Auto Recalls for Consumers

DODGE RAM 1500 - 2002 DODGE RAM 1500 Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Chrysler (FCA US LLC)

There are 788 complaints filed for the 2002 DODGE RAM 1500

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2002 DODGE RAM 1500. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2002 DODGE RAM 1500, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (45) Equipment (9) Parking Brake (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (31) Unknown Or Other (47)
Communications (1) Exterior Lighting (38) Power Train (97) Steering (43) Vehicle Speed Control (21)
Electrical System (86) Fuel System Gasoline (6) Seat Belts (6) Structure (276) Visibility (52)
Electronic Stability Control (1) Interior Lighting (1) Seats (4) Suspension (74) Visibility Wiper (1)
Engine (16) Latches Locks Linkages (5) Service Brakes (1) Tires (16) Wheels (10)
Engine And Engine Cooling (59) Other (11) Service Brakes Air (2)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 95
 
ComplaintDescription

POWER TRAIN

6/1/2018 - TUCSON, AZ
DRIVESHAFT SEPARATED FROM REAR AXLE AND WHEELS LOCKED.VEHICLE WAS IN MOTION.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

5/25/2018 - BRADENTON, FL
DRIVING ON HIGHWAY WHEN DRIVE SHAFT FELL OFF AND REAREND LOCKED UP

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

4/25/2018 - HAMLIN, WV
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2002 DODGE RAM 1500. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THERE WAS EXTENSIVE RUST, CORROSION, AND HOLES ALONG THE ENTIRE FRAME AND UNDERCARRIAGE OF THE VEHICLE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE FRAME WAS DETACHING DUE TO THE FAILURE. THE VEHICLE HAD NOT BEEN INSPECTED AND DIAGNOSED BY A DEALER. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 118,000.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

4/12/2018 - CORSICANA, TX
THE FCM AND PDC ARE EXTREMELY BAD ON THE 2002 DODGE. THEY CORRODE CAUSING YOUR BRAKE LIGHTS, BLINKERS, HEADLIGHTS AND EMERGENCY FLASHER NOT TO WORK. DODGE SHOULD HAVE BEEN MANDATED TO RECALL AND REPLACE BOTH PARTS ON EVERY TRUCK. THE CORROSION IS DO TO THE POOR DESIGN OF THE PDC "FUSE BOX" WITH HOLES IN THE BOTTOM ALLOWING WATER AND MOISTURE TO ENTER THE PDC AND START TO CORRODE. THIS IN TURN CAUSING THE FCM " FRONT CONTROL MODULE" TO SHORT OUT. THIS IS A SEVERE DANGER TO THE TRUCK OWNER AS WELL AS OTHER MOTORISTS AND PEDESTRIANS ON THE ROAD. THIS IS A VERY SERIOUS MATTER AND NEEDS TO BE LOOKED IN TO AND FIXED. I HAVE PERSONALLY EXPERIENCE THIS AND HAVE ALMOST BEEN HIT SEVERAL TIMES BY MOTORISTS BEHIND ME DO TO THE FACT MY TAILLIGHTS QUIT WORKING AND MY BLINKERS DID AS WELL. I HAVE REPLACED MY FCM AND PDC 4 TIMES ALREADY AND EACH ONE SHORTS OUT AFTER A YEAR. THAT'S $600-$1200 EACH TIME. DODGE IS RESPONSIBLE FOR THIS PROBLEM.

View Details

STEERING

4/12/2018 - CORSICANA, TX
THE FCM AND PDC ARE EXTREMELY BAD ON THE 2002 DODGE. THEY CORRODE CAUSING YOUR BRAKE LIGHTS, BLINKERS, HEADLIGHTS AND EMERGENCY FLASHER NOT TO WORK. DODGE SHOULD HAVE BEEN MANDATED TO RECALL AND REPLACE BOTH PARTS ON EVERY TRUCK. THE CORROSION IS DO TO THE POOR DESIGN OF THE PDC "FUSE BOX" WITH HOLES IN THE BOTTOM ALLOWING WATER AND MOISTURE TO ENTER THE PDC AND START TO CORRODE. THIS IN TURN CAUSING THE FCM " FRONT CONTROL MODULE" TO SHORT OUT. THIS IS A SEVERE DANGER TO THE TRUCK OWNER AS WELL AS OTHER MOTORISTS AND PEDESTRIANS ON THE ROAD. THIS IS A VERY SERIOUS MATTER AND NEEDS TO BE LOOKED IN TO AND FIXED. I HAVE PERSONALLY EXPERIENCE THIS AND HAVE ALMOST BEEN HIT SEVERAL TIMES BY MOTORISTS BEHIND ME DO TO THE FACT MY TAILLIGHTS QUIT WORKING AND MY BLINKERS DID AS WELL. I HAVE REPLACED MY FCM AND PDC 4 TIMES ALREADY AND EACH ONE SHORTS OUT AFTER A YEAR. THAT'S $600-$1200 EACH TIME. DODGE IS RESPONSIBLE FOR THIS PROBLEM.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

4/12/2018 - CORSICANA, TX
THE FCM AND PDC ARE EXTREMELY BAD ON THE 2002 DODGE. THEY CORRODE CAUSING YOUR BRAKE LIGHTS, BLINKERS, HEADLIGHTS AND EMERGENCY FLASHER NOT TO WORK. DODGE SHOULD HAVE BEEN MANDATED TO RECALL AND REPLACE BOTH PARTS ON EVERY TRUCK. THE CORROSION IS DO TO THE POOR DESIGN OF THE PDC "FUSE BOX" WITH HOLES IN THE BOTTOM ALLOWING WATER AND MOISTURE TO ENTER THE PDC AND START TO CORRODE. THIS IN TURN CAUSING THE FCM " FRONT CONTROL MODULE" TO SHORT OUT. THIS IS A SEVERE DANGER TO THE TRUCK OWNER AS WELL AS OTHER MOTORISTS AND PEDESTRIANS ON THE ROAD. THIS IS A VERY SERIOUS MATTER AND NEEDS TO BE LOOKED IN TO AND FIXED. I HAVE PERSONALLY EXPERIENCE THIS AND HAVE ALMOST BEEN HIT SEVERAL TIMES BY MOTORISTS BEHIND ME DO TO THE FACT MY TAILLIGHTS QUIT WORKING AND MY BLINKERS DID AS WELL. I HAVE REPLACED MY FCM AND PDC 4 TIMES ALREADY AND EACH ONE SHORTS OUT AFTER A YEAR. THAT'S $600-$1200 EACH TIME. DODGE IS RESPONSIBLE FOR THIS PROBLEM.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

3/19/2018 - NAPANOCH, NY
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2002 DODGE RAM 1500. WHILE DRIVING 2 MPH, THE PINION BOLT LOOSENED AND FELL OFF, WHICH CAUSED THE DRIVE SHAFT TO FRACTURE AND ALSO DETACH. THE FAILURE CAUSED THE VEHICLE TO SEIZE. ROBERT GREEN CHRYSLER, DODGE, JEEP IN MONTICELLO, NEW YORK WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE AND STATED THAT THE VEHICLE WAS NOT INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 13V038000 (POWER TRAIN). THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE AND REFERRED THE CONTACT TO NHTSA. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 197,000.

View Details

AIR BAGS

2/6/2018 - GOODYEAR, AZ
MY TRUCK IS A 2002 DOGE RAM 1500. MY AIR BAG LIGHT IS ON. WHENT TO THE DEALER SHIP IT SEEMS THAT THEY DONT MAKE THE MAUGEL NO MORE. SO HOW CAN I DRIVE MY VEHICLE IF THE AIR BAGS DONT WORK. NEED HELP PARTS, IS DESCANTINUE.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

2/2/2018 - SUGARLAND, TX
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2002 DODGE RAM 1500. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE INDEPENDENTLY SURGED FORWARD OUT OF GEAR MORE THAN ONCE WHILE IN PARK. THE VEHICLE HAD TO BE STOPPED AND FORCE WAS APPLIED TO PREVENT THE FAILURE. THE DEALER (GILLMAN CHRYSLER JEEP DODGE RAM, 10585 W SAM HOUSTON PKWY S, HOUSTON, TX 77099, (713) 776-4900) WAS NOTIFIED AND SCHEDULED AN APPOINTMENT. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS NOT AVAILABLE.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

1/16/2018 - TEANECK, NJ
MY DASHBOARD HAS HOLE IN IT. ITS BEEN CRACKING FOR A WHILE AND REALLY DIDN'T PAY ATT

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 95
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds