Auto Recalls for Consumers

MINI COOPER - 2003 MINI COOPER Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by BMW of North America, LLC

There are 281 complaints filed for the 2003 MINI COOPER

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2003 MINI COOPER. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2003 MINI COOPER, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (9) Equipment (1) Power Train (83) Structure (2) Vehicle Speed Control (3)
Electrical System (19) Exterior Lighting (2) Seats (3) Suspension (5) Visibility (22)
Engine (4) Fuel System Gasoline (3) Service Brakes Hydraulic (3) Tires (2) Visibility Wiper (1)
Engine And Engine Cooling (23) Latches Locks Linkages (3) Steering (140) Unknown Or Other (4)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 27
 
ComplaintDescription

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

8/14/2014 - MASON, OH
DRAIN HOSE FROM SUNROOF DRAIN RUNNING DOWN A-PILLAR CAME DISLODGED THROUGH "NORMAL WEAR AND TEAR" CAUSING MASSIVE FLOODING TO THE INTERIOR OF MY CAR. IT WAS RENDERED UNSERVICEABLE AND TOTALED, ON JUNE 16, 2014, BUT UNCOVERED BY INSURANCE. THIS WAS NOTHING THAT I WAS AWARE OF THAT WAS AN ISSUE, NOR WERE ANY RECALLS EVER ISSUED ON THIS ISSUE. I HAD IT IN TO THE DEALERSHIP IN 2012, 2 YEARS AGO, FOR ELECTRICAL FAILURE, AND THEY THOUGHT IT WAS MERELY THE BATTERY, SO THEY REPLACED IT AND IT SEEMED TO BE FINE, BUT THEY SAID TO KEEP THE BATTERY AS A BACK UP "JUST IN CASE" BECAUSE IT STILL APPEARED TO BE A GOOD BATTERY. THEN LATER IN 2013, I TOOK IT BACK TO THE MINI DEALER FOR GENERAL SERVICE AND I SAID I NOTICED WATER IN THE BOOT (TRUNK) AND FOR THEM TO CHECK THE HATCHBACK SEAL TO SEE IF THERE WAS ANY LEAKS, THEY SAID NO, AND NO FURTHER INVESTIGATION WAS DONE FOR EITHER EVENT. I BELIEVE THAT BOTH THESE EVENTS WERE RESULTS OF THE FAULTY DRAIN HOSE FROM THE A-PILLAR BEING DISLODGED FOR SO LONG. TODAY, THE AUTOMOBILE LEFT MY POSSESSION, TO AN AUCTION HOUSE. I WANTED TO FILE THIS COMPLAINT SO THAT YOU, THE NHTSA CAN PERHAPS HAVE MINI ISSUE A RECALL TO FIX THIS ISSUE AND HAVE THEM CHANGE THEIR VEHICLE'S SUNROOF DRAINAGE SYSTEM SO THAT SOMEONE ELSE DOESN'T HAVE A CAR TOTALLY RUINED BY FLOODING DUE TO THIS DEFECT IN ENGINEERING AND DESIGN. AFTER VIEWING SOME MINI FORUMS, I AM NOT THE ONLY PERSON WHO HAS HAD THIS ISSUE HAS HAPPENED TO THEIR MINI COOPER. I'M VERY SAD, BECAUSE I HAPPENED TO REALLY ENJOY THIS CAR, AND IT WAS TOTALLY FUN TO DRIVE. I WAS ADVISED BY A FRIEND WHO IS A MOTORCYCLE MECHANIC AND MY INSURANCE AGENT TO FILE THIS REPORT WITH YOUR ORGANIZATION, IN HOPES THAT SOMETHING WILL BE DONE ABOUT THIS. TOO MANY PEOPLE DON'T SPEAK UP, AND I AM NOT ONE TO LET SOMETHING DONE WRONG TO ME GO WITHOUT A FIGHT! DO ALL YOU CAN TO RECTIFY THIS ISSUE WITH MINI!

View Details

STEERING

8/13/2014 - JOHNSON CITY, TN
I WAS DRIVING ALONG THE STREET TO MAKE A RIGHT TURN AND THEN ALL OF THE SUDDEN, BAM! MY POWER STEERING WENT OUT AND I COULD NOT STEER. IT WAS VERY SCARY AND DANGEROUS. LUCKILY I SLOWED DOWN AND MADE THE CORNER SLOWLY. WHEN I ARRIVED HOME, I TURNED THE CARE OFF, CHECKED THE POWER STEERING FLUID, AND TURNED IT BACK ON. NOW THE POWER STEERING WORKS AGAIN. THIS IS THE SECOND TIME THIS HAS HAPPENED. NOT SURE WHY IT INTERMITTENTLY GOES OUT BUT IT SHOULD BE REPLACED.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

6/11/2014 - SYLMAR, CA
DRIVING IN 2ND GEAR (MANUAL TRANSMISSION) AND THE CAR BRAKES EVERYTHING LOCKED UP SKIDDING TO AN IMMEDIATE, VIOLENT STOP THAT SQUEALED THE TIRES AND MADE SMOKE, OIL EVERYWHERE ON THE ROAD, ENGINE STILL RUNNING FINE. SCARY, COULD NOT EVEN PUSH THE CAR OFF THE ROAD BECAUSE IT WAS STUCK IN GEAR. WARRANTY COMPANY TOWED IT TO A MINI DEALER IN VALENCIA, CA. TWO WEEKS LATER, THEY GRANTED WARRANTY WORK HOWEVER, THE PRICE TAG IS $4000!! WARRANTY ONLY COVERS $2000 SO I HAVE TO GET ANOTHER USED TRANSMISSION! I SEE WHERE THERE IS A RECALL ON ALL AUTOMATIC TRANSMISSIONS 2003-2007 BECAUSE OF A CLASS ACTION LAW SUIT AGAINST MINI COOPER. ISN'T IT POSSIBLE THE SAME THING WRONG WITH THE AUTOMATIC TRANSMISSION IS ALSO HAPPENING WITH THE MANUAL TRANSMISSIONS? I CAN'T AFFORD THIS EVEN WITH THE WARRANTY AND I CERTAINLY DON'T WANT TO RISK PUTTING ANOTHER FAULTY TRANSMISSION THAT LOCKS UP, WHAT IF I WAS DOING 65? I'D ROLL AND BE DEAD, THAT'S WHAT! THIS CAR IS UNSAFE AND I FEEL THE NEW, APPROVED TRANSMISSION IS THE ONLY ANSWER. THIS ISN'T ABOUT MONEY, IT'S ABOUT THE FACT THE CAR LOCKED UP WITH NO SIGN OR WARNING WHATSOEVER. THOUGH, IF THERE IS A RECALL I WOULD LIKE REIMBURSED FOR THE COSTS OR HOWEVER THAT WORKS, THANK YOU FOR YOUR TIME. [XXX] INFORMATION REDACTED PURSUANT TO THE FREEDOM OF INFORMATION ACT (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

View Details

STEERING

5/6/2014 - RALEIGH, NC
WAS APPROACHING AIRPORT PARKING LOT (DRIVING WAY TOO FAST, BECAUSE I WAS LATE!) WHEN THE POWER STEERING SUDDENLY "FAILED"! IT WAS REALLY FRIGHTENING TO HAVE NO CONTROL, AS THE CAR PULLED TO THE LEFT. LUCKILY, THERE WERE NO CARS COMING FROM BEHIND. JUST BEFORE THE CAR CAME TO A COMPLETE STOP, THE POWER STEERING MYSTERIOUSLY "RETURNED". IF THIS WERE TO HAPPEN WHILST DRIVING AT HIGH SPEED ON THE INTERSTATE, IT WOULD SURELY END WITH FATALITIES. (THIS PROBLEM HAS OCCURRED ONLY ONCE, HOWEVER, I'VE OWNED THE CAR FOR ONLY 8 1/2 MONTHS!).

View Details

STEERING

1/22/2014 - TULARE, CA
I HAVE AN 03 MINI COOPER BASE MODEL THAT HAD THE IMPENDING POWER STEERING FAILURE. IT HAPPENED SUDDENLY AND WITHOUT ANY INDICATION. LAST JUNE I RECEIVED THE REIMBURSEMENT LETTER, SO I SENT IN MY INFORMATION AND RECEIPT FOR THE REPLACEMENT. AS TIME PASSED AND NO RESPONSE FROM MINI I DECIDED TO CONTACT COSTUMER RELATIONS, NEEDLESS TO SAY THEY HAD NOTHING ON FILE AND SAID IT SHOULD TAKE ANOTHER MONTH TO RECEIVE MY INFO. ANOTHER MONTH PASSED, KEEP IN MIND WE ARE IN AUGUST NOW, NO RESPONSE. CALLED THEM UP AND WAS TOLD MY INFORMATION IS STILL NOT THERE. SO I SENT TWO EMAILS WITH MY RECEIPT IN HOPES THAT IT MIGHT SPEED UP THE PROCESS. ABOUT THREE MONTHS LATER I CALLED AND THEY HAD SAID THEY RECEIVED MY INFORMATION AND THAT THEY HAD SENT IT TO THEIR REIMBURSING DIVISION. TWO DAYS AGO I CALLED AND THEY GAVE ME THE RUN AROUND AGAIN. THIS IS JUST OUTRAGEOUS, IF YOUR GOING TO SEND A LETTER SAY YOU'LL REIMBURSE EVERYONE DO IT IN A TIMELY PROFESSIONAL MANNER. JUST BEFORE ALL THIS HAPPENED I HAD NO PROBLEM WITH MINI. I WAS ACTUALLY THINKING ABOUT BUYING A 4DOOR VERSION OF THE MINI. AFTER THIS INCIDENT I WILL NOT BE PURCHASING A MINI OR BMW FOR THAT MATTER. IN ADDITION I WILL INFLUENCE PEOPLE INTO NOT PURCHASING ANY OF THEIR PRODUCTS. I UNDERSTAND THEY HAD A LOT OF PEOPLE SEND IN LETTERS FOR REIMBURSEMENTS BUT IT IS NOT OK TO LIE TO PEOPLE. I ALSO KNOW I AM NOT THE ONLY ONE WHO HAS HAD THIS ISSUE. I AM TRYING TO CONTACT AS MUCH PEOPLE AS I CAN ABOUT THIS MATTER IN HOPES THAT THIS DOESN'T HAPPEN TO ANYONE ELSE. NOBODY SHOULD HAVE TO DEAL WITH THIS.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

12/26/2013 - WINTHROP, MA
MINI COOPER WITH A CVT AUTO TRANSMISSION: I NOTICED THAT THE ENGINE WOULD "REV." UP WHEN I STEP ON THE GAS PEDAL, AND THE CAR WOULD NOT ACCELERATE. I PULLED OVER AND SHUT OF THE ENGINE, THAN RESTARTED THE ENGINE AND MOVED AHEAD. LATER THE "SLIPPING" HAPPENED AGAIN AND AGAIN; AT ALL SPEEDS AND WITH A COLD OR HOT ENGINE. IN ADDITION, THIS PROBLEM HAS OCCURRED WHILE TRAVELING AT HIGHWAY SPEEDS 55+MPH, AND THIS REQUIRES COASTING OVER TO A BREAKDOWN LANE TO AVOID A COLLISION. THE CONDITION STILL EXISTS AND I AM TRYING TO LOCATE AN INDEPENDENT REPAIR SHOP TO DIAGNOSE THE PROBLEM AND HOPEFULLY RECTIFY THE PROBLEM AT A REASONABLE COST. MINI COOPER DEALERS ARE ASKING BETWEEN $5000 TO $9000.00 TO REPAIR/REPLACE THE TRANSMISSION. I HAVE REASON TO BELIEVE THAT MINI KNEW ABOUT THIS PROBLEM AS EARLY AS 2005. ASIDE FROM DOING WARRANTY REPAIRS NO ATTEMPT HAS BEEN MADE BY MINI TO NOTIFY OWNERS AND/OR OFFER TO REPAIR/REPLACE THESE FAULTY TRANSMISSIONS.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

10/9/2013 - PELHAM, AL
ACCELERATING AFTER BEING STOPPED AT A RED LIGHT, LOST POWER STEERING, SMOKE CAME OUT OF HOOD, ENGINE TEMPERATURE REDLINED, AND BATTERY LIGHT CAME ON.

View Details

STEERING

10/9/2013 - PELHAM, AL
ACCELERATING AFTER BEING STOPPED AT A RED LIGHT, LOST POWER STEERING, SMOKE CAME OUT OF HOOD, ENGINE TEMPERATURE REDLINED, AND BATTERY LIGHT CAME ON.

View Details

ENGINE

10/9/2013 - PELHAM, AL
ACCELERATING AFTER BEING STOPPED AT A RED LIGHT, LOST POWER STEERING, SMOKE CAME OUT OF HOOD, ENGINE TEMPERATURE REDLINED, AND BATTERY LIGHT CAME ON.

View Details

STEERING

9/26/2013 - SAN ANTONIO, TX
WE BOUGHT 2 2003 MINI COOPERS IN 2003. BOTH VEHICLES HAD ELECTRIC POWER STEERING PUMP FAILURES, ONE IN MARCH 09 AT 143060 AND THE OTHER MINI IN JULY 2010 AT 133380. WE RECEIVED THE EPS EXTENDED WARRANTY LETTER AND SENT IN OUR CLAIM, USPS DOCUMENTED DELIVERY TO MINI USA ON JUNE 29, 2013. I HAVE CALLED MINI "CUSTOMER SERVICE" ON AUGUST 8, AUGUST 29, AND TODAY SEPTEMBER 26. NO ONE THERE CAN TELL YOU ANYTHING AND THEY DO NOTHING EXCEPT APOLOGIZING FOR NOT KNOWING ANYTHING. THEY SAY RESPONSES ARE TAKING 12 WEEKS WHICH IS WHERE I AM ON THE CALENDAR. MY REPAIR COSTS WERE IN EXCESS OF $2000. TODAY I AM SENDING A HAND WRITTEN COMPLAINT LETTER WITH COPIES OF ALL RECEIPTS TO JIM MCDOWELL VP MINI USA. NHTSA NEEDS TO FOLLOWUP ON THIS. THE EXTENDED WARRANTY WAS INTENDED TO HEAD OFF A RECALL BUT THEY ARE NOT HANDLING IT IN A PROPER MANNER. TURN UP THE HEAT!

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 27
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds