Auto Recalls for Consumers

GMC ENVOY - 2003 GMC ENVOY Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 352 complaints filed for the 2003 GMC ENVOY

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2003 GMC ENVOY. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2003 GMC ENVOY, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (32) Engine And Engine Cooling (25) Latches Locks Linkages (9) Service Brakes (6) Tires (4)
Child Seat (1) Equipment (7) Other (2) Service Brakes Air (2) Unknown Or Other (3)
Communications (1) Exterior Lighting (17) Parking Brake (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (18) Vehicle Speed Control (9)
Electrical System (68) Fuel Propulsion System (17) Power Train (38) Steering (15) Visibility (32)
Electronic Stability Control (1) Fuel System Gasoline (66) Seat Belts (14) Structure (24) Visibility Wiper (5)
Engine (7) Fuel System Other (4) Seats (2) Suspension (18) Wheels (1)

Pages:  
<<  9  10  11  12  13  14  15  16  17  18  19  20  21  22  23  >>  ... 38
 
ComplaintDescription

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE

10/6/2010 - HASTINGS, MN
LEAKING FUEL AT THE FUEL FILLER NECK ON THE FUEL TANK.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING: ENGINE

9/1/2010 - HOUSTON, TX
2003 GMC ENVOY - CHECK ENGINE LIGHT & REDUCED ENGINE POWER LIGHT. VEHICLE SLOWS TO 20 MPH LOSING POWER. MY DAUGHTER WAS ALMOST HIT IN THE SIDE OF THE VEHICLE AS SHE LOST POWER IN THE INTERSECTION. THANKFULLY, THE ONCOMING VEHICLE WAS ABLE TO STOP.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM: INSTRUMENT PANEL

8/31/2010 - CINCINNATI, OH
2003 GMC ENVOY. THE SPEEDOMETER ONLY WORKS INTERMITTENTLY. IT MAY STICK IN ONE SPOT. OTHER TIMES IT IS CONSISTENTLY OFF BY A GIVEN SPEED. THE NEXT DAY IT MAY BE WORKING FINE. THIS HAS BEEN GOING ON FOR OVER A YEAR AND SEEMS TO BE OCCURRING MORE FREQUENTLY AS THE VEHICLE AGES. THE INTERNET IS LITTERED WITH OTHERS ALL HAVING THE SAME ISSUE. IT LOOKS LIKE A US DISTRICT COURT AWARDED OWNERS OF MANY OTHER GM MODELS WITH THE SAME ISSUE A SETTLEMENT (SEE HTTP://WWW.GMSPEEDOMETERRECALL.COM/). THE ENVOY WAS NOT INCLUDED, ALTHOUGH THE ISSUE IS THE SAME. COST FOR REPAIRING IS APPARENTLY IN THE $700 RANGE. AS FOR CONSEQUENCES, I SEE 2 POSSIBILITIES. I COULD RECEIVE AN UNWARRANTED SPEEDING TICKET. THE OTHER CONSEQUENCE IS THE MAJOR DISTRACTION IT CAUSES. THE ONLY WAY TO TELL IF IT IS WORKING AT TIMES IS TO WATCH IT CLOSELY. IF THE NEEDLE ISN'T MOVING WHEN I ACCELERATE I KNOW NOT TO TRUST IT. DRIVERS SHOULDN'T BE STARING AT THEIR SPEEDOMETER WHEN DRIVING.

View Details

POWER TRAIN: CLUTCH ASSEMBLY

8/12/2010 - BEAR, DE
TL CONTACT OWNS A 2003 GMC ENVOY. THE CONTACT WAS DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 15 MPH APPROACHING A STOP SIGNAL THERE WAS A SLIGHT LOSS OF ENGINE POWER. THE CONTACT WAS ABLE TO CONTINUE DRIVING. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN AUTHORIZED DEALER WHERE THE FAN CLUTCH WAS REPLACED. THE FAILURE RECURRED AFTER 20,000 MILES AFTER THE REPLACEMENT OF THE FAN CLUTCH BY AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC. RECENTLY, THE IDENTICAL FAILURE OCCURRED FOR THE THIRD TIME. THE MANUFACTURER ADVISED THE CONTACT TO TRADE-IN THE VEHICLE AND THEY WOULD OFFER HER A $1,400 CERTIFICATE. THE CONTACT WAS DISPLEASED WITH THE RESPONSE FROM THE MANUFACTURER. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THERE WAS CONCERN OF A POTENTIAL SAFETY HAZARD. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 60,000.

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE

7/22/2010 - BRONX, NY
HELLO, I AM SECOND OWNER OF GMC ENVOY SLE 2003 CAR. COUPLE MONTHS AGO THE LIGHT CHECK ENGINE SOON STARTED APPEARS AND DISAPPEAR AFTER FILLING GAS AND SEVERAL TRIPS. JUNE THIS YEAR I WENT TO DEALER SERVICE FROM WHERE I BUY THE CAR THREE YEARS AGO .THEY FIXED SOME THING (HOUSING AND / OR GASKET, THERMOSTAT REPLACE AND FOR CAMPAIGN 07076: FUEL SENDER MODULE UPDATE T5714 FUEL SENDER ASSY REPLACEMENT AND ETC). AFTER 600 MILES THE LIGHT APPEARS AGAIN AND STAYS STEADY. I CALLED TO MY DEALER, BUT NOW THE DEALER IS OUT OF BUSINESS. I WENT TO OTHER SERVICE. THE SERVICE ADVISOR SAD ME THAT THE REASON FOR THE LIGHT ON IS THE CAR HAS GAS TANK LEAKING NEAR FUEL FILLER TUBE AREA MAY BE FROM CORROSION OR CRACK AND THAT+S MEAN NEAR $1500 FOR BRAND NEW TANK AND SERVICE AND COUPLE DAYS FOR DELIVERY THE TANK. BECAUSE I DON+T UNDERSTOOD VERY WELL THE EXPLANATIONS AND DIDN'T KNOW HOW DANGEROUS THIS LEAKING IS I LEFT VERY UPSET WITHOUT REPAIRED. I CALLED TO GMC TO ASK: IS IT NORMAL FOR 7-TH YEAR OLD CAR TO CHANGE THE GAS TANK. I THINK THIS IS RIDICULOUS. (AFTER OWN THE CAR, THREE YEAR AGO, I DIDN'T HIT IT.) FOLLOW DISCUSSION WITH TWO DEPARTMENTS AND AFTER ALL I UNDERSTOOD: THIS IS MY PROBLEM AND RESPONSIBILITY IS MINE. THAT IS IT. THANK YOU.

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE

7/16/2010 - CAROLINA , PR
DEFECTIVE FUEL TANK. LEAKS FUEL.

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE: STORAGE: TANK ASSEMBLY: FILLER PIPE AND CAP

6/14/2010 - BELLINGHAM, MA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2003 GMC ENVOY. THE CONTACT STATED WHILE DRIVING AT UNKNOWN SPEEDS, THE DRIVER AND PASSENGER DOORS INDEPENDENTLY FLEW OPEN. THE CONTACT WAS HOLDING ONTO THE DOOR WHILE DRIVING UNTIL SHE WAS ABLE TO BRING THE VEHICLE TO A STOP. THE DEALER ADVISED HAVING A DIAGNOSTIC PERFORMED ON THE VEHICLE TO DETERMINE THE CAUSE OF FAILURE. IN ADDITION, WHEN FILLING THE FUEL TANK, THE GASOLINE WOULD SPEW BACK OUT OF THE FILLER TUNE AND ONTO THE CONTACT. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 60,000 AND THE CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 180,000.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY: DOOR

6/14/2010 - BELLINGHAM, MA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2003 GMC ENVOY. THE CONTACT STATED WHILE DRIVING AT UNKNOWN SPEEDS, THE DRIVER AND PASSENGER DOORS INDEPENDENTLY FLEW OPEN. THE CONTACT WAS HOLDING ONTO THE DOOR WHILE DRIVING UNTIL SHE WAS ABLE TO BRING THE VEHICLE TO A STOP. THE DEALER ADVISED HAVING A DIAGNOSTIC PERFORMED ON THE VEHICLE TO DETERMINE THE CAUSE OF FAILURE. IN ADDITION, WHEN FILLING THE FUEL TANK, THE GASOLINE WOULD SPEW BACK OUT OF THE FILLER TUNE AND ONTO THE CONTACT. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 60,000 AND THE CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 180,000.

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE

6/7/2010 - BALDWYN, MS
2003 GMC ENVOY FILLER NECK LEAKING. THIS IS A KNOWN ISSUE AND THERE IS A RECALL. WHEN I TOOK MY TRUCK TO THE DEALERSHIP IT HAD THIS ISSUE BUT THE RECALL IS FOR THE XL MODEL. THIS IS A MAJOR SAFETY ISSUE. HOW CAN THEY MESS AROUND WITH LEAKING GAS? IT IS A 1200+ REPAIR THAT SHOULD BE COVERED.

View Details

POWER TRAIN: AUTOMATIC TRANSMISSION

5/22/2010 - MINERVA, OH
THE TRANSMISSION FAILED IN MY 2003 GMC ENVOY WITH APPROX 95,000 MILES. WHILE DRIVING DOWN THE ROAD I WENT TO PASS A SLOW MOVING VEHICLE. AS THE TRANSMISSION DOWN SHIFTED THERE WAS A "BANG" SO I PULLED OVER TO LOOK UNDER THE TRUCK, AND MADE SURE NOTHING HAD FALLEN OFF. I GOT BACK IN THE S.U.V. AND MADE MY WAY BACK HOME WITH NO PROBLEM. THE NEXT DAY WHEN I WENT TO BACK OUT OF MY DRIVE WAY THERE WAS NO REVERSE. I CALLED A LOCAL GM DEALERSHIP AND WAS TOLD THAT THE PROBLEM APPEARS TO THE SUNSHELL GEAR. ACCORDING TO MULTIPLE POST ONLINE, SEEMS TO BE A COMMON FAILURE AMONG ENVOY'S AND TRAILBLAZER. I CHECKED THE FLUID AND IT APPEARS TO BE FINE, NOT LOW, NOT BURNT, AND STILL RED AND CLEAN.

View Details
Pages:  <<  9  10  11  12  13  14  15  16  17  18  19  20  21  22  23  >>  ... 38
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds