Auto Recalls for Consumers

GMC YUKON XL 1500 - 2002 GMC YUKON XL 1500 Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 17 complaints filed for the 2002 GMC YUKON XL 1500

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2002 GMC YUKON XL 1500. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2002 GMC YUKON XL 1500, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Electrical System (2) Power Train (1) Service Brakes (5) Steering (1) Tires (1)
Engine And Engine Cooling (2) Seat Belts (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (4) Structure (1) Wheels (1)
Parking Brake (1)

Pages:  1 
 
ComplaintDescription

SERVICE BRAKES

7/11/2014 - BEL AIR, MD
IN DECEMBER 2012 WE WERE TRAVELING WHEN MY HUSBAND WENT TO HIT THE BRAKES, THEY COMPLETELY GAVE WAY AND STUCK ON THE BOTTOM OF THE FLOOR. IN PANIC HE TRIED EVERY MANEUVER POSSIBLE AS WE WERE COMING UP ON AN L CURVE THAT QUICKLY LED TO A STOP SIGN ENTERING A MAJOR INTERSECTION. AS WE MADE THE L CURVE, TWO MOTORCYCLISTS WERE AT THE LIGHT AND WE WERE COMING STRAIGHT AT THEM AT 40 MILES AN HOUR. MAKING A MASSIVE TURN AND RISKING FLIPPING THE CAR OVER, HE HOOKED THE TRUCK TO THE RIGHT UNTO THE EMBANKMENT OF THE MAJOR ROAD BARELY AVOIDING KILLING THESE TWO MOTORCYCLIST. WE DROVE ON THE EMBANKMENT UNTIL THE CAR CAME TO A STOP. WE CALLED A TOW TRUCK AND HE TOWED US TO A MD REPAIR SHOP. WE THEN RECEIVED A CALL FROM THE REPAIR MAN THAT THE BRAKES LINES WERE COMPLETELY RUSTED OUT AND THAT WE BLEW THE BRAKES LINE AND INSTANTANEOUS LOST ALL OIL. NO BRAKES LEFT WHATSOEVER. HE TOLD ME TO CALL THE DEALER AND PUSH FOR A RECALL SINCE THAT MUCH RUST WAS A SIGN OF AN ISSUE WHEN THE CAR WAS MADE. THERE WAS NO SEAL ON THE UNDER CARRIAGE. I DID AND THE GENTLEMAN AT BOYLE BUICK SAID NOT TO TOW IT IN TO THEIR SHOP AS IT WOULD NOT BE COVERED UNDER WARRANTY AS THEY SEE IT ALL THE TIME BUT THAT GM HAS NEVER PAID FOR THESE TO BE FIXED ON A CAR OUT OF WARRANTY AND DESPITE THIS BEING A CONSTANT ISSUE THEY SEE- IT DID NOT HAVE A RECALL ON IT. HE EVEN GAVE US THE NAME OF A COMPANY THAT MAKES STAINLESS STEEL AFTERMARKET BRAKE LINES ALREADY BENDED AS THAT IS WHERE THEY BUY THEM- THEY SEE IT SO OFTEN. THIS COMPANY SPRUNG UP BECAUSE SO MANY PEOPLE HAD THIS EXACT SAME ISSUE THEY COULD MAKE SUBSTANTIAL MONEY PRE-FABBING THESE LINES. I KEPT MY RECEIPT FOR THESE BRAKES LINE ($1,235.00) AS I HAD TO BELIEVE THAT SOMEONE WOULD EVENTUALLY HOLD GM LIABLE FOR NOT COATING THE UNDERSIDE AND PUTTING THOUSANDS OF LIVES AT RISK.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

5/15/2014 - MIDLOTHIAN, VA
ABS BRAKE MODULE IS NOT HERMETICALLY SEALED WITH AN O-RING GASKET. BECAUSE OF THIS MOISTURE CAN GET INSIDE MODULE AND DAMAGE INTERNAL COMPONENTS. DAMAGED UNITS CAUSE ABS AND BRAKE LIGHTS IN DASHBOARD TO LIGHT UP. FAILURE OF ABS BRAKE MODULE CAN CAUSE ABS BRAKES TO LOCK UP WHEN BRAKING QUICKLY AT SPEEDS IN EXCESS OF 20 MPH.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

4/23/2014 - CANTON, MI
I TRIED TO STOP AND WHEN I APPLIED THE BRAKES THE ABS ACTIVATED WITHOUT ANY REASON. THE ROADS WERE CLEAN AND DRY. THERE WAS NOT ANY WARNING INDICATOR FOR THE ABS BRAKES, I AM TOLD THERE IS A RECALL FOR THIS ISSUE BUT THE DEALER SAYS MINE WAS ALREADY DONE. OBVIOUSLY THE FIX WAS NOT EFFECTIVE IF I AM EXPERIENCING THE PROBLEM NOW.

View Details

PARKING BRAKE

5/10/2013 - AUSTIN, TX
THIS INVOLVES THE EMERGENCY BRAKE THAT WILL NOT HOLD THE VEHICLE WHEN APPLIED. I HAD NOTICED THAT THE EMERGENCY BRAKE DID NOT DO A VERY GOOD JOB HOLDING THE VEHICLE WHEN APPLIED FROM THE TIME IT WAS NEW BUT HAD NOT GIVEN IT MUCH THOUGHT SINCE I NEVER USED IT. SEVERAL YEARS LATER I TRIED TO GET IT INSPECTED AND IT FAILED. I FOUND THAT THE REAR EMERGENCY BRAKE THAT II NEVER USE WERE HAD WORN OUT SHOES AND HAD DAMAGED THE DRUM. I REPLACED THE SHOES AND ONE DRUM AND WAS ABLE TO GET THE BRAKES TO HOLD WHEN THE BRAKE WERE APPLIED. THE BRAKE HAS BEEN APPLIED PROPERLY SENSE THEN BUT STARTED TO DO THE SAME THING AGAIN BY NOT HOLDING THE VEHICLE. I HAD TO REPLACE THE SHOES AGAIN AT 172,000 MILES. THIS SEEMS TO BE A PROBLEM WITH THIS VEHICLE THAT GENERAL MOTORS WILL NOT ADDRESS.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

5/10/2013 - AUSTIN, TX
THIS INVOLVES THE EMERGENCY BRAKE THAT WILL NOT HOLD THE VEHICLE WHEN APPLIED. I HAD NOTICED THAT THE EMERGENCY BRAKE DID NOT DO A VERY GOOD JOB HOLDING THE VEHICLE WHEN APPLIED FROM THE TIME IT WAS NEW BUT HAD NOT GIVEN IT MUCH THOUGHT SINCE I NEVER USED IT. SEVERAL YEARS LATER I TRIED TO GET IT INSPECTED AND IT FAILED. I FOUND THAT THE REAR EMERGENCY BRAKE THAT II NEVER USE WERE HAD WORN OUT SHOES AND HAD DAMAGED THE DRUM. I REPLACED THE SHOES AND ONE DRUM AND WAS ABLE TO GET THE BRAKES TO HOLD WHEN THE BRAKE WERE APPLIED. THE BRAKE HAS BEEN APPLIED PROPERLY SENSE THEN BUT STARTED TO DO THE SAME THING AGAIN BY NOT HOLDING THE VEHICLE. I HAD TO REPLACE THE SHOES AGAIN AT 172,000 MILES. THIS SEEMS TO BE A PROBLEM WITH THIS VEHICLE THAT GENERAL MOTORS WILL NOT ADDRESS.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

2/12/2013 - SOMERSET, NJ
WHILE PULLING OUT OF DRIVEWAY, I PUSHED BRAKE BEFORE ENTERING STREET - PUSHED ALL THE WAY DOWN, BUT HAD NO BRAKE ACTION. WAS BRAKING FINE DAY BEFORE.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC

11/14/2010 - VERONA, KY
THE BRAKES RECENTLY FAILED ON OUR 2002 GMC YUKON XL 1500 4WD SUV. WHILE DESCENDING A MODERATELY STEEP HILL ON OUR STREET, MY WIFE DEPRESSED THE BRAKE PEDAL TO SLOW THE VEHICLE, AND THE PEDAL WENT ALL OF THE WAY TO THE FLOOR. THANKFULLY, SHE WAS ABLE TO COAST THE VEHICLE UP THE NEXT HILL AND BRING IT TO A STOP. INSPECTION REVEALED BRAKE FLUID HAD LEAKED FROM A HIGHLY CORRODED BRAKE LINE ON THE UNDERSIDE OF THE VEHICLE, BELOW THE DRIVER'S SEAT. THREE OTHER ADJACENT BRAKE LINES WERE ALSO SIMILARLY CORRODED. UPON CONTACTING THE NEAREST GM DEALER (TOM GILL CHEVROLET, FLORENCE, KY), THE SERVICE AGENT INFORMED ME "THAT'S NOT UNCOMMON IN A 9-YEAR OLD VEHICLE." FOUR ALMOST COMPLETELY RUSTED BRAKE LINES, IN JUST 8 YEARS? THAT RIDICULOUS! I HAVE A 16-YEAR-OLD TOYOTA IN THE DRIVEWAY THAT DOESN'T HAVE THIS PROBLEM, AND I SHOULDN'T EXPECT TO HAVE IT WITH MY MUCH MORE EXPENSIVE AND FAR NEWER AMERICAN MADE SUV. TOM GILL SERVICE REFUSED TO GIVE ME AN ESTIMATE OF REPAIR, STATING I WOULD HAVE TO HAVE IT TOWED THE 17 MILES TO THE DEALERSHIP, WITH A "WE'RE COMPETITIVE--WE'LL GIVE YOU A COMPETITIVE PRICE." COMFORTING. A FEW MORE CALLS TO LOCAL SHOPS REVEALED AN ESTIMATE OF BETWEEN $850-1,100 FOR REMOVAL AND REPLACEMENT OF ALL FOUR LINES. I ENDED-UP SPENDING 22 HOURS PULLING-OUT THE OLD LINES AND BENDING/FLARING/INSTALLING ENTIRELY NEW FRONT LINES MYSELF. LAST WEEK I LEARNED I'M NOT ALONE--A WCPO NEWS REPORT REVEALED THIS IS PROBLEMATIC WITH GM TRUCKS/SUVS, WITH GM DEFLECTING BLAME TO "SALT BRINE." AFTER ALL OF THESE YEARS, AMERICAN MANUFACTURERS ARE STILL TAKING SHORTCUTS AND CANNING ETHICS...TOYOTA WILL CONTINUE TO WIN MARKET SHARE AS LONG AS THIS CRAP CONTINUES. I'M ANGRY BECAUSE IT'S PUTTING OUR FAMILIES AT RISK. NO ONE GOT HURT THIS TIME, AT LEAST NOT IN MY FAMILY, BUT THE POTENTIAL IS CERTAINLY THERE. I THINK GM SHOULD BE HELD ACCOUNTABLE, AND I AM HOLDING ONTO THE CORRODED BRAKE LINES AS EVIDENCE IN THE EVENT OF A FUTURE RECALL. I'D ALSO LIKE THOSE 22 HOURS BACK.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

9/25/2010 - ISLAND PARK, ID
I PURCHASED A 2002 GMC YUKON XL 2 DAYS AGO, SOLD "AS IS" WITH NO WARRANTY. AT THE BOTTOM OF THE SPEEDOMETER ARE THE LIGHTS THAT INDICATE THE POSITION OF THE SHIFTER (PARK, REVERSE, NEUTRAL, OVERDRIVE, AND GEARS 3,2 AND 1) AND ALSO THE ODOMETER READING. THESE INDICATOR LIGHTS WORKED FINE DURING THE TEST DRIVE BUT BECAME INTERMITTENT ON THE DRIVE HOME FROM THE DEALERSHIP AND WHILE DRIVING THE VEHICLE SINCE THEN. YOU LOSE ALL INDICATION OF WHAT GEAR YOU ARE IN AND OF THE ODOMETER READING. THIS PROBLEM COULD LEAD TO A DRIVER SHIFTING GEARS IMPROPERLY AND UNSAFELY, SUCH AS SHIFTING INTO A FORWARD GEAR IN A PARKING LOT WHEN THE REVERSE GEAR IS INTENDED OR SHIFTING INTO REVERSE WHILE DRIVING AND SEEKING OVERDRIVE AFTER BEING IN A LOWER GEAR. I HAVE NOW BEEN TOLD BY A FEW DEALERS THAT INSTRUMENT CLUSTER FAILURES ARE SOMEWHAT COMMON IN YUKON XLS AND ARE COSTING AN AVERAGE OF ABOUT $700 TO REPLACE THE ENTIRE INSTRUMENT CLUSTER WHEN ONLY A SINGLE GAUGE IS HAVING AN INTERMITTENT PROBLEM. SINCE THE PROBLEM SEEMS TO BE COMMON AND CAN EFFECT SAFETY, AS IN THE EXAMPLES I GAVE ABOVE, PLEASE INVESTIGATE THIS PROBLEM AND SEE IF A RECALL/MANUFACTURER FIX IS WARRANTED. I JUST INVESTIGATED DRIVER COMPLAINTS AROUND THE INTERNET AND FOUND SEVERAL COMPLAINTS ABOUT YUKON XL SPEEDOMETER FAILURE/INTERMITTENT, FOR INSTANCE. IF A DRIVER DOESN'T KNOW WHAT SPEED HE IS TRAVELING AT HE IS A LESS SAFE DRIVER AND A POTENTIAL HAZARD TO OTHERS. EXCESSIVELY SLOW DRIVERS AND EXCESSIVELY FAST DRIVERS CAN BOTH CAUSE SERIOUS PROBLEMS IN TRAFFIC, AND IN RURAL AREAS THERE MAY BE FEWER, IF ANY, DRIVERS ALONGSIDE TO HELP GAUGE THE NORMAL SPEED THAT IS APPROPRIATE. ALSO A VEHICLE COULD UNEXPECTEDLY FAIL OR STALL IN TRAFFIC, CAUSING AN ACCIDENT, IF A DRIVER IS UNAWARE OF AN EXTREMELY LOW BATTERY OR LOW FUEL, ETC. INSTRUMENT CLUSTERS ARE VERY IMPORTANT FOR SAFETY IN MANY WAYS. PLEASE INVESTIGATE PROBLEMS WITH INTERMITTENT AND FAILURES IN THE INSTRUMENT CLUSTERS USED IN 2002 GMC YUKON XLS. (MINE IS A 1500).

View Details

SEAT BELTS

8/20/2010 - WINDHAM, ME
I OWN A 2002 CHEVY TAHOE, AND I'M IN CHARGE OF SERVICING THREE, 2002 AND 2003 GMC YUKONS FOR MY PLACE OF EMPLOYMENT. THE MIDDLE ROW SEATS IN ALL OF THESE HAVE SEATBELT ISSUES. THESE ARE EXTREMELY EXPENSIVE TO FIX OR REPLACE AND ALL FOUR VEHICLES THAT I DEAL WITH HAVE AT LEAST ONE OF THE SHOULDER BELTS IN THAT MIDDLE ROW SEAT THAT EITHER WONT COME OUT OR WON'T RETRACT.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING

7/21/2010 - RUMFORD, ME
I HAVE A 2002 GMC YUKON XL. THIS VEHICLE THAT I RECENTLY PURCHASED HAS STALLED ON TWO OCCASIONS WHILE DRIVING. BOTH TIMES I WAS IN TRAFFIC AND HAD DIFFICULTY SAFELY GETTING OFF THE ROADWAY, AS I HAD NO POWER. I HAVE DONE A FAIR AMOUNT OF RESEARCH AND FOUND THAT I AM 1 OF MANY WITH THIS COMPLAINT.

View Details
Pages:  1 
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds