Auto Recalls for Consumers

CADILLAC CTS - 2003 CADILLAC CTS Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 255 complaints filed for the 2003 CADILLAC CTS

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2003 CADILLAC CTS. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2003 CADILLAC CTS, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (27) Equipment (7) Power Train (23) Service Brakes Hydraulic (26) Traction Control System (4)
Communications (1) Exterior Lighting (38) Seat Belts (1) Steering (22) Unknown Or Other (10)
Electrical System (35) Fuel System Gasoline (6) Seats (2) Structure (17) Vehicle Speed Control (22)
Electronic Stability Control (14) Fuel System Other (2) Service Brakes (10) Suspension (13) Visibility (7)
Engine (15) Other (1) Service Brakes Air (2) Tires (8) Wheels (2)
Engine And Engine Cooling (41)

Pages:  
<<  6  7  8  9  10  11  12  13  14  15  16  17  18  19  20  >>  ... 28
 
ComplaintDescription

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING

2/18/2011 - KNOXVILLE, TN
WHILE TRAVELING AT MODERATE SPEED VEHICLE BEGAN SHAKING VIOLENTLY AND LOOSING POWER. THE ENGINE WAS MISSING ON ONE OR MORE CYLINDERS. DEALER RECOMMENDED REPLACING COIL, SPARKPLUG, VALVE COVER GASKETS AND OIL COOLER. THIS SEEMS TO HAVE BEEN CAUSED BY A DEFECT MENTIONED IN CAD CTS TSB ID # 1609265 DATED 2005. THIS TSB STATES THAT THE CRANKCASE VAPORS AND ENGINE OIL WILL VENT THROUGH THE CAM/VALVE COVER SEALS WHEN THE CRANKCASE VENTILATION SYSTEM BECOMES BLOCKED. THE OIL ON THIS VEHICLE EVIDENTLY VENTED AND LEAKED SEVERAL PLACES INCLUDING INTO THE IGNITION COILS CAUSING A SHORT. IF THIS HAD HAPPENED IN INTERSTATE TRAFFIC AT HIGH SPEEDS THIS COULD HAVE CAUSED AN ACCIDENT OR IF THE OIL HAD LEAKED ON VERY HOT SURFACES POSSIBLY A FIRE. THE TSB SPECIFIED KITS THAT WERE TO BE INSTALLED TO PREVENTED THIS FROM HAPPENING. EVIDENTLY, THESE WERE NEVER INSTALLED ON THIS VEHICLE.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

2/18/2011 - KNOXVILLE, TN
WHILE TRAVELING AT MODERATE SPEED VEHICLE BEGAN SHAKING VIOLENTLY AND LOOSING POWER. THE ENGINE WAS MISSING ON ONE OR MORE CYLINDERS. DEALER RECOMMENDED REPLACING COIL, SPARKPLUG, VALVE COVER GASKETS AND OIL COOLER. THIS SEEMS TO HAVE BEEN CAUSED BY A DEFECT MENTIONED IN CAD CTS TSB ID # 1609265 DATED 2005. THIS TSB STATES THAT THE CRANKCASE VAPORS AND ENGINE OIL WILL VENT THROUGH THE CAM/VALVE COVER SEALS WHEN THE CRANKCASE VENTILATION SYSTEM BECOMES BLOCKED. THE OIL ON THIS VEHICLE EVIDENTLY VENTED AND LEAKED SEVERAL PLACES INCLUDING INTO THE IGNITION COILS CAUSING A SHORT. IF THIS HAD HAPPENED IN INTERSTATE TRAFFIC AT HIGH SPEEDS THIS COULD HAVE CAUSED AN ACCIDENT OR IF THE OIL HAD LEAKED ON VERY HOT SURFACES POSSIBLY A FIRE. THE TSB SPECIFIED KITS THAT WERE TO BE INSTALLED TO PREVENTED THIS FROM HAPPENING. EVIDENTLY, THESE WERE NEVER INSTALLED ON THIS VEHICLE.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

2/15/2011 - WASHINGTON, DC
AFTER DRIVING FOR A SHORT TIME AT SLOW SPEED, CAR WILL SHUT OFF GOING UP A HILL. CAR STARTS RIGHT BACK UP AND RUN FOR A WHILE BUT SHUTS OFF AGAIN WHILE SITTING STILL. AT SOMETIME, AFTER THIS INITIAL EVENT ENGINE LIGHT IS ON, BUT INTERMITTENTLY. CAR DRIVEN TO DEALERSHIP. CKP AND CMP SENSORS FOUND DEFECTIVE.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

2/15/2011 - WASHINGTON, DC
TRUNK LID KEPT ON FALLING WITH NO CONTROL HITTING MY SPOUSE'S HEAD. TRUNK STRUTS FOUND TO BE DEFECTIVE. WHEN GOT THEM FROM DEALERSHIP, IT WAS FOUND THAT HINGES DID NOT MATCH. NEW HINGES WERE REDESIGNED TO CORRECT THE ISSUE.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

2/9/2011 - MONTGOMERY, IL
TL CONTACT OWNS A 2003 CADILLAC CTS. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 50 MPH, THE REAR OVERLAY PANEL FOR THE REAR REVERSE LIGHT FELL OFF. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN AUTHORIZED DEALER WHO STATED THAT THE CONTACT WOULD RESPONSIBLE FOR REPAIR EXPENSES. THE VEHICLE HAD NOT BEEN REPAIRED. THE CONTACT CALLED THE MANUFACTURER WHO REFERRED HIM TO THE CORPORATE OFFICE. HE HAD NOT RECEIVED A RESPONSE. THE VIN WAS UNAVAILABLE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 89,000 AND THE CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 98,000.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC

1/14/2011 - BRADENTON, FL
NHTSA CAMPAIGN # 10V10500 RE; CADILLAC CTS MODELS BRAKE LINE CORROSION PROBLEMS DOES NOT GO FAR ENOUGH IN SCOPE, IN MY OPINION. OUR RECENTLY PURCHASED 2003 CTS HAD NO RECORD OF COMPLIANCE WITH THIS RECALL. IN FACT, BOTH OUR LOCAL DEALER AND CADILLAC CORPORATE CUST SERVICE SAID THEY SHOWED THIS RECALL DID NOT APPLY TO OUR VECHICLE. BEING SKEPTICAL OF THAT ASSERTION BECAUSE THIS VEHICLE HAD SPENT IT'S FIRST TWO YEARS IN CONNECTICUT ON LEASE, I HAD THE BRAKE SYSTEM INSPECTED AT A LOCAL SHOP. THEY FOUND (AND I WITNESSED) THE BADLY CORRODED BRAKE HOSE FITTINGS. AS THE MECHANIC PUSHED ON THE L.H. RUBBER SLEEVE COVERING THE HOSE TO METAL TUBE JUNCTION TO SEE THE EXTENT OF THE RUST, THE HOSE SEPARATED FROM THE TUBE !! THIS WITH ONLY THE PRESSURE APPLIED WITH ONE FINGER !! WE WERE ONE HARD BRAKING APPLICATION FROM A POSSIBLE ACCIDENT !! BUT THERE ARE OTHER AREAS OF CONCERN, AND THOSE ARE THE METAL TUBING LINES IN THE FRONT OF THE CHASSIS THAT ARE PART OF THE HYDRAULIC BRAKING ( AND ANTI-SKID) SYSTEMS. MANY OF THESE LINES ARE HEAVILY RUSTED, MAKING THEM AS MUCH A CONTRIBUTOR TO BRAKE FAILURE AS THE HOSES.! I BELIEVE THESE LINES SHOULD BE SUBJECT TO A RECALL OR EXPANSION OF THE HOSE RECALL.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC: FOUNDATION COMPONENTS: HOSES, LINES/PIPING, AND FITTINGS

1/14/2011 - BRADENTON, FL
NHTSA CAMPAIGN # 10V10500 RE; CADILLAC CTS MODELS BRAKE LINE CORROSION PROBLEMS DOES NOT GO FAR ENOUGH IN SCOPE, IN MY OPINION. OUR RECENTLY PURCHASED 2003 CTS HAD NO RECORD OF COMPLIANCE WITH THIS RECALL. IN FACT, BOTH OUR LOCAL DEALER AND CADILLAC CORPORATE CUST SERVICE SAID THEY SHOWED THIS RECALL DID NOT APPLY TO OUR VECHICLE. BEING SKEPTICAL OF THAT ASSERTION BECAUSE THIS VEHICLE HAD SPENT IT'S FIRST TWO YEARS IN CONNECTICUT ON LEASE, I HAD THE BRAKE SYSTEM INSPECTED AT A LOCAL SHOP. THEY FOUND (AND I WITNESSED) THE BADLY CORRODED BRAKE HOSE FITTINGS. AS THE MECHANIC PUSHED ON THE L.H. RUBBER SLEEVE COVERING THE HOSE TO METAL TUBE JUNCTION TO SEE THE EXTENT OF THE RUST, THE HOSE SEPARATED FROM THE TUBE !! THIS WITH ONLY THE PRESSURE APPLIED WITH ONE FINGER !! WE WERE ONE HARD BRAKING APPLICATION FROM A POSSIBLE ACCIDENT !! BUT THERE ARE OTHER AREAS OF CONCERN, AND THOSE ARE THE METAL TUBING LINES IN THE FRONT OF THE CHASSIS THAT ARE PART OF THE HYDRAULIC BRAKING ( AND ANTI-SKID) SYSTEMS. MANY OF THESE LINES ARE HEAVILY RUSTED, MAKING THEM AS MUCH A CONTRIBUTOR TO BRAKE FAILURE AS THE HOSES.! I BELIEVE THESE LINES SHOULD BE SUBJECT TO A RECALL OR EXPANSION OF THE HOSE RECALL.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

1/13/2011 - CORONA, CA
THE TRUNK WILL NOT STAY UP. IT CONTINUOUSLY SLAM DOWN. IT HAS FALLEN ON BOTH MY HUSBAND AN MY HEAD AND SHOULDERS. IT HAS BECOME VERY DANGEROUS AND GENERAL MOTORS WILL NOT CORRECT IT, SAYS CAR TOO OLD. ALL OWNERS BE CAREFUL!!

View Details

AIR BAGS

11/1/2010 - BOSTON, MA
LOST CONTROL OF 2003 CADILLAC CTS ON THE MASS PIKE - HIT THE JERSEY BARRIER AT 65 MILES PER HOUR, CAREENED ACROSS THREE LANES OF TRAFFIC AND HIT A TREE. CAR WAS DECLARED A TOTAL LOSS. NONE OF THE AIRBAGS DEPLOYED.

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

11/1/2010 - BRANDON, FL
2003 CTS - SERVICE TRACKING SYSTEM BEGAN TO DISPLAY AND ENGAGE FREQUENTLY. TOOK TO LOCAL DEALER AND WAS TOLD NOTHING WAS WRONG WITH VEHICLE. PROBLEM CONTINUED AND BEGAN VIBRATING BADLY AND PULLING TOWARD LEFT (UNABLE TO BRAKE). RETURNED VEHICLE SEVERAL TIMES BEFORE THEY REPLACED "STEERING SENSOR" $650.00. TWO MONTHS LATER BEGAN TO LOSE POWER IMMEDIATELY AFTER START UP, DEALER REPLACED BATTERY. WHILE DRIVING VEHICLE HOME PROBLEM BEGAN AGAIN. DISPLAYED LOW BATTERY, THEN MULTIPLE WARNING LIGHTS FOR SERVICE (ABS, TRACKING, AIRBAG ECT...). RETURNED VEHICLE TO DEALER AND THEY ARE CURRENTLY REPLACING ALTERNATOR. I HAVE NO CONFIDENCE THAT THIS IS THE REAL PROBLEM BASED ON WHAT I HAVE READ ON-LINE REGARDING THIS SAME ISSUE. I ALSO HAVE SAME LEAKAGE ISSUES FROM BOTH COOLANT AND OIL SOURCES THAT I HAVE READ ON-LINE. DEALER CONTINUES TO TELL ME TO REPLACE BOTH GASKETS AND THERMOSTAT. THESE AGAIN ARE COMMON ISSUES THAT ARE POSTED CONSISTENTLY ON-LINE BY CONSUMERS. THESE ARE SERIOUSLY DANGEROUS FAILURES BASED ON PEOPLE'S PERSONAL SAFETY. GM MUST STEP UP AND HONOR THESE SAFETY ISSUES BY RECALLING THESE ITEMS. INABILITY TO CONTROL VEHICLE DUE TO TRACKING SYSTEM ENGAGING AND NOT ABLE TO BRAKE, VEHICLE LOSING POWER AND STALLING WHILE DRIVING 50 MILES AN HOUR, AND LASTLY FIRE HAZARD DUE TO LEAKING PLASTIC VALVE COVER GASKETS.

View Details
Pages:  <<  6  7  8  9  10  11  12  13  14  15  16  17  18  19  20  >>  ... 28
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds