Auto Recalls for Consumers

VOLKSWAGEN BEETLE - 2002 VOLKSWAGEN BEETLE Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by VOLKSWAGEN

There are 160 complaints filed for the 2002 VOLKSWAGEN BEETLE

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2002 VOLKSWAGEN BEETLE. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2002 VOLKSWAGEN BEETLE, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (42) Equipment Adaptive (1) Parking Brake (1) Service Brakes Electric (1) Unknown Or Other (4)
Electrical System (38) Exterior Lighting (14) Power Train (23) Service Brakes Hydraulic (8) Vehicle Speed Control (5)
Electronic Stability Control (1) Fuel System Diesel (1) Seat Belts (12) Structure (10) Visibility (12)
Engine (2) Fuel System Gasoline (3) Seats (2) Suspension (3) Visibility Wiper (1)
Engine And Engine Cooling (23) Fuel System Other (1) Service Brakes (2) Tires (1) Wheels (1)
Equipment (2) Latches Locks Linkages (4) Service Brakes Air (1)

Pages:  
<<  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  11  >>  ... 16
 
ComplaintDescription

AIR BAGS: SIDE/WINDOW

2/3/2009 - WINDSOR, 00
AIR BAG DEFAULT, LIGHT INDICATOR ON SHOWS THAT THERE IS AN AIR BAG MALFUNCTION IN THE PASSENGER SIDE AIR BAG. VW DEALERSHIP SUGGESTED REPLACEMENT OF THE AIR BAG FOR $800. CAR IS ONLY 6 YEARS OLD, 65,000KM, NO ACCIDENTS. THIS SHOULD BE INCLUDED UNDER WARRANTY.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING: ENGINE

1/18/2009 - SAVANNAH, GA
IN AUGUST 2008 I WENT TO HAVE MY OIL CHANGED AT A VOLKSWAGEN DEALER IN KALAMAZOO, MI. THEY SAID THAT THE ALUMINUM OIL PAN PLUG HAD BEEN OVERTIGHTENED AND THE PAN WAS RUINED. I WAS TOLD THAT POTENTIALLY THE PLUG COULD HAVE FALLEN OUT AT ANY POINT IN TIME, LEAVING ME IN A DANGEROUS SITUATION, EITHER STRANDED SOMEWHERE BUT MOST LIKELY CAUSING A CRASH. THEY TOLD ME THAT THE ALUMINUM PANS WEAR OUT AND NEED TO BE REPLACED, BUT THIS CAR HAD ONLY 35,000 MILES ON IT AT THE TIME. SOMETHING LIKE AN OIL PAN SHOULDN'T JUST "WEAR OUT" AFTER THAT SHORT A TIME. THEY ALSO TOLD ME I WAS BETTER OFF REPLACING THE ALUMINUM PAN WITH THE STEEL BECAUSE THE ALUMINUM WAS SUSCEPTIBLE TO PUNCTURES FROM ALMOST ANYTHING. THE NEW VOLKSWAGENS ARE BEING MANUFACTURED WITH STEEL PANS AND VOLKSWAGEN SHOULD BE WILLING TO REPLACE THE OLD ALUMINUM FREE OF CHARGE. THE NEW PAN COST ME $293.69.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING

1/18/2009 - SAVANNAH, GA
IN AUGUST 2008 I WENT TO HAVE MY OIL CHANGED AT A VOLKSWAGEN DEALER IN KALAMAZOO, MI. THEY SAID THAT THE ALUMINUM OIL PAN PLUG HAD BEEN OVERTIGHTENED AND THE PAN WAS RUINED. I WAS TOLD THAT POTENTIALLY THE PLUG COULD HAVE FALLEN OUT AT ANY POINT IN TIME, LEAVING ME IN A DANGEROUS SITUATION, EITHER STRANDED SOMEWHERE BUT MOST LIKELY CAUSING A CRASH. THEY TOLD ME THAT THE ALUMINUM PANS WEAR OUT AND NEED TO BE REPLACED, BUT THIS CAR HAD ONLY 35,000 MILES ON IT AT THE TIME. SOMETHING LIKE AN OIL PAN SHOULDN'T JUST "WEAR OUT" AFTER THAT SHORT A TIME. THEY ALSO TOLD ME I WAS BETTER OFF REPLACING THE ALUMINUM PAN WITH THE STEEL BECAUSE THE ALUMINUM WAS SUSCEPTIBLE TO PUNCTURES FROM ALMOST ANYTHING. THE NEW VOLKSWAGENS ARE BEING MANUFACTURED WITH STEEL PANS AND VOLKSWAGEN SHOULD BE WILLING TO REPLACE THE OLD ALUMINUM FREE OF CHARGE. THE NEW PAN COST ME $293.69.

View Details

VISIBILITY

1/18/2009 - SAVANNAH, GA
I HAVE HAD MY WINDSHIELD WIPERS REPLACED TWICE, AND THE LAST TIME WAS AT A VOLKSWAGEN DEALERSHIP. WHILE DRIVING DURING A TWO-DAY 18 HOUR ROAD TRIP IN VARYING HEAVINESS OF RAIN, THE WINDSHIELD WIPERS STOPPED WORKING DURING A DOWNPOUR ON A HIGHWAY. THEY FROZE MID WIPE CAUSING A TEMPORARY LACK OF VISIBILITY AND POTENTIALLY A FATAL CRASH. AFTER TURNING THEM OFF FOR A MINUTE THEY STARTED WORKING AGAIN. HAD THIS PROBABLY SEVERAL HOURS LATER AND AGAIN THE NEXT MORNING AFTER THEY HAD BEEN OFF FOR OVER 12 HOURS. THIS EXACT PROBLEM (STOPPED WINDSHIELD WIPERS) DID NOT OCCUR AGAIN. HOWEVER ON JANUARY 17TH, 2009, AFTER USING WIPERS CONTINUOUSLY DURING A CALM RAIN STORM FOR A TOTAL OF ABOUT 30 MINUTES, THE WIPERS WOULD NOT TURN OFF. WHEN THE WIPERS WERE PLACED IN THE OFF POSITION THEY CONTINUE TO WIPE BACK AND FORTH RATHER QUICKLY. THE OTHER SPEED SETTINGS WORK FINE. THEN, AFTER TURNING OFF THE ENGINE AND REMOVING THE KEY AND STARTING THE CAR UP AGAIN, THE WIPERS WOULD NOT CONTINUE WHILE IN THE OFF POSITION, BUT AFTER TURNING THEM ON ONCE THEY WILL NOT GO OFF. PROBLEM HAS NOT BEEN SOLVED AND A VOLKSWAGEN SPECIALIST IN AUSTIN, TX (WHERE I ENDED UP AFTER MY TRIP) HAD NEVER HEARD OF THE ISSUE.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

1/18/2009 - SAVANNAH, GA
I HAVE HAD MY WINDSHIELD WIPERS REPLACED TWICE, AND THE LAST TIME WAS AT A VOLKSWAGEN DEALERSHIP. WHILE DRIVING DURING A TWO-DAY 18 HOUR ROAD TRIP IN VARYING HEAVINESS OF RAIN, THE WINDSHIELD WIPERS STOPPED WORKING DURING A DOWNPOUR ON A HIGHWAY. THEY FROZE MID WIPE CAUSING A TEMPORARY LACK OF VISIBILITY AND POTENTIALLY A FATAL CRASH. AFTER TURNING THEM OFF FOR A MINUTE THEY STARTED WORKING AGAIN. HAD THIS PROBABLY SEVERAL HOURS LATER AND AGAIN THE NEXT MORNING AFTER THEY HAD BEEN OFF FOR OVER 12 HOURS. THIS EXACT PROBLEM (STOPPED WINDSHIELD WIPERS) DID NOT OCCUR AGAIN. HOWEVER ON JANUARY 17TH, 2009, AFTER USING WIPERS CONTINUOUSLY DURING A CALM RAIN STORM FOR A TOTAL OF ABOUT 30 MINUTES, THE WIPERS WOULD NOT TURN OFF. WHEN THE WIPERS WERE PLACED IN THE OFF POSITION THEY CONTINUE TO WIPE BACK AND FORTH RATHER QUICKLY. THE OTHER SPEED SETTINGS WORK FINE. THEN, AFTER TURNING OFF THE ENGINE AND REMOVING THE KEY AND STARTING THE CAR UP AGAIN, THE WIPERS WOULD NOT CONTINUE WHILE IN THE OFF POSITION, BUT AFTER TURNING THEM ON ONCE THEY WILL NOT GO OFF. PROBLEM HAS NOT BEEN SOLVED AND A VOLKSWAGEN SPECIALIST IN AUSTIN, TX (WHERE I ENDED UP AFTER MY TRIP) HAD NEVER HEARD OF THE ISSUE.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING: COOLING SYSTEM

1/18/2009 - SAVANNAH, GA
IN THE FALL OF 2007 THE ENGINE OVERHEATING LIGHT WOULD COME ON WHILE DRIVING 40MPH+. CAR REMAINED AT A DECENT TEMPERATURE UNTIL THAT SPEED. CHECKED EVERYTHING POSSIBLE BEFORE GOING TO THE DEALER. DEALER SAID THE WATER PUMP WAS BAD AND IT COST $800 TO REPLACE THE PUMP AND A COUPLE OF CHEAP BELTS THEY HAD TO REMOVE IN THE PROCESS. AT THE TIME THE CAR WAS 5 YEARS OLD AND HAD AROUND 30,000 MILES ON IT. VERY UPSET THAT THE WATER PUMP WENT OUT AFTER 30,000 MILES.

View Details

AIR BAGS: SIDE/WINDOW

12/18/2008 - VIRGINIA BEACH, VA
MY WIFE WAS INVOLVED IN AN ACCIDENT IN OUR 2002 VW NEW BEETLE. SHE WAS HIT IN THE DRIVER'S DOOR. HER HEAD WAS THROWN AGAINST THE DRIVER'S WINDOW AND HER HIP WAS HURT FROM THE DOOR INTRUDING INTO THE CABIN. HER NECK WAS HURT ALSO. SHE WAS TRANSPORTED TO VA BEACH GEN. HOSPITAL AND GIVEN X-RAYS, A CT SCAN AND A PHYSICAL EXAM. HER TRANSPORT WAS VIA AMBULANCE AND SHE WAS EXTRICATED THROUGH THE PASSENGER DOOR ON A BACKBOARD WITH A NECK BRACE. WE BELIEVE HER INJURIES ARE AT LEAST IN PART DUE TO HER SIDE AIRBAG NOT DEPLOYING. WE HAVE CONTACTED VW OF AMERICA AND PROVIDED THEM INFORMATION AND PHOTOS OF THE AUTOMOBILE. VW HAS INFORMED US THAT VW'S STAND IS THAT IT ACCEPTS NO RESPONSIBILITY BECAUSE THE DAMAGE DID NOT FALL WITHIN THEIR SPECS PER THE DIAGRAM IN THE OWNERS MANUAL. OUR POSITION IS IT ABSOLUTELY DOES FALL WITHIN THEIR GUIDELINES AS WITNESSED BY THE PHOTOS. WE ALSO OFFERED THEM A 30 DAY PERIOD THAT THE INSURANCE COMPANY WOULD HOLD THE VEHICLE FOR INSPECTION AND THEY SAID THEY WERE NOT INTERESTED IN EXAMINING THE CAR AND AS FAR AS VW AMERICA WAS CONCERNED THE MATTER WAS CLOSED. WE BELIEVE VW SHOULD BE HELP LIABLE FOR MY WIFE'S MEDICAL BILLS AT A MINIMUM AND THAT THEY SHOULD INSPECT THE VEHICLE FOR DEFECTS IN THE AIRBAG SYSTEM. THE AUTOMOBILE WAS A TOTAL LOSS AND WILL NOT BE REPAIRED.

View Details

VISIBILITY: SUN ROOF ASSEMBLY

11/24/2008 - MOUNT HOPE, WV
THE PROBLEM IS A DEFECT IN THE SUNROOF DRAIN TUBES WHICH ALLOWS THEM TO EASILY GET CLOGGED, WHICH CAUSES WATER LEAKS TO THE INTERIOR OF THE CAR. THIS CAN CAUSE MOLD AND OTHER DAMAGE.

View Details

STRUCTURE: FRAME AND MEMBERS

11/19/2008 - BENSON, AZ
REAR COLLISION ACCIDENT IN 2004, NOW SEATBELT LATCH MECHANISM NOT WORKING, STRUTS AND WHEEL BEARINGS DAMAGED AND NEED REPLACEMENT ALONG WITH SUBFRAME AND EMERGENCY BRAKE SYSTEM.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES, ELECTRIC

11/19/2008 - BENSON, AZ
REAR COLLISION ACCIDENT IN 2004, NOW SEATBELT LATCH MECHANISM NOT WORKING, STRUTS AND WHEEL BEARINGS DAMAGED AND NEED REPLACEMENT ALONG WITH SUBFRAME AND EMERGENCY BRAKE SYSTEM.

View Details
Pages:  <<  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  11  >>  ... 16
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds