Auto Recalls for Consumers

LINCOLN TOWN CAR - 2002 LINCOLN TOWN CAR Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Ford Motor Company

There are 59 complaints filed for the 2002 LINCOLN TOWN CAR

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2002 LINCOLN TOWN CAR. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2002 LINCOLN TOWN CAR, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (18) Latches Locks Linkages (4) Service Brakes Hydraulic (10) Suspension (3) Vehicle Speed Control (12)
Electrical System (3) Seat Belts (1) Steering (3) Tires (1) Visibility (3)
Engine And Engine Cooling (3) Seats (1) Structure (2) Unknown Or Other (1)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  ... 4
 
ComplaintDescription

AIR BAGS: SIDE/WINDOW

3/13/2007 - FRESNO, CA
TRAVELING AT 65 OR 70 MPH ON A CALIFORNIA HIGHWAY LAST SUMMER, THE FRONT PASSENGER SIDE AIR BAG DEPLOYED (CAUSING PAIN, BRUISING, ETC. BUT NOTHING APPARENTLY PERMANENT - NO PERSONAL INJURY CLAIM HAS EVER BEEN CONTEMPLATED). IT WAS SHOCKING IN THAT THERE WAS NO CRASH OF ANY KIND. THE PASSENGER THOUGHT THE BAG DEPLOYED FOR NO REASON. THE DRIVER, NOT BEING CERTAIN, HAD THE IMPRESSION THAT SOME OBJECT (E.G., A SMALL PIECE OF TIRE RUBBER) WAS KICKED UP AGAINST THE CAR FROM THE ROADWAY. THERE ARE NO SIGNS OF ANY IMPACT WITH ANYTHING. THE BAG TORE PART OF THE LEATHER SEAT (BEYOND THE SEAM). THIS OCCURRED NEAR THE 5 YEAR POINT RE: WARRANTY. THE MANUFACTURER, FORD MOTOR COMPANY, SEEMED RESPONSIVE AT FIRST AND ASKED THAT WE TAKE THE CAR TO THE DEALER. I DID SO, AND WAS INFORMED BY THE SERVICE DEPARTMENT THAT FORD INFORMED THEM IT WAS REFERRED TO THEIR LEGAL DEPARTMENT AND, THUS, THEY COULD NOT EVEN LOOK AT, LET ALONE REPAIR IT. THE LEGAL DEPARTMENT TOOK SEVERAL WEEKS TO ULTIMATELY SEND A LETTER STATING THEY HAD NO RESPONSIBILITY. OUR INSURANCE CARRIER IS UNCERTAIN AS TO HOW TO HANDLE THE CLAIM. THE AIR BAG SYSTEM IN THIS LINCOLN TOWN CAR IS OBVIOUSLY DEFECTIVE. IS THIS A KNOWN DEFECT WITH THIS MODEL, ETC.? WHAT RECOURSE DO WE HAVE AGAINST FORD MOTOR COMPANY FOR FAILURE TO FULFILL ITS MORAL AND LEGAL RESPONSIBILITY TO REPLACE THE AIR BAG AND REPAIR THE SEAT? IS THERE NOT A FEDERAL AGENCY THAT CAN BE HELPFUL IN SUCH MATTERS? NOTE: THE DAMAGE OCCURRED IN EARLY JUNE, 2006 (ENTERED 1ST BELOW TO ALLOW FOR TRANSMISSION OF CLAIM).

View Details

AIR BAGS: SIDE/WINDOW

3/11/2007 - MARION, AL
ON THURSDAY, MARCH 1, 2007, MY DAUGHTER WAS DRIVING MY LINCOLN TOWN CAR APPROXIMATELY 55 MILES PER HOUR. FOR NO APPARENT REASON, THE PASSENGER RIGHT SIDE AIRBAG INFLATED. ALSO CAUSING INJURIES TO MY DAUGHTER, INJURIES INCLUDES A BRUISED EAR DRUM AND AN ASTHMA ATTACK.

View Details

VISIBILITY: WINDSHIELD WIPER/WASHER: MOTOR

12/6/2006 - GLENS FALLS, NY
: THE CONTACT STATED WHILE DRIVING 30 MPH ON A CITY STREET, SMOKE ERUPTED FROM ALL OF THE AIR VENTS ON THE DASH, AND FROM UNDERNEATH THE HOOD. THERE WERE NO VISIBLE FLAMES PRESENT. THE CONTACT TURNED THE ENGINE OFF, WHICH STOPPED THE SMOKE. AFTERWARDS, AS SOON AS THE ENGINE WAS RESTARTED, SMOKE WAS AGAIN PRESENT. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO A DEALER, WHO DETERMINED THE WINDSHIELD WIPER MOTOR SHORTED OUT AND NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THERE WAS A NHTSA RECALL, # 01V258000, REGARDING THE WINDSHIELD WIPER/WASHER MOTOR. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT INCLUDED IN THE RECALL DUE TO THE VIN. THE MANUFACTURER WAS ALERTED.

View Details

VISIBILITY: SUN ROOF ASSEMBLY

9/14/2006 - RIVERSIDE, CA
WE WERE TRAVELING THE I-40 IN AZ BEHIND A TRACTOR/TRAILER RIG. THE RIG THREW UP A ROCK. IT HIT OUR CAR. WE LOOKED AT OUR WINDSHIELD THINKING THE ROCK HIT THERE AND SAW NOTHING SO WE PROCEEDED. LATER, WE HEARD A STRANGE SOUND. I LOOKED IN THE REAR VIEW MIRROR AND SAW SOMETHING FLY OFF. WE STOPPED AND DISCOVERED PART OF OUR SUNROOF HAD BROKEN APART AND FLEW OFF. WE DUCT TAPPED THE REMAINING SUNROOF AND PROCEEDED AT A VERY SLOW SPEED. IT OCCURRED TO US IF A MOTORCYCLE OR CONVERTIBLE WOULD HAVE BEEN BEHIND US THEY COULD HAVE BEEN HIT BY THE GLASS. THANK GOD, THEY WEREN'T THERE. WE COULD HEAR PIECES OF THE GLASS FALLING ON THE SUNSHIELD. THANKFULLY, WE WEREN'T CUT. THE DEALER TOLD US THAT SUNROOF GLASS ISN'T LAMINATED OR OF THE QUALITY OF WINDSHIELD GLASS. IS IT POSSIBLE TO REQUIRE A DISCLAIMER OR A SAFER GLASS FOR SUNROOFS?

View Details

AIR BAGS: FRONTAL

8/29/2006 - VIENNA, VA
: THE CONTACT STATED WHILE DRIVING 30 MPH ON A DRY HIGHWAY, ANOTHER VEHICLE HIT THE CONTACT'S VEHICLE HEAD ON CAUSING EXTENSIVE DAMAGE TO THE FRONT END. NEITHER THE PASSENGER NOR DRIVER'S SIDE FRONT AIR BAG DEPLOYED. THERE WERE MINOR INJURIES SUSTAINED AND A POLICE REPORT WAS TAKEN. SEAT BELTS WERE WORN DURING THE INCIDENT AND FUNCTIONED PROPERLY.

View Details

AIR BAGS: FRONTAL

8/24/2006 - CALUMET, OK
: THE CONTACT STATED THE PASSENGER SIDE AIR BAG DEPLOYED FOR THE 2ND TIME. ON EACH INCIDENT, THE CONTACT WAS DRIVING 40-45 MPH ON A DRY COUNTRY ROAD. THE DEALERSHIP DETERMINED THAT GRAVEL CAUSED THE DEPLOYMENT. THE DEALERSHIP ALSO SAID THERE WAS A DING ON THE BELLY PAN OF THE BODY OF THE VEHICLE. THE CONTACT STATED THERE ARE NO MARKS ON THE VEHICLE. THERE WERE NO LIGHTS ILLUMINATED IN THE VEHICLE PRIOR TO EITHER INCIDENT. THE PASSENGER WAS INJURED WHEN THE AIR BAG DEPLOYED. UPDATED 09/05/06.

View Details

AIR BAGS: SIDE/WINDOW

5/25/2006 - ST JOSEPH, MO
: THE CONTACT STATED WHILE TURNING LEFT, THE VEHICLE WAS HIT IN THE PASSENGER SIDE BETWEEN THE TIRE AND THE DOOR HOWEVER THE AIR BAG DID NOT DEPLOY. THERE WAS NO INDICATION BEFORE THE CRASH THAT THE AIR BAG WOULD NOT DEPLOY OTHER THAN THE CONTACT STATED THE AIR BAG LIGHT HAD BEEN ILLUMINATING INTERMITTENTLY FOR SOME TIME. A POLICE REPORT WAS FILED. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO AN INDEPENDENT REPAIR SHOP WHO DETERMINED THE VEHICLE WAS TOTALED HOWEVER; NO DETERMINATION WAS MADE AS TO WHY THE AIR BAG DID NOT DEPLOY.

View Details

AIR BAGS: SIDE/WINDOW

3/13/2006 - WALTERS, OK
(1) 2002 LINCOLN TOWN CAR, VIN# [XXX] WITH APPROXIMATELY 76,000 MILES AND OUT ORIGINAL WARRANTY. NO PREVIOUS WARNINGS WERE GIVEN. (2) PASSENGER SIDE AIR BAG INADVERTENTLY DEPLOYED WITHOUT BEING INVOLVED IN AN ACCIDENT OR IMPACT. THIS INCIDENT OCCURRED WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 45 MPH ON A GRAVEL COUNTY ROAD IN COTTON COUNTY, OKLAHOMA. WHEN THE AIR BAG DEPLOYED, IT FRIED THE SENSOR ASSEMBLY CONTROL AND THE SAB SENSOR. IT ALSO RIPPED THE PASSENGER SIDE SEAT BACK AND SIDE OF SEAT. ESTIMATE AT BODY SHOP CAME UP WITH $1,506.00 DAMAGES AND I HAD TO PAY THEM $ 73.98 TO RUN TEST ON AIR BAG SYSTEM. AT PRESENT, NONE OF THE OTHER AIR BAGS ARE WORKING NOW BECAUSE OF THIS FAILURE. THIS ACCORDING TO FORD DEALER SERVICE AND BODY SHOPS. (3) EXTENDED WARRANTY WITH DIFFERENT COMPANY THAN FORD. EXTENDED WARRANTY COMPANY SAID IT WOULD REPLACE IF FORD DEALER WOULD RUN TEST ON CAR AND FOUND FAULT WITH AIR BAG SYSTEM. BILLINGSLEY FORD OF LAWTON, OKLAHOMA RAN TEST ON THIS CAR AND CAME UP WITH CONCLUSION THAT AIR BAG WAS WORKING PROPERLY. EXTENDED WARRANTY ADVISED ME TO CALL MY CAR INSURANCE CARRIER. I HAVE DONE THIS AND I AM WAITING ON THEIR DECISION. CAR HAS NOT BEEN REPAIRED AT THIS TIME. UPDATED 07/16/2012 INFORMATION REDACTED PURSUANT TO THE FREEDOM OF INFORMATION ACT (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6)

View Details

AIR BAGS: FRONTAL

3/1/2006 - ALEXANDRIA, VA
: THE CONTACT STATED WHILE DRIVING 55MPH, THE VEHICLE WAS HIT FROM THE REAR CAUSING IT TO HIT A METAL FENCE. NEITHER AIR BAG DEPLOYED. THE DEALERSHIP ADVISED THE CONTACT TO NOTIFY FORD MOTOR COMPANY, WHICH HAS NOT BEEN DONE. THE VEHICLE HAD EXTENSIVE DAMAGE. SEAT BELTS WERE IN USE, HOWEVER INJURIES WERE SUSTAINED AND THERE WAS A POLICE REPORT FILED.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

11/29/2005 - CARLSBAD, CA
2002 LINCOLN TOWN CAR. WHEN THE CONSUMER ACCELERATED MERGE AND PASS OVER INTO THE SECOND LANE, THE CAR SPED FASTER THAN SHE WAS CONTROLLING. THE DEALERS ONLY LOGICAL EXPLANATION WAS THAT THE FLOOR MAT PROBABLY BECAME ENTANGLED UNDER THE ACCELERATOR.

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  ... 4
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds