Auto Recalls for Consumers

PONTIAC GRAND AM - 2003 PONTIAC GRAND AM Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 244 complaints filed for the 2003 PONTIAC GRAND AM

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2003 PONTIAC GRAND AM. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2003 PONTIAC GRAND AM, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (12) Exterior Lighting (57) Latches Locks Linkages (3) Service Brakes Air (1) Tires (1)
Communications (2) Fuel Propulsion System (2) Power Train (4) Service Brakes Hydraulic (11) Unknown Or Other (5)
Electrical System (91) Fuel System Gasoline (8) Seat Belts (2) Steering (9) Vehicle Speed Control (30)
Engine (6) Fuel System Other (3) Seats (2) Structure (7) Visibility (13)
Engine And Engine Cooling (25) Interior Lighting (2) Service Brakes (2) Suspension (8) Wheels (1)
Equipment (3)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 23
 
ComplaintDescription

ENGINE

1/2/2013 - PORTLAND, OR
HI, MY GRANDAM OVERHEATED WHILE I WAS DRIVING. I NOTICED THAT THE COOLANT COMPARTMENT WAS EMPTY. I DID NOT RECEIVE A LOW COOLANT WARNING FROM THE CAR SYSTEM. I HAD TOPPED OFF MY COOLANT COMPARTMENT ABOUT TWO MONTHS AGO. WHEN I LOOK AT THE ENGINE BLOCK, I CAN SEE THAT THERE IS A TRAIL OF COOLANT COMING OUT THE ENGINE GASKET. I DID SOME GOOGLING AND NOTICED THAT THIS IS A COMMON PROBLEM WITH THE GRANDAMS AND THAT THERE WAS A CLASS ACTION LAWSUIT FILED AGAINST GM A COUPLE YEARS AGO. I DO NOT FEEL SAFE DRIVING THIS VEHICLE AS I WORRY IF THE ENGINE WILL CATCH FIRE.

View Details

STEERING

10/12/2012 - SAGINAW, MI
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2003 PONTIAC GRAND-AM. THE CONTACT STATED THAT HE ATTEMPTED TO START THE VEHICLE BUT IT FAILED TO TURN OVER. THE CONTACT MENTIONED THAT HE ATTEMPTED TO RESTART THE VEHICLE MULTIPLE TIMES. ALSO, THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE HORN WOULD GO OFF BY ITSELF AT DIFFERENT HOURS OF THE DAY AND IN ORDER TO DEACTIVATE IT HE HAD TO PUSH ON THE HORN MULTIPLE TIMES. IN ADDITION, THE CONTACT ALSO MENTIONED THAT THE STEERING WHEEL DID NOT LOCK AFTER SHUTTING THE VEHICLE OFF. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC WHO WAS UNABLE TO DIAGNOSE THE PROBLEM. HOWEVER, THE MECHANIC ADVISED THE CONTACT THAT THE FAILURE MIGHT BE CAUSE BY AN ELECTRICAL ISSUE AND HE WOULD NEED TO CONSULT WITH HIS LOCAL DEALER. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE VIN WAS NOT AVAILABLE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 30,000 AND THE CURRENT MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 50,000.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

10/12/2012 - SAGINAW, MI
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2003 PONTIAC GRAND-AM. THE CONTACT STATED THAT HE ATTEMPTED TO START THE VEHICLE BUT IT FAILED TO TURN OVER. THE CONTACT MENTIONED THAT HE ATTEMPTED TO RESTART THE VEHICLE MULTIPLE TIMES. ALSO, THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE HORN WOULD GO OFF BY ITSELF AT DIFFERENT HOURS OF THE DAY AND IN ORDER TO DEACTIVATE IT HE HAD TO PUSH ON THE HORN MULTIPLE TIMES. IN ADDITION, THE CONTACT ALSO MENTIONED THAT THE STEERING WHEEL DID NOT LOCK AFTER SHUTTING THE VEHICLE OFF. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC WHO WAS UNABLE TO DIAGNOSE THE PROBLEM. HOWEVER, THE MECHANIC ADVISED THE CONTACT THAT THE FAILURE MIGHT BE CAUSE BY AN ELECTRICAL ISSUE AND HE WOULD NEED TO CONSULT WITH HIS LOCAL DEALER. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE VIN WAS NOT AVAILABLE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 30,000 AND THE CURRENT MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 50,000.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

10/11/2012 - SOUTH GATE, MI
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2003 PONTIAC GRAND AM. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE ANTI-THEFT SECURITY SYSTEM ENGAGED ERRONEOUSLY, PREVENTING HIM FROM STARTING THE VEHICLE. THE CONTACT MENTIONED THAT THE ANTI-THEFT WARNING LAMP ILLUMINATED AND HE HAD TO RESTART THE VEHICLE IN ORDER TO RESET THE SYSTEM. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE WHO DID NOT OFFER ANY ASSISTANCE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 60,0000 AND THE CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 160,000. UPDATED 11/13/12 THE CONSUMER STATED HE MUST WAIT 10 MINUNTES TO RESTART THE VEHICLE. THIS OCCURS VERY FREQUENTLY. THE DEALER WOULD NOT SERVICE VEHICLE UNTIL A $100 FEE WAS PAID. UPDATED 11/27/2012

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

10/4/2012 - COALDALE, PA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2003 PONTIAC GRAND AM. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE TURN SIGNAL SWITCH FAILED. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE TURN SIGNAL WOULD WORK WHEN THE HAZARD LIGHTS WERE ON, BUT NOT DURING NORMAL DRIVING. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER WHO VERIFIED THAT THE SWITCH NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE AND CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 87,950.

View Details

VISIBILITY: DEFROSTER/DEFOGGER SYSTEM

9/29/2012 - WILMINGTON , OH
WE BEGAN HAVING PROBLEMS STARTING OUR CAR, THE SECURITY LIGHT WAS ON AND STAYED ON. SOME DAYS IT WOULD START AND OTHERS IT WOULDN'T AND THEN IT EVENTUALLY WOULD NOT START AT ALL. AFTER BEING IN THE SHOP FOR A WEEK AND STUMPING THE MECHANICS, WE STILL HAVE NOT SOLVED THE ISSUE. EVERYTHING HAS BEEN CHECKED FROM THE FUEL PUMP TO THE SENSORS AND THEY ALL TESTED GOOD. OUR IGNITION WENT BAD AND SINCE WE HAD IT REPLACED IT HAS BEEN BAD. THIS CAR HAS LEFT US STRANDED PLACES WITH THREE SMALL KIDS. WE HAVE TO LEAVE THE KEY IN THE ON POSITION FOR ABOUT TEN MINUTES THEN TURN TO OFF THEN START AND SOMETIMES IT TAKES THREE OR FOUR TIMES BEFORE IT WORKS.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

9/29/2012 - WILMINGTON , OH
WE BEGAN HAVING PROBLEMS STARTING OUR CAR, THE SECURITY LIGHT WAS ON AND STAYED ON. SOME DAYS IT WOULD START AND OTHERS IT WOULDN'T AND THEN IT EVENTUALLY WOULD NOT START AT ALL. AFTER BEING IN THE SHOP FOR A WEEK AND STUMPING THE MECHANICS, WE STILL HAVE NOT SOLVED THE ISSUE. EVERYTHING HAS BEEN CHECKED FROM THE FUEL PUMP TO THE SENSORS AND THEY ALL TESTED GOOD. OUR IGNITION WENT BAD AND SINCE WE HAD IT REPLACED IT HAS BEEN BAD. THIS CAR HAS LEFT US STRANDED PLACES WITH THREE SMALL KIDS. WE HAVE TO LEAVE THE KEY IN THE ON POSITION FOR ABOUT TEN MINUTES THEN TURN TO OFF THEN START AND SOMETIMES IT TAKES THREE OR FOUR TIMES BEFORE IT WORKS.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

8/27/2012 - COLFAX, IL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2003 PONTIAC GRAND AM. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE IGNITION FAILED TO RECOGNIZE THE KEY. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER WHO DIAGNOSED THAT THE FAILURE WAS DUE TO AN ELECTRICAL SHORT IN THE STEERING COLUMN. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE VIN WAS NOT AVAILABLE. THE FAILURE AND CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 115,000.

View Details

STRUCTURE

7/31/2012 - TOMPKINSVILLE, KY
DASHBOARD LIFTING AND CURLING UP ON DRIVERS SIDE OBSTRUCTING DRIVERS VIEW. IT HAS GOTTEN WORSE OVER THE PAST YEARS, THERES BEEN MANY MANY COMPLAINTS ABOUT THIS PROBLEM..

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING: HAZARD FLASHING WARNING LIGHTS: UNIT

6/15/2012 - CHAMBERSBURG, PA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2003 PONTIAC GRAND AM. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE TURN SIGNALS WOULD ONLY WORK INTERMITTENTLY. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A LOCAL MECHANIC WHO DIAGNOSED THAT THE FOUR-WAY FLASHER WAS DEFECTIVE AND NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE WHO DID NOT OFFER ANY ASSISTANCE SINCE HIS VEHICLE WAS NOT INCLUDED IN ANY RECALLS. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 55,000 AND THE CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 55,518. UPDATED 06/28/12 UPDATED 06/29/12

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 23
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds