Auto Recalls for Consumers

NISSAN XTERRA - 2003 NISSAN XTERRA Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Nissan North America, Inc.

There are 57 complaints filed for the 2003 NISSAN XTERRA

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2003 NISSAN XTERRA. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2003 NISSAN XTERRA, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (8) Fuel Propulsion System (2) Power Train (2) Steering (10) Vehicle Speed Control (3)
Electrical System (5) Fuel System Gasoline (9) Service Brakes (1) Structure (5) Visibility (5)
Engine And Engine Cooling (4) Fuel System Other (1) Service Brakes Air (1) Suspension (3) Wheels (2)
Exterior Lighting (2) Parking Brake (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (9) Tires (3)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  ... 5
 
ComplaintDescription

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING

12/28/2012 - OAKDALE, CT
ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON IN 09. VEHICLE FAILED EMISSIONS DUE TO PROBLEM WITH EVAC SYSTEM. GASKET AT FUEL TANK WAS REPLACED. WITHIN A YEAR, ENGINE LIGHT CAME BACK ON. THERE WAS ANOTHER PROBLEM WITH THE EVAC SYSTEM. AFTER $ 862.00 DOLLARS THAT WERE SPENT ON VEHICLE FOR O RING AND GASKET REPAIRS, VEHICLE PASSED EMISSIONS. WITHIN 8 MONTHS, ENGINE LIGHT WAS BACK ON DUE TO EVAC SYSTEM. MECHANIC STATES THAT THERE IS MAJOR CORROSION OF THE FUEL TANK AND THAT HE HAS SEEN THE SAME THING ON MANY NISSAN VEHICLES OF THIS AGE DUE TO THE MATERIAL USED TO CONSTRUCT THE FUEL TANK AND BELIEVES THAT IT IS A WIDESPREAD PROBLEM THAT SHOULD HAVE BEEN RECALLED AND THAT NISSAN STARTED USING A DIFFERENT MATERIAL ONCE THE PROBLEM WAS KNOWN. THE ENTIRE INTERIOR OF THE VEHICLE SMELLS OF GASOLINE AND MECHANIC STATES THAT ANYONE IN CLOSE PROXIMITY OF VEHICLE COULD CAUSE AN EXPLOSION IF A SPARK WAS CREATED.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

12/28/2012 - OAKDALE, CT
ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON IN 09. VEHICLE FAILED EMISSIONS DUE TO PROBLEM WITH EVAC SYSTEM. GASKET AT FUEL TANK WAS REPLACED. WITHIN A YEAR, ENGINE LIGHT CAME BACK ON. THERE WAS ANOTHER PROBLEM WITH THE EVAC SYSTEM. AFTER $ 862.00 DOLLARS THAT WERE SPENT ON VEHICLE FOR O RING AND GASKET REPAIRS, VEHICLE PASSED EMISSIONS. WITHIN 8 MONTHS, ENGINE LIGHT WAS BACK ON DUE TO EVAC SYSTEM. MECHANIC STATES THAT THERE IS MAJOR CORROSION OF THE FUEL TANK AND THAT HE HAS SEEN THE SAME THING ON MANY NISSAN VEHICLES OF THIS AGE DUE TO THE MATERIAL USED TO CONSTRUCT THE FUEL TANK AND BELIEVES THAT IT IS A WIDESPREAD PROBLEM THAT SHOULD HAVE BEEN RECALLED AND THAT NISSAN STARTED USING A DIFFERENT MATERIAL ONCE THE PROBLEM WAS KNOWN. THE ENTIRE INTERIOR OF THE VEHICLE SMELLS OF GASOLINE AND MECHANIC STATES THAT ANYONE IN CLOSE PROXIMITY OF VEHICLE COULD CAUSE AN EXPLOSION IF A SPARK WAS CREATED.

View Details

STEERING

6/4/2012 - LANGHORNE, PA
I WAS NEGOTIATING A CURVE WITH AROUND 45 MPH AND SUDDENLY LOST STEERING CONTROL. THE VEHICLE STARTED TURNING TO THE RIGHT SIDE, I PANICKED AND TRIED TO STEER IT TO THE LEFT ,AND THE VEHICLE TOOK A U TURN AND CAME TO A STOP FACING THE INBOUND VEHICLES. LUCKILY THERE WAS NO OTHER CARS AND I MANAGED TO TAKE DRIVE IT AGAIN. IT NEVER HAPPENED BEFORE AND I HAVE NO IDEA WHAT CAUSES IT. IT WAS REALLY SCARY AND I AM NOT SURE WHAT TO DO ABOUT IT. PLEASE ADVICE. THANKS

View Details

STEERING

5/30/2012 - ALLEN, TX
I DROVE THE VEHICLE ON A FREEWAY UNDER CONSTRUCTION WITH ONE FINISHED NEW PAVEMENT LANE. WHEN I WAS CHANGED THE OTHER OLD LANE TO THE NEW ONE, THE WHEEL SUDDENLY GOT OUT OF CONTROL AND SPUN FROM ONE LANE TO THE OTHER AND ENDED IN THE MIDIUM BUMPED INTO BARRIERS. LATELY I CONTACTED WITH NISSAN AND QUESTION IF THIS IS ASSOCIATED WITH THE RECALL R1037. THEY DENIED.

View Details

WHEELS

5/30/2012 - ALLEN, TX
I DROVE THE VEHICLE ON A FREEWAY UNDER CONSTRUCTION WITH ONE FINISHED NEW PAVEMENT LANE. WHEN I WAS CHANGED THE OTHER OLD LANE TO THE NEW ONE, THE WHEEL SUDDENLY GOT OUT OF CONTROL AND SPUN FROM ONE LANE TO THE OTHER AND ENDED IN THE MIDIUM BUMPED INTO BARRIERS. LATELY I CONTACTED WITH NISSAN AND QUESTION IF THIS IS ASSOCIATED WITH THE RECALL R1037. THEY DENIED.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

5/30/2012 - ALLEN, TX
I DROVE THE VEHICLE ON A FREEWAY UNDER CONSTRUCTION WITH ONE FINISHED NEW PAVEMENT LANE. WHEN I WAS CHANGED THE OTHER OLD LANE TO THE NEW ONE, THE WHEEL SUDDENLY GOT OUT OF CONTROL AND SPUN FROM ONE LANE TO THE OTHER AND ENDED IN THE MIDIUM BUMPED INTO BARRIERS. LATELY I CONTACTED WITH NISSAN AND QUESTION IF THIS IS ASSOCIATED WITH THE RECALL R1037. THEY DENIED.

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE

1/13/2012 - CHARLTON, MA
NISSAN PUT OUT A RECALL ON THE 2003 FUEL SYSTEMS IN REGARDS TO CORRISON THAT COULD OCCUR TO THE FUEL SYSTEM. OUR VEHICLE WAS NOT PART OF THE RECALL. THE FUEL SYSTEM DID CORRODE, CAUSING US TO PAY OUT OF POCKET FOR A NEW TANK, NEW FUEL PUMP. THIS RECALL WAS FOR SALT AREAS, THAT WOULD BE IN MA. WHAT WAS DONE TO FIX THIS PROBLEM DID NOT.

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE

9/6/2011 - CHICAGO, IL
THE CAR DOESN'T SEEM TO BE ACCELERATING PROPERLY DUE TO SOMETHING WRONG WITH THE FUEL SYSTEM OR GASOLINE DELIVERY THERE IS A VIBRATING SOUND AND VIBRATION COMING FROM THE GAS PEDAL. AND THE GASOLINE SMELL IS TERRIBLE. THE GAS PEDAL IS VERY LOOSE AND I DON'T FEEL SAFE DRIVING MY CAR AT THIS TIME.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC

9/6/2011 - CHICAGO, IL
BRAKES FAILED AND THE ABS DIDN'T WORK UNTIL I ALMOST HIT ANOTHER CAR IN FRONT OF ME. THE ABS TRIGGERS WITHOUT ANY NOTICE AND HAS CAUSE ME TO MERGE ONTO THE OTHER LANE. CAUSE MY CAR DOES NOT STOP. THE ABS LIGHT DOESN'T GO ON SO THE MANUFACTURER NISSAN TOLD ME THEY COULDN'T FIND ANY PROBLEMS WITH IT. AND ITS SITTING AT A LOCAL TRUSTWORTHY MECHANIC SHOP WHERE IT WILL BE FIXED FOR THE SERVICE BRAKES AIR-ANTILOCK BRAKE FAILURE. PLEASE HELP WITH A RAPID RECALL SO MY FAMILY COULD GET REIMBURSED FOR THE HUGE EXPENSE OF FIXING A MANUFACTURER PROBLEM.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC

9/6/2011 - CHICAGO, IL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2003 NISSAN XTERRA. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING 35 MPH, THE BRAKES WERE APPLIED AND THE ANTI LOCK BRAKING SYSTEM WAS ENGAGED. THE ANTI LOCK BRAKING LIGHT ALSO ILLUMINATED ON THE INSTRUMENT PANEL DURING THE FAILURE. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN AUTHORIZED DEALER, WHERE THEY WERE UNABLE TO DIAGNOSE A FAILURE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE FAILURE CONTINUED TO OCCUR WHENEVER THE BRAKES WERE ENGAGED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE, BUT OFFERED NO ASSISTANCE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 50,000.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  ... 5
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds