Auto Recalls for Consumers

CADILLAC CTS - 2003 CADILLAC CTS Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 280 complaints filed for the 2003 CADILLAC CTS

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2003 CADILLAC CTS. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2003 CADILLAC CTS, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (29) Equipment (7) Power Train (24) Service Brakes Hydraulic (26) Traction Control System (4)
Communications (1) Exterior Lighting (38) Seat Belts (1) Steering (25) Unknown Or Other (9)
Electrical System (45) Fuel System Gasoline (6) Seats (2) Structure (19) Vehicle Speed Control (22)
Electronic Stability Control (16) Fuel System Other (2) Service Brakes (15) Suspension (13) Visibility (7)
Engine (22) Other (1) Service Brakes Air (2) Tires (8) Wheels (3)
Engine And Engine Cooling (41)

Pages:  
<<  6  7  8  9  10  11  12  13  14  15  16  17  18  19  20  >>  ... 31
 
ComplaintDescription

SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC

3/8/2012 - CHESTERFIELD, VA
WHILE BRAKING FOR SOME SLOW TRAFFIC, I FELT A POP FROM THE BRAKE PEDAL. ONLY HAVING ABOUT 25% USE OF THE BRAKES I HAD TO PULL OF THE SIDE OF THE ROAD TO AVOID HITTING THE CAR IN FRONT OF ME. I HAD THE CAR TOWED TO THE SHOP WHERE THE MECHANIC SHOWED ME THE BRAKE FLUID LEAKING FROM THE BRAKE LINE CONNECTION. WHEN HE CHECKED THE OTHER SIDE THE FITTING SNAPPED IN HIS HAND. WHAT I WOULD LIKE TO KNOW IS WHY CADILLAC DID NOT NOTIFY ME ABOUT THIS RECALL. AFTER TALKING TO CADILLAC THEY DID CONFIRM THAT THIS VEHICLE IS COVERED UNDER THIS RECALL. I NOW HAVE TO TAKE THE PARTS TO A GM DEALER ALONG WITH MY REGISTRATION AND RECEIPT FOR REPAIRS. I WAS TOLD IT WILL TAKE 4 WEEKS TO BE REIMBURSED.

View Details

STRUCTURE

2/28/2012 - AURORA, IL
WHILE DRIVING HOME FROM WORK I HEARD A SLIGHT CRASH NOISE, LOOKED IN MY REAR VIEW MIRROR TO SEE THE BEZEL PIECE FLEW OFF MY CAR AND ATTACHED WERE THE BACK UP LIGHTS. THE PIECE SHATTERED AND WAS IRREPLACEABLE. UPON RESEARCH IN CADILLAC BLOGS I READ THAT THIS WAS AN ONGOING PROBLEM WITH 03-05 CTS CARS DUE TO GM USING A CHEAP GLUE TO HOLD THE PIECE ON. CADILLAC ONLY AGREED TO REPLACE THE PART IF THE CAR WAS STILL COVERED UNDER THEIR FACTORY WARRANTY, BUT I AM NOT. FURTHER RESEARCH SHOWED THAT THEY DON'T EVEN OFFER ATHE SAME REPLACEMENT PIECE, NOW A NEW PART ONLY AVAILABLE IN AN ASSEMBLY KIT RANGING BETWEEN 4-500 DOLLARS. I FIND IT UNETHICAL TO SELL A LUXURY CAR, AND BUILD IT WITH CHEAP PLASTIC PIECES THAT SIMPLY FALL OFF DUE TO CHEAP ADHESIVE, AND CAUSE DANGER TO DRIVERS BEHIND ME. THE FACT THAT THE PART WAS DISCONTINUED ONLY PROVES THAT CADILLAC ACKNOWLEDGES THE PIECE WAS CHEAPLY CONSTRUCTED, AND SHOULD OFFER REPLACEMENTS TO ALL EARLY CTS MODELS. WHEN ASSEMBLING AUTOMOBILE ONLY QUALITY PARTS SHOULD BE USED, NOT CHEAP PLASTIC WITH FAULTY GLUE, I FEEL THIS WARRANTS A RECALL, BUT ONE WASN'T ISSUED. THANKS FOR YOUR TIME.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

2/9/2012 - NEW LONDON, MO
WHILE I WAS DRIVING DOWN THE HIGHWAY, I HEARD A LOUD NOISE, WHEN I LOOKED BACK THE PLASTIC PIECE WHICH COVERS THE TWO SMALL LIGHTS AROUND MY LICENSE PLATE, HAD FLOWN OFF AND HIT THE CAR BEHIND ME. FORTUNATELY THERE WAS NO DAMAGE DONE, HOWEVER THE PART OBVIOUSLY BROKE, AND A NEW PART COSTS ANYWHERE FROM 750.00 TO 1000.00 DOLLARS (FOR A PLASTIC PIECE THAT IS NO MORE THEN 28 INCHES LONG) EVERY VENDER OF THIS PART I HAVE CALLED HAS TOLD ME IT IS SO EXPENSIVE BECAUSE SO MANY PEOPLE HAVE THEM FALL OFF OF THEIR CARS. THERE IS NO CLIPS OR SCREWS TO HOLD THE PART ON, WHICH MEANS EVEN IF I BUY ANOTHER ONE THE SAME THING COULD HAPPEN. MY BIGGEST CONCERN IS THE CAR BEHIND ME.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC

2/4/2012 - PRESTONSBURG, KY
I PURCHASED MY NEW 2003 CTS IN 2002 AT PIKEVILLE, KY. CURRENTLY THERE IS A RECALL FOR THE CTS RECALL 10V105000 (GM RECALL NO. 09149) THAT INVOLVES THE FRONT BRAKE HOSES RUPTURING DUE TO ROAD SALT CORROSION. HOWEVER, THE STATE OF KY IS NOT COVERED. WE HAVE ROAD SALT HERE AS WELL. PIKEVILLE IS JUST 20 MILES FROM WV AND IT IS COVERED THERE. MY VIN FALLS WITHIN THE GUIDELINE. IN 2007 BEFORE THE RECALL IT HAPPENED TO ME HERE IN KY AND CAUSED ME TO HAVE A CRASH. SINCE PIKEVILLE IS SO CLOSE TO WV AND MY EMPLOYER IS THERE, I AM IN WV A LOT. I FEEL THAT CADILLAC SHOULD HONOR ME AS WELL!!! HOWEVER, GM REFUSES TO HONOR THE RECALL SINCE I MEET EVERY REQUIREMENT EXCEPT THE STATE. SINCE IT IS A KNOWN PROBLEM, AND I CRASHED, GM SHOULD REPAIR MY HOSES UNDER THE RECALL. I AM SURE THAT IF I DECIDED TO PURSUE LITIGATION, I WOULD BE SUCCESSFUL NOW THAT GM HAS ADMITTED TO THE PROBLEM. THE SIMPLE FACT THAT I RESIDE IN KY IS THE ONLY REASON THAT I CANNOT REAP THE BENEFITS OF THE RECALL. ROAD SALT IS THE SAME IN KY AS IT IS IN WV. CORROSION IS CORROSION. I HAVE PURCHASED OVER 15 NEW GM VEHICLES DURING MY LIFETIME AND AM A DEDICATED GM OWNER. I CURRENTLY OWN 4 GM VEHICLES. I AM RESPECTFULLY ASKING CADILLAC/GM TO OFFER ME THE RECALL AS WELL SINCE I FALL WITHIN THE VIN RANGE AND MY CLOSE PROXIMITY TO WV. AS A MATTER OF FACT, KY SHOULD BE INCLUDED AS WELL AS ALL THE SURROUNDING STATES ARE ALSO UNDER THE RECALL. I WAS IN THE PROCESS OF PURCHASING A NEW CAMARO, BUT IF THIS IS GM'S WAY OF TREATING DEDICATED CUSTOMERS - I MAY RETHINK THAT. LET'S SEE....CADILLAC HAS ADMITTED TO THE CORROSION ISSUE - I HAD THE ISSUE AND CRASHED AS A RESULT - WONDER HOW THAT WOULD COME OUT IN FRONT OF A JURY? ALL I ASK FOR IS FOR CADILLAC/GM TO REPLACE MY FRONT BRAKE HOSES UNDER THE RECALL....

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

1/26/2012 - CALUMET CITY, IL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2003 CADILLAC CTS. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL LIGHT ILLUMINATED ON THE INSTRUMENT PANEL. THE CONTACT ALSO STATED THAT THE BRAKES SEEMED TO SKIP WHEN THE FAILURE OCCURRED AND IT WAS DIFFICULT TO CONTROL THE VEHICLE. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN AUTHORIZED DEALER ON FIVE OCCASIONS AND THE CONTACT WAS INFORMED THAT NOTHING WAS WRONG WITH THE VEHICLE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 120,000 AND THE CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 150,000.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING

1/21/2012 - COVINGTON, LA
AN OIL LEAK AFTER DRIVING ABOUT 35 MILES, COMPLETELY DRAINED OIL. BROUGHT CAR TO CADILLAC DEALER WHO CHARGER ME $4500 TO REPAIR. LOOKED ON MYCARSTATS.COM WEB SITE AND SAW ANOTHER OF THE SAME PROBLEM...CASE #[XXX]. INFORMATION REDACTED PURSUANT TO THE FREEDOM OF INFORMATION ACT (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

1/5/2012 - MARLOW , GA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2003 CADILLAC CTS. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE REAR TAG PANEL DETACHED FROM THE VEHICLE, AS A RESULT WATER SIP IN AND DAMAGE THE WIRING OF THE BRAKE LAMPS. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER WHO STATED THAT THE ADHESIVE THAT WAS USED TO HOLD THE PANEL WAS DEFECTIVE AS A RESULT IT NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE WHO DID NOT OFFER ANY ASSISTANCE AND REFERRED HER TO NHTSA. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 85,000 AND CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 95,000.

View Details

SUSPENSION

12/6/2011 - EAST BRUNSWICK, NJ
2003 CADILAC CTS. CONSUMER WRITES IN REGARDS TO PROBLEMS WITH BRAKE SYSTEM THE CONSUMER STATED THE METAL BRAKE LINE HAD TO BE REPLACED, DUE TO SEVERE CORROSION. THE CONSUMER STATED HE RECEIVED A RECALL LETTER TWO DAYS LATER. ALSO, THE STRUTS, THREE WHEEL BEARINGS, RADIATOR, TRANSMISSION COOLER LINE ALSO HAD TO BE REPLACED DUE TO CORROSION. THE CRUISE CONTROL AND GAS TANK, WHICH WAS LEAKING HAD TO REPLACED.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC: FOUNDATION COMPONENTS: HOSES, LINES/PIPING, AND FITTINGS

12/6/2011 - EAST BRUNSWICK, NJ
2003 CADILAC CTS. CONSUMER WRITES IN REGARDS TO PROBLEMS WITH BRAKE SYSTEM THE CONSUMER STATED THE METAL BRAKE LINE HAD TO BE REPLACED, DUE TO SEVERE CORROSION. THE CONSUMER STATED HE RECEIVED A RECALL LETTER TWO DAYS LATER. ALSO, THE STRUTS, THREE WHEEL BEARINGS, RADIATOR, TRANSMISSION COOLER LINE ALSO HAD TO BE REPLACED DUE TO CORROSION. THE CRUISE CONTROL AND GAS TANK, WHICH WAS LEAKING HAD TO REPLACED.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL: CRUISE CONTROL

12/6/2011 - EAST BRUNSWICK, NJ
2003 CADILAC CTS. CONSUMER WRITES IN REGARDS TO PROBLEMS WITH BRAKE SYSTEM THE CONSUMER STATED THE METAL BRAKE LINE HAD TO BE REPLACED, DUE TO SEVERE CORROSION. THE CONSUMER STATED HE RECEIVED A RECALL LETTER TWO DAYS LATER. ALSO, THE STRUTS, THREE WHEEL BEARINGS, RADIATOR, TRANSMISSION COOLER LINE ALSO HAD TO BE REPLACED DUE TO CORROSION. THE CRUISE CONTROL AND GAS TANK, WHICH WAS LEAKING HAD TO REPLACED.

View Details
Pages:  <<  6  7  8  9  10  11  12  13  14  15  16  17  18  19  20  >>  ... 31
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds