Auto Recalls for Consumers

JEEP GRAND CHEROKEE - 2003 JEEP GRAND CHEROKEE Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Chrysler (FCA US LLC)

There are 723 complaints filed for the 2003 JEEP GRAND CHEROKEE

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2003 JEEP GRAND CHEROKEE. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2003 JEEP GRAND CHEROKEE, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (242) Exterior Lighting (14) Power Train (35) Steering (22) Unknown Or Other (5)
Communications (1) Fuel Propulsion System (7) Seat Belts (12) Structure (9) Vehicle Speed Control (29)
Electrical System (55) Fuel System Gasoline (11) Seats (64) Suspension (13) Visibility (170)
Engine (13) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Service Brakes (3) Tires (5) Visibility Wiper (3)
Engine And Engine Cooling (45) Other (2) Service Brakes Air (3) Trailer Hitches (2) Wheels (3)
Equipment (12) Parking Brake (2) Service Brakes Hydraulic (68)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 85
 
ComplaintDescription

AIR BAGS

9/25/2018 - 4 TEELE DR, NY
THE CONTACT OWNED A 2003 JEEP GRAND CHEROKEE. WHILE AT A STOP LIGHT, THE CONTACT'S VEHICLE WAS REAR ENDED. AS A RESULT, THE CONTACT CRASHED INTO THE PRECEDING VEHICLE. THE DRIVER'S SIDE AIR BAG FAILED TO DEPLOY AND THE SEAT BELT FAILED TO RETRACT. THE CONTACT SUSTAINED KNEE AND NECK INJURIES THAT REQUIRED MEDICAL ATTENTION. THE OTHER DRIVER SUSTAINED INJURIES, BUT DID NOT REQUIRE MEDICAL ATTENTION. A POLICE REPORT WAS FILED. THE VEHICLE WAS DRIVEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC, BUT WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE VEHICLE WAS DEEMED DESTROYED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT TAKEN TO A DEALER. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 200,000. THE VIN WAS NOT AVAILABLE.

View Details

SEAT BELTS

9/25/2018 - 4 TEELE DR, NY
THE CONTACT OWNED A 2003 JEEP GRAND CHEROKEE. WHILE AT A STOP LIGHT, THE CONTACT'S VEHICLE WAS REAR ENDED. AS A RESULT, THE CONTACT CRASHED INTO THE PRECEDING VEHICLE. THE DRIVER'S SIDE AIR BAG FAILED TO DEPLOY AND THE SEAT BELT FAILED TO RETRACT. THE CONTACT SUSTAINED KNEE AND NECK INJURIES THAT REQUIRED MEDICAL ATTENTION. THE OTHER DRIVER SUSTAINED INJURIES, BUT DID NOT REQUIRE MEDICAL ATTENTION. A POLICE REPORT WAS FILED. THE VEHICLE WAS DRIVEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC, BUT WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE VEHICLE WAS DEEMED DESTROYED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT TAKEN TO A DEALER. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 200,000. THE VIN WAS NOT AVAILABLE.

View Details

AIR BAGS

9/12/2018 - UNIVERSAL CITY, TX
I HAD NEW ORC MODULE AS PER RECALL RO6.PART NO CBSZRO65AA AIR BAG LIGHT STILL ON COMES AND GOES. HAD SCANNED GOT CODE P000201 LEFT FRONT SENSOR FAILURE..I FOUND THAT THE NEW MODULE ON WJ MODELS DISABLES THE FRONT SENSORS.THEY ARE NOT NEEDED. HELP!!!!!WENT TO DEALER HE WAS NO HELP.

View Details

ENGINE

8/3/2018 - WINNEBAGO, IL
ENGINE STALLS WITHOUT WARNING, NUMEROUS PARTS REPLACED STILL PERSISTS. VERY DANGEROUS

View Details

SUSPENSION

7/31/2018 - BORDENTOWN, NJ
I'M 100% CONVINCED OUR VEHICLE FITS "DEATH WOBBLE" CONDITION. IF YOU HIT A BAD BUMP OR SERIES OF SMALL BUMPS, FRONT END SHIMMIES VIOLENTLY WITH STEERING WHEEL SHAKING BACK AND FORTH OUT OF CONTROL. CAN ONLY SLOW DOWN AS BRAKING DOESN'T SEEM TO HELP MUCH. IT HAPPENED TO MY WIFE 3X AND MYSELF 1X ALREADY IN PAST 6 WEEKS. VERY SCARY!

View Details

STEERING

7/31/2018 - BORDENTOWN, NJ
I'M 100% CONVINCED OUR VEHICLE FITS "DEATH WOBBLE" CONDITION. IF YOU HIT A BAD BUMP OR SERIES OF SMALL BUMPS, FRONT END SHIMMIES VIOLENTLY WITH STEERING WHEEL SHAKING BACK AND FORTH OUT OF CONTROL. CAN ONLY SLOW DOWN AS BRAKING DOESN'T SEEM TO HELP MUCH. IT HAPPENED TO MY WIFE 3X AND MYSELF 1X ALREADY IN PAST 6 WEEKS. VERY SCARY!

View Details

ENGINE

6/6/2018 - CENTRAL FALLS, RI
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2003 JEEP GRAND CHEROKEE. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 20 MPH, THE VEHICLE STALLED. THE CONTACT COASTED TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD, RESTARTED THE VEHICLE, AND DROVE HOME. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC, BUT THE CAUSE OF THE FAILURE COULD NOT BE DETERMINED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT TAKEN TO THE DEALER FOR DIAGNOSTIC TESTING. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 177,000. THE VIN WAS NOT AVAILABLE.

View Details

SEAT BELTS

4/14/2018 - ELDERSBURG, MD
JEEP GRAND CHEROKEE RECALL.IT WAS IN MOTION DRIVING ON THE HIGHWAY. OCCUPANT RESTRAINT CONTROL MODULE IS RO6 / NHTSA 15V-046 OR M35 (12V-527) OR N13 (13V-040) I TOOK MY JEEP TO THE DEALERSHIP, THEY SAID IT WAS REPAIRED, I BELIEVED WHAT THEY SAID. I BELIEVE THEY FIXED IT AROUND 11/07/2016. THE SEATBELT AND AIRBAG CAME ON AROUND 6/3/2017. IT IS STILL ON TODAY, I DO NOT KNOW WHAT TO DO ABOUT THAT DEFECT IN MY VEHICLE.

View Details

AIR BAGS

4/14/2018 - ELDERSBURG, MD
JEEP GRAND CHEROKEE RECALL.IT WAS IN MOTION DRIVING ON THE HIGHWAY. OCCUPANT RESTRAINT CONTROL MODULE IS RO6 / NHTSA 15V-046 OR M35 (12V-527) OR N13 (13V-040) I TOOK MY JEEP TO THE DEALERSHIP, THEY SAID IT WAS REPAIRED, I BELIEVED WHAT THEY SAID. I BELIEVE THEY FIXED IT AROUND 11/07/2016. THE SEATBELT AND AIRBAG CAME ON AROUND 6/3/2017. IT IS STILL ON TODAY, I DO NOT KNOW WHAT TO DO ABOUT THAT DEFECT IN MY VEHICLE.

View Details

AIR BAGS

2/28/2018 - HOUSTON, TX
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2003 JEEP GRAND CHEROKEE. WHILE THE CONTACT WAS SITTING IN HER VEHICLE, THE AIR BAGS INADVERTENTLY DEPLOYED WITHOUT WARNING OR IMPACT. THERE WERE NO INJURIES. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO THE DEALER (HELFMAN DODGE CHRYSLER JEEP RAM, 7720 KATY FWY, HOUSTON, TX 77024), BUT THEY WOULD NOT TOUCH THE VEHICLE UNTIL AN INVESTIGATOR PERFORMED AN INSPECTION. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE WAS INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 15V046000 (AIR BAGS), BUT HE WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE RECALL AND PARTS WERE NOT AVAILABLE. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED AND INFORMED THE CONTACT THAT A DECISION WOULD BE MADE AFTER THE INVESTIGATION. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 206,000. PARTS DISTRIBUTION DISCONNECT.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 85
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds