Auto Recalls for Consumers

MERCURY MOUNTAINEER - 2003 MERCURY MOUNTAINEER Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Ford Motor Company

There are 132 complaints filed for the 2003 MERCURY MOUNTAINEER

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2003 MERCURY MOUNTAINEER. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2003 MERCURY MOUNTAINEER, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (4) Exterior Lighting (2) Power Train (41) Steering (5) Unknown Or Other (1)
Child Seat (1) Fuel Propulsion System (1) Seat Belts (2) Structure (57) Vehicle Speed Control (9)
Electrical System (11) Fuel System Gasoline (1) Seats (4) Suspension (10) Visibility (7)
Engine And Engine Cooling (10) Fuel System Other (3) Service Brakes (1) Tires (1) Wheels (1)
Equipment (4) Latches Locks Linkages (6) Service Brakes Hydraulic (8)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 14
 
ComplaintDescription

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

9/15/2014 - WESTMINSTER, MD
ON THE BALTIMORE-WASHINGTON PARKWAY (295 N ) NORTHBOUND, CHANGED LANES TO THE LEFT AND ACCELERATED. THE GAS PEDDLE WAS PUSHED TO THE FLOOR, STAYED THERE AND WOULD NOT RELEASE. I STOOD ON THE BRAKES, BUT ONLY SOMEWHAT SLOWIED THE ACCELERATION. THE VEHICLE CONTINUED UNTIL WE REACHED ABOUT 80MPH AND COMING CLOSE TO REAR ENDING THE VEHICLE IN FRONT OF ME. I WENT OFF ON THE SHOULDER AND TURNED OFF THE IGNITION KEY TO GET THE VEHICLE STOPPED. THE BRAKE OVERHEATED BRAKES. I COULD NOT SEE A PROBLEM. THIS WAS NOT CAUSED BY A FLOOR MAT. THE PEDAL WAS STUCK TO THE FLOOR. I WIGGLED AND PULLED AND IT COME BACK UP WITH A POP. IN DAYLIGHT THE NEXT DAY, I INSPECTED THE PEDAL AND PUSHED IT DOWN. IT AGAIN WENT TO THE FLOOR AND STAYED THERE. I SLID UNDER THE DASH AND FOUND THAT THE HORIZONTAL PIN THAT HOLDS THE PEDAL TO THE FLOOR BRACKET HAD BACKED OUT SIDEWAYS FROM RIGHT TO LEFT, ALLOWING THE PEDAL TO GO SOMEWHAT SIDEWAYS AND THE MOTOR FOR THE ADJUSTABLE PEDAL ASSEMBLY HAD CAUGHT ON A METAL BRACKET KEEPING THE PEDAL FROM RETURNING TO THE UP POSITION. I REMOVED THE PEDAL ASSEMBLY AND INSPECTED THE PROBLEM. THIS IS POOR ENGINEERING AND THERE SHOULD BE A RECALL.. THERE ARE NO CLIPS OR PINS TO HOLD THE PEDAL PIN IN PLACE ! ! ! THE ASSEMBLY RELIES ON SLIGHT INTERFERENCE BETWEEN SPLINES ON THE PIN AND SPLINES INSIDE WHERE IT GOES THROUGH THE PEDAL. WHAT HAPPENED WAS, THAT OVER A PERIOD OF TIME, FROM THE PEDAL WIGGLING, THE PIN BACKED OUT.FROM USE, ON ITS OWN. AGAIN, THIS NOT SUFFICIENT TO KEEP THE PEDAL ASSEMBLED. IT NEED CLIPS ON BOTH ENDS OR COTTER PINS ON BOTH ENDS OF THE PIN ASSEMBLY. A CONCERN IS THE USE OF PLASTIC BRACKET TO MOUNT THE PEDAL TO THE FLOOR. IN MY PAST EXPERIENCE, THE MOUNTING BRACKETS HAD BEEN MADE OF METAL. PLASTIC FATIGUES FASTER THAN METAL AND IS PRONE TO CRACKING AND BREAKING.

View Details

VISIBILITY: REAR WINDOW WIPER/WASHER

9/9/2014 - LAVEEN , AZ
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2003 MERCURY MOUNTAINEER. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE REAR LIFTGATE BECAME INOPERABLE. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC FOR DIAGNOSTIC TESTING AND THE TECHNICIAN STATED THAT THE LIFTGATE AND WINDOW NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED AND THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 111,500.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY: HATCHBACK/LIFTGATE

9/9/2014 - LAVEEN , AZ
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2003 MERCURY MOUNTAINEER. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE REAR LIFTGATE BECAME INOPERABLE. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC FOR DIAGNOSTIC TESTING AND THE TECHNICIAN STATED THAT THE LIFTGATE AND WINDOW NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED AND THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 111,500.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL: ACCELERATOR PEDAL

7/16/2014 - AMERICAN CANYON, CA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2003 MERCURY MOUNTAINEER. THE CONTACT STATED WHILE TRAVELING ON A MAJOR HIGHWAY, THE ACCELERATOR PEDAL BECAME STUCK. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE BRAKE PEDAL HAD TO BE ENGAGED AND THE ACCELERATOR PEDAL HAD TO BE DEPRESS SEVERAL TIMES IN ORDER TO RELEASE IT. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN AUTHORIZED DEALER. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 135,000.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

7/16/2014 - AMERICAN CANYON, CA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2003 MERCURY MOUNTAINEER. THE CONTACT STATED WHILE TRAVELING ON A MAJOR HIGHWAY, THE ACCELERATOR PEDAL BECAME STUCK. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE BRAKE PEDAL HAD TO BE ENGAGED AND THE ACCELERATOR PEDAL HAD TO BE DEPRESS SEVERAL TIMES IN ORDER TO RELEASE IT. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN AUTHORIZED DEALER. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 135,000.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY: TAILGATE

4/24/2014 - MORGANTOWN, PA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2003 MERCURY MOUNTAINEER. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE FIBERGLASS ON THE TAILGATE CRACKED AND DETACHED FROM THE VEHICLE. THE VEHICLE HAS NOT BEEN REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE PROBLEM. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 120,000.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING

2/19/2014 - MILWAUKEE, WI
I PURCHASED A 2003 MERCURY MOUNTAINEER ON 2/15/14 AND I TOOK IT ON A ROAD TRIP ON 2/16/4 WITH MY GRANDKIDS. AFTER ENTERING THE HIGHWAY AND GAINING SPEED I STARTED TO SMELL A STRONG BURNT RUBBER AND EXHAUST SMELL. THE SMELL WAS VERY TOXIC AND STUCK TO OUR CLOTHING. ON 2/18/14, I TOOK IT TO THE DEALER FOR HIS MECHANIC TO TAKE A LOOK AT IT. THE MECHANIC SAID THERE WAS SOME DEGREASER THAT OVERFLOWED FROM A CUPLER AND LEAKED ONTO THE EXHAUST. I ASKED IF THERE WAS A LEAK AND THE MECHANIC RESPONDED BY SAYING NOT REALLY, WHICH MEANT THERE WAS A LEAK. THE MECHANIC ASSURED ME THAT THE PROBLEM WAS TAKEN CARE OF, BUT IF IT STILL OCCURS, THEY WOULD SEND IT IN FOR TWO DAYS. I CONTINUED TO SMELL THE TOXIC SMELL AND ON 2/19/14 THE HATCH ON LIFT GATE JUST CRACKED. ALSO WHEN I TURN AT A LOW SPEED, I HEAR A STRANGE SOUND AND VIBRATION, COMING FROM THE TIRE AREA. I'VE HEARD OF NUMEROUS ISSUES AND COMPLICATIONS WITH THE MERCURY MOUNTAINEERS. I DON'T WANT MY GRANDCHILDREN NOR MY LIFE PUT IN DANGER. A DRIVER SHOULD BE ENSURED WITH SAFETY WHEN DRIVING A VEHICLE. FORD DOESN'T CARE ABOUT THEIR CONSUMERS TO SELL DEFECTIVE AND NONSAFE VEHICLES. PLEASE RECALL THIS VEHICLE AS IT HAS TOO MANY ISSUES THAT CAN BE LIFE THREATENING, LIKE THE ROLLOVER RATE.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY: HATCHBACK/LIFTGATE: HINGE AND ATTACHMENTS

7/12/2013 - TEMPLE, TX
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2003 MERCURY MOUNTAINEER. THE CONTACT STATED WHEN ATTEMPTING TO THE CLOSE THE REAR LIFTGATE, THE RIGHT SIDE SUPPORT HINGE FRACTURED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE DEFECT. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 90,000. UPDATED 9/4/13 THE CONSUMER STATED WHEN HE RAISED THE LIFTGATE, IT CAME DOWN AND THE EMBLEM CRACKED. THE RIGHT HINGE BROKE AND THE RIGHT ROD FROZE.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

4/15/2013 - SPRINGFIELD, MO
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2003 MERCURY MOUNTAINEER. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING 40 MPH, THE REAR DIFFERENTIAL MADE A POPPING SOUND. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE IN REVERSE, THE POPPING SOUND WAS LOUDER. THE CONTACT TOOK THE VEHICLE TO A LOCAL MECHANIC FOR A DIAGNOSTIC TEST. THE MECHANIC NOTICED A LEAK IN THE REAR DIFFERENTIAL AND STATED THE REAR DIFFERENTIAL NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE CONTACT DID NOT HAVE THE REAR DIFFERENTIAL REPLACED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 240,000.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

1/17/2013 - ISELIN, NJ
I WANT FORD TO RECALL THERE MERCURY MOUNTAINEER AS IT HAS A MAJOR SAFETY ISSUE. ALL OF THERE MERCURY FROM 2002 ONWARD HAVE A CRACK ON THERE REAR LIFT GATE. I DONE GOOGLE AND ALMOST NET IS FULL OF COMPLAINTS ON THIS. CRACK STARTS RIGHT BELOW MERCURY LOGO AND KEEP INCREASING AND INCREASING. MY CAR LOGO NOT CAME OFF, BUT FEW CARS, THIS LOGO BLOWN OFF. ALSO NOW I LEARNT THAT CAR HINGES HOLDING THIS VERY REAR HOOD CAME OFF.. I THOUGHT ITS MINE, BUT AGAIN, ALMOST WEB IS FULL OF COMPLAINTS ON THIS AND KNOWING HOW RISKY THIS IS, TRYING BEST TO GO TO EVERY LOOK AND CORNER SO TO ENSURE THAT FORD DOES REPAIR ASAP

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 14
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds