Auto Recalls for Consumers

GMC YUKON XL - 2002 GMC YUKON XL Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 87 complaints filed for the 2002 GMC YUKON XL

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2002 GMC YUKON XL. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2002 GMC YUKON XL, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (2) Equipment (1) Other (1) Service Brakes Air (1) Suspension (3)
Electrical System (4) Exterior Lighting (1) Parking Brake (8) Service Brakes Hydraulic (19) Tires (10)
Engine (1) Fuel System Gasoline (10) Power Train (9) Steering (13) Visibility (3)
Engine And Engine Cooling (10) Latches Locks Linkages (2) Service Brakes (3) Structure (3) Wheels (1)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  ... 8
 
ComplaintDescription

ENGINE

3/27/2014 - SANTA ANNA, CA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2002 GMC YUKON XL. THE CONTACT STATED WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 30 MPH, THE ENGINE STALLED WITHOUT WARNING. THE VEHICLE RESTARTED AFTER EIGHT ATTEMPTS. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN AUTHORIZED DEALER WHO STATED THAT THE CRANKSHAFT POSITION SENSOR WAS FAULTY. THERE WAS A RECALL ISSUED FOR THE 2001 GMC YUKON MODEL UNDER NHTSA CAMPAIGN ID NUMBER 07V521000 (ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING). THE VEHICLE WAS CURRENTLY BEING REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE DEFECT. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 62,700.

View Details

SUSPENSION

3/11/2014 - MONTCLAIR , NJ
WE PURCHASED THE 2002 YUKON FROM MCGUIRE DEALERSHIP IN NJ ITS BEEN CARED FOR TAKEN TO THE DEALERSHIP FAITHFULLY DRIVEN BY MY 50 YEAR OLD FATHER, WHEN FIRST DRIVING HE NOTICED THE PEDAL VIBRATING RAPIDLY DURING NORMAL BRAKE APPLICATIONS. THE ABS CONTROL VALVE WAS THE CULPRIT ALONG WITH A RUSTY WHEEL SENSOR. IT WAS REPLACED AT THE DEALER AND AFTER 5 YEARS THE FRAME OF THE TRUCK IS RUSTING AND ROTTING ALONG WITH SUSPENSION PARTS AND MOST OF ALL THE BRAKES. WE CAME CLOSE TO CRASHING ONE DAY WHEN THE PEDAL WENT STRAIGHT TO THE FLOOR, WE TAKE IT TO THE LOCAL FIRESTONE AND THEY TELL US ALL THE BRAKE LINES ARE RUSTED OUT ALONG WITH THE MASTER CYLINDER. WE REPLACED THE LINES AND MASTER CYLINDER WITH A HEFTY PRICE TAG. WE GET THE CAR BACK 3 DAYS LATER PEDAL GOES TO THE FLOOR AGAIN, BACK AT THE MECHANIC BOTH REAR CALIPERS ARE RUSTED AND LEAKING. WE REPLACED ALL 4 CALIPERS AND THE PROBLEM STOPPED BUT NOW THE FRAME IS RUSTING AND THE ABS IS STILL VIBRATING BADLY. LONG STORY SHORT GM NEEDS TO BE HELD ACCOUNTABLE FOR SELLING SUCH CHEAP CRAPPY TRUCKS, WE CAME CLOSE A FEW TIMES TO CRASHING, AND I FEEL SORRY FOR THE PEOPLE THAT HAVE LOST THEIR LIVES DUE TO THE NEGLIGENCE OF THE EMPLOYEES OF GM.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

3/11/2014 - MONTCLAIR , NJ
WE PURCHASED THE 2002 YUKON FROM MCGUIRE DEALERSHIP IN NJ ITS BEEN CARED FOR TAKEN TO THE DEALERSHIP FAITHFULLY DRIVEN BY MY 50 YEAR OLD FATHER, WHEN FIRST DRIVING HE NOTICED THE PEDAL VIBRATING RAPIDLY DURING NORMAL BRAKE APPLICATIONS. THE ABS CONTROL VALVE WAS THE CULPRIT ALONG WITH A RUSTY WHEEL SENSOR. IT WAS REPLACED AT THE DEALER AND AFTER 5 YEARS THE FRAME OF THE TRUCK IS RUSTING AND ROTTING ALONG WITH SUSPENSION PARTS AND MOST OF ALL THE BRAKES. WE CAME CLOSE TO CRASHING ONE DAY WHEN THE PEDAL WENT STRAIGHT TO THE FLOOR, WE TAKE IT TO THE LOCAL FIRESTONE AND THEY TELL US ALL THE BRAKE LINES ARE RUSTED OUT ALONG WITH THE MASTER CYLINDER. WE REPLACED THE LINES AND MASTER CYLINDER WITH A HEFTY PRICE TAG. WE GET THE CAR BACK 3 DAYS LATER PEDAL GOES TO THE FLOOR AGAIN, BACK AT THE MECHANIC BOTH REAR CALIPERS ARE RUSTED AND LEAKING. WE REPLACED ALL 4 CALIPERS AND THE PROBLEM STOPPED BUT NOW THE FRAME IS RUSTING AND THE ABS IS STILL VIBRATING BADLY. LONG STORY SHORT GM NEEDS TO BE HELD ACCOUNTABLE FOR SELLING SUCH CHEAP CRAPPY TRUCKS, WE CAME CLOSE A FEW TIMES TO CRASHING, AND I FEEL SORRY FOR THE PEOPLE THAT HAVE LOST THEIR LIVES DUE TO THE NEGLIGENCE OF THE EMPLOYEES OF GM.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

3/11/2014 - MONTCLAIR , NJ
WE PURCHASED THE 2002 YUKON FROM MCGUIRE DEALERSHIP IN NJ ITS BEEN CARED FOR TAKEN TO THE DEALERSHIP FAITHFULLY DRIVEN BY MY 50 YEAR OLD FATHER, WHEN FIRST DRIVING HE NOTICED THE PEDAL VIBRATING RAPIDLY DURING NORMAL BRAKE APPLICATIONS. THE ABS CONTROL VALVE WAS THE CULPRIT ALONG WITH A RUSTY WHEEL SENSOR. IT WAS REPLACED AT THE DEALER AND AFTER 5 YEARS THE FRAME OF THE TRUCK IS RUSTING AND ROTTING ALONG WITH SUSPENSION PARTS AND MOST OF ALL THE BRAKES. WE CAME CLOSE TO CRASHING ONE DAY WHEN THE PEDAL WENT STRAIGHT TO THE FLOOR, WE TAKE IT TO THE LOCAL FIRESTONE AND THEY TELL US ALL THE BRAKE LINES ARE RUSTED OUT ALONG WITH THE MASTER CYLINDER. WE REPLACED THE LINES AND MASTER CYLINDER WITH A HEFTY PRICE TAG. WE GET THE CAR BACK 3 DAYS LATER PEDAL GOES TO THE FLOOR AGAIN, BACK AT THE MECHANIC BOTH REAR CALIPERS ARE RUSTED AND LEAKING. WE REPLACED ALL 4 CALIPERS AND THE PROBLEM STOPPED BUT NOW THE FRAME IS RUSTING AND THE ABS IS STILL VIBRATING BADLY. LONG STORY SHORT GM NEEDS TO BE HELD ACCOUNTABLE FOR SELLING SUCH CHEAP CRAPPY TRUCKS, WE CAME CLOSE A FEW TIMES TO CRASHING, AND I FEEL SORRY FOR THE PEOPLE THAT HAVE LOST THEIR LIVES DUE TO THE NEGLIGENCE OF THE EMPLOYEES OF GM.

View Details

STEERING

8/25/2013 - SEAGOVILLE, TX
PURCHASED A NEW 2002 GMC YUKON XL, AT ABOUT 6800 MILES THE STEERING DEVELOPED A RATTLE, DEALER UNDER WARRANTY REGREASED THE STEERING SHAFT, THIS HELPED FOR A ABOUT A YEAR AND IT STARTED AGAIN. DEALER RE-GREASED WITH WHAT THEY SAID WAS A NEW GREASE THAT SHOULD SOLVE THE RATTLE PROBLEM. IT HAS STARTED THE RATTLE AGAIN AND ONLY HAS 38000 MILES. I UNDERSTAND THERE IS A REDESIGNED STEERING SHAFT THAT SOLVES THIS RATTLE PROBLEM. HERE IS THE BULLETIN TO SOLVE THE POOR SHAFT DESIGN, SHOULD BE A RECALL BUT LOOKS LIKE GM IS ONLY REPLACING ON A CASE BY CASE ISSUE WAITING FOR YOUR WARRANTY TO BE OUT, AT WHICH TIME THEY CHARGE YOU FOR THE POOR DESIGN STEERING SHAFT. GMC TECH BULLETIN 00-02-35-003M (LATEST REVISION) SUBJECT: CLUNKING NOISE UNDER HOOD AND CAN BE FELT IN STEERING WHEEL AND/OR STEERING COLUMN (REPLACE UPPER INTERMEDIATE STEERING SHAFT (I-SHAFT) ASSEMBLY) #00-02-35-003M - (01/31/2007) MODELS: 2002-2006 CADILLAC ESCALADE MODELS 1999-2007 CHEVROLET SILVERADO MODELS (CLASSIC) 2000-2006 CHEVROLET SUBURBAN, TAHOE MODELS 2002-2006 CHEVROLET AVALANCHE 1999-2007 GMC SIERRA MODELS (CLASSIC) 2000-2006 GMC YUKON, YUKON XL MODELS 2003-2006 HUMMER H2 .

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

10/16/2012 - WESTFIELD, IN
THE ANTILOCK BRAKE SENSORS ARE MALFUNCTIONING AND CAUSING EXTENDED STOPPING DISTANCES THAT COULD LEAD TO AN ACCIDENT. THE ORIGINAL RECALL WAS COMPLETED IN 2006, ACCORDING TO GMC THEY ONLY CLEANED THE PARTS AND DID NOT REPLACE THEM. AS A RESULT THERE IS SEVERE CORROSION ON THE ANTILOCK BRAKE SENSOR CAUSING INCREASED STOPPING DISTANCES THAT COULD CAUSE AN ACCIDENT.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING

9/6/2011 - BINGHAMTON, NY
BROKEN EXHAUST MANIFOLD STUDS ARE CAUSING ENVIRONMENTAL HAZARD AND MAY LEAD TO FAILED CATALYTIC CONVERTER AND OTHER ENGINE PROBLEMS. THIS IS A MANUFACTURING DEFECT THAT SHOULD BE RECALLED, AS IT RENDERS THE VEHICLE EITHER UNUSABLE OR UNABLE TO PASS ENVIRONMENTAL TESTING.

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE

9/6/2011 - BINGHAMTON, NY
BROKEN EXHAUST MANIFOLD STUDS ARE CAUSING ENVIRONMENTAL HAZARD AND MAY LEAD TO FAILED CATALYTIC CONVERTER AND OTHER ENGINE PROBLEMS. THIS IS A MANUFACTURING DEFECT THAT SHOULD BE RECALLED, AS IT RENDERS THE VEHICLE EITHER UNUSABLE OR UNABLE TO PASS ENVIRONMENTAL TESTING.

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE

5/6/2011 - OAKDALE, NY
VEHICLE RAN OUT OF GAS, FUEL GAUGE READ 1/4 TANK

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC

4/25/2011 - HIUTCHINSON, KS
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2002 GMC YUKON XL. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE APPROACHING AN INTERSECTION, THE ABS WARNING LIGHT ILLUMINATED AND THE VEHICLE VIBRATED AS THE BRAKE PEDAL WAS DEPRESSED. THE VEHICLE DID NOT STOP WHEN THE BRAKES WERE APPLIED AND WAS IN THE INTERSECTION BEFORE IT FINALLY STOPPED. THE BRAKING ISSUES PERSISTED AS THE VEHICLE WAS CONTINUOUSLY DRIVEN. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN AUTHORIZED DEALER WHO STATED THAT THE ELECTRONIC BRAKE CONTROL MODULE HAD FAILED AND WOULD NEED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE CONTACT CALLED THE MANUFACTURER WHO OFFERED NO ASSISTANCE. THE CURRENT AND FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 156,000.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  ... 8
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds