Auto Recalls for Consumers

VOLKSWAGEN BEETLE - 2002 VOLKSWAGEN BEETLE Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by VOLKSWAGEN

There are 162 complaints filed for the 2002 VOLKSWAGEN BEETLE

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2002 VOLKSWAGEN BEETLE. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2002 VOLKSWAGEN BEETLE, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (43) Equipment Adaptive (1) Parking Brake (1) Service Brakes Electric (1) Unknown Or Other (4)
Electrical System (38) Exterior Lighting (14) Power Train (23) Service Brakes Hydraulic (8) Vehicle Speed Control (5)
Electronic Stability Control (1) Fuel System Diesel (1) Seat Belts (12) Structure (11) Visibility (12)
Engine (2) Fuel System Gasoline (3) Seats (2) Suspension (3) Visibility Wiper (1)
Engine And Engine Cooling (23) Fuel System Other (1) Service Brakes (3) Tires (1) Wheels (1)
Equipment (2) Latches Locks Linkages (4) Service Brakes Air (1)

Pages:  
<<  5  6  7  8  9  10  11  12  13  14  15  16  17  ... 17
 
ComplaintDescription

EXTERIOR LIGHTING: TURN SIGNAL: FLASHER UNIT

1/7/2008 - MIDLOTHIAN, VA
I HAVE THE SAME PROBLEM WITH MY 2002 VW NEW BEETLE AS IN PE 04073: TURN SIGNAL/HAZARD FLASHER FAILURE: EXTERIOR LIGHTING:TURN SIGNAL:FLASHER UNIT. THE FLASHER DOES NOT WORK CONSISTENTLY: IT STARTS, THEN STOPS AFTER ONE OR TWO BLINKS. THE TIMING OF THE BLINKS ARE ALSO ERRATIC. MY MODEL NEEDS TO BE COVERED BY THIS RECALL.

View Details

POWER TRAIN: CLUTCH ASSEMBLY

1/5/2008 - MARICOPA, AZ
CLUTCH NEEDS TO BE REPLACED IN MY 2002 VW NEW BEETLE. I COMMUTE 200 MILES A DAY.. ALL FREEWAY.. AND AFTER PURCHASING THE CAR USED AND USING IT FOR 5 MONTHS, THE CLUTCH NEEDS REPLACING ALREADY. I HAVE ALMOST ALWAYS OWNED MANUAL TRANSMISSION AUTOMOBILES AND HAVE NEVER HAD A CLUTCH PROBLEM. I DO NOT DRIVE A LOT USING THE CLUTCH SEEING AS MOST OF MY DRIVING IS ON THE HIGHWAY. I AM GLAD I NOTICED THIS PROBLEM EARLY AND WAS ONLY DRIVING TO THE STORE INSTEAD OF ON THE FREEWAY.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

9/24/2007 - PARKVILLE, MO
PASSENGER DOOR HAD BEEN DIFFICULT TO GET CLOSED SINCE ABOUT 9/15/06, BUT ON THIS DATE, ALTHOUGH DOOR HAD BEEN SUCCESSFULLY CLOSED AND LOCKED FOR 20 MILES, IT SWUNG OPEN AS I WAS EXITING A US HIGHWAY AND TURNING ONTO A STATE HIGHWAY. FORTUNATELY I WAS ALONE IN THE CAR. I TOOK IT TO A PRIVATE SHOP AND HAD THE DOOR REPAIRED - ALTHOUGH NOW I CAN'T OPEN IT USING THE OUTSIDE HANDLE, THE DOOR HAS NO PROBLEMS LATCHING. PREVIOUS TO THIS ISSUE WITH THE DOOR, MY TRUNK RELEASE BUTTONS ON BOTH MY DRIVER'S SIDE DOOR AND MY REMOTE WOULDN'T RELEASE MY TRUNK - I WAS ONLY ABLE TO OPEN IT MANUALLY USING THE KEY IN THE LOCK. I REPLACED THE REMOTE BATTERY, BUT THAT HAD NO EFFECT. AFTER MY CAR DOOR WAS REPAIRED, MY TRUNK RELEASES STARTED WORKING AGAIN. HOWEVER, ON OCCASION THE TRUNK HAS HAD THE SAME RELUCTANCE TO LATCH THAT THE PASSENGER DOOR DID. IN THE LAST MONTH, MY WINDOWS HAVE DECIDED TO GO NO FARTHER THAN AN INCH FROM TOP ON THE PASSENGER SIDE AND ONLY HALFWAY UP ON THE DRIVER'S SIDE AND I CAN NEITHER UNLOCK NOR LOCK MY CAR USING THE INTERIOR BUTTONS - I CAN ONLY USE MY REMOTE.

View Details

AIR BAGS: FRONTAL: SENSOR/CONTROL MODULE

9/12/2007 - BAY VILLAGE, OH
TL CONTACT OWNS A 2002 VOLKSWAGEN BEETLE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE AIR BAG LIGHT REMAINED ILLUMINATED. SHE TOOK THE VEHICLE TO THE DEALER AND THEY STATED THAT THE SCAN DTC FOUND THAT THE DRIVER'S BUCKLE RESISTANCE WAS SET TOO HIGH. THE FIRST TIME THE FAILURE OCCURRED AND WAS REPAIRED WAS ON APRIL 6, 2005. THE CURRENT AND FAILURE MILEAGES WERE 52,000.

View Details

AIR BAGS

9/11/2007 - ROSEVILLE, MI
TL CONTACT OWNS A 2002 VOLKSWAGEN NEW BEETLE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE AIR BAG LIGHT REMAINS ILLUMINATED. THE MECHANIC REPAIRED THE FAILURE ON SEVERAL OCCASIONS, HOWEVER, IT ALWAYS RECURS A FEW DAYS LATER. THE POWERTRAIN WAS UNKNOWN. THE CURRENT AND FAILURE MILEAGES WERE 37,000.

View Details

POWER TRAIN: AUTOMATIC TRANSMISSION

8/30/2007 - CARL JUNCTION, MO
WHEN YOU PUT THE CAR IN DRIVE WITH YOUR FOOT ON THE BRAKE, WHEN YOU LET OFF THE BRAKE THE CAR WILL ROLL BACKWARDS THEN JERK FORWARD.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM: IGNITION

7/27/2007 - ROWLAND HTS, CA
FAILURE TO START, WONT READ KEY IN IGNITION DEALER UNABLE TO FIX PROBLEM AS OF YET. SIMILAR PROBLEMS OCCURRED LAST YEAR, PRIOR TO ROUTINE MAINTENANCE WHEN PROBLEM WAS MENTIONED, THE DEALER COULDN'T FIND ANYTHING WRONG.... BASICALLY BRUSHED ME OFF. VERY FRUSTRATING SINCE I GREATLY DEPEND ON MY CAR FOR WORK. THE CAR IS COMPLETELY INOPERABLE!

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

5/16/2007 - ALABASTER, AL
02 NB WITH 7700 MILES, AIRBAG LIGHT CAME ON. TOLD SYSTEM WILL NOT WORK WITH THIS FAULT. TOOK TO ROYAL VOLKWAGEN, WAS TOLD THEY COULD NOT COMMUNICATE WITH AIR BAG COMPUTER, SO, SORRY. NO OFFER TO INVESTIGATE NOR FIX PROBLEM. SPOKE WITH VOLKWAGEN CARE LINE, WHAT A JOKE, SORRY, NOT UNDER WARRANTY. COME ON VOLKSWAGEN, LETS DO A RECALL, OR DO YOU REALLY NOT CARE ABOUT OUR LIVES??? GERMAN ENGINEERING MY MONEY.

View Details

SEAT BELTS

4/20/2007 - EDINA, MN
TL CONTACT OWNS A 2002 VOLKSWAGEN BEETLE. OVER THE COURSE OF THREE YEARS, THE SEAT BELT LIGHT REMAINED ILLUMINATED ON THE DASHBOARD. THE FIRST TIME THIS INCIDENT OCCURRED THE FAILURE WAS REMEDIED AT THE VOLKSWAGEN DEALER. THE SECOND TIME, THE ENTIRE SEAT BELT UNIT WAS REPLACED AS A RESULT OF A CRASH. THE CONTACT NOTIFIED THE MANUFACTURER ON MULTIPLE OCCASIONS, BUT VOLKSWAGEN IS UNABLE TO RESOLVE THE FAILURE. THE CURRENT MILEAGE IS 50,500 AND FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 30,000.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

10/25/2006 - GREENVILLE, MI
2002 VW BEETLE 2.0 GLS W/ APPROX. 77,000 MILES. LOW FUEL LIGHTS STAYS ON / WILL NOT GO OFF. THE FUEL GAUGE IS WORKING PROPERLY, THE LIGHT JUST WON'T GO OFF. WE CHECKED SEVERAL WEB SITES AND CONTACTED A COUPLE OF VW DEALERSHIPS. WE FOUND OUT IT IS LIKELY THE INSTRUMENT CLUSTER AND IT'S A FAIRLY COMMON PROBLEM. VW WOULDN'T WARRANTY THE WORK.

View Details
Pages:  <<  5  6  7  8  9  10  11  12  13  14  15  16  17  ... 17
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds