Auto Recalls for Consumers

PONTIAC GRAND AM - 2003 PONTIAC GRAND AM Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 309 complaints filed for the 2003 PONTIAC GRAND AM

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2003 PONTIAC GRAND AM. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2003 PONTIAC GRAND AM, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (19) Equipment (3) Latches Locks Linkages (3) Service Brakes Air (1) Tires (1)
Communications (2) Exterior Lighting (66) Power Train (4) Service Brakes Hydraulic (11) Unknown Or Other (6)
Electrical System (135) Fuel Propulsion System (5) Seat Belts (2) Steering (12) Vehicle Speed Control (33)
Electronic Stability Control (3) Fuel System Gasoline (10) Seats (2) Structure (11) Visibility (15)
Engine (14) Fuel System Other (3) Service Brakes (5) Suspension (8) Wheels (1)
Engine And Engine Cooling (25) Interior Lighting (2)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 31
 
ComplaintDescription

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

4/30/2015 - EAST GRAND FORKS, MN
VEHICLE HAS BEEN "REPAIRED" AS PER NHTSA RECALL #14V400000 WITHIN THE LAST TWO (2) MONTHS. ON WEDNESDAY APRIL 29, 2015, AT APPROXIMATELY 7:30 PM CDST, WHEN DRIVING THE VEHICLE IS SHUT OFF AGAIN JUST AS IT DID PRIOR TO THE RECALL "REPAIR". KEYS ON KEY CHAIN ARE MINIMAL (6). VEHICLE RESTARTED WITH NO FURTHER ISSUE OR INDICATION THAT THERE WAS A ISSUE WITH THE ENGINE (NO CHECK ENGINE LIGHT, ETC.).

View Details

ENGINE

4/30/2015 - EAST GRAND FORKS, MN
VEHICLE HAS BEEN "REPAIRED" AS PER NHTSA RECALL #14V400000 WITHIN THE LAST TWO (2) MONTHS. ON WEDNESDAY APRIL 29, 2015, AT APPROXIMATELY 7:30 PM CDST, WHEN DRIVING THE VEHICLE IS SHUT OFF AGAIN JUST AS IT DID PRIOR TO THE RECALL "REPAIR". KEYS ON KEY CHAIN ARE MINIMAL (6). VEHICLE RESTARTED WITH NO FURTHER ISSUE OR INDICATION THAT THERE WAS A ISSUE WITH THE ENGINE (NO CHECK ENGINE LIGHT, ETC.).

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

4/24/2015 - RALEIGH, NC
MY DAUGHTER WAS DRIVING MY WIFE'S 2003 PONTIAC GRAND AM AND THE ACCELERATOR STUCK, ALMOST CAUSING A SERIOUS ACCIDENT IN HEAVY TRAFFIC. WHEN THE ACCELERATOR IS PRESSED, IT NOW FAILS TO RETURN TO THE IDLE POSITION, REQUIRING ONE TO PHYSICALLY PULL THE PEDAL BACK UP. AFTER THE NEAR ACCIDENT, MY DAUGHTER DID SOME RESEARCH AND DISCOVERED THAT THERE HAD BEEN A RECALL FOR STICKING ACCELERATOR ON THE 2003 PONTIAC GRAND AM, BUT WE HAVE NEVER BEEN CONTACTED ABOUT THE RECALL. I CALLED PONTIAC ON THE TOLL FREE NUMBER LISTED ON THE RECALL NOTICE ON YOUR SITE AND THEY TOLD ME THAT THEY WOULD DO NOTHING TO FIX THE PROBLEM. AFTER ASKING TO SPEAK TO A SUPERVISOR SEVERAL TIMES, I WAS FINALLY CONNECTED TO THE SUPERVISOR WHO ALSO SAID THEY WOULD DO NOTHING. I TOLD HER THAT THERE HAD BEEN A RECALL AND SHE SAID THERE WASN'T A RECALL FOR THE ACCELERATOR ON A 2003 GRAND AM. I GAVE HER THE RECALL NUMBER AND SHE SAID SHE COULDN'T FIND ANYTHING ON THAT RECALL, AND THAT THE CAR WAS TOO OLD SO PONTIAC WASN'T GOING TO PAY ANYTHING TO HAVE IT FIXED. SHE SAID I WOULD NEED TO PAY FOR IT MYSELF AND IF THEY EVER DID ISSUE A RECALL AND I KEPT THE RECEIPTS, THEY WOULD ISSUE A REFUND. THE CAR IS NOW TOTALLY UNSAFE TO DRIVE AND THERE ARE MANY MORE PEOPLE WITH THE SAME MODEL CAR WHOSE LIVES MAY WELL BE IN DANGER BECAUSE OF THIS ISSUE.

View Details

ENGINE

4/11/2015 - CLINTON TWP , MI
MY IGNITION CYLINDER SWITCH IS MAKING MY CAR TO STALL AND SHUT OFF WHILE I AM DRIVING AND I HAD IT REPLACE ON 4/8/15 AND WAS DRIVING AND IT NOT FIX, MY CAR HAS CUT OFF ON ME WHILE DRIVER 3 TIME SINCE I GOT IT FROM THE DEALERSHIP I AM NOT DRIVING IT AND WHAT THE DEALERSHIP TO SEND A TOW TO PICK THE CAR UP. I AM NOT SAFE IN THE CAR AND SPENT $377.00 FOR LABOR AND THE PART FOR IT NOT TO FUNCTION CORRECTLY. I HAD MY KEY REPLACED ON A RECALL AND WHEN I GOT THAT SERVICE MY IGNITION LOCKED AND THE KEY WOULD NOT TURN THE CAR ON.

View Details

AIR BAGS

3/30/2015 - PONTIAC, MI
THE CONTACT OWNED A 2003 PONTIAC GRAND AM. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THERE WAS A SUDDEN LOSS OF POWER AND THE STEERING WHEEL BECAME EXTREMELY TIGHT AND DIFFICULT TO TURN. THE CONTACT APPLIED FORCE TO THE BRAKE PEDAL WHICH DID NOT STOP THE VEHICLE, CAUSING THE CONTACT TO VEER TO THE RIGHT AND CRASH INTO A CURB AND THEN A STOP SIGN. THE AIR BAGS DID NOT DEPLOY. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT INSPECTED OR REPAIRED. THE VEHICLE WAS DESTROYED. A POLICE REPORT WAS FILED. THE CONTACT SUSTAINED HEAD INJURIES AND WHIPLASH, WHICH REQUIRED MEDICAL ATTENTION. THE CONTACT RECEIVED NOTIFICATION OF NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 14V400000 (ELECTRICAL SYSTEM), BUT EXPERIENCED THE FAILURE BEFORE THE RECALL REPAIR WAS PERFORMED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 139,000. UPDATED 5/29/15 THE CONSUMER HIT A CURB THEN A FIRE HYDRANT. UPDATED 04/05/16.

View Details

STEERING

3/30/2015 - PONTIAC, MI
THE CONTACT OWNED A 2003 PONTIAC GRAND AM. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THERE WAS A SUDDEN LOSS OF POWER AND THE STEERING WHEEL BECAME EXTREMELY TIGHT AND DIFFICULT TO TURN. THE CONTACT APPLIED FORCE TO THE BRAKE PEDAL WHICH DID NOT STOP THE VEHICLE, CAUSING THE CONTACT TO VEER TO THE RIGHT AND CRASH INTO A CURB AND THEN A STOP SIGN. THE AIR BAGS DID NOT DEPLOY. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT INSPECTED OR REPAIRED. THE VEHICLE WAS DESTROYED. A POLICE REPORT WAS FILED. THE CONTACT SUSTAINED HEAD INJURIES AND WHIPLASH, WHICH REQUIRED MEDICAL ATTENTION. THE CONTACT RECEIVED NOTIFICATION OF NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 14V400000 (ELECTRICAL SYSTEM), BUT EXPERIENCED THE FAILURE BEFORE THE RECALL REPAIR WAS PERFORMED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 139,000. UPDATED 5/29/15 THE CONSUMER HIT A CURB THEN A FIRE HYDRANT. UPDATED 04/05/16.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

3/2/2015 - DREUSTER, OH
TL CONTACT OWNS 2003 PONTIAC GRAND AM. THE CONTACT STATED THAT AFTER THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED UNDER NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 14V4000 (ELECTRICAL SYSTEM), THE VEHICLE FAILED TO START. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER. THE TECHNICIAN DIAGNOSED THAT THE VEHICLE NEEDED A NEW IGNITION. THE MANUFACTURER WAS CONTACTED, WHO STATED THAT THE IGNITION WAS NOT INCLUDED IN THE RECALL. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 179,000.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

1/16/2015 - CINNALINE, MI
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2003 PONTIAC GRAND AM. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING 45 MPH, THE VEHICLE STALLED AND ALL THE INSTRUMENT PANEL WARNING LIGHTS ILLUMINATED .THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO THE DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE IGNITION SWITCH NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE VIN WAS NOT INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 14V400000 (ELECTRICAL SYSTEM). THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 80,400.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

1/12/2015 - HOBART, IN
NORMALLY THE ANTI THEFT SYSTEM KICKS ON AND THE SECURITY LIGHT BLINKS AND YOU HAVE TO PUT THE KEY IN THE ON POSITION FOR TEN MIN. AND WAIT FOR THE SECURITY SYSTEM TO RESET. IT WAS -7 DEGREES OUTSIDE AND I THOUGHT I WAITED EXACTLY TEN MIN. BUT MAYBE IT WAS TOO EARLY. IF YOU DON'T WAIT TEN MIN. EXACTLY THEN YOU HAVE TO RESTART THE PROCEDURE ALL OVER AGAIN. I HAD MY INFANT IN THE CAR, WHICH MADE THINGS WORST. I GOT STRANDED AT THE GROCERY STORE RIGHT WHEN THEY CLOSED SO ME AND MY SON HAD TO WAIT 20 MIN. FOR THE SECURITY LIGHT TO RESET. THIS IS A KNOWN ISSUE FOR ALL GRAND AMS RANGING FROM 1998 TO 2003 ITS CALLED A PASSLOCK SYSTEM MALFUNCTION. I DON'T KNOW HOW MANY OTHER PPL. REPORTED THIS ISSUE BUT I JUST WANT TO MAKE SURE I PITCH IN TO GET THIS ISSUE KNOWN. I'VE BEEN STRANDED IN BAD PARTS OF CHICAGO BEFORE AND AT THE WORST TIMES. HOPE THIS HELPS. HERE IS A FORUM LINK TO SEE ALL THE OTHER PPL WHO ARE DEALING WITH ISSUE. ITS 40 PAGES LONG. PLEASE LOOK INTO THIS. IT SHOULD BE A RECALL, AND THIS ISN'T THE ONLY SITE WHERE PPL ARE COMPLAINING. SEARCH GOOGLE, YOUTUBE, YAHOO QUESTIONS AND YOU WILL SEE ITS HAPPENING TO EVERYONE. HTTP://FORUMS.EDMUNDS.COM/DISCUSSION/15929/PONTIAC/GRAND-AM/PONTIAC-GRAND-AM-SECURITY-PASSLOCK-PROBLEMS/P3.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

1/2/2015 - CENTERLINE, MI
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2003 PONTIAC GRAND AM. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING AT 45 MPH, THE VEHICLE INDEPENDENTLY DECELERATED WITHOUT WARNING. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 77,000. UPDATED 2/24/15 UPDATED 9/12/2017

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 31
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds