Auto Recalls for Consumers

MERCEDES SL500 - 2003 MERCEDES SL500 Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Mercedes-Benz USA, LLC.

There are 65 complaints filed for the 2003 MERCEDES SL500

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2003 MERCEDES SL500. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2003 MERCEDES SL500, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (4) Engine And Engine Cooling (4) Fuel System Gasoline (11) Seat Belts (1) Steering (4)
Electrical System (7) Equipment (1) Fuel System Other (1) Service Brakes (8) Structure (2)
Electronic Stability Control (4) Fuel Propulsion System (6) Power Train (3) Service Brakes Hydraulic (5) Suspension (26)
Engine (2)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  ... 8
 
ComplaintDescription

SUSPENSION

1/8/2018 - CHAMBLEE, GA
ABC AND CONVERTIBLE ARE NOT FUNCTIONING AS ITS SUPPOSED, WHILE THE CAR NOT BENN DRING NOR USING THE FEATURES. THE KEYLESS REMOTE KEY ENTRY IS NOT WORKING!

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

1/8/2018 - CHAMBLEE, GA
ABC AND CONVERTIBLE ARE NOT FUNCTIONING AS ITS SUPPOSED, WHILE THE CAR NOT BENN DRING NOR USING THE FEATURES. THE KEYLESS REMOTE KEY ENTRY IS NOT WORKING!

View Details

AIR BAGS

1/8/2018 - CHAMBLEE, GA
ABC AND CONVERTIBLE ARE NOT FUNCTIONING AS ITS SUPPOSED, WHILE THE CAR NOT BENN DRING NOR USING THE FEATURES. THE KEYLESS REMOTE KEY ENTRY IS NOT WORKING!

View Details

SUSPENSION

12/28/2017 - SAN JOSE, CA
ABS PROBLEM MY CAR WONT GO UP OR DOWN IT IS IN THE DOWN POSITION ABS LIGHT IS ON DON T NO WHAT PROBLEM IS I BELIEVE THAT THERE IS A RECALL ON THIS PROBLEM.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

9/16/2017 - LAGO VISTA, TX
WHILE DRIVING MY MERCEDES BENZ 2003 SL500 THE BRAKES BECAME DISABLED WITHOUT WARNING. IT WAS A TERRIFYING EXPERIENCE. THE FIRST MERCEDES DEALER I PHONED TOLD ME THAT THERE WAS NO KNOWN SAFETY RECALLS FOR THE BRAKES. THE SECOND MERCEDES DEALER THAT I CONTACTED INFORMED ME ABOUT 2 RECALLS IN 2004 AND 2005. I PHONED THE MERCEDES BENZ USA HEADQUARTERS AND SPOKE TO A CASE MANAGER WHO TOLD ME THAT MERCEDES' RESPONSIBILITY WITH THIS SAFETY ISSUE EXPIRED IN 2012. HOW CAN A SAFETY ISSUE SUCH AS HAVING NO BRAKES WHILE DRIVING EXPIRE? HOW CAN A CORPORATION BE ALLOWED TO WALK AWAY FROM THIS TYPE OF POTENTIALLY DEADLY SAFETY ISSUE? THIS IS A WELL DOCUMENTED SAFETY ISSUE WITH THIS CAR.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

3/29/2017 - PALATKA, FL
WHILE DRIVING THE CAR IN TOWN ON CITY STREETS THE SBS BRAKE SYSTEM FAILED AS I CAME TO A TURN LEAVING ME WITH NO BRAKE RESPONSE EVEN THOUGH THE DEALER SAYS IT WAS SUPPOSED TO HAVE HYDRAULIC BACK-UP TO STOP THE CAR. I WAS ABLE TO COAST AND STOP THE CAR ONLY WITH THE EMERGENCY HAND BRAKE. THE SBS SYSTEM HAS BEEN RECALLED TWICE BY THE FACTORY BUT THERE IS STILL SOMETHING VERY WRONG WHEN A MODERN CAR HAD NO BACK-UP SYSTEM. THESE CARS ARE DANGEROUS! LUCKILY FOR ME THERE WAS NO ACCIDENT AND I HAD THE CAR TOWED TO THE DEALER AND IT IS BEING REPAIRED.

View Details

SUSPENSION

1/5/2017 - GREENVILLE, SC
I OWN A 2003 MERCEDES BENZ SL 500 AND REPLACED THE HYDRAULIC PUMP IN 2014 FOR $6400.00. THE CAR WOULD DROP LOW (ON ONE SIDE IF PARKED FOR A FEW HOURS). TODAY, JANUARY 5, 2017 - THE IDENTICAL PROBLEM HAPPENED AGAIN. WHILE DRIVING, I HEARD A LOUD BURSTING SOUND AND THEN HYDRAULIC FLUID BEGAN SEEPING OUT ALSO, THE ABC RED DASH LIGHT ILLUMINATED STATING THAT THE CAR IS "TOO LOW TO DRIVE". I MANAGED TO SLOWLY DRIVE HOME (WITHOUT POWER STEERING). THIS IS A HUGE DEFECT IN MERCEDES BENZ TECHNOLOGY AND MANUFACTURING - A CLASS ACTION LAWSUIT IS ABSOLUTELY NECESSARY. THIS VEHICLE IS DEFECTIVE AND DANGEROUS TO OPERATE. ALSO, CONSUMERS SHOULD NOT SPEND THOUSANDS UPON THOUSANDS OF DOLLARS ON DEFECTIVE PARTS. BY THE WAY, THIS VEHICLE HAS ALWAYS BEEN SERVICED BY MERCEDES BENZ DEALERSHIP TECHNICIANS. I WOULD APPRECIATE ANY ADDITIONAL INFORMATION OR SUPPORT FROM THE NHTSA AS I PURSUE VIABLE RECOURSE OPTIONS. THANK YOU!

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC

1/5/2017 - GREENVILLE, SC
I OWN A 2003 MERCEDES BENZ SL 500 AND REPLACED THE HYDRAULIC PUMP IN 2014 FOR $6400.00. THE CAR WOULD DROP LOW (ON ONE SIDE IF PARKED FOR A FEW HOURS). TODAY, JANUARY 5, 2017 - THE IDENTICAL PROBLEM HAPPENED AGAIN. WHILE DRIVING, I HEARD A LOUD BURSTING SOUND AND THEN HYDRAULIC FLUID BEGAN SEEPING OUT ALSO, THE ABC RED DASH LIGHT ILLUMINATED STATING THAT THE CAR IS "TOO LOW TO DRIVE". I MANAGED TO SLOWLY DRIVE HOME (WITHOUT POWER STEERING). THIS IS A HUGE DEFECT IN MERCEDES BENZ TECHNOLOGY AND MANUFACTURING - A CLASS ACTION LAWSUIT IS ABSOLUTELY NECESSARY. THIS VEHICLE IS DEFECTIVE AND DANGEROUS TO OPERATE. ALSO, CONSUMERS SHOULD NOT SPEND THOUSANDS UPON THOUSANDS OF DOLLARS ON DEFECTIVE PARTS. BY THE WAY, THIS VEHICLE HAS ALWAYS BEEN SERVICED BY MERCEDES BENZ DEALERSHIP TECHNICIANS. I WOULD APPRECIATE ANY ADDITIONAL INFORMATION OR SUPPORT FROM THE NHTSA AS I PURSUE VIABLE RECOURSE OPTIONS. THANK YOU!

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING

12/19/2016 - SAN JOSE, CA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2003 MERCEDES-BENZ SL500. WHILE DRIVING INTO THE GARAGE, THE ABC PUMP WARNING INDICATOR ILLUMINATED AND THE CONTACT NOTICED SMOKE INSIDE THE VEHICLE. IN ADDITION, THE CONTACT NOTICED A LARGE AMOUNT OF HYDRAULIC FLUID ON THE GARAGE FLOOR. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO A DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE FRONT AND REAR AXLE VALVE LOCK, AND PRESSURE RESERVOIR FOR THE ABC SYSTEM NEEDED TO BE REPAIRED AND FLUSHED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE VIN WAS NOT INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 07V263000 (SUSPENSION, ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING). THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 55,620.

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE

12/19/2016 - SAN JOSE, CA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2003 MERCEDES-BENZ SL500. WHILE DRIVING INTO THE GARAGE, THE ABC PUMP WARNING INDICATOR ILLUMINATED AND THE CONTACT NOTICED SMOKE INSIDE THE VEHICLE. IN ADDITION, THE CONTACT NOTICED A LARGE AMOUNT OF HYDRAULIC FLUID ON THE GARAGE FLOOR. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO A DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE FRONT AND REAR AXLE VALVE LOCK, AND PRESSURE RESERVOIR FOR THE ABC SYSTEM NEEDED TO BE REPAIRED AND FLUSHED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE VIN WAS NOT INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 07V263000 (SUSPENSION, ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING). THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 55,620.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  ... 8
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds