Auto Recalls for Consumers

NISSAN XTERRA - 2003 NISSAN XTERRA Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Nissan North America, Inc.

There are 60 complaints filed for the 2003 NISSAN XTERRA

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2003 NISSAN XTERRA. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2003 NISSAN XTERRA, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (8) Fuel Propulsion System (3) Power Train (2) Steering (10) Unknown Or Other (1)
Electrical System (5) Fuel System Gasoline (9) Service Brakes (1) Structure (6) Vehicle Speed Control (3)
Engine (1) Fuel System Other (1) Service Brakes Air (1) Suspension (3) Visibility (5)
Engine And Engine Cooling (4) Parking Brake (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (9) Tires (3) Wheels (2)
Exterior Lighting (2)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  ... 6
 
ComplaintDescription

STRUCTURE: BODY

6/26/2014 - FLORIDA, NY
RADIATOR IS FALLING OUT OF TRUCK ,DUE TO SERIOUS RUST ON FRAMING, HOOD LATCH IS STARTING TO BREAK FREE HOOD COULD FLY UP ONTO WINDSHIELD .

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

4/24/2014 - FAYETTEVILLE, AR
DURING A DRIVE HOME FROM A WEEKEND IN THE COUNTRY, MY XTERRA BEGAN TO OVERHEAT. A FAINT POP, LIKE A BACKFIRE, HAPPENED. AFTER I HEARD THE NOISE, A CONSISTENT TICKING OR PINGING SOUND STARTED COMING FROM THE RIGHT FRONT SIDE OF MY XTERRA. THE SOUND IS CONSISTENT WITH THE ACCELERATION. ONCE I GOT HOME, I STARTED TO RESEARCH THE ISSUE ONLINE. FOUND THAT 2000-2004 XTERRAS HAVE A VERY COMMON PROBLEM WITH THE EXHAUST MANIFOLD CRACKING DUE TO WEAK MATERIAL. I AM AN ACTIVE MEMBER ON WWW.CLUBXTERRA.ORG AND MANY OTHER MEMBERS REPORT THE SAME ISSUE. THIS IS QUITE A SET BACK FOR MOST PEOPLE AND CAN CAUSE SERIOUS DAMAGE TO THE ENGINE IF IT IS NOT TAKEN CARE OF IN A TIMELY MANNER. NISSAN SHOULD RECOGNIZE THAT THIS IS A MANUFACTURING FAULT AND ISSUE A RECALL. EVERYONE I KNOW THAT OWNS AN XTERRA HAS OR HAD THIS ISSUE.

View Details

ENGINE

4/24/2014 - FAYETTEVILLE, AR
DURING A DRIVE HOME FROM A WEEKEND IN THE COUNTRY, MY XTERRA BEGAN TO OVERHEAT. A FAINT POP, LIKE A BACKFIRE, HAPPENED. AFTER I HEARD THE NOISE, A CONSISTENT TICKING OR PINGING SOUND STARTED COMING FROM THE RIGHT FRONT SIDE OF MY XTERRA. THE SOUND IS CONSISTENT WITH THE ACCELERATION. ONCE I GOT HOME, I STARTED TO RESEARCH THE ISSUE ONLINE. FOUND THAT 2000-2004 XTERRAS HAVE A VERY COMMON PROBLEM WITH THE EXHAUST MANIFOLD CRACKING DUE TO WEAK MATERIAL. I AM AN ACTIVE MEMBER ON WWW.CLUBXTERRA.ORG AND MANY OTHER MEMBERS REPORT THE SAME ISSUE. THIS IS QUITE A SET BACK FOR MOST PEOPLE AND CAN CAUSE SERIOUS DAMAGE TO THE ENGINE IF IT IS NOT TAKEN CARE OF IN A TIMELY MANNER. NISSAN SHOULD RECOGNIZE THAT THIS IS A MANUFACTURING FAULT AND ISSUE A RECALL. EVERYONE I KNOW THAT OWNS AN XTERRA HAS OR HAD THIS ISSUE.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING

12/28/2012 - OAKDALE, CT
ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON IN 09. VEHICLE FAILED EMISSIONS DUE TO PROBLEM WITH EVAC SYSTEM. GASKET AT FUEL TANK WAS REPLACED. WITHIN A YEAR, ENGINE LIGHT CAME BACK ON. THERE WAS ANOTHER PROBLEM WITH THE EVAC SYSTEM. AFTER $ 862.00 DOLLARS THAT WERE SPENT ON VEHICLE FOR O RING AND GASKET REPAIRS, VEHICLE PASSED EMISSIONS. WITHIN 8 MONTHS, ENGINE LIGHT WAS BACK ON DUE TO EVAC SYSTEM. MECHANIC STATES THAT THERE IS MAJOR CORROSION OF THE FUEL TANK AND THAT HE HAS SEEN THE SAME THING ON MANY NISSAN VEHICLES OF THIS AGE DUE TO THE MATERIAL USED TO CONSTRUCT THE FUEL TANK AND BELIEVES THAT IT IS A WIDESPREAD PROBLEM THAT SHOULD HAVE BEEN RECALLED AND THAT NISSAN STARTED USING A DIFFERENT MATERIAL ONCE THE PROBLEM WAS KNOWN. THE ENTIRE INTERIOR OF THE VEHICLE SMELLS OF GASOLINE AND MECHANIC STATES THAT ANYONE IN CLOSE PROXIMITY OF VEHICLE COULD CAUSE AN EXPLOSION IF A SPARK WAS CREATED.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

12/28/2012 - OAKDALE, CT
ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON IN 09. VEHICLE FAILED EMISSIONS DUE TO PROBLEM WITH EVAC SYSTEM. GASKET AT FUEL TANK WAS REPLACED. WITHIN A YEAR, ENGINE LIGHT CAME BACK ON. THERE WAS ANOTHER PROBLEM WITH THE EVAC SYSTEM. AFTER $ 862.00 DOLLARS THAT WERE SPENT ON VEHICLE FOR O RING AND GASKET REPAIRS, VEHICLE PASSED EMISSIONS. WITHIN 8 MONTHS, ENGINE LIGHT WAS BACK ON DUE TO EVAC SYSTEM. MECHANIC STATES THAT THERE IS MAJOR CORROSION OF THE FUEL TANK AND THAT HE HAS SEEN THE SAME THING ON MANY NISSAN VEHICLES OF THIS AGE DUE TO THE MATERIAL USED TO CONSTRUCT THE FUEL TANK AND BELIEVES THAT IT IS A WIDESPREAD PROBLEM THAT SHOULD HAVE BEEN RECALLED AND THAT NISSAN STARTED USING A DIFFERENT MATERIAL ONCE THE PROBLEM WAS KNOWN. THE ENTIRE INTERIOR OF THE VEHICLE SMELLS OF GASOLINE AND MECHANIC STATES THAT ANYONE IN CLOSE PROXIMITY OF VEHICLE COULD CAUSE AN EXPLOSION IF A SPARK WAS CREATED.

View Details

STEERING

6/4/2012 - LANGHORNE, PA
I WAS NEGOTIATING A CURVE WITH AROUND 45 MPH AND SUDDENLY LOST STEERING CONTROL. THE VEHICLE STARTED TURNING TO THE RIGHT SIDE, I PANICKED AND TRIED TO STEER IT TO THE LEFT ,AND THE VEHICLE TOOK A U TURN AND CAME TO A STOP FACING THE INBOUND VEHICLES. LUCKILY THERE WAS NO OTHER CARS AND I MANAGED TO TAKE DRIVE IT AGAIN. IT NEVER HAPPENED BEFORE AND I HAVE NO IDEA WHAT CAUSES IT. IT WAS REALLY SCARY AND I AM NOT SURE WHAT TO DO ABOUT IT. PLEASE ADVICE. THANKS

View Details

WHEELS

5/30/2012 - ALLEN, TX
I DROVE THE VEHICLE ON A FREEWAY UNDER CONSTRUCTION WITH ONE FINISHED NEW PAVEMENT LANE. WHEN I WAS CHANGED THE OTHER OLD LANE TO THE NEW ONE, THE WHEEL SUDDENLY GOT OUT OF CONTROL AND SPUN FROM ONE LANE TO THE OTHER AND ENDED IN THE MIDIUM BUMPED INTO BARRIERS. LATELY I CONTACTED WITH NISSAN AND QUESTION IF THIS IS ASSOCIATED WITH THE RECALL R1037. THEY DENIED.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

5/30/2012 - ALLEN, TX
I DROVE THE VEHICLE ON A FREEWAY UNDER CONSTRUCTION WITH ONE FINISHED NEW PAVEMENT LANE. WHEN I WAS CHANGED THE OTHER OLD LANE TO THE NEW ONE, THE WHEEL SUDDENLY GOT OUT OF CONTROL AND SPUN FROM ONE LANE TO THE OTHER AND ENDED IN THE MIDIUM BUMPED INTO BARRIERS. LATELY I CONTACTED WITH NISSAN AND QUESTION IF THIS IS ASSOCIATED WITH THE RECALL R1037. THEY DENIED.

View Details

STEERING

5/30/2012 - ALLEN, TX
I DROVE THE VEHICLE ON A FREEWAY UNDER CONSTRUCTION WITH ONE FINISHED NEW PAVEMENT LANE. WHEN I WAS CHANGED THE OTHER OLD LANE TO THE NEW ONE, THE WHEEL SUDDENLY GOT OUT OF CONTROL AND SPUN FROM ONE LANE TO THE OTHER AND ENDED IN THE MIDIUM BUMPED INTO BARRIERS. LATELY I CONTACTED WITH NISSAN AND QUESTION IF THIS IS ASSOCIATED WITH THE RECALL R1037. THEY DENIED.

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE

1/13/2012 - CHARLTON, MA
NISSAN PUT OUT A RECALL ON THE 2003 FUEL SYSTEMS IN REGARDS TO CORRISON THAT COULD OCCUR TO THE FUEL SYSTEM. OUR VEHICLE WAS NOT PART OF THE RECALL. THE FUEL SYSTEM DID CORRODE, CAUSING US TO PAY OUT OF POCKET FOR A NEW TANK, NEW FUEL PUMP. THIS RECALL WAS FOR SALT AREAS, THAT WOULD BE IN MA. WHAT WAS DONE TO FIX THIS PROBLEM DID NOT.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  ... 6
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds