Auto Recalls for Consumers

MINI COOPER - 2003 MINI COOPER Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by BMW of North America, LLC

There are 277 complaints filed for the 2003 MINI COOPER

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2003 MINI COOPER. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2003 MINI COOPER, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (9) Equipment (1) Power Train (83) Structure (2) Unknown Or Other (5)
Electrical System (19) Exterior Lighting (1) Seats (3) Suspension (4) Vehicle Speed Control (3)
Engine (4) Fuel System Gasoline (3) Service Brakes Hydraulic (3) Tires (2) Visibility (22)
Engine And Engine Cooling (23) Latches Locks Linkages (3) Steering (137)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 26
 
ComplaintDescription

STEERING

1/22/2014 - TULARE, CA
I HAVE AN 03 MINI COOPER BASE MODEL THAT HAD THE IMPENDING POWER STEERING FAILURE. IT HAPPENED SUDDENLY AND WITHOUT ANY INDICATION. LAST JUNE I RECEIVED THE REIMBURSEMENT LETTER, SO I SENT IN MY INFORMATION AND RECEIPT FOR THE REPLACEMENT. AS TIME PASSED AND NO RESPONSE FROM MINI I DECIDED TO CONTACT COSTUMER RELATIONS, NEEDLESS TO SAY THEY HAD NOTHING ON FILE AND SAID IT SHOULD TAKE ANOTHER MONTH TO RECEIVE MY INFO. ANOTHER MONTH PASSED, KEEP IN MIND WE ARE IN AUGUST NOW, NO RESPONSE. CALLED THEM UP AND WAS TOLD MY INFORMATION IS STILL NOT THERE. SO I SENT TWO EMAILS WITH MY RECEIPT IN HOPES THAT IT MIGHT SPEED UP THE PROCESS. ABOUT THREE MONTHS LATER I CALLED AND THEY HAD SAID THEY RECEIVED MY INFORMATION AND THAT THEY HAD SENT IT TO THEIR REIMBURSING DIVISION. TWO DAYS AGO I CALLED AND THEY GAVE ME THE RUN AROUND AGAIN. THIS IS JUST OUTRAGEOUS, IF YOUR GOING TO SEND A LETTER SAY YOU'LL REIMBURSE EVERYONE DO IT IN A TIMELY PROFESSIONAL MANNER. JUST BEFORE ALL THIS HAPPENED I HAD NO PROBLEM WITH MINI. I WAS ACTUALLY THINKING ABOUT BUYING A 4DOOR VERSION OF THE MINI. AFTER THIS INCIDENT I WILL NOT BE PURCHASING A MINI OR BMW FOR THAT MATTER. IN ADDITION I WILL INFLUENCE PEOPLE INTO NOT PURCHASING ANY OF THEIR PRODUCTS. I UNDERSTAND THEY HAD A LOT OF PEOPLE SEND IN LETTERS FOR REIMBURSEMENTS BUT IT IS NOT OK TO LIE TO PEOPLE. I ALSO KNOW I AM NOT THE ONLY ONE WHO HAS HAD THIS ISSUE. I AM TRYING TO CONTACT AS MUCH PEOPLE AS I CAN ABOUT THIS MATTER IN HOPES THAT THIS DOESN'T HAPPEN TO ANYONE ELSE. NOBODY SHOULD HAVE TO DEAL WITH THIS.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

12/26/2013 - WINTHROP, MA
MINI COOPER WITH A CVT AUTO TRANSMISSION: I NOTICED THAT THE ENGINE WOULD "REV." UP WHEN I STEP ON THE GAS PEDAL, AND THE CAR WOULD NOT ACCELERATE. I PULLED OVER AND SHUT OF THE ENGINE, THAN RESTARTED THE ENGINE AND MOVED AHEAD. LATER THE "SLIPPING" HAPPENED AGAIN AND AGAIN; AT ALL SPEEDS AND WITH A COLD OR HOT ENGINE. IN ADDITION, THIS PROBLEM HAS OCCURRED WHILE TRAVELING AT HIGHWAY SPEEDS 55+MPH, AND THIS REQUIRES COASTING OVER TO A BREAKDOWN LANE TO AVOID A COLLISION. THE CONDITION STILL EXISTS AND I AM TRYING TO LOCATE AN INDEPENDENT REPAIR SHOP TO DIAGNOSE THE PROBLEM AND HOPEFULLY RECTIFY THE PROBLEM AT A REASONABLE COST. MINI COOPER DEALERS ARE ASKING BETWEEN $5000 TO $9000.00 TO REPAIR/REPLACE THE TRANSMISSION. I HAVE REASON TO BELIEVE THAT MINI KNEW ABOUT THIS PROBLEM AS EARLY AS 2005. ASIDE FROM DOING WARRANTY REPAIRS NO ATTEMPT HAS BEEN MADE BY MINI TO NOTIFY OWNERS AND/OR OFFER TO REPAIR/REPLACE THESE FAULTY TRANSMISSIONS.

View Details

ENGINE

10/9/2013 - PELHAM, AL
ACCELERATING AFTER BEING STOPPED AT A RED LIGHT, LOST POWER STEERING, SMOKE CAME OUT OF HOOD, ENGINE TEMPERATURE REDLINED, AND BATTERY LIGHT CAME ON.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

10/9/2013 - PELHAM, AL
ACCELERATING AFTER BEING STOPPED AT A RED LIGHT, LOST POWER STEERING, SMOKE CAME OUT OF HOOD, ENGINE TEMPERATURE REDLINED, AND BATTERY LIGHT CAME ON.

View Details

STEERING

10/9/2013 - PELHAM, AL
ACCELERATING AFTER BEING STOPPED AT A RED LIGHT, LOST POWER STEERING, SMOKE CAME OUT OF HOOD, ENGINE TEMPERATURE REDLINED, AND BATTERY LIGHT CAME ON.

View Details

STEERING

9/26/2013 - SAN ANTONIO, TX
WE BOUGHT 2 2003 MINI COOPERS IN 2003. BOTH VEHICLES HAD ELECTRIC POWER STEERING PUMP FAILURES, ONE IN MARCH 09 AT 143060 AND THE OTHER MINI IN JULY 2010 AT 133380. WE RECEIVED THE EPS EXTENDED WARRANTY LETTER AND SENT IN OUR CLAIM, USPS DOCUMENTED DELIVERY TO MINI USA ON JUNE 29, 2013. I HAVE CALLED MINI "CUSTOMER SERVICE" ON AUGUST 8, AUGUST 29, AND TODAY SEPTEMBER 26. NO ONE THERE CAN TELL YOU ANYTHING AND THEY DO NOTHING EXCEPT APOLOGIZING FOR NOT KNOWING ANYTHING. THEY SAY RESPONSES ARE TAKING 12 WEEKS WHICH IS WHERE I AM ON THE CALENDAR. MY REPAIR COSTS WERE IN EXCESS OF $2000. TODAY I AM SENDING A HAND WRITTEN COMPLAINT LETTER WITH COPIES OF ALL RECEIPTS TO JIM MCDOWELL VP MINI USA. NHTSA NEEDS TO FOLLOWUP ON THIS. THE EXTENDED WARRANTY WAS INTENDED TO HEAD OFF A RECALL BUT THEY ARE NOT HANDLING IT IN A PROPER MANNER. TURN UP THE HEAT!

View Details

POWER TRAIN

9/5/2013 - TORRANCE, CA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2003 MINI COOPER. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING AT VARIOUS SPEEDS, A LOUD NOISE EMERGED FROM UNDER THE HOOD. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC FOR DIAGNOSIS WHERE IT WAS STATED THAT THE CVT TRANSMISSION NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED AND THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 58,000. .... UPDATED 10-17-13

View Details

STEERING

8/23/2013 - ELKVIEW, WV
EHPS EXTENDED WARRANTY COVERAGE 4/11, I PURCHASED A 2003 MINI COOPER WITH 88327 MILES. 7/2011 THE POWER STEERING PUMP BEGAN MALFUNCTIONING, WORKING INTERMITTENTLY. I FILED A COMPLAINT WITH THE NHTSA. 5/24/13 I RECEIVED A LETTER FROM MINI USA OFFERING TO REIMBURSE THE COST OF STEERING PUMP REPAIRS. THEY ALSO STATED THAT IT WOULD TAKE 4 -++ 6 WEEKS FOR REIMBURSEMENT. THE ONLY OTHER ITEM IN THE ENVELOPE WAS A CHANGE OF ADDRESS CARD. I CALLED THE TOLL FREE NUMBER AND FOLLOWED THE INSTRUCTIONS. 5/25/13 I MAILED COPIES OF THE LETTER AND THE RECEIPT FOR THE POWER STEERING PUMP. I CALLED THEIR CUSTOMER SERVICE DEPARTMENT ON 7/16/13, WAS PUT ON HOLD SEVERAL TIMES, THEN TOLD THEY DIDN'T HAVE MY RECEIPT. BUT THEY HAD THE EMAIL ADDRESS I HAD HAND WRITTEN ON THE RECEIPT (CORRECTED, AS THE EMAIL ON THE RECEIPT HAD CHANGED.) WHEN I POINTED THAT OUT, HE PUT ME ON HOLD AGAIN, THEN CLAIMED THEY DIDN'T HAVE MY VIN #. HOW, SINCE THEY LOCATED ME FROM THE VIN #? HE INSISTED I SEND IN THE INFORMATION AGAIN, THIS TIME WITH THE VIN# NOTED. I ASKED WHY I HADN'T RECEIVED ANY KIND OF LETTER SAYING MY DOCUMENTATION WAS NOT COMPLETE. HE TOLD ME THE LETTER WAS SENT THE DAY BEFORE MY CALL. 6 WEEKS AFTER THAT CALL, I STILL HAVE NOT RECEIVED ANY LETTER FROM THEM. 7/16/13 I RE- SENT ALL THE DOCUMENTATION. ON 7/26/13 I AGAIN SPOKE WITH CUSTOMER RELATIONS. I WAS TOLD THEY HAD RECEIVED MY COMPLETE PAPERWORK AND ALL OF IT WAS IN THEIR SYSTEM AS OF 7/24/2013. ON 8/23/13 I AGAIN CALLED CUSTOMER RELATIONS. AFTER VERIFYING MY NAME, ADDRESS, EMAIL, AND VIN # HE PUT ME ON HOLD. WHEN HE RETURNED, AT FIRST TRIED TO SAY MY INFORMATION WAS NOT ALL IN YET. I TOLD HIM I HAD SPOKEN WITH [XXX] WHO HAD CONFIRMED THE INFORMATION WAS ALL IN THEIR SYSTEM AS OF JULY 24TH. HE GAVE ME FURTHER RUN-AROUND, WOULD NOT GIVE ANY INDICATION OF WHEN I MIGHT EXPECT PAYMENT AND IN GENERAL STONE WALLED ME. INFORMATION REDACTED PURSUANT TO THE FREEDOM OF INFORMATION ACT (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

View Details

STEERING

8/15/2013 - WATERFORD, MI
LUCKILY, I WAS PULLING OUT OF A PARKING SPACE (LOW SPEED, HIGH MANAGEABILITY) AND MY POWER STEERING COMPLETELY WENT OUT. IT IS VERY DIFFICULT TO MAKE TURNS. I STOPPED AT A MECHANIC SHOP - FLUIDS AND BELTS WERE FINE. IT'S THE FAN/PUMP THAT HAS SUDDENLY QUIT WORKING.

View Details

STEERING

8/9/2013 - SALEM, MA
RE: EHPS EXTENDED WARRANTY COVERAGE I RECEIVED A LETTER FOR EXTENDED WARRANTY COVERAGE FOR A POWER-ASSIST STEERING ISSUE WHICH I HAD ALREADY REPAIRED AT MY OWN EXPENSE. WHEN I CALLED TO INQUIRE, WAS TOLD CLAIMS FOR REIMBURSEMENT WOULD BE PROCESSED IN 6-8 WEEKS. I SUBMITTED MY CLAIM JUNE 12, 2013. YESTERDAY, AUGUST 9, 2013, I CALLED TO INQUIRE ABOUT THE STATUS OF MY CLAIM AND WAS TOLD THAT, DUE TO "OVERWHELMING" RESPONSE, CLAIMS FOR REIMBURSEMENT WERE TAKING MUCH LONGER AND THAT MY CLAIM HAD NO STATUS (MEANING NOTHING HAD BEEN DONE WITH IT). AT MINI'S RECOMMENDATION, I RESUBMITTED A REQUEST FOR REIMBURSEMENT BY EMAIL TODAY. I WOULD LIKE THE NHTSA TO BE AWARE OF THE DELAYED PROCESSING AS I AM SURELY NOT THE ONLY PERSON AFFECTED. [XXX] INFORMATION REDACTED PURSUANT TO THE FREEDOM OF INFORMATION ACT (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 26
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds