Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHRYSLER SEBRING - 2003 CHRYSLER SEBRING Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Chrysler (FCA US LLC)

There are 41 complaints filed for the 2003 CHRYSLER SEBRING

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2003 CHRYSLER SEBRING. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2003 CHRYSLER SEBRING, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (7) Engine And Engine Cooling (6) Interior Lighting (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (6) Suspension (8)
Electrical System (3) Exterior Lighting (2) Power Train (1) Steering (3) Vehicle Speed Control (3)
Engine (3) Fuel System Gasoline (1) Seat Belts (1) Structure (4) Wheels (2)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  ... 5
 
ComplaintDescription

ENGINE

3/1/2017 - GALLIPOLIS FERRY, WV
I WON A CAR FROM MY LOCAL CHRYSLER DEALER. THE CAR HAD A 2.7L V6 ENGINE IN IT THAT NADA AND KBB DO NOT LIST SUCH AN ENGINE IN THIS TYPE OF CAR THAT I WON, SO I CAN ONLY ASSUME IT WAS A DEALER SWAP PRIOR TO THE RAFFLE DRAWING, BUT THEY DENY THE SWAP WHEN I CALLED THEM ABOUT THIS INCIDENT. WHEN I WON IT, LAST JUNE IT HAD LIKE 181,000 MILES ON THE CAR, UNKNOWN MILEAGE ON THE ENGINE, BUT I HAD IT FROM JUN TO DEB 2016 AND DROVE IT MAYBE 9000 MILES MAX AND IT FAILED WITHOUT WARNING. I CHANGED THE OIL EVERY 3000 TO 4000 MILES, SO LIKE 2-3 TIMES SINCE I HAVE HAD THE CAR AND IT HAD NO INDICATION OF ANY ENGINE PROBLEMS PRIOR TO SPONTANEOUS AND COMPLETE ENGINE FAILURE. I HAVE MY CARS SERVICES REGULARLY FOR TIRE ROTATIONS, CAR INSPECTIONS ETC. NOTHING COULD HAVE WARNED ME ABOUT THIS AND I HAD NO IDEA ABOUT THE CLASS ACTIONS LAW SUITS PERTAINING TO THIS EXACT ENGINE UNTIL MY ENGINE FAILED A FEW MONTHS AGO. I CLIMBING TH INTERSTATE ON RAMP WHEN ALL OF A SUDDEN THE RPM'S ON MY CAR CONTINUED TO RISE WHILE MY CAR WAS SLOWING DOWN, IN ESSENSE IT WAS REVING AS I ACCELLERATED, BUT MY CAR WAS SLOWING, SO I IMMEDIATELY PULLED OVER ON THE SIDE OF THE ROAD AND ATTEMPTED TO RESTART MY CAR, NOTHING HAPPENED, SO I HAD IT TOWED TO A LOCAL MECHANIC, WHEN IT GOT BACK TO THE SHOP, THE CAR STARTED BACK UP AS NORMAL, BUT I LEFT IT ANYWAY, BECAUSE IT CLEARLY HAD AN ISSUE. IT WAS DISCOVERED AFTER THE MECHANIC DROVE IT THAT THE OIL LIGHT CAME ON AND THE ENGINE LOST OIL PRESSURE. THERE WAS PLENTY OF GOOD OIL IN THE TANK, WHEN IT WAS CHECKED AND BASED ON THE LEVEL THERE WAS NO NEED TO ADD OIL. IT WAS DETERMINED THAT THE ENGINE WAS SEIZING UP DUE TO OIL SLUDGE AND THAT MY ONLY FIX IS A NEW ENGINE.

View Details

SUSPENSION

7/18/2016 - HALEDON, NJ
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2003 CHRYSLER SEBRING. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING AT 5 MPH, HE TRIED TO TURN LEFT AND THE FRONT PASSENGER SIDE TIRE TURNED OUTWARDS. THE VEHICLE WAS DRIVEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE LOWER CONTROL ARM AND BONJOY WAS FRACTURED IT CAUSED THE AXLE TO FRACTURE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THERE WAS A RECALL UNDER NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 10E059000 (SUSPENSION) HOWEVER THE VIN WAS NOT INCLUDED IN THE RECALL. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 131,389.

View Details

WHEELS

7/18/2016 - HALEDON, NJ
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2003 CHRYSLER SEBRING. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING AT 5 MPH, HE TRIED TO TURN LEFT AND THE FRONT PASSENGER SIDE TIRE TURNED OUTWARDS. THE VEHICLE WAS DRIVEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE LOWER CONTROL ARM AND BONJOY WAS FRACTURED IT CAUSED THE AXLE TO FRACTURE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THERE WAS A RECALL UNDER NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 10E059000 (SUSPENSION) HOWEVER THE VIN WAS NOT INCLUDED IN THE RECALL. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 131,389.

View Details

AIR BAGS

12/15/2015 - LAS VEGAS, NV
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2003 CHRYSLER SEBRING. THE CONTACT RECEIVED NOTIFICATION OF NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 15V338000 (AIR BAGS) HOWEVER, THE PART TO DO THE REPAIR WAS UNAVAILABLE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE MANUFACTURER EXCEEDED A REASONABLE AMOUNT OF TIME FOR THE RECALL REPAIR. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE ISSUE. THE CONTACT HAD NOT EXPERIENCED A FAILURE. UPDATED 03/09/16

View Details

AIR BAGS

11/10/2015 - NINEVEH, IN
I WAS IN A WRECK ON 11/06/2015, A WOMEN FAILED TO YIELD AND I T-BONED HER PASSENGER SIDE BY BACK DOOR/BACK TIRE, I WAS GOING 30 MILES AN HOUR THE SPEED LIMIT ON THE CITY ROAD, I HAD MY SAFETY RESTRAINT ON AND STILL MANAGED TO HIT THE STEERING WHEEL AND WINDOW, I HAD A LOOSE CAR SEAT IN FRONT THAT HIT THE PASSENGER DASH, NO AIRBAGS DEPLOYED, SHE WAS HEADED NORTH AND I WAS HEADED WEST, I WAS DRIVING STRAIGHT ON THE ROAD WHEN I HIT HER, SO IT FELT LIKE A BRICK WALL AT 30 MPH, I ENDED UP IN THE ER WITH A SPRAINED WRIST, MY LEFT SIDE OF MY HEAD WAS SWOLLEN, AND I'M HAVING ISSUES IN MY BACK(DOCTOR SAID NECK AND BACK PAIN IS MOST LIKELY DUE TO WHIPLASH, I AM STILL HAVING ISSUES WITH BACK PAIN. FROM ALL THE INFORMATION I'VE FOUND ON RECALLS, THERE IS NOT ONE FOR FAULTY AIRBAGS ON MY CHRYSLER LXI....

View Details

SUSPENSION

6/3/2015 - MARTINEZ, GA
START CAR, WHEN IN IDLE IT SHUTS OFF WITH IN A FEW SECONDS OF HITTING GAS NOW. IT USE TO IDLE AND I WOULD HAVE TO REV A LITTLE SO IT WOULD NOT TURN OFF. THAT WORKED FOR A LITTLE BIT TODAY TO BROKE DOWN. LUCKILY IN MY DRIVE WAY THIS TIME INSTEAD OF THE MIDDLE OF ROAD LIKE LAST WEEK. WHY IS MY CAR DOING THIS?

View Details

ENGINE

6/3/2015 - MARTINEZ, GA
START CAR, WHEN IN IDLE IT SHUTS OFF WITH IN A FEW SECONDS OF HITTING GAS NOW. IT USE TO IDLE AND I WOULD HAVE TO REV A LITTLE SO IT WOULD NOT TURN OFF. THAT WORKED FOR A LITTLE BIT TODAY TO BROKE DOWN. LUCKILY IN MY DRIVE WAY THIS TIME INSTEAD OF THE MIDDLE OF ROAD LIKE LAST WEEK. WHY IS MY CAR DOING THIS?

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

6/3/2015 - MARTINEZ, GA
START CAR, WHEN IN IDLE IT SHUTS OFF WITH IN A FEW SECONDS OF HITTING GAS NOW. IT USE TO IDLE AND I WOULD HAVE TO REV A LITTLE SO IT WOULD NOT TURN OFF. THAT WORKED FOR A LITTLE BIT TODAY TO BROKE DOWN. LUCKILY IN MY DRIVE WAY THIS TIME INSTEAD OF THE MIDDLE OF ROAD LIKE LAST WEEK. WHY IS MY CAR DOING THIS?

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

2/5/2015 - MEMPHIS, TN
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2003 CHRYSLER SEBRING. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE DASHBOARD BEGAN TO RISE WITHOUT CAUSE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS UNKNOWN. THE VIN WAS UNAVAILABLE.

View Details

ENGINE

6/13/2014 - LAGUNA NIGUEL, CA
ENGINE FAILURE DUE TO OIL SLUDGE. THIS IS, APPARENTLY, A COMMON PROBLEM AFFECTING THE 2.7L V6 ENGINE.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  ... 5
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds