Auto Recalls for Consumers

VOLKSWAGEN BEETLE - 2002 VOLKSWAGEN BEETLE Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by VOLKSWAGEN

There are 162 complaints filed for the 2002 VOLKSWAGEN BEETLE

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2002 VOLKSWAGEN BEETLE. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2002 VOLKSWAGEN BEETLE, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (43) Equipment Adaptive (1) Parking Brake (1) Service Brakes Electric (1) Unknown Or Other (4)
Electrical System (38) Exterior Lighting (14) Power Train (23) Service Brakes Hydraulic (8) Vehicle Speed Control (5)
Electronic Stability Control (1) Fuel System Diesel (1) Seat Belts (12) Structure (11) Visibility (12)
Engine (2) Fuel System Gasoline (3) Seats (2) Suspension (3) Visibility Wiper (1)
Engine And Engine Cooling (23) Fuel System Other (1) Service Brakes (3) Tires (1) Wheels (1)
Equipment (2) Latches Locks Linkages (4) Service Brakes Air (1)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 17
 
ComplaintDescription

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

12/14/2010 - EUGENE, OR
SERIOUS ELECTRICAL LONG TERM QUALITY ISSUES, STARTING WITH UNDER HOOD WIRING FOR GLOW PLUGS MELTED AWAY, AIR BAG/SEAT BELT WIRING BROKE/FAILED, SEAT HEATER FAILED, PASSENGER DOOR SWITCH FAILED, TURN SIGNAL BULB HOLDER FAILED, REPEATED HEAD LAMP AND TAIL LIGHT FAILURES, ALTERNATOR PULLEY CLUTCH FAILED(EXPLODED) FACTORY ALARM PROBLEMS - JUST SETS OFF, AIR BACK LIGHT ON DASH ON, SERVICE ENGINE LIGHT ON.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

12/14/2010 - EUGENE, OR
SERIOUS ELECTRICAL LONG TERM QUALITY ISSUES, STARTING WITH UNDER HOOD WIRING FOR GLOW PLUGS MELTED AWAY, AIR BAG/SEAT BELT WIRING BROKE/FAILED, SEAT HEATER FAILED, PASSENGER DOOR SWITCH FAILED, TURN SIGNAL BULB HOLDER FAILED, REPEATED HEAD LAMP AND TAIL LIGHT FAILURES, ALTERNATOR PULLEY CLUTCH FAILED(EXPLODED) FACTORY ALARM PROBLEMS - JUST SETS OFF, AIR BACK LIGHT ON DASH ON, SERVICE ENGINE LIGHT ON.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC

9/29/2010 - LAWREWNCE, KS
I WAS DRIVING MY 2002 NEW BEETLE TO WORK. THE BRAKES FROZE UP, I COULD NOT STOP RAN A STOP SIGN I PUT CAR IN PARK STILL COULD NOT STOP. HAPPENED TWICE MORE B/4 I GOT TO WORK. I LOOKED UP RECALL FOR VOLKSWAGEN 2002. THERE WAS ONE "SERVICE BRAKES ,HYDRAULIC: ANTILOCK RECALL. I CALLED VOLKS AND WAS ASKED IF I WAS THE ORIGINAL OWNER? I TOLD THEM NO. ALTHOUGH I WAS ABLE TO SPEAK WITH SOMEONE ABOUT MY PROBLEM I GOT NO RESULTS. I WAS TOLD THERE WAS NO RECALLS FOR VIN NUMBER I GAVE HER. I CAME BACK TO WORK AND FOUND THAT THERE WAS, SAID EVERY VEHICLE HAS IT'S OWN ID NUMBER WHICH I UNDERSTOOD BUT I KNOW WHAT HAPPENED AND I COULD HAVE LOST MY LIFE.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC: ANTILOCK

9/29/2010 - LAWREWNCE, KS
I WAS DRIVING MY 2002 NEW BEETLE TO WORK. THE BRAKES FROZE UP, I COULD NOT STOP RAN A STOP SIGN I PUT CAR IN PARK STILL COULD NOT STOP. HAPPENED TWICE MORE B/4 I GOT TO WORK. I LOOKED UP RECALL FOR VOLKSWAGEN 2002. THERE WAS ONE "SERVICE BRAKES ,HYDRAULIC: ANTILOCK RECALL. I CALLED VOLKS AND WAS ASKED IF I WAS THE ORIGINAL OWNER? I TOLD THEM NO. ALTHOUGH I WAS ABLE TO SPEAK WITH SOMEONE ABOUT MY PROBLEM I GOT NO RESULTS. I WAS TOLD THERE WAS NO RECALLS FOR VIN NUMBER I GAVE HER. I CAME BACK TO WORK AND FOUND THAT THERE WAS, SAID EVERY VEHICLE HAS IT'S OWN ID NUMBER WHICH I UNDERSTOOD BUT I KNOW WHAT HAPPENED AND I COULD HAVE LOST MY LIFE.

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, OTHER

8/27/2010 - MENDENHALL, MS
CHEMICAL ODOR INSIDE CAR. RECENTLY PURCHASED A 2002 VW BEETLE. THE INSIDE OF THE CAR SMELLS LIKE BURNT CRAYONS. IT IS SO STRONG IT BURNS MY EYES AND THE SMELL GETS IN YOUR HAIR AND IN YOUR CLOTHING. THIS CANNOT BE HEALTHY TO BE BREATHING. I LIVE IN MS AND THE HEAT SEEMS TO MAKE THE SMELL STRONGER. I'VE READ MANY THREADS WITH A LOT OF PEOPLE ON LINE COMPLAINING OF THIS SAME PROBLEM BUT VW DEALERSHIP SAYS THEY CANNOT HELP.

View Details

AIR BAGS

8/16/2010 - WARREN, RI
VW DEALER ADVISES THAT AIRBAG LIGHT INDICATES AIRBAGS ARE DISABLED AND CAUSED BY A MALFUNCTION IN THE SEATBELT ASSEMBLY COSTING OVER $500 TO REPAIR. D.O.T. REQUIRES MANUFACTURERS TO INSERT AIRBAGS AS SAFETY MEASURES, BUT FAILS TO ENFORCE AUTO MANUFACTURERS MAINTENANCE REQUIREMENTS FOR THIS DEFECT. FAILURE OF SAFETY EQUIPMENT SHOULD BE AN AUTOMATIC RECALL AND MANUFACTURERS SHOULD BE REQUIRED TO REPAIR DEFECTS AT THEIR COSTS AND NOT COST TO THE CONSUMER.

View Details

POWER TRAIN: DRIVELINE: DIFFERENTIAL UNIT

8/2/2010 - BALTIMORE , MD
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2002 VOLKSWAGEN BEETLE. THE CONTACT STATED WHILE TRAVELING APPROXIMATELY 75MPH, THE TRANSMISSION INDEPENDENTLY DOWNSHIFTED YET THERE WAS AN UNUSUAL INCREASE IN ENGINE RPMS. THE VEHICLE ABNORMALLY DECELERATED FROM 75 TO 15 MPH WITHIN SECONDS. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO THE DEALER WHERE THE CONTACT WAS ADVISED THAT THE TRANSMISSION REAR DIFFERENTIAL GEAR WAS DEFECTIVE. THE MECHANIC ALSO ADVISED THAT THE TRANSMISSION WOULD NEED TO BE REPLACED. THE FAILURE AND CURRENT MILEAGES WERE APPROXIMATELY 100,000.

View Details

AIR BAGS

7/30/2010 - EUGENE, OR
FAILED AIRBAG WIRING - DEALER SAYS ITS RELATED TO A SEAT SENSOR - LIGHT ON DASH CAME ON AT 62,000 MILES HAS 108,000 CURRENTLY.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

7/27/2010 - MIAMI, FL
2002 VW BEETLE TURBO 1.8 WHILE DRIVING THE RED LIGHT SENSOR WOULD COME ON STATING MY CAR WAS OVERHEATING. NOTHING WAS LEAKING, SENSORS WERE REPLACED A FEW MONTHS PRIOR DUE TO THE SAME ISSUE ALONG WITH A RING AND IT HAPPENED AGAIN. THE RED LIGHT FLASHES THEN ABOUT 2 MILES LATER THE OIL LIGHT GOES ON AND IF THE CAR IS NOT PULLED OVER IMMEDIATELY THEN YOU RISK ENGINE DAMAGE. THE ENTIRE ENGINE IS MADE UP OF PLASTIC PARTS PRETTY MUCH WHICH CRACK AND MELT VERY EASY WHEN HEAT GETS TO THEM. SO NOW AFTER SPENDING MONEY ON WATER PUMPS, ASSEMBLIES, HOSES, SENSORS WHICH TOTAL OVER 3K IT IS NOW AN ISSUE ONCE AGAIN AND THE CAR IS UNDRIVABLE. I AM EXTREMELY DISAPPOINTED IN THIS VEHICLE. ALSO MY IGNITER COILS WERE REPLACED 8 TIMES (2X EACH ONE) PRIOR TO A RECALL AND THEY DO NOT REIMBURSE YOU ALL THE MONIES SPENT. NOW THERE IS A RECALL IN MY SUNROOF WHICH THE DEALERSHIP WILL NOT FIX SINCE THE WATER DAMAGE IS ALREADY AFFECTING THE ROOF OF THE VEHICLE. SO WITH ALL OF MY RECEIPTS NOT INCLUDING RENTAL CARS FOR REPAIRS ONLY I HAVE INVESTED OVER 6K IN A CAR WORTH LESS AND I DOUBT NO ONE WILL PAY TO TAKE IT OFF MY HANDS WHICH WILL LEAVE A SINGLE MOTHER CAR LESS.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING

7/27/2010 - MIAMI, FL
2002 VW BEETLE TURBO 1.8 WHILE DRIVING THE RED LIGHT SENSOR WOULD COME ON STATING MY CAR WAS OVERHEATING. NOTHING WAS LEAKING, SENSORS WERE REPLACED A FEW MONTHS PRIOR DUE TO THE SAME ISSUE ALONG WITH A RING AND IT HAPPENED AGAIN. THE RED LIGHT FLASHES THEN ABOUT 2 MILES LATER THE OIL LIGHT GOES ON AND IF THE CAR IS NOT PULLED OVER IMMEDIATELY THEN YOU RISK ENGINE DAMAGE. THE ENTIRE ENGINE IS MADE UP OF PLASTIC PARTS PRETTY MUCH WHICH CRACK AND MELT VERY EASY WHEN HEAT GETS TO THEM. SO NOW AFTER SPENDING MONEY ON WATER PUMPS, ASSEMBLIES, HOSES, SENSORS WHICH TOTAL OVER 3K IT IS NOW AN ISSUE ONCE AGAIN AND THE CAR IS UNDRIVABLE. I AM EXTREMELY DISAPPOINTED IN THIS VEHICLE. ALSO MY IGNITER COILS WERE REPLACED 8 TIMES (2X EACH ONE) PRIOR TO A RECALL AND THEY DO NOT REIMBURSE YOU ALL THE MONIES SPENT. NOW THERE IS A RECALL IN MY SUNROOF WHICH THE DEALERSHIP WILL NOT FIX SINCE THE WATER DAMAGE IS ALREADY AFFECTING THE ROOF OF THE VEHICLE. SO WITH ALL OF MY RECEIPTS NOT INCLUDING RENTAL CARS FOR REPAIRS ONLY I HAVE INVESTED OVER 6K IN A CAR WORTH LESS AND I DOUBT NO ONE WILL PAY TO TAKE IT OFF MY HANDS WHICH WILL LEAVE A SINGLE MOTHER CAR LESS.

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 17
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds