Auto Recalls for Consumers

HONDA ODYSSEY - 2002 HONDA ODYSSEY Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Honda (American Honda Motor Co.)

There are 921 complaints filed for the 2002 HONDA ODYSSEY

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2002 HONDA ODYSSEY. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2002 HONDA ODYSSEY, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (83) Equipment (6) Latches Locks Linkages (24) Service Brakes Air (2) Traction Control System (2)
Child Seat (1) Exterior Lighting (7) Parking Brake (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (23) Unknown Or Other (20)
Electrical System (33) Fuel Propulsion System (3) Power Train (605) Steering (11) Vehicle Speed Control (32)
Electronic Stability Control (2) Fuel System Gasoline (6) Seat Belts (12) Structure (55) Visibility (7)
Engine (25) Fuel System Other (1) Seats (12) Suspension (19) Wheels (7)
Engine And Engine Cooling (41) Interior Lighting (3) Service Brakes (4) Tires (14)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 106
 
ComplaintDescription

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

5/11/2018 - MILTON, FL
SPORADICALLY WHILE DRIVING, INSTRUMENT LIGHTS ALL COME AND SOON AFTER CAR WILL JUST STOP RUNNING, SOMETIMES LIGHTS WILL JUST STAY ON. SO FAR ITS AT LOW SPEEDS, ON TAKE OFF OR COMING TO A STOP. IF I LET THE CAR SIT A FEW MINUTES I CAN RESTART IT.THIS HAPPENED SEVERAL TIMES. TOOK IT TO HONDA AND COULDN'T FIND PROBLEM. FROM GOING ON LINE I SEE THAT THIS WAS A COMMON PROBLEM. AFTER PEOPLES MANY REPLACEMENT PARTS IT WAS FINALLY ISOLATED MOSTLY TO REPLACEMENT OF A PART IN THE IGNITION SWITCH ASSEMBLY. SOME WERE A FRACTURE IN ALTERNATOR BRACKET, OR OEM DISTRIBUTOR ASSEMBLY (IGNITER SWITCH MODULE) IF IT HAS ONE OR A SENSOR IF NOT A DISTRIBUTOR. ALL REPAIRS WERE DONE ON VARIOUS YEARS AND MODELS OF HONDA'S BUT ALL HAVING IDENTICAL SYMPTOMS.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

4/8/2018 - YAKIMA, WA
IGNITION SWITCH MALFUNCTION. WHILE DRIVING DOWN THE ROAD THE VAN WILL DIE BUT IF YOU BUMP THE KEY THE POWER TO EVERYTHING TURNS BACK ON IT STARTED THIS LAST YEAR AND CONTINUES TO DO IT

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

4/8/2018 - YAKIMA, WA
IGNITION SWITCH MALFUNCTION. WHILE DRIVING DOWN THE ROAD THE VAN WILL DIE BUT IF YOU BUMP THE KEY THE POWER TO EVERYTHING TURNS BACK ON IT STARTED THIS LAST YEAR AND CONTINUES TO DO IT

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

3/12/2018 - CHRISTIANSBURG, VA
I HAVE HAD TRANSMISSION PROBLEMS AND FUEL PUMP PROBLEMS . HAD THE TRANSMISSION FIXED TWICE IN THIS VAN TWICE. AND NOW CAR IS JERKING AND MECHANICS SAY IT'S THE FUEL PUMPL I HAD NOTHING BUT PROBLEMS WITH THIS VAN NOT OPERATING BEEN TAKING IT TO MECHANICS THEY TELL ME IT'S THE TRANSMISSION I GET A USED ONE PUT IN AND NOW VAN JERKS AND STALLS MECHANICS FIX SENSOR IT DOESN'T WORK CHANGE FUEL PUMP THIS VAN HA BEEN NOTHING BUT PROBLEMS AND AFTER RESEARCHING I FIND OUT THERE HAVE BEEN TRANSMISSION PROBLEMS WITH THESE CARS AND DOESN'T LOOK LIKE THERE HAS BEEN A RECALL ON THE TRANSMISSION BUT A LOT OF COMPLAINTS ON 2002 ODYSSEY'S.I SPENT ALL KINDS OF MONEY ON TRYING TO GET THIS VAN FIXED. FOR THE LAST 7-8 MONTHS. I WAS DRIVING THE CAR STARTED HAVING PROBLEMS SO IT TOOK IT TO TWO MECHANICS THEY TOLD ME FIRST IT WAS THE TRANSMISSION I HAD A USED TRANSMISSION PUT IN THAT HAD 60;000 MILES ON IT THE SECOND INCIDENT DRIVING THE VAN ON HIGHWAY 60MPH THE CAR STARTED JERKING AND STALLING. FINALLY HAD THE CAR TOWED TO MECHANIC THEY COULDN'T FIX IT AND SENT IT TO A DEALER . THIS CAR HAS BEEN NOTHING BUT PROBLEMS. APOX DATE STARTED HAVING PROBLEMS JULY 2017

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

3/12/2018 - CHRISTIANSBURG, VA
I HAVE HAD TRANSMISSION PROBLEMS AND FUEL PUMP PROBLEMS . HAD THE TRANSMISSION FIXED TWICE IN THIS VAN TWICE. AND NOW CAR IS JERKING AND MECHANICS SAY IT'S THE FUEL PUMPL I HAD NOTHING BUT PROBLEMS WITH THIS VAN NOT OPERATING BEEN TAKING IT TO MECHANICS THEY TELL ME IT'S THE TRANSMISSION I GET A USED ONE PUT IN AND NOW VAN JERKS AND STALLS MECHANICS FIX SENSOR IT DOESN'T WORK CHANGE FUEL PUMP THIS VAN HA BEEN NOTHING BUT PROBLEMS AND AFTER RESEARCHING I FIND OUT THERE HAVE BEEN TRANSMISSION PROBLEMS WITH THESE CARS AND DOESN'T LOOK LIKE THERE HAS BEEN A RECALL ON THE TRANSMISSION BUT A LOT OF COMPLAINTS ON 2002 ODYSSEY'S.I SPENT ALL KINDS OF MONEY ON TRYING TO GET THIS VAN FIXED. FOR THE LAST 7-8 MONTHS. I WAS DRIVING THE CAR STARTED HAVING PROBLEMS SO IT TOOK IT TO TWO MECHANICS THEY TOLD ME FIRST IT WAS THE TRANSMISSION I HAD A USED TRANSMISSION PUT IN THAT HAD 60;000 MILES ON IT THE SECOND INCIDENT DRIVING THE VAN ON HIGHWAY 60MPH THE CAR STARTED JERKING AND STALLING. FINALLY HAD THE CAR TOWED TO MECHANIC THEY COULDN'T FIX IT AND SENT IT TO A DEALER . THIS CAR HAS BEEN NOTHING BUT PROBLEMS. APOX DATE STARTED HAVING PROBLEMS JULY 2017

View Details

WHEELS

2/15/2018 - BEAVERTON, OR
TREAD SEPARATION AND/OR BROKEN RADIAL BELTS. 3 TIRES WERE AFFECTED OUT OF THE ORIGINAL SET OF 4. SET WAS PURCHASED DEC 2015. FIRST TIRE FAILED AT 23K MILES IN AUG 2017 AT HIGHWAY SPEED DURING VACATION. SECOND TIRE FAILED AT 28K MILES IN DEC 2017 IN LOCAL TRAFFIC. THIRD TIRE FAILED AT 28K MILES IN JAN 2018 IN LOCAL TRAFFIC.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

1/24/2018 - MILPITAS, CA
TRANSMISSION SLIPS ON 2ND TO 3RD GEAR OR DISENGAGES ALTOGETHER UPON ACCELERATION WHICH IS HAPPENING ON A MORE FREQUENT BASIS LATELY. TRANSMISSION FLUID CHANGES ARE MADE EVERY 30K MILES BY DEALER. OIL JET RECALL HAS BEEN PERFORMED UPON TSB NOTIFICATION, ADDED OIL COOLER, CLEANED AND/OR REPLACED FILTER AND SOLENOIDS JUST TO PROLONG THE INEVITABLE TRANSMISSION FAILURE.

View Details

AIR BAGS

1/7/2018 - MARYSVILLE, OH
TAKATA RECALL MY VAN WAS PART OF THE RECALL AND THE FIX WAS DONE BUT WHEN IT IS HUMID OUTSIDE THEN MY SRS LIGHT COMES ON AND STAYS ON. WHEN WE GO DOWN SOUTH TO FLORIDA THEN THE SRS LIGHT COMES ON AND STAYS ON UNTIL WE GET INTO LESS HUMID WEATHER. WE ARE PLANNING ON MOVING BACK DOWN SOUTH AND WE ARE WORRIED THAT THE AIRBAGS ARE NOT FIXED RIGHT. ALSO THE PASSENGER HEADLAMP GOES OUT TWICE AS FAST AS THE DRIVERS SIDE. I HAVE TO REPLACE THE PASSENGER SIDE HEADLAMP TWICE BEFORE I HAVE TO REPLACE THE DRIVERS SIDE.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

1/7/2018 - MARYSVILLE, OH
TAKATA RECALL MY VAN WAS PART OF THE RECALL AND THE FIX WAS DONE BUT WHEN IT IS HUMID OUTSIDE THEN MY SRS LIGHT COMES ON AND STAYS ON. WHEN WE GO DOWN SOUTH TO FLORIDA THEN THE SRS LIGHT COMES ON AND STAYS ON UNTIL WE GET INTO LESS HUMID WEATHER. WE ARE PLANNING ON MOVING BACK DOWN SOUTH AND WE ARE WORRIED THAT THE AIRBAGS ARE NOT FIXED RIGHT. ALSO THE PASSENGER HEADLAMP GOES OUT TWICE AS FAST AS THE DRIVERS SIDE. I HAVE TO REPLACE THE PASSENGER SIDE HEADLAMP TWICE BEFORE I HAVE TO REPLACE THE DRIVERS SIDE.

View Details

AIR BAGS

12/12/2017 - OXNARD, CA
I HAVE REVIVED A RECALL SEVETY WITH THE AIR BAGS AND TAKEN THE CAR TOW OCCASIONS TO THE DEALERSHIP BUT, THEY SAID EVERETING IS FINE, SAVETY LIGHT HAS BEEN ON FOR THE ASIDE BAGS. NOTHING HAS CHANGED, I DRIVE WITH MY FAMILY AND KIDS PLEASE DO SOMTHING ABOUTH IT. IS A USED CAR PURCHASED. IS ALWAYS BEEN LIKE THAT.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 106
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds