Auto Recalls for Consumers

PONTIAC GRAND AM - 2003 PONTIAC GRAND AM Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 303 complaints filed for the 2003 PONTIAC GRAND AM

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2003 PONTIAC GRAND AM. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2003 PONTIAC GRAND AM, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (19) Equipment (3) Latches Locks Linkages (3) Service Brakes Air (1) Tires (1)
Communications (2) Exterior Lighting (65) Power Train (4) Service Brakes Hydraulic (11) Unknown Or Other (5)
Electrical System (131) Fuel Propulsion System (4) Seat Belts (2) Steering (12) Vehicle Speed Control (33)
Electronic Stability Control (2) Fuel System Gasoline (10) Seats (2) Structure (11) Visibility (15)
Engine (13) Fuel System Other (3) Service Brakes (4) Suspension (8) Wheels (1)
Engine And Engine Cooling (25) Interior Lighting (2)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 30
 
ComplaintDescription

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

1/12/2015 - HOBART, IN
NORMALLY THE ANTI THEFT SYSTEM KICKS ON AND THE SECURITY LIGHT BLINKS AND YOU HAVE TO PUT THE KEY IN THE ON POSITION FOR TEN MIN. AND WAIT FOR THE SECURITY SYSTEM TO RESET. IT WAS -7 DEGREES OUTSIDE AND I THOUGHT I WAITED EXACTLY TEN MIN. BUT MAYBE IT WAS TOO EARLY. IF YOU DON'T WAIT TEN MIN. EXACTLY THEN YOU HAVE TO RESTART THE PROCEDURE ALL OVER AGAIN. I HAD MY INFANT IN THE CAR, WHICH MADE THINGS WORST. I GOT STRANDED AT THE GROCERY STORE RIGHT WHEN THEY CLOSED SO ME AND MY SON HAD TO WAIT 20 MIN. FOR THE SECURITY LIGHT TO RESET. THIS IS A KNOWN ISSUE FOR ALL GRAND AMS RANGING FROM 1998 TO 2003 ITS CALLED A PASSLOCK SYSTEM MALFUNCTION. I DON'T KNOW HOW MANY OTHER PPL. REPORTED THIS ISSUE BUT I JUST WANT TO MAKE SURE I PITCH IN TO GET THIS ISSUE KNOWN. I'VE BEEN STRANDED IN BAD PARTS OF CHICAGO BEFORE AND AT THE WORST TIMES. HOPE THIS HELPS. HERE IS A FORUM LINK TO SEE ALL THE OTHER PPL WHO ARE DEALING WITH ISSUE. ITS 40 PAGES LONG. PLEASE LOOK INTO THIS. IT SHOULD BE A RECALL, AND THIS ISN'T THE ONLY SITE WHERE PPL ARE COMPLAINING. SEARCH GOOGLE, YOUTUBE, YAHOO QUESTIONS AND YOU WILL SEE ITS HAPPENING TO EVERYONE. HTTP://FORUMS.EDMUNDS.COM/DISCUSSION/15929/PONTIAC/GRAND-AM/PONTIAC-GRAND-AM-SECURITY-PASSLOCK-PROBLEMS/P3.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

1/2/2015 - CENTERLINE, MI
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2003 PONTIAC GRAND AM. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING AT 45 MPH, THE VEHICLE INDEPENDENTLY DECELERATED WITHOUT WARNING. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 77,000. UPDATED 2/24/15

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

12/30/2014 - SUN LAKES, AZ
2003 PONTIAC SAFETY RECALL NOTICE-THE KEY RING IS CARRYING ADDED WEIGHT AND THE VEHICLE GOES OFF ROAD OR EXPERIENCES SOME OTHER JARRING EVENT, IT MAY UNINTENTIONALLY MOVE THE KEY AWAY FROM THE "RUN" POSITION. ACCORDING TO THE REPAIR INVOICE, THE STARTER ASSEMBLY WAS REPLACED.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

12/22/2014 - TUCSON , AZ
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2003 PONTIAC GRAND AM. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING AT 60 MPH, THE EMERGENCY HAZARD LIGHTS WERE INOPERABLE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS UNKNOWN.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING: TURN SIGNAL

12/10/2014 - TUCSON, AZ
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2003 PONTIAC GRAND AM. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 35 MPH AND MAKING A RIGHT TURN, THE TURN SIGNAL LIGHT FAILED TO ILLUMINATE ON THE EXTERIOR AND INTERIOR OF THE VEHICLE. THE FAILURE RECURRED SEVERAL TIMES. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 100,000.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

11/18/2014 - WEST LAWN, PA
I HAVE BEEN HAVING ISSUES WITH THE ELECTRICAL SYSTEMS IN MY CAR FOR THE LAST 1-1/2 YEARS. WHEN I TURN ON THE CAR THE DASH LIGHTS/HEADLIGHTS/RADIO/WINDOWS AND HEATER/AC USUALLY WON'T WORK RIGHT AWAY. WHILE I AM DRIVING, THEY WILL POP ON OR OFF DEPENDING ON THE BUMPS ON THE ROAD. SIX MONTHS AGO, THE "SECURITY" LIGHT ON MY DASH STARTED TO GIVE ME TROUBLE. APPARENTLY, THE CAR SOMETIMES THINKS THAT I AM NOT USING THE CORRECT IGNITION KEY AND WON'T START. I NOW HAVE TO BUDGET AN EXTRA 10 MINUTES INTO MY DRIVE TIME EVERYWHERE I GO ON THE CHANCE THAT THE CAR'S SECURITY SYSTEM NEEDS TO RESET ITSELF (I HAD TO FIND THE "FIX" TO THIS ISSUE ON YOUTUBE.COM WHICH ANOTHER GM CAR OWNER POSTED, SINCE THERE WAS NOTHING REMOTELY HELPFUL ABOUT IT IN MY OWNER'S MANUAL). I WENT TO A DEALER TO GET THE INSERT TO MY KEYS AND IT HAS NOT SOLVED ANY OF THESE PROBLEMS. MY BIGGEST FEAR IS TAKING MY CAR ON HIGHWAYS SINCE THESE ISSUES STILL EXIST, AND I AM DEATHLY AFRAID OF THE POSSIBILITY OF THE KEY MOVING OUT OF THE "RUN" POSITION AND STOPPING COMPLETELY WHICH I AM AWARE HAS HAPPENED TO OTHER GM VEHICLES THAT HAS CAUSED ACCIDENTS AND FATALITIES.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

11/18/2014 - WEST LAWN, PA
I HAVE BEEN HAVING ISSUES WITH THE ELECTRICAL SYSTEMS IN MY CAR FOR THE LAST 1-1/2 YEARS. WHEN I TURN ON THE CAR THE DASH LIGHTS/HEADLIGHTS/RADIO/WINDOWS AND HEATER/AC USUALLY WON'T WORK RIGHT AWAY. WHILE I AM DRIVING, THEY WILL POP ON OR OFF DEPENDING ON THE BUMPS ON THE ROAD. SIX MONTHS AGO, THE "SECURITY" LIGHT ON MY DASH STARTED TO GIVE ME TROUBLE. APPARENTLY, THE CAR SOMETIMES THINKS THAT I AM NOT USING THE CORRECT IGNITION KEY AND WON'T START. I NOW HAVE TO BUDGET AN EXTRA 10 MINUTES INTO MY DRIVE TIME EVERYWHERE I GO ON THE CHANCE THAT THE CAR'S SECURITY SYSTEM NEEDS TO RESET ITSELF (I HAD TO FIND THE "FIX" TO THIS ISSUE ON YOUTUBE.COM WHICH ANOTHER GM CAR OWNER POSTED, SINCE THERE WAS NOTHING REMOTELY HELPFUL ABOUT IT IN MY OWNER'S MANUAL). I WENT TO A DEALER TO GET THE INSERT TO MY KEYS AND IT HAS NOT SOLVED ANY OF THESE PROBLEMS. MY BIGGEST FEAR IS TAKING MY CAR ON HIGHWAYS SINCE THESE ISSUES STILL EXIST, AND I AM DEATHLY AFRAID OF THE POSSIBILITY OF THE KEY MOVING OUT OF THE "RUN" POSITION AND STOPPING COMPLETELY WHICH I AM AWARE HAS HAPPENED TO OTHER GM VEHICLES THAT HAS CAUSED ACCIDENTS AND FATALITIES.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

11/12/2014 - SAGINAW, MI
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2003 PONTIAC GRAND AM. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE FAILED TO START. THE CONTACT MENTIONED THAT SEVERAL ATTEMPTS HAD TO BE MADE BEFORE THE VEHICLE RESTARTED. HOWEVER, THE FAILURE RECURRED ON NUMEROUS OCCASIONS. THE INDEPENDENT MECHANIC DIAGNOSED THAT THE IGNITION SWITCH FAILED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 53,000.

View Details

STEERING

11/10/2014 - WASHINGTON, DC
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2003 PONTIAC GRAND AM. THE CONTACT STATED WHILE DRIVING OVER A BUMP AT APPROXIMATELY 25 MPH, THE STEERING WHEEL SEIZED AND THE BRAKES FAILED. AS A RESULT, THE CONTACT SIDE SWIPED ANOTHER VEHICLE ON THE PASSENGER SIDE AND CRASHED INTO A CONCRETE RIDGE BEFORE COMING TO A STOP. ALSO, THE CONTACT ADDED THAT DUE TO THE FAILURE ONE OF THE TIRES BLEW. THE CONTACT DID NOT SUSTAIN ANY INJURIES AND A POLICE REPORT WAS FILED. THE VEHICLE HAD NOT BEEN TAKEN TO THE DEALER. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE VIN WAS INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 14V400000 (ELECTRICAL SYSTEM). THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS UNAVAILABLE.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

11/10/2014 - WASHINGTON, DC
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2003 PONTIAC GRAND AM. THE CONTACT STATED WHILE DRIVING OVER A BUMP AT APPROXIMATELY 25 MPH, THE STEERING WHEEL SEIZED AND THE BRAKES FAILED. AS A RESULT, THE CONTACT SIDE SWIPED ANOTHER VEHICLE ON THE PASSENGER SIDE AND CRASHED INTO A CONCRETE RIDGE BEFORE COMING TO A STOP. ALSO, THE CONTACT ADDED THAT DUE TO THE FAILURE ONE OF THE TIRES BLEW. THE CONTACT DID NOT SUSTAIN ANY INJURIES AND A POLICE REPORT WAS FILED. THE VEHICLE HAD NOT BEEN TAKEN TO THE DEALER. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE VIN WAS INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 14V400000 (ELECTRICAL SYSTEM). THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS UNAVAILABLE.

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 30
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds