Auto Recalls for Consumers

HYUNDAI SONATA - 2002 HYUNDAI SONATA Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Hyundai Motor America

There are 298 complaints filed for the 2002 HYUNDAI SONATA

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2002 HYUNDAI SONATA. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2002 HYUNDAI SONATA, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (52) Engine And Engine Cooling (17) Latches Locks Linkages (9) Service Brakes Hydraulic (21) Traction Control System (1)
Child Seat (2) Equipment (1) Other (4) Steering (24) Unknown Or Other (3)
Communications (1) Exterior Lighting (2) Power Train (12) Structure (83) Vehicle Speed Control (8)
Electrical System (22) Fuel Propulsion System (4) Seat Belts (5) Suspension (59) Visibility (2)
Electronic Stability Control (1) Fuel System Gasoline (21) Service Brakes (4) Tires (12) Wheels (11)
Engine (3)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 29
 
ComplaintDescription

SUSPENSION

2/8/2017 - BARTON, MD
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2002 HYUNDAI SONATA. WHILE DRIVING 65 MPH, THE REAR PASSENGER SIDE TIRE BUCKLED AND ENDED UP UNDER THE VEHICLE. THE UPPER CONTROL ARM RUSTED IN HALF, WHICH CAUSED THE VEHICLE TO SPIN OUT OF CONTROL. THERE WAS NO CRASH. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED, BUT WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 260,000.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

12/21/2016 - FLUSHING, NY
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2002 HYUNDAI SONATA. WHILE ATTEMPTING TO DRIVE THE VEHICLE STRAIGHT, THE VEHICLE SWAYED FROM LEFT TO RIGHT WITHOUT THE DRIVER STEERING IN THOSE DIRECTIONS. THE CONTACT TOOK THE VEHICLE TO A CERTIFIED MECHANIC WHO DIAGNOSED THAT THE SUBFRAME WAS COMPLETELY CORRODED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE CONTACT TOOK THE VEHICLE TO THE DEALER WHERE IT WAS DETERMINED THAT THE VEHICLE WAS TOO DANGEROUS TO DRIVE AND WOULD NOT BE REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 100,000.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

9/16/2016 - HERNDON, VA
CORROSION OF THE FRONT SUB-FRAME. EA08016 FRONT SUB-FRAME CORROSION. YOU ISSUED A RECALL FOR "SALT-BELT" STATES, I LIVE IN NORTHERN VIRGINIA WITH THE SAME SALT ISSUE AS DC AND WEST VIRGINIA.

View Details

STRUCTURE: FRAME AND MEMBERS

9/2/2016 - NEVADA, IA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2002 HYUNDAI SONATA. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 35 MPH, THE SUBFRAME FRACTURED WITHOUT WARNING. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED NOR REPAIRED. THE VEHICLE WAS SERVICED PER NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 09V124000 (SUSPENSION); HOWEVER, THE REMEDY FAILED TO REPAIR THE VEHICLE. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 133,000. THE VIN WAS NOT AVAILABLE.

View Details

AIR BAGS

7/25/2016 - DALLAS, TX
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2002 HYUNDAI SONATA. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING AT APPROXIMATELY 45 MPH, THE VEHICLE HIT A POT HOLE AND THE PASSENGER AIR BAG DEPLOYED INADVERTENTLY. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 181,800. THE VIN WAS UNAVAILABLE.

View Details

SUSPENSION

7/1/2016 - STRATFORD, CT
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2002 HYUNDAI SONATA. WHILE DRIVING 40 MPH, THE FRONT DRIVER SIDE LOWER CONTROL ARM FRACTURED AND DAMAGED THE FRONT AXLE, STRUT, FRONT FENDER, AND FRONT TIRE. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC. THE CONTACT SUSTAINED INJURIES TO THE NECK AND LOWER BACK, BUT DID NOT REQUIRE MEDICAL ATTENTION. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 09V125000 (SUSPENSION). THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 86,000.

View Details

WHEELS

5/30/2016 - LANGLEY, KY
THE VEHICLE STARTED MAKING A NOISE AND DRIVING WEIRD. IT LOOKED LIKE ONE TIRE WAS POINTED STRAIGHT AND THE OTHER TIRE TURNED SLIGHTLY. I STOPPED AT A GAS STATION TO SEE WHAT WAS WRONG AND THEY SAID THE A FRAME WAS ALMOST RUSTED INTO. I HAD ALREADY HAD THE METAL IN THE REAR OF THE CAR REPLACED FROM BEING RUSTED OUT NEAR WERE THE SHOCK ATTACHES. I HAVE RESEARCHED AND SEEN WHERE SEVERAL SONATAS HAVE BEEN RECALLED DUE TO SEVERE RUST ISSUES. THE BODY EVEN HAS BEEN RUSTING BADLY. THE BIGGER CONCERN IS THE FRAME. I AM AFRAID TO DRIVE IT NOW. DO NOT KNOW WHAT RECOURSE I HAVE. THIS HAPPENED WHILE DRIVING. THE CAR IS NOW PARKED AND AM AFRAID TO MOVE IT, EVEN TO A GARAGE.

View Details

SUSPENSION

5/30/2016 - LANGLEY, KY
THE VEHICLE STARTED MAKING A NOISE AND DRIVING WEIRD. IT LOOKED LIKE ONE TIRE WAS POINTED STRAIGHT AND THE OTHER TIRE TURNED SLIGHTLY. I STOPPED AT A GAS STATION TO SEE WHAT WAS WRONG AND THEY SAID THE A FRAME WAS ALMOST RUSTED INTO. I HAD ALREADY HAD THE METAL IN THE REAR OF THE CAR REPLACED FROM BEING RUSTED OUT NEAR WERE THE SHOCK ATTACHES. I HAVE RESEARCHED AND SEEN WHERE SEVERAL SONATAS HAVE BEEN RECALLED DUE TO SEVERE RUST ISSUES. THE BODY EVEN HAS BEEN RUSTING BADLY. THE BIGGER CONCERN IS THE FRAME. I AM AFRAID TO DRIVE IT NOW. DO NOT KNOW WHAT RECOURSE I HAVE. THIS HAPPENED WHILE DRIVING. THE CAR IS NOW PARKED AND AM AFRAID TO MOVE IT, EVEN TO A GARAGE.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

5/30/2016 - LANGLEY, KY
THE VEHICLE STARTED MAKING A NOISE AND DRIVING WEIRD. IT LOOKED LIKE ONE TIRE WAS POINTED STRAIGHT AND THE OTHER TIRE TURNED SLIGHTLY. I STOPPED AT A GAS STATION TO SEE WHAT WAS WRONG AND THEY SAID THE A FRAME WAS ALMOST RUSTED INTO. I HAD ALREADY HAD THE METAL IN THE REAR OF THE CAR REPLACED FROM BEING RUSTED OUT NEAR WERE THE SHOCK ATTACHES. I HAVE RESEARCHED AND SEEN WHERE SEVERAL SONATAS HAVE BEEN RECALLED DUE TO SEVERE RUST ISSUES. THE BODY EVEN HAS BEEN RUSTING BADLY. THE BIGGER CONCERN IS THE FRAME. I AM AFRAID TO DRIVE IT NOW. DO NOT KNOW WHAT RECOURSE I HAVE. THIS HAPPENED WHILE DRIVING. THE CAR IS NOW PARKED AND AM AFRAID TO MOVE IT, EVEN TO A GARAGE.

View Details

SUSPENSION: FRONT: CONTROL ARM: LOWER ARM

3/24/2016 - STRATFORD, CT
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2002 HYUNDAI SONATA. WHILE THE VEHICLE WAS BEING SERVICED AT AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC'S WORKSHOP, IT WAS OBSERVED THAT THE FRONT LOWER CONTROL ARMS WERE PERFORATED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE VIN WAS NOT INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 09V125000 (SUSPENSION). THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 82,000.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 29
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds