Auto Recalls for Consumers

DODGE INTREPID - 2003 DODGE INTREPID Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Chrysler Group LLC

There are 103 complaints filed for the 2003 DODGE INTREPID

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2003 DODGE INTREPID. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2003 DODGE INTREPID, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (6) Equipment (2) Other (1) Service Brakes Air (1) Suspension (3)
Electrical System (7) Exterior Lighting (1) Power Train (20) Service Brakes Hydraulic (12) Vehicle Speed Control (4)
Engine (1) Fuel System Gasoline (1) Seat Belts (1) Steering (6) Visibility (1)
Engine And Engine Cooling (61) Latches Locks Linkages (2) Service Brakes (1) Structure (2) Wheels (1)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 11
 
ComplaintDescription

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING

4/13/2007 - WARREN , OH
- THE CONTACT OWNS A 2003 DODGE INTREPID. WHILE DRIVING 65 MPH ON THE HIGHWAY THE VEHICLE LOST POWER AND THE CONTACT WAS UNABLE TO RESTART IT. THERE WERE NO WARNING INDICATOR LIGHTS DURING, BEFORE OR AFTER THE FAILURE. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED. THE MANUFACTURER WILL NOT HONOR THE WARRANTY. THE DEALER STATED THAT TRANSMISSION AND THE ENGINE NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE CURRENT AND FAILURE MILEAGE WERE 53,000. UPDATED 05/21/07.

View Details

POWER TRAIN: AUTOMATIC TRANSMISSION

4/13/2007 - WARREN , OH
- THE CONTACT OWNS A 2003 DODGE INTREPID. WHILE DRIVING 65 MPH ON THE HIGHWAY THE VEHICLE LOST POWER AND THE CONTACT WAS UNABLE TO RESTART IT. THERE WERE NO WARNING INDICATOR LIGHTS DURING, BEFORE OR AFTER THE FAILURE. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED. THE MANUFACTURER WILL NOT HONOR THE WARRANTY. THE DEALER STATED THAT TRANSMISSION AND THE ENGINE NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE CURRENT AND FAILURE MILEAGE WERE 53,000. UPDATED 05/21/07.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING: ENGINE

4/13/2007 - LEXINGTON, NC
- THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING THE 2003 DODGE INTREPID WITH 94,700 FAILURE MILEAGE AT 25 MPH THE OIL LIGHT TURNED ON AND THE VEHICLE BEGAN MAKING A METAL GRINDING ON METAL NOISE, THEN THE ENGINE COMPLETELY LOST POWER. THE VEHICLE WOULD NOT RESTART. THE DEALER AND DODGE WERE NOTIFIED REGARDING THE ENGINE FAILURE. DODGE AND THE DEALER STATED THAT THERE WAS NOTHING THEY COULD DO. THE VEHICLE HAS NOT BEEN REPAIRED.

View Details

SUSPENSION: FRONT

4/10/2007 - INOPPOLIS, IN
- THE CONTACT OWNS A 2003 DODGE INTREPID WITH A CURRENT AND FAILURE MILEAGE OF 58,000 THE CONTACT WAS DRIVING UNDER NORMAL DRY CONDITIONS ABOUT 55 MPH WHEN THE VEHICLE PULLED HARD TO LEFT AND HIT A TREE. PRIOR TO THE CRASH THE CONTACT FELT THE VEHICLE SHAKING. THE CONTACT GOT OUT AND LOOKED AT THE VEHICLE AND FOUND THAT NOTHING WAS WRONG. AFTER THE VEHICLE HIT THE TREE IT CAUGHT ON FIRE. THE DRIVER AND TWO PASSENGERS WERE INJURED IN THE CRASH. THE POLICE AND FIRE DEPARTMENT CAME TO THE SCENE.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING

4/9/2007 - KILLEEN, TX
-THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING THE 2003 DODGE INTREPID, AT 50 MPH THE VEHICLE SLOWED AND WOULD NOT ACCELERATE OVER 45 MPH, AND THEN THE VEHICLE MADE A TAPPING SOUND. HE STATED THAT THE VEHICLE STARTED JERKING AND LOST POWER. HE PULLED OVER TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD AND TRIED TO RESTART THE VEHICLE, BUT THE VEHICLE WOULD NOT RESTART. HE HAD THE VEHICLE TOWED TO A LOCAL MECHANIC IN TEXAS. THE MECHANIC INFORMED HIM THAT THE ENGINE HAD SEIZED. THE CONTACT HAD ALL THE FLUIDS CHANGED IN THE VEHICLE IN SEPTEMBER AND AGAIN AFTER A TRIP FROM NEW YORK TO TEXAS IN DECEMBER. HE STATED THAT HE PURCHASED THE VEHICLE IN FEBRUARY 2005. THE CURRENT AND FAILURE MILEAGE WERE 79,000.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING: ENGINE

3/29/2007 - COLUMBUS, OH
I HAVE A 2003 DODGE INTREPID WITH 72,000 MILES ON IT. WE HAVE HAD THIS CAR SINCE IT HAD 9,000 MILES ON IT AND HAVE DONE ALL THE SUGGESTED REPAIRS AND OIL CHANGES SINCE THE FIRST DAY WE HAD IT. RECENTLY WHILE MY HUSBAND WAS DRIVING THE CAR IT STARTED TO SHAKE VIOLENTLY ON THE FREEWAY (ALMOST CAUSING A FEW ACCIDENTS) AND THE RPM'S JUMPED WAY UP OVER 4000. THEN THE ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON. THE REPAIR SHOP SAID IT WAS THE CAM SENSOR. IT WAS REPLACED AND WITHIN AN HOUR THE SAME THING HAPPENED. TOOK THE CAR BACK AND THEY SAID IT WAS THE CRANK SENSOR, REPLACED THAT, SAME THING HAPPENED WITHIN 5 MINS OF THE REPAIR SHOP. THE SHOP THEN TOLD US THAT THE ENGINE WAS BAD AND THERE WAS A HISTORY WITH THE 2.7'S. WE TOOK THE CAR TO THE DEALER FOR A SECOND OPINION AND THEY SAID WE COULD REPLACE THE TIMING CHAINS AND THAT WOULD SAVE THE CAR FOR A YEAR OR SO UNTIL WE COULD GET IT PAID OFF (STILL OWE $6000) BUT IT WOULD COST $1700 PLUS TAX. WE DECIDED TO DO THAT, HOWEVER THE DEALER CALLED US BACK AND SAID AFTER THEY GOT THE ENGINE APART THEY NOTICED IT WAS FULL OF SLUDGE AND THE TIMING CHAINS WERE FINE. THEY RECOMMENDED A NEW ENGINE AND QUOTED US OVER $6000. I HAVE SEEN THOUSANDS OF PEOPLE WITH THIS ISSUE. WE HAVE BOUGHT 3 DODGE/CHRYSLER VEHICLES IN THE LAST 5 YEARS FROM THIS DEALER AND THEY WOULD DO NOTHING TO COMPENSATE US. WE EVEN OFFERED TO BUY A NEW CAR THERE IF WE COULD GET ACCURATELY COMPENSATED AND THEY SAID MY CAR IS WORTH NOTHING! CHRYSLER DOES NOT STAND BEHIND THEIR PRODUCTS AND SHOULD BE FORCED TO REPLACE THESE ENGINE THAT THEY KNOW HAVE AN ISSUE. WHAT EVER HAPPENED TO CUSTOMER SERVICE, ESPECIALLY TO A CUSTOMER THAT HAS SHOWN YOU LOYALTY??????

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING: ENGINE

3/22/2007 - ELMHURST, IL
THE ENGINE LITE HAS BEEN COMING ON IN MY 2003 DODGE INTREPID DESPITE REGULAR OIL CHANGES, WHEN I HAD THE LAST OIL CHANGE I TOLD THE MACHANIC OF THE PROBLEM AND HE TOLD ME OF THE 2.7 ENGINE. NOW I HAVE NO IDEA WHAT TO DO. IT WILL COST ME 6000 TO REPLACE THE ENGINE AND I STILLOWE 10000 ON THE CAR. PLEASE HELP!

View Details

POWER TRAIN: AUTOMATIC TRANSMISSION

1/23/2007 - LEXINGTON, SC
I PURCHASED A USED 2003 DODGE INTREPID FEBRUARY OF 2006. THE VEHICLE IS A 2.7. THE INTREPID WAS PURCHASED WITH 56,721 MILES. I WOULD SAY AFTER THREE WEEKS OF DRIVING, THE TRANSMISSION BEGAN TO BANG AND THRUST FOWARD DURING ACCELERATION AND DECELLERATION. I BROUGHT TYHE CAR TO THE DEALERSHIP WHERE IT HAD BEEN PURCHASED. THE VEHICLE WAS UNDER WARRENTY. THE VEHICLE WAS THEN TESTED FOR TRANSMISSION PROBLEMS. THIS DODGE DEALER TOLD ME THAT THEY FELT IT WHEN DRIVING THE CAR BUT THAT THERE WERE NO CODES REGSTERING ON THIER EQUIPTMENT. THEY TOLD ME IT IS HOW I WAS DRIVING THE CAR. THE PROBLEM GOT PROGRESSIVLY WORSE. I BROUGHT THE CAR IN AGAIN, AND AGAIN. A TOTAL OF THREE TIMES IN TWO MONTHS.AGAIN, NOTHING. THEN AT ROUGHLY 76,000 MILES THE O2 SENSOR AND CAM SENSOR FAILED. ON JANUARY 20TH 2007, AT 84,900 MILES THE TRANSMISSION FAILED AND THE CAR WOULD NOT GO INTO THIRD GEAR. THE TRANSMISSION WINES. DODGE DEALER CHECKED TODAY 01/23/2006 THE VALVE BODY, CYLINOIDS AND PURGE ALL FAILED AT THE SAME TIME AND NOW NEED TO BE REPLACED. HAD THIS PROBLEM FROM DAY ONE THERE IS A DEFECT IN THE TRANSMISSIONS. NOW I HAVE A WARRENTY COMPANY THAT WILL COVER THE VALVE BODY NOT THE CYLINOIDS AND DODGE RECOMMENDS THAT THE CYLINOID BE REPLACED WHEN THE VALVE BODY IS REPLACED BUT THE WARRENTY COMPANY WILL NOT COVER THE CYLINOIDS. EACH SYSTEM ASSURES THE OTHER IS WORKING PROPERLY. THESE TRANSMISSIONS NEED TO BE INVESTIGATED, ESPECIALLY AFTER ONLY 50,000 MILES AND THERE IS REPORTED FAILURE BY NUMEROUS PEOPLE. REPORTED AND UNREPORTED. THANKYOU FOR PURSUING THIS INVESTIGATION. PEOPLE ARE BEING RIPPED OFF, AND DODGE HAS A BAD REPUTATION FOR THEIR TRANSMISSION QUALITY.AD

View Details

POWER TRAIN: AUTOMATIC TRANSMISSION

12/27/2006 - ORANGE PARK, FL
I PURCHASED A USED 2003 INTREPID POLICE CAR WITH 81,000 MILES ON IT. RAN AND SHIFTED FINE UNTIL 3 MONTHS AGO. WHILE BRAKING FROM ABOUT 45 AT A LIGHT, THE MIL LAMP CAME ON AND THE CAR WENT INTO LIMP MODE. WE WERE ABLE TO RESET IT AND GET TO THE DEALER WHO ADVISED THE TRANSAXLE VALVE BODY AND SOLENOID PACK NEEDED REPLACEMENT. AFTER REPLACEMENT, THE CAR RAN FINE FOR 2 MONTHS. NOW THE SAME ISSUE IS OCCURING AGAIN. AGAIN, THE CAR WENT INTO LIMP MODE WHILE BRAKING (A LOUD POP IS HEARD EACH TIME IT DOES THIS). THE MIL LAMP COMES ON AND THE DTC CODES ARE P0700, P01776, & P0841. FROM RESEARCH ON THE INTERNET, IT SEEMS THAT THIS PROBLEM HAPPENS RATHER FREQUENTLY WITH THIS MODEL DODGE, BUT THERE IS NO CLEAR ANSWER AS TO WHAT THE UNDERLYING ISSUE IS (SENSOR, COMPUTER, VALVE BODY, ETC). COULD THIS BE REVIEWED FOR POSSIBLE MANUFACTURER DEFECT?

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING: ENGINE

12/22/2006 - COLLEGE PARK, GA
CAR HAS 94,000 ODD MILES ON IT. WHILE DRIVING MY CAR THE OIL LIGHT CAME ON. I HAD A OIL CHANGE 2 MONTHS PRIOR. CHECKED THE OIL WAS 1 QUART LOW, ADDED ONE QUART. DROVE CAR A COUPLE HOURS LATER IT STARTED SMOKING AND THE OIL STARTING LEAKING ENTIRELY OUT OF CAR. MADE IT HOME CRUNK THE CAR BACK UP AND THE CAR SOUNDED LIKE A LAWN MOWER WAS UNDER MY HOOD. WHEN MECHANIC LOOKED AT IT HE INFORMED ME THAT THE ENGINE WAS SHOT AND THAT IT WAS UNSUAL FOR THE ENGINE TO GO OUT SO SOON BECAUSE I DIDN'T HAVE A LOT OF MILEAGE ON MY CAR. I HAVE BEEN OUT OF A CAR SINCE THEN, THE COST ESTIMATE FOR REPAIRS ARE FROM 3.000 TO 6,000. IT IS NOT UNDER WARRANTY. I AM IN THE PROCESS OF SENDING INFORMATION TO THE IMPARTIAL SERVICES GROUP. AND I HAVE FILED A COMPLAINT WITH THE CENTER FOR AUTO SAFETY.

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 11
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds