Auto Recalls for Consumers

GMC SIERRA 2500 HD - 2002 GMC SIERRA 2500 HD Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by GMC

There are 57 complaints filed for the 2002 GMC SIERRA 2500 HD

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2002 GMC SIERRA 2500 HD. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2002 GMC SIERRA 2500 HD, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (1) Fuel Propulsion System (1) Parking Brake (1) Service Brakes Electric (2) Structure (3)
Engine (2) Fuel System Diesel (1) Power Train (5) Service Brakes Hydraulic (23) Suspension (1)
Engine And Engine Cooling (9) Fuel System Gasoline (3) Service Brakes (12) Steering (3) Tires (3)
Exterior Lighting (1)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  ... 5
 
ComplaintDescription

SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC

4/10/2010 - SANDYSTON, NJ
I WAS PLOWING SNOW ON THE COMMON DRIVEWAY THAT I SHARE WITH 3 OTHER NEIGHBORS AND CAME AROUND A BEND TO MEET MY NEIGHBOR'S SON ON HIS ATV. I SLAMMED ON THE BRAKES AND THE PEDAL WENT TO THE FLOOR. FORTUNATELY THE PILE OF SNOW IN FRONT OF THE PLOW HELPED STOP MY TRUCK. THE ATV OPERATOR DODGED IN TO THE SNOW BANK. THERE WAS NO CONTACT. I FOUND THAT I HAD MULTIPLE BRAKELINE FAILURES ON MY TRUCK. I HAVE HAD A PREVIOUS BRAKE LINE FAILURE IN 2008 BUT COULD NOT FIND THE WORK ORDER FOR REPAIRS TO VERIFY DATE AND MILEAGE.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES, ELECTRIC

4/10/2010 - LOCKBOURNE, OH
DEPRESSED AB BRAKES TO AVOID DEER, BRAKE WENT ALL THE WAY TO FLOOR BOARD BEFORE STOPPING. BRAKE LINES CORRODED AND HAD TO BE REPLACED.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC

3/17/2010 - MARLBOROUGH, MA
EXPERIENCE UNWANTED ANTILOCK BRAKE SYSTEM (ABS) ACTIVATION. THIS CAN CAUSE INCREASED STOPPING DISTANCES DURING LOW-SPEED BRAKE APPLICATIONS, WHICH COULD RESULT IN A CRASH.

View Details

POWER TRAIN: DRIVELINE

1/22/2010 - GRAND JUNCTION, CO
LIMITED SLIP DIFFERENTIAL CAUSING LOSS OF CONTROL ON ICY ROADS. I RECENTLY LOST CONTROL OF MY TRUCK WHILE DRIVING ABOUT 45MPH ON AN ICY HIGHWAY IN BOULDER, CO. BECAUSE THE LOSS WAS SO INSTANTANEOUS RESULTING IN THE TRUCK SPINNING 90 DEGREES TO THE DIRECTION OF TRAVEL, I QUESTION IF THE LIMITED SLIP FUNCTION WOULD CAUSE POWER TO TRANSFER TO A WHEEL IF IT SUDDENLY HIT DRY PAVEMENT, WHILE THE OTHER WHEEL WAS SPINNING ON ICE, RESULTING IN A SPIN OUT. THIS IS ONLY MY THEORY BUT WITH 57 YEARS OF DRIVING EXPERIENCE AND THE FACT THAT I HAVE HAD WEIRD EXPERIENCES WITH LIMITED SLIP DIFFERENTIALS IN THE PAST I THOUGHT MY THEORY MAY HAVE SOME VALIDITY. MY CONCERN IS THAT THERE ARE MILLIONS VEHICLES WITH LIMITED SLIP DIFFERENTIALS ON THE ROAD AND IF MY THEORY IS VALID, PERHAPS MANY ACCIDENTS ARE BEING CAUSED BY THIS OPTION (WHICH CAME AS PART OF A PACKAGE WHEN I PURCHASED MY TRUCK).

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE: FUEL INJECTION SYSTEM: INJECTORS

1/5/2010 - REDWOOD, CA
TL CONTACT OWNS A 2002 GMC SIERRA 2500 HD. THE CONTACT STATED THAT HIS FUEL INJECTORS HAVE FAILED. THE DEALER CONFIRMED THAT THE INJECTORS WERE BAD AND FIVE OUT OF EIGHT ARE LEAKING FUEL WHICH HAVE A HIGH RETURN FUEL RATE. THERE ARE NO RELATED RECALLS OR WARRANTIES. THE CONTACT WAS DENIED THE WARRANTY COVERAGE THAT IS 7 YEARS 200,000 MILES FROM THE MANUFACTURER. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 96,386.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES, ELECTRIC

11/23/2009 - INVER GROVE HEIGHTS , MN
WHEEL SPEED SENSORS CORRODED, ANTI-LOCK BRAKES MALFUNCTION AT LOW SPEED.

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE: FUEL INJECTION SYSTEM: INJECTORS

9/2/2009 - CAPE CORAL, FL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2002 GMC SIERRA 2500 HD. THE CONTACT NOTICED FUEL LEAKAGE ON THE REAR BUMPER OF HIS VEHICLE. FUEL LEAKAGE IN THE PRESENCE OF AN IGNITION SOURCE INCREASED THE RISK FOR A FIRE HAZARD. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A LOCAL REPAIR FACILITY IN WHICH A MECHANIC CONCLUDED THAT THE FUEL INJECTORS NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE HAS NOT BEEN REPAIRED. THE CURRENT AND FAILURE MILEAGES WERE 81000.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING: ENGINE

8/12/2009 - MORGAN HILL, CA
I HAVE A 2002 GMC SIERRA 2500HD WITH THE 8.1L ENGINE THAT IS EXHIBITING THE EXACT SAME SYMPTOMS THAT LED TO THE RECALL OF THE 2001 MODEL. (NHTSA # 07V521000). ONE MINUTE I'LL BE DRIVING DOWN THE FREEWAY AND THE NEXT MINUTE THE ENGINE WILL STOP RUNNING. THIS HAS HAPPENED NUMEROUS TIMES. SOMETIMES IT'LL RESTART BEFORE IT COMES TO A STOP. SOMETIMES IT WILL TAKE SEVERAL MINUTES AFTER IT'S COME TO A STOP. I'VE RESEARCHED IT ON-LINE, AND IT WOULD APPEAR THAT THIS PROBLEM IS NOT RESTRICTED TO THE 2001 MODELS. THE DATE I'VE LISTED IS WHEN I FIRST REMEMBER IT HAPPENING. IT'S VERY INTERMITTENT. IT'S GETTING WORSE.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING

7/26/2009 - WINCHESTER, IN
2002 GMC SIERRA 2500HD 6.0L 4X4. THE 6.0L ENGINE IS KNOCKING CONSTANTLY, AND FROM DOING SOME RESEARCH. THIS IS A VERY COMMON ISSUE AND NEEDS TO BE RESOLVED. DEALER SAID IT IS NORMAL! SINCE WHEN IS AN ENGINE KNOCKING, NORMAL?

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC

1/30/2009 - THOMASTON, CT
FRONT ABS ACTIVATES WHILE TRYING TO STOP. THIS IS COVERED BY MANY RECALLS. MY VEHICLE IS NOT INCLUDED ALTHOUGH IT HAS THE EXACT SYMPTOMS.

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  ... 5
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds