Auto Recalls for Consumers

CADILLAC CTS - 2003 CADILLAC CTS Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 294 complaints filed for the 2003 CADILLAC CTS

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2003 CADILLAC CTS. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2003 CADILLAC CTS, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (33) Equipment (9) Power Train (25) Service Brakes Hydraulic (26) Traction Control System (4)
Communications (1) Exterior Lighting (39) Seat Belts (1) Steering (26) Unknown Or Other (11)
Electrical System (50) Fuel Propulsion System (1) Seats (2) Structure (20) Vehicle Speed Control (23)
Electronic Stability Control (17) Fuel System Gasoline (6) Service Brakes (15) Suspension (13) Visibility (8)
Engine (23) Fuel System Other (2) Service Brakes Air (2) Tires (8) Wheels (3)
Engine And Engine Cooling (42) Other (1)

Pages:  
<<  6  7  8  9  10  11  12  13  14  15  16  17  18  19  20  >>  ... 33
 
ComplaintDescription

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

3/19/2013 - SPRINGFIELD, MO
AS I WAS DRIVING DOWN THE HIGHWAY, THE STABILITY CONTROL LIGHT CAME ON, THEN THE BRAKES SEEMED TO JERK A LITTLE AND THE CAR LOST MOST OF IT'S POWER. I HAD A MECHANIC TEST IT, AND THEY SAID THEY COULDN'T FIND A REASON FOR IT. THE STABILITY CONTROL LIGHT STAYED ON, BUT I DIDN'T SEEM TO HAVE THE PROBLEM AGAIN UNTIL ABOUT 2-3 MONTHS LATER WHEN I WAS GOING 70 DOWN THE HIGHWAY, LOST ALL POWER AND THE MOTOR SHUT DOWN. CADILLAC WOULD NOT RESTART, HAD TO HAVE IT TOWED OVER 2 HOURS BACK HOME, ONLY TO FIND THAT THIS TIME THE TIMING BELT HAD BROKEN AND THE MOTOR IS BLOWN SINCE THESE CARS HAVE INTERFERENCE MOTORS WHICH CAUSES THE VALVES TO GET BENT WHEN THE TIMING BELT BREAKS. I AM NOW WITHOUT A VEHICLE AND WAS ALMOST IN 2 ACCIDENTS DUE TO THIS. ANOTHER ISSUE IS THE LIGHT COVER FROM THE LIGHTS ON THE TRUNK CAME OFF IN THE CAR WASH AND BROKE. APPARENTLY THIS IS A KNOWN ISSUE YET CADILLAC REFUSES TO FIX IT. THEIR ADHESIVE WAS NOT STRONG ENOUGH TO HOLD ON THE PLASTIC. THIS WAS MY FIRST CADILLAC, AND WILL BE MY LAST. THEY ARE DANGEROUS AND THEY REFUSE TO FIX THEIR FAILURES.

View Details

ENGINE

3/19/2013 - SPRINGFIELD, MO
I WAS DRIVING DOWN THE HIGHWAY AND ALL OF A SUDDEN THE VEHICLE LOST ALL POWER. I WAS ALMOST HIT BY THE CARS BEHIND ME. THE TIMING BELT HAD BROKEN, AND THE MOTOR IS NOW BLOWN DUE TO THE VALVES BEING BENT. THIS WAS NOT ONLY DANGEROUS FOR ME AND MY FAMILY, BUT IS VERY VERY COSTLY. I HAD PREVIOUS ISSUE WITH THE VEHICLE LOSING POWER ONCE WHILE DRIVING, ALSO ALMOST GOT INTO ACCIDENT, BUT THE MECHANIC COULD NOT FIND THE CAUSE. THIS WAS ABOUT 3 MONTHS EARLIER. IT ONLY HAPPENED ON THE HIGHWAY GOING BETWEEN 60 - 70 MPH. THIS IS SO DANGEROUS! I WAS OVER 2 HOURS FROM HOME, AND HAD TO PAY A RIDICULOUS AMOUNT TO HAVE THE VEHICLE TOWED BACK HOME.

View Details

ENGINE

2/15/2013 - PITTSFORD, NY
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2003 CADILLAC CTS. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 30 MPH, THE ENGINE COMPARTMENT EMITTED SMOKE. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC FOR DIAGNOSTIC TESTING. THE MECHANIC STATED THAT THE VALVE COVER GASKET WOULD HAVE TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED HOWEVER, THE FAILURE RECURRED AND THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC WHERE THE VALVE COVER GASKET WAS REPLACED A SECOND TIME. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 72,000.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

12/28/2012 - AIKEN, SC
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2003 CADILLAC CTS. THE CONTACT STATED THAT SHE DROVE OVER A ROAD BUMP AND HEARD A LOUD NOISE FROM THE REAR OF THE VEHICLE. THE CONTACT LOOKED IN HER REAR VIEW MIRROR AND NOTICED THAT THE LENS COVER OF THE BRAKE LIGHTS HAD DETACHED FROM THE VEHICLE AND FRACTURED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT TAKEN TO THE DEALER FOR INSPECTION. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED AND STATED THAT THERE WAS NO RECALL FOR THE VEHICLE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 140,000.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

10/22/2012 - CLIVE, IA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2003 CADILLAC CTS. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING 35 MPH, THE VEHICLE HESITATED AND ALL OF THE LIGHTS ILLUMINATED ON THE INSTRUMENT PANEL. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER FOR INSPECTION WHERE THEY STATED THAT THE ABS CONTROL MODULE FAILED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED BECAUSE THE CONTACT WAS ADVISED BY BOTH THE DEALER AND THE MANUFACTURER THAT THE PART WAS NOT BEING MANUFACTURED BY THEM ANY LONGER. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 73,000.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

9/6/2012 - BATTLE CREEK, MI
DRIVING ON THE EXPRESSWAY AND THE REVERSE BEZEL FELL OFF, BROKE AND THE PART IS TOO EXPENSIVE!

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING: BACK UP LIGHTS

9/6/2012 - BATTLE CREEK, MI
DRIVING ON THE EXPRESSWAY AND THE REVERSE BEZEL FELL OFF, BROKE AND THE PART IS TOO EXPENSIVE!

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

7/30/2012 - SAN TAN VALLEY, AZ
I WAS DRIVING HOME FROM WORK WHEN THIS FIRST HAPPENED. ALL OF A SUDDEN A LOUD SCREECHING NOISE AND THE BRAKES WOULD NOT STOP IN TIME. I HAD TO PUMP THE BRAKES TO WORK. I TOOK MY CAR TO CADILLAC IN ARIZONA AND THEY HAD IT FOR 2 DAYS AND COULD NOT FIND AN ISSUE. I DROVE HOME THAT DAY WITH IT AND SURE ENOUGH IT DID IT WHILE I WAS HOME. IT HAD NOW BEGAN TO JERK ME TO THE RIGHT AND LEFT WHEN I PRESS ON THE BRAKES, SCARING ME THINKING I AM GOING TO HIT THE CAR NEXT TO ME. I TOOK IT TO MIDAS THIS TIME AND THEY NOTICED A PROBLEM AND SAID MAYBE ITS A WHEEL BARRING. THEY REPLACED ISSUE DUPLICATED ITSELF SHORTLY AFTER. SINCE I DID NOT HAVE A SECOND CAR OR PAY FOR A RENTAL I HAD TO TAKE MY CAR HOME TO GO BACK TO WORK THE NEXT DAY. THIS PROBLEM IS A SAFETY HAZARD AND I HAVE EVEN BEEN PULLED OVER BECAUSE THE COP ASKED WHY I WAS SWERVING WHILE DRIVING. I TOLD THE OFFICE ITS THE CODE THAT COMES UP ON MY SCREEN AND IT MAKES MY CAR HALT WHILE DRIVING AND I CAN NOT CONTROL IT. HE STATED THAT ITS A VERY SERIOUS ISSUE AND IF ANOTHER OFFICER WAS ON DUTY THEY MIGHT IMPOUND MY CAR DUE TO A SAFETY HAZARD BUT HE WOULD GIVE ME A CHANCE TO TAKE IT HOME TO GO TO THE SHOP. I AM ALMOST CLOSE TO TRADING IN MY VEHICLE AND BUYING A NEW ONE, BUT NOT A CTS. IF CADILLAC CAN'T SOLVE THIS, THE CREATOR, WHO CAN? I AM SCARED I'M GOING TO VEER OFF THE FREEWAY OR HIT A CAR ON THE WAY TO WORK. I DRIVE AN HOUR TO AND FROM WORK EVERYDAY AND MY SAFETY IS THE UTMOST CONCERN TO ME AND MY FAMILY.

View Details

STEERING

7/30/2012 - SAN TAN VALLEY, AZ
I WAS DRIVING HOME FROM WORK WHEN THIS FIRST HAPPENED. ALL OF A SUDDEN A LOUD SCREECHING NOISE AND THE BRAKES WOULD NOT STOP IN TIME. I HAD TO PUMP THE BRAKES TO WORK. I TOOK MY CAR TO CADILLAC IN ARIZONA AND THEY HAD IT FOR 2 DAYS AND COULD NOT FIND AN ISSUE. I DROVE HOME THAT DAY WITH IT AND SURE ENOUGH IT DID IT WHILE I WAS HOME. IT HAD NOW BEGAN TO JERK ME TO THE RIGHT AND LEFT WHEN I PRESS ON THE BRAKES, SCARING ME THINKING I AM GOING TO HIT THE CAR NEXT TO ME. I TOOK IT TO MIDAS THIS TIME AND THEY NOTICED A PROBLEM AND SAID MAYBE ITS A WHEEL BARRING. THEY REPLACED ISSUE DUPLICATED ITSELF SHORTLY AFTER. SINCE I DID NOT HAVE A SECOND CAR OR PAY FOR A RENTAL I HAD TO TAKE MY CAR HOME TO GO BACK TO WORK THE NEXT DAY. THIS PROBLEM IS A SAFETY HAZARD AND I HAVE EVEN BEEN PULLED OVER BECAUSE THE COP ASKED WHY I WAS SWERVING WHILE DRIVING. I TOLD THE OFFICE ITS THE CODE THAT COMES UP ON MY SCREEN AND IT MAKES MY CAR HALT WHILE DRIVING AND I CAN NOT CONTROL IT. HE STATED THAT ITS A VERY SERIOUS ISSUE AND IF ANOTHER OFFICER WAS ON DUTY THEY MIGHT IMPOUND MY CAR DUE TO A SAFETY HAZARD BUT HE WOULD GIVE ME A CHANCE TO TAKE IT HOME TO GO TO THE SHOP. I AM ALMOST CLOSE TO TRADING IN MY VEHICLE AND BUYING A NEW ONE, BUT NOT A CTS. IF CADILLAC CAN'T SOLVE THIS, THE CREATOR, WHO CAN? I AM SCARED I'M GOING TO VEER OFF THE FREEWAY OR HIT A CAR ON THE WAY TO WORK. I DRIVE AN HOUR TO AND FROM WORK EVERYDAY AND MY SAFETY IS THE UTMOST CONCERN TO ME AND MY FAMILY.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

7/30/2012 - SAN TAN VALLEY, AZ
I WAS DRIVING HOME FROM WORK WHEN THIS FIRST HAPPENED. ALL OF A SUDDEN A LOUD SCREECHING NOISE AND THE BRAKES WOULD NOT STOP IN TIME. I HAD TO PUMP THE BRAKES TO WORK. I TOOK MY CAR TO CADILLAC IN ARIZONA AND THEY HAD IT FOR 2 DAYS AND COULD NOT FIND AN ISSUE. I DROVE HOME THAT DAY WITH IT AND SURE ENOUGH IT DID IT WHILE I WAS HOME. IT HAD NOW BEGAN TO JERK ME TO THE RIGHT AND LEFT WHEN I PRESS ON THE BRAKES, SCARING ME THINKING I AM GOING TO HIT THE CAR NEXT TO ME. I TOOK IT TO MIDAS THIS TIME AND THEY NOTICED A PROBLEM AND SAID MAYBE ITS A WHEEL BARRING. THEY REPLACED ISSUE DUPLICATED ITSELF SHORTLY AFTER. SINCE I DID NOT HAVE A SECOND CAR OR PAY FOR A RENTAL I HAD TO TAKE MY CAR HOME TO GO BACK TO WORK THE NEXT DAY. THIS PROBLEM IS A SAFETY HAZARD AND I HAVE EVEN BEEN PULLED OVER BECAUSE THE COP ASKED WHY I WAS SWERVING WHILE DRIVING. I TOLD THE OFFICE ITS THE CODE THAT COMES UP ON MY SCREEN AND IT MAKES MY CAR HALT WHILE DRIVING AND I CAN NOT CONTROL IT. HE STATED THAT ITS A VERY SERIOUS ISSUE AND IF ANOTHER OFFICER WAS ON DUTY THEY MIGHT IMPOUND MY CAR DUE TO A SAFETY HAZARD BUT HE WOULD GIVE ME A CHANCE TO TAKE IT HOME TO GO TO THE SHOP. I AM ALMOST CLOSE TO TRADING IN MY VEHICLE AND BUYING A NEW ONE, BUT NOT A CTS. IF CADILLAC CAN'T SOLVE THIS, THE CREATOR, WHO CAN? I AM SCARED I'M GOING TO VEER OFF THE FREEWAY OR HIT A CAR ON THE WAY TO WORK. I DRIVE AN HOUR TO AND FROM WORK EVERYDAY AND MY SAFETY IS THE UTMOST CONCERN TO ME AND MY FAMILY.

View Details
Pages:  <<  6  7  8  9  10  11  12  13  14  15  16  17  18  19  20  >>  ... 33
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds