Auto Recalls for Consumers

BMW K1200LT - 2002 BMW K1200LT Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by BMW

There are 33 complaints filed for the 2002 BMW K1200LT

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2002 BMW K1200LT. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2002 BMW K1200LT, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Engine And Engine Cooling (1) Fuel System Gasoline (3) Service Brakes (2) Service Brakes Hydraulic (2) Structure (1)
Fuel Propulsion System (1) Power Train (22) Service Brakes Air (1) Steering (1)

Pages:  1  
2  3  ... 3
 
ComplaintDescription

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

6/24/2013 - WILLIAMSTOWN, WV
I WAS RIDING DOWN THE INTERSTATE AT 75 MPH. I STARTED SMELLING A STRONG ODOR OF GAS. WHEN I GOT HOME I HAD FUEL DRIPPING ON THE GROUND UNDERNEATH THE BIKE. IT WAS ON MY BOOTS, PANTS LEG AND ALL OVER THE SIDE OF MY BIKE. IT MESSED UP MY PAINT IN SOME AREAS AND WILL NEED TO BE REPAINTED. I TOOK THE SIDE COVER OFF AND WAS ABLE TO SEE THE FUEL DRIPPING FROM THE QUICK DISCONNECT ON THE LOWER FUEL LINE. I AM NOT A HAPPY CAMPER AND I THINK THERE SHOULD BE A RECALL ON THIS PROBLEM.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

5/13/2013 - UNION, MI
ABS PUMP FAILED ON BMW K1200LT 2002, BIKE WAS IN STORAGE FOR A YEAR AND A HALF, TOOK OUT OF STORAGE AND NO SERVO ASSISTED BRAKES?

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

3/14/2013 - SUSSEX , NJ
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2002 BMW K1200LT MOTORCYCLE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE ABS WARNING LIGHT ILLUMINATED RANDOMLY. THE DEALER PERFORMED A DIAGNOSTIC AND ADVISED THAT THE ABS SYSTEM COULD LOCK WHILE DRIVING. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE MOTORCYCLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 6,500 AND THE CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 11,000. THE VIN WAS NOT AVAILABLE.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

6/7/2012 - ADRIAN, MI
ODI NO. [XXX], AND CURRENTLY BEING INVESTIGATED UNDER CAMPAIGN DP12001. OIL LEAKED OVER TIRE AND BRAKES. NOTICED THE LEAK WHEN TRIED TO STOP AND DIDN'T STOP AS IT NORMALLY DID. BMW DEALER REPLACED FINAL DRIVE. INFORMATION REDACTED PURSUANT TO THE FREEDOM OF INFORMATION ACT (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6)

View Details

POWER TRAIN

2/4/2012 - JAMAICA, NY
SAME FAILURE AS DESCRIBED IN ODI NO. 10439549, AND CURRENTLY BEING INVESTIGATED UNDER CAMPAIGN DP12001.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

2/4/2012 - JAMAICA, NY
FINAL DRIVE REQUIRED REPLACEMENT FOR GRINDING, CLUNKING AND VIBRATION. DEALER FOUND OIL LOADED WITH BEARING MATERIAL AND SIGNS OF AN OIL LEAK.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

2/4/2012 - CINCINNATI, OH
THE LINEAR BEARING IN THE REAR DRIVE FAILED - METAL FLAKES AND BEARING MATERIAL APPEARED IN THE REAR DRIVE OIL WHEN THE OIL WAS CHANGED. THE OIL WAS CHANGED EVERY 3000 - 400 MILES AND WITHOUT WARNING THE DRIVE OIL BECAME CONTAMINATED BY A BEARING THAT DETERIORATED. THE BEARING CAGE HAD NOT STARTED TO FAIL AT THIS TIME. THE REAR DRIVE WAS REMOVED FROM THE MOTORCYCLE, TAKEN APART AND UPON INSPECTION THE BEARING WAS IN EARLY STAGES OF COMPLETE FAILURE. UPON FURTHER INSPECTION AND MEASUREMENT IT WOULD APPEAR THAT THE BEARING WAS INITIALLY OVER SHIMED (GREATER THAN THE MANUFACTURER SPECIFICATIONS CALLED FOR) AT THE FACTORY PLACING UNDUE FORCES ON THIS LINEAR BEARING - THUS CAUSING ITS PREMATURE FAILURE. THE REPLACEMENT BEARING ALONG WITH PROPER SHIMS, AS CALLED FOR IN THE MANUFACTURER SPECIFICATIONS, WERE PLACED BACK INTO THE DRIVE.

View Details

POWER TRAIN: DRIVELINE

8/6/2011 - CA, CA
SECOND REAR DRIVE FAILURE OF 2002 BMW K1200LT MOTORCYCLE AT 42502 MILES FIRST AT 17520 MILES.

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE

6/23/2010 - DAYTON, OH
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2002 BMW K1200 LT. WHILE TRAVELING AT 20 MPH, THE CONTACT NOTICED THAT GASOLINE WAS LEAKING ONTO HIS RIGHT FOOT. THE DEALER AS CONTACTED WHERE HE WAS ADVISED THEY WOULD NOT ASSIST IN SERVICING THE VEHICLE. THERE WERE NO PRIOR WARNINGS. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 26,000 AND THE CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 27,000. UPDATED 08/11/10. UPDATED 08/17/10

View Details

POWER TRAIN: DRIVELINE

9/7/2009 - WEATHERFORD, TX
ON AUGUST 28TH, MY WIFE AND I WERE TRAVELING TO EUREAKA SPRINGS, ARKANSAS FOR OUR 40TH WEDDING ANNIVERSARY. ABOUT TEN MILES FROM OUR DESTINATION, THE REAR WHEEL DRIVE BEARINGS WENT OUT ON OUR BMW K12LT MOTORCYCLE FOR THE SECOND TIME. WE WERE TRAVELING DOWN A STEEP, WINDING, MOUNTAIN ROAD AND WERE EXTREMELY WORRIED THAT THE BACK WHEEL WOULD LOCK UP AND SEND US SKIDDING DOWN THE SIDE OF THE MOUNTAIN. GOD WAS WATCHING OVER US AND BROUGHT US SAFELY INTO TOWN WHERE WE WERE THEN STRANDED. THE NEXT DAY, I FOUND A KIND MAN WITH A TRUCK AND TRAILER, WHO HAULED US TO BENTONVILLE, ARKANSAS TO THE BMW DEALER. THEY REPAIRED THE BIKE IN ONLY THREE HOURS AND WERE WONDERFULLY KIND AND HELPFUL. SINCE THE BEARINGS HAD ONLY BEEN REPLACED 3000 MILES AND ONE MONTH BEFORE, THEY DIDN'T CHARGE US FOR THE REPLACEMENT BECAUSE BMW HAS A ONE YEAR PARTS WARRANTY. THE LOCAL DEALERS ARE GREAT, BUT BMW IN UNCARING WITH REGARD TO THE SAFETY OF THE MOTORCYCLISTS WHO RIDE THEIR BIKES. THIS REAR WHEEL DRIVE BEARING IS A COMMON PROBLEM AFFECTING MOST OF THE BMW BIKES, BUT BMW HAS CHOSEN TO IGNORE THE PROBLEM. THEY ARE STILL BUILDING THE PROBLEM INTO THE NEW BIKES THEY ARE SELLING. THE FIRST QUESTION THE DEALER ASKED ME WHEN WE ARRIVED IN BENTONVILLE WITH THE BIKE WAS "IS THE BACK WHEEL LOCKED UP?" THAT IS THE MOST FRIGHTENING THING TO ME ABOUT THIS PROBLEM. IF YOUR REAR WHEEL LOCKS UP WHILE YOU ARE LEANING INTO A CURVE ON A MOUNTAIN ROAD, THERE WON'T BE ANY WAY TO AVOID A SKID AND CRASH. MY WIFE AND I COULD BOTH BE KILLED IF THIS HAPPENED. WE LOVE BMW BIKES AND WE LOVE RIDING. HOWEVER, I FIRMLY BELIEVE THAT BMW SHOULD BE FORCED INTO CORRECTING THIS DEFICIENCY BEFORE SOMEONE IS KILLED, IF THEY HAVEN'T BEEN ALREADY. TO DATE, BMW IS PRETENDING THAT THERE IS NO PROBLEM. THE FACT THAT THERE IS A LARGE PROBLEM CAN CLEARLY BE SEEN ON THE INTERNET AND IN THE MAGAZINE ARTICLES.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  ... 3
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds