Auto Recalls for Consumers

KIA SEDONA - 2002 KIA SEDONA Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Kia Motors America

There are 194 complaints filed for the 2002 KIA SEDONA

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2002 KIA SEDONA. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2002 KIA SEDONA, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (20) Exterior Lighting (3) Power Train (17) Steering (9) Unknown Or Other (3)
Electrical System (58) Fuel System Gasoline (6) Seat Belts (28) Structure (11) Vehicle Speed Control (19)
Engine (2) Interior Lighting (2) Seats (12) Suspension (16) Visibility (21)
Engine And Engine Cooling (27) Latches Locks Linkages (13) Service Brakes Air (2) Tires (9) Wheels (2)
Equipment (8) Parking Brake (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (27)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 24
 
ComplaintDescription

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

3/25/2014 - FAIRFAX, VA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2002 KIA SEDONA. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THERE WAS A PROBLEM WITH THE WIRING OF THE AIR CONDITIONING AND HEATING UNITS. ADDITIONALLY, THE DASH LIGHTS WOULD NOT PROPERLY ILLUMINATE. THE POWER DOOR LOCKS AND POWER WINDOWS WOULD ALSO INTERMITTENTLY FAIL. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC, WHO WAS UNABLE TO DIAGNOSE THE FAILURE. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 127,000. THE VIN WAS NOT AVAILABLE.

View Details

AIR BAGS

3/18/2014 - GASTONIA, NC
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2002 KIA SEDONA. THE CONTACT WAS DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 45 MPH AND CRASHED INTO THE REAR ANOTHER VEHICLE. THE AIR BAGS DID NOT DEPLOY. THE CONTACT SUFFERED HEAD, NECK AND BACK INJURIES. THE VEHICLE WAS DESTROYED AND A POLICE REPORT WAS FILED AT THE SCENE. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE DEFECT. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 92,000.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

8/30/2013 - FALLS CHURCH, VA
I DROVE 25 MINUTES FROM A TO B AND PARKED MY CAR. TURNED THE ENGINE OFF SAT THERE WITH THE RADIO ON FOR 1 MINUTE EXACTLY AND I HEAR A. PSHHHHH AND SMOKE RISING QUICKLY, THEN A FLAME FROM THE FUSE BOX BY MY LEFT FOOT. I GOT OUT OPENED THE DOOR LOOKED FOR THE SMOKE AND FLAME THAT WERE REFLECTING AND WAVING. I OPENED THE FUSE BOX SLIDER COVER WITH A KNIFE AND STARTED TO SQUIRT WATER OUT FROM MY BOTTLED WATER QUICKLY. THANK GOODNESS I HAD WATER. FLAME WENT OUT AND I SAW THE INSIDE OF THE FUSE COVER BURNT, AND A FUSE LOOKED LIKE IT CAUGHT ON FIRE BECAUSE THE FUSE LOOKED COMPLETELY MELTED.I HAVE A VIDEO OF THE AFTERMATH RIGHT AFTER THE FIRE WENT OUT. TOMORROW ILL BE CALLING INSURANCE, KIA, AND WHOEVER ELSE THAT CAN HELP ME UNDERSTAND WHAT IS GOING ON AND WHAT I CAN DO TO ENSURE MY SAFETY. PLEASE HELP OR APPROVE A RECALL. THANK GOODNESS I DIDNT EXIT MY CAR SO QUICK OR ALOT OF THE CAR WOULD HAVE BEEN ON FIRE.

View Details

STEERING

8/30/2013 - FALLS CHURCH, VA
I DROVE 25 MINUTES FROM A TO B AND PARKED MY CAR. TURNED THE ENGINE OFF SAT THERE WITH THE RADIO ON FOR 1 MINUTE EXACTLY AND I HEAR A. PSHHHHH AND SMOKE RISING QUICKLY, THEN A FLAME FROM THE FUSE BOX BY MY LEFT FOOT. I GOT OUT OPENED THE DOOR LOOKED FOR THE SMOKE AND FLAME THAT WERE REFLECTING AND WAVING. I OPENED THE FUSE BOX SLIDER COVER WITH A KNIFE AND STARTED TO SQUIRT WATER OUT FROM MY BOTTLED WATER QUICKLY. THANK GOODNESS I HAD WATER. FLAME WENT OUT AND I SAW THE INSIDE OF THE FUSE COVER BURNT, AND A FUSE LOOKED LIKE IT CAUGHT ON FIRE BECAUSE THE FUSE LOOKED COMPLETELY MELTED.I HAVE A VIDEO OF THE AFTERMATH RIGHT AFTER THE FIRE WENT OUT. TOMORROW ILL BE CALLING INSURANCE, KIA, AND WHOEVER ELSE THAT CAN HELP ME UNDERSTAND WHAT IS GOING ON AND WHAT I CAN DO TO ENSURE MY SAFETY. PLEASE HELP OR APPROVE A RECALL. THANK GOODNESS I DIDNT EXIT MY CAR SO QUICK OR ALOT OF THE CAR WOULD HAVE BEEN ON FIRE.

View Details

INTERIOR LIGHTING

8/28/2013 - JACKSON, MS
THE HEADLIGHTS KEEPS BLOWING. HAVE REPLACED 3 TIMES. ALL THE LIGHT ON THE INSIDE KEEPS COMING ON (BATTERY, CHECK ENGINE LIGHT, SEAT BELT LIGHT; BELL RINGS). HAD ALTERNATOR CHECKED AND IT IS FINE. THE FUSES ARE FINE. THERE IS DEFECT WITH THIS VEHICLE, I SAW OTHERS WITH THE SAME COMPLAINT, EVEN ON NEWER MODELS. THE COMPANY NEEDS TO FIX THIS. CAN'T DRIVE THE VEHICLE AT NIGHT. AND THE LIGHT REPLACEMENT IS EXPENSIVE. THERE IS A SHAKING AND RUMBLING SOUND COMING FROM VEHICLE. HAVE HAD ENGINE PROBLEMS, HAVE HAD PROBLEMS EVERY SINCE I THIS VEHICLE. ITS BEEN AT THE SHOP MORE THAN ON THE ROAD. HAD I KNOW THAT THE VEHICLE HAD SO MANY ISSUES, I WOULD HAVE NEVER PURCHASED IT.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING: HEADLIGHTS

8/28/2013 - JACKSON, MS
THE HEADLIGHTS KEEPS BLOWING. HAVE REPLACED 3 TIMES. ALL THE LIGHT ON THE INSIDE KEEPS COMING ON (BATTERY, CHECK ENGINE LIGHT, SEAT BELT LIGHT; BELL RINGS). HAD ALTERNATOR CHECKED AND IT IS FINE. THE FUSES ARE FINE. THERE IS DEFECT WITH THIS VEHICLE, I SAW OTHERS WITH THE SAME COMPLAINT, EVEN ON NEWER MODELS. THE COMPANY NEEDS TO FIX THIS. CAN'T DRIVE THE VEHICLE AT NIGHT. AND THE LIGHT REPLACEMENT IS EXPENSIVE. THERE IS A SHAKING AND RUMBLING SOUND COMING FROM VEHICLE. HAVE HAD ENGINE PROBLEMS, HAVE HAD PROBLEMS EVERY SINCE I THIS VEHICLE. ITS BEEN AT THE SHOP MORE THAN ON THE ROAD. HAD I KNOW THAT THE VEHICLE HAD SO MANY ISSUES, I WOULD HAVE NEVER PURCHASED IT.

View Details

ENGINE

2/13/2013 - STEARNS, KY
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2002 KIA SEDONA. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING 35 MPH, SHE HEARD A KNOCKING NOISE COMING FROM THE VEHICLE. THE VEHICLE WAS INSPECTED AND IT WAS DETERMINED THAT THE THREADS FOR THE CRANK SHAFT BOLT WERE MISSING. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC FOR DIAGNOSIS AND THE CONTACT WAS INFORMED THAT THE BALANCER AND BOLT WOULD NEED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE FAILURE AND CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 105,500.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

8/16/2012 - PLAINEDGE , NY
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2002 KIA SEDONA. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE AIR CONDITIONING UNIT FAILED AND WAS BLOWING WARM AIR. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER AND AN INSPECTION WAS PERFORMED, WHICH DETERMINED THAT THE CONDENSER WAS LEAKING. THE DEALER ALSO FOUND THAT THE VEHICLE PASSENGER SIDE OF THE SUB FRAME WAS CORRODED WITH ONLY TWO INCHES OF METAL LEFT SUPPORTING THE ENGINE. THE CORROSION ALSO SPREAD TO THE DRIVER'S SIDE. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE AND DENIED ASSISTANCE WITH THE REPAIR. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE FAILURE AND CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 62,000.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

8/16/2012 - PLAINEDGE , NY
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2002 KIA SEDONA. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE AIR CONDITIONING UNIT FAILED AND WAS BLOWING WARM AIR. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER AND AN INSPECTION WAS PERFORMED, WHICH DETERMINED THAT THE CONDENSER WAS LEAKING. THE DEALER ALSO FOUND THAT THE VEHICLE PASSENGER SIDE OF THE SUB FRAME WAS CORRODED WITH ONLY TWO INCHES OF METAL LEFT SUPPORTING THE ENGINE. THE CORROSION ALSO SPREAD TO THE DRIVER'S SIDE. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE AND DENIED ASSISTANCE WITH THE REPAIR. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE FAILURE AND CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 62,000.

View Details

AIR BAGS

10/11/2011 - BRADENTON, FL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2002 KIA SEDONA. THE CONTACT WAS DRIVING 45 MPH WHEN THE DRIVER AND PASSENGER SIDE AIR BAGS DEPLOYED INDEPENDENTLY. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT TAKEN TO THE DEALER, BUT THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE FAILURE AND CURRENT MILEAGES WERE 100,000.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 24
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds