Auto Recalls for Consumers

HYUNDAI SONATA - 2002 HYUNDAI SONATA Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Hyundai Motor Company

There are 263 complaints filed for the 2002 HYUNDAI SONATA

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2002 HYUNDAI SONATA. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2002 HYUNDAI SONATA, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (48) Engine And Engine Cooling (16) Latches Locks Linkages (9) Service Brakes Hydraulic (21) Traction Control System (1)
Child Seat (1) Equipment (1) Other (4) Steering (22) Unknown Or Other (1)
Communications (1) Exterior Lighting (1) Power Train (12) Structure (68) Vehicle Speed Control (8)
Electrical System (20) Fuel Propulsion System (2) Seat Belts (5) Suspension (48) Visibility (2)
Electronic Stability Control (1) Fuel System Gasoline (21) Service Brakes (2) Tires (12) Wheels (9)
Engine (2)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 26
 
ComplaintDescription

AIR BAGS

7/15/2014 - BAY SHORE, NY
MY 2002 HYUNDAI SONATA AIR BAG LIGHT HAS BEEN ON SINCE 2009 I HAVE BOUGHT IT TO ONE MECHANIC HE CLEANED AND TIGHTENED THE AIR BAG HARNESS UNDER DRIVER AND PASSENGER SEAT THEY STAYED OUT BRIEFLY AND CAME BACK ON SHORTLY THERAFTER. BROUGHT IT TO ANOTHER MECHANIC AND HE COULDN T FIX IT. CALLED LOCAL DEALER AND THEY SAID THEIR ARE NO ACTIVE RECALLS AND COULD BE ALOT OF MONEY. I LOOKED ONLINE AND OTHER 2002 HYUNDAI SONATA OWNERS WENT TO DEALER S AND PAID ALOT MONEY AND LIGHT KEPT COMING ON.JULY 12,2014 I HAD A COLLISION WITH CAR IN FRONT OF ME AND AIRBAGS DIDN T DEPLOY AIR BAG LIGHT WAS ON PASSENGER WAS HURT BRUISED RIBS 3 YEAROLD HAD RED MARK FROM SHOULDER HARNESS OF CAR SEAT. I HAVE NOTICED ONLINE THEIR ARE 1000 S OF THESE COMPLAINTS OF AIRBAG LIGHT S ON AND I M ASKING FOR YOU TO GET AFTER HYUNDAI TO RECALL THE 2002 AND FIX THE AIR BAG LIGHT PROBLEM . PEOPLE S SAFETY IS AT STAKE

View Details

STEERING

7/10/2014 - HAMILTON, OH
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2002 HYUNDAI SONATA. THE CONTACT STATED WHILE DRIVING AT 5 MPH, THE POWER STEERING STOP WORKING AND AS A RESULT, THE VEHICLE CRASHED INTO A BARRIER. THERE WERE NO INJURIES. THE DRIVER SIDE AIR BAG DEPLOYED AND THE AIR BAG WARNING LAMP ILLUMINATED. ALSO, THE CONTACT MENTIONED THAT THE VEHICLE WAS FILLED WITH SMOKE AND THERE WAS NO PRESSURE ON THE AIR BAG. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO HER RESIDENT. THE VEHICLE HAD NOT BEEN REPAIRED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC, WHO STATED THAT THERE WAS NOTHING WRONG WITH THE AIR BAG. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE PROBLEM. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 156,000.

View Details

AIR BAGS

7/10/2014 - HAMILTON, OH
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2002 HYUNDAI SONATA. THE CONTACT STATED WHILE DRIVING AT 5 MPH, THE POWER STEERING STOP WORKING AND AS A RESULT, THE VEHICLE CRASHED INTO A BARRIER. THERE WERE NO INJURIES. THE DRIVER SIDE AIR BAG DEPLOYED AND THE AIR BAG WARNING LAMP ILLUMINATED. ALSO, THE CONTACT MENTIONED THAT THE VEHICLE WAS FILLED WITH SMOKE AND THERE WAS NO PRESSURE ON THE AIR BAG. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO HER RESIDENT. THE VEHICLE HAD NOT BEEN REPAIRED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC, WHO STATED THAT THERE WAS NOTHING WRONG WITH THE AIR BAG. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE PROBLEM. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 156,000.

View Details

STEERING

6/29/2014 - SAN ANONTIO, TX
1ST WEEK OF JUNE 2014, NOTICED STEERING WAS MAKING NOISES WHEN TURNING. CHECKED PSF AND WAS LOW. ADDED AND WORKED FINE FOR ABOUT TREE WEEKS. THEN BAM !! SOMETHING BUSTED BEHIND ENGINE. LOTS OF FLUID BETWEEN ENGINE AND FIREWALL. PSF OF COARSE. STEERING BECAME EXTREMELY STIFF AND BARELY GOT THE VEHICLE HOME. LUCKY I DIDN'T HAVE AN ACCIDENT. CAR WOULDN'T TURN EXCEPT WITH EXCESSIVE FORCE. AND I'M 76 YR F. I COULD HAVE INJURED OR KILLED MYSELF OR OTHERS UNDER CERTAIN CONDITIONS LIKE MUCH HIGHER SPEEDS. HOW'S ANYONE TO KNOW SOMETHING LIKE WILL OCCUR AT ANY GIVEN TOTALLY UNEXPECTED MOMENT. I KNOW OF A RECALL ABOUT UNDER CARRIAGE OR SUB-FRAME RUST AND SERIOUS PARTS BREAKING OFF. SOMETHING GAVE AND SOMETHING BROKE DOWN THERE AND THE VEHICLE IS NOW INOPERABLE.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

5/8/2014 - LOUISVILLE, KY
MY SON WAS OPERATING THE VEHICLE AND WAS MAKING A LEFT TURN. DURING THE TURN, THE RIGHT FRONT WHEEL BUCKLED UNDER AND THE VEHICLE BECAME INOPERABLE. VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO A REPAIR FACILITY. THEY FOUND THAT THERE WAS SIGNIFICANT CORROSION IN THE SUB-FRAME WHICH CAUSED IT TO FAIL. I HAVE DONE SOME RESEARCH ON NHTSA SITE AND IT APPEARS THAT CAMPAIGN 09V124000 DESCRIBES THE ISSUE. I HAVE CONTACTED HYUNDAI. THEY HAVE INSTRUCTED ME TO HAVE TO VEHICLE DELIVERED TO LOCAL DEALER FOR INSPECTION TO DETERMINE IF IT IS COVERED UNDER A RECALL PROGRAM. THEIR FIRST RESPONSE WAS TO TELL ME THAT THE RECALL WAS ONLY COVERING CERTAIN STATES, KENTUCKY NOT BEING ONE OF THEM. WHEN I TOLD THEM I HAD PURCHASED THE CAR USED AND HAD NO WAY OF KNOWING WHAT OTHER STATES THE VEHICLE HAD BEEN IN, THEY AGREED TO EXAMINE THE VEHICLE. I BELIEVE THE VEHICLE REPAIR SHOULD BE COVERED SINCE THE DAMAGE IS AS DESCRIBED IN THE RECALL NOTICE.

View Details

STEERING

5/8/2014 - LOUISVILLE, KY
MY SON WAS OPERATING THE VEHICLE AND WAS MAKING A LEFT TURN. DURING THE TURN, THE RIGHT FRONT WHEEL BUCKLED UNDER AND THE VEHICLE BECAME INOPERABLE. VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO A REPAIR FACILITY. THEY FOUND THAT THERE WAS SIGNIFICANT CORROSION IN THE SUB-FRAME WHICH CAUSED IT TO FAIL. I HAVE DONE SOME RESEARCH ON NHTSA SITE AND IT APPEARS THAT CAMPAIGN 09V124000 DESCRIBES THE ISSUE. I HAVE CONTACTED HYUNDAI. THEY HAVE INSTRUCTED ME TO HAVE TO VEHICLE DELIVERED TO LOCAL DEALER FOR INSPECTION TO DETERMINE IF IT IS COVERED UNDER A RECALL PROGRAM. THEIR FIRST RESPONSE WAS TO TELL ME THAT THE RECALL WAS ONLY COVERING CERTAIN STATES, KENTUCKY NOT BEING ONE OF THEM. WHEN I TOLD THEM I HAD PURCHASED THE CAR USED AND HAD NO WAY OF KNOWING WHAT OTHER STATES THE VEHICLE HAD BEEN IN, THEY AGREED TO EXAMINE THE VEHICLE. I BELIEVE THE VEHICLE REPAIR SHOULD BE COVERED SINCE THE DAMAGE IS AS DESCRIBED IN THE RECALL NOTICE.

View Details

SUSPENSION

5/8/2014 - LOUISVILLE, KY
MY SON WAS OPERATING THE VEHICLE AND WAS MAKING A LEFT TURN. DURING THE TURN, THE RIGHT FRONT WHEEL BUCKLED UNDER AND THE VEHICLE BECAME INOPERABLE. VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO A REPAIR FACILITY. THEY FOUND THAT THERE WAS SIGNIFICANT CORROSION IN THE SUB-FRAME WHICH CAUSED IT TO FAIL. I HAVE DONE SOME RESEARCH ON NHTSA SITE AND IT APPEARS THAT CAMPAIGN 09V124000 DESCRIBES THE ISSUE. I HAVE CONTACTED HYUNDAI. THEY HAVE INSTRUCTED ME TO HAVE TO VEHICLE DELIVERED TO LOCAL DEALER FOR INSPECTION TO DETERMINE IF IT IS COVERED UNDER A RECALL PROGRAM. THEIR FIRST RESPONSE WAS TO TELL ME THAT THE RECALL WAS ONLY COVERING CERTAIN STATES, KENTUCKY NOT BEING ONE OF THEM. WHEN I TOLD THEM I HAD PURCHASED THE CAR USED AND HAD NO WAY OF KNOWING WHAT OTHER STATES THE VEHICLE HAD BEEN IN, THEY AGREED TO EXAMINE THE VEHICLE. I BELIEVE THE VEHICLE REPAIR SHOULD BE COVERED SINCE THE DAMAGE IS AS DESCRIBED IN THE RECALL NOTICE.

View Details

AIR BAGS

4/7/2014 - LEBANON, PA
WHILE CLEANING OUT THE VEHICLE, I HAD THE FRONT PASSENGER SIDE DOOR OPEN AND WHEN I WENT TO SHUT THE DOOR, THE WIND TOOK IT AND IT SLAMMED SHUT. AS A RESULT, THE AIR BAG ON THE SIDE OF THE SEAT DEPLOYED. AFTER RESEARCHING, I FOUND THAT MODELS OF MY VEHICLE HAD SIMILAR RECALLS WITH THE SAME SUMMARY OF INCIDENTS. I SPOKE WITH THE NATIONAL DEALER HOTLINE AND I WAS TOLD THAT THE VEHICLE MISSED THE RECALL BY 3 DAYS. I AM NOW WAITING TO HEAR BACK FROM A SERVICEMAN TO SEE IF THEY CAN DO ANYTHING ABOUT IT.

View Details

STEERING

1/13/2014 - WATCHUNG, NJ
WE HAD OUR VEHICLE WARRANTIED FOR THE ROTTEN FRAME ON OUR VEHICLE LAST YEAR. AT THAT POINT YOU WOULD THINK HYUNDAI WOULD HAVE WARNED US THAT OUR BRAKE LINES WERE SWISS CHEESE JUST LIKE OUR FRAME, THESE CARS ROT OUT, THE ENTIRE VEHICLE IS A DEATH TRAP. THE BRAKE LINES BROKE 3 TIMES IN THE PAST 6 MONTHS AFTER SECTIONS WERE ALREADY REPLACED. THESE VEHICLES NEED ALL THE BRAKE AND FUEL LINES REPLACED IMMEDIATELY!!! THIS IS NOT ROUTINE MAINTENANCE AND SHOULD BE RECALLED IMMEDIATELY!! THE POWER STEERING LINE ROTTED OUT 5 YEARS AGO, THIS CAR WAS MADE OUT OF REALLY CRAPPY METAL. DANGEROUS VEHICLE. EVERYTHING ON THIS VEHICLE IS ROTTED OUT BEYOND WHAT IS NORMAL, THE WHEELS, THE BRAKE DRUMS, EVERYTHING ON THESE VEHICLES ROT TO THE POINT OF SWISS CHEESE. AFTER 10 YEARS THESE VEHICLES ARE VERY UNSAFE. OUR VEHICLE ONLY HAS 50,000 MILES ON IT.

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE

1/13/2014 - WATCHUNG, NJ
WE HAD OUR VEHICLE WARRANTIED FOR THE ROTTEN FRAME ON OUR VEHICLE LAST YEAR. AT THAT POINT YOU WOULD THINK HYUNDAI WOULD HAVE WARNED US THAT OUR BRAKE LINES WERE SWISS CHEESE JUST LIKE OUR FRAME, THESE CARS ROT OUT, THE ENTIRE VEHICLE IS A DEATH TRAP. THE BRAKE LINES BROKE 3 TIMES IN THE PAST 6 MONTHS AFTER SECTIONS WERE ALREADY REPLACED. THESE VEHICLES NEED ALL THE BRAKE AND FUEL LINES REPLACED IMMEDIATELY!!! THIS IS NOT ROUTINE MAINTENANCE AND SHOULD BE RECALLED IMMEDIATELY!! THE POWER STEERING LINE ROTTED OUT 5 YEARS AGO, THIS CAR WAS MADE OUT OF REALLY CRAPPY METAL. DANGEROUS VEHICLE. EVERYTHING ON THIS VEHICLE IS ROTTED OUT BEYOND WHAT IS NORMAL, THE WHEELS, THE BRAKE DRUMS, EVERYTHING ON THESE VEHICLES ROT TO THE POINT OF SWISS CHEESE. AFTER 10 YEARS THESE VEHICLES ARE VERY UNSAFE. OUR VEHICLE ONLY HAS 50,000 MILES ON IT.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 26
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds