Auto Recalls for Consumers

BMW 530I - 2003 BMW 530I Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by BMW of North America, LLC

There are 42 complaints filed for the 2003 BMW 530I

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2003 BMW 530I. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2003 BMW 530I, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (15) Engine And Engine Cooling (2) Seat Belts (1) Steering (2) Suspension (2)
Electrical System (7) Interior Lighting (1) Seats (5) Structure (1) Vehicle Speed Control (6)
Engine (2) Power Train (6) Service Brakes Hydraulic (3)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  ... 5
 
ComplaintDescription

AIR BAGS

10/4/2016 - ANAHEIM, CA
TAKATA RECALL. THE CONTACT OWNS 2003 BMW 530I. THE CONTACT RECEIVED NOTIFICATION OF NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 15V318000 (AIR BAGS) HOWEVER, THE PART TO DO THE REPAIR WAS UNAVAILABLE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE MANUFACTURER EXCEEDED A REASONABLE AMOUNT OF TIME FOR THE RECALL REPAIR. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE ISSUE. THE CONTACT HAD NOT EXPERIENCED THE FAILURE. PARTS DISTRIBUTION DISCONNECT.

View Details

AIR BAGS

8/31/2016 - TROUTVILLE, VA
TAKATA INFLATORS NOTHING YET HAS HAPPENED BUT 15 MONTHS AFTER RECALL ISSUED STILL WAITING FOR REMEDY

View Details

AIR BAGS

7/12/2016 - SHERMAN OAKS, CA
"TAKATA RECALL" - MY 2003 BMW DRIVER-SIDE FRONT AIR BAG MODULE (15V-318) WAS RECALLED IN JULY 2015 AND I CAN'T GET ANY INFO FROM BMW IF THEY WILL EVER FIX IT. I HAVE BEEN CALLING FOR ONE YEAR ON THIS, AS I WAS INSTRUCTED TO DO BY BMW, AND THEY STILL WILL PROVIDE ME WITH NO INFORMATION AS TO IF OR WHEN IT WILL EVER BE REPLACED. THEY HAVE NOTIFIED ME THAT THE AIR BAG CAN RESULT IN "SERIOUS INJURY OR DEATH." I HAVE DOCUMENTATION ON MY NUMEROUS ATTEMPTS TO RESOLVE THIS BY CALLING EVERY 3-4 MONTHS AS THEY REQUESTED. IT HAS NOW GONE ON FOR ONE YEAR, AND WHEN I SAID TO THE BMW REPRESENTATIVE A COUPLE OF DAYS AGO, "IT SEEMS LIKE THIS COULD GO ON AND ON AND NOTHING WILL EVER GET FIXED," THE RESPONSE WAS "THAT'S CORRECT." I HAVE READ ON-LINE THAT YOU SHOULD "TAKE PUBLIC TRANSPORTATION OR RIDE SHARE" BUT I LIVE IN L.A. AND REQUIRE A CAR TO ET TO AND FROM WORK. I WON'T LET MY SON DRIVE MY CAR BECAUSE I FEAR FOR HIS SAFETY. I CAN'T AFFORD ANOTHER CAR. I READ ON-LINE THAT OLDER CARS (MINE IS A 2003) AND HEAT (I LIVE IN THE SAN FERNANDO VALLEY OF CALIFORNIA AND IT GETS HOT) CAN MAKE THE AIR BAG MORE DANGEROUS. I HAVE BEEN DRIVING THIS CAR, KNOWING IT'S DANGEROUS, FOR A YEAR, AND I AM ALWAYS FEARFUL THAT SOMEONE NEXT TO ME ON THE FREEWAY MIGHT DRIFT INTO MY LANE, WHILE TEXTING, CAUSING THE DANGEROUS AIR BAG TO GO OFF AND SEND METAL SHARDS INTO ME. THIS CAN'T GO ON WITH NO END IN SIGHT. I FEEL LIKE THEY JUST WANT ME TO GET SO FRUSTRATED THAT I DUMP MY CAR. I'M DEFINITELY FRUSTRATED, BUT I NEED TO KEEP THIS CAR. PLEASE HELP ME GET SOME ANSWERS AND A TIME WHEN THIS CAN BE FIXED. IT'S AN UNACCEPTABLE STRESS TO PUT ON SOMEONE THAT THEY COULD DIE FROM A FAULTY AIRBAG WHILE THE COMPANY KEEPS REFUSING TO GIVE YOU INFORMATION AND HAS NO INTENTION TO FIX IT IN A TIMELY MANNER. I HAVE DOCUMENTS REGARDING THEIR NOTIFICATION AND MY PHONE CALLS TO THEM. THANK YOU.

View Details

AIR BAGS

6/29/2016 - FAIRFIELD, CA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2003 BMW 530I. THE CONTACT RECEIVED NOTIFICATION OF NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 15V318000 (AIR BAGS); HOWEVER, THE PART TO DO THE REPAIR WAS UNAVAILABLE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE MANUFACTURER EXCEEDED A REASONABLE AMOUNT OF TIME FOR THE REPAIR. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE ISSUE. THE CONTACT HAD NOT EXPERIENCED A FAILURE.

View Details

AIR BAGS

5/29/2016 - NORTH HOLLYWOOD, CA
TAKATA RECALL. ARE THE AIRBAGS SAFE? THE CAR IS ON THE RECALL LIST.

View Details

AIR BAGS

4/8/2016 - LOS ANGELES, CA
MY CAR IS ON THE LIST OF CARS WITH DEFECTIVE AIRBAGS AND I HAVE NOT RECEIVED ANY KIND OF NOTIFICATION OR RECALL INFORMATION REGARDING MY VEHICLE. I WANT THIS TAKEN CARE OF IMMEDIATELY AND HAVE THE DEFECTIVE AIRBAGS REPLACED.

View Details

AIR BAGS

4/1/2016 - FAIRFAX STATION, VA
TAKATA RECALL. THE CONTACT OWNS A 2003 BMW 530I. THE CONTACT RECEIVED A RECALL NOTIFICATION FOR THE AIR BAGS; HOWEVER, THE PART TO DO THE REPAIR WAS UNAVAILABLE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE MANUFACTURER EXCEEDED A REASONABLE AMOUNT OF TIME FOR THE RECALL REPAIR. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE ISSUE. THE CONTACT HAD NOT EXPERIENCED A FAILURE. VIN TOOL CONFIRMS PARTS NOT AVAILABLE.

View Details

AIR BAGS

2/18/2016 - PITTSBURGH, PA
I RECEIVED A LETTER IN JULY OF 2015 STATING THAT THERE IA A RECALL ON DRIVER-SIDE FRONT AIR BAG MODULE (RECALL CAMPAIGN NO.: 15V-318) AND HAVE YET TO RECEIVE ANOTHER NOTIFICATION WHEN THE DEALERSHIPS CAN FIX THIS DANGEROUS DEFECT. PLEASE ADVISE!

View Details

AIR BAGS

1/27/2016 - NESHANIC STATION, NJ
REC'D. RECALL NOTICE IN JULY 2015 REGARDING "RECALL CAMPAIGN NO. 15V-318: DRIVER-SIDE FRONT AIR BAG MODULE". STILL HAVE NOT HEARD FROM BMW AS TO REMEDY.

View Details

AIR BAGS

12/24/2015 - LANCASTER, MA
TAKATA RECALL WAS NOTIFIED IN MAY 2015 OF DRIVERS SIDE AIRBAG RECALL. CURRENT STATUS FROM BMW IS NO REMEDY AVAILABLE YET. I WOULD THINK BY NOW THAT THE PLANS AND TIMELINES OF THIS RECALL WOULD BE WELL UNDERSTOOD AND ISSUED TO THE OWNERS OF THE AFFECTED VEHICLES.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  ... 5
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds