Auto Recalls for Consumers

CADILLAC CTS - 2003 CADILLAC CTS Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 270 complaints filed for the 2003 CADILLAC CTS

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2003 CADILLAC CTS. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2003 CADILLAC CTS, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (29) Equipment (7) Power Train (24) Service Brakes Hydraulic (26) Traction Control System (4)
Communications (1) Exterior Lighting (38) Seat Belts (1) Steering (24) Unknown Or Other (11)
Electrical System (41) Fuel System Gasoline (6) Seats (2) Structure (18) Vehicle Speed Control (22)
Electronic Stability Control (14) Fuel System Other (2) Service Brakes (11) Suspension (13) Visibility (7)
Engine (19) Other (1) Service Brakes Air (2) Tires (8) Wheels (3)
Engine And Engine Cooling (41)

Pages:  
<<  6  7  8  9  10  11  12  13  14  15  16  17  18  19  20  >>  ... 30
 
ComplaintDescription

SUSPENSION

12/6/2011 - EAST BRUNSWICK, NJ
2003 CADILAC CTS. CONSUMER WRITES IN REGARDS TO PROBLEMS WITH BRAKE SYSTEM THE CONSUMER STATED THE METAL BRAKE LINE HAD TO BE REPLACED, DUE TO SEVERE CORROSION. THE CONSUMER STATED HE RECEIVED A RECALL LETTER TWO DAYS LATER. ALSO, THE STRUTS, THREE WHEEL BEARINGS, RADIATOR, TRANSMISSION COOLER LINE ALSO HAD TO BE REPLACED DUE TO CORROSION. THE CRUISE CONTROL AND GAS TANK, WHICH WAS LEAKING HAD TO REPLACED.

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE: STORAGE: TANK ASSEMBLY

12/6/2011 - EAST BRUNSWICK, NJ
2003 CADILAC CTS. CONSUMER WRITES IN REGARDS TO PROBLEMS WITH BRAKE SYSTEM THE CONSUMER STATED THE METAL BRAKE LINE HAD TO BE REPLACED, DUE TO SEVERE CORROSION. THE CONSUMER STATED HE RECEIVED A RECALL LETTER TWO DAYS LATER. ALSO, THE STRUTS, THREE WHEEL BEARINGS, RADIATOR, TRANSMISSION COOLER LINE ALSO HAD TO BE REPLACED DUE TO CORROSION. THE CRUISE CONTROL AND GAS TANK, WHICH WAS LEAKING HAD TO REPLACED.

View Details

VISIBILITY

10/30/2011 - TAMPA, FL
HAD THE WIPERS ON, RAIN STOPPED WINDSHIELD WIPERS WOULD NOT SHUT OFF. BROUGHT CAR TO BE DIAGNOSED. FOUND WIPER POWER COVER DEFECTIVE. AUTO SERVICE FOUND THAT THE PART WAS ON BACK ORDER. I HAD TO GO WITHOUT WIPERS FOR A WEEK BEFORE PART WAS IN. AUTO SERVICE SAID THAT PART WAS NOT IN STOCK ANYWHERE IN TAMPA. HAS THIS BEEN A PROBLEM FOR CTS OWNERS SEEING THE PART IS SCARCE? HAS THERE BEEN OR GOING TO BE A RECALL?

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

9/29/2011 - OMAHA, NE
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2003 CADILLAC CTS. THE CONTACT NOTICED THE REAR LIGHT COVER ON THE BACK UP LIGHT FRACTURED AND DETACHED FROM THE VEHICLE. AS A RESULT, WATER ENTERED THE BACK UP LIGHTS AND HE BELIEVED THAT IT MAY CAUSE AN ELECTRICAL FAILURE. THE DEALER ADVISED THE CONTACT TO PURCHASE A LENS COVER TO PROTECT THE LIGHT. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED NOR WAS THE VEHICLE REPAIRED. THE CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 60,096. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 58,000.

View Details

STEERING

9/12/2011 - SARATOGA, CA
ALL POWER STEERING WAS LOST DUE TO A SEAL FAILURE ON THE PISTON THE POSITIONS THE PASSENGER RIGHT WHEEL. I DISCOVERED WHILE SPEAKING TO THE CADILLAC PARTS DEPARTMENT, THAT THE SERIAL NUMBER RANGE OF MY VEHICLE, REQUIRES THE REPLACEMENT OF BOTH THE POWER STEERING PUMP AS WELL AS THE RACK AND PINION ASSEMBLY. IT APPEARS THEN THAT CARS WITH A CERTAIN SERIAL NUMBER MAY HAVE HAD SOME ENGINEERING CHANGE WHICH MADE THE PUMP AND RACK AND PINION INCOMPATIBLE. THIS IS AN OBVIOUS SAFETY PROBLEM WHICH SHOULD HAVE BEEN A MANDATORY RECALL AND REPAIR.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC

8/8/2011 - LAQUINTA, CA
WHILE DRIVING AT A STEADY AND EVEN SPEED MY CAR WOULD SUDDENLY PULLED TO THE LEFT AS IF THE LEFT FRONT WHEEL HAD THE BREAK APPLY. ALMOST INSTANTLY MY "STABILITY SYSTEM ENGAGED" DISPLAY WOULD GO ON AND THE CAR WOULD CORRECT ITSELF. THIS WENT ON TO BECOME A REGULAR EVENT WITH EACH TIME I TOOK THE CAR OUT. THE MOST IT OCCURRED WAS 30 OR SO TIMES IN A 90 MILE TRIP, BUT IT HAPPENED REGULARLY ON LOCAL 2 MILE TRIPS TO THE STORE. SOMETIMES IT WOULD BE MORE SEVERE THAN OTHERS . IN ADDITION AND OCCASIONALLY, WHEN THE BREAKS WERE APPLIED, THERE WOULD BE A "LOUDISH" CRUNCH SOUND AND RESISTANCE TO FOOT PRESSURE THAT WOULD GIVE WAY AFTER THE INITIAL BREAK APPLICATION. THERE WAS ALSO A VIBRATION "BUZZ" THROUGH THE GAS PEDAL WHEN THIS ALL WOULD OCCUR. THE FIRST TIME I TOOK THE CAR TO THE DEALER THEY COULD NOT FIND ANYTHING WRONG OR DUPLICATE THE PROBLEM. I TOOK THEM INFORMATION I HAD FOUND ON THE WEB ABOUT THE PROBLEM AND THEY CHECKED THEIR SERVICE BULLETINS FOR A PROBLEM. IT WAS FIXED BY CHANGING A STEERING SENSOR AT A COST OF $430.

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

8/8/2011 - LAQUINTA, CA
WHILE DRIVING AT A STEADY AND EVEN SPEED MY CAR WOULD SUDDENLY PULLED TO THE LEFT AS IF THE LEFT FRONT WHEEL HAD THE BREAK APPLY. ALMOST INSTANTLY MY "STABILITY SYSTEM ENGAGED" DISPLAY WOULD GO ON AND THE CAR WOULD CORRECT ITSELF. THIS WENT ON TO BECOME A REGULAR EVENT WITH EACH TIME I TOOK THE CAR OUT. THE MOST IT OCCURRED WAS 30 OR SO TIMES IN A 90 MILE TRIP, BUT IT HAPPENED REGULARLY ON LOCAL 2 MILE TRIPS TO THE STORE. SOMETIMES IT WOULD BE MORE SEVERE THAN OTHERS . IN ADDITION AND OCCASIONALLY, WHEN THE BREAKS WERE APPLIED, THERE WOULD BE A "LOUDISH" CRUNCH SOUND AND RESISTANCE TO FOOT PRESSURE THAT WOULD GIVE WAY AFTER THE INITIAL BREAK APPLICATION. THERE WAS ALSO A VIBRATION "BUZZ" THROUGH THE GAS PEDAL WHEN THIS ALL WOULD OCCUR. THE FIRST TIME I TOOK THE CAR TO THE DEALER THEY COULD NOT FIND ANYTHING WRONG OR DUPLICATE THE PROBLEM. I TOOK THEM INFORMATION I HAD FOUND ON THE WEB ABOUT THE PROBLEM AND THEY CHECKED THEIR SERVICE BULLETINS FOR A PROBLEM. IT WAS FIXED BY CHANGING A STEERING SENSOR AT A COST OF $430.

View Details

STEERING

8/8/2011 - LAQUINTA, CA
WHILE DRIVING AT A STEADY AND EVEN SPEED MY CAR WOULD SUDDENLY PULLED TO THE LEFT AS IF THE LEFT FRONT WHEEL HAD THE BREAK APPLY. ALMOST INSTANTLY MY "STABILITY SYSTEM ENGAGED" DISPLAY WOULD GO ON AND THE CAR WOULD CORRECT ITSELF. THIS WENT ON TO BECOME A REGULAR EVENT WITH EACH TIME I TOOK THE CAR OUT. THE MOST IT OCCURRED WAS 30 OR SO TIMES IN A 90 MILE TRIP, BUT IT HAPPENED REGULARLY ON LOCAL 2 MILE TRIPS TO THE STORE. SOMETIMES IT WOULD BE MORE SEVERE THAN OTHERS . IN ADDITION AND OCCASIONALLY, WHEN THE BREAKS WERE APPLIED, THERE WOULD BE A "LOUDISH" CRUNCH SOUND AND RESISTANCE TO FOOT PRESSURE THAT WOULD GIVE WAY AFTER THE INITIAL BREAK APPLICATION. THERE WAS ALSO A VIBRATION "BUZZ" THROUGH THE GAS PEDAL WHEN THIS ALL WOULD OCCUR. THE FIRST TIME I TOOK THE CAR TO THE DEALER THEY COULD NOT FIND ANYTHING WRONG OR DUPLICATE THE PROBLEM. I TOOK THEM INFORMATION I HAD FOUND ON THE WEB ABOUT THE PROBLEM AND THEY CHECKED THEIR SERVICE BULLETINS FOR A PROBLEM. IT WAS FIXED BY CHANGING A STEERING SENSOR AT A COST OF $430.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

7/23/2011 - TACOMA, WA
THE PLASTIC PANEL COVER FOR THE REVERSE LIGHTS FELL OFF, AND NOW THE REVERSE LIGHTS ARE EXPOSED.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

7/18/2011 - CHICAGO, IL
THE REAR BACK UP LIGHT PANEL HAS A PLASTIC COVER OVER IT. MINE FELL OFF AND I AM HAVING A TERRIBLE TIME REPLACING IT. I CONTACTED CADILLAC, BUT THEY DON'T SELL THAT PIECE ANYMORE. THEY HAVE REDESIGNED A REPLACEMENT THAT WILL NOT FALL OFF BUT IT COSTS OVER $500 AND CADILLAC WON'T COVER IT BECAUSE THEY CLAIM IT HAS NOT BEEN RECALLED. AS I DRIVE UP AND DOWN THE STREETS AND HIGHWAYS IN CHICAGO, I NOTICE MANY 2003-2007 CADILLAC CTS ARE ALSO MISSING THIS PART. HOW CAN THIS PLASTIC PART FALL OFF WITH OUT CAUSE AND YET NOT BE RECALLED?

View Details
Pages:  <<  6  7  8  9  10  11  12  13  14  15  16  17  18  19  20  >>  ... 30
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds