Auto Recalls for Consumers

MINI COOPER - 2003 MINI COOPER Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by BMW of North America, LLC

There are 293 complaints filed for the 2003 MINI COOPER

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2003 MINI COOPER. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2003 MINI COOPER, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (10) Equipment (1) Power Train (88) Structure (3) Vehicle Speed Control (4)
Electrical System (20) Exterior Lighting (2) Seats (3) Suspension (6) Visibility (23)
Engine (4) Fuel System Gasoline (3) Service Brakes Hydraulic (3) Tires (2) Visibility Wiper (1)
Engine And Engine Cooling (23) Latches Locks Linkages (3) Steering (145) Unknown Or Other (4)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 28
 
ComplaintDescription

STEERING

12/10/2014 - LA JOLLA, CA
WHILE ADJUSTING THE TILT CONTROL ON MY MINI COOPER, I DISCOVERED THAT THE ENTIRE STEERING COLUMN HAD BECOME LOOSE. UPON INSPECTION, I DISCOVERED THAT TWO METAL BRACKETS USED TO SUPPORT THE STEERING COLUMN AND ATTENDANT ASSEMBLY HAD SHEERED OFF, APPARENTLY UNDER NORMAL USE.

View Details

STEERING

11/26/2014 - FLORISSANT, CO
NIGHT DRIVING IN COLORADO MTNS. LIGHTS BEGAN TO FLICKER AND POWER STEERING FAILED. FOUND SAFE PLACE TO PULL OVER AND TURNED OFF LIGHTS AND ENGINE. RESTARTED AND TURNED LIGHTS BACK ON TO RESUME DRIVING WITHIN A FEW MINUETS LIGHTS FLICKERED AND POWER STEERING FAILED AGAIN. HAD TO CONTINUE FOR SEVERAL MILES UNTIL IT WAS SAFE TO PULL OVER AGAIN. ATTEMPTED TO TURN OFF HEAD LIGHTS AND USE FOG LIGHTS ON COUNTY DIRT ROAD, STILL LIGHTS FLICKERED/DIMMED AND POWER STEERING FAILED. CURRENTLY VEHICLE IS PARKED AND WE ARE ATTEMPTING TO RESEARCH RECALL MATTERS WITH THIS MALFUNCTION. SUPERIOR DRIVING SKILL IS REQUIRED TO OPERATE THIS VEHICLE WITH NONFUNCTIONAL POWER STEERING. AVERAGE OPERATORS WILL HAVE GREAT DIFFICULTY MAINTAINING SAFE OPERATION OF THE AUTOMOBILE. THIS ISSUE WILL LEAD TO LOSS OF LIFE IF NOT ADDRESSED. NEAREST DEALER FOR MINI IS 130 MILES DISTANT.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

11/26/2014 - FLORISSANT, CO
NIGHT DRIVING IN COLORADO MTNS. LIGHTS BEGAN TO FLICKER AND POWER STEERING FAILED. FOUND SAFE PLACE TO PULL OVER AND TURNED OFF LIGHTS AND ENGINE. RESTARTED AND TURNED LIGHTS BACK ON TO RESUME DRIVING WITHIN A FEW MINUETS LIGHTS FLICKERED AND POWER STEERING FAILED AGAIN. HAD TO CONTINUE FOR SEVERAL MILES UNTIL IT WAS SAFE TO PULL OVER AGAIN. ATTEMPTED TO TURN OFF HEAD LIGHTS AND USE FOG LIGHTS ON COUNTY DIRT ROAD, STILL LIGHTS FLICKERED/DIMMED AND POWER STEERING FAILED. CURRENTLY VEHICLE IS PARKED AND WE ARE ATTEMPTING TO RESEARCH RECALL MATTERS WITH THIS MALFUNCTION. SUPERIOR DRIVING SKILL IS REQUIRED TO OPERATE THIS VEHICLE WITH NONFUNCTIONAL POWER STEERING. AVERAGE OPERATORS WILL HAVE GREAT DIFFICULTY MAINTAINING SAFE OPERATION OF THE AUTOMOBILE. THIS ISSUE WILL LEAD TO LOSS OF LIFE IF NOT ADDRESSED. NEAREST DEALER FOR MINI IS 130 MILES DISTANT.

View Details

VISIBILITY/WIPER

11/26/2014 - FLORISSANT, CO
NIGHT DRIVING IN COLORADO MTNS. LIGHTS BEGAN TO FLICKER AND POWER STEERING FAILED. FOUND SAFE PLACE TO PULL OVER AND TURNED OFF LIGHTS AND ENGINE. RESTARTED AND TURNED LIGHTS BACK ON TO RESUME DRIVING WITHIN A FEW MINUETS LIGHTS FLICKERED AND POWER STEERING FAILED AGAIN. HAD TO CONTINUE FOR SEVERAL MILES UNTIL IT WAS SAFE TO PULL OVER AGAIN. ATTEMPTED TO TURN OFF HEAD LIGHTS AND USE FOG LIGHTS ON COUNTY DIRT ROAD, STILL LIGHTS FLICKERED/DIMMED AND POWER STEERING FAILED. CURRENTLY VEHICLE IS PARKED AND WE ARE ATTEMPTING TO RESEARCH RECALL MATTERS WITH THIS MALFUNCTION. SUPERIOR DRIVING SKILL IS REQUIRED TO OPERATE THIS VEHICLE WITH NONFUNCTIONAL POWER STEERING. AVERAGE OPERATORS WILL HAVE GREAT DIFFICULTY MAINTAINING SAFE OPERATION OF THE AUTOMOBILE. THIS ISSUE WILL LEAD TO LOSS OF LIFE IF NOT ADDRESSED. NEAREST DEALER FOR MINI IS 130 MILES DISTANT.

View Details

STEERING: HYDRAULIC POWER ASSIST: PUMP

9/8/2014 - SHERBURNE, NY
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2003 MINI COOPER. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 55 MPH, THE STEERING WHEEL SEIZED. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC WHO STATED THAT THE POWER STEERING PUMP FAILED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED AND THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 113,000.

View Details

POWER TRAIN: AUTOMATIC TRANSMISSION

8/27/2014 - COLORADO SPRINGS , CO
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2003 MINI COOPER. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE TRANSMISSION WARNING LIGHT ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE ENTIRE TRANSMISSION NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 59,000.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

8/20/2014 - ELLSWORTH, KS
ON 08/13/2014, I WAS DRIVING MY 2003 MINI COOPER, CAME TO A STOP LIGHT AND WHEN THE LIGHT CHANGED, I WENT TO START OUT THRU THE INTERSECTION AND LOST ALL POWER-I MANAGED TO GET IT THRU ABOUT THE TIME THE LIGHT HAD TURNED RED, AGAIN! I COASTED TO THE CURB, PUT IT IN PARK, SAT THERE FOR A FEW MINUTES AND TRIED, AGAIN, TO TAKE OFF. IT SEEMED TO BE FINE, THIS TIME,( EXCEPT FOR SOME TAKE-OFF JERKING, AND RPM'S SPIKING).DROVE 42 MILES THEN CAME TO A ONE WAY STOP SIGN AT THE INTERSECTION OF US HWY 40 & US HWY 56, WHEN TRAFFIC CLEARED I WENT TO CROSS THE INTERSECTION AND MY CAR JERKED AND DIED!!! I HAD TO BE PUSHED OUT OF THE INTERSECTION WHILE CROSS TRAFFIC HAD TO STOP & WAIT ON ME! NO WARNING LIGHTS CAME ON, IN FACT, I QUESTIONED WHETHER OR NOT THEY EVEN WORKED. IT'S NOW AT THE DEALERSHIP, WHERE I PURCHASED IT, USED, ON 07/29/2014, GETTING DIAGNOSED.

View Details

STEERING

8/18/2014 - MOUNTLAKE TERRACE, WA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2003 MINI COOPER. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING AT APPROXIMATELY 60 MPH, THE POWER STEERING FAILED WITHOUT WARNING CAUSING THE CONTACT TO NEARLY LOOSE CONTROL OF THE VEHICLE. ADDITIONALLY, THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE POWER STEERING MOTOR REMAINED ACTIVATED ALTHOUGH THE VEHICLE WAS SHUT OFF. AS A RESULT, THE CONTACT HAD TO EJECT THE BATTERY OUT OF THE VEHICLE EVERY TIME THE VEHICLE WAS SHUT OFF BECAUSE THE VEHICLE OVERHEATED AND COULD POTENTIALLY CAUSE A FIRE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 101,000.

View Details

SEATS

8/14/2014 - MASON, OH
DRAIN HOSE FROM SUNROOF DRAIN RUNNING DOWN A-PILLAR CAME DISLODGED THROUGH "NORMAL WEAR AND TEAR" CAUSING MASSIVE FLOODING TO THE INTERIOR OF MY CAR. IT WAS RENDERED UNSERVICEABLE AND TOTALED, ON JUNE 16, 2014, BUT UNCOVERED BY INSURANCE. THIS WAS NOTHING THAT I WAS AWARE OF THAT WAS AN ISSUE, NOR WERE ANY RECALLS EVER ISSUED ON THIS ISSUE. I HAD IT IN TO THE DEALERSHIP IN 2012, 2 YEARS AGO, FOR ELECTRICAL FAILURE, AND THEY THOUGHT IT WAS MERELY THE BATTERY, SO THEY REPLACED IT AND IT SEEMED TO BE FINE, BUT THEY SAID TO KEEP THE BATTERY AS A BACK UP "JUST IN CASE" BECAUSE IT STILL APPEARED TO BE A GOOD BATTERY. THEN LATER IN 2013, I TOOK IT BACK TO THE MINI DEALER FOR GENERAL SERVICE AND I SAID I NOTICED WATER IN THE BOOT (TRUNK) AND FOR THEM TO CHECK THE HATCHBACK SEAL TO SEE IF THERE WAS ANY LEAKS, THEY SAID NO, AND NO FURTHER INVESTIGATION WAS DONE FOR EITHER EVENT. I BELIEVE THAT BOTH THESE EVENTS WERE RESULTS OF THE FAULTY DRAIN HOSE FROM THE A-PILLAR BEING DISLODGED FOR SO LONG. TODAY, THE AUTOMOBILE LEFT MY POSSESSION, TO AN AUCTION HOUSE. I WANTED TO FILE THIS COMPLAINT SO THAT YOU, THE NHTSA CAN PERHAPS HAVE MINI ISSUE A RECALL TO FIX THIS ISSUE AND HAVE THEM CHANGE THEIR VEHICLE'S SUNROOF DRAINAGE SYSTEM SO THAT SOMEONE ELSE DOESN'T HAVE A CAR TOTALLY RUINED BY FLOODING DUE TO THIS DEFECT IN ENGINEERING AND DESIGN. AFTER VIEWING SOME MINI FORUMS, I AM NOT THE ONLY PERSON WHO HAS HAD THIS ISSUE HAS HAPPENED TO THEIR MINI COOPER. I'M VERY SAD, BECAUSE I HAPPENED TO REALLY ENJOY THIS CAR, AND IT WAS TOTALLY FUN TO DRIVE. I WAS ADVISED BY A FRIEND WHO IS A MOTORCYCLE MECHANIC AND MY INSURANCE AGENT TO FILE THIS REPORT WITH YOUR ORGANIZATION, IN HOPES THAT SOMETHING WILL BE DONE ABOUT THIS. TOO MANY PEOPLE DON'T SPEAK UP, AND I AM NOT ONE TO LET SOMETHING DONE WRONG TO ME GO WITHOUT A FIGHT! DO ALL YOU CAN TO RECTIFY THIS ISSUE WITH MINI!

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

8/14/2014 - MASON, OH
DRAIN HOSE FROM SUNROOF DRAIN RUNNING DOWN A-PILLAR CAME DISLODGED THROUGH "NORMAL WEAR AND TEAR" CAUSING MASSIVE FLOODING TO THE INTERIOR OF MY CAR. IT WAS RENDERED UNSERVICEABLE AND TOTALED, ON JUNE 16, 2014, BUT UNCOVERED BY INSURANCE. THIS WAS NOTHING THAT I WAS AWARE OF THAT WAS AN ISSUE, NOR WERE ANY RECALLS EVER ISSUED ON THIS ISSUE. I HAD IT IN TO THE DEALERSHIP IN 2012, 2 YEARS AGO, FOR ELECTRICAL FAILURE, AND THEY THOUGHT IT WAS MERELY THE BATTERY, SO THEY REPLACED IT AND IT SEEMED TO BE FINE, BUT THEY SAID TO KEEP THE BATTERY AS A BACK UP "JUST IN CASE" BECAUSE IT STILL APPEARED TO BE A GOOD BATTERY. THEN LATER IN 2013, I TOOK IT BACK TO THE MINI DEALER FOR GENERAL SERVICE AND I SAID I NOTICED WATER IN THE BOOT (TRUNK) AND FOR THEM TO CHECK THE HATCHBACK SEAL TO SEE IF THERE WAS ANY LEAKS, THEY SAID NO, AND NO FURTHER INVESTIGATION WAS DONE FOR EITHER EVENT. I BELIEVE THAT BOTH THESE EVENTS WERE RESULTS OF THE FAULTY DRAIN HOSE FROM THE A-PILLAR BEING DISLODGED FOR SO LONG. TODAY, THE AUTOMOBILE LEFT MY POSSESSION, TO AN AUCTION HOUSE. I WANTED TO FILE THIS COMPLAINT SO THAT YOU, THE NHTSA CAN PERHAPS HAVE MINI ISSUE A RECALL TO FIX THIS ISSUE AND HAVE THEM CHANGE THEIR VEHICLE'S SUNROOF DRAINAGE SYSTEM SO THAT SOMEONE ELSE DOESN'T HAVE A CAR TOTALLY RUINED BY FLOODING DUE TO THIS DEFECT IN ENGINEERING AND DESIGN. AFTER VIEWING SOME MINI FORUMS, I AM NOT THE ONLY PERSON WHO HAS HAD THIS ISSUE HAS HAPPENED TO THEIR MINI COOPER. I'M VERY SAD, BECAUSE I HAPPENED TO REALLY ENJOY THIS CAR, AND IT WAS TOTALLY FUN TO DRIVE. I WAS ADVISED BY A FRIEND WHO IS A MOTORCYCLE MECHANIC AND MY INSURANCE AGENT TO FILE THIS REPORT WITH YOUR ORGANIZATION, IN HOPES THAT SOMETHING WILL BE DONE ABOUT THIS. TOO MANY PEOPLE DON'T SPEAK UP, AND I AM NOT ONE TO LET SOMETHING DONE WRONG TO ME GO WITHOUT A FIGHT! DO ALL YOU CAN TO RECTIFY THIS ISSUE WITH MINI!

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 28
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds