Auto Recalls for Consumers

YAMAHA YAMAHA - 2002 YAMAHA YAMAHA Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by YAMAHA

There are 60 complaints filed for the 2002 YAMAHA YAMAHA

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2002 YAMAHA YAMAHA. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2002 YAMAHA YAMAHA, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Electrical System (23) Other (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (1) Suspension (6) Vehicle Speed Control (1)
Fuel System Gasoline (6) Power Train (13) Structure (1) Tires (6) Wheels (2)
Fuel System Other (1) Seats (1)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  ... 6
 
ComplaintDescription

POWER TRAIN: DRIVELINE

6/26/2011 - GA, GA
WAS DRIVING 35 WHEN WINNING HEARD TOOK 1100 VSTAR TO SHOP TOLD MIDDLESHAFT BOLT BROKE UNSAFE TO DRIVE DRIVESHAFT COULD HIT PAYMENT YAMAHA HAS SINCE UP DATED NEW BOLT WAS CAUSE BECAUSE DID NOT HAVE NUT PUNCHED WHEN ASSEMBLE.

View Details

POWER TRAIN: DRIVELINE

4/12/2008 - ROME, NY
MOTORCYCLE, YAMAHA V-STAR 1100 CLASSIC 2002 WITH 23,000 MILES ON IT OR LESS WHEN THE TRANSMISSION STARTED WHINING , CLICKING AND GRINDING NOISES WHEN YOU DE-ACCELERATED THE THROTTLE OF THE ENGINE .THIS FIRST HAPPENED AROUND THE 1ST WEEK OF AUGUST 2006. ON THE 23 AUGUST 2006 I REMOVED THE REAR WHEEL TO INSPECT OR TO SEE WHAT WAS CAUSING THE NOISES. WHEN THE DRIVESHAFT WAS REMOVED FROM THE YOKE OF THE TRANSMISSION A NUT AND THICK THRUSH WASHER WAS LYING INSIDE THE YOKE, BROKE OFF FROM THE MIDDLE DRIVEGEAR SHAFT. FURTHER INSPECTION OF THE NUT, REVEALED THAT 3/4"S OF THE THREADED END OF THE MIDDLE DRIVEGEAR SHAFT WAS STILL IN THE NUT THAT SHEARED OR BROKE OFF THE END OF THE MIDDLE DRIVEGEAR SHAFT THAT SECURES THE YOKE TO THE MIDDLE DRIVEGEAR SHAFT. ONLY 3 OR 4 THREADS WERE LEFT ON THE BROKEN END OF THE MIDDLE DRIVEGEAR SHAFT . WITHOUT THIS THRUSH WASHER AND NUT TO SECURE THE YOKE TO THE MIDDLE DRIVEGEAR SHAFT, THE MIDDLE DRIVE GEAR SHAFT COULD MOVE IN AND OUT OF THE TRANSMISSION 1 TO 13/4 INCHES OR MORE, AND THE ONLY THING THAT STOPPED IT FROM MOVING OUT MORE WAS THE MAIN DRIVESHAFT TO THE REAR END OF THE CYCLE.. IT WAS LUCKY FOR ME OR ANY ONE ELSE OUT THERE WITH THIS PROBLEM THAT THEY DIDN'T GET INJURED OR KILLED, BECAUSE IF THIS WASHER OR NUT HAD EVER LODGED INTO THE YOKE WHEN IT WAS TURNING, IT WOULD OF LOCKED THE REAR WHEEL UP AND CAUSING THE MOTORCYCLE TO SKID OUT OF CONTROL AND GO DOWN AND CRASH AND AT ANY SPEED SOMEONE IS GOING TO GET INJURED BAD!! NOW TO REPAIR THIS PROBLEM IS NOT A EASY PROCEDURE. IT REQUIRES WHOLE ENGINE/TRANNY REMOVAL, ENGINE DISASSEMBLE AND ENGINE CRANK CASE CRACKED OR SPLIT OPEN FOR ACCESSIBILITY TO THE TRANSMISSION PARTS. PARTS REPLACED WOULD HAVE TO BE DETERMINED,AFTER INSPECTION OF THE EFFECTIVE AREA OF THE MIDDLE DRIVE GEAR SHAFT AND THE MIDDLE DRIVEN SHAFT AND OTHER CONNECTING PARTS OF THESE TO MIDDLE SHAFTS...I , IN MY OPINION DON'T THINK THIS SHOULD OF HAPPEN AND SHOULD NOT BE RESPONSIBLE FOR THE COST REPAIRING IT.

View Details

TIRES: SIDEWALL

5/13/2005 - STATEN ISLAND, NY
DEFECTIVE REAR TIRE ON YAMAHA MOTORCYCLE . THERE WAS PROBLEM CALLED BLOOMING WITH THE REAR TIRES (CRACKING OF THE SIDEWALLS). THERE IS A TUBE INSIDE THE TIRE. THE DEALER STATED THAT LARGE AMOUNTS OF STATIC ELECTRICITY CAN CAUSE THIS PROBLEM. CONSUMER HAVE TO PAY FOR PROBLEM, THIS ID A COSTLY PROCEDURE THAT THE OWNER SHOULD NOT NEED TO INCUR, BECAUSE THE PROBLEM IS CAUSED BY A DEFECT IN THE SUPPLIED TIRE.

View Details

SUSPENSION: REAR

10/29/2004 - HARPERS FERRY, WV
2002 YAMAHA ROYAL STAR VENTURE, MODEL XV1300. REAR SUSPENSION FAILURE. REAR SHOCK SEAL FAILED. SHOCK LOST AIR PRESSURE AND OIL DUMPED IN PATH OF REAR TIRE. NEARLY CAUSED LOSS OF CONTROL OF MOTORCYCLE. THIS IS THE SECOND FAILURE OF THE REAR SHOCK ON THIS VEHICLE. MANY OTHER OWNERS ARE HAVING SIMILAR REAR SUSPENSION FAILURES.

View Details

WHEELS: MULTI PIECE

7/1/2004 - RAVENDEN, AR
APRIL 2002 PURCHASED A NEW MOTORCYLE AND HAD PROBLEM WITH IT 1 MONTH AFTER. PUT IN SHOP AND HAS BEEN IN AND OUT SEVERAL TIMES ONLY TO BE TOULD IT WAS AND IS A FACTORY DEFECT AND AM PAYING ON IT MONTHLY WITH NO RESULTS ON PROBLEM AND I AM IN NEED OF ACTION ON THIS PROBLEM.

View Details

WHEELS: CAP/COVER/HUB

6/30/2004 - RAVENDEN, AR
WHILE DRIVING AT LOW SPEEDS CONSUMER HEARD A CLICKING NOISE IN THE REAR END OF THE MOTORCYCLE. THE MOTORCYCLE WAS TAKEN TO REPAIR SHOP FOR NEW TIRES, AND THE MECHANIC DETERMINED THAT THE INSIDE OF THE HUB BROKE.

View Details

POWER TRAIN: CLUTCH ASSEMBLY

6/29/2004 - UNIVERSAL CITY, TX
WITH IN 600 MILES MY CLUTCH PLATES BROKE, YAMAHA REPLACED THEM, BUT THEY TOLD ME OPERATER ERROR SIX MONTHS LATER THE BIKE WAS IN THE SHOP AGAIN. I ASKED THEM TO CHECK A NOISE IN THE CLUTCH AND THEY PLAYED IT OFF LATER THE BIKE LOCKED UP AND I CRACKED MY SKULL AND BROKE MY COLLARBONE PLUS ROAD RASH UP MY LEG AND UP MY BACK AFTER THIS I TOOK THE BIKE TO AN EXPERT THE YAMAHA DEALER KNEW HIM AND LISSENED THE DEALER TOOK THE WHOLE CLUCTH AND OFFERED TO REPLACE THE CLUTCH PLATES THE BIKE IS (MODEL-FZS 10PS FZ1).

View Details

SUSPENSION: REAR: SHOCK ABSORBER

5/18/2004 - HARPERS FERRY, WV
THE VEHICLE IS AN 850# TOURING MOTORCYCLE WITH AIR ASSISTED SUSPENSION SYSTEM. MOTORCYCLE'S REAR AIR-SHOCK SEAL FAILED. DAMPENING OIL LEAKED OUT (ONTO GARAGE FLOOR). MOTORCYCLE'S DRIVEABLITY AND HANDLING WAS AFFECTED AND THE VEHICLE BECAME VERY UNSTABLE ON BUMPS AND IN TURNS. I NEARLY LOST CONTROL WHEN DRIVING THE BIKE TO DEALER TO HAVE THE SHOCK REPLACED. I BELIEVE THE POOR DESIGN OF THE SHOCK HAS NOT BEEN IMPROVED, AS MANY OWNERS HAVE HAD THEM FAIL AND REPLACED 2 OR 3 TIMES (AS IS DOCUMENTED IN A YAMAHA VENTURE OWNER'S ORGANIZATION). THE FAILURE OF THE REAR SHOCK IS AN EPIDEMIC AMONGST 1999 ~ 2004 YAMAHA ROYAL STAR VENTURE'S. IT'S A MATTER OF TIME BEFORE SOMEONE IS INJURED. THE MOTORCYCLE'S SHOCK ABLSORBER ASSEMBLY CONTAINS THE REAR SPRING AND IS AN INTEGRAL PART OF THE SUSPENSION. THE MODEL OF MOTORCYCLE IS NOT LISTED IN THE NHTSA DATABASE. IT IS A 2002 XVZ13 YAMAHA ROYAL STAR VENTURE.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL: LINKAGES

5/17/2004 - LEBANON, NJ
FOUR WEEKS AGO I WAS RIDING MY 2002 YAMAHA VIRAGO 250 MOTORCYCLE AT ABOUT 25MPH ON A ONE LANE COUNTRY ROAD. I WAS IN THE MIDDLE OF A GENTLE CURVE WHEN THE BIKE SUDDENLY ACCELERATED AND HEADED STRAIGHT RATHER THAN BEARING LEFT ON THE CURVE. ALTHOUGH I TRIED MY HARDEST TO LEAN LEFT IT FELT LIKE THE BIKE WAS SPEEDING OUT OF CONTROL AND LOCKED IN THE STRAIGHT POSITION. THERE WAS NO SHOULDER AND I RAN INTO THE GUARD RAIL. I'M FORTUNATE THAT MY BROKEN ARM AND LEG, CRUSHED KNEE AND ELBOW WILL HEAL IN TIME. I DON'T KNOW WHAT CAUSED THE SUDDEN ACCELERATION.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM: STARTER ASSEMBLY

4/23/2004 - FOUNTAIN VALLEY, CA
I HAVE A 2002 YAMAHA V-STAR 1100 CLASSIC MOTORCYCLE. THE STARTER IS BEGINNING TO FAIL DUE TO A DESIGN FLAW. THE PROBLEM IS WELL DOCUMENTED BUT YAMAHA WILL ONLY REPLACE IT AT THE CONSUMER'S COST.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  ... 6
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds