Auto Recalls for Consumers

GMC ENVOY - 2003 GMC ENVOY Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 340 complaints filed for the 2003 GMC ENVOY

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2003 GMC ENVOY. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2003 GMC ENVOY, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (32) Engine And Engine Cooling (25) Latches Locks Linkages (8) Service Brakes (4) Tires (4)
Child Seat (1) Equipment (7) Other (2) Service Brakes Air (2) Unknown Or Other (3)
Communications (1) Exterior Lighting (14) Parking Brake (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (18) Vehicle Speed Control (8)
Electrical System (66) Fuel Propulsion System (14) Power Train (38) Steering (14) Visibility (32)
Electronic Stability Control (1) Fuel System Gasoline (65) Seat Belts (14) Structure (22) Visibility Wiper (5)
Engine (5) Fuel System Other (4) Seats (2) Suspension (18) Wheels (1)

Pages:  
<<  9  10  11  12  13  14  15  16  17  18  19  20  21  22  23  >>  ... 36
 
ComplaintDescription

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE

1/7/2010 - BALTIMORE, MD
WE HAVE A 2003 GMC ENVOY SLT. EVERYTIME WE PUT GAS IN THE VEHICLE IT DOESN'T SHUT OFF LIKE IT SHOULD. THE GAS WILL OVERFLOW AND GO ALL ON THE VEHICLE AND ALL ON THE GROUND. WE HAVE OWNED THE TRUCK FOR APPROX. 1.5 MONTHS. THIS HAPPENS EVERYTIME WE GET GAS. I HAVE NEVER HAD A VEHICLE DO THIS EVERYTIME. IT HAS BEEN FROM DIFFERENT GAS STATIONS.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM: INSTRUMENT PANEL

12/29/2009 - WILMINGTON, MA
SPEEDOMETER AND DASHBOARD FAILURE ON 2003 GMC ENVOY OCCURRING SPONTANEOUSLY AT APPROXIMATELY 50,000 MILES. GM DEALER WOULD REPLACE FOR $350 PLUS LABOR LAST JANUARY WHEN VEHICLE HAD LESS THAN 70,000.00. UNABLE TO AFFORD THIS COST AFTER A GENERAL SERVICE, HOWEVER THE COMPLAINT IS FILED WITH GM DEALERSHIP IN JAN 2009. CAR IS NOW OVER 70,000.MILES. I AM REALIZING THAT THIS IS NOT AN ISOLATED SITUATION AND THERE HAVE BEEN MANY COMPLAINTS. IS THERE A COMMITMENT FROM GM THAT THEY WILL REPAIR THIS ISSUE FOR CARS WITH MILEAGE UNDER 70,000.00? I BELIEVE THIS ISSUE SHOULD BE INVESTIGATED FOR A RE-CALL REGARDLESS OF MILEAGE. PLEASE DIRECT ME WITH THE APPROPRIATE ACTION MEASURES SO THAT I MAY REMEDY THIS SITUATION PROMPTLY.

View Details

VISIBILITY: WINDSHIELD WIPER/WASHER

11/3/2009 - VERO BEACH, FL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2003 GMC ENVOY. IN RAINY WEATHER THE WINDSHIELD WIPERS ARE INOPERATIVE. WHEN ITS SUNNY OUTSIDE THE WIPERS ACTIVATE WITHOUT INTENTION. HE HAS TO RESTART THE VEHICLE OR MANUALLY RESET THE WIPERS AS A TEMPORARY REMEDY. A DEALER STATED THAT HIS VEHICLE IDENTIFICATION NUMBER WAS EXCLUDED FROM RECALL #04V046000 (VISIBILITY:WINDSHIELD WIPER/WASHER), THEREFORE HE WOULD HAVE TO PAY TO HAVE THE WINDSHIELD WIPER MODULE REPAIRED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 63,000. UPDATED 12/7/09 UPDATED 12/08/09.

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, OTHER

10/15/2009 - HOUSTON, TX
VEHICLE: 2003 GMC ENVOY FAILURE: SPEEDOMETOR AND FUEL GAUGE STOPPED WORKING. THE DEALER STATES THIS IS A VERY COMMON PROBLEM AND GM KNOWN ABOUT THIS DEFECT BUT REFUSE TO DO ANYTHING ABOUT IT. THE INSTRUMENT CLUSTER NEEDS TO BE REPLACED , APPROX COST OF REPAIR IS $500 (PART & LABOR). I AM VERY UNCOMFORTABLE TO DRIVE NOT KNOWING HOW FAST I AM GOING ESPECIALLY WHEN DRIVE WITH MY BABY IN GMC ENVOY.

View Details

POWER TRAIN: AUTOMATIC TRANSMISSION

8/10/2009 - STATE COLLEGE, PA
FIRST PROBLEM OCCURRED IN 2008, DRIVING TO WORK IN 2003 GMC ENVOY SLT (ORIGINAL OWNER) HEARD CLUNKING NOISE WHEN DOWNSHIFTING. TOOK CAR IN TO SHOP FOR REPAIR (JUST OVER 50K MILES SO OUT OF WARRANTY). SHOP EXPLAINED THAT THE TRANSMISSION NEEDED TO BE REPLACED $4000 WITH ONE YEAR WARRANTY. SINCE I WAS PLANNING ON DRIVING CROSS COUNTRY DECIDED TO DO THE REPAIR. ONE YEAR LATER, DRIVING AND TRYING TO ACCELERATE ON A RAMP TO FIND SUV STUCK IN SECOND GEAR AND WOULDN'T ACCELERATE WHILE RPM KEPT GOING UP. ALSO HEARD CLUNKING WHEN DOWNSHIFTING. PULLED OVER AND TRIED TO GET GEARS TO SHIFT BY SLOWING DOWN AND SPEEDING UP (TO GET RPM TO DROP). DROVE CAR TO DEALER WHO STATED I NEEDED A NEW TRANSMISSION (AGAIN). DEALER REMOVED TRANSMISSION AND "FOUND INPUT BUSHING IN PUMP BAD. AND REVERSE DRUM. AND HAD HEAVY METAL CONTAMINATION". WHEN ASKED WHY THIS IS MY THIRD TRANSMISSION IN SIX YEARS THE SERVICE AGENT SAID "BAD LUCK". BOTH REPLACEMENT TRANSMISSIONS WERE REBUILDS. THE CURRENT TRANSMISSION IS NOT UNDER WARRANTY.

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE

8/4/2009 - NOBLESVILLE, IN
GAS FUMES COMING FROM 2003 GMC ENVOY. TOOK TO SERVICE DEPARTMENT AT AUTHORIZED DEALER. GM REFUSES TO FIX PROBLEM WHICH IS COVERED UNDER SERVICE BULLETIN 07076/NHTSA ITEM #10026522. GM CUSTOMER SERVICE REFUSES TO REPLACE TANK THAT IS CRACKED DUE TO CORROSION CAUSED BY FUEL TANK MODULAR RESERVOIR. SERVICE BULLETIN STATE ALL REPAIRS WILL BE MADE WITH NO CHARGE TO THE CUSTOMER. ENVOY HAS BEEN IN THE REPAIR SHOP FOR 5 DAYS.

View Details

POWER TRAIN: AUTOMATIC TRANSMISSION

7/31/2009 - CROMWELL, CT
I HAVE A 2003 GMC ENVOY, 80,700 MILES ORIGINAL OWNER. WHILE MERGING ONTO HIGHWAY TRANSMISSION LOCKED IN 2ND GEAR. ENGINE RPM'S INCREASED TO 5,000 SPEED DROPPED TO 20 MPH CREATING A DANGEROUS SITUATION WITH ONCOMING TRAFFIC. THIS HAPPENED WITHOUT WARNING OR ANY INDICATION OF A PROBLEM. I HAD VEHICLE TOWED TO GMC DEALER, ASKED IF THERE WERE ANY KNOWN PROBLEMS WITH GMC ENVOY TRANSMISSIONS AND WAS TOLD THERE WERE NONE. THE DIAGNOSIS, MY TRANSMISSION EXPLODED INTERNALLY WITH A FAILURE OF THE SUN SHELL GEAR AND TORQUE CONVERTER. TRANSMISSION COULD NOT BE REBUILT AND THE COST OF INSTALLING A RE MANUFACTURED TRANSMISSION WAS $3700! GM HAS BEEN HAVING THESE TRANSMISSION FAILURES SINCE 2002 WITH NO ACKNOWLEDGMENT OF LIABILITY!

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM: INSTRUMENT PANEL

7/16/2009 - OREGON CITY, OR
2003 GMC ENVOY WITH 65,000 MILES I HAVE A SPEEDOMETER THAT IS ERRATIC IN READING SPEED. GETS STUCK AT 35 MPH AS "0" OR REGISTERS -10 MPH FROM ACTUAL SPEED. THIS PROBLEM VARIES FROM ONE TO THE OTHER EVERY TIME I RESTART THE ENGINE. I ALSO HAVE A WEIRD CLICKING SOUND THAT COMES FROM THE DASH AREA ON OCCASION.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

6/30/2009 - HURON, OH
I OWN A 2003 GMC ENVOY AND THE SPEEDOMETER ACTS ERRATICALLY, AND IS NEVER CORRECT. I'VE RESEARCHED IT AND THERE IS NOT A RECALL ON IT, AND FROM OTHER INTERNET USERS MESSAGES ON SITES, THERE ARE A LOT OF GM VEHICLES THAT ARE HAVING THIS PROBLEM!! I DON'T PERSONALLY HAVE THE MONEY TO GET IT FIXED, THAT AND I DON'T THINK IT SHOULD BE MY PROBLEM TO HAVE TO PAY FOR IT EITHER, GM PUT A BAD PART IN THE VEHICLES SO I THINK THEY SHOULD HAVE TO RECALL WHATEVER IS WRONG WITH THE SPEEDOMETER. THANK YOU FOR YOUR TIME.

View Details

TIRES

6/26/2009 - WILLIAMSVILLE, NY
TL CONTACT OWNS A 2003 GMC ENVOY. THE VEHICLE HAS MICHELIN LTX M/S TIRES, SIZE P245/165/1R (NA). WHILE DRIVING 65 MPH, THE FRONT PASSENGER SIDE TREAD SEPARATED FROM THE TIRE. ONE HUNDRED MILES AFTER THE FIRST TIRE FAILURE, THE REAR DRIVER'S SIDE TREAD ALSO SEPARATED FROM THE TIRES. THE TIRES HAVE NOT BEEN DIAGNOSED BY THE DEALER. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 94,000.

View Details
Pages:  <<  9  10  11  12  13  14  15  16  17  18  19  20  21  22  23  >>  ... 36
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds