Auto Recalls for Consumers

BUICK RENDEZVOUS - 2003 BUICK RENDEZVOUS Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 228 complaints filed for the 2003 BUICK RENDEZVOUS

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2003 BUICK RENDEZVOUS. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2003 BUICK RENDEZVOUS, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (6) Equipment (7) Latches Locks Linkages (6) Service Brakes Air (2) Tires (3)
Communications (7) Exterior Lighting (2) Other (1) Service Brakes Electric (2) Traction Control System (4)
Electrical System (31) Fuel Propulsion System (13) Parking Brake (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (31) Unknown Or Other (2)
Electronic Stability Control (2) Fuel System Gasoline (38) Power Train (25) Steering (16) Vehicle Speed Control (4)
Engine (4) Fuel System Other (5) Seats (2) Structure (9) Visibility (22)
Engine And Engine Cooling (52) Interior Lighting (1) Service Brakes (10) Suspension (23) Wheels (6)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 28
 
ComplaintDescription

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

11/6/2014 - CORTLAND, OH
BOUGHT MY RENDEZVOUS A FEW MONTHS AGO AND HAVE HAD PROBLEMS. MY SIDE AIR BAGS DEPLOYED WITH THE PREVIOUS OWNER FOR UNKNOWN REASONS CAUSING HIM INJURY TO HIS RIBS. THEY WERE NEVER REPLACED BY MANUFACTURER. WHEN I FIRST GOT MY CAR I FILLED UP THE TANK. BAD IDEA! I CAME OUT THE NEXT MORNING AND SMELLED A STRONG ODOR OF GAS AND WAS MISSING A QUARTER TANK. MY BOYFRIEND LOOKED UNDERNEATH AND SAID IT WAS LEAKING BETWEEN THE FILL TUBE AND THE ACTUAL TANK. MY MECHANIC SAID THERE IS NO WAY TO PATCH THIS AND THE ONLY WAY TO FIX IT WOULD BE TO REPLACE THE WHOLE THING. APPROXIMATELY COSTING $1000. HE ALSO SAID CHANGES ARE THIS WILL BE REOCCURRING BECAUSE IT'S A COMMON PROBLEM WITH THIS MAKE/MODEL. SO NOW I ONLY PUT A HALF TANK IN MY GAS TANK BUT I'VE NOTICED A SMELL OF GAS INSIDE AND OUTSIDE OF THE VEHICLE. WHEN I FIRST BOUGHT MY CAR THE NEXT DAY MY CAR WOULDN'T START. I HAD A DEAD BATTERY. MY INTERIOR LIGHTS NEVER TURNED OFF. AGAIN, TO REPAIR THIS ELECTRICAL PROBLEM WOULD HAVE BEEN EXPENSIVE. I ENDED UP TAKING THE SENSOR OUT, SO NOW I HAVE NO INSIDE LIGHTS AT ALL.

View Details

AIR BAGS

11/6/2014 - CORTLAND, OH
BOUGHT MY RENDEZVOUS A FEW MONTHS AGO AND HAVE HAD PROBLEMS. MY SIDE AIR BAGS DEPLOYED WITH THE PREVIOUS OWNER FOR UNKNOWN REASONS CAUSING HIM INJURY TO HIS RIBS. THEY WERE NEVER REPLACED BY MANUFACTURER. WHEN I FIRST GOT MY CAR I FILLED UP THE TANK. BAD IDEA! I CAME OUT THE NEXT MORNING AND SMELLED A STRONG ODOR OF GAS AND WAS MISSING A QUARTER TANK. MY BOYFRIEND LOOKED UNDERNEATH AND SAID IT WAS LEAKING BETWEEN THE FILL TUBE AND THE ACTUAL TANK. MY MECHANIC SAID THERE IS NO WAY TO PATCH THIS AND THE ONLY WAY TO FIX IT WOULD BE TO REPLACE THE WHOLE THING. APPROXIMATELY COSTING $1000. HE ALSO SAID CHANGES ARE THIS WILL BE REOCCURRING BECAUSE IT'S A COMMON PROBLEM WITH THIS MAKE/MODEL. SO NOW I ONLY PUT A HALF TANK IN MY GAS TANK BUT I'VE NOTICED A SMELL OF GAS INSIDE AND OUTSIDE OF THE VEHICLE. WHEN I FIRST BOUGHT MY CAR THE NEXT DAY MY CAR WOULDN'T START. I HAD A DEAD BATTERY. MY INTERIOR LIGHTS NEVER TURNED OFF. AGAIN, TO REPAIR THIS ELECTRICAL PROBLEM WOULD HAVE BEEN EXPENSIVE. I ENDED UP TAKING THE SENSOR OUT, SO NOW I HAVE NO INSIDE LIGHTS AT ALL.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

11/6/2014 - CORTLAND, OH
BOUGHT MY RENDEZVOUS A FEW MONTHS AGO AND HAVE HAD PROBLEMS. MY SIDE AIR BAGS DEPLOYED WITH THE PREVIOUS OWNER FOR UNKNOWN REASONS CAUSING HIM INJURY TO HIS RIBS. THEY WERE NEVER REPLACED BY MANUFACTURER. WHEN I FIRST GOT MY CAR I FILLED UP THE TANK. BAD IDEA! I CAME OUT THE NEXT MORNING AND SMELLED A STRONG ODOR OF GAS AND WAS MISSING A QUARTER TANK. MY BOYFRIEND LOOKED UNDERNEATH AND SAID IT WAS LEAKING BETWEEN THE FILL TUBE AND THE ACTUAL TANK. MY MECHANIC SAID THERE IS NO WAY TO PATCH THIS AND THE ONLY WAY TO FIX IT WOULD BE TO REPLACE THE WHOLE THING. APPROXIMATELY COSTING $1000. HE ALSO SAID CHANGES ARE THIS WILL BE REOCCURRING BECAUSE IT'S A COMMON PROBLEM WITH THIS MAKE/MODEL. SO NOW I ONLY PUT A HALF TANK IN MY GAS TANK BUT I'VE NOTICED A SMELL OF GAS INSIDE AND OUTSIDE OF THE VEHICLE. WHEN I FIRST BOUGHT MY CAR THE NEXT DAY MY CAR WOULDN'T START. I HAD A DEAD BATTERY. MY INTERIOR LIGHTS NEVER TURNED OFF. AGAIN, TO REPAIR THIS ELECTRICAL PROBLEM WOULD HAVE BEEN EXPENSIVE. I ENDED UP TAKING THE SENSOR OUT, SO NOW I HAVE NO INSIDE LIGHTS AT ALL.

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE

10/30/2014 - AKRON, OH
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2003 BUICK RENDEZVOUS. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING 8 MPH, THE STEERING WHEEL BECAME DIFFICULT TO TURN. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC. THE TECHNICIAN DIAGNOSED THAT THE FUEL TANK INTAKE VALVE FAILED AND NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 110,000.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

10/14/2014 - SUN CITY CENTER, FL
FILLED TANK AND PARKED IN GARAGE. NEXT MORNING GARAGE HAD EXTREMELY STRONG GASOLINE FUMES. BACKED CAR INTO DRIVEWAY. FOUND FUEL ON GARAGE FLOOR. IT WAS RUNNING OUT OF THE TANK AT THE JUNCTION OF THE FUEL LINE TO THE GAS TANK. IT APPEARED TO BE THE SEAL BETWEEN THE FUEL LINE (WHERE THE GAS RUNS DOWN INTO THE TANK WHEN YOU FILL IT) AND THE TANK, THE INTAKE VALVE. THE LEAK WAS SEVERE AND DANGEROUS, TOO DANGEROUS TO DRIVE TO THE DEALER 30 MINUTES AWAY. CHOOSE TO DRIVE IT TO A LOCAL GARAGE FOR REPAIR. THE FUEL TANK AND FUEL PUMP SEAL WERE REPLACE AT A COST OF $936. THERE IS AN NHTSA CAMPAIGN ID # 09V349000 ON THIS ISSUE. ON THE GM RECALL SITE, THERE ARE NO RECALLS LISTED. WE CALLED THE BUICK NUMBER LISTED AND WERE TOLD THAT THERE WAS NO RECALL, BUT THE ISSUE IS BEING ESCALATED FOR REVIEW. THIS IS A POTENTIALLY DISASTROUS SITUATION, POTENTIAL FILE OR EXPLOSION HAZARD.

View Details

COMMUNICATIONS: HORN ASSEMBLY

10/2/2014 - WEST MILTON, OH
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2003 BUICK RENDEZVOUS. WHILE THE VEHICLE WAS PARKED, THE HORN ACTIVATED INDEPENDENTLY. THE FAILURE PERSISTED UNTIL THE BATTERY WAS DISCONNECTED. THE FAILURE OCCURRED SEVERAL TIMES. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 93,000. UPDATED 11/20/14

View Details

STEERING

9/19/2014 - HERMOSA BEACH, CA
I PURCHASED A USED 2003 BUICK RENDEVOUS SEVERAL YEARS AGO FOR MY DAUGHTER. SINCE THE PURCHASE, SHE HAS HAD ISSUES WITH TRACTION WARNING LIGHT COMING ON, ACCOMPANIED BY A LOUD GRINDING NOISE, DIFFICULTY WITH BRAKING AND STEERING, ESPECIALLY WHEN APPLYING THE BRAKES. SHE HAS HAD THE CAR REPAIRED SEVERAL TIMES, EACH TIME THE ISSUE REOCCURS. ON 9/28 SHE WAS IN AN ACCIDENT, SHE COULD NOT GET THE CAR TO BRAKE EFFECTIVELY, HITTING CAR IN FRONT OF HER. THE TRACTION LIGHT HAD RECENTLY COME ON AGAIN, AND THE GRINDING NOISE RESURFACED.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

9/19/2014 - HERMOSA BEACH, CA
I PURCHASED A USED 2003 BUICK RENDEVOUS SEVERAL YEARS AGO FOR MY DAUGHTER. SINCE THE PURCHASE, SHE HAS HAD ISSUES WITH TRACTION WARNING LIGHT COMING ON, ACCOMPANIED BY A LOUD GRINDING NOISE, DIFFICULTY WITH BRAKING AND STEERING, ESPECIALLY WHEN APPLYING THE BRAKES. SHE HAS HAD THE CAR REPAIRED SEVERAL TIMES, EACH TIME THE ISSUE REOCCURS. ON 9/28 SHE WAS IN AN ACCIDENT, SHE COULD NOT GET THE CAR TO BRAKE EFFECTIVELY, HITTING CAR IN FRONT OF HER. THE TRACTION LIGHT HAD RECENTLY COME ON AGAIN, AND THE GRINDING NOISE RESURFACED.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

8/29/2014 - EASTON, MD
I TOOK MY 2003 RENDEZVOUS TO DEALER FOR OIL CHANGE AND SAFTY CHECK,TOLD THEM I SMELLED GAS IN CABIN EVEN AT HALF TANK.WAS TOLD FUEL FILTER NEEDED CHANGING. DIDN'T WANT TO PAY DEALER COST FOR THAT SO I HAD LOCAL DO IT,DEALER IS OVER 80 MILES FROM MY NEW HOUSE(@ TIME). WHEN IN NEW HOUSE (THIS ONE HAS GARAGE)..I DON'T ONLY SMELL GAS IN CABIN OF SUV BUT NOW IT'S BEING DRAWN INTO MY HOUSE THROUGHOUT THE AIR UNIT(MYSELF AND 2 CHILDREN HAVE ASTHMA) THAT 1CARRIES EPISODE PEN AND WE ALL USE NEBULIZER.I CALLED LOCAL BUICK DEALER AND WAS TOLD NO RECALL ON MY SUV. IT WILL HAVE TO COME OUT OF MY POCKET...I LIMELIGHT FRIEND AM.TRYING TO DISABILITY..ALL BECAUSE A GM DEALER COULDN'T BE BOTHERED ALMOST 3 YEARS AGO...I HAVE TO TAKE CHANCES WHEN I HAVE TO GO OUT.WITH MY GIRLS. THIS COULD BE DEADLY.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

8/27/2014 - WICHITA FALLS, TX
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2003 BUICK RENDEZVOUS. THE CONTACT STATED THAT HE NOTICED FUEL LEAKING NEAR THE REAR DRIVER'S SIDE AND THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC WHO STATED THAT THE FUEL TANK INLET CHECK VALVE WAS FRACTURED AND NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE AND INFORMED THE CONTACT THAT THE VIN WAS NOT INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER 07V349000 (FUEL SYSTEM,GASOLINE). THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 85,000.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 28
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds