Auto Recalls for Consumers

VOLKSWAGEN BEETLE - 2002 VOLKSWAGEN BEETLE Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by VOLKSWAGEN

There are 162 complaints filed for the 2002 VOLKSWAGEN BEETLE

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2002 VOLKSWAGEN BEETLE. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2002 VOLKSWAGEN BEETLE, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (43) Equipment Adaptive (1) Parking Brake (1) Service Brakes Electric (1) Unknown Or Other (4)
Electrical System (38) Exterior Lighting (14) Power Train (23) Service Brakes Hydraulic (8) Vehicle Speed Control (5)
Electronic Stability Control (1) Fuel System Diesel (1) Seat Belts (12) Structure (11) Visibility (12)
Engine (2) Fuel System Gasoline (3) Seats (2) Suspension (3) Visibility Wiper (1)
Engine And Engine Cooling (23) Fuel System Other (1) Service Brakes (3) Tires (1) Wheels (1)
Equipment (2) Latches Locks Linkages (4) Service Brakes Air (1)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 17
 
ComplaintDescription

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

9/5/2011 - BRADFORD , OH
MY FIANCEE AND I PURCHASED THIS BEETLE IN NOVEMBER OF 2010 AND HAVE HAD NOTHING BUT PROBLEMS WITH IT. IT HAS BEEN IN THE SHOP A NUMBER OF TIME (5-7) AND WE HAVE SPENT HUNDREDS IN TRYING TO FIX IT. YET NO LUCK. IT IS A DANGER TO MY FIANCEE AND NEW BORN BABY. ON DAY IT WILL RUN FINE BUT THEN AFTER DRIVING FOR TEN MINUTES THE EPC LIGHT COME ON AND THE BRAKES BARELY WORK IF AT ALL, AND IT WONT SPEED UP EVEN IF SHE HAS HER FOOT TO THE FLOOR. SO NOW WE HAVE A $6000 DOLLAR CAR THAT NOT EVEN THE VW DEALERSHIP CAN FIX. IT SITS ON OUR ROAD. I HAVE SEEN SO MANY COMPLAINTS ABOUT PEOPLE HAVING THE SAME PROBLEM AND I BELIEVE ITS ONLY A MATTER OF TIME BEFORE SOME ONE GETS SERIOUSLY INJURED OR EVEN WORSE. PLEASE DO SOMETHING ABOUT THIS MONSTROSITY THAT VW REFUSES TO ADMIT.

View Details

AIR BAGS

9/4/2011 - AURORA, CO
I OWN A 2002 VW BEETLE,THE AIR BAG LIGHT CAME ON,AND TOOK IT TO THE DEALERSHIP AND THEY WANT TO CHARGE AROUND $600.00 DOLLARS TO GET IT FIXED.I WAS DOING SOME RESEARCH ON LINE ABOUT THE AIRBAG LIGHT COMING ON,AND FOUND OUT THAT ALOT OF PEOPLE WHO OWNED THE SAME MODEL YEAR ARE HAVING THE SAME ISSUE.I THINK THIS ISSUE SHOULD BE A RECALL SINCE LOTS OF OTHER CONSUMERS ARE HAVING EXACTLY THE SAME ISSUE WITH THE AIRBAG LIKE ME.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

7/29/2011 - INDIANAPOLIS, IN
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2002 VOLKSWAGEN BEETLE. THE CONTACT SMELLED A BURNING ODOR THROUGHOUT THE VEHICLE. THE ODOR CAUSED HIM TO HAVE A HEADACHE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT TAKEN TO THE DEALER FOR A DIAGNOSTIC TEST. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 73,000 MILES.

View Details

POWER TRAIN: MANUAL TRANSMISSION

6/24/2011 - NEW MEXICO, NM
02M TRANSMISSION 6 SPEED; SHIFT FORK IN 1ST AND 2ND GEAR FAIL, A SMALL RIVET IS USED TO SECURE THIS FORK (BRASS FORK AND STEEL SHAFT) TOGETHER. MY 1ST AND 2ND GEAR WERE HARD TO GET INTO AND PROGRESSIVELY GOT WORSE OVER TIME; UNTIL THE SHIFT FORK FAILED AND 1ST, 2ND GEAR ARE NONEXISTENT; ALL OTHER GEARS WORK FINE. THIS IS A KNOWN ISSUE AND WIDELY REPORTED PROBLEM ON WEBSITES SUCH AS VWVORTEX. THIS PARTICULAR CAR; 2002 NEW BEETLE TURBO S; ONLY HAS ABOUT 70K WHICH IS LOW FOR A CATASTROPHIC FAILURE SUCH AS THIS.

View Details

STRUCTURE

6/15/2011 - SAN FRANCISCO, CA
WE PURCHASED A USED 2002 VW BEETLE FOR OUR DAUGHTER. IT SMELLS LIKE BURNT CRAYONS AND GIVES HER A SERIOUS HEADACHE. ONLINE THERE A NUMEROUS PEOPLE COMPLAINING OF THIS SAME PROBLEM. IT COMES FROM SOMETHING SPRAYED ON THE UNDERCARRIAGE, THAT SMELLS MORE WHEN THE CAR IS HEATED UP. YOU MUST BE AWARE OF THIS PROBLEM. WHAT ARE YOU GOING TO DO. WHAT SHOULD WE DO. THE ODOR WAS COVERED UP DURING THE TEST DRIVE, BUT HAS NOW BECOME UNBEARABLE. WHAT AVENUES SHOULD WE PURSUE. LEMON LAW, RECALL, ...WHAT SHOULD WE DO...OR MORE APTLY WHAT AREN'T YOU DOING? I WANT A SOLUTION.

View Details

VISIBILITY: WINDSHIELD WIPER/WASHER

4/6/2011 - MOORESBURG, TN
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2002 VOLKSWAGEN BEETLE. THE CONTACT WAS DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 45 MPH WHEN THE WINDSHIELD WIPER FAILED TO FUNCTION. IN ADDITION, THE POWER WINDOWS, TURN SIGNALS, HEADLIGHTS, AIR CONDITIONER AND DEFROSTER WOULD NOT FUNCTION. THE BRAKE AND ENGINE WARNING LIGHTS WERE ALSO ILLUMINATED AND THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE FAILURES OCCURRED AT THE SAME TIME. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT TAKEN TO THE DEALER FOR DIAGNOSTICS OR REPAIRS. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 65,000.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

4/6/2011 - MOORESBURG, TN
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2002 VOLKSWAGEN BEETLE. THE CONTACT WAS DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 45 MPH WHEN THE WINDSHIELD WIPER FAILED TO FUNCTION. IN ADDITION, THE POWER WINDOWS, TURN SIGNALS, HEADLIGHTS, AIR CONDITIONER AND DEFROSTER WOULD NOT FUNCTION. THE BRAKE AND ENGINE WARNING LIGHTS WERE ALSO ILLUMINATED AND THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE FAILURES OCCURRED AT THE SAME TIME. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT TAKEN TO THE DEALER FOR DIAGNOSTICS OR REPAIRS. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 65,000.

View Details

SEAT BELTS

12/28/2010 - UPLAND, CA
SEAT BELT/AIR BAG LIGHT CAME ON. TOOK TO LOCAL, QUALIFIED MECHANIC. THEY SAID ONLY VW DEALER COULD FIX AND RESET. DEALER SAID IT WAS LOWER SEAT BELT HARNESS ($380), BUT COULD BE MORE (ABOVE $800) AND THE SERVICE WRITER ENCOURAGED US TO DO THE MORE EXPENSIVE WORK. TOLD THEM TO DO THE HARNESS AND SEE IF LIGHT WOULD GO OUT, WHICH IT DID. LIGHT CAME BACK ON AROUND 12/10/2010 AT APPROXIMATELY 79,000 MILES. JUST PRIOR TO THIS, WE PURCHASED ANOTHER VW BEETLE, A 2003 CONVERTIBLE WITH 69,500 MILES WITH THE SEAT BELT/AIRBAG LIGHT ON. SELLER SAID HE COULD NOT GET IT FIXED BY HIS MECHANIC AND HAD TO HAVE VW DEALER REPAIR IT FOR AROUND "$380", MAYBE MORE. SINCE HE MADE OTHER REPAIRS, WE LET IT GO. NOW WE HAVE TWO TO FIX AT THE MERCY OF THE VW DEALER. MY CONCERNS ARE SEVERAL: 1. THIS IS A RECURRING PROBLEM FOR US AND FOR NUMEROUS OTHERS (VW BEETLE FORUM) 2. THE REPAIRS CAN ONLY BE COMPLETED BY A HIGH COST VW DEALER AND THE COMPUTER RESET BY THEM ONLY 3. THE MATERIALS APPEAR TO BE DEFICIENT/DEFECTIVE AND THE ENGINEERING OF THE HARNESS/WIRING SYSTEM SUBSTANDARD 4. REPAIRS NEED TO BE MADE IN THE 60-85,000 MILE RANGE - A CONTRIVED MAINTENANCE/REPAIR ITEM THAT BRINGS WINDFALL REVENUE/PROFIT TO VW DEALERS IN THE $400-1,000 RANGE PER OCCURRENCE WHEN MANY OF THE CARS ARE WORTH ONLY $4,000-7,000. 5. SINCE IT IS A BASIC SAFETY ITEM AND WE DON'T KNOW IF THE AIRBAG SYSTEM WORKS OR NOT, WE ARE FORCED TO REPAIR THIS PROBLEM BECAUSE IT MAKES US APPEAR AS IF WE ARE NEGLIGENT WHEN IN FACT THIS PROBLEM SHOULD NOT EXIST AND BE COVERED BY THE MANUFACTURER LIKE EMISSION SYSTEMS TO WELL PAST 100-150,000 MILES. IN SUMMARY, VW HAS COLLUDED WITH ITS DEALERS TO CREATE THIS SITUATION AND ALLOW THIS "REPAIR" TO EMERGE AS A WAY TO GENERATE REVENUES AND PROFITS ON CARS THAT WOULD NORMALLY NOT HAVE A REASON TO BE BROUGHT IN TO A VW DEALER. IT IS NON-COMPETITIVE, FRAUDULENT AND UNNECESSARY.

View Details

AIR BAGS

12/28/2010 - UPLAND, CA
SEAT BELT/AIR BAG LIGHT CAME ON. TOOK TO LOCAL, QUALIFIED MECHANIC. THEY SAID ONLY VW DEALER COULD FIX AND RESET. DEALER SAID IT WAS LOWER SEAT BELT HARNESS ($380), BUT COULD BE MORE (ABOVE $800) AND THE SERVICE WRITER ENCOURAGED US TO DO THE MORE EXPENSIVE WORK. TOLD THEM TO DO THE HARNESS AND SEE IF LIGHT WOULD GO OUT, WHICH IT DID. LIGHT CAME BACK ON AROUND 12/10/2010 AT APPROXIMATELY 79,000 MILES. JUST PRIOR TO THIS, WE PURCHASED ANOTHER VW BEETLE, A 2003 CONVERTIBLE WITH 69,500 MILES WITH THE SEAT BELT/AIRBAG LIGHT ON. SELLER SAID HE COULD NOT GET IT FIXED BY HIS MECHANIC AND HAD TO HAVE VW DEALER REPAIR IT FOR AROUND "$380", MAYBE MORE. SINCE HE MADE OTHER REPAIRS, WE LET IT GO. NOW WE HAVE TWO TO FIX AT THE MERCY OF THE VW DEALER. MY CONCERNS ARE SEVERAL: 1. THIS IS A RECURRING PROBLEM FOR US AND FOR NUMEROUS OTHERS (VW BEETLE FORUM) 2. THE REPAIRS CAN ONLY BE COMPLETED BY A HIGH COST VW DEALER AND THE COMPUTER RESET BY THEM ONLY 3. THE MATERIALS APPEAR TO BE DEFICIENT/DEFECTIVE AND THE ENGINEERING OF THE HARNESS/WIRING SYSTEM SUBSTANDARD 4. REPAIRS NEED TO BE MADE IN THE 60-85,000 MILE RANGE - A CONTRIVED MAINTENANCE/REPAIR ITEM THAT BRINGS WINDFALL REVENUE/PROFIT TO VW DEALERS IN THE $400-1,000 RANGE PER OCCURRENCE WHEN MANY OF THE CARS ARE WORTH ONLY $4,000-7,000. 5. SINCE IT IS A BASIC SAFETY ITEM AND WE DON'T KNOW IF THE AIRBAG SYSTEM WORKS OR NOT, WE ARE FORCED TO REPAIR THIS PROBLEM BECAUSE IT MAKES US APPEAR AS IF WE ARE NEGLIGENT WHEN IN FACT THIS PROBLEM SHOULD NOT EXIST AND BE COVERED BY THE MANUFACTURER LIKE EMISSION SYSTEMS TO WELL PAST 100-150,000 MILES. IN SUMMARY, VW HAS COLLUDED WITH ITS DEALERS TO CREATE THIS SITUATION AND ALLOW THIS "REPAIR" TO EMERGE AS A WAY TO GENERATE REVENUES AND PROFITS ON CARS THAT WOULD NORMALLY NOT HAVE A REASON TO BE BROUGHT IN TO A VW DEALER. IT IS NON-COMPETITIVE, FRAUDULENT AND UNNECESSARY.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

12/28/2010 - UPLAND, CA
SEAT BELT/AIR BAG LIGHT CAME ON. TOOK TO LOCAL, QUALIFIED MECHANIC. THEY SAID ONLY VW DEALER COULD FIX AND RESET. DEALER SAID IT WAS LOWER SEAT BELT HARNESS ($380), BUT COULD BE MORE (ABOVE $800) AND THE SERVICE WRITER ENCOURAGED US TO DO THE MORE EXPENSIVE WORK. TOLD THEM TO DO THE HARNESS AND SEE IF LIGHT WOULD GO OUT, WHICH IT DID. LIGHT CAME BACK ON AROUND 12/10/2010 AT APPROXIMATELY 79,000 MILES. JUST PRIOR TO THIS, WE PURCHASED ANOTHER VW BEETLE, A 2003 CONVERTIBLE WITH 69,500 MILES WITH THE SEAT BELT/AIRBAG LIGHT ON. SELLER SAID HE COULD NOT GET IT FIXED BY HIS MECHANIC AND HAD TO HAVE VW DEALER REPAIR IT FOR AROUND "$380", MAYBE MORE. SINCE HE MADE OTHER REPAIRS, WE LET IT GO. NOW WE HAVE TWO TO FIX AT THE MERCY OF THE VW DEALER. MY CONCERNS ARE SEVERAL: 1. THIS IS A RECURRING PROBLEM FOR US AND FOR NUMEROUS OTHERS (VW BEETLE FORUM) 2. THE REPAIRS CAN ONLY BE COMPLETED BY A HIGH COST VW DEALER AND THE COMPUTER RESET BY THEM ONLY 3. THE MATERIALS APPEAR TO BE DEFICIENT/DEFECTIVE AND THE ENGINEERING OF THE HARNESS/WIRING SYSTEM SUBSTANDARD 4. REPAIRS NEED TO BE MADE IN THE 60-85,000 MILE RANGE - A CONTRIVED MAINTENANCE/REPAIR ITEM THAT BRINGS WINDFALL REVENUE/PROFIT TO VW DEALERS IN THE $400-1,000 RANGE PER OCCURRENCE WHEN MANY OF THE CARS ARE WORTH ONLY $4,000-7,000. 5. SINCE IT IS A BASIC SAFETY ITEM AND WE DON'T KNOW IF THE AIRBAG SYSTEM WORKS OR NOT, WE ARE FORCED TO REPAIR THIS PROBLEM BECAUSE IT MAKES US APPEAR AS IF WE ARE NEGLIGENT WHEN IN FACT THIS PROBLEM SHOULD NOT EXIST AND BE COVERED BY THE MANUFACTURER LIKE EMISSION SYSTEMS TO WELL PAST 100-150,000 MILES. IN SUMMARY, VW HAS COLLUDED WITH ITS DEALERS TO CREATE THIS SITUATION AND ALLOW THIS "REPAIR" TO EMERGE AS A WAY TO GENERATE REVENUES AND PROFITS ON CARS THAT WOULD NORMALLY NOT HAVE A REASON TO BE BROUGHT IN TO A VW DEALER. IT IS NON-COMPETITIVE, FRAUDULENT AND UNNECESSARY.

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 17
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds