Auto Recalls for Consumers

LINCOLN LS - 2002 LINCOLN LS Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Ford Motor Company

There are 91 complaints filed for the 2002 LINCOLN LS

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2002 LINCOLN LS. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2002 LINCOLN LS, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (13) Exterior Lighting (1) Seats (1) Structure (2) Unknown Or Other (2)
Communications (1) Fuel Propulsion System (1) Service Brakes (1) Suspension (20) Vehicle Speed Control (9)
Electrical System (7) Fuel System Gasoline (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (8) Tires (2) Visibility (8)
Engine And Engine Cooling (25) Latches Locks Linkages (2) Steering (6) Traction Control System (1) Wheels (6)
Equipment (3) Power Train (10)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  ... 10
 
ComplaintDescription

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

8/18/2014 - GILBERT, AZ
TL- THE CONTACT OWNS A 2002 LINCOLN LS. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THERE WAS AN INTERMITTENT LEAK OF FUEL AND A STRONG SMELL OF FUMES EMITTING FROM THE VEHICLE TO NO AVAIL. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 175,000. DYD

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

4/9/2014 - NASHVILLE, TN
VEHICLE IN FIRESTONE, CHECKING WHY HEAT BLOWING COOL AIR, OVERHEATED TWICE SINCE THE REPAIRS CAR HAS OVERHEATED 5 TIMES, EVERY TIME RETURNED TO SHOP THEY CAN'T FIND A PROBLEM

View Details

SUSPENSION

12/8/2013 - WACO, TX
THUD NOISE AND RATTLING COMING FROM FRONT OF CAR (FRONT WHEELS), WHEN GOING OVER EVEN THE SLIGHTEST BUMP.

View Details

SUSPENSION

2/5/2013 - DELTONA , FL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2002 LINCOLN LS. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 60 MPH, THE VEHICLE SHOOK CONSTANTLY AND WAS TAKEN TO AN AUTHORIZED DEALER FOR DIAGNOSIS. THE TECHNICIAN STATED THAT BOTH FRONT LOWER BALLS JOINTS NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE HAD NOT BEEN REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE PROBLEM. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 110,000.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

1/27/2013 - BURLINGTON, NJ
VEHICLE WAS COMING TO A COMPLETE STOP AT A TRAFFIC LIGHT. WHILE DECELERATING FROM APPROXIMATELY 20-30 MPH, THE CAR SUDDENLY SURGED FORWARD WITH FOOT COMPLETELY ON THE BRAKE PEDAL. CAR HAD DECELERATED TO APPROXIMATELY 5 MPH WHEN IT SUDDENLY ACCELERATED. DRIVER SWERVED TO AVOID THE CAR STOPPED IN FRONT, BUT VEHICLE STRUCK THE OTHER CAR IN THE REAR.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

12/19/2012 - DESOTO, IL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2002 LINCOLN LS. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 40 MPH, THE VEHICLE WOULD NOT SHIFT FROM FOURTH GEAR TO FIFTH GEAR. THE CONTACT ALSO STATED THAT THE CHECK ENGINE WARNING LIGHT WAS ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER FOR DIAGNOSTIC TESTING. THE TECHNICIAN STATED THAT THE POWER TRANSMISSION NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 120,000 AND THE CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 125,000.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM: SOFTWARE

4/30/2012 - PORTSMOUTH, NH
THIS VEHICLE HAS ISSUES WITH THE TRANSMISSION SHIFTING AND/OR NOT SHIFTING, IT SHIFTS BACK AND FORTH BETWEEN HIGH AND LOW GEARS UNTIL IT STALLS, THIS TIME IT STALLED WHILE IN FRONT OF A LARGE TRACTOR TRAILER. IT STALLED AND LOST ALL POWER INCLUDING STEERING AND BRAKES NEARLY CAUSING A CRASH. WHEN I TOOK IT TO THE DEALERSHIP THEY TOLD ME IT WAS A KNOWN ISSUE AND COULD DO NOTHING TO FIX THE ISSUE AS IT IS A GLITCH IN THE COMPUTER.

View Details

POWER TRAIN: AUTOMATIC TRANSMISSION

7/8/2011 - FARGO, ND
(02) LINCOLN LS ISSUES. (110,000 MILES CURRENTLY) FORD/LINCOLN SHOULD BE HELD ACCOUNTABLE FOR THIS PRODUCT. THE AMOUNT OF PROBLEMS FROM MANY CUSTOMERS AROUND THE COUNTRY IS SIMPLY AMAZING. FOR FORD TO NOT SEND OUT RECALLS ON THE LS IS SIMPLY A LACK OF PROFESSIONAL BUSINESS. THE FOLLOWING PROBLEMS ARE NOT ISOLATED TO MYSELF BUT RATHER BY THOUSANDS AROUND THE COUNTRY. - CLOCK SPRING REPLACED 2 TIMES. $600 EACH - TRANSMISSION PROBLEMS, UNFIXED AT THIS POINT. WILL COST $3,000 + - WINDOW MODS REPLACED 4 TIMES. $400 EACH TIME - ENGINE COILS BAD. $600 FIX, AND STILL DOESN'T RUN RIGHT. - THERMOSTAT ISSUES. REPLACED ONCE FOR $300 AND DOING IT AGAIN. - BOTH FRONT INSIDE DOOR HANDLES REPLACED. $400 EACH TIME. THESE WERE SPECIFICALLY DESIGNED TO FAIL AFTER TIME AFTER SEEING THEM! - LOUD "CLUNKING" COMING FROM FRONT PASSENGER WHEEL. LOOKED AT WITH NO ANSWER WHY. - CAR HAS SHUT DOWN ELECTRICALLY DRIVING DOWN INTERSTATE MULTIPLE TIMES ONLY TO START UP AFTER SITTING A WHILE. VERY DANGEROUS DUE TO LOSING POWER STEERING. NO ANSWER TO WHY.

View Details

SUSPENSION: FRONT

6/28/2011 - LANHAM, MD
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2002 LINCOLN LS. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE STRUTS, LOCK ARMS AND TIE RODS WERE REPLACED ON THE VEHICLE, BUT THE LEFT FRONT DRIVERS SIDE WHEEL CONTINUED TO MAKE NOISE. THE CONTACT STATED THE WHEELS BEGAN TO SHAKE WHENEVER HE DROVE OVER A BUMP. THE DEALER ADVISED THE CONTACT THAT THE BALL JOINT CAUSED THE FAILURE, BUT THEY COULD NOT REPLACE THEM. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 90,000 AND THE CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 100,000.

View Details

STEERING

5/11/2011 - NEW CASTLE, DE
I WAS DRIVING DOWN THE HIGHWAY AT 50 MPH WHEN I HEARD A LOUD NOISE COMING FROM THE BACK PASSENGER SIDE. THEN I FELT THE CAR GO OUT OF CONTROL AND I MANAGED TO SAFELY GET THE CAR TO THE SHOULDER. MY PASSENGER DOOR SIDE AIRBAG CAME OUT. WHEN I GOT OUT OF THE CAR MY TIRE WAS ALMOST COMPLETELY OF THE RIM. I HAD MY CAR TOWED TO THE REPAIR SHOP AND THEY SAID I NEEDED A NEW AXLE, WHEEL BEARING, CONTROL ARM, ROTOR, RIM AND TIRE. UPON FURTHER INSPECTION THEY REALIZED THE RIM WENT THROUGH THE UNDERSIDE OF TRUNK AND DAMAGED BATTERY AND ELECTRICAL COMPONENTS. THEY ESTIMATED IT WOULD COST ABOUT $3,000 TO FIX NOT INCLUDING THE BODY DAMAGE. I JUST REPLACED THE RIGHT FRONT HUB ASSEMBLY AND CONTROL ARM IN FEB. 2011. I HAVE REPLACED ENGINE COILS AND VALVE COVERS NUMEROUS TIMES.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  ... 10
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds