Auto Recalls for Consumers

MINI COOPER - 2003 MINI COOPER Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by BMW of North America, LLC

There are 298 complaints filed for the 2003 MINI COOPER

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2003 MINI COOPER. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2003 MINI COOPER, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (10) Equipment (1) Power Train (88) Structure (3) Vehicle Speed Control (4)
Electrical System (22) Exterior Lighting (2) Seats (3) Suspension (6) Visibility (23)
Engine (4) Fuel System Gasoline (3) Service Brakes Hydraulic (3) Tires (2) Visibility Wiper (1)
Engine And Engine Cooling (23) Latches Locks Linkages (3) Steering (149) Unknown Or Other (4)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 28
 
ComplaintDescription

STEERING

9/28/2015 - OXFORD , MS
POWER STEERING FAILED AND DIFFICULT TO STEER. POWER STEERING WOULD THEN CUT IN AND OUT. WARRANTY REPAIR BY MINI DEALER ON SEPTEMBER 16, 2015 REPLACED STEERING PUMP BUT POWER STEERING HOSE LEAK WAS NOT COVERED BY WARRANTY AND CHARGED $607.59 TO DO ALL NECESSARY REPAIRS FOR THE POWER STEERING TO WORK. THE LACK OF CONSISTENCY OF HAVING POWER ASSIST STEERING OR NOT COULD CONTRIBUTE TO AN ACCIDENT SINCE THERE IS NO WAY TO PREDICT THE AMOUNT OF EFFORT TO STEER THE CAR. THE NEEDED POWER STEERING REPAIRS WERE NOT FREE BUT COST $607.59.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

7/11/2015 - DETROIT, MI
THE CAR STALLS(REDUCES SPEED 0-10MPH) IT MAY SHUT COMPLETELY DOWN AT TIMES THIS HAS BEEN THE SAME CONSISTENT PROBLEM SINCE DATE OF PURCHASE THE USED CAR DEALERSHIP HAS BEEN INFORMED OF THIS PROBLEM SINCE DOP AND FOR A MOMENT I THOUGHT THE PROBLEM HAD BEEN SOLVED BUT IT TURNED OUT TO BE A RECALL ON THE POWER STEERING PUMP WHICH WAS REPLACED BACK IN JULY-AUG 2013. THE MINI DEALER ALSO, THOUGHT THEY FOUND THE SOURCE OF THE PROBLEM BUT CONSISTENTLY JUST CHARGED ME MONIES FOR PROBLEM THAT NEVER TURNED OUT TO BE THE SOURCE SO I STOPPED GOING TO THEM. I TRIED TO FILE A LEMON LAW SUIT BUT WAS TOLD I COULDN'T PURSUE BECAUSE STATUTE OF LIMITATIONS. SO LAWYER REF ME TO CONTACT THIS OFFICE AND FILE A CLAIM BECAUSE I'VE SPENT NUMEROUS AMOUNTS OF MONEY AND NOTHING HAS BEEN FIXED I STILL FEEL UNSAFE AND SCARED FOR MY LIFE WHEN I DRIVE BUT I'M LIMITED IN MONEY TO KEEP TRYING TO FIND THE SOURCE THAT'S CAUSING THE PROBLEM. ONE THING NOTED THAT THE CAR ENGINE HAS BEEN REBUILT. ALSO, I'M PAYING A CAR NOTE . PLEASE IF THERE IS ANYWAY YOU CAN'T HELP I FEEL I WAS PREYED UPON AND TAKE. ADVANTAGE OF BECAUSE THE DEALER KNEW THERE WAS A PROBLEM AT THE TIME OF PURCHASE AND WITHHELD IT.

View Details

STEERING

4/26/2015 - OREM, UT
OUR 2003 MINI COOPER HAS ABOUT 120K MILES ON IT. IT WAS COMPLETELY FINE UNTIL RECENTLY WHEN THE POWER STEERING PUMP STARTED WHINING. SOMETIMES IT COMPLETELY STOPPED WORKING AND WE HAD NO POWER STEERING, THANKFULLY THIS WAS WHILE THE CAR WAS PARKED AND NOT WHILE DRIVING. TURNING THE WHEEL IS A LITTLE HARDER THAN USUAL, AND IF YOU TURN IT TOO MUCH, THE CAR BOGS DOWN AND THE REVS GO WAY DOWN. WE'VE TRIED FLUSHING AND REPLACING THE POWER STEERING FLUID, BUT IT DIDN'T SEEM TO HELP. WE'VE EVEN PUT IN SOME EXPENSIVE ADDITIVES THAT PROMISE TO REPAIR THE PROBLEM AND STOP THE NOISE, BUT IT DOESN'T WORK. WE DON'T FEEL SAFE KNOWING THAT OUR POWER STEERING MAY GO OUT AT ANY MOMENT. AND WE CERTAINLY DON'T APPRECIATE THE LOOKS WE GET WHEN WE DRIVE PAST PEOPLE.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

4/22/2015 - ANDERSON , SC
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2003 MINI COOPER. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE GEAR SHIFTER FAILED TO MOVE WHEN ATTEMPTING TO OPERATE THE VEHICLE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 158,000.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

12/14/2014 - CANTON, TX
THIS MINI COOPER A 2003 W/130K MILES DRIVEN BY A YOUNG FEMALE. SHE HAD NO IDEA HER WHEEL WAS GOING TO FALL OFF THE DRIVER SIDE FRONT. SHE HAD CALLED FOR A CHECK ENGINE LIGHT ON AND INTERMITTENT BATTERY FAILURE. IT WAS ASK THAT I DRIVE THE CAR AND LISTEN TO A POP COMING FROM THE WHEEL SECTION. THE POP WAS THE ENTIRE WHEEL ASSEMBLY MOVING FORWARDS AND BACK BUMPING THE WHEEL WELLS AS THE CAR WENT FORWARD. NEEDLESS TO SAY I DIDN'T DRIVE FAR NOR DID I ACCELERATE FASTER THAN 10 MPH. I TOLD THE PARENT OF THE DRIVER THAT THE CAR WAS NOT DRIVABLE UNDER ANY CONDITION AND THAT IT NEEDED IMMEDIATE ATTENTION. THE LOWER CONTROL ARM BUSHING RUBBER WAS COMPLETELY GONE. I DO NOT KNOW IF THIS IS A DEFECT. THIS PART IS A MOUNT AND IT'S HOLDING MANY COMPONENTS OF THIS CAR TOGETHER. IT IS NOTHING LIKE I HAVE SEEN BEFORE USED AS A MOUNT. I HAVE SEEN THE RUBBER WORN FROM THIS TYPE PART BUT THEY WERE NOT BEING USED AS A MOUNT. WHEN THE RUBBER ON THIS PART DETERIORATES IT CAUSES THE MOUNT TO BE UNSTABLE RESULTING IN THE WHOLE WHEEL ASSEMBLY MOVING LIKE A SWING FORWARDS AND BACKWARDS WHILE DRIVING. IN A TRAFFIC SITUATION THIS COULD BE DEVASTATING TO MORE THAN JUST THE DRIVER OF THIS CAR BUT ALSO TO THE CARS DRIVING NEAR IF THE WHEEL WERE TO COME OFF IN THEIR TRAFFIC. NEEDLESS TO SAY THE MINI COOPER WOULD IMMEDIATELY FAIL IN TRAFFIC WITH THE BRAKE CYLINDERS HITTING THE ROAD CAUSING FLYING SPARKS, IF REAR ENDED IT WOULD MORE THAN LIKELY FLIP. THIS IS A DANGEROUS SCENARIO. THIS CAR WAS PURCHASED SECOND HAND AS ARE A LOT OF CARS. THIS IS NOT A PART ON ANYONE'S CHECK LIST AND NOT ONE YOU CONSIDER TO BE ONE OF THIS TYPE OF FAILURE. I AM FILING THIS COMPLAINT BUT I AM NOT THE OWNER OF THIS CAR. I AM MERELY CONCERNED AT THE IMPLICATIONS OF THE DETERIORATION OF THE RUBBER AND WHAT THOSE IMPLICATIONS MEAN TO THE OTHER PURPOSE THIS PART IS SUPPOSE TO PERFORM AND CAN'T WHEN THE RUBBER IS GONE.

View Details

SUSPENSION

12/14/2014 - CANTON, TX
THIS MINI COOPER A 2003 W/130K MILES DRIVEN BY A YOUNG FEMALE. SHE HAD NO IDEA HER WHEEL WAS GOING TO FALL OFF THE DRIVER SIDE FRONT. SHE HAD CALLED FOR A CHECK ENGINE LIGHT ON AND INTERMITTENT BATTERY FAILURE. IT WAS ASK THAT I DRIVE THE CAR AND LISTEN TO A POP COMING FROM THE WHEEL SECTION. THE POP WAS THE ENTIRE WHEEL ASSEMBLY MOVING FORWARDS AND BACK BUMPING THE WHEEL WELLS AS THE CAR WENT FORWARD. NEEDLESS TO SAY I DIDN'T DRIVE FAR NOR DID I ACCELERATE FASTER THAN 10 MPH. I TOLD THE PARENT OF THE DRIVER THAT THE CAR WAS NOT DRIVABLE UNDER ANY CONDITION AND THAT IT NEEDED IMMEDIATE ATTENTION. THE LOWER CONTROL ARM BUSHING RUBBER WAS COMPLETELY GONE. I DO NOT KNOW IF THIS IS A DEFECT. THIS PART IS A MOUNT AND IT'S HOLDING MANY COMPONENTS OF THIS CAR TOGETHER. IT IS NOTHING LIKE I HAVE SEEN BEFORE USED AS A MOUNT. I HAVE SEEN THE RUBBER WORN FROM THIS TYPE PART BUT THEY WERE NOT BEING USED AS A MOUNT. WHEN THE RUBBER ON THIS PART DETERIORATES IT CAUSES THE MOUNT TO BE UNSTABLE RESULTING IN THE WHOLE WHEEL ASSEMBLY MOVING LIKE A SWING FORWARDS AND BACKWARDS WHILE DRIVING. IN A TRAFFIC SITUATION THIS COULD BE DEVASTATING TO MORE THAN JUST THE DRIVER OF THIS CAR BUT ALSO TO THE CARS DRIVING NEAR IF THE WHEEL WERE TO COME OFF IN THEIR TRAFFIC. NEEDLESS TO SAY THE MINI COOPER WOULD IMMEDIATELY FAIL IN TRAFFIC WITH THE BRAKE CYLINDERS HITTING THE ROAD CAUSING FLYING SPARKS, IF REAR ENDED IT WOULD MORE THAN LIKELY FLIP. THIS IS A DANGEROUS SCENARIO. THIS CAR WAS PURCHASED SECOND HAND AS ARE A LOT OF CARS. THIS IS NOT A PART ON ANYONE'S CHECK LIST AND NOT ONE YOU CONSIDER TO BE ONE OF THIS TYPE OF FAILURE. I AM FILING THIS COMPLAINT BUT I AM NOT THE OWNER OF THIS CAR. I AM MERELY CONCERNED AT THE IMPLICATIONS OF THE DETERIORATION OF THE RUBBER AND WHAT THOSE IMPLICATIONS MEAN TO THE OTHER PURPOSE THIS PART IS SUPPOSE TO PERFORM AND CAN'T WHEN THE RUBBER IS GONE.

View Details

STEERING

12/10/2014 - LA JOLLA, CA
WHILE ADJUSTING THE TILT CONTROL ON MY MINI COOPER, I DISCOVERED THAT THE ENTIRE STEERING COLUMN HAD BECOME LOOSE. UPON INSPECTION, I DISCOVERED THAT TWO METAL BRACKETS USED TO SUPPORT THE STEERING COLUMN AND ATTENDANT ASSEMBLY HAD SHEERED OFF, APPARENTLY UNDER NORMAL USE.

View Details

VISIBILITY/WIPER

11/26/2014 - FLORISSANT, CO
NIGHT DRIVING IN COLORADO MTNS. LIGHTS BEGAN TO FLICKER AND POWER STEERING FAILED. FOUND SAFE PLACE TO PULL OVER AND TURNED OFF LIGHTS AND ENGINE. RESTARTED AND TURNED LIGHTS BACK ON TO RESUME DRIVING WITHIN A FEW MINUETS LIGHTS FLICKERED AND POWER STEERING FAILED AGAIN. HAD TO CONTINUE FOR SEVERAL MILES UNTIL IT WAS SAFE TO PULL OVER AGAIN. ATTEMPTED TO TURN OFF HEAD LIGHTS AND USE FOG LIGHTS ON COUNTY DIRT ROAD, STILL LIGHTS FLICKERED/DIMMED AND POWER STEERING FAILED. CURRENTLY VEHICLE IS PARKED AND WE ARE ATTEMPTING TO RESEARCH RECALL MATTERS WITH THIS MALFUNCTION. SUPERIOR DRIVING SKILL IS REQUIRED TO OPERATE THIS VEHICLE WITH NONFUNCTIONAL POWER STEERING. AVERAGE OPERATORS WILL HAVE GREAT DIFFICULTY MAINTAINING SAFE OPERATION OF THE AUTOMOBILE. THIS ISSUE WILL LEAD TO LOSS OF LIFE IF NOT ADDRESSED. NEAREST DEALER FOR MINI IS 130 MILES DISTANT.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

11/26/2014 - FLORISSANT, CO
NIGHT DRIVING IN COLORADO MTNS. LIGHTS BEGAN TO FLICKER AND POWER STEERING FAILED. FOUND SAFE PLACE TO PULL OVER AND TURNED OFF LIGHTS AND ENGINE. RESTARTED AND TURNED LIGHTS BACK ON TO RESUME DRIVING WITHIN A FEW MINUETS LIGHTS FLICKERED AND POWER STEERING FAILED AGAIN. HAD TO CONTINUE FOR SEVERAL MILES UNTIL IT WAS SAFE TO PULL OVER AGAIN. ATTEMPTED TO TURN OFF HEAD LIGHTS AND USE FOG LIGHTS ON COUNTY DIRT ROAD, STILL LIGHTS FLICKERED/DIMMED AND POWER STEERING FAILED. CURRENTLY VEHICLE IS PARKED AND WE ARE ATTEMPTING TO RESEARCH RECALL MATTERS WITH THIS MALFUNCTION. SUPERIOR DRIVING SKILL IS REQUIRED TO OPERATE THIS VEHICLE WITH NONFUNCTIONAL POWER STEERING. AVERAGE OPERATORS WILL HAVE GREAT DIFFICULTY MAINTAINING SAFE OPERATION OF THE AUTOMOBILE. THIS ISSUE WILL LEAD TO LOSS OF LIFE IF NOT ADDRESSED. NEAREST DEALER FOR MINI IS 130 MILES DISTANT.

View Details

STEERING

11/26/2014 - FLORISSANT, CO
NIGHT DRIVING IN COLORADO MTNS. LIGHTS BEGAN TO FLICKER AND POWER STEERING FAILED. FOUND SAFE PLACE TO PULL OVER AND TURNED OFF LIGHTS AND ENGINE. RESTARTED AND TURNED LIGHTS BACK ON TO RESUME DRIVING WITHIN A FEW MINUETS LIGHTS FLICKERED AND POWER STEERING FAILED AGAIN. HAD TO CONTINUE FOR SEVERAL MILES UNTIL IT WAS SAFE TO PULL OVER AGAIN. ATTEMPTED TO TURN OFF HEAD LIGHTS AND USE FOG LIGHTS ON COUNTY DIRT ROAD, STILL LIGHTS FLICKERED/DIMMED AND POWER STEERING FAILED. CURRENTLY VEHICLE IS PARKED AND WE ARE ATTEMPTING TO RESEARCH RECALL MATTERS WITH THIS MALFUNCTION. SUPERIOR DRIVING SKILL IS REQUIRED TO OPERATE THIS VEHICLE WITH NONFUNCTIONAL POWER STEERING. AVERAGE OPERATORS WILL HAVE GREAT DIFFICULTY MAINTAINING SAFE OPERATION OF THE AUTOMOBILE. THIS ISSUE WILL LEAD TO LOSS OF LIFE IF NOT ADDRESSED. NEAREST DEALER FOR MINI IS 130 MILES DISTANT.

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 28
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds