Auto Recalls for Consumers

HYUNDAI SONATA - 2002 HYUNDAI SONATA Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Hyundai Motor America

There are 269 complaints filed for the 2002 HYUNDAI SONATA

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2002 HYUNDAI SONATA. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2002 HYUNDAI SONATA, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (49) Engine And Engine Cooling (16) Latches Locks Linkages (9) Service Brakes Hydraulic (21) Traction Control System (1)
Child Seat (1) Equipment (1) Other (4) Steering (22) Unknown Or Other (2)
Communications (1) Exterior Lighting (1) Power Train (12) Structure (71) Vehicle Speed Control (8)
Electrical System (20) Fuel Propulsion System (2) Seat Belts (5) Suspension (49) Visibility (2)
Electronic Stability Control (1) Fuel System Gasoline (21) Service Brakes (3) Tires (12) Wheels (9)
Engine (2)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 26
 
ComplaintDescription

STRUCTURE: BODY

10/9/2014 - MANCHESTER, NH
TL-THE CONTACT OWNS A 2002 HYUNDAI SONATA. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE HAVING THE VEHICLE SERVICED SHE WAS ADVISED BY THE INDEPENDENT MECHANIC THAT THE SUBFRAME HAD COMPLETELY RUSTED AND THE VEHICLE SHOULD NOT BE DRIVEN. THE VEHICLE HAD NOT BEEN REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 29,540. NE

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

9/23/2014 - ST. LOUIS, MO
CHROME PLATED INTERIOR DOOR HANDLE ON DRIVER'S SIDE BEGAN PEELING, LEAVING VERY SHARP EDGES, WHICH CUT MY FINGER. WE COVERED THE HANDLE WITH TAPE TO PROTECT FROM FUTURE CUTS. I LOOKED FOR A RECALL NOTICE ON THIS PART AND FOUND ONE AND CALLED THE DEALERSHIP AND WAS TOLD THAT I WOULD HAVE TO PAY FOR THIS REPAIR MYSELF. I FILED A COMPLAINT WITH NHSTA AND WAS TOLD TO CONTACT HYUNDAI. I DID NOTHING SINCE I COULDN'T AFFORD THE REPAIR. IN THE PAST 9 MONTHS, I HAVE BEEN THE PASSENGER MORE OFTEN THAN BEFORE AND NOW THE INTERIOR HANDLE ON THE PASSENGER SIDE HAS SAME PROBLEM-PEELING OFF, LEAVING SHARP EDGES. ONCE AGAIN I NICKED MY FINGER ON ON IT. RECENTLY HAD A REPAIR DONE AT THE DEALERSHIP AND ASKED THE ADVISER ABOUT THE PROBLEM HE SAID HE HAD NO RECORD OF A RECALL. I FOUND THE RECALL ONLINE & SHOWED HIM. HE SAID I SHOULD CALL HYUNDAI,.I SPOKE TO A REP @ HYUNDAI WHO TOLD ME THAT EVEN THOUGH I MAY HAVE A PROBLEM DESCRIBED IN THE RECALL MY VEHICLE WAS MANUFACTURED IN 10/2001, WHICH MEANS I DON'T REALLY HAVE THE PROBLEM DESCRIBED IN THE RECALL I WAS FURIOUS. THIS IS NOT AN IMAGINARY PROBLEM - I HAVE CUT MY FINGERS TWICE. SHE SAID SHE WOULD HAVE SOMEONE CALL ME BACK TO DISCUS FURTHER & THAT NEVER HAPPENED. THAT WAS ABOUT 3 WEEKS AGO. I DON'T CARE WHAT THE RECALL DATE SAYS - MY CAR HAS THE EXACT PROBLEM DESCRIBED IN THE RECALL NOTICE. THE REP ALSO TOLD ME THE RECALL GOES BY THE DATE THE CAR WAS PUT INTO SERVICE, NOT THE DATE MANUFACTURED OF 10/01; SHE SAID THE CAR WAS NOT PUT INTO SERVICE UNTIL 3/03-AFTER THE RECALL DATE.THE RECALL SAYS 1/28/02-3/22/03. ALSO I THE CAR HAD TO BE PUT INTO SERVICE EARLIER THAN 03 BECAUSE I BOUGHT IT ON 10/16/02. I DON'T UNDERSTAND WHY THIS ISN'T COVERED BY THE RECALL/CAMPAIGN - WHATEVER YOU WANT TO CALL IT. BOTH HANDLES ARE PEELING & UNSAFE! WE ARE KEEPING THIS CAR SO IT IS IMPORTANT. JUST BOUGHT A NEW SONATA.TO REPLACE ANOTHER CAR.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

8/22/2014 - SUMMERVILLE, SC
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2002 HYUNDAI SONATA. THE CONTACT STATED THAT A CERTIFIED MECHANIC INSPECTED THE VEHICLE AND FOUND THE INNER BODY AND REAR SUBFRAME SEVERELY CORRODED THE CORROSION SPREAD TO THE PASSENGER AREA. NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER 09V124000 SUSPENSION WAS PERFORMED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 161,000.

View Details

STRUCTURE: FRAME AND MEMBERS

8/11/2014 - FALLSTON, MD
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2002 HYUNDAI SONATA. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 35 MPH, THE CONTACT HEARD A LOUD BANGING NOISE NEAR THE FRONT END OF THE VEHICLE. THE CONTACT DISCOVERED THAT THE LOWER CONTROL ARM ON THE PASSENGER SIDE HAD SEPARATED BECAUSE THE SUBFRAME WAS RUSTED. AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC DIAGNOSED THE VEHICLE AND CONFIRMED THE CAUSE OF THE FAILURE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED AND THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 206,341.

View Details

SUSPENSION: FRONT: CONTROL ARM: LOWER ARM

8/11/2014 - FALLSTON, MD
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2002 HYUNDAI SONATA. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 35 MPH, THE CONTACT HEARD A LOUD BANGING NOISE NEAR THE FRONT END OF THE VEHICLE. THE CONTACT DISCOVERED THAT THE LOWER CONTROL ARM ON THE PASSENGER SIDE HAD SEPARATED BECAUSE THE SUBFRAME WAS RUSTED. AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC DIAGNOSED THE VEHICLE AND CONFIRMED THE CAUSE OF THE FAILURE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED AND THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 206,341.

View Details

AIR BAGS

7/15/2014 - BAY SHORE, NY
MY 2002 HYUNDAI SONATA AIR BAG LIGHT HAS BEEN ON SINCE 2009 I HAVE BOUGHT IT TO ONE MECHANIC HE CLEANED AND TIGHTENED THE AIR BAG HARNESS UNDER DRIVER AND PASSENGER SEAT THEY STAYED OUT BRIEFLY AND CAME BACK ON SHORTLY THERAFTER. BROUGHT IT TO ANOTHER MECHANIC AND HE COULDN T FIX IT. CALLED LOCAL DEALER AND THEY SAID THEIR ARE NO ACTIVE RECALLS AND COULD BE ALOT OF MONEY. I LOOKED ONLINE AND OTHER 2002 HYUNDAI SONATA OWNERS WENT TO DEALER S AND PAID ALOT MONEY AND LIGHT KEPT COMING ON.JULY 12,2014 I HAD A COLLISION WITH CAR IN FRONT OF ME AND AIRBAGS DIDN T DEPLOY AIR BAG LIGHT WAS ON PASSENGER WAS HURT BRUISED RIBS 3 YEAROLD HAD RED MARK FROM SHOULDER HARNESS OF CAR SEAT. I HAVE NOTICED ONLINE THEIR ARE 1000 S OF THESE COMPLAINTS OF AIRBAG LIGHT S ON AND I M ASKING FOR YOU TO GET AFTER HYUNDAI TO RECALL THE 2002 AND FIX THE AIR BAG LIGHT PROBLEM . PEOPLE S SAFETY IS AT STAKE..UPDATED 10/21/14

View Details

STEERING

7/10/2014 - HAMILTON, OH
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2002 HYUNDAI SONATA. THE CONTACT STATED WHILE DRIVING AT 5 MPH, THE POWER STEERING STOP WORKING AND AS A RESULT, THE VEHICLE CRASHED INTO A BARRIER. THERE WERE NO INJURIES. THE DRIVER SIDE AIR BAG DEPLOYED AND THE AIR BAG WARNING LAMP ILLUMINATED. ALSO, THE CONTACT MENTIONED THAT THE VEHICLE WAS FILLED WITH SMOKE AND THERE WAS NO PRESSURE ON THE AIR BAG. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO HER RESIDENT. THE VEHICLE HAD NOT BEEN REPAIRED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC, WHO STATED THAT THERE WAS NOTHING WRONG WITH THE AIR BAG. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE PROBLEM. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 156,000.

View Details

AIR BAGS

7/10/2014 - HAMILTON, OH
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2002 HYUNDAI SONATA. THE CONTACT STATED WHILE DRIVING AT 5 MPH, THE POWER STEERING STOP WORKING AND AS A RESULT, THE VEHICLE CRASHED INTO A BARRIER. THERE WERE NO INJURIES. THE DRIVER SIDE AIR BAG DEPLOYED AND THE AIR BAG WARNING LAMP ILLUMINATED. ALSO, THE CONTACT MENTIONED THAT THE VEHICLE WAS FILLED WITH SMOKE AND THERE WAS NO PRESSURE ON THE AIR BAG. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO HER RESIDENT. THE VEHICLE HAD NOT BEEN REPAIRED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC, WHO STATED THAT THERE WAS NOTHING WRONG WITH THE AIR BAG. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE PROBLEM. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 156,000.

View Details

STEERING

6/29/2014 - SAN ANONTIO, TX
1ST WEEK OF JUNE 2014, NOTICED STEERING WAS MAKING NOISES WHEN TURNING. CHECKED PSF AND WAS LOW. ADDED AND WORKED FINE FOR ABOUT TREE WEEKS. THEN BAM !! SOMETHING BUSTED BEHIND ENGINE. LOTS OF FLUID BETWEEN ENGINE AND FIREWALL. PSF OF COARSE. STEERING BECAME EXTREMELY STIFF AND BARELY GOT THE VEHICLE HOME. LUCKY I DIDN'T HAVE AN ACCIDENT. CAR WOULDN'T TURN EXCEPT WITH EXCESSIVE FORCE. AND I'M 76 YR F. I COULD HAVE INJURED OR KILLED MYSELF OR OTHERS UNDER CERTAIN CONDITIONS LIKE MUCH HIGHER SPEEDS. HOW'S ANYONE TO KNOW SOMETHING LIKE WILL OCCUR AT ANY GIVEN TOTALLY UNEXPECTED MOMENT. I KNOW OF A RECALL ABOUT UNDER CARRIAGE OR SUB-FRAME RUST AND SERIOUS PARTS BREAKING OFF. SOMETHING GAVE AND SOMETHING BROKE DOWN THERE AND THE VEHICLE IS NOW INOPERABLE.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

5/8/2014 - LOUISVILLE, KY
MY SON WAS OPERATING THE VEHICLE AND WAS MAKING A LEFT TURN. DURING THE TURN, THE RIGHT FRONT WHEEL BUCKLED UNDER AND THE VEHICLE BECAME INOPERABLE. VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO A REPAIR FACILITY. THEY FOUND THAT THERE WAS SIGNIFICANT CORROSION IN THE SUB-FRAME WHICH CAUSED IT TO FAIL. I HAVE DONE SOME RESEARCH ON NHTSA SITE AND IT APPEARS THAT CAMPAIGN 09V124000 DESCRIBES THE ISSUE. I HAVE CONTACTED HYUNDAI. THEY HAVE INSTRUCTED ME TO HAVE TO VEHICLE DELIVERED TO LOCAL DEALER FOR INSPECTION TO DETERMINE IF IT IS COVERED UNDER A RECALL PROGRAM. THEIR FIRST RESPONSE WAS TO TELL ME THAT THE RECALL WAS ONLY COVERING CERTAIN STATES, KENTUCKY NOT BEING ONE OF THEM. WHEN I TOLD THEM I HAD PURCHASED THE CAR USED AND HAD NO WAY OF KNOWING WHAT OTHER STATES THE VEHICLE HAD BEEN IN, THEY AGREED TO EXAMINE THE VEHICLE. I BELIEVE THE VEHICLE REPAIR SHOULD BE COVERED SINCE THE DAMAGE IS AS DESCRIBED IN THE RECALL NOTICE.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 26
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds