Auto Recalls for Consumers

CADILLAC CTS - 2003 CADILLAC CTS Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 264 complaints filed for the 2003 CADILLAC CTS

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2003 CADILLAC CTS. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2003 CADILLAC CTS, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (28) Equipment (7) Power Train (24) Service Brakes Hydraulic (26) Traction Control System (4)
Communications (1) Exterior Lighting (38) Seat Belts (1) Steering (23) Unknown Or Other (11)
Electrical System (38) Fuel System Gasoline (6) Seats (2) Structure (18) Vehicle Speed Control (22)
Electronic Stability Control (14) Fuel System Other (2) Service Brakes (11) Suspension (13) Visibility (7)
Engine (17) Other (1) Service Brakes Air (2) Tires (8) Wheels (3)
Engine And Engine Cooling (41)

Pages:  
<<  6  7  8  9  10  11  12  13  14  15  16  17  18  19  20  >>  ... 29
 
ComplaintDescription

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

8/8/2011 - LAQUINTA, CA
WHILE DRIVING AT A STEADY AND EVEN SPEED MY CAR WOULD SUDDENLY PULLED TO THE LEFT AS IF THE LEFT FRONT WHEEL HAD THE BREAK APPLY. ALMOST INSTANTLY MY "STABILITY SYSTEM ENGAGED" DISPLAY WOULD GO ON AND THE CAR WOULD CORRECT ITSELF. THIS WENT ON TO BECOME A REGULAR EVENT WITH EACH TIME I TOOK THE CAR OUT. THE MOST IT OCCURRED WAS 30 OR SO TIMES IN A 90 MILE TRIP, BUT IT HAPPENED REGULARLY ON LOCAL 2 MILE TRIPS TO THE STORE. SOMETIMES IT WOULD BE MORE SEVERE THAN OTHERS . IN ADDITION AND OCCASIONALLY, WHEN THE BREAKS WERE APPLIED, THERE WOULD BE A "LOUDISH" CRUNCH SOUND AND RESISTANCE TO FOOT PRESSURE THAT WOULD GIVE WAY AFTER THE INITIAL BREAK APPLICATION. THERE WAS ALSO A VIBRATION "BUZZ" THROUGH THE GAS PEDAL WHEN THIS ALL WOULD OCCUR. THE FIRST TIME I TOOK THE CAR TO THE DEALER THEY COULD NOT FIND ANYTHING WRONG OR DUPLICATE THE PROBLEM. I TOOK THEM INFORMATION I HAD FOUND ON THE WEB ABOUT THE PROBLEM AND THEY CHECKED THEIR SERVICE BULLETINS FOR A PROBLEM. IT WAS FIXED BY CHANGING A STEERING SENSOR AT A COST OF $430.

View Details

STEERING

8/8/2011 - LAQUINTA, CA
WHILE DRIVING AT A STEADY AND EVEN SPEED MY CAR WOULD SUDDENLY PULLED TO THE LEFT AS IF THE LEFT FRONT WHEEL HAD THE BREAK APPLY. ALMOST INSTANTLY MY "STABILITY SYSTEM ENGAGED" DISPLAY WOULD GO ON AND THE CAR WOULD CORRECT ITSELF. THIS WENT ON TO BECOME A REGULAR EVENT WITH EACH TIME I TOOK THE CAR OUT. THE MOST IT OCCURRED WAS 30 OR SO TIMES IN A 90 MILE TRIP, BUT IT HAPPENED REGULARLY ON LOCAL 2 MILE TRIPS TO THE STORE. SOMETIMES IT WOULD BE MORE SEVERE THAN OTHERS . IN ADDITION AND OCCASIONALLY, WHEN THE BREAKS WERE APPLIED, THERE WOULD BE A "LOUDISH" CRUNCH SOUND AND RESISTANCE TO FOOT PRESSURE THAT WOULD GIVE WAY AFTER THE INITIAL BREAK APPLICATION. THERE WAS ALSO A VIBRATION "BUZZ" THROUGH THE GAS PEDAL WHEN THIS ALL WOULD OCCUR. THE FIRST TIME I TOOK THE CAR TO THE DEALER THEY COULD NOT FIND ANYTHING WRONG OR DUPLICATE THE PROBLEM. I TOOK THEM INFORMATION I HAD FOUND ON THE WEB ABOUT THE PROBLEM AND THEY CHECKED THEIR SERVICE BULLETINS FOR A PROBLEM. IT WAS FIXED BY CHANGING A STEERING SENSOR AT A COST OF $430.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

7/23/2011 - TACOMA, WA
THE PLASTIC PANEL COVER FOR THE REVERSE LIGHTS FELL OFF, AND NOW THE REVERSE LIGHTS ARE EXPOSED.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING: BACK UP LIGHTS

7/18/2011 - CHICAGO, IL
THE REAR BACK UP LIGHT PANEL HAS A PLASTIC COVER OVER IT. MINE FELL OFF AND I AM HAVING A TERRIBLE TIME REPLACING IT. I CONTACTED CADILLAC, BUT THEY DON'T SELL THAT PIECE ANYMORE. THEY HAVE REDESIGNED A REPLACEMENT THAT WILL NOT FALL OFF BUT IT COSTS OVER $500 AND CADILLAC WON'T COVER IT BECAUSE THEY CLAIM IT HAS NOT BEEN RECALLED. AS I DRIVE UP AND DOWN THE STREETS AND HIGHWAYS IN CHICAGO, I NOTICE MANY 2003-2007 CADILLAC CTS ARE ALSO MISSING THIS PART. HOW CAN THIS PLASTIC PART FALL OFF WITH OUT CAUSE AND YET NOT BE RECALLED?

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

7/18/2011 - CHICAGO, IL
THE REAR BACK UP LIGHT PANEL HAS A PLASTIC COVER OVER IT. MINE FELL OFF AND I AM HAVING A TERRIBLE TIME REPLACING IT. I CONTACTED CADILLAC, BUT THEY DON'T SELL THAT PIECE ANYMORE. THEY HAVE REDESIGNED A REPLACEMENT THAT WILL NOT FALL OFF BUT IT COSTS OVER $500 AND CADILLAC WON'T COVER IT BECAUSE THEY CLAIM IT HAS NOT BEEN RECALLED. AS I DRIVE UP AND DOWN THE STREETS AND HIGHWAYS IN CHICAGO, I NOTICE MANY 2003-2007 CADILLAC CTS ARE ALSO MISSING THIS PART. HOW CAN THIS PLASTIC PART FALL OFF WITH OUT CAUSE AND YET NOT BE RECALLED?

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING: ENGINE

7/7/2011 - NEW KENSINGTON, PA
UNDER 33,000 MILES ON THIS CAR. WHILE DRIVING DOWN A HILL I HEARD A LOUD CLANK NOISE. CAR LOST ALL STEERING AND BRAKE POWER COMPLETELY LOCKED UP. HAD TOWED TO SHOP AND THEY SAID TIMING CHAIN IS BROKEN AND PASSENGER SIDE OF ENGINE IS LOCKED UP WITH BENT VALVES. NO WARNING WHAT SO EVER. CHECK ENGINE LIGHT NEVER CAME ON. NOW THIS CAR NEEDS A NEW ENGINE.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

6/15/2011 - BAL HARBOUR, FL
THE 2003 CADILLAC CTS HAS VARIOUS ELECTRICAL PROBLEMS, WHERE THE POWER/INSTRUMENT PANEL DISPLAY CUTS OUT REPEATEDLY. THE SAFETY CONCERN THAT ALARMED ME ENOUGH TO FIND THIS FORM HAS HAPPENED 3 TIMES WHERE I AM DRIVING ON THE HIGHWAY AND SUDDENLY THE CAR'S POWER SHUTS OFF AND THE MESSAGE DISPLAY IS TO RE-START THE CAR. WHEN THIS HAPPENED, I PUT THE CAR IN NEUTRAL, TURNED OFF THE IGNITION AND RE-STARTED THE CAR (TWICE ON THE HIGHWAY AT HIGHER SPEEDS AND ONCE ON A LOCAL ROAD AT LOWER 30 -40 MPH VELOCITY. WITH NO REASON OR WARNING.

View Details

EQUIPMENT: ELECTRICAL: ANTI-THEFT DEVICES

6/7/2011 - FAIR OAKS, CA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2003 CADILLAC CTS. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE THEFT DETERRENT SYSTEM WAS FAULTY AND HE WAS UNABLE TO REMOVE THE KEY FROM THE IGNITION. WHILE THE VEHICLE WAS IMMOBILIZED, THE DOORS WOULD LOCK INDEPENDENTLY AND HE WAS UNABLE TO ENTER OR EXIT THE VEHICLE. IN ADDITION, THE ALARM SYSTEM WOULD ACTIVATE RANDOMLY AND WITHOUT WARNING. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER WHERE THEY REPLACED THE BATTERY AS WELL AS THE POWER CONTROL MODULE HOWEVER, THE FAILURE CONTINUED TO RECUR. THE VEHICLE WAS AWAITING AN ALTERNATOR REPAIR. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 85,000 AND THE FAILURE MILEAGES WERE 60,000.

View Details

AIR BAGS

5/12/2011 - DEATSVILLE, AL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2003 CADILLAC CTS. THE CONTACT WAS DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 55 MPH WHEN SHE ATTEMPTED TO AVOID A CRASH BY SWERVING. THE CONTACT CRASHED INTO THE DIVIDER AND THE FRONTAL LAND SIDE AIR BAGS DEPLOYED ONLY PARTIALLY. IN ADDITION, THE CONTACT STATED THAT THERE WERE HOLES IN THE AIR BAGS. THE CONTACT SUSTAINED INJURIES TO THE HEAD AND A POLICE REPORT WAS FILED. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED FROM THE SCENE AND THE INSURANCE COMPANY DEEMED IT AS DESTROYED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS CONTACTED AND THEY OFFERED NO ASSISTANCE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 102,000.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY: TRUNK LID

5/2/2011 - CATONSVILLE, MD
TL CONTACT OWNS A 2003 CADILLAC CTS. THE CONTACT STATED WHENEVER THE VEHICLE WAS NOT STARTED FOR A FEW DAYS IT WOULD ONLY START WITH A JUMP START. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER AT LEAST THREE TIMES WHO STATED THE BATTERY CAUSED THE FAILURE TO OCCUR. A BRAND NEW BATTERY WAS INSTALLED BUT THE VEHICLE WOULD NOT START. THE CONTACT ALSO STATED THAT THE TRUNK WAS TOO HEAVY TO STAY IN THE UP POSITION EACH TIME SHE OPENED IT. THE TRUNK HAD FALLEN ONTO HER HEAD BUT THERE WERE NO INJURIES. THE MANUFACTURER STATED THAT THERE WERE NO RECALLS AND OFFERED NO ASSISTANCE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 90,100.

View Details
Pages:  <<  6  7  8  9  10  11  12  13  14  15  16  17  18  19  20  >>  ... 29
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds