Auto Recalls for Consumers

VOLKSWAGEN BEETLE - 2002 VOLKSWAGEN BEETLE Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by VOLKSWAGEN

There are 162 complaints filed for the 2002 VOLKSWAGEN BEETLE

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2002 VOLKSWAGEN BEETLE. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2002 VOLKSWAGEN BEETLE, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (43) Equipment Adaptive (1) Parking Brake (1) Service Brakes Electric (1) Unknown Or Other (4)
Electrical System (38) Exterior Lighting (14) Power Train (23) Service Brakes Hydraulic (8) Vehicle Speed Control (5)
Electronic Stability Control (1) Fuel System Diesel (1) Seat Belts (12) Structure (11) Visibility (12)
Engine (2) Fuel System Gasoline (3) Seats (2) Suspension (3) Visibility Wiper (1)
Engine And Engine Cooling (23) Fuel System Other (1) Service Brakes (3) Tires (1) Wheels (1)
Equipment (2) Latches Locks Linkages (4) Service Brakes Air (1)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 17
 
ComplaintDescription

POWER TRAIN

8/16/2013 - MADISONVILLE, LA
THIS IS MY DAUGHTERS CAR AND WE ARE CONCERNED ABOUT THE SAFETY OF IT WITH HER GOING TO SCHOOL AND WORK. IT HAS BEEN JERKING VERY HARD ENOUGH TO THROW YOU WHOLE BODY FORWARD I JUST CAN'T BELIEVE THE COMPLAINTS I'VE SEEN WITH THIS CAR I WOULD HAVE NEVER BOUGHT IT KNOWING ALL THESE PROBLEMS. PARENTS CONCERNED PLEASE HELP TO GET FIXED. VW SHOULD BE HELD ACCOUNTABLE AND FIX THESE DANGEROUS ISSUES I PRAY EVERYDAY SHE IS OK DRIVING, CAN'T AFFORD TO GET ANOTHER CAR LET ALONE FIX IT!!! ALSO HAVE HAD OTHER ISSUES TOO BUT THIS ONE IS THE MOST CONCERNING!!

View Details

ENGINE

4/26/2013 - PORTAGE , IN
THE IGNITION COILS ON MY 2.0L AZG ENGINE CRUMBLED DURING A TUNE UP,WHICH RESULTED IN A $647.00 REPAIR BILL. NEW VW IGNITION COIL, SPARK PLUG WIRES AND OEM SPARK PLUGS WERE INSTALLED. TODAY, 4/26/2013, IGNITION COIL CRUMBLES AGAIN DURING TUNE UP. VW CLAIMS THEIR WARRANTY ON PARTS IS 12 MONTHS. VW RECALLED A TON OF IGNITION COILS FOR 1.8L ENGINES IN THE 2001-2003 TIME PERIOD CLAIMING HIGHER THAN NORMAL FAILURE RATES. I WOULD SAY THAT ONE IGNITION COIL EVERY 4 YEARS IS A HIGH FAILURE RATE AS WELL, CONSIDERING OF THE THREE CARS I HAVE CURRENTLY OWN (ONE FOR 15 YEARS), I HAVE NEVER HAD A COIL FAIL EXCEPT FOR TWICE FOR THIS BEETLE. A SEARCH OF VW OWNER WEBSITES AND YOU TUBE VIDEO SITES SHOW A PLETHORA OF FAILED IGNITION COILS AND HOW-TO'S FOR REPLACEMENT OF THE COIL. IF THIS ISN'T A PREVALENT PROBLEM, WHY ARE SO MANY PEOPLE CLAIMING IT HAPPENS? IT SEEMS THAT VW IS LIMITING THEIR LOSSES BY IGNORING THESE FAILURES.

View Details

VISIBILITY/WIPER

12/21/2012 - LYNDEN, WA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2002 VOLKSWAGEN BEETLE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING 60 MPH IN RAINY WEATHER, THE WINDSHIELD WIPERS BECAME INOPERABLE. THE DEALER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE WHO ADVISED THAT THERE WERE NO RECALLS FOR THE FAILURE AND THAT THE WINDSHIELD WIPERS SENSORS WOULD HAVE TO BE DISENGAGED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE VIN WAS UNAVAILABLE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 190,000.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

5/16/2012 - HANOVER PARK, IL
VEHICLE STALLED APPROACHING AN INTERSECTION. IT WOULD NOT RESTART, AND NONE OF THE ELECTRONICS FUNCTIONED. THE VEHICLE HAD TO BE PUSHED INTO A NEARBY PARKING LOT. UPON REPAIR, IT WAS DISCOVERED THAT THE BATTERY FUSE BLOCK HAD MELTED, AND THE IN-LINE FUSES WERE ALL DAMAGED. THE BATTERY FUSE BLOCK NEEDED TO BE REPLACED.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

3/20/2012 - SMOKEHAND VALLEY, WA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2002 VOLKSWAGEN BEETLE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE EXHIBITED AN ABNORMAL ODOR THAT CAUSED THE CONTACT TO RECEIVE HEADACHES. THE CONTACT TOOK THE VEHICLE TO THE DEALER WHERE THE DEALER ADVISED THAT THE ODOR WAS CAUSED BY A STAIN ON THE FLOOR MATS. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE ODOR WAS NOT COMING FROM THE FLOOR MATS BUT THE ENTIRE CARPET KIT. THE CONTACT REMOVED THE CARPET KIT BUT THE ODOR PERSISTED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 63,000. THE VIN WAS NOT AVAILABLE.

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE

11/11/2011 - RICHARDSON, TX
THERE IS AN UNUSUALLY STRONG, AND OBNOXIOUS, ODOR (SMELLING OF BURNT CRAYONS) COMING FROM THE INTERIOR OF THE CAR. THE SMELL IS SO OVER-POWERING I HAVE TO OPEN THE WINDOWS, AND LEAVE THEM OPEN, THE ENTIRE TIME I AM DRIVING THE CAR, OTHERWISE I BECOME DIZZY AND NAUSEOUS. I SEARCHED THE INTERNET, AND THERE ARE MANY PEOPLE WHO HAVE BLOGGED THEY HAVE A CAR MADE BY VOLKSWAGEN WITH THE SAME ODOR PROBLEM -- A FEW OF THESE WEBSITES ARE; ----(1) HTTP://WWW.FIXMYSTINKYCAR.COM/?P=706 ----(2) HTTP://FORUMS.AUTOMOTIVE.COM/70/6371584/VOLKSWAGEN/CHEMICAL-ODOR/INDEX.HTML ----(3) HTTP://WWW.CARSURVEY.ORG/REVIEWS/VOLKSWAGEN/JETTA/2001/PAGE-57/ ----(4) HTTP://WWW.WEBANSWERS.COM/AUTOMOBILES/WHAT-IS-CAUSING-MY-CAR-SMELL-5B4BD0.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING

11/11/2011 - RICHARDSON, TX
THERE IS AN UNUSUALLY STRONG, AND OBNOXIOUS, ODOR (SMELLING OF BURNT CRAYONS) COMING FROM THE INTERIOR OF THE CAR. THE SMELL IS SO OVER-POWERING I HAVE TO OPEN THE WINDOWS, AND LEAVE THEM OPEN, THE ENTIRE TIME I AM DRIVING THE CAR, OTHERWISE I BECOME DIZZY AND NAUSEOUS. I SEARCHED THE INTERNET, AND THERE ARE MANY PEOPLE WHO HAVE BLOGGED THEY HAVE A CAR MADE BY VOLKSWAGEN WITH THE SAME ODOR PROBLEM -- A FEW OF THESE WEBSITES ARE; ----(1) HTTP://WWW.FIXMYSTINKYCAR.COM/?P=706 ----(2) HTTP://FORUMS.AUTOMOTIVE.COM/70/6371584/VOLKSWAGEN/CHEMICAL-ODOR/INDEX.HTML ----(3) HTTP://WWW.CARSURVEY.ORG/REVIEWS/VOLKSWAGEN/JETTA/2001/PAGE-57/ ----(4) HTTP://WWW.WEBANSWERS.COM/AUTOMOBILES/WHAT-IS-CAUSING-MY-CAR-SMELL-5B4BD0.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

9/12/2011 - IRVING, TX
SINCE I BOUGHT THE VEHICLE, I HAD ALL KINDS OF PROBLEMS ALL THE WAY FROM CHANGING MY WHOLE ENGINE, AND CHANGING ALL KINDS OF SENSORS AND NOW I HAVE THIS BIG CONCERN WITH THIS STRANGE SMELL PROBLEM WHICH I CAN'T GET RID OFF, I HAD SPRAY AND BOUGHT ALL KINDS OF DEODORANTS AND STILL CAN'T GET RID OFF. I'M HAVING LIGHT HEADACHES AND ALLERGY PROBLEMS, BUT ONCE I GET OUT OF THE CAR I'M OK NOW IM TO THE POINT THAT I HAVE TO DRIVE WITH MY WINDOWS DOWN BCUZ THIS SMELL IS HORRIBLE AND I GET A HEADACHE.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC

9/5/2011 - BRADFORD , OH
MY FIANCEE AND I PURCHASED THIS BEETLE IN NOVEMBER OF 2010 AND HAVE HAD NOTHING BUT PROBLEMS WITH IT. IT HAS BEEN IN THE SHOP A NUMBER OF TIME (5-7) AND WE HAVE SPENT HUNDREDS IN TRYING TO FIX IT. YET NO LUCK. IT IS A DANGER TO MY FIANCEE AND NEW BORN BABY. ON DAY IT WILL RUN FINE BUT THEN AFTER DRIVING FOR TEN MINUTES THE EPC LIGHT COME ON AND THE BRAKES BARELY WORK IF AT ALL, AND IT WONT SPEED UP EVEN IF SHE HAS HER FOOT TO THE FLOOR. SO NOW WE HAVE A $6000 DOLLAR CAR THAT NOT EVEN THE VW DEALERSHIP CAN FIX. IT SITS ON OUR ROAD. I HAVE SEEN SO MANY COMPLAINTS ABOUT PEOPLE HAVING THE SAME PROBLEM AND I BELIEVE ITS ONLY A MATTER OF TIME BEFORE SOME ONE GETS SERIOUSLY INJURED OR EVEN WORSE. PLEASE DO SOMETHING ABOUT THIS MONSTROSITY THAT VW REFUSES TO ADMIT.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

9/5/2011 - BRADFORD , OH
MY FIANCEE AND I PURCHASED THIS BEETLE IN NOVEMBER OF 2010 AND HAVE HAD NOTHING BUT PROBLEMS WITH IT. IT HAS BEEN IN THE SHOP A NUMBER OF TIME (5-7) AND WE HAVE SPENT HUNDREDS IN TRYING TO FIX IT. YET NO LUCK. IT IS A DANGER TO MY FIANCEE AND NEW BORN BABY. ON DAY IT WILL RUN FINE BUT THEN AFTER DRIVING FOR TEN MINUTES THE EPC LIGHT COME ON AND THE BRAKES BARELY WORK IF AT ALL, AND IT WONT SPEED UP EVEN IF SHE HAS HER FOOT TO THE FLOOR. SO NOW WE HAVE A $6000 DOLLAR CAR THAT NOT EVEN THE VW DEALERSHIP CAN FIX. IT SITS ON OUR ROAD. I HAVE SEEN SO MANY COMPLAINTS ABOUT PEOPLE HAVING THE SAME PROBLEM AND I BELIEVE ITS ONLY A MATTER OF TIME BEFORE SOME ONE GETS SERIOUSLY INJURED OR EVEN WORSE. PLEASE DO SOMETHING ABOUT THIS MONSTROSITY THAT VW REFUSES TO ADMIT.

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 17
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds