Auto Recalls for Consumers

DODGE INTREPID - 2003 DODGE INTREPID Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Chrysler (FCA US LLC)

There are 104 complaints filed for the 2003 DODGE INTREPID

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2003 DODGE INTREPID. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2003 DODGE INTREPID, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (6) Exterior Lighting (1) Power Train (21) Service Brakes Hydraulic (12) Unknown Or Other (1)
Electrical System (7) Fuel System Gasoline (1) Seat Belts (1) Steering (6) Vehicle Speed Control (4)
Engine (2) Latches Locks Linkages (2) Service Brakes (1) Structure (2) Visibility (1)
Engine And Engine Cooling (61) Other (1) Service Brakes Air (1) Suspension (3) Wheels (1)
Equipment (2)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 11
 
ComplaintDescription

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING

8/6/2007 - SAND SPRINGS, OK
JULY 31 2007 TRAVELING AT 65 MPH ON A MAJOR HIGHWAY (75) IN TULSA OKLA THE MOTOR IN OUR 2003 DODGE INTREPID, A 2.7 V 6 SHUT DOWN. NO INDICATIONS OF ANY KIND OF PROBLEM. (NO LOW OIL PRESSURE LIGHT, NO HIGH TEMP., NO NOISE INDICATING A PROBLEM. THE MOTOR JUST DIED AND MY WIFE HAD TROUBLE EVEN GETTING IT OFF THE ROAD AND OUT OF TRAFFIC WITHOUT HAVING AN ACCIDENT. I HAD TO HAVE THE CAR TOWED TO A DEALER,(EAST TULSA DODGE WHERE THEY EXAMINED THE CAR AND TOLD ME THE MOTOR WAS DAMAGED AND HAD TO BE REPLACED. THE CAR HAS 83,941 MILES ON IT. I CALLED THE FACTORY REP AND THEY REFUSED TO COVER ANY OF THE EXPENSES SAYING WE DID NOT MAINTAIN THE VEHICLE TO THEIR SPECIFICATIONS. THE OIL IN THE CAR IS LESS THAN 40 DAYS OLD AND ANY SLUDGE THAT THE OLD OIL HAD IN IT SHOULD HAVE BEEN REMOVED AS THIS OIL WAS REMOVED FROM THE OIL PAN. IT IS NOT NORMAL MAINTENANCE TO HAVE TO REMOVE THE OIL PAN AND WIPE OUT THE SLUDGE BUILD-UP OR REMOVE THE COVER ON THE TOP OF THE MOTOR TO WIPE OUT THE SLUDGE BUILD-UP. THIS IS A PROBLEM CAUSED FROM POOR DESIGN OF THE OIL PUMP AND THE OIL PICK UP TUBES BEING TO SMALL FOR THE JOB REQUIRED TO KEEP ENOUGH OIL FLOWING THROUGH THE MOTOR TO PROTECT ENGINE PARTS FROM THIS KIND OF DAMAGE.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING: ENGINE

5/16/2007 - LAGRAIN, GA
TL CONTACT OWNS A 2003 DODGE INTREPID. WHILE DRIVING 15 MPH, THE VEHICLE FAILED DUE TO SLUDGE BUILD UP INSIDE THE ENGINE. THE DEALER STATED THAT THE VEHICLE WAS NOT PROPERLY MAINTAINED. THE CONTACT BEGS TO DIFFER AND STATED THAT SEVERAL OTHERS HAVE EXPERIENCED THE SAME FAILURE. THE VIN, # OF CYLINDERS, AND ENGINE SIZE WERE UNKNOWN. THE CURRENT AND FAILURE MILEAGES WERE 44,000.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING: ENGINE: GASOLINE

4/21/2007 - WASHINGTON, DC
MY VEHICLE (2003 2.7L DODGE INTREPID) WAS BEING DRIVEN ON THE HIGHWAY BY MY FIANCE. SHE SAID THAT THE ENGINE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON AND THE CAR BEGAN TO SPUTTER. SHE MANAGED TO WORK HER WAY THROUGH THE TRAFFIC AND WHEN SHE GOT TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD THE CAR DIED. IT WAS TOWED TO THE DODGE DEALERSHIP AND THEY SAID THAT THE CONNECTING ROD CAP CAME OFF AND BLEW OUT OF THE OIL PAN. THE REPAIRS WILL COST ME 8,000.00. WHICH I CANNOT AFFORD.

View Details

POWER TRAIN: AUTOMATIC TRANSMISSION

4/13/2007 - WARREN , OH
- THE CONTACT OWNS A 2003 DODGE INTREPID. WHILE DRIVING 65 MPH ON THE HIGHWAY THE VEHICLE LOST POWER AND THE CONTACT WAS UNABLE TO RESTART IT. THERE WERE NO WARNING INDICATOR LIGHTS DURING, BEFORE OR AFTER THE FAILURE. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED. THE MANUFACTURER WILL NOT HONOR THE WARRANTY. THE DEALER STATED THAT TRANSMISSION AND THE ENGINE NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE CURRENT AND FAILURE MILEAGE WERE 53,000. UPDATED 05/21/07.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING

4/13/2007 - WARREN , OH
- THE CONTACT OWNS A 2003 DODGE INTREPID. WHILE DRIVING 65 MPH ON THE HIGHWAY THE VEHICLE LOST POWER AND THE CONTACT WAS UNABLE TO RESTART IT. THERE WERE NO WARNING INDICATOR LIGHTS DURING, BEFORE OR AFTER THE FAILURE. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED. THE MANUFACTURER WILL NOT HONOR THE WARRANTY. THE DEALER STATED THAT TRANSMISSION AND THE ENGINE NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE CURRENT AND FAILURE MILEAGE WERE 53,000. UPDATED 05/21/07.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING: ENGINE

4/13/2007 - LEXINGTON, NC
- THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING THE 2003 DODGE INTREPID WITH 94,700 FAILURE MILEAGE AT 25 MPH THE OIL LIGHT TURNED ON AND THE VEHICLE BEGAN MAKING A METAL GRINDING ON METAL NOISE, THEN THE ENGINE COMPLETELY LOST POWER. THE VEHICLE WOULD NOT RESTART. THE DEALER AND DODGE WERE NOTIFIED REGARDING THE ENGINE FAILURE. DODGE AND THE DEALER STATED THAT THERE WAS NOTHING THEY COULD DO. THE VEHICLE HAS NOT BEEN REPAIRED.

View Details

SUSPENSION: FRONT

4/10/2007 - INOPPOLIS, IN
- THE CONTACT OWNS A 2003 DODGE INTREPID WITH A CURRENT AND FAILURE MILEAGE OF 58,000 THE CONTACT WAS DRIVING UNDER NORMAL DRY CONDITIONS ABOUT 55 MPH WHEN THE VEHICLE PULLED HARD TO LEFT AND HIT A TREE. PRIOR TO THE CRASH THE CONTACT FELT THE VEHICLE SHAKING. THE CONTACT GOT OUT AND LOOKED AT THE VEHICLE AND FOUND THAT NOTHING WAS WRONG. AFTER THE VEHICLE HIT THE TREE IT CAUGHT ON FIRE. THE DRIVER AND TWO PASSENGERS WERE INJURED IN THE CRASH. THE POLICE AND FIRE DEPARTMENT CAME TO THE SCENE.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING

4/9/2007 - KILLEEN, TX
-THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING THE 2003 DODGE INTREPID, AT 50 MPH THE VEHICLE SLOWED AND WOULD NOT ACCELERATE OVER 45 MPH, AND THEN THE VEHICLE MADE A TAPPING SOUND. HE STATED THAT THE VEHICLE STARTED JERKING AND LOST POWER. HE PULLED OVER TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD AND TRIED TO RESTART THE VEHICLE, BUT THE VEHICLE WOULD NOT RESTART. HE HAD THE VEHICLE TOWED TO A LOCAL MECHANIC IN TEXAS. THE MECHANIC INFORMED HIM THAT THE ENGINE HAD SEIZED. THE CONTACT HAD ALL THE FLUIDS CHANGED IN THE VEHICLE IN SEPTEMBER AND AGAIN AFTER A TRIP FROM NEW YORK TO TEXAS IN DECEMBER. HE STATED THAT HE PURCHASED THE VEHICLE IN FEBRUARY 2005. THE CURRENT AND FAILURE MILEAGE WERE 79,000.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING: ENGINE

3/29/2007 - COLUMBUS, OH
I HAVE A 2003 DODGE INTREPID WITH 72,000 MILES ON IT. WE HAVE HAD THIS CAR SINCE IT HAD 9,000 MILES ON IT AND HAVE DONE ALL THE SUGGESTED REPAIRS AND OIL CHANGES SINCE THE FIRST DAY WE HAD IT. RECENTLY WHILE MY HUSBAND WAS DRIVING THE CAR IT STARTED TO SHAKE VIOLENTLY ON THE FREEWAY (ALMOST CAUSING A FEW ACCIDENTS) AND THE RPM'S JUMPED WAY UP OVER 4000. THEN THE ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON. THE REPAIR SHOP SAID IT WAS THE CAM SENSOR. IT WAS REPLACED AND WITHIN AN HOUR THE SAME THING HAPPENED. TOOK THE CAR BACK AND THEY SAID IT WAS THE CRANK SENSOR, REPLACED THAT, SAME THING HAPPENED WITHIN 5 MINS OF THE REPAIR SHOP. THE SHOP THEN TOLD US THAT THE ENGINE WAS BAD AND THERE WAS A HISTORY WITH THE 2.7'S. WE TOOK THE CAR TO THE DEALER FOR A SECOND OPINION AND THEY SAID WE COULD REPLACE THE TIMING CHAINS AND THAT WOULD SAVE THE CAR FOR A YEAR OR SO UNTIL WE COULD GET IT PAID OFF (STILL OWE $6000) BUT IT WOULD COST $1700 PLUS TAX. WE DECIDED TO DO THAT, HOWEVER THE DEALER CALLED US BACK AND SAID AFTER THEY GOT THE ENGINE APART THEY NOTICED IT WAS FULL OF SLUDGE AND THE TIMING CHAINS WERE FINE. THEY RECOMMENDED A NEW ENGINE AND QUOTED US OVER $6000. I HAVE SEEN THOUSANDS OF PEOPLE WITH THIS ISSUE. WE HAVE BOUGHT 3 DODGE/CHRYSLER VEHICLES IN THE LAST 5 YEARS FROM THIS DEALER AND THEY WOULD DO NOTHING TO COMPENSATE US. WE EVEN OFFERED TO BUY A NEW CAR THERE IF WE COULD GET ACCURATELY COMPENSATED AND THEY SAID MY CAR IS WORTH NOTHING! CHRYSLER DOES NOT STAND BEHIND THEIR PRODUCTS AND SHOULD BE FORCED TO REPLACE THESE ENGINE THAT THEY KNOW HAVE AN ISSUE. WHAT EVER HAPPENED TO CUSTOMER SERVICE, ESPECIALLY TO A CUSTOMER THAT HAS SHOWN YOU LOYALTY??????

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING: ENGINE

3/22/2007 - ELMHURST, IL
THE ENGINE LITE HAS BEEN COMING ON IN MY 2003 DODGE INTREPID DESPITE REGULAR OIL CHANGES, WHEN I HAD THE LAST OIL CHANGE I TOLD THE MACHANIC OF THE PROBLEM AND HE TOLD ME OF THE 2.7 ENGINE. NOW I HAVE NO IDEA WHAT TO DO. IT WILL COST ME 6000 TO REPLACE THE ENGINE AND I STILLOWE 10000 ON THE CAR. PLEASE HELP!

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 11
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds