Auto Recalls for Consumers

CADILLAC CTS - 2003 CADILLAC CTS Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 234 complaints filed for the 2003 CADILLAC CTS

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2003 CADILLAC CTS. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2003 CADILLAC CTS, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (22) Equipment (7) Power Train (22) Service Brakes Hydraulic (26) Traction Control System (3)
Communications (1) Exterior Lighting (37) Seat Belts (1) Steering (21) Unknown Or Other (7)
Electrical System (23) Fuel System Gasoline (6) Seats (2) Structure (16) Vehicle Speed Control (21)
Electronic Stability Control (13) Fuel System Other (2) Service Brakes (7) Suspension (12) Visibility (7)
Engine (14) Other (1) Service Brakes Air (2) Tires (8) Wheels (2)
Engine And Engine Cooling (41)

Pages:  
<<  6  7  8  9  10  11  12  13  14  15  16  17  18  19  20  >>  ... 26
 
ComplaintDescription

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

7/5/2010 - DANVILLE, CA
WE HAVE A 2003 CADILLAC'S CTS WITH ABOUT 77K MILES. ON 7-5-2010 AS WE WERE PULLING INTO A PARKING SPOT IN A SHOPPING PLAZA AT LESS THAN 5 MPH, ALL OF A SUDDEN THE CAR WENT TO FULL THROTTLE, JUMPED THE CURB, THRU BUSHES, AND ONTO THE HOOD OF THE CAR FACING US. WITHIN A FEW WEEKS PRIOR TO THIS, WHILE SITTING AT A RED LIGHT WITH OUR FOOT ON THE BRAKE, WE NOTICE WHAT SEEMED TO BE THE ENGINE REVVING UP. THE CAR IS IN THE SHOP NOW.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

6/16/2010 - PARKLAND, FL
PURCHASED 2003 CTS USED IN 2007 WITH 54,000 MILES. AT 60,000 MILES, THE SERPENTINE BELT BROKE AND DESTROYED ENGINE IN THE MIDDLE OF RUSH HOUR TRAFFIC. 30 DAYS LATER COIL WENT OUT AND HAD TO BE TOWED AGAIN. APPROXIMATELY 30 DAYS AFTER THAT THE OTHER COIL WENT OUT AND AGAIN VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO THE DEALER FOR REPAIRS. CURRENTLY THE CAR IS SITTING IN MY DRIVEWAY AND WILL NOT START. TOOK TO REPAIR SHOP CLOSE TO MY HOUSE AND THEY SAID THE ELECTRICAL SYSTEM IS TOO MESSED UP TO RUN A DIAGNOSTIC ON IT. PRIOR TO THE VEHICLE DYING IN THE DRIVEWAY, THE ENGINE SHUT DOWN IN THE MIDDLE OF THE ROAD ON TWO SEPARATE OCCASIONS. I LOST STEERING AND HAD TO PUSH IT OFF THE ROAD. IT IS A DANGEROUS AND UNRELIABLE VEHICLE AND SHOULD NOT BE ON THE ROAD. I CONTACTED CADILLAC BUT RECEIVED NO RESPONSE. THE CAR CURRENTLY HAS ONLY 74000 MILES ON IT WITH A TOTAL OF MAYBE 20000 ADDED IN THREE YEARS OF OWNERSHIP MOSTLY DUE TO THE CAR NEEDING CONSTANT REPAIRS. I CANNOT AFFORD TO MAKE THE PAYMENTS AND PAY FOR REPAIRS BOTH AT THE SAME TIME. I DO NOT TRUST THE SAFETY OF THIS VEHICLE.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING: EXHAUST SYSTEM

6/16/2010 - PARKLAND, FL
PURCHASED 2003 CTS USED IN 2007 WITH 54,000 MILES. AT 60,000 MILES, THE SERPENTINE BELT BROKE AND DESTROYED ENGINE IN THE MIDDLE OF RUSH HOUR TRAFFIC. 30 DAYS LATER COIL WENT OUT AND HAD TO BE TOWED AGAIN. APPROXIMATELY 30 DAYS AFTER THAT THE OTHER COIL WENT OUT AND AGAIN VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO THE DEALER FOR REPAIRS. CURRENTLY THE CAR IS SITTING IN MY DRIVEWAY AND WILL NOT START. TOOK TO REPAIR SHOP CLOSE TO MY HOUSE AND THEY SAID THE ELECTRICAL SYSTEM IS TOO MESSED UP TO RUN A DIAGNOSTIC ON IT. PRIOR TO THE VEHICLE DYING IN THE DRIVEWAY, THE ENGINE SHUT DOWN IN THE MIDDLE OF THE ROAD ON TWO SEPARATE OCCASIONS. I LOST STEERING AND HAD TO PUSH IT OFF THE ROAD. IT IS A DANGEROUS AND UNRELIABLE VEHICLE AND SHOULD NOT BE ON THE ROAD. I CONTACTED CADILLAC BUT RECEIVED NO RESPONSE. THE CAR CURRENTLY HAS ONLY 74000 MILES ON IT WITH A TOTAL OF MAYBE 20000 ADDED IN THREE YEARS OF OWNERSHIP MOSTLY DUE TO THE CAR NEEDING CONSTANT REPAIRS. I CANNOT AFFORD TO MAKE THE PAYMENTS AND PAY FOR REPAIRS BOTH AT THE SAME TIME. I DO NOT TRUST THE SAFETY OF THIS VEHICLE.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

6/14/2010 - PLYMOUTH, MI
2003 CADILLAC CTS - THE BACKUP LIGHT ASSEMBLY CAME OFF IN CAR WASH... DEALERSHIPS ARE WELL AWARE OF PROBLEM BUT SAY THEIR HANDS ARE TIED BECAUSE OF GM. THEY SAID THE REASON WAS BECAUSE THE SUPPLIER TO CADILLAC USED AN INCORRECT EPOXY TO BUILD THE PART. GM KNOWS ABOUT THE ISSUE BUT WILL DO NOTHING. PART IS OVER $550 TO REPLACE!! ONE SEARCH ON INTERNET BRINGS UP HUNDREDS OF COMPLAINTS FOR SAME ISSUE. THIS IS RIDICULOUS. I CALLED CADILLAC AND THEY SAID THEY WOULD CALL IF A RECALL WAS ISSUED, BUT THEY CAN DO NOTHING MORE.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

6/14/2010 - PLYMOUTH, MI
2003 CADILLAC CTS - THE BACKUP LIGHT ASSEMBLY CAME OFF IN CAR WASH... DEALERSHIPS ARE WELL AWARE OF PROBLEM BUT SAY THEIR HANDS ARE TIED BECAUSE OF GM. THEY SAID THE REASON WAS BECAUSE THE SUPPLIER TO CADILLAC USED AN INCORRECT EPOXY TO BUILD THE PART. GM KNOWS ABOUT THE ISSUE BUT WILL DO NOTHING. PART IS OVER $550 TO REPLACE!! ONE SEARCH ON INTERNET BRINGS UP HUNDREDS OF COMPLAINTS FOR SAME ISSUE. THIS IS RIDICULOUS. I CALLED CADILLAC AND THEY SAID THEY WOULD CALL IF A RECALL WAS ISSUED, BUT THEY CAN DO NOTHING MORE.

View Details

EQUIPMENT: ELECTRICAL: RADIO/TAPE DECK/CD ETC.

6/7/2010 - TRENTON , NJ
TL CONTACT OWNS A 2003 CADILLAC CTS. THE CONTACT STATED THAT IN DECEMBER 2009 WHILE DRIVING AT A SLOW SPEED, SHE APPLIED THE BRAKES AND THEY FAILED TO OPERATE. SHE HAD THE BRAKES REPAIRED AT HER EXPENSE. THE CONTACT WAS CURRENTLY TRYING TO GET REIMBURSED BECAUSE SHE BELIEVED RECALL 10V105000 (SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC:FOUNDATION COMPONENTS:HOSES, LINES/PIPING, AND FITTINGS).IS RELATED TO THE FAILURE. THE CONTACT ALSO STATED THAT THE PLASTIC CONTAINMENT MODULE FOR THE AIR BAGS PROTRUDED OUTWARD AND WAS A SAFETY CONCERN. THE DEALER STATED THAT BECAUSE THE VEHICLE WAS NO LONGER UNDER WARRANTY,T HE CONTACT WOULD BE RESPONSIBLE FOR REPAIR COSTS. THE RADIO ONLY RECEIVED ONE CHANNEL. IN ADDITION, THE MOON ROOF MADE A GROANING NOISE AND OPENED WHENEVER THE VEHICLE WAS TURNED OFF. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 30,000. THE CURRENT MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 42,000.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC: FOUNDATION COMPONENTS: HOSES, LINES/PIPING, AND FITTINGS

6/7/2010 - TRENTON , NJ
TL CONTACT OWNS A 2003 CADILLAC CTS. THE CONTACT STATED THAT IN DECEMBER 2009 WHILE DRIVING AT A SLOW SPEED, SHE APPLIED THE BRAKES AND THEY FAILED TO OPERATE. SHE HAD THE BRAKES REPAIRED AT HER EXPENSE. THE CONTACT WAS CURRENTLY TRYING TO GET REIMBURSED BECAUSE SHE BELIEVED RECALL 10V105000 (SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC:FOUNDATION COMPONENTS:HOSES, LINES/PIPING, AND FITTINGS).IS RELATED TO THE FAILURE. THE CONTACT ALSO STATED THAT THE PLASTIC CONTAINMENT MODULE FOR THE AIR BAGS PROTRUDED OUTWARD AND WAS A SAFETY CONCERN. THE DEALER STATED THAT BECAUSE THE VEHICLE WAS NO LONGER UNDER WARRANTY,T HE CONTACT WOULD BE RESPONSIBLE FOR REPAIR COSTS. THE RADIO ONLY RECEIVED ONE CHANNEL. IN ADDITION, THE MOON ROOF MADE A GROANING NOISE AND OPENED WHENEVER THE VEHICLE WAS TURNED OFF. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 30,000. THE CURRENT MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 42,000.

View Details

AIR BAGS

6/7/2010 - TRENTON , NJ
TL CONTACT OWNS A 2003 CADILLAC CTS. THE CONTACT STATED THAT IN DECEMBER 2009 WHILE DRIVING AT A SLOW SPEED, SHE APPLIED THE BRAKES AND THEY FAILED TO OPERATE. SHE HAD THE BRAKES REPAIRED AT HER EXPENSE. THE CONTACT WAS CURRENTLY TRYING TO GET REIMBURSED BECAUSE SHE BELIEVED RECALL 10V105000 (SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC:FOUNDATION COMPONENTS:HOSES, LINES/PIPING, AND FITTINGS).IS RELATED TO THE FAILURE. THE CONTACT ALSO STATED THAT THE PLASTIC CONTAINMENT MODULE FOR THE AIR BAGS PROTRUDED OUTWARD AND WAS A SAFETY CONCERN. THE DEALER STATED THAT BECAUSE THE VEHICLE WAS NO LONGER UNDER WARRANTY,T HE CONTACT WOULD BE RESPONSIBLE FOR REPAIR COSTS. THE RADIO ONLY RECEIVED ONE CHANNEL. IN ADDITION, THE MOON ROOF MADE A GROANING NOISE AND OPENED WHENEVER THE VEHICLE WAS TURNED OFF. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 30,000. THE CURRENT MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 42,000.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC

5/12/2010 - WEST GRANBY, CT
I HAVE A 2003 CTS SINCE NEW. THE BRAKES ALMOST COMPLETELY FAILED LAST WEEK. NO DASH LIGHT CAME ON. THE PROBLEM IS EASILY SEEN. ONE OF THE LINES FROM THE MASTER CYLINDER GOING TO THE ABS UNIT BADLY CORRODED AT THE LOWEST POINT IN ITS RUN WHERE THE LINE IS SUPPORTED. THE LINE AWAY FROM THE SUPPORT IS IN GOOD SHAPE SO IT LOOKS LIKE YOU HAVE A DESIGN FLAW OR IMPROPERLY IMPLEMENTED DESIGN WITH THAT SUPPORT. I WAS EXTREMELY LUCKY AND EXTREMELY DISAPPOINTED. THE CAR HAS NEVER BEEN IN AN ACCIDENT AND MOST OF THE UNDERSIDE BODY AND HARDWARE LOOKS ALMOST NEW. MY DEALER SAYS THEY HAVE REPLACED A NUMBER OF CTS BRAKE LINES. YOU HAVE A PROBLEM I HAD A LOT OF TROUBLE WITH THE CTS WHEN IT WAS NEW AS YOU SHOULD BE ABLE TO SEE FROM YOUR RECORDS. ALTHOUGH REPLACED THE REAR DIFFERENTIAL STILL HOWLS. I EXPECTED BETTER FROM CADILLAC. WITH THAT SAID I THINK GM OUGHT TO DO SOMETHING ABOUT THE CTS BRAKE LINES.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC

5/3/2010 - LANSING, MI
POSSIBLY DUE TO REDUCED BRAKE FLUID LEVELS THE BRAKE PEDAL ON MY 2003 CADILLAC CTS WENT DOWN TO THE FLOOR, AT WHICH POINT THE BRAKE PEDAL ARM BECAME STUCK BEHIND A PLASTIC UNDER DASH TRAY, RESULTING IN REDUCED BRAKE PEDAL TRAVEL AND NO BREAKING. LUCKILY, THIS ISSUE WAS DISCOVERED WHILE AT SLOW SPEEDS (BACKING OUT OF DRIVEWAY), SO THE VEHICLE COULD BE MANUALLY STOPPED. THE BRAKE PEDAL WAS DISLODGED FROM THE OBSTRUCTION, WHICH WAS EASY WHILE THE CAR WAS STOPPED AND THE OPERATOR COULD LEAN UNDER THE DASH AND MOVE THE PEDAL. AT SPEED, IT WOULD HAVE BEEN NEARLY IMPOSSIBLE TO MOVE THE PEDAL. BRAKE SYSTEM WAS BLED AND ADDITIONAL FLUID ADDED TO REDUCE BRAKE PEDAL TRAVEL. PROBLEM HAS NOT RECURRED AS A RESULT.

View Details
Pages:  <<  6  7  8  9  10  11  12  13  14  15  16  17  18  19  20  >>  ... 26
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds