Auto Recalls for Consumers

MERCURY MOUNTAINEER - 2003 MERCURY MOUNTAINEER Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Ford Motor Company

There are 146 complaints filed for the 2003 MERCURY MOUNTAINEER

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2003 MERCURY MOUNTAINEER. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2003 MERCURY MOUNTAINEER, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (9) Exterior Lighting (2) Power Train (42) Steering (5) Vehicle Speed Control (10)
Child Seat (1) Fuel Propulsion System (3) Seat Belts (2) Structure (60) Visibility (7)
Electrical System (11) Fuel System Gasoline (1) Seats (5) Suspension (11) Visibility Wiper (1)
Engine And Engine Cooling (10) Fuel System Other (3) Service Brakes (1) Tires (1) Wheels (1)
Equipment (4) Latches Locks Linkages (6) Service Brakes Hydraulic (8) Unknown Or Other (3)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 15
 
ComplaintDescription

AIR BAGS

11/14/2016 - MESA, AZ
MY 2003 MERCURY MOUNTAINEER HAS A SOLID AIR BAG LIGHT ON. IT HAS A CODE OF 33, WHEN YOU TURN THE CAR ON, THE LIGHT GOES ON AND BLINKS 3 TIMES THEN 3 MORE TIMES. THIS INDICATES A CODE 33. FORD HAS A TECHNICAL LETTER ABOUT THE ISSUE. THE LETTER STATES THERE IS A KIT FOR THIS PROBLEM. 1L2Z-78610E22-AAA IS THE KIT FOR A MEDIUM DARK PARCHMENT KIT. THIS SHOULD BE A RECALL ITEM AS IT IS A KNOWN DEFECT. FORD WANTS TO CHARGE $281.00 FOR THE PART. OUTRAGEOUS. I WOULD BE FORCED TO PAY OR NOT GET MY STATE VEHICLE TEST PASSED. DEFECTIVE PART SHOULD BE COVERED UNDER SAFETY RECALL ! SEE INFORMATION : 2003 MERCURY MOUNTAINEER BUILD DATE 09/02 VIN===4M2ZU66K23UJ02270 BELOW IS A COPY OF A TECHNICAL SERVICE BULLETIN REGARDING YOUR CONCERN. YOU CAN BUY THE KITS THROUGH ANY FORD DEALER, THAT'S ABOUT THE ONLY PLACE TO GET THEM. YOU'LL FIND THE BUILD DATE ON THE VIN TAG ON THE DRIVER'S DOOR. FORD:2002-2003 EXPLORER MERCURY:2002-2003 MOUNTAINEER ISSUE: SOME 2002-2003 4DR EXPLORER/MOUNTAINEER VEHICLES MAY EXHIBIT AN AIR BAG WARNING LAMP ILLUMINATED WITH DIAGNOSTIC TROUBLE CODE (DTC) B2292 AND LIGHT FLASHING CODE (LFC) 33 (DRIVER SEAT PRETENSIONER FAULT), OR LFC 34 (PASSENGER SEAT PRETENSIONER FAULT). THIS MAY BE CAUSED BY INTERMITTENT PRETENSIONER CONNECTION AT EITHER SEAT BELT BUCKLE. ACTION: INSTALL PRETENSIONER KIT FOR AFFECTED SIDE(S) BY BUILD DATE/COLOR. REFER TO THE FOLLOWING SERVICE INFORMATION FOR DETAILS. SERVICE INFORMATION OBTAIN CORRECT SERVICE KIT AND REFER TO INSTRUCTION SHEET INCLUDED WITH KIT FOR INSTALLATION INSTRUCTIONS. 2002 MODEL YEAR THROUGH 3/3/02 BUILD DATES MEDIUM DARK PARCHMENT 1L2Z-78610E22-AAA 2002/2003 MODEL YEARS 3/4/02 THROUGH 1/17/03 MEDIUM DARK PARCHMENT 1L2Z-78610E22-BAA ROBERT D. MANDARINO 3865 N SONORAN HILLS MESA, ARIZONA 85207 480 789-0773

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

9/16/2016 - LAKE CHARLES, LA
2003 MERCURY MOUNTAINEER RECALLS I HAVE HAD TO CHANGE THE INTAKE MANIFOLD, IGNITION COILS, I'M HAVING A GAS SMELLS NOW, TRANSMISSION THUMPS HARD WHEN GOING INTO FIRST GEAR, SOUNDS LIKE MY REAR END IS ABOUT TO FALL OUT, MY FRONT SEAT IS ELECTRIC AND DOESN'T MOVE, THE O/D LIGHT COMES ON, CHECK ENGINE LIGHT ON, BRAKE LIGHT ON, I KEEP TRYING TO FIX EVERYTHING THE MORE I FIX THE MORE PROBLEMS THAT COME UP, I HAVE CHECK THE RECALL LIST FOR 2003 MERCURY MOUNTAINEER RECALL ON TRANSMISSION AND ALSO CALLED THE FORD CO THEY SAID THERE IS NOTHING. THE PROBLEM IS GETTING WORST AND AFRAID I WILL BE ON THE HIGHWAY WITH MY GRANDCHILDREN WHEN IT BREAKS. I'VE HAD TRANSMISSION LEVEL CHECKED SAID IT WAS FINE. GETTING READY TO DO A COMPLETE TUNE-UP ON IT TO SEE IF THAT WILL HELP WITH THE SMELL OF GAS AND MAKE IT RUN BETTER. IT IDLES HIGH. IT'S WORST WHEN I'M ON THE HIGHWAY.

View Details

SUSPENSION

9/16/2016 - LAKE CHARLES, LA
2003 MERCURY MOUNTAINEER RECALLS I HAVE HAD TO CHANGE THE INTAKE MANIFOLD, IGNITION COILS, I'M HAVING A GAS SMELLS NOW, TRANSMISSION THUMPS HARD WHEN GOING INTO FIRST GEAR, SOUNDS LIKE MY REAR END IS ABOUT TO FALL OUT, MY FRONT SEAT IS ELECTRIC AND DOESN'T MOVE, THE O/D LIGHT COMES ON, CHECK ENGINE LIGHT ON, BRAKE LIGHT ON, I KEEP TRYING TO FIX EVERYTHING THE MORE I FIX THE MORE PROBLEMS THAT COME UP, I HAVE CHECK THE RECALL LIST FOR 2003 MERCURY MOUNTAINEER RECALL ON TRANSMISSION AND ALSO CALLED THE FORD CO THEY SAID THERE IS NOTHING. THE PROBLEM IS GETTING WORST AND AFRAID I WILL BE ON THE HIGHWAY WITH MY GRANDCHILDREN WHEN IT BREAKS. I'VE HAD TRANSMISSION LEVEL CHECKED SAID IT WAS FINE. GETTING READY TO DO A COMPLETE TUNE-UP ON IT TO SEE IF THAT WILL HELP WITH THE SMELL OF GAS AND MAKE IT RUN BETTER. IT IDLES HIGH. IT'S WORST WHEN I'M ON THE HIGHWAY.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

9/16/2016 - LAKE CHARLES, LA
2003 MERCURY MOUNTAINEER RECALLS I HAVE HAD TO CHANGE THE INTAKE MANIFOLD, IGNITION COILS, I'M HAVING A GAS SMELLS NOW, TRANSMISSION THUMPS HARD WHEN GOING INTO FIRST GEAR, SOUNDS LIKE MY REAR END IS ABOUT TO FALL OUT, MY FRONT SEAT IS ELECTRIC AND DOESN'T MOVE, THE O/D LIGHT COMES ON, CHECK ENGINE LIGHT ON, BRAKE LIGHT ON, I KEEP TRYING TO FIX EVERYTHING THE MORE I FIX THE MORE PROBLEMS THAT COME UP, I HAVE CHECK THE RECALL LIST FOR 2003 MERCURY MOUNTAINEER RECALL ON TRANSMISSION AND ALSO CALLED THE FORD CO THEY SAID THERE IS NOTHING. THE PROBLEM IS GETTING WORST AND AFRAID I WILL BE ON THE HIGHWAY WITH MY GRANDCHILDREN WHEN IT BREAKS. I'VE HAD TRANSMISSION LEVEL CHECKED SAID IT WAS FINE. GETTING READY TO DO A COMPLETE TUNE-UP ON IT TO SEE IF THAT WILL HELP WITH THE SMELL OF GAS AND MAKE IT RUN BETTER. IT IDLES HIGH. IT'S WORST WHEN I'M ON THE HIGHWAY.

View Details

AIR BAGS

5/5/2016 - DUARTE, CA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2003 MERCURY MOUNTAINEER. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 10 TO 15 MPH, THE PASSENGER AND DRIVER SIDE AIR BAGS DEPLOYED WITHOUT WARNING OR IMPACT. THE CONTACT SUSTAINED HEAD INJURIES THAT REQUIRED MEDICAL ATTENTION, BUT THEY COULDN'T AFFORD TO GO. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 79,610.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

5/4/2016 - BOSTON, MA
JUST LIKE EVERY OTHER MOUNTAINEER OR EXPLORER OF THIS ERA THE LIFT GATE HAS CRACKED AROUND THE VEHICLE LOGO. THIS HAS CAUSED PROBLEMS INCLUDING CORROSION, RUST, AND LOCKING MECHANISM FAILURE ON THE LIFTGATE. THIS PROBLEM CAN BE SEEN ON EVERY SINGLE MOUNTAINEER OR EXPLORER OF THIS ERA. IT'S PRETTY RIDICULOUS THAT FORD HAS NOT BEEN FORCED TO REMEDY THE ISSUE OR DONE IT VOLUNTARILY. IT IS CLEARLY AN ENGINEERING FAILURE.

View Details

SEATS

4/15/2016 - WADING RIVER, NY
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2003 MERCURY MOUNTAINEER. WHILE THE CONTACT'S VEHICLE WAS APPROACHING A RED LIGHT, ANOTHER VEHICLE CRASHED INTO ITS REAR AT A MODERATE RATE OF SPEED. THE SEAT BACK AND THE HEADREST FRACTURED WITHOUT WARNING. THE CONTACT SUSTAINED EXTENSIVE DAMAGES TO THE NECK AND BACK, WHICH REQUIRED MEDICAL TREATMENT. THE CONTACT INDICATED THAT THE SEAT AND HEADREST WERE NOT STRUCTURALLY SOUND. A POLICE REPORT WAS FILED. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED BY THE INSURANCE COMPANY TO A REPAIR SHOP. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED. THE VIN WAS UNKNOWN. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 130,000.

View Details

AIR BAGS

12/17/2015 - NORMAN, OK
FAULTY AIRBAGS: ON NOVEMBER 3, 2015 AT APPROXIMATELY 0540, THE SIDE CURTAIN (BOTH DRIVER SIDE AND PASSENGER SIDE) AIRBAGS EXPLODED IN MY 2003 MERCURY MOUNTAINEER WITHOUT CAUSE WHILE I WAS TRAVELING 55 MPH ON A MAJOR/BUSY STATE HIGHWAY. THE EXPLOSION OF THE AIRBAGS HIT ME ON MY LEFT SIDE CAUSING NECK STRAIN AND TEMPORARY HEARING LOSS TO THE LEFT EAR. I WAS THE ONLY OCCUPANT IN THE VEHICLE. I WAS ABLE TO SAFELY DRIVE TO SHOULDER OF ROAD (I DON'T REMEMBER HOW I GOT THERE), LUCKILY NO CARS WERE AROUND ME AT THE TIME. THE EXPLOSION ALSO CAUSED THE DRIVER SIDE WINDOW TO FALL FROM ITS CASTERS AND WAS UNABLE TO CLOSE WINDOW (AND THE PASSENGER SIDE REAR WINDOW NO LONGER WORKS). THE AIR IN THE CURTAINS WOULD NOT DISSIPATE AND I REMEMBER NOT BEING ABLE TO BREATH WELL. THERE WAS A CHEMICAL IN THE AIR AND DO TO THE CURTAINS, IT WAS DIFFICULT TO GET OUT OF THE CAR. LATER IN THE DAY I TOOK CAR TO REYNOLDS FORD AND WAS TOLD THIS WAS NOT COVERED BY FORD. I ALSO WENT TO MY PCP AND WAS TREATED WITH PREDNISONE AND EAR WASH FOR LEFT EAR HEARING LOSS. LATER, HAD DRIVERS WINDOW REPAIRED.

View Details

VISIBILITY/WIPER

11/8/2015 - WAKE FOREST, NC
BACK HATCH GLASS EXPLODED WHILE THE VEHICLE WAS STATIONARY (PARKED IN A PARKING LOG), AND THE DRIVER WAS CLOSING THE HATCH. BACK GLASS PORTION OF HATCH WAS BEING MANUALLY CLOSED AT A SLOW-MODERATE RATE, AND GLASS SUDDENLY SHATTERED WITHOUT WARNING. THERE WAS NO IMPACT TO THE GLASS, NOR ANY DISCERNIBLE REASON WHY THE GLASS SHOULD HAVE SUDDENLY SHATTERED. APPROXIMATELY 90% OF THE GLASS ENDED UP IN THE CAR OR ON THE PARKING LOT SURFACE, WITH ONLY ABOUT 10% OF THE GLASS REMAINING ATTACHED TO THE HATCH FRAME AND STRUTS.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

10/10/2015 - VANCOUVER, WA
NOT IN AN ACCIDENT. A 1 1/2 INCH VERTICAL CRACK HAS APPEARED IN THE BODY BETWEEN THE MIDDLE OF THE BACK LIFT DOOR UNDER THE WINDOW EXTENDING TO THE ROUND MERCURY SYMBOL BETWEEN THE LETTERS, R AND THE C. DID NOT NOTICE UNTIL TAKING IT THROUGH A CAR WASH WHERE I WAS WARNED IT HAD TO BE COVERED.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 15
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds