Auto Recalls for Consumers

DODGE RAM 1500 - 2002 DODGE RAM 1500 Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Chrysler (FCA US LLC)

There are 780 complaints filed for the 2002 DODGE RAM 1500

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2002 DODGE RAM 1500. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2002 DODGE RAM 1500, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (44) Equipment (9) Parking Brake (1) Service Brakes Air (2) Tires (16)
Communications (1) Exterior Lighting (38) Power Train (93) Service Brakes Hydraulic (31) Unknown Or Other (45)
Electrical System (85) Fuel System Gasoline (6) Seat Belts (6) Steering (42) Vehicle Speed Control (21)
Electronic Stability Control (1) Interior Lighting (1) Seats (4) Structure (274) Visibility (52)
Engine (16) Latches Locks Linkages (5) Service Brakes (1) Suspension (74) Wheels (10)
Engine And Engine Cooling (59) Other (11)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 94
 
ComplaintDescription

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

12/29/2017 - PALMDALE, CA
ABOUT 3 YEARS AFTER BUYING MY NEW DODGE TRUCK THE DASHBOARD STARTED TO FALL APART, BECOME BRITTLE. ITS CURRENTLY IN COMPLETE PIECES. THE VEHICLE HAS ALWAYS BEEN IN MOTION AND HAS ALWAYS BEEN PROTECTED FROM THE SUN. I KNOW THERE ARE A LOT OF CASES JUST LIKE MINE. PICTURES WILL BE AVAILABLE.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

12/21/2017 - ASHEVILLE, NC
MY WIFE AND I WERE DRIVING AT ABOUT 55 MPH AND NEXT THING WE KNOW WE HEARD A VERY LOUD BANG AND THEN MY REAR END LOCKED UP AND ABOUT CAUSED US TO HIT THE CAR BESIDE US ONCE I WAS ABLE TO PULL OVER SAFELY I GOT OUT AND FOUND MY DRIVESHAFT SEPARATED FROM THE REAR END SO I HAD IT TOWED TO THE LOCAL MECHANIC AND HE HAD INFORMED ME THAT MY PINION NUT HAD CAME LOOSE AND BACKED OUT THAT IT WAS NOT PROPERLY TORQUED I HAVE CONTACTED THE DEALERSHIP AND THE CORPORATION OF RAM AND NEITHER WILL OWN UP TO IT EVEN THOUGH THEY INFORMED ME THERE WAS A PENDING RECALL FOR MY YEAR MODEL FOR THAT PINION NUT AND THEY ALSO INFORMED ME THAT I DO HAVE THE SAME REAR END AS THE 05 MODEL THAT DID HAVE A RECALL ON THE PINION NUT WHICH IS THE 9.25+ RING GEAR CHRYSLER REAR END BUT THEY SAID SINCE MINE IS A 2002 THEY CAN DO NOTHING ABOUT IT AND THAT I AM STUCK WITH PAYING FOR REPAIRS FOR SOMETHING THAT SHOULD+VE NEVER HAPPENED ON A TRUCK WITH 124,000 MILES AND SOMETHING THAT COULD+VE INJURED MY WIFE AND I AND I+VE SEEN A LOT OF REPORTS OF THIS SAME THING HAPPENING TO PEOPLE ATLEAST ONCE I DON+T SEE WHY THIS IS NOT A RECALL BECAUSE I SEE IT AS A HUGE SAFTEY ISSUE

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

11/23/2017 - MANHATTAN BEACH, CA
DASH IS FALLING APART. EVERY DAY PIECES ARE COMING OFF. ALSO I NEED TO REPLACE THE HEATER CORE AND I'M AFRAID THE THAT THE DASH WILL COMPLETELY FALL APART.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

10/20/2017 - OOLTEWAH, TN
THE DASH IS CRACKING AND PIECES FALL DOWN INTO THE VENT THEN WHEN I TURN ON HEAT OR AIR PIECES COME FLYING OUT HITTING MYSELF OR PASSINGERS IN EYES AND FACE

View Details

POWER TRAIN

10/5/2017 - ATWATER, OH
WHILE DRIVING HOME A NOISE STARTED TO OCCUR WHEN LETTING OFF GAS PEDAL, GOT LOUDER THE MORE I DROVE, I DRIVE 25 MILES TO AND FROM WORK, WELL AS I WAS COASTING TO SLOW TO ENTER MY DRIVEWAY (I LIVE IN THE COUNTRY) AND THE THEN BOOM AND NO POWER REAR END LOCKED RIGHT AT END OF MY DRIVE AND WOULD NOT MOVE, FOUND DRIVE SHAFT GONE AND PINION WAS PULLED INTO DIFFERENTIAL, STOPPED IN THE MIDDLE OF AS STATE ROUTE HAD TO DRAG TRUCK OFF OF ROAD REMOVED COVER AND FOUND REAR END CHEWED UP, MY QUESTION IS WHY IS DODGE ONLY COVING THIS REA END BACK TO 2005 AND NOT TO WHEN THEY STARTED USING IT IN 2002, GLAD IT DIDN'T HAPPEN IN HEAVY TRAFFIC, I WOULD HAVE BEEN HURT OR WORSE SOMEONE ELSE WOULD HAVE

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

8/6/2017 - ROGERS, AR
THE DASH AND DASH COMPONENTS ARE CRACKING AND OR BREAKING CAUSING SHARP EDGES AND FLAYING DEBRIS. I HAVE RESORTED TO USING GORILLA GLUE AND A DASH MAT TO MINIMIZE THESE ISSUES BUT IT HAS GOTTEN SO BAD THAT THIS IS NO LONGER SUFFICIENT. I HAVE TAKEN THE TRUCK TO A DEALER AND I HAVE HAD THEM INSPECT THIS ISSUE. PLEASE SEE ATTACHED.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

8/1/2017 - PALM COAST, FL
TODAY AROUND 1AM COMING HOME FROM WORK, I WAS GOING 65 MPH AND I WAS COMING UP ON MY TURN.I SLOWED DOWN AND MY 2002 DODGE RAM QUAD CAP DID A NOSES DIVE FELT LIKE I WAS SLAMMING ON THE BRAKES. TOOK THE TURN BRING IT BACK UP TO 40MPH TO SEE IF I CAN SEE WHAT IT WAS ( THINKING I HIT MY E BRAKE) AND ALL OF A SUDDEN HURD A BIG BOOM AND MY TRUCK LOCK UP GOING AROUND A DIRT ROAD ALMOST GOING IN TO THE TREES, NOW MY TRUCK IS IN THE MIDDLE OF THE ROAD SIDE WAYS.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

7/4/2017 - CORONA, CA
I'M CONCERNED THE CRACKED DASH WILL BECOME SHARP PLASTIC PROJECTILES IF THE AIRBAG EVER DEPLOYS.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

6/27/2017 - WEST MILTON, OH
WHILE HAVING THE EVAPORATOR REPLACED, THE DASH CAME APART IN PIECES. THE PIECES CAN NOT BE PUT BACK TOGETHER AND REINSTALLED SAFELY. THE DASH SHOULD NOT BE MADE OF A PLASTIC THAT COULD BREAK APART AND CAUSE DAMAGE IN AN ACCIDENT.

View Details

SUSPENSION

5/4/2017 - CASSOPOLIS, MI
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2002 DODGE RAM 1500. WHILE DRIVING AT AN UNKNOWN SPEED, AN ABNORMAL CLICKING NOISE WAS HEARD FROM THE REAR OF THE VEHICLE, WHICH CAUSED THE REAR AXLE TO CEASE. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN BACK TO THE CONTACT'S RESIDENCE AND THE CONTACT WAS ABLE TO REBUILD AND REPLACE THE REAR AXLE. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED; HOWEVER, ONE MONTH LATER, THE PINION NUT DISCONNECTED AND DAMAGED THE REAR OF THE VEHICLE. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 150,000.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 94
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds