Auto Recalls for Consumers

MERCEDES SL55 - 2003 MERCEDES SL55 Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by MERCEDES

There are 8 complaints filed for the 2003 MERCEDES SL55

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2003 MERCEDES SL55. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2003 MERCEDES SL55, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Engine And Engine Cooling (2) Fuel System Gasoline (2) Power Train (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (2) Suspension (1)
Fuel Propulsion System (1)


 
ComplaintDescription

POWER TRAIN

8/26/2015 - HAMPSTEAD, NC
PLASTIC PIECE ON GEARSHIFT ASSEMBLY BROKE NOT ALLOWING CAR TO BE PLACED IN GEAR. IS APPARENTLY A PROBLEM WITH 1000'S OF THESE CARS BASED ON INTERNET SEARCH. CONTACTED MERCEDES AND THEY SAID NOT THEIR PROBLEM. THEY CHARGE $1300.00 TO FIX THE PROBLEM. THEY STATED TO SAVE MONEY ON THIS PART BEING REPLACED TO TAKE A MALLET AND FINISH BREAKING PIECE THEREBY RENDERING CHILD SAFETY FEATURE USELESS. APPARENTLY LOOKING AT THE INTERNET THIS IS WHAT 1000'S OF PEOPLE HAVE ALREADY DONE. HOW MERCEDES THINKS THIS IS A NOT A SAFETY CONCERN IS BEYOND ME. IT IS AN EXTREMELY DANGEROUS SITUATION TO ALL CHILDREN AS THEY WILL BE ABLE TO PUT CAR INTO GEAR WITH NO SAFETY PRECAUTIONS. I CAN SEE MANY CHILDREN EVENTUALLY PUTTING THESE CARS IN GEAR AND GETTING HURT.

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE

8/3/2013 - LAGUNA BEACH, CA
INTERNAL GAS TANK BAFFLE HAS COME LOOSE INSIDE THE GAS TANK. THIS CAUSES A CONSISTENT AND VERY ANNOYING RATTLING SOUND.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

12/17/2012 - ST CHARLES, IL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2003 MERCEDES BENZ SL55 AMG. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING AT VARIOUS SPEEDS, HE COULD HEAR SOMETHING MOVING ABNORMALLY WITHIN THE FUEL TANK. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC WHERE THEY ADVISED HIM THAT HE NEEDED TO REPLACE THE FUEL TANK. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS CONTACTED AND OFFERED NO ASSISTANCE. THE FAILURE AND CURRENT MILEAGES WERE APPROXIMATELY 54,000.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC

7/19/2010 - FLEMING ISLAND, FL
TL CONTACT OWNS A 2003 MERCEDES BENZ SL55. WHEN THE VEHICLE WAS TURNED ON NOISE WAS NEAR THE BRAKE SYSTEM AND THERE WERE NO WARNING LIGHTS ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A MECHANIC FOR INSPECTION. THE MECHANIC STATED THAT THE SBC HYDRAULIC SYSTEM WAS INOPERABLE AND THERE WAS NO COMMUNICATION WITH THE PUMP MOTOR. NHTSA RECALL 04V296000, SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC WAS RELATED TO THE FAILURE; HOWEVER, THE MECHANIC ADVISED HIM TO TAKE THE VEHICLE TO THE DEALER FOR DIAGNOSTIC TESTING AT HIS EXPENSE FOR $150. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 45,600.

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE

10/19/2009 - TAMPA, FL
DEFECTIVE FUEL TANK BAFFLES. FUEL TANK BAFFLE(S) COME LOOSE AND BOUNCE AROUND INSIDE TANK BANGING THE SIDES OF THE FUEL TANK.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING: COOLING SYSTEM

4/20/2009 - PROVIDENCE, RI
ABC SUSPENSION SYSTEM AND INTERCOOLER PUMP FOR TURBO FAILED ON 2003 SL55 AMG. VERY COMMON PROBLEM ON THESE VEHICLES AS EVIDENCED ON THE MB BOARDS. RECALL SHOULD BE ISSUED.

View Details

SUSPENSION

4/20/2009 - PROVIDENCE, RI
ABC SUSPENSION SYSTEM AND INTERCOOLER PUMP FOR TURBO FAILED ON 2003 SL55 AMG. VERY COMMON PROBLEM ON THESE VEHICLES AS EVIDENCED ON THE MB BOARDS. RECALL SHOULD BE ISSUED.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC

5/13/2008 - MORRISTOWN, NJ
I WAS HAVING SOME TROUBLE WITH THE BRAKES, I BROUGHT THE CAR BACK INTO THE SHOP 3 TIMES TO LET THEM KNOW THAT THE BRAKES WERE FAILING - ONCE I ALMOST RAN A PEDESTRIAN OVER AS I TRIED TO STOP AND THE VEHICLE BRAKES APPEARED TO NOT WORK AT ALL - THE HYDRAULIC SYSTEM THEY SAY DOES NOTHING. ANOTHER TIME PULLING INTO A PARKING SPACE NO BRAKES AGAIN AND IF IT WEREN'T FOR THE CONCRETE BLOCK I WOULD HAVE RUN INTO THE STORE FRONT. THE LAST TIME WAS AT MY HOME - PULLING INTO THE DRIVEWAY. AFTER BRINGING THE CAR INTO THE MERCEDES DEALER MULTIPLE TIMES WITH THE SAME PROBLEM THEY TOLD ME EVERYTHING WAS FINE UNTIL I WAS OUT ONE NIGHT AND CAME TO A STOP SIGN AND THE BRAKES FAILED AND I WENT INTO A CONCRETE BARRIER. I WISH I HAD VISITED THIS SITE BEFORE THE ACCIDENT HAPPENED - I WOULD RECOMMEND THAT ANYONE WITH A 2003 MERCEDES SL GET RID OF IT - BRING IT BACK TO MERCEDES AND DEMAND A 2004 OR NEWER CAR BEFORE THIS HAPPENS TO YOU. MERCEDES CAME TO INSPECT THE VEHICLE AT THE AUTOBODY SHOP AND WILL NOT RELEASE THEIR FINDINGS TO ME - I AM THINKING OF GETTING A LAWYER INVOLVED. - I HAVE NEVER IN MY LIFE BEEN IN A SITUATION WHERE YOU ARE SO HELPLESS AND MERCEDES KNOWS ABOUT THIS - WHAT A CRIME.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING

9/17/2007 - BLOOMINGTON, CA
2003 MERCEDES SL-55 ENGINE STALLED SEVERAL TIMES OVER A PERIOD OF TWO WEEKS.

View Details
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds