REGULATOR IN MY 2002 BMW 325I. THE MONTH AFTER I PURCHASED THIS VEHICLE I HAD TO REPLACE THE FRONT DRIVERÆS SIDE WINDOW REGULATOR, AND A FEW MONTHS LATER I HAD TO REPLACE THE FRONT PASSENGER SIDE WINDOW REGULATOR. THIS TIME I AM REPLACING THE REGULATOR ON THE BACK DRIVERÆS SIDE WINDOW. THIS IS NOT AN INEXPENSIVE REPAIR. ITÆS ABOUT $400 PLUS PER WINDOW. SOMEONE NEEDS TO INVESTIGATE THIS AND PROVIDE A REIMBURSEMENT TO THE CONSUMER (ME). HOPEFULLY THE NEXT REPAIR WILL BE COVERED BY BMW. IÆM SURE THE BACK PASSENGER SIDE WINDOW REGULATOR WILL MOST LIKELY BE NEXT.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

6/21/2014 - FRANKLIN SQUARE, NY
THIS IS THE THIRD WINDOW I HAVE HAD THAT ROLLS DOWN THEN SUDDENLY BREAKS AND WON'T ROLL UP. WHEN I GOOGLE IT I SEE MANY OTHER BMW 325I CAR OWNERS E46 BETWEEN 2001 AND 2006 HAVING THE SAME PROBLEM AND IT IS OBVIOUSLY A KNOWN WEAK SPOT IN THESE CARS THAT SHOULD HAVE BEEN RECALLED AND THE MANUFACTURER SHOULD BE TOLD THEY HAVE TO PAY FOR THE REPAIRS AND REIMBURSE US. MY BACK SEAT IS NEVER USED SO THOSE BACK WINDOWS ARE NEVER USED AND IT HAPPENED WITH THE BACK WINDOW - IT HAPPENED WITH BOTH THE FRONT WINDOWS - ONE AT A TIME AND EVERY TIME IT IS VERY EXPENSIVE TO FIX.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

6/19/2014 - MANALPAN, NJ
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2002 BMW 325I. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE TURN SIGNALS AND BRAKE LIGHTS BECAME INOPERABLE. THE CONTACT MENTIONED THAT THE FAILURE WAS DIRECTLY RELATED TO RECALL NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 11V438000 (EXTERIOR LIGHTING). THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE WHO REFUSED TO HONOR THE RECALL. THE FAILURE AND CURRENT MILEAGE WAS UNAVAILABLE.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 14
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds