Auto Recalls for Consumers

HYUNDAI SONATA - 2002 HYUNDAI SONATA Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Hyundai Motor Company

There are 258 complaints filed for the 2002 HYUNDAI SONATA

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2002 HYUNDAI SONATA. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2002 HYUNDAI SONATA, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (46) Engine And Engine Cooling (16) Latches Locks Linkages (9) Service Brakes Hydraulic (21) Traction Control System (1)
Child Seat (1) Equipment (1) Other (4) Steering (18) Unknown Or Other (1)
Communications (1) Exterior Lighting (1) Power Train (11) Structure (68) Vehicle Speed Control (8)
Electrical System (20) Fuel Propulsion System (3) Seat Belts (5) Suspension (46) Visibility (2)
Electronic Stability Control (1) Fuel System Gasoline (20) Service Brakes (2) Tires (12) Wheels (9)
Engine (2)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 25
 
ComplaintDescription

AIR BAGS

4/7/2014 - LEBANON, PA
WHILE CLEANING OUT THE VEHICLE, I HAD THE FRONT PASSENGER SIDE DOOR OPEN AND WHEN I WENT TO SHUT THE DOOR, THE WIND TOOK IT AND IT SLAMMED SHUT. AS A RESULT, THE AIR BAG ON THE SIDE OF THE SEAT DEPLOYED. AFTER RESEARCHING, I FOUND THAT MODELS OF MY VEHICLE HAD SIMILAR RECALLS WITH THE SAME SUMMARY OF INCIDENTS. I SPOKE WITH THE NATIONAL DEALER HOTLINE AND I WAS TOLD THAT THE VEHICLE MISSED THE RECALL BY 3 DAYS. I AM NOW WAITING TO HEAR BACK FROM A SERVICEMAN TO SEE IF THEY CAN DO ANYTHING ABOUT IT.

View Details

STEERING

1/13/2014 - WATCHUNG, NJ
WE HAD OUR VEHICLE WARRANTIED FOR THE ROTTEN FRAME ON OUR VEHICLE LAST YEAR. AT THAT POINT YOU WOULD THINK HYUNDAI WOULD HAVE WARNED US THAT OUR BRAKE LINES WERE SWISS CHEESE JUST LIKE OUR FRAME, THESE CARS ROT OUT, THE ENTIRE VEHICLE IS A DEATH TRAP. THE BRAKE LINES BROKE 3 TIMES IN THE PAST 6 MONTHS AFTER SECTIONS WERE ALREADY REPLACED. THESE VEHICLES NEED ALL THE BRAKE AND FUEL LINES REPLACED IMMEDIATELY!!! THIS IS NOT ROUTINE MAINTENANCE AND SHOULD BE RECALLED IMMEDIATELY!! THE POWER STEERING LINE ROTTED OUT 5 YEARS AGO, THIS CAR WAS MADE OUT OF REALLY CRAPPY METAL. DANGEROUS VEHICLE.EVERYTHING ON THIS VEHICLE IS ROTTED OUT BEYOND WHAT IS NORMAL, THE WHEELS, THE BRAKE DRUMS, EVERYTHING ON THESE VEHICLES ROT TO THE POINT OF SWISS CHEESE. AFTER 10 YEARS THESE VEHICLES ARE VERY UNSAFE. OUR VEHICLE ONLY HAS 50,000 MILES ON IT.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

1/13/2014 - WATCHUNG, NJ
WE HAD OUR VEHICLE WARRANTIED FOR THE ROTTEN FRAME ON OUR VEHICLE LAST YEAR. AT THAT POINT YOU WOULD THINK HYUNDAI WOULD HAVE WARNED US THAT OUR BRAKE LINES WERE SWISS CHEESE JUST LIKE OUR FRAME, THESE CARS ROT OUT, THE ENTIRE VEHICLE IS A DEATH TRAP. THE BRAKE LINES BROKE 3 TIMES IN THE PAST 6 MONTHS AFTER SECTIONS WERE ALREADY REPLACED. THESE VEHICLES NEED ALL THE BRAKE AND FUEL LINES REPLACED IMMEDIATELY!!! THIS IS NOT ROUTINE MAINTENANCE AND SHOULD BE RECALLED IMMEDIATELY!! THE POWER STEERING LINE ROTTED OUT 5 YEARS AGO, THIS CAR WAS MADE OUT OF REALLY CRAPPY METAL. DANGEROUS VEHICLE.EVERYTHING ON THIS VEHICLE IS ROTTED OUT BEYOND WHAT IS NORMAL, THE WHEELS, THE BRAKE DRUMS, EVERYTHING ON THESE VEHICLES ROT TO THE POINT OF SWISS CHEESE. AFTER 10 YEARS THESE VEHICLES ARE VERY UNSAFE. OUR VEHICLE ONLY HAS 50,000 MILES ON IT.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

1/13/2014 - WATCHUNG, NJ
WE HAD OUR VEHICLE WARRANTIED FOR THE ROTTEN FRAME ON OUR VEHICLE LAST YEAR. AT THAT POINT YOU WOULD THINK HYUNDAI WOULD HAVE WARNED US THAT OUR BRAKE LINES WERE SWISS CHEESE JUST LIKE OUR FRAME, THESE CARS ROT OUT, THE ENTIRE VEHICLE IS A DEATH TRAP. THE BRAKE LINES BROKE 3 TIMES IN THE PAST 6 MONTHS AFTER SECTIONS WERE ALREADY REPLACED. THESE VEHICLES NEED ALL THE BRAKE AND FUEL LINES REPLACED IMMEDIATELY!!! THIS IS NOT ROUTINE MAINTENANCE AND SHOULD BE RECALLED IMMEDIATELY!! THE POWER STEERING LINE ROTTED OUT 5 YEARS AGO, THIS CAR WAS MADE OUT OF REALLY CRAPPY METAL. DANGEROUS VEHICLE.EVERYTHING ON THIS VEHICLE IS ROTTED OUT BEYOND WHAT IS NORMAL, THE WHEELS, THE BRAKE DRUMS, EVERYTHING ON THESE VEHICLES ROT TO THE POINT OF SWISS CHEESE. AFTER 10 YEARS THESE VEHICLES ARE VERY UNSAFE. OUR VEHICLE ONLY HAS 50,000 MILES ON IT.

View Details

SUSPENSION

12/30/2013 - BALTIMORE, MD
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2002 HYUNDAI SONATA. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 25 MPH, THE VEHICLE WOULD ABNORMALLY DRIFT TO THE RIGHT. THE CONTACT ALSO STATED THAT A LOUD NOISE WAS HEARD FROM THE VEHICLE WHENEVER DRIVING OVER AN UNEVEN ROAD SURFACE. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC HOWEVER, NO REPAIRS WERE PERFORMED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE DEFECT. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 55,086.

View Details

SUSPENSION

12/10/2013 - MAYNARDVILLE, TN
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2002 HYUNDAI SONATA. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE FRONT SUBFRAME MOTOR AND SUSPENSION WAS FOUND TO BE SEVERELY CORRODED. THE MANUFACTURER ADVISED THAT THE VIN WAS NOT INCLUDED NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER 09V124000 (SUSPENSION) THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE FAILURE AND CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 202,000.

View Details

STRUCTURE: FRAME AND MEMBERS: UNDERBODY SHIELDS

10/6/2013 - MERIDEN , CT
AFTER HAVING INCREASED DIFFICULTY CONTROLLING THE CAR, I TOOK IT TO MY TIRE DEALER FOR AN ALIGNMENT AND WAS TOLD THAT THEY COULD NOT HELP ME BECAUSE THE FRAME WAS "BROKEN" AND WAS SHREDDING MY REAR TIRES. I CALLED HYUNDAI CORPORATE AND WAS TOLD THAT THERE WAS A RECALL ON THE SUBFRAME AND WAS ADVISED TO TAKE THE CAR TO MY LOCAL DEALER FOR INSPECTION. UPON INSPECTION, I WAS TOLD THAT IT WAS COVERED ON THE RECALL AND LEFT IT WITH THEM FOR TWO DAYS FOR REPAIR. WHEN I PICKED THE CAR UP, I WAS TOLD THAT THE FRONT WAS REPAIRED AT NO COST TO ME, HOWEVER, THE REAR (WHICH IS WHAT I WENT IN FOR) WAS IN VERY BAD SHAPE BUT IT WAS NOT COVERED AND WOULD COST ME $1,500 TO REPAIR IT. I CANNOT UNDERSTAND HOW THE FRONT OF A FRAME CAN BE PART OF A RECALL, BUT THE REAR IS NOT. ????? AND I CANNOT UNDERSTAND WHY THE LOCAL DEALER DIDN'T CALL TO TELL ME THIS BEFORE HE DID THE WORK ON THE FRONT. HAD I KNOWN HOW MUCH IT WAS GOING TO COST ME, I WOULD HAVE TOLD HIM NOT TO BOTHER. SHOULD I CHOOSE TO KEEP THE CAR, IN ADDITION TO $1,500 TO REPAIR THE REAR FRAME, I WILL ALSO NEED TO BUY TWO TIRES TO REPLACE THE TWO WHICH THIS REAR FRAME IS SHREDDING. UNBELIEVABLE.

View Details

SUSPENSION

10/6/2013 - MERIDEN , CT
AFTER HAVING INCREASED DIFFICULTY CONTROLLING THE CAR, I TOOK IT TO MY TIRE DEALER FOR AN ALIGNMENT AND WAS TOLD THAT THEY COULD NOT HELP ME BECAUSE THE FRAME WAS "BROKEN" AND WAS SHREDDING MY REAR TIRES. I CALLED HYUNDAI CORPORATE AND WAS TOLD THAT THERE WAS A RECALL ON THE SUBFRAME AND WAS ADVISED TO TAKE THE CAR TO MY LOCAL DEALER FOR INSPECTION. UPON INSPECTION, I WAS TOLD THAT IT WAS COVERED ON THE RECALL AND LEFT IT WITH THEM FOR TWO DAYS FOR REPAIR. WHEN I PICKED THE CAR UP, I WAS TOLD THAT THE FRONT WAS REPAIRED AT NO COST TO ME, HOWEVER, THE REAR (WHICH IS WHAT I WENT IN FOR) WAS IN VERY BAD SHAPE BUT IT WAS NOT COVERED AND WOULD COST ME $1,500 TO REPAIR IT. I CANNOT UNDERSTAND HOW THE FRONT OF A FRAME CAN BE PART OF A RECALL, BUT THE REAR IS NOT. ????? AND I CANNOT UNDERSTAND WHY THE LOCAL DEALER DIDN'T CALL TO TELL ME THIS BEFORE HE DID THE WORK ON THE FRONT. HAD I KNOWN HOW MUCH IT WAS GOING TO COST ME, I WOULD HAVE TOLD HIM NOT TO BOTHER. SHOULD I CHOOSE TO KEEP THE CAR, IN ADDITION TO $1,500 TO REPAIR THE REAR FRAME, I WILL ALSO NEED TO BUY TWO TIRES TO REPLACE THE TWO WHICH THIS REAR FRAME IS SHREDDING. UNBELIEVABLE.

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE

9/30/2013 - COLUMBUS, OH
FUEL TANK HAS SPLIT IN HALF DUE TO POOR WELDING. SEEMS TO BE VERY SIMILAR TO THE ISSUE WITH 1998 HYUNDAI SONATA. 3-4 GALLONS OF GAS LEAKED ONTO THE GROUND WITHIN A FEW HOURS.

View Details

SUSPENSION

8/28/2013 - WARSAW, IN
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2002 HYUNDAI SONATA. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING OVER A POT HOLE AT APPROXIMATELY 25 MPH, THE VEHICLE BEGAN TO PULL TO THE LEFT INDEPENDENTLY. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN AUTHORIZED DEALER, WHO INFORMED THE CONTACT THAT THE FRONT END SUB FRAME CRADLE WAS COMPLETELY FRACTURED. THERE WAS A RECALL ASSOCIATED WITH NHTSA CAMPAIGN ID NUMBER 09V124000 (SUSPENSION) HOWEVER, THE CONTACT'S VIN WAS NOT INCLUDED IN THE RECALL. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE PROBLEM. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 89,727.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 25
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds