Auto Recalls for Consumers

HYUNDAI SONATA - 2002 HYUNDAI SONATA Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Hyundai Motor America

There are 288 complaints filed for the 2002 HYUNDAI SONATA

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2002 HYUNDAI SONATA. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2002 HYUNDAI SONATA, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (51) Engine And Engine Cooling (17) Latches Locks Linkages (9) Service Brakes Hydraulic (21) Traction Control System (1)
Child Seat (2) Equipment (1) Other (4) Steering (23) Unknown Or Other (2)
Communications (1) Exterior Lighting (2) Power Train (12) Structure (78) Vehicle Speed Control (8)
Electrical System (22) Fuel Propulsion System (4) Seat Belts (5) Suspension (56) Visibility (2)
Electronic Stability Control (1) Fuel System Gasoline (21) Service Brakes (4) Tires (12) Wheels (10)
Engine (3)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 28
 
ComplaintDescription

SUSPENSION: FRONT: CONTROL ARM: LOWER ARM

3/24/2016 - STRATFORD, CT
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2002 HYUNDAI SONATA. WHILE THE VEHICLE WAS BEING SERVICED AT AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC'S WORKSHOP, IT WAS OBSERVED THAT THE FRONT LOWER CONTROL ARMS WERE PERFORATED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE VIN WAS NOT INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 09V125000 (SUSPENSION). THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 82,000.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING

1/18/2016 - SPOKANE, WA
I FINANCED MY CAR IN AND AROUND 3YRS AGO, IT WAS ON 48,000 WHICH WE THOUGHT WAS SUCH A GREAT DEAL. TABS AND REG. WAS DO COMING UP IN DEC WHICH WAS AND HOW OUR NITEMARE BEGAN, WE WERE TO GO GET EMISSIONS DONE LOW AND BEHOLD IT DIDN'T FAIL BUT ALSO DID NOT PASS IT CAME BACK NOT READY, WE DROVE IT FOR HRS WENT BACK STILL NOT READY,WE THEN HAD TO GET TABS SO CAR WOULD NOT GET TOWED. THE NEXT YEAR NO EMISSIONS, THIS YEAR STILL NOT READY AND UNABLE TO GET TABS, WE ACTUALLY FOUND OUT PROBLEMS WAY BEFORE US, MY QUESTION IS SHOULD THEY HAVE EVEN SOLD THAT CANNOT BE REGISTERED NOR TABBED, IN FACT I FILL THAT SOMEONE AT HYUNDAI NEEDS TO MAKE THIS RIGHT, WE EVEN PURCHASED IT FROM HYUNDAI IN RENTON, WA. PLEASE HELP ME !!! THANK YOU, VERY MUCH

View Details

STRUCTURE

11/19/2015 - BOSTON, KY
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2002 HYUNDAI SONATA. WHILE SERVICING THE VEHICLE, THE CONTACT DISCOVERED THAT THE SUBFRAME OF THE VEHICLE WAS CORRODED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 120,000.

View Details

AIR BAGS

10/6/2015 - LAS VEGAS, NV
AIR BAG LITE STAYS ON, HAD NO ACCIDENTS, OR CRASHES, DEALER WANTED ME, TO SPEND A ARM AND LEG TO REPLACE THE MODULE CONTROL UNIT. I SENSED, THAT THAT MAY NOT BE THE PROBLEM, I TOOK IT TO A INDEPENDENT SHOP, AND HAD IT DIAGNOSED, WITH A SCANNER, AND THE SCANNER SHOWED A CODE BD1406 PPD. WHICH STANDS FOR PASSENGER PRESENCE DETECTOR, AND SHOWED THAT IT WAS DEFECTIVE. SO ITS A FAULTY SENSOR. WHICH TRANSLATES TO A MANUFACTURER DEFECT. I CANNOT AFFORD, TO SPEND $1.500 FOR A MODULE, WHEN IT SHOULD ONLY BE THE DEFECTIVE SENSOR UNDER THE PASSENGER SEAT, WHICH SHOULD TOTAL AROUND $360.00 INCLUDING LABOR, AND THE HYUNDAI MANUFACTURER SHOULD BE RESPONSIBLE FOR THE FIX. BEFORE I GET INVOLVED IN A ACCIDENT, AND MY LIFE IS AT STAKE, INCLUDING MY CHILDREN, AND WIFE. I CONTACTED, HYUNDAI, AND STATED THAT I HAVE A DEFECT, AND THEY WANTED PROOF, AS FROM, A DEALERSHIP, OR OTHERWISE. PLEASE LET ME KNOW HOW TO RESOLVE THIS DANGEROUS DAILY TASK.

View Details

STRUCTURE

7/16/2015 - SOUTH MILLS, NC
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2002 HYUNDAI SONATA. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 40 MPH, THE VEHICLE WOULD VEER IN EITHER DIRECTION INDEPENDENTLY. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER SEVERAL TIMES, BUT THE FAILURE COULD NOT BE DUPLICATED. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE FAILURE RECURRED AND THE VEHICLE DROIVE INTO A DITCH. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC, WHERE IT WAS DISCOVERED THAT THE SUBFRAME WAS CORRODED AND THE BOLTS SEPARATED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 180,000.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

6/16/2015 - WICHITA, KS
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2002 HYUNDAI SONATA. WHILE COMING TO A STOP, THE FRONT SUBFRAME FRACTURED FROM THE VEHICLE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE VIN WAS NOT INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 09V124000 (SUSPENSION). THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 91,856.

View Details

SUSPENSION

6/9/2015 - MEMPHIS, TN
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2002 HYUNDAI SONATA. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 33 MPH, THE CONTACT'S VEHICLE STRUCK A POTHOLE. AS A RESULT, THE CONTACT VEERED TO THE RIGHT AND CRASHED INTO ANOTHER VEHICLE. THE AIR BAGS DEPLOYED. THE CONTACT SUSTAINED A NECK INJURY THAT REQUIRED MEDICAL ATTENTION. A POLICE REPORT WAS FILED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE SUBFRAME WAS RUSTED AND FAILED TO SUPPORT THE CONTROL ARM. THE TECHNICIAN INFORMED THAT THE SUBFRAME NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE AND STATED THAT THE VIN WAS INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 09V124000 (SUSPENSION). THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 105,000.

View Details

STRUCTURE: FRAME AND MEMBERS

6/9/2015 - MEMPHIS, TN
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2002 HYUNDAI SONATA. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 33 MPH, THE CONTACT'S VEHICLE STRUCK A POTHOLE. AS A RESULT, THE CONTACT VEERED TO THE RIGHT AND CRASHED INTO ANOTHER VEHICLE. THE AIR BAGS DEPLOYED. THE CONTACT SUSTAINED A NECK INJURY THAT REQUIRED MEDICAL ATTENTION. A POLICE REPORT WAS FILED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE SUBFRAME WAS RUSTED AND FAILED TO SUPPORT THE CONTROL ARM. THE TECHNICIAN INFORMED THAT THE SUBFRAME NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE AND STATED THAT THE VIN WAS INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 09V124000 (SUSPENSION). THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 105,000.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

4/29/2015 - CAPE CORAL, FL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2002 HYUNDAI SONATA. WHILE ATTEMPTING TO REFUEL THE VEHICLE, THE FUEL TANK FAILED TO ACCEPT THE FUEL. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT TAKEN TO THE DEALER NOR AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC. NO REPAIRS WERE MADE TO THE VEHICLE. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 100,000.

View Details

CHILD SEAT: LATCH CONNECTOR

2/6/2015 - MARYLAND, MD
TL CONTACT OWNS A GRACO SAFETY SEAT, MODEL NAME: READY RIDE, AND MANUFACTURED IN OCTOBER 01, 2012. THE SAFETY SEAT WAS BEING UTILIZED IN A 2002 HYUNDAI SONATA. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE LOWER HARNESS LATCH WOULD NOT UNLATCH TO RELEASE THE CHILD. THE CONTACT MENTIONED THAT THE FABRIC WAS CUT IN ORDER TO RELEASE THE CHILD FROM THE SEAT. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE VIN WAS NOT AVAILABLE.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 28
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds