Auto Recalls for Consumers

TOYOTA SIENNA - 2002 TOYOTA SIENNA Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by TOYOTA MOTOR CORPORATION

There are 165 complaints filed for the 2002 TOYOTA SIENNA

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2002 TOYOTA SIENNA. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2002 TOYOTA SIENNA, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (6) Equipment (2) Power Train (10) Service Brakes Electric (1) Tires (15)
Electrical System (21) Exterior Lighting (1) Seat Belts (7) Service Brakes Hydraulic (21) Unknown Or Other (2)
Electronic Stability Control (1) Fuel System Gasoline (3) Seats (1) Steering (8) Vehicle Speed Control (8)
Engine (1) Fuel System Other (1) Service Brakes (1) Structure (39) Visibility (3)
Engine And Engine Cooling (16) Latches Locks Linkages (27) Service Brakes Air (1) Suspension (3) Wheels (2)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 14
 
ComplaintDescription

AIR BAGS

11/21/2013 - SAN JOSE, CA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2002 TOYOTA SIENNA. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE SITTING WITH THE VEHICLE AT A COMPLETE STOP, ANOTHER VEHICLE CRASHED INTO THE REAR OF THE CONTACT+S VEHICLE. AS A RESULT, THE CONTACT+S VEHICLE WAS PUSHED FORWARD AND THE CONTACT CRASHED INTO THE REAR OF THE PRECEDING VEHICLE. THE AIR BAGS DID NOT DEPLOY. THE CONTACT SUSTAINED INJURIES TO THE LEFT SHOULDER AND NECK. THE FRONT PASSENGER SUSTAINED INJURIES TO THE LEFT LEG AND WHIP LASH. A POLICE REPORT WAS FILED. THE VEHICLE WAS DEEMED AS DESTROYED AND TOWED TO A SALVAGE YARD. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 92,700.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

9/18/2013 - SYRACUSE, NY
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2002 TOYOTA SIENNA. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE GEAR SHIFT FAILED TO SHIFT OUT OF PARK AND DRIVE. THE FAILURE RECURRED SPORADICALLY. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC FOR DIAGNOSIS WHERE IT WAS STATED THAT THE STEERING COLUMN NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED AND THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 80,000.

View Details

STEERING

9/18/2013 - SYRACUSE, NY
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2002 TOYOTA SIENNA. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE GEAR SHIFT FAILED TO SHIFT OUT OF PARK AND DRIVE. THE FAILURE RECURRED SPORADICALLY. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC FOR DIAGNOSIS WHERE IT WAS STATED THAT THE STEERING COLUMN NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED AND THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 80,000.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

6/29/2013 - OMAHA, NE
EVER SINCE NOVMBER, 2008, MY 2002 TOYOTA SIENNA PASSENGER SIDE POWER DOOR, HAS INTERMITTENTLY FAILED TO OPEN EITHER BY ACTIVATING THE BUTTON ON THE INSIDE OF THE DOOR COLUMN, BY PULLING THE DOOR HANDLE OUTSIDE, OR THE INSTRUMENT PANEL DOOR BUTTON, OR WORSE, AFTER OPENING, WILL NOT CLOSE. THE DEALER HAD TO REINITIALIZE THE ECU IN NOVEMBER, 2008, AND HAVE HAD INTERMITTENT PROBLEMS SINCE. NOW, SINCE AT LEAST DECEMBER, 2012, THE SLIDING DOOR WILL NOT OPEN AT ALL BY ANY OF THE 3 METHODS AND CANNOT BE REINITIALIZED. ALSO, AT TIMES THE MANUAL DRIVERS SIDE PASSENGER DOOR, IN THE PAST ~ 1 1/2 YEARS WILL NOT OPEN EITHER FROM INSIDE DOOR BUTTON RELEASE OR OUTSIDE DOOR HANDLE AND PASSENGERS HAVE TO CLIMB OVER FROM THE FRONT SEATS TO ENTER OR CLIMB OVER THE FRONT SEAT & CONSOLE TO EXIT THE VEHICLE. I HAVE BEEN ADVISED BY MY LOCAL TOYOTA DEALER THAT I NEED TO "START WITH THE REPLACEMENT OF THE ECU," A PART COSTING $730.00 AND ABOUT $1000 WITH INSTILLATION. I HAVE READ OTHER HORROR STORIES THAT REPLACING THE ECU ISN'T NECESSARILY THE ANSWER AND MANY DON'T KNOW WHAT THE ANSWER IS. HAVE THERE BEEN ANY AUTO RECALLS ON THESE POWER DOOR MECHANISMS YET? I SEE A LARGE VOLUME OF THE EXACT SAME COMPLAINTS ON THE INTERNET FOR THESE SIENNA AS WELL AS WITHIN THE NHTSA DATABASE. IN THE EVENT OF AN EMERGENCY EVACUATION OF THE VEHICLES' PASSENGERS, AS IT STANDS, A CATASTROPHE IS WAITING TO HAPPEN.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY: DOOR

6/29/2013 - OMAHA, NE
EVER SINCE NOVMBER, 2008, MY 2002 TOYOTA SIENNA PASSENGER SIDE POWER DOOR, HAS INTERMITTENTLY FAILED TO OPEN EITHER BY ACTIVATING THE BUTTON ON THE INSIDE OF THE DOOR COLUMN, BY PULLING THE DOOR HANDLE OUTSIDE, OR THE INSTRUMENT PANEL DOOR BUTTON, OR WORSE, AFTER OPENING, WILL NOT CLOSE. THE DEALER HAD TO REINITIALIZE THE ECU IN NOVEMBER, 2008, AND HAVE HAD INTERMITTENT PROBLEMS SINCE. NOW, SINCE AT LEAST DECEMBER, 2012, THE SLIDING DOOR WILL NOT OPEN AT ALL BY ANY OF THE 3 METHODS AND CANNOT BE REINITIALIZED. ALSO, AT TIMES THE MANUAL DRIVERS SIDE PASSENGER DOOR, IN THE PAST ~ 1 1/2 YEARS WILL NOT OPEN EITHER FROM INSIDE DOOR BUTTON RELEASE OR OUTSIDE DOOR HANDLE AND PASSENGERS HAVE TO CLIMB OVER FROM THE FRONT SEATS TO ENTER OR CLIMB OVER THE FRONT SEAT & CONSOLE TO EXIT THE VEHICLE. I HAVE BEEN ADVISED BY MY LOCAL TOYOTA DEALER THAT I NEED TO "START WITH THE REPLACEMENT OF THE ECU," A PART COSTING $730.00 AND ABOUT $1000 WITH INSTILLATION. I HAVE READ OTHER HORROR STORIES THAT REPLACING THE ECU ISN'T NECESSARILY THE ANSWER AND MANY DON'T KNOW WHAT THE ANSWER IS. HAVE THERE BEEN ANY AUTO RECALLS ON THESE POWER DOOR MECHANISMS YET? I SEE A LARGE VOLUME OF THE EXACT SAME COMPLAINTS ON THE INTERNET FOR THESE SIENNA AS WELL AS WITHIN THE NHTSA DATABASE. IN THE EVENT OF AN EMERGENCY EVACUATION OF THE VEHICLES' PASSENGERS, AS IT STANDS, A CATASTROPHE IS WAITING TO HAPPEN.

View Details

ENGINE

3/11/2013 - TUCSON , AZ
I AM NOT ALONE IN THIS ISSUE. JUST GOOGLE IT. I HAVE HAD AN ISSUE WITH MY ENGINE LIGHT BEING ON CONSISTENTLY SINCE I HAVE BOUGHT THIS VEHICLE, BRAND NEW. I HAVE SPENT HUNDREDS OF DOLLARS, ENDLESS HOURS AND A LOT OF ANXIETY AND FRUSTRATION. WHEN I LIVED IN OHIO, IT WAS NOT A "BIG DEAL" BECAUSE THERE WERE NO EMISSION REQUIREMENTS. WHEN I MOVED TO ARIZONA, IT BECAME A NIGHTMARE. I HAVE HAD SEVERAL SERVICES BY TOYOTA ON THE VAN. I HAVE PAID HUNDREDS OF DOLLARS FOR WHAT THEY TELL ME IS THE PROBLEM AND IT STILL HAS NOT BEEN FIXED. I READ OTHER PEOPLES STORIES ONLINE AND THE SAME "REMEDIES. SUGGESTED BY TOYOTA AND THEIR COMPUTER READOUTS" THAT COST HUNDREDS, SOMETIME THOUSANDS OF DOLLARS AND IT IS STILL NOT FIXED. THE SAFETY ISSUE ARISES, WHEN IS THE ENGINE LIGHT A REAL ISSUE AND WHEN IS IT JUST TOYOTAS MANUFACTURING DEFECT? THERE IS NO WAY TO TELL. I AM CAMPAIGNING AND WILLING TO ORGANIZE A SOCIAL MEDIA RECALL. I AM TIRED AND OUT OF MONEY FOR REPAIRS THAT DO NOT WORK. IT IS TIME FOR TOYOTA TO ADMIT THE ISSUE AND FIX IT. THANK YOU.

View Details

TIRES: TEMPORARY/EMERGENCY SPARE TIRE

3/7/2013 - BOXBOROUGH, MA
THE SPARE TIRE IS MOUNTED UNDER THE VEHICLE WITH THE SHREDDER VALVE ORIENTED DOWNWARD FOR EASY ACCESS. THE WHEEL IS STEEL AND IS LOCATED SO THE TIRES KICK UP WATER AND ROAD SAND AND, WITH THIS ORIENTATION, WATER IS TRAPPED, LIKE IN A BOWL, AND SITS ON THE STEEL. THE PAINT HAS LONG BEEN BLASTED AWAY FROM THE SAND EXPOSURE AND NOW THE WHEEL IS RUSTED SO BADLY IT IS EXTREMELY THIN AND CANNOT BE USED WITHOUT RISKING FAILURE OF THE WHEEL, ESPECIALLY ON THE FRONT WHERE LOADS CAN REACH IN EXCESS OF 2500 POUNDS IN A DYNAMIC FATIGUE SITUATION. IT IS IMPORTANT TO NOTE THIS SIENNA HAS BEEN RECALLED ONCE ALREADY FOR RUST IN THIS AREA, THANKS TO YOU GUYS, AS RUST WAS DAMAGING THE RETAINING SYSTEM AND THE TIRE WAS FALLING OFF IN TRAFFIC. THEY HAVE SEEN THE RUSTED WHEELS AND THE STRENGTH IS NOW UNPREDICTABLE. ROAD SALT, RAIN, SAND ETC. AMOUNTS. THE SYSTEM DOES NOT HAVE ANY TYPE OF COVER. DEALER TOLD ME IT WAS NOT A PROBLEM. WE HAVE HAD 2 FLAT TIRES AND I THINK WITH MY WIFE & KIDS IN THE CAR IT IS A PROBLEM. IT IS A PROBLEM WAITING TO HAPPEN.

View Details

WHEELS

3/7/2013 - BOXBOROUGH, MA
THE SPARE TIRE IS MOUNTED UNDER THE VEHICLE WITH THE SHREDDER VALVE ORIENTED DOWNWARD FOR EASY ACCESS. THE WHEEL IS STEEL AND IS LOCATED SO THE TIRES KICK UP WATER AND ROAD SAND AND, WITH THIS ORIENTATION, WATER IS TRAPPED, LIKE IN A BOWL, AND SITS ON THE STEEL. THE PAINT HAS LONG BEEN BLASTED AWAY FROM THE SAND EXPOSURE AND NOW THE WHEEL IS RUSTED SO BADLY IT IS EXTREMELY THIN AND CANNOT BE USED WITHOUT RISKING FAILURE OF THE WHEEL, ESPECIALLY ON THE FRONT WHERE LOADS CAN REACH IN EXCESS OF 2500 POUNDS IN A DYNAMIC FATIGUE SITUATION. IT IS IMPORTANT TO NOTE THIS SIENNA HAS BEEN RECALLED ONCE ALREADY FOR RUST IN THIS AREA, THANKS TO YOU GUYS, AS RUST WAS DAMAGING THE RETAINING SYSTEM AND THE TIRE WAS FALLING OFF IN TRAFFIC. THEY HAVE SEEN THE RUSTED WHEELS AND THE STRENGTH IS NOW UNPREDICTABLE. ROAD SALT, RAIN, SAND ETC. AMOUNTS. THE SYSTEM DOES NOT HAVE ANY TYPE OF COVER. DEALER TOLD ME IT WAS NOT A PROBLEM. WE HAVE HAD 2 FLAT TIRES AND I THINK WITH MY WIFE & KIDS IN THE CAR IT IS A PROBLEM. IT IS A PROBLEM WAITING TO HAPPEN.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

7/31/2012 - CINCINNATI, OH
I WAS PULLING FORWARD FROM A RED LIGHT, SLOWLY ACCELERATING. SOMEONE CUT ME OFF, I SWERVED, AND THEN ACCELERATED INTO TRAFFIC. THE CAR STARTED ACCELERATING ON ITS OWN, FROM ABOUT 35 MPH (WHERE I PULLED MY FOOT OFF THE ACCELERATOR PAD TO "HOLD" THE SPEED BUT NOT CONTINUE ACCELERATING) UP TO 55 MPH--THIS HAPPENED VERY QUICKLY, IN A SMATTERING OF SECONDS. I REMEMBERED READING THAT YOU SHOULD JUST SLAM ON THE BRAKE AND HOLD IT DOWN HARD, WHICH I DID. THIS DID STOP FURTHER ACCELERATION, BUT IT DID NOT IMMEDIATELY SLOW THE CAR. I WAS ABLE TO SLOW THE CAR IN ABOUT 10 SECONDS, THOUGH DECELERATION WAS VERY SLOW. WHEN I FINALLY RETURNED TO 35 MPH, I DID NOT ATTEMPT TO ACCELERATE AGAIN FOR ABOUT TWO MILES. I STOPPED AT ANOTHER TRAFFIC LIGHT, AND WHEN I STARTED FORWARD FROM THE LIGHT, I DID NOT DEPRESS THE ACCELERATOR PAD WITH MY TYPICAL FORCE, ACCELERATING AT ABOUT HALF THE SPEED I NORMALLY WOULD, AS I DID NOT WANT TO BE TAKEN BY SURPRISE BY THE UNEXPECTED SUDDEN ACCELERATION AGAIN. THE PROBLEM DID NOT FURTHER REPEAT ITSELF THIS EVENING, BUT IT WAS QUITE SCARY WHEN IT HAPPENED. I KNOW IT WAS NOT THE FLOOR MAT UNDER THE PEDAL, AS THE FLOOR MAT HAS BEEN CUT AWAY FROM THE PEDAL AREA AND WAS PULLED VERY FAR BACK INTO THE DRIVER'S SEAT AREA.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

7/31/2012 - CINCINNATI, OH
I WAS PULLING FORWARD FROM A RED LIGHT, SLOWLY ACCELERATING. SOMEONE CUT ME OFF, I SWERVED, AND THEN ACCELERATED INTO TRAFFIC. THE CAR STARTED ACCELERATING ON ITS OWN, FROM ABOUT 35 MPH (WHERE I PULLED MY FOOT OFF THE ACCELERATOR PAD TO "HOLD" THE SPEED BUT NOT CONTINUE ACCELERATING) UP TO 55 MPH--THIS HAPPENED VERY QUICKLY, IN A SMATTERING OF SECONDS. I REMEMBERED READING THAT YOU SHOULD JUST SLAM ON THE BRAKE AND HOLD IT DOWN HARD, WHICH I DID. THIS DID STOP FURTHER ACCELERATION, BUT IT DID NOT IMMEDIATELY SLOW THE CAR. I WAS ABLE TO SLOW THE CAR IN ABOUT 10 SECONDS, THOUGH DECELERATION WAS VERY SLOW. WHEN I FINALLY RETURNED TO 35 MPH, I DID NOT ATTEMPT TO ACCELERATE AGAIN FOR ABOUT TWO MILES. I STOPPED AT ANOTHER TRAFFIC LIGHT, AND WHEN I STARTED FORWARD FROM THE LIGHT, I DID NOT DEPRESS THE ACCELERATOR PAD WITH MY TYPICAL FORCE, ACCELERATING AT ABOUT HALF THE SPEED I NORMALLY WOULD, AS I DID NOT WANT TO BE TAKEN BY SURPRISE BY THE UNEXPECTED SUDDEN ACCELERATION AGAIN. THE PROBLEM DID NOT FURTHER REPEAT ITSELF THIS EVENING, BUT IT WAS QUITE SCARY WHEN IT HAPPENED. I KNOW IT WAS NOT THE FLOOR MAT UNDER THE PEDAL, AS THE FLOOR MAT HAS BEEN CUT AWAY FROM THE PEDAL AREA AND WAS PULLED VERY FAR BACK INTO THE DRIVER'S SEAT AREA.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 14
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds