Auto Recalls for Consumers

MERCURY MOUNTAINEER - 2003 MERCURY MOUNTAINEER Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Ford Motor Company

There are 141 complaints filed for the 2003 MERCURY MOUNTAINEER

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2003 MERCURY MOUNTAINEER. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2003 MERCURY MOUNTAINEER, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (7) Exterior Lighting (2) Power Train (41) Steering (5) Vehicle Speed Control (10)
Child Seat (1) Fuel Propulsion System (2) Seat Belts (2) Structure (59) Visibility (7)
Electrical System (11) Fuel System Gasoline (1) Seats (4) Suspension (10) Visibility Wiper (1)
Engine And Engine Cooling (10) Fuel System Other (3) Service Brakes (1) Tires (1) Wheels (1)
Equipment (4) Latches Locks Linkages (6) Service Brakes Hydraulic (8) Unknown Or Other (3)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 14
 
ComplaintDescription

AIR BAGS

12/17/2015 - NORMAN, OK
FAULTY AIRBAGS: ON NOVEMBER 3, 2015 AT APPROXIMATELY 0540, THE SIDE CURTAIN (BOTH DRIVER SIDE AND PASSENGER SIDE) AIRBAGS EXPLODED IN MY 2003 MERCURY MOUNTAINEER WITHOUT CAUSE WHILE I WAS TRAVELING 55 MPH ON A MAJOR/BUSY STATE HIGHWAY. THE EXPLOSION OF THE AIRBAGS HIT ME ON MY LEFT SIDE CAUSING NECK STRAIN AND TEMPORARY HEARING LOSS TO THE LEFT EAR. I WAS THE ONLY OCCUPANT IN THE VEHICLE. I WAS ABLE TO SAFELY DRIVE TO SHOULDER OF ROAD (I DON'T REMEMBER HOW I GOT THERE), LUCKILY NO CARS WERE AROUND ME AT THE TIME. THE EXPLOSION ALSO CAUSED THE DRIVER SIDE WINDOW TO FALL FROM ITS CASTERS AND WAS UNABLE TO CLOSE WINDOW (AND THE PASSENGER SIDE REAR WINDOW NO LONGER WORKS). THE AIR IN THE CURTAINS WOULD NOT DISSIPATE AND I REMEMBER NOT BEING ABLE TO BREATH WELL. THERE WAS A CHEMICAL IN THE AIR AND DO TO THE CURTAINS, IT WAS DIFFICULT TO GET OUT OF THE CAR. LATER IN THE DAY I TOOK CAR TO REYNOLDS FORD AND WAS TOLD THIS WAS NOT COVERED BY FORD. I ALSO WENT TO MY PCP AND WAS TREATED WITH PREDNISONE AND EAR WASH FOR LEFT EAR HEARING LOSS. LATER, HAD DRIVERS WINDOW REPAIRED.

View Details

VISIBILITY/WIPER

11/8/2015 - WAKE FOREST, NC
BACK HATCH GLASS EXPLODED WHILE THE VEHICLE WAS STATIONARY (PARKED IN A PARKING LOG), AND THE DRIVER WAS CLOSING THE HATCH. BACK GLASS PORTION OF HATCH WAS BEING MANUALLY CLOSED AT A SLOW-MODERATE RATE, AND GLASS SUDDENLY SHATTERED WITHOUT WARNING. THERE WAS NO IMPACT TO THE GLASS, NOR ANY DISCERNIBLE REASON WHY THE GLASS SHOULD HAVE SUDDENLY SHATTERED. APPROXIMATELY 90% OF THE GLASS ENDED UP IN THE CAR OR ON THE PARKING LOT SURFACE, WITH ONLY ABOUT 10% OF THE GLASS REMAINING ATTACHED TO THE HATCH FRAME AND STRUTS.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

10/10/2015 - VANCOUVER, WA
NOT IN AN ACCIDENT. A 1 1/2 INCH VERTICAL CRACK HAS APPEARED IN THE BODY BETWEEN THE MIDDLE OF THE BACK LIFT DOOR UNDER THE WINDOW EXTENDING TO THE ROUND MERCURY SYMBOL BETWEEN THE LETTERS, R AND THE C. DID NOT NOTICE UNTIL TAKING IT THROUGH A CAR WASH WHERE I WAS WARNED IT HAD TO BE COVERED.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

7/24/2015 - DENVER, CO
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2003 MERCURY MOUNTAINEER. WHILE DRIVING AT VARIOUS SPEEDS, THE VEHICLE SUDDENLY SHUT OFF. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC WHO DIAGNOSED THAT THE FUEL PUMP WAS FAULTY. THE FUEL PUMP WAS REPLACED, BUT THE FAILURE CONTINUED. NO FURTHER INFORMATION WAS AVAILABLE. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 113,000.

View Details

AIR BAGS

5/27/2015 - TEHACHAPI, CA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2003 MERCURY MOUNTAINEER. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 25 TO 30 MPH, THE FRONT DRIVER AND PASSENGER SIDE AIR BAGS DEPLOYED WITHOUT WARNING. THE CONTACT SUSTAINED LACERATIONS TO THE LEFT CHEEK THAT REQUIRED MEDICAL ATTENTION. THE AIR BAG LIGHT REMAINED ILLUMINATED AND FLASHED A CODE THIRTEEN. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 120,000.

View Details

AIR BAGS

11/24/2014 - CHICAGO, IL
THE CONTACT OWN A 2003 MERCURY MOUNTAINEER. THE CONTACT STATES THAT WHILE DRIVING AT APPROXIMATELY 35 MPH, THE DRIVER SIDE AIR BAG DEPLOYED WITHOUT WARNING. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO THE CONTACT+S RESIDENCE. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER. THE TECHNICIAN DIAGNOSED THAT BOTH FRONTAL SIDE AIR BAGS NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 110,000.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

9/15/2014 - WESTMINSTER, MD
ON THE BALTIMORE-WASHINGTON PARKWAY (295 N ) NORTHBOUND, CHANGED LANES TO THE LEFT AND ACCELERATED. THE GAS PEDDLE WAS PUSHED TO THE FLOOR, STAYED THERE AND WOULD NOT RELEASE. I STOOD ON THE BRAKES, BUT ONLY SOMEWHAT SLOWIED THE ACCELERATION. THE VEHICLE CONTINUED UNTIL WE REACHED ABOUT 80MPH AND COMING CLOSE TO REAR ENDING THE VEHICLE IN FRONT OF ME. I WENT OFF ON THE SHOULDER AND TURNED OFF THE IGNITION KEY TO GET THE VEHICLE STOPPED. THE BRAKE OVERHEATED BRAKES. I COULD NOT SEE A PROBLEM. THIS WAS NOT CAUSED BY A FLOOR MAT. THE PEDAL WAS STUCK TO THE FLOOR. I WIGGLED AND PULLED AND IT COME BACK UP WITH A POP. IN DAYLIGHT THE NEXT DAY, I INSPECTED THE PEDAL AND PUSHED IT DOWN. IT AGAIN WENT TO THE FLOOR AND STAYED THERE. I SLID UNDER THE DASH AND FOUND THAT THE HORIZONTAL PIN THAT HOLDS THE PEDAL TO THE FLOOR BRACKET HAD BACKED OUT SIDEWAYS FROM RIGHT TO LEFT, ALLOWING THE PEDAL TO GO SOMEWHAT SIDEWAYS AND THE MOTOR FOR THE ADJUSTABLE PEDAL ASSEMBLY HAD CAUGHT ON A METAL BRACKET KEEPING THE PEDAL FROM RETURNING TO THE UP POSITION. I REMOVED THE PEDAL ASSEMBLY AND INSPECTED THE PROBLEM. THIS IS POOR ENGINEERING AND THERE SHOULD BE A RECALL.. THERE ARE NO CLIPS OR PINS TO HOLD THE PEDAL PIN IN PLACE ! ! ! THE ASSEMBLY RELIES ON SLIGHT INTERFERENCE BETWEEN SPLINES ON THE PIN AND SPLINES INSIDE WHERE IT GOES THROUGH THE PEDAL. WHAT HAPPENED WAS, THAT OVER A PERIOD OF TIME, FROM THE PEDAL WIGGLING, THE PIN BACKED OUT.FROM USE, ON ITS OWN. AGAIN, THIS NOT SUFFICIENT TO KEEP THE PEDAL ASSEMBLED. IT NEED CLIPS ON BOTH ENDS OR COTTER PINS ON BOTH ENDS OF THE PIN ASSEMBLY. A CONCERN IS THE USE OF PLASTIC BRACKET TO MOUNT THE PEDAL TO THE FLOOR. IN MY PAST EXPERIENCE, THE MOUNTING BRACKETS HAD BEEN MADE OF METAL. PLASTIC FATIGUES FASTER THAN METAL AND IS PRONE TO CRACKING AND BREAKING.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

9/15/2014 - WESTMINSTER, MD
ON THE BALTIMORE-WASHINGTON PARKWAY (295 N ) NORTHBOUND, CHANGED LANES TO THE LEFT AND ACCELERATED. THE GAS PEDDLE WAS PUSHED TO THE FLOOR, STAYED THERE AND WOULD NOT RELEASE. I STOOD ON THE BRAKES, BUT ONLY SOMEWHAT SLOWIED THE ACCELERATION. THE VEHICLE CONTINUED UNTIL WE REACHED ABOUT 80MPH AND COMING CLOSE TO REAR ENDING THE VEHICLE IN FRONT OF ME. I WENT OFF ON THE SHOULDER AND TURNED OFF THE IGNITION KEY TO GET THE VEHICLE STOPPED. THE BRAKE OVERHEATED BRAKES. I COULD NOT SEE A PROBLEM. THIS WAS NOT CAUSED BY A FLOOR MAT. THE PEDAL WAS STUCK TO THE FLOOR. I WIGGLED AND PULLED AND IT COME BACK UP WITH A POP. IN DAYLIGHT THE NEXT DAY, I INSPECTED THE PEDAL AND PUSHED IT DOWN. IT AGAIN WENT TO THE FLOOR AND STAYED THERE. I SLID UNDER THE DASH AND FOUND THAT THE HORIZONTAL PIN THAT HOLDS THE PEDAL TO THE FLOOR BRACKET HAD BACKED OUT SIDEWAYS FROM RIGHT TO LEFT, ALLOWING THE PEDAL TO GO SOMEWHAT SIDEWAYS AND THE MOTOR FOR THE ADJUSTABLE PEDAL ASSEMBLY HAD CAUGHT ON A METAL BRACKET KEEPING THE PEDAL FROM RETURNING TO THE UP POSITION. I REMOVED THE PEDAL ASSEMBLY AND INSPECTED THE PROBLEM. THIS IS POOR ENGINEERING AND THERE SHOULD BE A RECALL.. THERE ARE NO CLIPS OR PINS TO HOLD THE PEDAL PIN IN PLACE ! ! ! THE ASSEMBLY RELIES ON SLIGHT INTERFERENCE BETWEEN SPLINES ON THE PIN AND SPLINES INSIDE WHERE IT GOES THROUGH THE PEDAL. WHAT HAPPENED WAS, THAT OVER A PERIOD OF TIME, FROM THE PEDAL WIGGLING, THE PIN BACKED OUT.FROM USE, ON ITS OWN. AGAIN, THIS NOT SUFFICIENT TO KEEP THE PEDAL ASSEMBLED. IT NEED CLIPS ON BOTH ENDS OR COTTER PINS ON BOTH ENDS OF THE PIN ASSEMBLY. A CONCERN IS THE USE OF PLASTIC BRACKET TO MOUNT THE PEDAL TO THE FLOOR. IN MY PAST EXPERIENCE, THE MOUNTING BRACKETS HAD BEEN MADE OF METAL. PLASTIC FATIGUES FASTER THAN METAL AND IS PRONE TO CRACKING AND BREAKING.

View Details

VISIBILITY: REAR WINDOW WIPER/WASHER

9/9/2014 - LAVEEN , AZ
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2003 MERCURY MOUNTAINEER. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE REAR LIFTGATE BECAME INOPERABLE. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC FOR DIAGNOSTIC TESTING AND THE TECHNICIAN STATED THAT THE LIFTGATE AND WINDOW NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED AND THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 111,500.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY: HATCHBACK/LIFTGATE

9/9/2014 - LAVEEN , AZ
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2003 MERCURY MOUNTAINEER. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE REAR LIFTGATE BECAME INOPERABLE. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC FOR DIAGNOSTIC TESTING AND THE TECHNICIAN STATED THAT THE LIFTGATE AND WINDOW NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED AND THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 111,500.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 14
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds