Auto Recalls for Consumers

GMC YUKON XL 1500 - 2002 GMC YUKON XL 1500 Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 21 complaints filed for the 2002 GMC YUKON XL 1500

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2002 GMC YUKON XL 1500. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2002 GMC YUKON XL 1500, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Electrical System (2) Power Train (1) Service Brakes (9) Steering (1) Tires (1)
Engine And Engine Cooling (2) Seat Belts (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (4) Structure (1) Wheels (1)
Parking Brake (1)

Pages:  1  
2  ... 2
 
ComplaintDescription

SERVICE BRAKES

1/11/2017 - POINT PLEASANT, NJ
THIS VEHICLE CAME WITH FACTORY TOW PACKAGE. BRAKE LINES, REAR, WERE REPAIRED A YEAR AGO. TOWING A HORSE TRAILER WITH HORSE ( APPROX 6500 LBS TOTAL ), THE FRONT BREAK LINE FROM THE ABS MODULE BROKE AND PEDAL WENT TO FLOOR WHILE EXITING 90W ONTO 84W. TRAILER BRAKES FINALLY STOPPED THE VEHICLE A FEW INCHES FROM THE AUTO IN FRONT OF US . THIS WAS ON NEW YEARS EVE THIS YEAR, AND 2:00PM IN THE AFTERNOON. FOUND A GARAGE/MECHANIC TO REPAIR THE FRONT LINE. THIS COULD HAVE CAUSED A MAJOR ACCIDENT INVOLVING A NUMBER OF CARS AND TRUCKS. I HAVE THE VEHICLE INSPECTED AT EVERY OIL CHANGE, AND HAVE IT REPAIRED WHEN NEEDED. I HAVE READ OF MANY ISSUES WITH THE (CHEAP ) BRAKE LINES GM HAS USED IN THESE VEHICLES( 1999 TO 2003 ), AND AS THEY GET OLDER, THEY ARE JUST AN ACCIDENT WAITING TO HAPPEN. GM SHOULD RECALL THESE VEHICLES, AND FIX THE PROBLEM WITH CORRODING BREAK LINES. ESPECIALLY WITH THEIR " PROFESSIONAL GRADE" ADVERTISEMENTS. VERY MISLEADING.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

1/11/2017 - ROTHBURY, MI
WHEN BRAKING, THE ANTILOCK BRAKES KICK IN NO MATTER IF NEEDED OR NOT. WE HAVE HAD SEVERAL CLOSE CALLS ON BOTH CITY STREETS & HIGHWAYS. THE CAR WAS ALREADY RECALLED AND FIXED FOR FRONT WHEEL SPEED SENSOR CORROSION, 05V379000, AND THE SAME THING IS HAPPENING AGAIN. THE SENSOR WAS NOT REPLACED, JUST CLEANED AND PUT BACK IN. I DON'T UNDERSTAND HOW THIS FIXED THE PROBLEM WHEN THE CORROSION CAN COME BACK AND DID. IT WAS JUST 30,000 MILES LATER. WE HAVE TAKEN IT TO A DEALER AND HAVE CALLED GM. WE WERE TOLD THE RECALL IS FIXED AND IT WILL COST US $423.00 PER SIDE TO FIX PLUS TAX. PLEASE HELP AND LET US KNOW WHAT TO DO NEXT.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

11/20/2014 - MARBLEHEAD, MA
I HAVE BEEN NOTIFIED BY 2 MECHANICS THAT THE MY BRAKE LINES ARE RUSTED/CORRODED AND NEED TO BE REPLACED. I HAVE RESEARCHED THE MULTIPLE COMPLAINTS TO GMC REGARDING THIS ISSUE. NHTSA HAS RECOMMENDED A RECALL. DESPITE GMC CORPORATE STATEMENTS THAT THE FIX/REPLACEMENT OF BRAKE LINES WILL COST $500 (PARTS AND LABOR) THE GMC DEALER IN MY AREA (DANVERS, MA) HAS QUOTED ME OVER $1,200 AND CLAIMS IGNORANCE TO THE $500 CLAIM. I BELIEVE THIS REPAIR SHOULD BE SUBJECT TO RECALL AND CORRECTION BY GMC AT NO COST TO ME THE OWNER.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

11/4/2014 - WOODBURY, NY
I HAVE HAD 2 INCIDENTS WITH MY 02 GMC YUKON WHERE THE BRAKE LINES HAVE FAILED DUE TO EARLY AND UNEXPECTED/UNREASONABLE CORROSION WHERE THEY FAILED WITHOUT WARNING ALMOST CAUSED SERIOUS ACCIDENTS. THE FIRST INCIDENT OCCURRED WITH ABOUT 76,000 MILES ON THE CAR AND I WAS DRIVING ON THE HIGHWAY AND APPLIED THE BRAKES AS I APPROACHED THE EXIT RAMP AND THE PEDAL WENT STRAIGHT TO THE FLOOR WITHOUT THE VEHICLE STOPPING. WITH MY FAMILY IN THE CAR I DRIFTED PAST THE EXIT AND APPROXIMATELY ANOTHER 1 MILE BEFORE FINALLY COMING TO A STOP ON THE SHOULDER. AFTER GETTING THE CAR TOWED TO A LOCAL MECHANIC, THEY INFORMED ME THAT THE REAR BRAKE LINES RUSTED THROUGH AND THIS WAS A COMMON PROBLEM THEY SEE ON GM VEHICLES. THEY WERE SURPRISED I WAS NOT IN A SERIOUS ACCIDENT AND I PAID $500 TO HAVE THE REPLACEMENT LINES FABRICATED. ABOUT A YEAR LATER WITH ABOUT 85,000 MILES ON THE VEHICLE AND AGAIN WITHOUT WARNING AS MY WIFE WAS DRIVING MY CHILDREN ACROSS A BRIDGE AND ATTEMPTED TO BRAKE AND AGAIN THE PEDAL WENT STRAIGHT DOWN TO THE FLOOR NOT STOPPING THE VEHICLE AND SHE HELD DOWN THE HORN TO WARN PEDESTRIANS AND OTHER CARS. THE VEHICLE FINALLY STOPPED AFTER RUNNING 2 RED LIGHTS. THE MECHANIC INDICATED THAT ALL THE LINES COMING OUT OF THE MASTER CYLINDER/BOOSTER WERE RUSTED THROUGH AND BRAKE FLUID WAS POURING OUT. AGAIN HAVING TO FABRICATE AND REPLACE ALL THE LINES OUT OF THE MASTER CYLINDER WAS EXPENSIVE, THIS TIME COSTING $1,500. THE NHTSA NEEDS TO DO A FULL INVESTIGATION OF THIS PROBLEM AS I HAVE HEARD MANY TIMES THAT THIS IS A FAULTY DESIGN AND EXTREMELY DANGEROUS REQUIRING A RECALL. I TAKE GOOD CARE OF MY CARS, HAVE THE UNDERCARRIAGE CLEANED FREQUENTLY AND ASK MY MECHANIC TO INSPECT EVERYTHING ON THE CAR ON A BI-ANNUAL BASIS AND THESE INCIDENTS HAPPEN WITHOUT WARNING. I HOPE GM WILL REIMBURSE ALL THOSE LIKE ME WHO SPENT THOUSANDS FIXING THE VEHICLE AFTER A VERY DANGEROUS SITUATION.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

7/11/2014 - BEL AIR, MD
IN DECEMBER 2012 WE WERE TRAVELING WHEN MY HUSBAND WENT TO HIT THE BRAKES, THEY COMPLETELY GAVE WAY AND STUCK ON THE BOTTOM OF THE FLOOR. IN PANIC HE TRIED EVERY MANEUVER POSSIBLE AS WE WERE COMING UP ON AN L CURVE THAT QUICKLY LED TO A STOP SIGN ENTERING A MAJOR INTERSECTION. AS WE MADE THE L CURVE, TWO MOTORCYCLISTS WERE AT THE LIGHT AND WE WERE COMING STRAIGHT AT THEM AT 40 MILES AN HOUR. MAKING A MASSIVE TURN AND RISKING FLIPPING THE CAR OVER, HE HOOKED THE TRUCK TO THE RIGHT UNTO THE EMBANKMENT OF THE MAJOR ROAD BARELY AVOIDING KILLING THESE TWO MOTORCYCLIST. WE DROVE ON THE EMBANKMENT UNTIL THE CAR CAME TO A STOP. WE CALLED A TOW TRUCK AND HE TOWED US TO A MD REPAIR SHOP. WE THEN RECEIVED A CALL FROM THE REPAIR MAN THAT THE BRAKES LINES WERE COMPLETELY RUSTED OUT AND THAT WE BLEW THE BRAKES LINE AND INSTANTANEOUS LOST ALL OIL. NO BRAKES LEFT WHATSOEVER. HE TOLD ME TO CALL THE DEALER AND PUSH FOR A RECALL SINCE THAT MUCH RUST WAS A SIGN OF AN ISSUE WHEN THE CAR WAS MADE. THERE WAS NO SEAL ON THE UNDER CARRIAGE. I DID AND THE GENTLEMAN AT BOYLE BUICK SAID NOT TO TOW IT IN TO THEIR SHOP AS IT WOULD NOT BE COVERED UNDER WARRANTY AS THEY SEE IT ALL THE TIME BUT THAT GM HAS NEVER PAID FOR THESE TO BE FIXED ON A CAR OUT OF WARRANTY AND DESPITE THIS BEING A CONSTANT ISSUE THEY SEE- IT DID NOT HAVE A RECALL ON IT. HE EVEN GAVE US THE NAME OF A COMPANY THAT MAKES STAINLESS STEEL AFTERMARKET BRAKE LINES ALREADY BENDED AS THAT IS WHERE THEY BUY THEM- THEY SEE IT SO OFTEN. THIS COMPANY SPRUNG UP BECAUSE SO MANY PEOPLE HAD THIS EXACT SAME ISSUE THEY COULD MAKE SUBSTANTIAL MONEY PRE-FABBING THESE LINES. I KEPT MY RECEIPT FOR THESE BRAKES LINE ($1,235.00) AS I HAD TO BELIEVE THAT SOMEONE WOULD EVENTUALLY HOLD GM LIABLE FOR NOT COATING THE UNDERSIDE AND PUTTING THOUSANDS OF LIVES AT RISK.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

5/15/2014 - MIDLOTHIAN, VA
ABS BRAKE MODULE IS NOT HERMETICALLY SEALED WITH AN O-RING GASKET. BECAUSE OF THIS MOISTURE CAN GET INSIDE MODULE AND DAMAGE INTERNAL COMPONENTS. DAMAGED UNITS CAUSE ABS AND BRAKE LIGHTS IN DASHBOARD TO LIGHT UP. FAILURE OF ABS BRAKE MODULE CAN CAUSE ABS BRAKES TO LOCK UP WHEN BRAKING QUICKLY AT SPEEDS IN EXCESS OF 20 MPH.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

4/23/2014 - CANTON, MI
I TRIED TO STOP AND WHEN I APPLIED THE BRAKES THE ABS ACTIVATED WITHOUT ANY REASON. THE ROADS WERE CLEAN AND DRY. THERE WAS NOT ANY WARNING INDICATOR FOR THE ABS BRAKES, I AM TOLD THERE IS A RECALL FOR THIS ISSUE BUT THE DEALER SAYS MINE WAS ALREADY DONE. OBVIOUSLY THE FIX WAS NOT EFFECTIVE IF I AM EXPERIENCING THE PROBLEM NOW.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

5/10/2013 - AUSTIN, TX
THIS INVOLVES THE EMERGENCY BRAKE THAT WILL NOT HOLD THE VEHICLE WHEN APPLIED. I HAD NOTICED THAT THE EMERGENCY BRAKE DID NOT DO A VERY GOOD JOB HOLDING THE VEHICLE WHEN APPLIED FROM THE TIME IT WAS NEW BUT HAD NOT GIVEN IT MUCH THOUGHT SINCE I NEVER USED IT. SEVERAL YEARS LATER I TRIED TO GET IT INSPECTED AND IT FAILED. I FOUND THAT THE REAR EMERGENCY BRAKE THAT II NEVER USE WERE HAD WORN OUT SHOES AND HAD DAMAGED THE DRUM. I REPLACED THE SHOES AND ONE DRUM AND WAS ABLE TO GET THE BRAKES TO HOLD WHEN THE BRAKE WERE APPLIED. THE BRAKE HAS BEEN APPLIED PROPERLY SENSE THEN BUT STARTED TO DO THE SAME THING AGAIN BY NOT HOLDING THE VEHICLE. I HAD TO REPLACE THE SHOES AGAIN AT 172,000 MILES. THIS SEEMS TO BE A PROBLEM WITH THIS VEHICLE THAT GENERAL MOTORS WILL NOT ADDRESS.

View Details

PARKING BRAKE

5/10/2013 - AUSTIN, TX
THIS INVOLVES THE EMERGENCY BRAKE THAT WILL NOT HOLD THE VEHICLE WHEN APPLIED. I HAD NOTICED THAT THE EMERGENCY BRAKE DID NOT DO A VERY GOOD JOB HOLDING THE VEHICLE WHEN APPLIED FROM THE TIME IT WAS NEW BUT HAD NOT GIVEN IT MUCH THOUGHT SINCE I NEVER USED IT. SEVERAL YEARS LATER I TRIED TO GET IT INSPECTED AND IT FAILED. I FOUND THAT THE REAR EMERGENCY BRAKE THAT II NEVER USE WERE HAD WORN OUT SHOES AND HAD DAMAGED THE DRUM. I REPLACED THE SHOES AND ONE DRUM AND WAS ABLE TO GET THE BRAKES TO HOLD WHEN THE BRAKE WERE APPLIED. THE BRAKE HAS BEEN APPLIED PROPERLY SENSE THEN BUT STARTED TO DO THE SAME THING AGAIN BY NOT HOLDING THE VEHICLE. I HAD TO REPLACE THE SHOES AGAIN AT 172,000 MILES. THIS SEEMS TO BE A PROBLEM WITH THIS VEHICLE THAT GENERAL MOTORS WILL NOT ADDRESS.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

2/12/2013 - SOMERSET, NJ
WHILE PULLING OUT OF DRIVEWAY, I PUSHED BRAKE BEFORE ENTERING STREET - PUSHED ALL THE WAY DOWN, BUT HAD NO BRAKE ACTION. WAS BRAKING FINE DAY BEFORE.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  ... 2
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds