Auto Recalls for Consumers

MITSUBISHI OUTLANDER - 2003 MITSUBISHI OUTLANDER Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Mitsubishi Motors North America, Inc.

There are 112 complaints filed for the 2003 MITSUBISHI OUTLANDER

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2003 MITSUBISHI OUTLANDER. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2003 MITSUBISHI OUTLANDER, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (8) Exterior Lighting (20) Power Train (6) Structure (4) Vehicle Speed Control (4)
Electrical System (9) Fuel Propulsion System (3) Seat Belts (6) Suspension (26) Visibility (6)
Engine (3) Fuel System Gasoline (5) Service Brakes Hydraulic (3) Tires (1) Visibility Wiper (5)
Engine And Engine Cooling (13) Latches Locks Linkages (2) Steering (14) Unknown Or Other (2) Wheels (1)
Equipment (3) Other (2)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 14
 
ComplaintDescription

AIR BAGS

6/24/2019 - BEAUFORT, SC
THE CONTACT OWNED A 2003 MITSUBISHI OUTLANDER. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 35 MPH, THE DRIVER LOST CONTROL OF THE VEHICLE AND CRASHED WHILE ATTEMPTING TO AVOID COLLIDING WITH A DEER. DURING THE CRASH, THE VEHICLE HAD ROLLED OVER AND THE DRIVER WAS KNOCKED UNCONSCIOUS. THE DRIVER SUSTAINED HEAD AND NECK INJURIES, A FRACTURED LEFT SHOULDER AND AN INJURED TORSO AND WAS TRANSPORTED TO THE HOSPITAL. THE VEHICLE WAS DESTROYED AND TOWED AWAY. A POLICE REPORT WAS TAKEN AT THE SCENE. THE CAUSE OF THE FAILURE WAS NOT DETERMINED. THE MANUFACTURER AND LOCAL DEALER WERE NOT NOTIFIED. THE VIN WAS NOT AVAILABLE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 340,000.

View Details

VISIBILITY/WIPER

4/1/2019 - AMARILLO, TX
SINCE THE SECOND YEAR SINCE I+VE OWNED THIS CAR THE TEMPERATURE CONTROL KNOB HAS BEEN FROZEN. THE ONLY WAY YOU CAN TURN THE KNOB IS TO HAVE A MECHANIC MANUALLY TURN THE KNOB UNDERNEATH THE VEHICLE. MITSUBISHI MOTORS ADMITTED THIS WAS A DESIGN FLAW IN 2002 TO 2007 MITSUBISHI LANCERS AND OUTLANDERS. I HAVE CALLED MITSUBISHI MANY TIMES AND SENT LETTERS OF COMPLAINTS BUT THEY WILL NOT DO ANYTHING ABOUT IT BUT LEAVE THE VEHICLES OWNER IN WHAT CAN BE A DANGEROUS SITUATIONS. I+VE HAD TO DRIVE IN EMERGENCY SITUATIONS BEFORE AND THE KNOB WAS STUCK ON AIR CONDITIONING IT WAS FREEZING TEMPERATURES WHERE I WAS DRIVING IN AND YOU COULD NOT USE THE DEFROSTER BE CAUSE IT WAS ON COLD AIR! YOU HAD TO PULL OVER AND SCRAPE THE WINDOW AND CONTINUALLY WIPE THE CLOUDED OVER WINDOW. I PAID $23,000 FOR THIS VEHICLE AND NOT TO HAVE CONTROL OF THE HEAT AND AIR IS REDICULUS! YOU CANNOT ALWAYS GET YOUR VEHICLE INTO A MECHANIC AND HAVE THEM MANUALLY TURN THE HEAT AND AIR KNOB. AND THAT+S ALL YOU HAVE A CHOICE OF IS EITHER HEAT OR COLD AIR. THE HVAC SYSTEM WAS INAPPROPRIATELY DESIGNED BY MITSUBISHI AND THE CABLE FROM THE KNOB BUNCHES UP AND DOES NOT WORK ANYMORE. I THOUGHT NOT BEING ABLE TO USE THE DEFROSTER IS A SAFETY HAZARD. MITSUBISHI NEEDS TO OWN UP TO THIS AND RECALL WHAT HAS AFFECTED 1000S OF VEHICLES. YOU CAN BE IN AN AREA OF THE COUNTRY WHERE YOU NEED THE AIR CONDITIONING AND THEN DRIVE INTO A SNOW STORM AND YOU CAN+T USE THE DEFROSTER UNLESS YOU FIND A MECHANIC IN THE MIDDLE OF THE NIGHT TO CHANGE IT OVER TO HEAT. THIS IS DEFINITELY A SAFETY ISSUE NOT BEING ABLE TO TURN THE KNOB TO THE SETTING YOU NEED AT WILL FOR THE DEFROSTER. VEHICLE OWNERS HAVE COMPLAINED TO MITSUBISHI BUT WILL NOT FIXIT. THIS HAS BEEN AN ONGOING ISSUE WITH MY CAR SINCE 2004. THE PHOTO SHOWS THE HEAT AND AIR CONDITIONING KNOB THAT CAN ONLY BE MANUALLY TURNED BY A MECHANIC.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

4/1/2019 - AMARILLO, TX
SINCE THE SECOND YEAR SINCE I+VE OWNED THIS CAR THE TEMPERATURE CONTROL KNOB HAS BEEN FROZEN. THE ONLY WAY YOU CAN TURN THE KNOB IS TO HAVE A MECHANIC MANUALLY TURN THE KNOB UNDERNEATH THE VEHICLE. MITSUBISHI MOTORS ADMITTED THIS WAS A DESIGN FLAW IN 2002 TO 2007 MITSUBISHI LANCERS AND OUTLANDERS. I HAVE CALLED MITSUBISHI MANY TIMES AND SENT LETTERS OF COMPLAINTS BUT THEY WILL NOT DO ANYTHING ABOUT IT BUT LEAVE THE VEHICLES OWNER IN WHAT CAN BE A DANGEROUS SITUATIONS. I+VE HAD TO DRIVE IN EMERGENCY SITUATIONS BEFORE AND THE KNOB WAS STUCK ON AIR CONDITIONING IT WAS FREEZING TEMPERATURES WHERE I WAS DRIVING IN AND YOU COULD NOT USE THE DEFROSTER BE CAUSE IT WAS ON COLD AIR! YOU HAD TO PULL OVER AND SCRAPE THE WINDOW AND CONTINUALLY WIPE THE CLOUDED OVER WINDOW. I PAID $23,000 FOR THIS VEHICLE AND NOT TO HAVE CONTROL OF THE HEAT AND AIR IS REDICULUS! YOU CANNOT ALWAYS GET YOUR VEHICLE INTO A MECHANIC AND HAVE THEM MANUALLY TURN THE HEAT AND AIR KNOB. AND THAT+S ALL YOU HAVE A CHOICE OF IS EITHER HEAT OR COLD AIR. THE HVAC SYSTEM WAS INAPPROPRIATELY DESIGNED BY MITSUBISHI AND THE CABLE FROM THE KNOB BUNCHES UP AND DOES NOT WORK ANYMORE. I THOUGHT NOT BEING ABLE TO USE THE DEFROSTER IS A SAFETY HAZARD. MITSUBISHI NEEDS TO OWN UP TO THIS AND RECALL WHAT HAS AFFECTED 1000S OF VEHICLES. YOU CAN BE IN AN AREA OF THE COUNTRY WHERE YOU NEED THE AIR CONDITIONING AND THEN DRIVE INTO A SNOW STORM AND YOU CAN+T USE THE DEFROSTER UNLESS YOU FIND A MECHANIC IN THE MIDDLE OF THE NIGHT TO CHANGE IT OVER TO HEAT. THIS IS DEFINITELY A SAFETY ISSUE NOT BEING ABLE TO TURN THE KNOB TO THE SETTING YOU NEED AT WILL FOR THE DEFROSTER. VEHICLE OWNERS HAVE COMPLAINED TO MITSUBISHI BUT WILL NOT FIXIT. THIS HAS BEEN AN ONGOING ISSUE WITH MY CAR SINCE 2004. THE PHOTO SHOWS THE HEAT AND AIR CONDITIONING KNOB THAT CAN ONLY BE MANUALLY TURNED BY A MECHANIC.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

4/1/2019 - AMARILLO, TX
THE ISSUE BEGAN IN 2004 WHEN MY VEHICLE WAS 1 YEAR OLD. THE TEMPERATURE CONTROL KNOB BECAME FROZEN AND YOU COULD NOT TURN IT FROM HEAT TO AIR CONDITIONING OR THE OTHER WAY. I SPENT $23,000 ON THIS CAR AND YOU COULD NOT TURN FROM AIR CONDITIONING TO HEAT AT WILL ONLY A MECHANIC CAN MANUALLY TURN IT UNDERNEATH THE VEHICLE AND THEN ONLY PUT IT ON HOT OR COLD. ONE TIME I WAS DRIVING 600 MILES FOR AN EMERGENCY WITH THE KNOB STUCK ON AIR CONDITIONING AND I WAS NOT ABLE TO TURN IT TO HEAT. IT WAS BELOW FREEZING TEMPERATURES AND THE WINDOW FOGGED UP BECAUSE I WAS NOT ABLE TO PUT THE DEFROSTER ON. I HAD TO CONTINUALLY PULL OVER TO WIPE OFF THE WINDOW AND THE FROST. THERE COULD HAVE BEEN AN ACCIDENT IF I HAD NOT CONTINUALLY PULLED OVER. 2002 TO 2007 LANCERS AND OUTLANDERS HAVE THIS PROBLEM. IT WAS A DESIGN FLAW BY THE MANUFACTURER BUT THEY WILL NOT OWN UP TO THIS DANGEROUS PROBLEM. I HAVE HAD IT TO A MECHANIC MANY TIMES BUT THEY CANNOT FIX IT. I DO NOT UNDERSTAND WHY MITSUBISHI IS NOT FORCED TO FIX THIS FOR CONSUMERS WHEN THIS IS CLEARLY A DANGEROUS PROBLEM IF YOU CANNOT USE THE DEFROSTER. I SHOULD NOT BE MADE TO PAY FOR SOMETHING WHEN IT IS A MANUFACTURING FLAW. THERE ARE 1000S OF VEHICLES ON THE ROAD WITH THIS PROBLEM AND MITSUBISHI WILL NOT OWN UP THAT THIS IS A CLEARLY SAFETY ISSUE. THE CONSUMER HAS NO POWER IN THIS SITUATION I HAVE CALLED CUSTOMER SERVICE AND AM TOLD THEY WILL DO NOTHING ABOUT IT UNLESS IT+S RECALLED. THANK YOU FOR YOUR HELP IN THIS MATTER I HAVE NO PLACE ELSE TO GET HELP WITH THIS AND I CAN+T AFFORD ANOTHER VEHICLE. THIS IS WRONG MITSUBISHI ALLOWS CARS ON THE ROAD WITH THIS PROBLEM AND TURNS A BLIND EYE TO POTENTIALLY DANGEROUS SITUATIONS. THANK YOU FOR YOUR ASSISTANCE.

View Details

VISIBILITY/WIPER

4/1/2019 - AMARILLO, TX
THE ISSUE BEGAN IN 2004 WHEN MY VEHICLE WAS 1 YEAR OLD. THE TEMPERATURE CONTROL KNOB BECAME FROZEN AND YOU COULD NOT TURN IT FROM HEAT TO AIR CONDITIONING OR THE OTHER WAY. I SPENT $23,000 ON THIS CAR AND YOU COULD NOT TURN FROM AIR CONDITIONING TO HEAT AT WILL ONLY A MECHANIC CAN MANUALLY TURN IT UNDERNEATH THE VEHICLE AND THEN ONLY PUT IT ON HOT OR COLD. ONE TIME I WAS DRIVING 600 MILES FOR AN EMERGENCY WITH THE KNOB STUCK ON AIR CONDITIONING AND I WAS NOT ABLE TO TURN IT TO HEAT. IT WAS BELOW FREEZING TEMPERATURES AND THE WINDOW FOGGED UP BECAUSE I WAS NOT ABLE TO PUT THE DEFROSTER ON. I HAD TO CONTINUALLY PULL OVER TO WIPE OFF THE WINDOW AND THE FROST. THERE COULD HAVE BEEN AN ACCIDENT IF I HAD NOT CONTINUALLY PULLED OVER. 2002 TO 2007 LANCERS AND OUTLANDERS HAVE THIS PROBLEM. IT WAS A DESIGN FLAW BY THE MANUFACTURER BUT THEY WILL NOT OWN UP TO THIS DANGEROUS PROBLEM. I HAVE HAD IT TO A MECHANIC MANY TIMES BUT THEY CANNOT FIX IT. I DO NOT UNDERSTAND WHY MITSUBISHI IS NOT FORCED TO FIX THIS FOR CONSUMERS WHEN THIS IS CLEARLY A DANGEROUS PROBLEM IF YOU CANNOT USE THE DEFROSTER. I SHOULD NOT BE MADE TO PAY FOR SOMETHING WHEN IT IS A MANUFACTURING FLAW. THERE ARE 1000S OF VEHICLES ON THE ROAD WITH THIS PROBLEM AND MITSUBISHI WILL NOT OWN UP THAT THIS IS A CLEARLY SAFETY ISSUE. THE CONSUMER HAS NO POWER IN THIS SITUATION I HAVE CALLED CUSTOMER SERVICE AND AM TOLD THEY WILL DO NOTHING ABOUT IT UNLESS IT+S RECALLED. THANK YOU FOR YOUR HELP IN THIS MATTER I HAVE NO PLACE ELSE TO GET HELP WITH THIS AND I CAN+T AFFORD ANOTHER VEHICLE. THIS IS WRONG MITSUBISHI ALLOWS CARS ON THE ROAD WITH THIS PROBLEM AND TURNS A BLIND EYE TO POTENTIALLY DANGEROUS SITUATIONS. THANK YOU FOR YOUR ASSISTANCE.

View Details

ENGINE

11/13/2018 - ROCKLEDGE, PA
CAR HAS BEEN OWNED FOR 10+ YEARS AND HAS BEEN MAINTAINED VERY WELL. GAS MILEAGE HAS DROPPED SINCE 2014. CAR THREW A P420 CODE IN THE YEARS AFTER. CATALYTIC CONVERTER HAS BEEN REPLACED FOUR TIMES IN A YEAR. OXYGEN SENSOR HAS BEEN REPLACED AND NEW EXHAUST HAS BEEN INSTALLED. WE HAVE NOW SEEN THE EXHAUST MANIFOLD HAS A CRACK IN IT. THIS APPEARS TO BE A MANUFACTURER ISSUE.

View Details

AIR BAGS

6/12/2018 - CARMEL, IN
AIR BAGS DID NOT DELPOY DURING CRASH. THE VEHICLE WAS TOTATLED AND I NO LONGER OWN THE VEHICLE.

View Details

AIR BAGS

1/16/2018 - ROSWELL, GA
THE CONTACT OWNED A 2003 MITSUBISHI OUTLANDER. WHILE DRIVING VARIOUS SPEEDS AT NIGHT, THE HEADLIGHTS INTERMITTENTLY ILLUMINATED. THE CONTACT COASTED THE VEHICLE TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD, WAITED A WHILE, AND WAS ABLE TO RESUME DRIVING. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC, BUT WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT TAKEN TO A DEALER. THE MANUFACTURER STATED THAT THE VEHICLE WAS NOT INCLUDED IN A RECALL. IN ADDITION, THE CONTACT CRASHED INTO ANOTHER VEHICLE WHILE DRIVING 30 MPH. THE AIR BAGS FAILED TO DEPLOY. THE CONTACT SUSTAINED HEAD INJURIES THAT REQUIRED MEDICAL ATTENTION. A POLICE REPORT WAS FILED. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO THE CONTACT'S RESIDENCE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT TAKEN TO A DEALER. THE VEHICLE WAS DESTROYED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS CONTACTED. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 160,000.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

1/16/2018 - ROSWELL, GA
THE CONTACT OWNED A 2003 MITSUBISHI OUTLANDER. WHILE DRIVING VARIOUS SPEEDS AT NIGHT, THE HEADLIGHTS INTERMITTENTLY ILLUMINATED. THE CONTACT COASTED THE VEHICLE TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD, WAITED A WHILE, AND WAS ABLE TO RESUME DRIVING. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC, BUT WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT TAKEN TO A DEALER. THE MANUFACTURER STATED THAT THE VEHICLE WAS NOT INCLUDED IN A RECALL. IN ADDITION, THE CONTACT CRASHED INTO ANOTHER VEHICLE WHILE DRIVING 30 MPH. THE AIR BAGS FAILED TO DEPLOY. THE CONTACT SUSTAINED HEAD INJURIES THAT REQUIRED MEDICAL ATTENTION. A POLICE REPORT WAS FILED. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO THE CONTACT'S RESIDENCE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT TAKEN TO A DEALER. THE VEHICLE WAS DESTROYED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS CONTACTED. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 160,000.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

12/11/2017 - BURLINGTON, NJ
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2003 MITSUBISHI OUTLANDER. WHILE ATTEMPTING TO CHECK UNDER THE VEHICLE, THE CONTACT NOTICED THAT THE REAR FRAME WAS ROTTED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO CHERRY HILL MITSUBISHI AT (856) 471-1057 (1805 MARLTON PIKE W, CHERRY HILL, NJ 08002) WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE REAR FRAME NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 80,000.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 14
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds