Auto Recalls for Consumers

HONDA ODYSSEY - 2002 HONDA ODYSSEY Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Honda (American Honda Motor Co.)

There are 924 complaints filed for the 2002 HONDA ODYSSEY

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2002 HONDA ODYSSEY. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2002 HONDA ODYSSEY, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (85) Equipment (6) Latches Locks Linkages (24) Service Brakes Air (2) Traction Control System (2)
Child Seat (1) Exterior Lighting (7) Parking Brake (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (23) Unknown Or Other (21)
Electrical System (33) Fuel Propulsion System (3) Power Train (606) Steering (11) Vehicle Speed Control (32)
Electronic Stability Control (3) Fuel System Gasoline (6) Seat Belts (12) Structure (55) Visibility (7)
Engine (25) Fuel System Other (1) Seats (12) Suspension (19) Wheels (7)
Engine And Engine Cooling (41) Interior Lighting (3) Service Brakes (4) Tires (14)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 106
 
ComplaintDescription

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

10/10/2018 - CARROLLTON, TX
TRANSMISSION TORQUE CONVERTER CLUTCH CIRCUIT P0740 AND P0430 - NEEDS NEW TRANSMISSION. CHECK ENGINE LIGHT IS ON TRACTION CONTROL LIGHT IS ON AND DIAGNOSED ERROR CODES P0740. TRANSMISSION FAILS TO ENGAGE, SLIPS WITH NO DRIVE POWER. PROGRESSIVELY GETTING WORST. REQUIRES REPLACEMENT OF TRANSMISSION AS PER DEALER AT COST OF $5,900. THIS SAME PROBLEM HAS AFFECTED SEVERAL 100,000S OF 2002 TO 2001 HONDA ODYSSEY VANS AND OTHER HONDA MODELS WITH SAME TRANSMISSION. HONDA KNOWS ABOUT THIS PROBLEM WITH THESE MODELS AND STILL HAS DONE NOTHING TO REPAIR THEM. HONDA ODYSSEY TRANSMISSION PROBLEM IS WIDELY KNOWN AND DISCUSSED AT LENGTH ON ONLINE HONDA FORUMS AND AT DEALERSHIPS, TO A POINT WHERE NOBODY IS WILLING TO BUY THESE USED VEHICLES AT BLUEBOOK MARKET VALUE. THE COST ASSOCIATED WITH A TRANSMISSION REPLACEMENT IS $5900, IN EXCESS OF CURRENT VEHICLE MARKET VALUE. ON FURTHER INVESTIGATION, HONDA HAS AN ACTIVE RECALL FOR ODYSSEY TRANSMISSIONS UP TO MODEL YEAR 2001. THIS HAS BEEN IN PLACE SINCE YEAR 2003, WHEN THE 2001 HONDA ODYSSEY WAS RELATIVELY NEW, HENCE NOT INCLUDED IN THIS RECALL, EVEN THOUGH THE TRANSMISSION IN 2001 AND 2002 MODEL YEAR ARE SAME. TO MAKE MATTERS WORSE HONDA KNEW OF THIS TRANSMISSION DESIGN PROBLEM WHICH CONTINUES PAST MODEL YEAR 2001. THEY USED THE SAME TRANSMISSION TILL MODEL YEAR 2004. I WOULD LIKE HONDA TO RECALL ODYSSEY TRANSMISSIONS FROM 2002 TO 2004 AS WELL AND REPAIR THEM UNDER WARRANTY. SEVERAL OTHER HONDA VEHICLES MODELS ARE ALSO IMPACTED BY THIS POOR TRANSMISSION DESIGN. THEN WHY HAS HONDA NOT DONE ANYTHING TO HELP ITS CUSTOMERS. I WOULD LIKE NHTSA INVESTIGATE FURTHER LEVERAGING ON THE 2001 HONDA ODYSSEY RECALL TO EXPEDITE A RESOLUTION FORCING HONDA TO RECALL FOR REPAIRS. THANK YOU.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

10/10/2018 - CARROLLTON, TX
TRANSMISSION TORQUE CONVERTER CLUTCH CIRCUIT P0740 AND P0430 - NEEDS NEW TRANSMISSION. CHECK ENGINE LIGHT IS ON TRACTION CONTROL LIGHT IS ON AND DIAGNOSED ERROR CODES P0740. TRANSMISSION FAILS TO ENGAGE, SLIPS WITH NO DRIVE POWER. PROGRESSIVELY GETTING WORST. REQUIRES REPLACEMENT OF TRANSMISSION AS PER DEALER AT COST OF $5,900. THIS SAME PROBLEM HAS AFFECTED SEVERAL 100,000S OF 2002 TO 2001 HONDA ODYSSEY VANS AND OTHER HONDA MODELS WITH SAME TRANSMISSION. HONDA KNOWS ABOUT THIS PROBLEM WITH THESE MODELS AND STILL HAS DONE NOTHING TO REPAIR THEM. HONDA ODYSSEY TRANSMISSION PROBLEM IS WIDELY KNOWN AND DISCUSSED AT LENGTH ON ONLINE HONDA FORUMS AND AT DEALERSHIPS, TO A POINT WHERE NOBODY IS WILLING TO BUY THESE USED VEHICLES AT BLUEBOOK MARKET VALUE. THE COST ASSOCIATED WITH A TRANSMISSION REPLACEMENT IS $5900, IN EXCESS OF CURRENT VEHICLE MARKET VALUE. ON FURTHER INVESTIGATION, HONDA HAS AN ACTIVE RECALL FOR ODYSSEY TRANSMISSIONS UP TO MODEL YEAR 2001. THIS HAS BEEN IN PLACE SINCE YEAR 2003, WHEN THE 2001 HONDA ODYSSEY WAS RELATIVELY NEW, HENCE NOT INCLUDED IN THIS RECALL, EVEN THOUGH THE TRANSMISSION IN 2001 AND 2002 MODEL YEAR ARE SAME. TO MAKE MATTERS WORSE HONDA KNEW OF THIS TRANSMISSION DESIGN PROBLEM WHICH CONTINUES PAST MODEL YEAR 2001. THEY USED THE SAME TRANSMISSION TILL MODEL YEAR 2004. I WOULD LIKE HONDA TO RECALL ODYSSEY TRANSMISSIONS FROM 2002 TO 2004 AS WELL AND REPAIR THEM UNDER WARRANTY. SEVERAL OTHER HONDA VEHICLES MODELS ARE ALSO IMPACTED BY THIS POOR TRANSMISSION DESIGN. THEN WHY HAS HONDA NOT DONE ANYTHING TO HELP ITS CUSTOMERS. I WOULD LIKE NHTSA INVESTIGATE FURTHER LEVERAGING ON THE 2001 HONDA ODYSSEY RECALL TO EXPEDITE A RESOLUTION FORCING HONDA TO RECALL FOR REPAIRS. THANK YOU.

View Details

AIR BAGS

10/7/2018 - LAFAYETTE, LA
WE TRADED THIS VEHICLE IN 2006 FOR ANOTHER MODEL -BUT WE STILL GET CALLS AND LETTERS ABOUT THIS RECALL. WE HAVE NOT OWNED THIS VEHICLE SINCE 2006, BUT WE STILL GET CALLS AND LETTERS. WE HAVE REPORTED IT SEVERAL TIMES VIA THE MAIL IN CARDS, WE HAVE CALLED THE DEALERSHIP, WE HAVE CALLED NHTSA, WE HAVE CALLED DMV, BUT APPARENTLY HONDA'S FILES ARE NOT BEING UPDATED AND THEY KEEP OVER-WRITING CORRECTIONS EVERYWHERE ELSE. PLEASE REMOVE US FROM THE LIST OF AFFECTED OWNERS. WE DO NOT OWN THIS VEHICLE

View Details

AIR BAGS

8/24/2018 - STATEN ISLAND, NY
GOT A LETTER SAYING THERE WAS A RECALL FOR A 2002 HONDA ODYSSEY WITH THE AIRBAGS BUT I DO NOT OWN THAT CAR ANYMORE. THAT CAR WAS IN AN ACCIDENT AND IS GONE NOW.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

8/24/2018 - STATEN ISLAND, NY
GOT A LETTER SAYING THERE WAS A RECALL FOR A 2002 HONDA ODYSSEY WITH THE AIRBAGS BUT I DO NOT OWN THAT CAR ANYMORE. THAT CAR WAS IN AN ACCIDENT AND IS GONE NOW.

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

5/11/2018 - MILTON, FL
SPORADICALLY WHILE DRIVING, INSTRUMENT LIGHTS ALL COME AND SOON AFTER CAR WILL JUST STOP RUNNING, SOMETIMES LIGHTS WILL JUST STAY ON. SO FAR ITS AT LOW SPEEDS, ON TAKE OFF OR COMING TO A STOP. IF I LET THE CAR SIT A FEW MINUTES I CAN RESTART IT.THIS HAPPENED SEVERAL TIMES. TOOK IT TO HONDA AND COULDN'T FIND PROBLEM. FROM GOING ON LINE I SEE THAT THIS WAS A COMMON PROBLEM. AFTER PEOPLES MANY REPLACEMENT PARTS IT WAS FINALLY ISOLATED MOSTLY TO REPLACEMENT OF A PART IN THE IGNITION SWITCH ASSEMBLY. SOME WERE A FRACTURE IN ALTERNATOR BRACKET, OR OEM DISTRIBUTOR ASSEMBLY (IGNITER SWITCH MODULE) IF IT HAS ONE OR A SENSOR IF NOT A DISTRIBUTOR. ALL REPAIRS WERE DONE ON VARIOUS YEARS AND MODELS OF HONDA'S BUT ALL HAVING IDENTICAL SYMPTOMS.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

4/8/2018 - YAKIMA, WA
IGNITION SWITCH MALFUNCTION. WHILE DRIVING DOWN THE ROAD THE VAN WILL DIE BUT IF YOU BUMP THE KEY THE POWER TO EVERYTHING TURNS BACK ON IT STARTED THIS LAST YEAR AND CONTINUES TO DO IT

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

4/8/2018 - YAKIMA, WA
IGNITION SWITCH MALFUNCTION. WHILE DRIVING DOWN THE ROAD THE VAN WILL DIE BUT IF YOU BUMP THE KEY THE POWER TO EVERYTHING TURNS BACK ON IT STARTED THIS LAST YEAR AND CONTINUES TO DO IT

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

3/12/2018 - CHRISTIANSBURG, VA
I HAVE HAD TRANSMISSION PROBLEMS AND FUEL PUMP PROBLEMS . HAD THE TRANSMISSION FIXED TWICE IN THIS VAN TWICE. AND NOW CAR IS JERKING AND MECHANICS SAY IT'S THE FUEL PUMPL I HAD NOTHING BUT PROBLEMS WITH THIS VAN NOT OPERATING BEEN TAKING IT TO MECHANICS THEY TELL ME IT'S THE TRANSMISSION I GET A USED ONE PUT IN AND NOW VAN JERKS AND STALLS MECHANICS FIX SENSOR IT DOESN'T WORK CHANGE FUEL PUMP THIS VAN HA BEEN NOTHING BUT PROBLEMS AND AFTER RESEARCHING I FIND OUT THERE HAVE BEEN TRANSMISSION PROBLEMS WITH THESE CARS AND DOESN'T LOOK LIKE THERE HAS BEEN A RECALL ON THE TRANSMISSION BUT A LOT OF COMPLAINTS ON 2002 ODYSSEY'S.I SPENT ALL KINDS OF MONEY ON TRYING TO GET THIS VAN FIXED. FOR THE LAST 7-8 MONTHS. I WAS DRIVING THE CAR STARTED HAVING PROBLEMS SO IT TOOK IT TO TWO MECHANICS THEY TOLD ME FIRST IT WAS THE TRANSMISSION I HAD A USED TRANSMISSION PUT IN THAT HAD 60;000 MILES ON IT THE SECOND INCIDENT DRIVING THE VAN ON HIGHWAY 60MPH THE CAR STARTED JERKING AND STALLING. FINALLY HAD THE CAR TOWED TO MECHANIC THEY COULDN'T FIX IT AND SENT IT TO A DEALER . THIS CAR HAS BEEN NOTHING BUT PROBLEMS. APOX DATE STARTED HAVING PROBLEMS JULY 2017

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

3/12/2018 - CHRISTIANSBURG, VA
I HAVE HAD TRANSMISSION PROBLEMS AND FUEL PUMP PROBLEMS . HAD THE TRANSMISSION FIXED TWICE IN THIS VAN TWICE. AND NOW CAR IS JERKING AND MECHANICS SAY IT'S THE FUEL PUMPL I HAD NOTHING BUT PROBLEMS WITH THIS VAN NOT OPERATING BEEN TAKING IT TO MECHANICS THEY TELL ME IT'S THE TRANSMISSION I GET A USED ONE PUT IN AND NOW VAN JERKS AND STALLS MECHANICS FIX SENSOR IT DOESN'T WORK CHANGE FUEL PUMP THIS VAN HA BEEN NOTHING BUT PROBLEMS AND AFTER RESEARCHING I FIND OUT THERE HAVE BEEN TRANSMISSION PROBLEMS WITH THESE CARS AND DOESN'T LOOK LIKE THERE HAS BEEN A RECALL ON THE TRANSMISSION BUT A LOT OF COMPLAINTS ON 2002 ODYSSEY'S.I SPENT ALL KINDS OF MONEY ON TRYING TO GET THIS VAN FIXED. FOR THE LAST 7-8 MONTHS. I WAS DRIVING THE CAR STARTED HAVING PROBLEMS SO IT TOOK IT TO TWO MECHANICS THEY TOLD ME FIRST IT WAS THE TRANSMISSION I HAD A USED TRANSMISSION PUT IN THAT HAD 60;000 MILES ON IT THE SECOND INCIDENT DRIVING THE VAN ON HIGHWAY 60MPH THE CAR STARTED JERKING AND STALLING. FINALLY HAD THE CAR TOWED TO MECHANIC THEY COULDN'T FIX IT AND SENT IT TO A DEALER . THIS CAR HAS BEEN NOTHING BUT PROBLEMS. APOX DATE STARTED HAVING PROBLEMS JULY 2017

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 106
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds