Auto Recalls for Consumers

HYUNDAI SONATA - 2002 HYUNDAI SONATA Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Hyundai Motor America

There are 304 complaints filed for the 2002 HYUNDAI SONATA

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2002 HYUNDAI SONATA. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2002 HYUNDAI SONATA, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (52) Engine And Engine Cooling (17) Other (4) Steering (24) Unknown Or Other (4)
Child Seat (2) Equipment (1) Power Train (12) Structure (86) Vehicle Speed Control (8)
Communications (1) Exterior Lighting (2) Seat Belts (5) Suspension (60) Visibility (2)
Electrical System (22) Fuel Propulsion System (4) Service Brakes (5) Tires (12) Visibility Wiper (1)
Electronic Stability Control (1) Fuel System Gasoline (21) Service Brakes Hydraulic (21) Traction Control System (1) Wheels (11)
Engine (3) Latches Locks Linkages (9)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 29
 
ComplaintDescription

STRUCTURE: BODY

5/25/2018 - ESTERO, FL
PAINT IS FLAKING OFF OF ALL THE DOOR HANDLES ON MY 2001 SONATA GOLD COLOR. WHEN IT WAS ONLY HAPPENING ON ONE DOOR, MY DEALER SAID IT WAS NOT THERE PROBLEM. NOW THAT IT IS HAPPENING ON ALL OF THEM, IT IS OBVIOUS TO ME THAT IT IS A DEFECT. HAS ANYONE ELSE HAD THIS PROBLEM AND COULD THEY GET IT RESOLVED?

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

1/9/2018 - VIRGINIA BEACH, VA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2002 HYUNDAI SONATA. THE CONTACT STATED THAT PREMATURE RUST AND CORROSION OCCURRED ON THE FRONT SUBFRAME. THE RUST WENT THROUGH THE FRONT SUBFRAME, CAUSING IT TO FRACTURE. THE VEHICLE WAS SERVICED BY CHECKERED FLAG HYUNDAI (3033 VIRGINIA BEACH BLVD, VIRGINIA BEACH, VA 23452, (757) 687-3462) FOR NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 09V124000 (SUSPENSION). THE DEALER HAD TO DISASSEMBLE THE VEHICLE. OTHER PARTS WERE DAMAGED. THE DEALER REFUSED TO REPLACE THE DAMAGED PARTS AND STATED THAT THEY WOULD ONLY SERVICE THE RECALL, WHICH WAS COMPLETED. ALSO, THE VEHICLE WAS INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 09V317000 (LATCHES/LOCKS/LINKAGES). THE CONTACT WAS NOT NOTIFIED BY THE MANUFACTURER OF THE TWO RECALLS. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE PARTS WERE DAMAGED FROM THE COMPLETION OF THE RECALL REPAIR. THE MANUFACTURER REFUSED TO PROVIDE COVERAGE FOR THE REPLACEMENT OF THE DAMAGED PARTS, STATING THAT THE DEALER PROVIDED THE REMEDY FOR THE RECALL REPAIR. THE DEALER AND THE MANUFACTURER EXPECTED THE CONTACT TO REPLACE THE PARTS THAT WERE DAMAGED. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 94,724.

View Details

SUSPENSION

1/9/2018 - VIRGINIA BEACH, VA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2002 HYUNDAI SONATA. THE CONTACT STATED THAT PREMATURE RUST AND CORROSION OCCURRED ON THE FRONT SUBFRAME. THE RUST WENT THROUGH THE FRONT SUBFRAME, CAUSING IT TO FRACTURE. THE VEHICLE WAS SERVICED BY CHECKERED FLAG HYUNDAI (3033 VIRGINIA BEACH BLVD, VIRGINIA BEACH, VA 23452, (757) 687-3462) FOR NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 09V124000 (SUSPENSION). THE DEALER HAD TO DISASSEMBLE THE VEHICLE. OTHER PARTS WERE DAMAGED. THE DEALER REFUSED TO REPLACE THE DAMAGED PARTS AND STATED THAT THEY WOULD ONLY SERVICE THE RECALL, WHICH WAS COMPLETED. ALSO, THE VEHICLE WAS INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 09V317000 (LATCHES/LOCKS/LINKAGES). THE CONTACT WAS NOT NOTIFIED BY THE MANUFACTURER OF THE TWO RECALLS. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE PARTS WERE DAMAGED FROM THE COMPLETION OF THE RECALL REPAIR. THE MANUFACTURER REFUSED TO PROVIDE COVERAGE FOR THE REPLACEMENT OF THE DAMAGED PARTS, STATING THAT THE DEALER PROVIDED THE REMEDY FOR THE RECALL REPAIR. THE DEALER AND THE MANUFACTURER EXPECTED THE CONTACT TO REPLACE THE PARTS THAT WERE DAMAGED. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 94,724.

View Details

VISIBILITY/WIPER

12/22/2017 - LEWISTOWN, PA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2002 HYUNDAI SONATA. WHILE DRIVING, THE SUN VISOR INADVERTENTLY FELL AND BLOCKED THE CONTACT'S VIEW. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE SUN VISOR FAILED TO STAY UP. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO BLAISE ALEXANDER HYUNDAI (1703 W COLLEGE AVE, STATE COLLEGE, PA 16801, (814) 234-2886) COULD NOT DETERMINE THE CAUSE OF THE FAILURE AND ADVISED THAT THE SUN VISOR NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE AND DID NOT ASSIST. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 79,000.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

8/25/2017 - NEW ORLEANS, LA
I HAVE A HYUNDAI SONATA. ITS 2002 WITH 50,000 MILES ON IT. THE FIRST TIME IT GAVE ME TROUBLE, IT WAS MAKING A GRINDING SOUND WHILE DRIVING TO WORK. THE MECHANIC CHANGED MY CALIBER ON ONE SIDE OF THE CAR AND REPLACED MY HOSES. NEXT MONTH SAME SOUND STARTED AGAIN. MY MECHANIC CHANGED THE OTHER CALIBER. SIX MONTHS LATER. I STARTED HEARING THAT SAME SOUND AND THE BRAKES STARTED LOCKING. THE MECHANIC DIDN'T SEE ANYTHING WRONG. TWO WEEKS LATER, I LOST MY BRAKES WHILE DRIVING ON INTERSTATE 10. I WAS ABLE TO COAST TO A STOP WITHOUT ANY INCIDENTS. I HAD MY CAR TOWED TO MY MECHANIC.I WAS TOLD I DAMAGED THE MASTER CYLINDER. HE PUT ALL NEW PARTS IN MY CAR (BRAKE SHOES,PADS, CALIBERS, MASTER CYLINDER, ETC.) AND TESTED IT. THE NEXT DAY WHILE DRIVING ON I-10, IT STARTED LOCKING UP AGAIN. IT HAS BAFFLED MY MECHANIC. MY CAR IS STILL IN THE SHOP. I HAVE SPENT OVER $1500.00 ON REPAIRS OF THESE BRAKES,NOT TO MENTION THE RENTAL FEES OF CARS FOR TRANSPORTATION. THERE MUST BE AN ANSWER TO WHAT IS CAUSING MY BRAKES TO NO FUNCTION PROPERLY.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

8/17/2017 - MUNDELEIN, IL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2002 HYUNDAI SONATA. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE HEAT SHIELD FELL OFF THE VEHICLE. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC WHO DIAGNOSED THAT THE SUBFRAME WAS SEVERELY RUSTED AND CORRODED. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO ANOTHER INDEPENDENT MECHANIC WHO DIAGNOSED THAT THE UNDERCARRIAGE HAD SEVERE RUST AND CORROSION, AND WAS UNSAFE TO DRIVE. THE VEHICLE WAS THEN TAKEN TO GROSSINGER HYUNDAI OF PALATINE (221 E LAKE COOK RD, PALATINE, IL 60074 (847) 348-6700) WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE REAR SUBFRAME WAS SEVERELY RUSTED, NEEDED REPLACEMENT, AND WAS UNSAFE TO DRIVE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED AND DID NOT ASSIST. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 165,000.

View Details

SUSPENSION

2/8/2017 - BARTON, MD
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2002 HYUNDAI SONATA. WHILE DRIVING 65 MPH, THE REAR PASSENGER SIDE TIRE BUCKLED AND ENDED UP UNDER THE VEHICLE. THE UPPER CONTROL ARM RUSTED IN HALF, WHICH CAUSED THE VEHICLE TO SPIN OUT OF CONTROL. THERE WAS NO CRASH. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED, BUT WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 260,000.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

12/21/2016 - FLUSHING, NY
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2002 HYUNDAI SONATA. WHILE ATTEMPTING TO DRIVE THE VEHICLE STRAIGHT, THE VEHICLE SWAYED FROM LEFT TO RIGHT WITHOUT THE DRIVER STEERING IN THOSE DIRECTIONS. THE CONTACT TOOK THE VEHICLE TO A CERTIFIED MECHANIC WHO DIAGNOSED THAT THE SUBFRAME WAS COMPLETELY CORRODED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE CONTACT TOOK THE VEHICLE TO THE DEALER WHERE IT WAS DETERMINED THAT THE VEHICLE WAS TOO DANGEROUS TO DRIVE AND WOULD NOT BE REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 100,000.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

9/16/2016 - HERNDON, VA
CORROSION OF THE FRONT SUB-FRAME. EA08016 FRONT SUB-FRAME CORROSION. YOU ISSUED A RECALL FOR "SALT-BELT" STATES, I LIVE IN NORTHERN VIRGINIA WITH THE SAME SALT ISSUE AS DC AND WEST VIRGINIA.

View Details

STRUCTURE: FRAME AND MEMBERS

9/2/2016 - NEVADA, IA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2002 HYUNDAI SONATA. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 35 MPH, THE SUBFRAME FRACTURED WITHOUT WARNING. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED NOR REPAIRED. THE VEHICLE WAS SERVICED PER NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 09V124000 (SUSPENSION); HOWEVER, THE REMEDY FAILED TO REPAIR THE VEHICLE. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 133,000. THE VIN WAS NOT AVAILABLE.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 29
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds