Auto Recalls for Consumers

TOYOTA SIENNA - 2002 TOYOTA SIENNA Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Toyota Motor Corporation

There are 167 complaints filed for the 2002 TOYOTA SIENNA

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2002 TOYOTA SIENNA. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2002 TOYOTA SIENNA, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (6) Equipment (2) Power Train (11) Service Brakes Electric (1) Tires (15)
Electrical System (21) Exterior Lighting (1) Seat Belts (7) Service Brakes Hydraulic (21) Unknown Or Other (2)
Electronic Stability Control (1) Fuel System Gasoline (3) Seats (1) Steering (9) Vehicle Speed Control (9)
Engine (1) Fuel System Other (1) Service Brakes (2) Structure (39) Visibility (3)
Engine And Engine Cooling (16) Latches Locks Linkages (27) Service Brakes Air (1) Suspension (3) Wheels (2)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 15
 
ComplaintDescription

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

10/4/2014 - ST. CHARLES, IL
WHEN DRIVING ON CRUISE CONTROL AND LIGHTLY BRAKING THE CAR SUDDENLY ALARMINGLY ACCELERATES. DEALER CLAIMS VARIOUS ISSUES THAT THEY TRIED BUT NON RESOLVED THE PROBLEM. I AM READY TO SELL AND AFRAID THAT THE BUYER MIGHT NOT REMEMBER TO FOLLOW MY INSTRUCTION TO TURN OFF THE CRUISE CONTROL BEFORE BRAKING. I HAVE BROUGHT THE CAR TO THE DEALER SEVERAL TIMES OVER THE YEARS, MOST RECENTLY THIS YEAR 2014.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

10/4/2014 - ST. CHARLES, IL
WHEN DRIVING ON CRUISE CONTROL AND LIGHTLY BRAKING THE CAR SUDDENLY ALARMINGLY ACCELERATES. DEALER CLAIMS VARIOUS ISSUES THAT THEY TRIED BUT NON RESOLVED THE PROBLEM. I AM READY TO SELL AND AFRAID THAT THE BUYER MIGHT NOT REMEMBER TO FOLLOW MY INSTRUCTION TO TURN OFF THE CRUISE CONTROL BEFORE BRAKING. I HAVE BROUGHT THE CAR TO THE DEALER SEVERAL TIMES OVER THE YEARS, MOST RECENTLY THIS YEAR 2014.

View Details

STEERING

6/13/2014 - ALPHARETTA, GA
OUR 2002 TOYOTA SIENNA HAD THE GEAR SHIFT REPAIRED AT A MAJOR ATLANTA AREA TOYOTA DEALER ON MAY 5, 2014. THE GEAR SHIFT REPLACEMENT REQUIRED THE ENTIRE STEERING COLUMN TO BE DISASSEMBLED. ABOUT ONE WEEK AFTER THAT REPAIR, THE STEERING COMPLETELY FAILED. THE STEERING WHEEL TURNED WITH ABSOLUTELY NO CONTROL OF THE WHEELS. BY SHEER LUCK THIS STEERING FAILURE OCCURRED IN A PARKING LOT AFTER JUST TRAVELING ON THE INTERSTATE. HAD THIS STEERING FAILURE OCCURRED AT INTERSTATE SPEEDS, THIS MAY HAVE BEEN FATAL. THE VEHICLE WAS RETURNED TO THE SAME MAJOR ATLANTA AREA TOYOTA DEALER AND THE CAUSE OF THE STEERING FAILURE WAS IDENTIFIED AS "STEERING JOINT BOLT BACKED OFF FROM CONNECTION". I WAS TOLD THAT THE STEERING FAILURE WAS CAUSED BY ONE BOLT COMING LOOSE. THE STEERING FAILURE WAS CORRECTED BY "RE-TIGHTENED' BOLT WITH LOCK TIGHT". IN SUMMARY, THE REPAIR OF A GEAR SHIFT BY A CERTIFIED TOYOTA DEALER SERVICE CENTER RESULTED IN COMPLETE STEERING FAILURE DUE TO ONE BOLT THAT "BACKED OFF FROM CONNECTION" OR THAT WAS NOT PROPERLY TIGHTENED OR SECURED. IT IS VERY CONCERNING THAT TOYOTA?S STEERING COLUMN DESIGN HAS THE POTENTIAL TO CAUSE COMPLETE STEERING FAILURE WHEN ONE BOLT COMES LOOSE. IT IS ALSO A MAJOR ISSUE THAT A CERTIFIED TOYOTA DEALER SERVICE CENTER IS UNABLE TO SAFELY DISSEMBLE AND REASSEMBLE THE STEERING COLUMN AND PROVIDE A SAFE AND DRIVABLE VEHICLE. I WOULD LIKE TO FIND OUT HOW OFTEN THIS TYPE OF STEERING FAILURE HAS OCCURRED ON THIS AND SIMILARLY DESIGNED TOYOTA VEHICLES. I WOULD ALSO LIKE TO KNOW HOW MANY CRASHES, SERIOUS INJURIES OR DEATHS HAVE RESULTED FROM THIS ISSUE. THIS CERTAINLY CAN?T BE THE ONLY OCCURRENCE. I FEEL IT IS IMPERATIVE TO ALERT OWNERS OF THIS VEHICLE AS WELL AS AUTHORIZED REPAIR CENTERS OF THE SITUATION OR ISSUE A RECALL TO ENSURE THAT THE STEERING JOINT BOLT IS SECURE. VIDEO CAN BE SEEN AT: HTTPS://WWW.YOUTUBE.COM/WATCH?V=6XB-CPKR4HY

View Details

POWER TRAIN

6/13/2014 - ALPHARETTA, GA
OUR 2002 TOYOTA SIENNA HAD THE GEAR SHIFT REPAIRED AT A MAJOR ATLANTA AREA TOYOTA DEALER ON MAY 5, 2014. THE GEAR SHIFT REPLACEMENT REQUIRED THE ENTIRE STEERING COLUMN TO BE DISASSEMBLED. ABOUT ONE WEEK AFTER THAT REPAIR, THE STEERING COMPLETELY FAILED. THE STEERING WHEEL TURNED WITH ABSOLUTELY NO CONTROL OF THE WHEELS. BY SHEER LUCK THIS STEERING FAILURE OCCURRED IN A PARKING LOT AFTER JUST TRAVELING ON THE INTERSTATE. HAD THIS STEERING FAILURE OCCURRED AT INTERSTATE SPEEDS, THIS MAY HAVE BEEN FATAL. THE VEHICLE WAS RETURNED TO THE SAME MAJOR ATLANTA AREA TOYOTA DEALER AND THE CAUSE OF THE STEERING FAILURE WAS IDENTIFIED AS "STEERING JOINT BOLT BACKED OFF FROM CONNECTION". I WAS TOLD THAT THE STEERING FAILURE WAS CAUSED BY ONE BOLT COMING LOOSE. THE STEERING FAILURE WAS CORRECTED BY "RE-TIGHTENED' BOLT WITH LOCK TIGHT". IN SUMMARY, THE REPAIR OF A GEAR SHIFT BY A CERTIFIED TOYOTA DEALER SERVICE CENTER RESULTED IN COMPLETE STEERING FAILURE DUE TO ONE BOLT THAT "BACKED OFF FROM CONNECTION" OR THAT WAS NOT PROPERLY TIGHTENED OR SECURED. IT IS VERY CONCERNING THAT TOYOTA?S STEERING COLUMN DESIGN HAS THE POTENTIAL TO CAUSE COMPLETE STEERING FAILURE WHEN ONE BOLT COMES LOOSE. IT IS ALSO A MAJOR ISSUE THAT A CERTIFIED TOYOTA DEALER SERVICE CENTER IS UNABLE TO SAFELY DISSEMBLE AND REASSEMBLE THE STEERING COLUMN AND PROVIDE A SAFE AND DRIVABLE VEHICLE. I WOULD LIKE TO FIND OUT HOW OFTEN THIS TYPE OF STEERING FAILURE HAS OCCURRED ON THIS AND SIMILARLY DESIGNED TOYOTA VEHICLES. I WOULD ALSO LIKE TO KNOW HOW MANY CRASHES, SERIOUS INJURIES OR DEATHS HAVE RESULTED FROM THIS ISSUE. THIS CERTAINLY CAN?T BE THE ONLY OCCURRENCE. I FEEL IT IS IMPERATIVE TO ALERT OWNERS OF THIS VEHICLE AS WELL AS AUTHORIZED REPAIR CENTERS OF THE SITUATION OR ISSUE A RECALL TO ENSURE THAT THE STEERING JOINT BOLT IS SECURE. VIDEO CAN BE SEEN AT: HTTPS://WWW.YOUTUBE.COM/WATCH?V=6XB-CPKR4HY

View Details

AIR BAGS

11/21/2013 - SAN JOSE, CA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2002 TOYOTA SIENNA. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE SITTING WITH THE VEHICLE AT A COMPLETE STOP, ANOTHER VEHICLE CRASHED INTO THE REAR OF THE CONTACT+S VEHICLE. AS A RESULT, THE CONTACT+S VEHICLE WAS PUSHED FORWARD AND THE CONTACT CRASHED INTO THE REAR OF THE PRECEDING VEHICLE. THE AIR BAGS DID NOT DEPLOY. THE CONTACT SUSTAINED INJURIES TO THE LEFT SHOULDER AND NECK. THE FRONT PASSENGER SUSTAINED INJURIES TO THE LEFT LEG AND WHIP LASH. A POLICE REPORT WAS FILED. THE VEHICLE WAS DEEMED AS DESTROYED AND TOWED TO A SALVAGE YARD. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 92,700.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

9/18/2013 - SYRACUSE, NY
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2002 TOYOTA SIENNA. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE GEAR SHIFT FAILED TO SHIFT OUT OF PARK AND DRIVE. THE FAILURE RECURRED SPORADICALLY. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC FOR DIAGNOSIS WHERE IT WAS STATED THAT THE STEERING COLUMN NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED AND THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 80,000.

View Details

STEERING

9/18/2013 - SYRACUSE, NY
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2002 TOYOTA SIENNA. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE GEAR SHIFT FAILED TO SHIFT OUT OF PARK AND DRIVE. THE FAILURE RECURRED SPORADICALLY. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC FOR DIAGNOSIS WHERE IT WAS STATED THAT THE STEERING COLUMN NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED AND THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 80,000.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

6/29/2013 - OMAHA, NE
EVER SINCE NOVMBER, 2008, MY 2002 TOYOTA SIENNA PASSENGER SIDE POWER DOOR, HAS INTERMITTENTLY FAILED TO OPEN EITHER BY ACTIVATING THE BUTTON ON THE INSIDE OF THE DOOR COLUMN, BY PULLING THE DOOR HANDLE OUTSIDE, OR THE INSTRUMENT PANEL DOOR BUTTON, OR WORSE, AFTER OPENING, WILL NOT CLOSE. THE DEALER HAD TO REINITIALIZE THE ECU IN NOVEMBER, 2008, AND HAVE HAD INTERMITTENT PROBLEMS SINCE. NOW, SINCE AT LEAST DECEMBER, 2012, THE SLIDING DOOR WILL NOT OPEN AT ALL BY ANY OF THE 3 METHODS AND CANNOT BE REINITIALIZED. ALSO, AT TIMES THE MANUAL DRIVERS SIDE PASSENGER DOOR, IN THE PAST ~ 1 1/2 YEARS WILL NOT OPEN EITHER FROM INSIDE DOOR BUTTON RELEASE OR OUTSIDE DOOR HANDLE AND PASSENGERS HAVE TO CLIMB OVER FROM THE FRONT SEATS TO ENTER OR CLIMB OVER THE FRONT SEAT & CONSOLE TO EXIT THE VEHICLE. I HAVE BEEN ADVISED BY MY LOCAL TOYOTA DEALER THAT I NEED TO "START WITH THE REPLACEMENT OF THE ECU," A PART COSTING $730.00 AND ABOUT $1000 WITH INSTILLATION. I HAVE READ OTHER HORROR STORIES THAT REPLACING THE ECU ISN'T NECESSARILY THE ANSWER AND MANY DON'T KNOW WHAT THE ANSWER IS. HAVE THERE BEEN ANY AUTO RECALLS ON THESE POWER DOOR MECHANISMS YET? I SEE A LARGE VOLUME OF THE EXACT SAME COMPLAINTS ON THE INTERNET FOR THESE SIENNA AS WELL AS WITHIN THE NHTSA DATABASE. IN THE EVENT OF AN EMERGENCY EVACUATION OF THE VEHICLES' PASSENGERS, AS IT STANDS, A CATASTROPHE IS WAITING TO HAPPEN.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY: DOOR

6/29/2013 - OMAHA, NE
EVER SINCE NOVMBER, 2008, MY 2002 TOYOTA SIENNA PASSENGER SIDE POWER DOOR, HAS INTERMITTENTLY FAILED TO OPEN EITHER BY ACTIVATING THE BUTTON ON THE INSIDE OF THE DOOR COLUMN, BY PULLING THE DOOR HANDLE OUTSIDE, OR THE INSTRUMENT PANEL DOOR BUTTON, OR WORSE, AFTER OPENING, WILL NOT CLOSE. THE DEALER HAD TO REINITIALIZE THE ECU IN NOVEMBER, 2008, AND HAVE HAD INTERMITTENT PROBLEMS SINCE. NOW, SINCE AT LEAST DECEMBER, 2012, THE SLIDING DOOR WILL NOT OPEN AT ALL BY ANY OF THE 3 METHODS AND CANNOT BE REINITIALIZED. ALSO, AT TIMES THE MANUAL DRIVERS SIDE PASSENGER DOOR, IN THE PAST ~ 1 1/2 YEARS WILL NOT OPEN EITHER FROM INSIDE DOOR BUTTON RELEASE OR OUTSIDE DOOR HANDLE AND PASSENGERS HAVE TO CLIMB OVER FROM THE FRONT SEATS TO ENTER OR CLIMB OVER THE FRONT SEAT & CONSOLE TO EXIT THE VEHICLE. I HAVE BEEN ADVISED BY MY LOCAL TOYOTA DEALER THAT I NEED TO "START WITH THE REPLACEMENT OF THE ECU," A PART COSTING $730.00 AND ABOUT $1000 WITH INSTILLATION. I HAVE READ OTHER HORROR STORIES THAT REPLACING THE ECU ISN'T NECESSARILY THE ANSWER AND MANY DON'T KNOW WHAT THE ANSWER IS. HAVE THERE BEEN ANY AUTO RECALLS ON THESE POWER DOOR MECHANISMS YET? I SEE A LARGE VOLUME OF THE EXACT SAME COMPLAINTS ON THE INTERNET FOR THESE SIENNA AS WELL AS WITHIN THE NHTSA DATABASE. IN THE EVENT OF AN EMERGENCY EVACUATION OF THE VEHICLES' PASSENGERS, AS IT STANDS, A CATASTROPHE IS WAITING TO HAPPEN.

View Details

ENGINE

3/11/2013 - TUCSON , AZ
I AM NOT ALONE IN THIS ISSUE. JUST GOOGLE IT. I HAVE HAD AN ISSUE WITH MY ENGINE LIGHT BEING ON CONSISTENTLY SINCE I HAVE BOUGHT THIS VEHICLE, BRAND NEW. I HAVE SPENT HUNDREDS OF DOLLARS, ENDLESS HOURS AND A LOT OF ANXIETY AND FRUSTRATION. WHEN I LIVED IN OHIO, IT WAS NOT A "BIG DEAL" BECAUSE THERE WERE NO EMISSION REQUIREMENTS. WHEN I MOVED TO ARIZONA, IT BECAME A NIGHTMARE. I HAVE HAD SEVERAL SERVICES BY TOYOTA ON THE VAN. I HAVE PAID HUNDREDS OF DOLLARS FOR WHAT THEY TELL ME IS THE PROBLEM AND IT STILL HAS NOT BEEN FIXED. I READ OTHER PEOPLES STORIES ONLINE AND THE SAME "REMEDIES. SUGGESTED BY TOYOTA AND THEIR COMPUTER READOUTS" THAT COST HUNDREDS, SOMETIME THOUSANDS OF DOLLARS AND IT IS STILL NOT FIXED. THE SAFETY ISSUE ARISES, WHEN IS THE ENGINE LIGHT A REAL ISSUE AND WHEN IS IT JUST TOYOTAS MANUFACTURING DEFECT? THERE IS NO WAY TO TELL. I AM CAMPAIGNING AND WILLING TO ORGANIZE A SOCIAL MEDIA RECALL. I AM TIRED AND OUT OF MONEY FOR REPAIRS THAT DO NOT WORK. IT IS TIME FOR TOYOTA TO ADMIT THE ISSUE AND FIX IT. THANK YOU.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 15
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds