Auto Recalls for Consumers

PONTIAC GRAND AM - 2003 PONTIAC GRAND AM Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 278 complaints filed for the 2003 PONTIAC GRAND AM

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2003 PONTIAC GRAND AM. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2003 PONTIAC GRAND AM, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (15) Equipment (3) Latches Locks Linkages (3) Service Brakes Air (1) Tires (1)
Communications (2) Exterior Lighting (61) Power Train (4) Service Brakes Hydraulic (11) Unknown Or Other (7)
Electrical System (117) Fuel Propulsion System (2) Seat Belts (2) Steering (11) Vehicle Speed Control (32)
Electronic Stability Control (1) Fuel System Gasoline (10) Seats (2) Structure (10) Visibility (14)
Engine (9) Fuel System Other (3) Service Brakes (4) Suspension (8) Wheels (1)
Engine And Engine Cooling (25) Interior Lighting (2)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 28
 
ComplaintDescription

VISIBILITY: DEFROSTER/DEFOGGER SYSTEM

10/31/2014 - LA FOLLETTE , TN
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2003 PONTIAC GRAND AM. THE CONTACT STATED THE DASHBOARD DETERIORATED AND THE WINDOW DEFROSTER WAS INOPERABLE. ALSO, THE PASSENGER SIDE AIR BAG COMPARTMENT WAS DETACHED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT TAKEN TO A DEALER OR INDEPENDENT MECHANIC. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 90,000.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

10/31/2014 - BATH , NY
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2003 PONTIAC GRAND AM. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE KEY BECAME LODGED IN THE IGNITION SWITCH AND FAILED TO TURN OVER TO THE ON POSITION. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN AUTHORIZED DEALER. THE TECHNICIAN REPLACED THE IGNITION SWITCH AND THE TUMBLERS. HOWEVER, THE FAILURE RECURRED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN BACK TO DEALER WHO REPLACED THE KEY. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS NOT AVAILABLE.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM: IGNITION: SWITCH

10/31/2014 - BATH , NY
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2003 PONTIAC GRAND AM. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE KEY BECAME LODGED IN THE IGNITION SWITCH AND FAILED TO TURN OVER TO THE ON POSITION. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN AUTHORIZED DEALER. THE TECHNICIAN REPLACED THE IGNITION SWITCH AND THE TUMBLERS. HOWEVER, THE FAILURE RECURRED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN BACK TO DEALER WHO REPLACED THE KEY. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS NOT AVAILABLE.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

10/29/2014 - NEW OXFORD, PA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2003 PONTIAC GRAND AM. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING AT APPROXIMATELY 30 MPH, THE VEHICLE STALLED. THE VEHICLE WAS ABLE TO RESTART AND THE ANTI-THEFT SECURITY LIGHT ILLUMINATED. THE CONTACT ALSO STATED THAT THE IGNITION SWITCH WAS DIFFICULT TO TURN. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 115,000.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM: IGNITION: ANTI-THEFT CONTROLLER

10/29/2014 - NEW OXFORD, PA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2003 PONTIAC GRAND AM. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING AT APPROXIMATELY 30 MPH, THE VEHICLE STALLED. THE VEHICLE WAS ABLE TO RESTART AND THE ANTI-THEFT SECURITY LIGHT ILLUMINATED. THE CONTACT ALSO STATED THAT THE IGNITION SWITCH WAS DIFFICULT TO TURN. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 115,000.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

10/16/2014 - ALBANY, NY
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2003 PONTIAC GRAND AM. THE CONTACT RECEIVED NOTIFICATION OF NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 14V400000 (ELECTRICAL SYSTEM) HOWEVER, THE PART TO DO THE REPAIR WAS UNAVAILABLE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE MANUFACTURER EXCEEDED A REASONABLE AMOUNT OF TIME FOR THE RECALL REPAIR. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE ISSUE. THE CONTACT HAD NOT EXPERIENCE A FAILURE.

View Details

ENGINE

9/16/2014 - CLAWSON, MI
04/08 I READ AN ARTICLE IN THE DETROIT FREE PRESS ABOUT GM SETTLING A CALIFORNIA CLASS ACTION LAWSUIT FOR $29 MILLION RELATED TO THEIR LONG LIFE DEX COOLANT LISTING POSSIBLY 1.3 MILLION GM VEHICLES WITH THE POTENTIAL FOR CROSS CONTAMINATION OF OIL & COOLANT DUE TO THEIR DEX COOLANT DISSOLVING THE SILICONE INTAKE MANIFOLD GASKET.OWNING BOTH THIS 03 AND A 99 GRAND AM GT ON THE LIST I CONTACTED PONTIAC CUSTOMER ASSISTANCE TO ASK WHY NO NOTICE WAS GIVEN BUT THEY SIMPLY PLAYED DUMB AND DELAYED AND DEFLECTED MY CONCERNS FOR MONTHS. THEY INSISTED I TAKE MY CARS TO MY LOCAL DEALER AND PAY FOR THE DIAGNOSIS! I RESPONDED I HAVE 29 MILLION REASONS WHY I SHOULDN'T HAVE TO.FINALLY AFTER BEING STONEWALLED FOR MONTHS I TOOK A DAY OFF WORK 11/08 AND TOOK MY 99 TO SOMERSET PONTIAC IN TROY,MI AND AFTER 1ST BEING DENIED ANY FREE INSPECTION THE SERVICE MGR. HAD A MECHANIC COME TO THE WRITE UP AREA,POP THE HOOD,UNSCREW THE OIL CAP REVEALING A BROWN FROTH HE SAID"YEAP YOU HAVE THAT PROBLEM" BUT REFUSED ANY SERVICE UNLESS GM STEPPED UP TO THE PLATE AS THEY HAD PUT UNDISCLOSED SELF IMPOSED LIMITS ON CLAIMS SUCH AS LESS THAN 10 YEARS,70,000 MILES AND A 10/19/08 FILING DEADLINE.THE 03 MET ALL RESTRICTION EXCEPT THE DEADLINE BUT MY ESCALATION TO THE DISTRICT SERVICE MGR.PAID NO DIVIDENDS.WHEN GM WENT INTO BANKRUPTCY I FIGURED NO SENSE KICKING A DEAD HORSE AND PAID TO HAVE THE GASKET REPLACED ON THE 99 AT A COST JUST OVER $800 & HOPED ANNUAL NON DEX COOLANT REPLACEMENTS & REGULAR OIL CHANGES MIGHT AVOID THE SAME PROBLEM IN THE 03 BUT AN OIL CHANGE AT MATTHEW HARGRAEVES CHEVY ON 2/12 DISCOVERED OIL IN THE COOLANT.FURTHER ONLINE SETTLEMENT RESEARCH REVEALED THAT THE BANKRUPTCY COURT FORCED GM TO EXTEND THE CLAIM DEADLINE TO 9/30/09 MAKING MY CLAIM ON THE 03 COMPLETELY VALID.BUT AGAIN MY EFFORTS THRU THE DEALERSHIP,GM CUSTOMER SERVICE & UP TO THE MANAGER OF STRATEGY& REPUTION FELL ON DEAF EARS.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

9/16/2014 - CLAWSON, MI
04/08 I READ AN ARTICLE IN THE DETROIT FREE PRESS ABOUT GM SETTLING A CALIFORNIA CLASS ACTION LAWSUIT FOR $29 MILLION RELATED TO THEIR LONG LIFE DEX COOLANT LISTING POSSIBLY 1.3 MILLION GM VEHICLES WITH THE POTENTIAL FOR CROSS CONTAMINATION OF OIL & COOLANT DUE TO THEIR DEX COOLANT DISSOLVING THE SILICONE INTAKE MANIFOLD GASKET.OWNING BOTH THIS 03 AND A 99 GRAND AM GT ON THE LIST I CONTACTED PONTIAC CUSTOMER ASSISTANCE TO ASK WHY NO NOTICE WAS GIVEN BUT THEY SIMPLY PLAYED DUMB AND DELAYED AND DEFLECTED MY CONCERNS FOR MONTHS. THEY INSISTED I TAKE MY CARS TO MY LOCAL DEALER AND PAY FOR THE DIAGNOSIS! I RESPONDED I HAVE 29 MILLION REASONS WHY I SHOULDN'T HAVE TO.FINALLY AFTER BEING STONEWALLED FOR MONTHS I TOOK A DAY OFF WORK 11/08 AND TOOK MY 99 TO SOMERSET PONTIAC IN TROY,MI AND AFTER 1ST BEING DENIED ANY FREE INSPECTION THE SERVICE MGR. HAD A MECHANIC COME TO THE WRITE UP AREA,POP THE HOOD,UNSCREW THE OIL CAP REVEALING A BROWN FROTH HE SAID"YEAP YOU HAVE THAT PROBLEM" BUT REFUSED ANY SERVICE UNLESS GM STEPPED UP TO THE PLATE AS THEY HAD PUT UNDISCLOSED SELF IMPOSED LIMITS ON CLAIMS SUCH AS LESS THAN 10 YEARS,70,000 MILES AND A 10/19/08 FILING DEADLINE.THE 03 MET ALL RESTRICTION EXCEPT THE DEADLINE BUT MY ESCALATION TO THE DISTRICT SERVICE MGR.PAID NO DIVIDENDS.WHEN GM WENT INTO BANKRUPTCY I FIGURED NO SENSE KICKING A DEAD HORSE AND PAID TO HAVE THE GASKET REPLACED ON THE 99 AT A COST JUST OVER $800 & HOPED ANNUAL NON DEX COOLANT REPLACEMENTS & REGULAR OIL CHANGES MIGHT AVOID THE SAME PROBLEM IN THE 03 BUT AN OIL CHANGE AT MATTHEW HARGRAEVES CHEVY ON 2/12 DISCOVERED OIL IN THE COOLANT.FURTHER ONLINE SETTLEMENT RESEARCH REVEALED THAT THE BANKRUPTCY COURT FORCED GM TO EXTEND THE CLAIM DEADLINE TO 9/30/09 MAKING MY CLAIM ON THE 03 COMPLETELY VALID.BUT AGAIN MY EFFORTS THRU THE DEALERSHIP,GM CUSTOMER SERVICE & UP TO THE MANAGER OF STRATEGY& REPUTION FELL ON DEAF EARS.

View Details

AIR BAGS

9/12/2014 - INDIANAPOLIS, IN
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2003 PONTIAC GRAND AM. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 20 MPH, THE CONTACT'S VEHICLE REAR ENDED THE PRECEDING VEHICLE. THE AIR BAGS FAILED TO DEPLOY. THE SUFFERED INJURIES AND A POLICE REPORT WAS NOT FILED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED AND THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 139,000. UPDATED 12/01/14 UPDATED 01/27/15

View Details

AIR BAGS

9/7/2014 - PUEBLO, CO
TUESDAY, 24 APR 2007 1500 HOURS AFTER WORKDAY ENDED, I-25 SOUTHBOUND AT COLORADO MILE MARKER 104 RIGHT LANE, WEATHER PARTLY CLOUDY WITH PARTLY WET ROADWAY, THE PONTIAC GRAND AM 2003 I WAS DRIVING AT 55 MPH STARTED FRONT DRIVE SHAKING. THE VEHICLE RAN OFF THE RIGHT SIDE OF THE HIGHWAY AND ROLLED ONE AND ONE-HALF TIMES IN THE BORROW DITCH. UPSIDE DOWN RESTRAINED BY THE SEAT BELT, I NOTICED THE PONTIAC'S AIR BAGS HAD NOT DEPLOYED AND THE ENGINE WAS NOT RUNNING. AFTER UNBUCKLING THE SEATBELT, I, WITH A SCARRED FOREHEAD, CLIMBED THROUGH THE DRIVERS SIDE BROKEN OUT WINDOW AND EXITED THE VEHICLE. THE COLORADO STATE PATROL ARRIVED, INVESTIGATED , HAD THE VEHICLE TOWED TO THE SALVAGE YARD, AND SENT ME TO THE LOCAL HOSPITAL, AN OUTPATIENT FOR THE FOREHEAD SCAR. 3 JUL 2014 NHTSA RECALL 14V400 AND GM RECALL N140350 UNINTENDED KEY ROTATION FOR MY 1999-2005 PONTIAC GRAND AM.

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 28
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds