Auto Recalls for Consumers

MINI COOPER - 2003 MINI COOPER Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by BMW of North America, LLC

There are 269 complaints filed for the 2003 MINI COOPER

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2003 MINI COOPER. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2003 MINI COOPER, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (9) Equipment (1) Power Train (79) Structure (2) Unknown Or Other (5)
Electrical System (18) Exterior Lighting (1) Seats (2) Suspension (4) Vehicle Speed Control (3)
Engine (4) Fuel System Gasoline (3) Service Brakes Hydraulic (3) Tires (2) Visibility (22)
Engine And Engine Cooling (23) Latches Locks Linkages (3) Steering (133)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 25
 
ComplaintDescription

POWER TRAIN

7/29/2013 - TORRANCE, CA
AUTO TRANSMISSION CVT FAILURE. I'M THE ORIGINAL OWNER OF THIS 2003 MINI COOPER WITH ONLY 58,000 MILES AND THIS CAR IS JUST SITTING IN MY GARAGE. THE MINI DEALER WANTS $9,000 TO R&R THE TRANS. I CAN'T AFFORD TO FIX. I FEEL BMW / MINI SHOULD BE ASHAMED OF THEM SELVES. LAST YEAR THE MINI DEALER CHARGE ME OVER $2,100 TO R&R THE STEERING PUMP WHEN THE CAR HAD UNDER 50,000 MILES ON IT. BMW / MINI SHOULD HAVE TO PAY UP OR REPLACE THESE CVT TRANS. T/Y

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC

7/16/2013 - SAN PEDRO, CA
THE POWER STEERING PUMP, FAN, HYDRAULIC FLUID PUMP CHF 1 CORE CHARGE) AND HOSE CLAMP WERE REPLACED BY THE DEALER 5 DAYS EARLIER. MINI COOPER/BMW SENT ME A LETTER FOR VOLUNTARY REPLACEMENT BECAUSE MY MINI COPPER 2003 HAD TOO MANY COMPLAINTS WITH THIS ISSUE. THE CAR WAS RUNNING OK EXCEPT FOR THE POWER STEERING AFTER THE REPLACEMENT I ONLY DROVE ABOUT 70 MILES BECAUSE I WAS OFF FROM MY SCHOOL. THE INCIDENT HAPPENED ON JULY 15, 2013 APPROXIMATELY AT 3:45 PM. I DROVE ABOUT 30 MILES BACK FROM WORK. PARKED THE CAR IN FRONT OF RITE AID IN RANCHO PALOS VERDES. WHEN I RETURNED TO THE CAR IT WOULDN'T START. USED JUMP CABLES FOR SEVERAL MINUTES WITHOUT SUCCESS. WENT TO MY MECHANIC CLOSE BY. MY MECHANIC CAME TO LOOK AT THE CAR, HE WAS ABLE TO START THE CAR. I DROVE BACK HOME ABOUT 6 MILES. WHEN I PARKED THE CAR THE CAR WAS VERY HOT AND MOST OF THE LIGHTS IN THE PANEL WERE LIGHTEN. I MUST MENTION THAT MY CAR HAS A NEW BATTERY AND NEW STARTER (BOTH WERE REPLACED 9 MONTHS AGO). IT SEEMS THAT THE PROBLEM IS DIRECTLY RELATED TO THE ELECTRICAL SYSTEM AND TO THE REPLACEMENT OF THE PART ON 7/17/2013.

View Details

STEERING

7/16/2013 - SAN PEDRO, CA
THE POWER STEERING PUMP, FAN, HYDRAULIC FLUID PUMP CHF 1 CORE CHARGE) AND HOSE CLAMP WERE REPLACED BY THE DEALER 5 DAYS EARLIER. MINI COOPER/BMW SENT ME A LETTER FOR VOLUNTARY REPLACEMENT BECAUSE MY MINI COPPER 2003 HAD TOO MANY COMPLAINTS WITH THIS ISSUE. THE CAR WAS RUNNING OK EXCEPT FOR THE POWER STEERING AFTER THE REPLACEMENT I ONLY DROVE ABOUT 70 MILES BECAUSE I WAS OFF FROM MY SCHOOL. THE INCIDENT HAPPENED ON JULY 15, 2013 APPROXIMATELY AT 3:45 PM. I DROVE ABOUT 30 MILES BACK FROM WORK. PARKED THE CAR IN FRONT OF RITE AID IN RANCHO PALOS VERDES. WHEN I RETURNED TO THE CAR IT WOULDN'T START. USED JUMP CABLES FOR SEVERAL MINUTES WITHOUT SUCCESS. WENT TO MY MECHANIC CLOSE BY. MY MECHANIC CAME TO LOOK AT THE CAR, HE WAS ABLE TO START THE CAR. I DROVE BACK HOME ABOUT 6 MILES. WHEN I PARKED THE CAR THE CAR WAS VERY HOT AND MOST OF THE LIGHTS IN THE PANEL WERE LIGHTEN. I MUST MENTION THAT MY CAR HAS A NEW BATTERY AND NEW STARTER (BOTH WERE REPLACED 9 MONTHS AGO). IT SEEMS THAT THE PROBLEM IS DIRECTLY RELATED TO THE ELECTRICAL SYSTEM AND TO THE REPLACEMENT OF THE PART ON 7/17/2013.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

7/16/2013 - SAN PEDRO, CA
THE POWER STEERING PUMP, FAN, HYDRAULIC FLUID PUMP CHF 1 CORE CHARGE) AND HOSE CLAMP WERE REPLACED BY THE DEALER 5 DAYS EARLIER. MINI COOPER/BMW SENT ME A LETTER FOR VOLUNTARY REPLACEMENT BECAUSE MY MINI COPPER 2003 HAD TOO MANY COMPLAINTS WITH THIS ISSUE. THE CAR WAS RUNNING OK EXCEPT FOR THE POWER STEERING AFTER THE REPLACEMENT I ONLY DROVE ABOUT 70 MILES BECAUSE I WAS OFF FROM MY SCHOOL. THE INCIDENT HAPPENED ON JULY 15, 2013 APPROXIMATELY AT 3:45 PM. I DROVE ABOUT 30 MILES BACK FROM WORK. PARKED THE CAR IN FRONT OF RITE AID IN RANCHO PALOS VERDES. WHEN I RETURNED TO THE CAR IT WOULDN'T START. USED JUMP CABLES FOR SEVERAL MINUTES WITHOUT SUCCESS. WENT TO MY MECHANIC CLOSE BY. MY MECHANIC CAME TO LOOK AT THE CAR, HE WAS ABLE TO START THE CAR. I DROVE BACK HOME ABOUT 6 MILES. WHEN I PARKED THE CAR THE CAR WAS VERY HOT AND MOST OF THE LIGHTS IN THE PANEL WERE LIGHTEN. I MUST MENTION THAT MY CAR HAS A NEW BATTERY AND NEW STARTER (BOTH WERE REPLACED 9 MONTHS AGO). IT SEEMS THAT THE PROBLEM IS DIRECTLY RELATED TO THE ELECTRICAL SYSTEM AND TO THE REPLACEMENT OF THE PART ON 7/17/2013.

View Details

STEERING

6/30/2013 - BURIEN , WA
ONE TIME LAST YEAR I LOSS POWER STEERING WHILE GOING AROUND A CORNER, I WAS CAUGHT OFF GUARD AND ALMOST HAD A COLLISION. I PULLED OVER, TURNED OFF MY VEHICLE, AND UPON RE-STARTING THE PROBLEM WAS GONE. NOW, A COUPLE DAYS AGO MY POWER STEERING WENT OUT WHILE I WAS ON THE FREEWAY. I PULLED OVER AND RE-STARTED AND STILL NO POWER STEERING. LATER THAT DAY IT RANDOMLY CAME BACK AND NOW I AM EXPERIENCING INTERMITTENT POWER STEERING LOSS, THAT USUALLY GOES OUT ONCE A TRIP.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

6/2/2013 - TORRANCE, CA
CVT (AUTO TRANSMISSION) NEEDS REPLACING. MINI COOPER QUOTE IS $9,000 TO REPLACE. MINI DEALER KNOWS THAT THERE' S MANY COMPLAINTS WITH THESE CVT (AUTO TRANS.)

View Details

STEERING

5/28/2013 - CHICAGO, IL
AFTER DRIVING THE CAR UNDER NORMAL CIRCUMSTANCES A SHORT DISTANCE AND PARKING THE CAR, A FIRE IGNITED IN THE ENGINE BAY. THE FIRE EXTINGUISHED ITSELF PRIOR TO THE FIRE TRUCK ARRIVING. VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO LOCAL DEALER WHO, UPON INSPECTION, INDICATED THE POWER STEERING PUMP AND/OR ASSOCIATED HARDWARE HAD FAILED AND CAUSED THE FIRE.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

5/28/2013 - CHICAGO, IL
AFTER DRIVING THE CAR UNDER NORMAL CIRCUMSTANCES A SHORT DISTANCE AND PARKING THE CAR, A FIRE IGNITED IN THE ENGINE BAY. THE FIRE EXTINGUISHED ITSELF PRIOR TO THE FIRE TRUCK ARRIVING. VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO LOCAL DEALER WHO, UPON INSPECTION, INDICATED THE POWER STEERING PUMP AND/OR ASSOCIATED HARDWARE HAD FAILED AND CAUSED THE FIRE.

View Details

STEERING

5/3/2013 - CASCO, ME
SUDDEN LOSS OF POWER STEERING WHEN APPROACHING A BUSY INTERSECTION. I BARELY MADE IT THROUGH A FEW CURBS BEFORE ENTERING A PARKING LOT. I LET THE ENGINE COOL OFF FOR 30 MINUTES, THEN THE POWER STEERING CAME BACK ON. I DECIDED TO GO STRAIGHT TO THE DEALERSHIP, ABOUT 3 MILES HIGHWAY, AND ABOUT 1 MILE FROM THE DEALERSHIP I LOST THE POWER STEERING AGAIN. FORCING THE CAR THROUGH THE LAST FEW TURNS, DRIVING SLOWLY, I MADE IT TO THE DEALERSHIP. THE REPLACEMENT PUMP & FAN SET ME BACK ABOUT $1,500.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

4/27/2013 - FARMERS BRANCH, TX
I PURCHASED A 2003 MINI COOPER FROM A PRIVATE PARTY IN THE DALLAS,TEXAS A FEW YEARS AGO. I JUST RECEIVED THE DREADED NEWS TODAY THAT MY TRANSMISSION IS GOING OUT AND IT WILL COST ME $6000 TO REPAIR. ACCORDING TO MINI THIS VEHICLE HAS ALREADY HAD THE TRANSMISSION CHANGED DURING THE WARRANTY PERIOD SO THIS WOULD BE THE 2ND TRANSMISSION FOR THIS CAR. THE REPAIR IS EQUIVALANT TO THE PURCHASE PRICE OF THE VEHICLE 2 OR SO YEARS AGO. I CAN NOT AFFORD TO PAY THIS PRICE AND UNDERSTAND THIS IS A COMMON OCCURENCE WITH THIS YEAR VEHICLE SO IT WOULD SEEM THAT A RECALL WOULD NEED TO BE ISSUED. OTHERWISE I HAVE TO ATTEMPT TO SALE THIS CAR AND TAKE A LOSS.

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 25
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds