Auto Recalls for Consumers

NISSAN XTERRA - 2003 NISSAN XTERRA Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Nissan North America, Inc.

There are 66 complaints filed for the 2003 NISSAN XTERRA

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2003 NISSAN XTERRA. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2003 NISSAN XTERRA, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (9) Exterior Lighting (2) Parking Brake (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (9) Tires (4)
Electrical System (5) Fuel Propulsion System (2) Power Train (2) Steering (11) Vehicle Speed Control (3)
Engine (3) Fuel System Gasoline (10) Service Brakes (1) Structure (8) Visibility (5)
Engine And Engine Cooling (7) Fuel System Other (1) Service Brakes Air (1) Suspension (3) Wheels (2)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  ... 6
 
ComplaintDescription

AIR BAGS

10/14/2016 - SUNTER, SC
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2003 NISSAN XTERRA. WHILE DRIVING 55 MPH, THE CONTACT CRASHED INTO THE REAR OF ANOTHER VEHICLE. THE AIR BAGS FAILED TO DEPLOY. THE CONTACT SUSTAINED NECK AND BACK INJURIES, BUT DID NOT REQUIRE MEDICAL ATTENTION. A POLICE REPORT WAS FILED. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO A TOWING LOT. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 160,000.

View Details

ENGINE

6/12/2016 - RICHFIELD, WI
JUNE 12 2016 AT THE TRI-PAR IN SLINGER, WI I WAS FILLING UP THE GAS TANK, WHEN GAS BEGAN SPILLING OUT OF THE VEHICLE'S WHEEL WELL. I IMMEDIATELY STOPPED IT AFTER I NOTICED IT. THE STATION ALONG WITH THE SLINGER FIRE DEPARTMENT ESTIMATED A GALLON WAS SPILT. IT APPEARS THE VEHICLE'S GAS TANK NECK HAS RUSTED OUT. THEY DEEMED THE VEHICLE NOT SAFE TO DRIVE AND RECOMMEND WE HAVE IT TOWED HOME, WHICH WE DID.

View Details

STEERING

3/7/2016 - WILMINGTON, DE
I WAS DRIVING TO WORK ONE DAY AND WHILE I WAS TURNING CORNERS I FELT IT WAS GETTING HARDER TO STEER. I STOP AT THE RED LIGHT AND WHEN DROVE OFF AGAIN I WAS GOING MAYBE 5-10 MPH, I TURNED LEFT AND I WAS GOING TO STRAIGHTEN THE CAR UP THE CAR STARTED TO SWURVE AND BEAR TO THE LEFT. I TRIED TO REGAIN CONTROL BUT THE CAR WOULD NOT RESPOND I ENDED UP CRASHING INTO A POLE.

View Details

TIRES: TEMPORARY/EMERGENCY SPARE TIRE

3/22/2015 - CANON CITY, CO
CALLED ROADSIDE ASSISTANCE TO CHANGE A TIRE. THE SPARE TIRE RUBBER WAS BURNED IN THREE OR MORE PLACES FROM THE HEAT SPREADING UNDER THE VEHICLE, AND THE CHAR/MELTING/BURNING WENT THROUGH THE VEHICLE BODY FROM THE BOTTOM OF THE VEHICLE OUTSIDE TO THE FLOOR INSIDE. THE MAN CHANGING MY TIRE SUGGESTED IT WAS A FIRE WAITING TO HAPPEN AND THAT THERE COULD BE A RECALL FOR THIS SORT OF ISSUE. I CHECKED AND DO NOT SEE ANYTHING LISTED. MY TIRED IS NOW DAMAGED FROM THE HEAT MELTING THE RUBBER, AND MY VEHICLE IS CHARRED IN PLACES.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

3/22/2015 - CANON CITY, CO
CALLED ROADSIDE ASSISTANCE TO CHANGE A TIRE. THE SPARE TIRE RUBBER WAS BURNED IN THREE OR MORE PLACES FROM THE HEAT SPREADING UNDER THE VEHICLE, AND THE CHAR/MELTING/BURNING WENT THROUGH THE VEHICLE BODY FROM THE BOTTOM OF THE VEHICLE OUTSIDE TO THE FLOOR INSIDE. THE MAN CHANGING MY TIRE SUGGESTED IT WAS A FIRE WAITING TO HAPPEN AND THAT THERE COULD BE A RECALL FOR THIS SORT OF ISSUE. I CHECKED AND DO NOT SEE ANYTHING LISTED. MY TIRED IS NOW DAMAGED FROM THE HEAT MELTING THE RUBBER, AND MY VEHICLE IS CHARRED IN PLACES.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING: EXHAUST SYSTEM: EMISSION CONTROL: CATALYTIC CONVERTOR

9/5/2014 - MAGNOLIA, TX
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2003 NISSAN XTERRA. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE REAR DRIVER AND PASSENGER SIDE CATALYTIC CONVERTERS FAILED. THE CONTACT ALSO MENTIONED THE EGR SYSTEM FAILED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 120,000.

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE

7/4/2014 - DEL RIO , TX
WE WERE DRIVING ON VACATION AND THE CAR STOPPED. IT STARTED BACK UP AND THEN AFTER A COUPLE OF MILES STOPPED AGAIN. WE WERE STRANDED AND DIDN'T GET HOME FOR THREE DAYS.I HAVE TAKE CODES OFF THE ENGINE AND IT SHOWED A 0462 CODE. WENT BACK TO GET XTERRA WITH A CAR DOLLY AND DOLLY BROKE AND CAR CAME UNDONE. THIS UNFORTUNATE INCIDENT WAS A DIRECT RESULT OF A BAD SENDING UNIT.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING

6/26/2014 - FLORIDA, NY
RADIATOR IS FALLING OUT OF TRUCK ,DUE TO SERIOUS RUST ON FRAMING, HOOD LATCH IS STARTING TO BREAK FREE HOOD COULD FLY UP ONTO WINDSHIELD .

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

6/26/2014 - FLORIDA, NY
RADIATOR IS FALLING OUT OF TRUCK ,DUE TO SERIOUS RUST ON FRAMING, HOOD LATCH IS STARTING TO BREAK FREE HOOD COULD FLY UP ONTO WINDSHIELD .

View Details

ENGINE

4/24/2014 - FAYETTEVILLE, AR
DURING A DRIVE HOME FROM A WEEKEND IN THE COUNTRY, MY XTERRA BEGAN TO OVERHEAT. A FAINT POP, LIKE A BACKFIRE, HAPPENED. AFTER I HEARD THE NOISE, A CONSISTENT TICKING OR PINGING SOUND STARTED COMING FROM THE RIGHT FRONT SIDE OF MY XTERRA. THE SOUND IS CONSISTENT WITH THE ACCELERATION. ONCE I GOT HOME, I STARTED TO RESEARCH THE ISSUE ONLINE. FOUND THAT 2000-2004 XTERRAS HAVE A VERY COMMON PROBLEM WITH THE EXHAUST MANIFOLD CRACKING DUE TO WEAK MATERIAL. I AM AN ACTIVE MEMBER ON WWW.CLUBXTERRA.ORG AND MANY OTHER MEMBERS REPORT THE SAME ISSUE. THIS IS QUITE A SET BACK FOR MOST PEOPLE AND CAN CAUSE SERIOUS DAMAGE TO THE ENGINE IF IT IS NOT TAKEN CARE OF IN A TIMELY MANNER. NISSAN SHOULD RECOGNIZE THAT THIS IS A MANUFACTURING FAULT AND ISSUE A RECALL. EVERYONE I KNOW THAT OWNS AN XTERRA HAS OR HAD THIS ISSUE.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  ... 6
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds