Auto Recalls for Consumers

CADILLAC CTS - 2003 CADILLAC CTS Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 286 complaints filed for the 2003 CADILLAC CTS

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2003 CADILLAC CTS. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2003 CADILLAC CTS, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (30) Equipment (8) Power Train (25) Service Brakes Hydraulic (26) Traction Control System (4)
Communications (1) Exterior Lighting (39) Seat Belts (1) Steering (26) Unknown Or Other (10)
Electrical System (46) Fuel Propulsion System (1) Seats (2) Structure (19) Vehicle Speed Control (23)
Electronic Stability Control (17) Fuel System Gasoline (6) Service Brakes (15) Suspension (13) Visibility (7)
Engine (23) Fuel System Other (2) Service Brakes Air (2) Tires (8) Wheels (3)
Engine And Engine Cooling (42) Other (1)

Pages:  
<<  6  7  8  9  10  11  12  13  14  15  16  17  18  19  20  >>  ... 32
 
ComplaintDescription

SERVICE BRAKES

7/30/2012 - SAN TAN VALLEY, AZ
I WAS DRIVING HOME FROM WORK WHEN THIS FIRST HAPPENED. ALL OF A SUDDEN A LOUD SCREECHING NOISE AND THE BRAKES WOULD NOT STOP IN TIME. I HAD TO PUMP THE BRAKES TO WORK. I TOOK MY CAR TO CADILLAC IN ARIZONA AND THEY HAD IT FOR 2 DAYS AND COULD NOT FIND AN ISSUE. I DROVE HOME THAT DAY WITH IT AND SURE ENOUGH IT DID IT WHILE I WAS HOME. IT HAD NOW BEGAN TO JERK ME TO THE RIGHT AND LEFT WHEN I PRESS ON THE BRAKES, SCARING ME THINKING I AM GOING TO HIT THE CAR NEXT TO ME. I TOOK IT TO MIDAS THIS TIME AND THEY NOTICED A PROBLEM AND SAID MAYBE ITS A WHEEL BARRING. THEY REPLACED ISSUE DUPLICATED ITSELF SHORTLY AFTER. SINCE I DID NOT HAVE A SECOND CAR OR PAY FOR A RENTAL I HAD TO TAKE MY CAR HOME TO GO BACK TO WORK THE NEXT DAY. THIS PROBLEM IS A SAFETY HAZARD AND I HAVE EVEN BEEN PULLED OVER BECAUSE THE COP ASKED WHY I WAS SWERVING WHILE DRIVING. I TOLD THE OFFICE ITS THE CODE THAT COMES UP ON MY SCREEN AND IT MAKES MY CAR HALT WHILE DRIVING AND I CAN NOT CONTROL IT. HE STATED THAT ITS A VERY SERIOUS ISSUE AND IF ANOTHER OFFICER WAS ON DUTY THEY MIGHT IMPOUND MY CAR DUE TO A SAFETY HAZARD BUT HE WOULD GIVE ME A CHANCE TO TAKE IT HOME TO GO TO THE SHOP. I AM ALMOST CLOSE TO TRADING IN MY VEHICLE AND BUYING A NEW ONE, BUT NOT A CTS. IF CADILLAC CAN'T SOLVE THIS, THE CREATOR, WHO CAN? I AM SCARED I'M GOING TO VEER OFF THE FREEWAY OR HIT A CAR ON THE WAY TO WORK. I DRIVE AN HOUR TO AND FROM WORK EVERYDAY AND MY SAFETY IS THE UTMOST CONCERN TO ME AND MY FAMILY.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

7/30/2012 - SAN TAN VALLEY, AZ
I WAS DRIVING HOME FROM WORK WHEN THIS FIRST HAPPENED. ALL OF A SUDDEN A LOUD SCREECHING NOISE AND THE BRAKES WOULD NOT STOP IN TIME. I HAD TO PUMP THE BRAKES TO WORK. I TOOK MY CAR TO CADILLAC IN ARIZONA AND THEY HAD IT FOR 2 DAYS AND COULD NOT FIND AN ISSUE. I DROVE HOME THAT DAY WITH IT AND SURE ENOUGH IT DID IT WHILE I WAS HOME. IT HAD NOW BEGAN TO JERK ME TO THE RIGHT AND LEFT WHEN I PRESS ON THE BRAKES, SCARING ME THINKING I AM GOING TO HIT THE CAR NEXT TO ME. I TOOK IT TO MIDAS THIS TIME AND THEY NOTICED A PROBLEM AND SAID MAYBE ITS A WHEEL BARRING. THEY REPLACED ISSUE DUPLICATED ITSELF SHORTLY AFTER. SINCE I DID NOT HAVE A SECOND CAR OR PAY FOR A RENTAL I HAD TO TAKE MY CAR HOME TO GO BACK TO WORK THE NEXT DAY. THIS PROBLEM IS A SAFETY HAZARD AND I HAVE EVEN BEEN PULLED OVER BECAUSE THE COP ASKED WHY I WAS SWERVING WHILE DRIVING. I TOLD THE OFFICE ITS THE CODE THAT COMES UP ON MY SCREEN AND IT MAKES MY CAR HALT WHILE DRIVING AND I CAN NOT CONTROL IT. HE STATED THAT ITS A VERY SERIOUS ISSUE AND IF ANOTHER OFFICER WAS ON DUTY THEY MIGHT IMPOUND MY CAR DUE TO A SAFETY HAZARD BUT HE WOULD GIVE ME A CHANCE TO TAKE IT HOME TO GO TO THE SHOP. I AM ALMOST CLOSE TO TRADING IN MY VEHICLE AND BUYING A NEW ONE, BUT NOT A CTS. IF CADILLAC CAN'T SOLVE THIS, THE CREATOR, WHO CAN? I AM SCARED I'M GOING TO VEER OFF THE FREEWAY OR HIT A CAR ON THE WAY TO WORK. I DRIVE AN HOUR TO AND FROM WORK EVERYDAY AND MY SAFETY IS THE UTMOST CONCERN TO ME AND MY FAMILY.

View Details

STEERING

7/30/2012 - SAN TAN VALLEY, AZ
I WAS DRIVING HOME FROM WORK WHEN THIS FIRST HAPPENED. ALL OF A SUDDEN A LOUD SCREECHING NOISE AND THE BRAKES WOULD NOT STOP IN TIME. I HAD TO PUMP THE BRAKES TO WORK. I TOOK MY CAR TO CADILLAC IN ARIZONA AND THEY HAD IT FOR 2 DAYS AND COULD NOT FIND AN ISSUE. I DROVE HOME THAT DAY WITH IT AND SURE ENOUGH IT DID IT WHILE I WAS HOME. IT HAD NOW BEGAN TO JERK ME TO THE RIGHT AND LEFT WHEN I PRESS ON THE BRAKES, SCARING ME THINKING I AM GOING TO HIT THE CAR NEXT TO ME. I TOOK IT TO MIDAS THIS TIME AND THEY NOTICED A PROBLEM AND SAID MAYBE ITS A WHEEL BARRING. THEY REPLACED ISSUE DUPLICATED ITSELF SHORTLY AFTER. SINCE I DID NOT HAVE A SECOND CAR OR PAY FOR A RENTAL I HAD TO TAKE MY CAR HOME TO GO BACK TO WORK THE NEXT DAY. THIS PROBLEM IS A SAFETY HAZARD AND I HAVE EVEN BEEN PULLED OVER BECAUSE THE COP ASKED WHY I WAS SWERVING WHILE DRIVING. I TOLD THE OFFICE ITS THE CODE THAT COMES UP ON MY SCREEN AND IT MAKES MY CAR HALT WHILE DRIVING AND I CAN NOT CONTROL IT. HE STATED THAT ITS A VERY SERIOUS ISSUE AND IF ANOTHER OFFICER WAS ON DUTY THEY MIGHT IMPOUND MY CAR DUE TO A SAFETY HAZARD BUT HE WOULD GIVE ME A CHANCE TO TAKE IT HOME TO GO TO THE SHOP. I AM ALMOST CLOSE TO TRADING IN MY VEHICLE AND BUYING A NEW ONE, BUT NOT A CTS. IF CADILLAC CAN'T SOLVE THIS, THE CREATOR, WHO CAN? I AM SCARED I'M GOING TO VEER OFF THE FREEWAY OR HIT A CAR ON THE WAY TO WORK. I DRIVE AN HOUR TO AND FROM WORK EVERYDAY AND MY SAFETY IS THE UTMOST CONCERN TO ME AND MY FAMILY.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

7/17/2012 - CLINTON, OK
I PURCHASED THIS VEHICLE IN NOVEMBER 2011 WITH APPROX. 97,000 MILES SHOWING ON THE ODOMETER. DURING A THANKSGIVING HOLIDAY TRIP OF SOME 1600 MILES, CONSISTING MOSTLY OF HIGHWAY DRIVING WITH THE CRUISE CONTROL ENGAGED, AND FOR NO APPARENT REASON, THE ASC (AUTOMATIC STABILITY CONTROL) WOULD DISENGAGE THE CRUISE CONTROL, "TUG" THE VEHICLE TO THE LEFT OR RIGHT SLIGHTLY, SEEMED TO HAVE A SLIGHT BRAKING EFFECT (ALTHOUGH IT MAY HAVE BEEN THE SUDDEN DECELERATION THAT CAUSED THE SENSE OF BRAKING) AND WOULD DISPLAY " STABILITY CONTROL ENGAGED". THIS OCCURRED NUMEROUS TIMES. ALSO, ON THIS SAME TRIP, THE "TRACTION CONTROL" WOULD ENGAGE, WITHOUT WARNING OR NEED, AND DISENGAGE THE CRUISE CONTROL CAUSING SUDDEN, UNEXPECTED, DECELERATION. THIS TOO HAPPENED NUMEROUS TIMES. ALTHOUGH I DID NOTICE THAT THE "TRACTION CONTROL" SEEMED TO ENGAGE WHEN IN A CURVE ON ROUGH OR BUMPY ROADS. I CONCLUDED THAT THIS WAS THE RESULT OF A SUDDEN "WHEEL HOP" OR "SPIN" AS A RESULT OF LOSING TRACTION FROM THE "BOUNCE" WHEN HITTING A BUMP OR ROUGH SPOT. I'VE RUN THE "ONBOARD DIAGNOSTIC SYSTEM" SEVERAL TIMES AND NO CODES PERTAINING TO THESE EVENTS ARE DISPLAYED.

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

7/17/2012 - CLINTON, OK
I PURCHASED THIS VEHICLE IN NOVEMBER 2011 WITH APPROX. 97,000 MILES SHOWING ON THE ODOMETER. DURING A THANKSGIVING HOLIDAY TRIP OF SOME 1600 MILES, CONSISTING MOSTLY OF HIGHWAY DRIVING WITH THE CRUISE CONTROL ENGAGED, AND FOR NO APPARENT REASON, THE ASC (AUTOMATIC STABILITY CONTROL) WOULD DISENGAGE THE CRUISE CONTROL, "TUG" THE VEHICLE TO THE LEFT OR RIGHT SLIGHTLY, SEEMED TO HAVE A SLIGHT BRAKING EFFECT (ALTHOUGH IT MAY HAVE BEEN THE SUDDEN DECELERATION THAT CAUSED THE SENSE OF BRAKING) AND WOULD DISPLAY " STABILITY CONTROL ENGAGED". THIS OCCURRED NUMEROUS TIMES. ALSO, ON THIS SAME TRIP, THE "TRACTION CONTROL" WOULD ENGAGE, WITHOUT WARNING OR NEED, AND DISENGAGE THE CRUISE CONTROL CAUSING SUDDEN, UNEXPECTED, DECELERATION. THIS TOO HAPPENED NUMEROUS TIMES. ALTHOUGH I DID NOTICE THAT THE "TRACTION CONTROL" SEEMED TO ENGAGE WHEN IN A CURVE ON ROUGH OR BUMPY ROADS. I CONCLUDED THAT THIS WAS THE RESULT OF A SUDDEN "WHEEL HOP" OR "SPIN" AS A RESULT OF LOSING TRACTION FROM THE "BOUNCE" WHEN HITTING A BUMP OR ROUGH SPOT. I'VE RUN THE "ONBOARD DIAGNOSTIC SYSTEM" SEVERAL TIMES AND NO CODES PERTAINING TO THESE EVENTS ARE DISPLAYED.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

6/1/2012 - PHONENIX, AZ
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2003 CADILLAC CTS. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE TRUNK LATCH FELL ON HER HEAD WHILE ATTEMPTING TO REMOVE SOMETHING FROM THE VEHICLE. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER AND THE DEALER STATED THAT THE TRUNK WOULD NEED REPLACING. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED.THE MANUFACTURE WAS NOT CONTACTED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 108,000 AND THE CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 110,000.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

5/24/2012 - GADSDEN, AL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2003 CADILLAC CTS. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE REAR TAG PANEL DETACHED FROM THE VEHICLE AND AS A RESULT, WATER WAS ENTERING AND DAMAGING THE WIRING OF THE BRAKE LAMPS. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER WHO STATED THAT THE ADHESIVE THAT WAS USED TO HOLD THE PANEL WAS DEFECTIVE AND NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE WHO DID NOT OFFER ANY ASSISTANCE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE FAILURE AND CURRENT MILEAGES WERE 103,000.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

3/8/2012 - MARYSVILLE, MI
JUST GOT OFF THE XWAY, STOPPED AT RED LIGHT. WHILE WAITING AT THE LIGHT, WHICH WAS STUCK RED FOR ABOUT 5 MIN, BOTH (HID) HEAD LIGHTS FAILED AT THE SAME TIME. THEY FLASHED ON & OFF 3 TIMES, THAN STAYED OUT. I SWITCHED ON THE FOG LIGHTS SO I COULD DRIVE THE LAST 3 MILES HOME. THE DEALER HAD TO REPLACE BOTH LIGHTS AT A COST OF OVER $2,000. THE DEALER HAD NO IDEA WHAT CAUSED BOTH TO FAIL AT THE SAME TIME. I WROTE A LETTER TO CADILLAC CUSTOMER SERVICE. THEY CALLED ME AND SAID THEY WOULD NOT FORWARD THE INFO TO A TECHNICAL DEPT TO DETERMINE THE CAUSE. I ESTIMATE THERE ARE 10,000 MILES ON THESE LIGHTS. I WROTE A SECOND TO CADILLAC, AGAIN THEY CALLED ME AND SAID THEY WERE CLOSING THE FILE ON THIS CASE. TO ME THIS IS A SAFETY ISSUE AS IT COULD HAPPEN AGAIN AT 70 MPH ON A CURVE. THESE (HID) LIGHTS ARE A PRICEY OPTION AND ARE SOLD THAT UNDER NORMAL USE THEY SHOULD LAST THE LIFE OF THE CAR.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC

3/8/2012 - CHESTERFIELD, VA
WHILE BRAKING FOR SOME SLOW TRAFFIC, I FELT A POP FROM THE BRAKE PEDAL. ONLY HAVING ABOUT 25% USE OF THE BRAKES I HAD TO PULL OF THE SIDE OF THE ROAD TO AVOID HITTING THE CAR IN FRONT OF ME. I HAD THE CAR TOWED TO THE SHOP WHERE THE MECHANIC SHOWED ME THE BRAKE FLUID LEAKING FROM THE BRAKE LINE CONNECTION. WHEN HE CHECKED THE OTHER SIDE THE FITTING SNAPPED IN HIS HAND. WHAT I WOULD LIKE TO KNOW IS WHY CADILLAC DID NOT NOTIFY ME ABOUT THIS RECALL. AFTER TALKING TO CADILLAC THEY DID CONFIRM THAT THIS VEHICLE IS COVERED UNDER THIS RECALL. I NOW HAVE TO TAKE THE PARTS TO A GM DEALER ALONG WITH MY REGISTRATION AND RECEIPT FOR REPAIRS. I WAS TOLD IT WILL TAKE 4 WEEKS TO BE REIMBURSED.

View Details

STRUCTURE

2/28/2012 - AURORA, IL
WHILE DRIVING HOME FROM WORK I HEARD A SLIGHT CRASH NOISE, LOOKED IN MY REAR VIEW MIRROR TO SEE THE BEZEL PIECE FLEW OFF MY CAR AND ATTACHED WERE THE BACK UP LIGHTS. THE PIECE SHATTERED AND WAS IRREPLACEABLE. UPON RESEARCH IN CADILLAC BLOGS I READ THAT THIS WAS AN ONGOING PROBLEM WITH 03-05 CTS CARS DUE TO GM USING A CHEAP GLUE TO HOLD THE PIECE ON. CADILLAC ONLY AGREED TO REPLACE THE PART IF THE CAR WAS STILL COVERED UNDER THEIR FACTORY WARRANTY, BUT I AM NOT. FURTHER RESEARCH SHOWED THAT THEY DON'T EVEN OFFER ATHE SAME REPLACEMENT PIECE, NOW A NEW PART ONLY AVAILABLE IN AN ASSEMBLY KIT RANGING BETWEEN 4-500 DOLLARS. I FIND IT UNETHICAL TO SELL A LUXURY CAR, AND BUILD IT WITH CHEAP PLASTIC PIECES THAT SIMPLY FALL OFF DUE TO CHEAP ADHESIVE, AND CAUSE DANGER TO DRIVERS BEHIND ME. THE FACT THAT THE PART WAS DISCONTINUED ONLY PROVES THAT CADILLAC ACKNOWLEDGES THE PIECE WAS CHEAPLY CONSTRUCTED, AND SHOULD OFFER REPLACEMENTS TO ALL EARLY CTS MODELS. WHEN ASSEMBLING AUTOMOBILE ONLY QUALITY PARTS SHOULD BE USED, NOT CHEAP PLASTIC WITH FAULTY GLUE, I FEEL THIS WARRANTS A RECALL, BUT ONE WASN'T ISSUED. THANKS FOR YOUR TIME.

View Details
Pages:  <<  6  7  8  9  10  11  12  13  14  15  16  17  18  19  20  >>  ... 32
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds