Auto Recalls for Consumers

MINI COOPER - 2003 MINI COOPER Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by BMW of North America, LLC

There are 300 complaints filed for the 2003 MINI COOPER

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2003 MINI COOPER. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2003 MINI COOPER, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (10) Equipment (1) Power Train (89) Structure (3) Vehicle Speed Control (4)
Electrical System (24) Exterior Lighting (2) Seats (3) Suspension (6) Visibility (23)
Engine (6) Fuel System Gasoline (3) Service Brakes Hydraulic (3) Tires (2) Visibility Wiper (1)
Engine And Engine Cooling (23) Latches Locks Linkages (3) Steering (150) Unknown Or Other (4)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 29
 
ComplaintDescription

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

2/14/2016 - HAWTHORNE, NJ
OUR 2003 MINI COOPER WAS DRIVEN IN OCTOBER 2015 IN FIRST AND SECOND GEAR, IN BUMPER TO BUMPER SLOW TRAFFIC, UPHILL FOR ABOUT A MILE. WHEN WE SHUT THE CAR OFF AND GOT OUT OF IT, A FAN IN THE ENGINE COMPARTMENT CONTINUED TO RUN. WE WENT BACK INTO THE CAR, STARTED IT AGAIN, THEN SHUT IF OFF FOR A SECOND TIME, AND THE FAN CONTINUED TO RUN. THE FAN RAN ABOUT 5 TO 10 MINUTES WHILE THE CAR WAS PARKED. WE HAVE BEEN TOLD THAT THE STAGE 1 COOLING FAN HAS FAILED AND THAT THE STAGE 2 COOLING FAN WAS RUNNING TO COOL DOWN THE ENGINE.

View Details

STEERING

2/11/2016 - SARATOGA SPRINGS, UT
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2003 MINI COOPER. THE CONTACT RECEIVED NOTIFICATION OF NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 15V660000 (STEERING) ; HOWEVER, THE PART FOR THE REPAIR WAS UNAVAILABLE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE MANUFACTURER EXCEEDED A REASONABLE AMOUNT OF TIME FOR THE RECALL REPAIR. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE POWER STEERING FAILED WITHOUT WARNING AT VARIOUS SPEEDS, ESPECIALLY WHEN TURNING THE STEERING WHEEL. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 171,000. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED. THE VIN WAS INVALID. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS UNKNOWN. VIN TOOL CONFIRMS PARTS NOT AVAILABLE.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

2/1/2016 - SUNRISE BEACH, MO
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2003 MINI COOPER. WHILE DRIVING 70 MPH, THE VEHICLE STARTED LOSING POWER. THE ACCELERATOR PEDAL WAS BEING DEPRESSED WITH NO RESPONSE. THE VEHICLE WAS PULLED OVER TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD AND WAS ABLE TO BE DRIVIN HOME AT A LOW RATE OF SPEED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE TRANSMISSION NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE REPAIRS WERE PERFORMED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 86,353. ...UPDATED 04/26/16

View Details

POWER TRAIN

12/31/2015 - NAUGATUCK, CT
THE CAR WOULD NOT EASILY SHIFT GEARS. WHEN I BROUGHT IT TO THE MINI COOPER DEALERSHIP, I WAS TOLD THAT ALL OF THE TRANSMISSION FLUID LEAKED OUT OF THE TRANSMISSION. THE TRANSMISSION IS "SEALED", SO THE TRANSMISSION FLUID CANNOT BE CHECKED OR CHANGED. I WAS TOLD THAT I NEEDED TO REPLACE THE TRANSMISSION AND CLUTCH. THE CAR SHOULD NOT HAVE A SEALED TRANSMISSION IF IT CAN DEVELOP A LEAK SO EASILY.

View Details

STEERING

12/31/2015 - NAUGATUCK, CT
LOST POWER STEERING WITH BURNING SMELL AND LOTS OF SMOKE. AS EVIDENCED ON THE ATTACHED DOCUMENT, THE ENGINE WIRING HARNESS WAS BURNT. THE CAR COULD HAVE LOST ALL POWER. THE REPAIR BILL WAS $4097.91. I WAS WITHOUT A CAR FOR WEEKS WITH NO LOANER CAR OFFERED. NATIONAL MINI COOPER DENIED THAT THIS WAS AN ISSUE. THERE IS NOW A PENDING RECALL. THE NEW PARTS MIGHT ALSO NEED TO BE REPLACED. I WAS DRIVING ON THE HIGHWAY WHEN THIS OCCURRED.

View Details

STEERING

12/15/2015 - SEATTLE, WA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2003 MINI COOPER. THE CONTACT RECEIVED NOTIFICATION OF NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 15V6600000 (STEERING) HOWEVER, THE PART TO DO THE REPAIR WAS UNAVAILABLE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE MANUFACTURER EXCEEDED A REASONABLE AMOUNT OF TIME FOR THE RECALL REPAIR. WHILE DRIVING 5 MPH WHEN ATTEMPTING TO TURN THE VEHICLE, THE STEERING WHEEL MALFUNCTIONED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A LOCAL MECHANIC WHO DIAGNOSED THE VEHICLE, BUT THE RESULTS WERE UNKNOWN. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED AND THE FAILURE RECURRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE ISSUE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS UNKNOWN. VIN TOOL CONFIRMS PARTS NOT AVAILABLE.

View Details

STEERING

9/28/2015 - OXFORD , MS
POWER STEERING FAILED AND DIFFICULT TO STEER. POWER STEERING WOULD THEN CUT IN AND OUT. WARRANTY REPAIR BY MINI DEALER ON SEPTEMBER 16, 2015 REPLACED STEERING PUMP BUT POWER STEERING HOSE LEAK WAS NOT COVERED BY WARRANTY AND CHARGED $607.59 TO DO ALL NECESSARY REPAIRS FOR THE POWER STEERING TO WORK. THE LACK OF CONSISTENCY OF HAVING POWER ASSIST STEERING OR NOT COULD CONTRIBUTE TO AN ACCIDENT SINCE THERE IS NO WAY TO PREDICT THE AMOUNT OF EFFORT TO STEER THE CAR. THE NEEDED POWER STEERING REPAIRS WERE NOT FREE BUT COST $607.59.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

7/11/2015 - DETROIT, MI
THE CAR STALLS(REDUCES SPEED 0-10MPH) IT MAY SHUT COMPLETELY DOWN AT TIMES THIS HAS BEEN THE SAME CONSISTENT PROBLEM SINCE DATE OF PURCHASE THE USED CAR DEALERSHIP HAS BEEN INFORMED OF THIS PROBLEM SINCE DOP AND FOR A MOMENT I THOUGHT THE PROBLEM HAD BEEN SOLVED BUT IT TURNED OUT TO BE A RECALL ON THE POWER STEERING PUMP WHICH WAS REPLACED BACK IN JULY-AUG 2013. THE MINI DEALER ALSO, THOUGHT THEY FOUND THE SOURCE OF THE PROBLEM BUT CONSISTENTLY JUST CHARGED ME MONIES FOR PROBLEM THAT NEVER TURNED OUT TO BE THE SOURCE SO I STOPPED GOING TO THEM. I TRIED TO FILE A LEMON LAW SUIT BUT WAS TOLD I COULDN'T PURSUE BECAUSE STATUTE OF LIMITATIONS. SO LAWYER REF ME TO CONTACT THIS OFFICE AND FILE A CLAIM BECAUSE I'VE SPENT NUMEROUS AMOUNTS OF MONEY AND NOTHING HAS BEEN FIXED I STILL FEEL UNSAFE AND SCARED FOR MY LIFE WHEN I DRIVE BUT I'M LIMITED IN MONEY TO KEEP TRYING TO FIND THE SOURCE THAT'S CAUSING THE PROBLEM. ONE THING NOTED THAT THE CAR ENGINE HAS BEEN REBUILT. ALSO, I'M PAYING A CAR NOTE . PLEASE IF THERE IS ANYWAY YOU CAN'T HELP I FEEL I WAS PREYED UPON AND TAKE. ADVANTAGE OF BECAUSE THE DEALER KNEW THERE WAS A PROBLEM AT THE TIME OF PURCHASE AND WITHHELD IT.

View Details

STEERING

4/26/2015 - OREM, UT
OUR 2003 MINI COOPER HAS ABOUT 120K MILES ON IT. IT WAS COMPLETELY FINE UNTIL RECENTLY WHEN THE POWER STEERING PUMP STARTED WHINING. SOMETIMES IT COMPLETELY STOPPED WORKING AND WE HAD NO POWER STEERING, THANKFULLY THIS WAS WHILE THE CAR WAS PARKED AND NOT WHILE DRIVING. TURNING THE WHEEL IS A LITTLE HARDER THAN USUAL, AND IF YOU TURN IT TOO MUCH, THE CAR BOGS DOWN AND THE REVS GO WAY DOWN. WE'VE TRIED FLUSHING AND REPLACING THE POWER STEERING FLUID, BUT IT DIDN'T SEEM TO HELP. WE'VE EVEN PUT IN SOME EXPENSIVE ADDITIVES THAT PROMISE TO REPAIR THE PROBLEM AND STOP THE NOISE, BUT IT DOESN'T WORK. WE DON'T FEEL SAFE KNOWING THAT OUR POWER STEERING MAY GO OUT AT ANY MOMENT. AND WE CERTAINLY DON'T APPRECIATE THE LOOKS WE GET WHEN WE DRIVE PAST PEOPLE.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

4/22/2015 - ANDERSON , SC
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2003 MINI COOPER. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE GEAR SHIFTER FAILED TO MOVE WHEN ATTEMPTING TO OPERATE THE VEHICLE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 158,000.

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 29
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds