Auto Recalls for Consumers

MERCURY MOUNTAINEER - 2003 MERCURY MOUNTAINEER Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Ford Motor Company

There are 130 complaints filed for the 2003 MERCURY MOUNTAINEER

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2003 MERCURY MOUNTAINEER. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2003 MERCURY MOUNTAINEER, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (4) Exterior Lighting (2) Seat Belts (2) Steering (5) Unknown Or Other (1)
Child Seat (1) Fuel System Gasoline (1) Seats (4) Structure (56) Vehicle Speed Control (9)
Electrical System (11) Fuel System Other (3) Service Brakes (1) Suspension (10) Visibility (6)
Engine And Engine Cooling (10) Latches Locks Linkages (6) Service Brakes Hydraulic (8) Tires (1) Wheels (1)
Equipment (4) Power Train (41)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 13
 
ComplaintDescription

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL: ACCELERATOR PEDAL

7/16/2014 - AMERICAN CANYON, CA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2003 MERCURY MOUNTAINEER. THE CONTACT STATED WHILE TRAVELING ON A MAJOR HIGHWAY, THE ACCELERATOR PEDAL BECAME STUCK. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE BRAKE PEDAL HAD TO BE ENGAGED AND THE ACCELERATOR PEDAL HAD TO BE DEPRESS SEVERAL TIMES IN ORDER TO RELEASE IT. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN AUTHORIZED DEALER. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 135,000.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

7/16/2014 - AMERICAN CANYON, CA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2003 MERCURY MOUNTAINEER. THE CONTACT STATED WHILE TRAVELING ON A MAJOR HIGHWAY, THE ACCELERATOR PEDAL BECAME STUCK. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE BRAKE PEDAL HAD TO BE ENGAGED AND THE ACCELERATOR PEDAL HAD TO BE DEPRESS SEVERAL TIMES IN ORDER TO RELEASE IT. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN AUTHORIZED DEALER. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 135,000.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY: TAILGATE

4/24/2014 - MORGANTOWN, PA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2003 MERCURY MOUNTAINEER. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE FIBERGLASS ON THE TAILGATE CRACKED AND DETACHED FROM THE VEHICLE. THE VEHICLE HAS NOT BEEN REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE PROBLEM. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 120,000.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING

2/19/2014 - MILWAUKEE, WI
I PURCHASED A 2003 MERCURY MOUNTAINEER ON 2/15/14 AND I TOOK IT ON A ROAD TRIP ON 2/16/4 WITH MY GRANDKIDS. AFTER ENTERING THE HIGHWAY AND GAINING SPEED I STARTED TO SMELL A STRONG BURNT RUBBER AND EXHAUST SMELL. THE SMELL WAS VERY TOXIC AND STUCK TO OUR CLOTHING. ON 2/18/14, I TOOK IT TO THE DEALER FOR HIS MECHANIC TO TAKE A LOOK AT IT. THE MECHANIC SAID THERE WAS SOME DEGREASER THAT OVERFLOWED FROM A CUPLER AND LEAKED ONTO THE EXHAUST. I ASKED IF THERE WAS A LEAK AND THE MECHANIC RESPONDED BY SAYING NOT REALLY, WHICH MEANT THERE WAS A LEAK. THE MECHANIC ASSURED ME THAT THE PROBLEM WAS TAKEN CARE OF, BUT IF IT STILL OCCURS, THEY WOULD SEND IT IN FOR TWO DAYS. I CONTINUED TO SMELL THE TOXIC SMELL AND ON 2/19/14 THE HATCH ON LIFT GATE JUST CRACKED. ALSO WHEN I TURN AT A LOW SPEED, I HEAR A STRANGE SOUND AND VIBRATION, COMING FROM THE TIRE AREA. I'VE HEARD OF NUMEROUS ISSUES AND COMPLICATIONS WITH THE MERCURY MOUNTAINEERS. I DON'T WANT MY GRANDCHILDREN NOR MY LIFE PUT IN DANGER. A DRIVER SHOULD BE ENSURED WITH SAFETY WHEN DRIVING A VEHICLE. FORD DOESN'T CARE ABOUT THEIR CONSUMERS TO SELL DEFECTIVE AND NONSAFE VEHICLES. PLEASE RECALL THIS VEHICLE AS IT HAS TOO MANY ISSUES THAT CAN BE LIFE THREATENING, LIKE THE ROLLOVER RATE.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY: HATCHBACK/LIFTGATE: HINGE AND ATTACHMENTS

7/12/2013 - TEMPLE, TX
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2003 MERCURY MOUNTAINEER. THE CONTACT STATED WHEN ATTEMPTING TO THE CLOSE THE REAR LIFTGATE, THE RIGHT SIDE SUPPORT HINGE FRACTURED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE DEFECT. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 90,000. UPDATED 9/4/13 THE CONSUMER STATED WHEN HE RAISED THE LIFTGATE, IT CAME DOWN AND THE EMBLEM CRACKED. THE RIGHT HINGE BROKE AND THE RIGHT ROD FROZE.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

4/15/2013 - SPRINGFIELD, MO
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2003 MERCURY MOUNTAINEER. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING 40 MPH, THE REAR DIFFERENTIAL MADE A POPPING SOUND. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE IN REVERSE, THE POPPING SOUND WAS LOUDER. THE CONTACT TOOK THE VEHICLE TO A LOCAL MECHANIC FOR A DIAGNOSTIC TEST. THE MECHANIC NOTICED A LEAK IN THE REAR DIFFERENTIAL AND STATED THE REAR DIFFERENTIAL NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE CONTACT DID NOT HAVE THE REAR DIFFERENTIAL REPLACED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 240,000.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

1/17/2013 - ISELIN, NJ
I WANT FORD TO RECALL THERE MERCURY MOUNTAINEER AS IT HAS A MAJOR SAFETY ISSUE. ALL OF THERE MERCURY FROM 2002 ONWARD HAVE A CRACK ON THERE REAR LIFT GATE. I DONE GOOGLE AND ALMOST NET IS FULL OF COMPLAINTS ON THIS. CRACK STARTS RIGHT BELOW MERCURY LOGO AND KEEP INCREASING AND INCREASING. MY CAR LOGO NOT CAME OFF, BUT FEW CARS, THIS LOGO BLOWN OFF. ALSO NOW I LEARNT THAT CAR HINGES HOLDING THIS VERY REAR HOOD CAME OFF.. I THOUGHT ITS MINE, BUT AGAIN, ALMOST WEB IS FULL OF COMPLAINTS ON THIS AND KNOWING HOW RISKY THIS IS, TRYING BEST TO GO TO EVERY LOOK AND CORNER SO TO ENSURE THAT FORD DOES REPAIR ASAP

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

11/16/2012 - RANCHO CUCAMONGA, CA
THE HASN'T BEEN AN ACCIDENT. I WANTED TO REPORT THAT I HAVE A CRACKED TAILGATE ON MY VEHICLE. THE CRACK APPEARED ONE MORNING - I WASN'T EVEN DRIVING THE VEHICLE. THE CRACKED BEGINS AT THE TOP OF THE TAILGATE, AROUND THE EMBLEM PART OF THE LIFT GATE, THEN DOWN TOWARDS THE TAILGATE LIFT HANDLE. I CALLED MY LOCAL FORD DEALER, CITRUS FORD, ONTARIO, CA, BUT WAS INFORMED THERE WASN'T A RECALL AND THE ISSUE HAD TO DEAL WITH WATER LEAKING INTO THE LOCKING MECHANISM AND CRACKING BECAUSE ITS PLASTIC AND NOT METAL. AT LEAST THE DEALERSHIP DIDN'T ACCUSE ME OF BEING IN AN ACCIDENT, BUT NO EFFORTS WERE MADE TO REPAIR THE CRACKED TAILGATE AT NO COST TO ME, THE CUSTOMER. CAN NHTSA PUSH FORD TO RECALL THIS MATTER?

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

10/8/2012 - BROOKLYN PARK , MN
THE BACK LIFT GATE IS CRACKED FROM THE BOTTOM OF THE WINDOW, AROUND THE SIDE OF THE MERCURY EMBLEM, ALL THE WAY DOWN. I'VE NOTICED THE SAME CRACKING ON ALMOST EVERY OTHER MOUNTAINEER ON THE ROADS, AND I SEE A HUGE NUMBER OF THE SAME COMPLAINT ON THE NHTSA WEBSITE. OBVIOUSLY THIS IS A DEFECT AND NEEDS TO BE RECALLED.

View Details

STRUCTURE

5/17/2012 - WEST POINT, MS
MY 2003 MERCURY MOUNTAINEER HAS A CRACK RIGHT DOWN THE MIDDLE OF THE REAR DOOR, I THOUGHT IT WAS JUST MY MOUNTAINEER BUT I SEE EVERY MOUNTAINEER OF MY MAKE AND MODEL HAS THAT SAME CRACK,WHY IS THAT, IT HAS TO BE A DEFECT FROM THE FACTORY BECAUSE EVERYBODY WITH A MOUNTAINEER OF THE SAME YEAR MAKE AND MODEL CAN'T BE RELATED. SO I WOULD LIKE TO KNOW WHY THIS CRACK HAS HAPPENED ON THESE MOUNTAINEER IS THERE A SAFETY PROBLEM BECAUSE THERE DEFINITE A STRUCTURE PROBLEM ANDITS DAMAGE TO MY I AM NOT HAPPY ABOUT THE CRACK ITS DAMAGE TO MY CAR I DIDN'T CAUSE AND MERCURY SHOULD FIX IT.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 13
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds