Auto Recalls for Consumers

BMW 745I - 2003 BMW 745I Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by BMW of North America, LLC

There are 22 complaints filed for the 2003 BMW 745I

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2003 BMW 745I. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2003 BMW 745I, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Engine (1) Interior Lighting (1) Seats (1) Steering (1) Vehicle Speed Control (1)
Engine And Engine Cooling (2) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Service Brakes (3) Structure (1) Visibility (1)
Equipment (3) Power Train (6) Service Brakes Hydraulic (3) Unknown Or Other (1) Wheels (1)
Exterior Lighting (1)

Pages:  1  
2  ... 2
 
ComplaintDescription

LATCHES/LOCKS/LINKAGES

5/29/2013 - FOUNTAIN VALLEY, CA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2003 BMW 745I. THE CONTACT STATED HE WAS UNABLE TO ACCESS THE TRUNK LID WHEN USING THE REMOTE OR WHEN MANUALLY ATTEMPTING TO OPEN. IN ADDITION, THE REAR DRIVER'S SIDE DOOR WOULD NOT CLOSE SECURELY WITHOUT EXERTING FORCE. ALSO, THE HEADLAMP LENSES ILLUMINATED DIMLY WHENEVER ACTIVATED AT NIGHT, DISTORTING THE CONTACT'S VISION OF THE ROADWAY. THE HEADLAMP LENSES WERE REPAIRED BY A DEALER BUT THE PROBLEM RECURRED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED FOR THE DEFECTS. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE PROBLEM. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 45,000. UPDATED 7/10/13 THE CONSUMER STATED THE DOOR WAS REPLACED BY BMW. HOWEVER, THE HEADLIGHT STILL NEEDED TO BE REPLACED.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

5/29/2013 - FOUNTAIN VALLEY, CA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2003 BMW 745I. THE CONTACT STATED HE WAS UNABLE TO ACCESS THE TRUNK LID WHEN USING THE REMOTE OR WHEN MANUALLY ATTEMPTING TO OPEN. IN ADDITION, THE REAR DRIVER'S SIDE DOOR WOULD NOT CLOSE SECURELY WITHOUT EXERTING FORCE. ALSO, THE HEADLAMP LENSES ILLUMINATED DIMLY WHENEVER ACTIVATED AT NIGHT, DISTORTING THE CONTACT'S VISION OF THE ROADWAY. THE HEADLAMP LENSES WERE REPAIRED BY A DEALER BUT THE PROBLEM RECURRED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED FOR THE DEFECTS. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE PROBLEM. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 45,000. UPDATED 7/10/13 THE CONSUMER STATED THE DOOR WAS REPLACED BY BMW. HOWEVER, THE HEADLIGHT STILL NEEDED TO BE REPLACED.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

5/8/2013 - SELMA, NC
WAS DRIVING CAR AT NORMAL SPEED MAYBE 35 OR 45 MPH TRIED TO SLOW DOWN AND CAR SEEMED TO KEEP GOING DEPRESSED ALL THE WAY DOWN CAR SLOWED FINALLY AND STOPPED WAS CONCERNED SO CALLED THE BMW SERVICER ( AUTHORIZED REPAIRER) NOT DEALERSHIP THEY CHECKED AND INFORMED ME OF RECALL ON BRAKE SYSTEM AND FELT THAT WAS THE PROBLEM CAUSE THEY HAD ENCOUNTERED IT BEFORE SAYING IT WAS THE BRAKE BOOSTER OR VACUUM. THE CAR WAS UNABLE TO DRIVE SO WAS TOWED TO DEALERSHIP FOR RECALL WENT TO PICK UP VEHICLE THEY SAID CAR WAS FINE THEY FOUND NOTHING WRONG WITH CAR ASKED IF THEY HAD CHECKED THURALLY THEY SAID YES AND FOUND NO LEAKS OR PROBLEMS ASKED IF THEY TEST DROVE IT THEY SAID NO ASKED WHAT DID THEY CHECK THEY SAID BRAKE LINES AND LOOKED FOR LEAKS AROUND BOOSTER LINES AND VACUUM PUMP BUT ONLY A VISUAL INSPECTION AND WHEN I WENT TO DRIVE CAR HOME THE CAR WAS HAVING SAME PROBLEM WHEN I CALLED BACK THEY SAID I HAD TO PAY FOR A BRAKE SERVICE CHECK TO DIAGNOSE PROBLEM AND I ASKED DIDN'T YALL DO THAT WHEN YALL HAD IT BECAUSE I FELT IT WAS A DANGER TO ME AND EVERYONE ON HIGHWAY ME DRIVING A CAR WITH NO BRAKES BUT THEY SAID THAT IT WAS NOT PART OF THE RECALL TO TEST VEHICLE JUST CHECK FOR LEAKS, AND THAT THEY WOULD ONLY REPLACE THE PARTS IF THEY SAW LEAKS AND REFUSED TO REPLACE ANYTHING (SO WHY WASTE TIME TO BRING VEHICLE IN IF THEY NOT GONNA FIX ANYTHING MAKES NO SINCE )SEEMED LIKE THEY DIDN'T CARE AND SAID WHAT EVER THE PROBLEM IS ISN'T UNDER THE RECALL BUT I'VE BEEN TOLD IT WAS EITHER BOOSTER OR VACUUM PUMP AND I STILL HAVEN'T GOTTEN IT FIXED IS THERE ANYTHING THAT CAN BE DONE JUST SEEMS LIKE THEY DON'T WANNA FIX THE VEHICLES JUST PULL U IN SO THEY CAN CHARGE U FOR RECALL PARTS LIKE A SCAM.......

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

1/8/2013 - PINEY FLATS, TN
CAR WAS RECALLED FOR BRAKE ISSUES. A HOSE WAS REPLACED. BRAKES BEGIN TO FAIL SHORTLY THEREAFTER AND GOT A POINT THAT THE CAR WOULD BARELY STOP. DEALER AND BMW SAY ITS MY PROBLEM AND INSIST I PAY ABOUT $2500 FOR A REPAIR THAT IS UNDER THIS RECALL.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

11/25/2012 - GRAYSON, GA
THE CAR DISPLAYED AN ERROR MESSAGE STATING "PARKING BRAKE MALFUNCTION". WHEN I APPLIED THE PARKING BRAKE IT DID NOT WORK. I TOOK THE CAR TO THE DEALERSHIP FOR REPAIR. I PAID A TOTAL OF 1300 DOLLARS TO HAVE THE PARKING BRAKE REPLACED. I LATER RESEARCHED THIS PROBLEM ON LINE AND FOUND THAT THIS IS A VERY COMMON OCCURRENCE WITH MANY MODELS OF BMW'S.

View Details

ENGINE

10/22/2012 - ORLANDO, FL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2003 BMW 745I. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 45 MPH, THE ENGINE WARNING INDICATOR ILLUMINATED ON THE INSTRUMENT PANEL INTERMITTENTLY. THE CONTACT DISPENSED COOLANT INTO THE RESERVOIR AND THEN AFTER DRIVING 50 MILES THE MALFUNCTION RECURRED. IN 2012, THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN AUTHORIZED DEALER WHERE AN ENGINE OVERHAUL WAS PERFORMED. THE ENGINE WARNING INDICATOR ILLUMINATED AFTER DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 300 MILES. THE VEHICLE WAS IN THE PROCESS OF BEING TAKEN TO THE DEALER FOR THE MOST RECENT FAILURE. THERE WAS RECALL ASSOCIATED WITH NHTSA CAMPAIGN ID NUMBER 03V324000 (ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING); HOWEVER THE VIN WAS INELIGIBLE. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE PROBLEM. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 76,000.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

4/17/2012 - FLAT ROCK , MI
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2003 BMW 745I. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHEN THE VEHICLE WAS SHIFTED INTO PARK, THE VEHICLE WOULD INDEPENDENTLY SHIFT INTO DRIVE. THE FAILURE CAUSED THE VEHICLE TO ROLL AWAY AND CRASH INTO A PORCH. THE FRONT BUMPER WAS DAMAGED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN AUTHORIZED DEALER WHERE THE FAILURE COULD NOT BE DUPLICATED AND NO ASSISTANCE WAS OFFERED TO THE CONTACT. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 40,000 AND THE CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 42,000. UPDATED 05/11/12

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

8/9/2011 - ATLANTA, GA
I HAVE NOTICED THAT WHEN DECELERATING INTO A STOP SIGN OR RED LIGHT, THE TRANSMISSION AT TIMES WILL VIOLENTLY KICK THE CAR FORWARD AS IF I WAS JUST REAR ENDED. IT FEELS LIKE YOU ARE GETTING RUN INTO FROM BEHIND. I HAVE TAKEN THE CAR INTO THE BMW DEALERSHIP WHERE I HAVE BEEN TOLD THAT THEY COULD NOT RE-CREATE THE EVENT DURING THEIR TEST DRIVE. I HAVE ALSO TAKEN THE CAR TO A THIRD PARTY AUTHORIZED BMW AUTO REPAIR SHOP WHERE I HAVE BEEN TOLD THAT IT IS A COMMON ISSUE FOR THE 7 SERIES MODEL THAT I HAVE BUT BMW HAS OFFERED NO SOLUTION TO THE PROBLEM. IT DOES NOT HAPPEN EVERY TIME I DRIVE BUT IT HAPPENS AT THE MOST RANDOM OF TIMES. WHAT CONCERNS ME IS THAT WHEN SLOWING THE CAR WHILE APPLYING THE BRAKE TO COME TO A COMPLETE STOP, IS THAT I HAVE HAD NUMEROUS CLOSE CALLS WHERE BECAUSE OF THE EXTRA KICK FROM WHAT I BELIEVE IS A TRANSMISSION ISSUE, I HAVE COME CLOSE TO REAR- ENDING OTHER VEHICLES AND ENDANGERING MYSELF AND MY OWN PASSENGERS. I HAVE TRIED TO RESEARCH THIS ON THE INTERNET ONLY TO FIND THAT THERE ARE NUMEROUS COMPLAINTS STATING VERY SIMILAR INCIDENTS.

View Details

POWER TRAIN: AUTOMATIC TRANSMISSION

4/24/2011 - HOPKINS, SC
TRANSMISSION OVERHEATS AND STALLS. WHILE COMING TO A STOP, THE CAR JERKS BEFORE THE STOP FEELS LIKE A SOMEONE RAN INTO MY BUMPER WITH THERE CAR. TRANSMISSION OVERHEATS PER DASH WARNING.

View Details

POWER TRAIN: AUTOMATIC TRANSMISSION

1/7/2011 - GIBSONTON, FL
I JUST BOUGHT A 2003 BMW 745I WITH 63K ON THE DASH. I HAVE HAD THIS CAR FOR TWO MONTHS AND THE TRANSMISSION IS GONE. I HAVE JUST PURCHASED A EW. BUT WHAT CAN I DO BECAUSE THIS IS NOT RIGHT AND I BOUGHT IT FROM A BMW DEALER. THEY SAID THE VEHICLE WAS INSPECTED A GOOD TO GO. BAD BUSINESS AND THIS IS A RIP OF FOR ABOUT 7K FOR A NEW TRANSMISSION.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  ... 2
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds