Auto Recalls for Consumers

PONTIAC GRAND AM - 2003 PONTIAC GRAND AM Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 230 complaints filed for the 2003 PONTIAC GRAND AM

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2003 PONTIAC GRAND AM. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2003 PONTIAC GRAND AM, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (9) Exterior Lighting (57) Latches Locks Linkages (3) Service Brakes Air (1) Tires (1)
Communications (2) Fuel Propulsion System (1) Power Train (4) Service Brakes Hydraulic (11) Unknown Or Other (3)
Electrical System (84) Fuel System Gasoline (8) Seat Belts (2) Steering (9) Vehicle Speed Control (27)
Engine (5) Fuel System Other (3) Seats (2) Structure (7) Visibility (13)
Engine And Engine Cooling (25) Interior Lighting (2) Service Brakes (2) Suspension (8) Wheels (1)
Equipment (3)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 22
 
ComplaintDescription

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

4/30/2012 - MOUNT STERLING , IL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2003 PONTIAC GRAND AM . THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING 35 MPH AND MAKING A TURN, THE TURN SIGNALS FAILED TO ILLUMINATE. THE CONTACT ACTIVATED THE EMERGENCY HAZARD LIGHTS SO THAT THE TURNING SIGNALS WOULD FUNCTION. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT TAKEN TO AN AUTHORIZED DEALER FOR DIAGNOSIS . THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED AND THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE BUT OFFERED NO ASSISTANCE TO THE CONTACT. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 182,000 AND THE CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 182,200.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING: TURN SIGNAL

4/6/2012 - SAINT LOUIS, MO
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2003 PONTIAC GRAND AM. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE DIRECTIONAL SIGNALS FAILED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT TAKEN TO THE DEALER TO HAVE A DIAGNOSTIC PERFORMED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE FAILURE AND THE CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 112,000.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

2/23/2012 - PLEASANT HILL, MO
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2003 PONTIAC GRAND AM. THE CONTACT WAS DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 60 MPH AND NOTICED AN EXTREMELY SMALL AMOUNT OF SMOKE EMITTING FROM THE STEERING COLUMN. IN ADDITION, OVER THE PAST FIVE YEARS A CLICKING NOISE WOULD EMIT FROM THE INSTRUMENT PANEL AREA. THE CLICKING MALFUNCTION STOPPED WHENEVER ENGAGING THE HAZARD WARNING CONTROL DEVICE. THE VEHICLE HAD NOT BEEN DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE PROBLEM. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 147,000.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

11/28/2011 - BRATTLEBORO, VT
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2003 PONTIAC GRAND AM SE1. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE KEYS COULD NOT BE REMOVED FROM THE IGNITION. THIS FAILURE OCCURRED AT LEAST THREE TIMES IN THE PAST AND THE IGNITION SWITCH WAS REPLACED ONCE BEFORE. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC, WHO WOULD REPLACE THE IGNITION SWITCH FOR A SECOND TIME AT THE OWNER+S EXPENSE. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 120,000.

View Details

COMMUNICATIONS: HORN ASSEMBLY

10/19/2011 - SURPRISE, AZ
FOR NO REASON THE HORN WOULD START BLOWING CONSTANTLY WHILE IT WAS PARKED, LOCKED UP, IN THE DRIVEWAY. PULLED THE FUSE TO STOP IT. NEXT DAY, REPLACED THE FUSE AND IT WAS OK. FEW MONTHS LATER IT DID IT AGAIN. HAD THREE OCCURANCES AFTER THAT. LOCAL DEALER WANTS $100.00 PLUS JUST TO CHECK IT OUT AND WOULDN'T TELL ME IF THERE WAS A RECALL OR PROBLEMS WITH THAT. SEARCHING THE WEB LATELY, I FOUND MANY COMPLAINTS OF SIMILAR ELECTRICAL ISSUES. I HAVE MY DAUGHTER DRIVING IT TO COLLEGE AND WANT THE HORN WORKING. I DON'T FEEL I SHOULD PAY SOMEONE TO REPAIR THIS WHEN IT'S AN ISSUE OF THE ELECTRICAL SYSTEM BEING DEFECTIVE. I HAVE HAD THIS CAR SINCE NEW AND WANT MY DAUGHTER TO HAVE THE HORN WORKING CORRECTLY AND NOT GOING OFF AT WILL. I REPLACED THE HORN RING CONTACT IN THE STEERING COLUMN AND THAT WAS NOT THE PROBLEM. HOW DO I GET THIS REPAIRED? IT IS A SAFETY ISSUE DRIVING IT WITH NO HORN AND I SHOULDN'T HAVE TO PAY FOR A DEFECT' PLEASE RESPOND TO ME ON THIS ISSUE. [XXX] INFORMATION REDACTED PURSUANT TO THE FREEDOM OF INFORMATION ACT (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

10/19/2011 - SURPRISE, AZ
FOR NO REASON THE HORN WOULD START BLOWING CONSTANTLY WHILE IT WAS PARKED, LOCKED UP, IN THE DRIVEWAY. PULLED THE FUSE TO STOP IT. NEXT DAY, REPLACED THE FUSE AND IT WAS OK. FEW MONTHS LATER IT DID IT AGAIN. HAD THREE OCCURANCES AFTER THAT. LOCAL DEALER WANTS $100.00 PLUS JUST TO CHECK IT OUT AND WOULDN'T TELL ME IF THERE WAS A RECALL OR PROBLEMS WITH THAT. SEARCHING THE WEB LATELY, I FOUND MANY COMPLAINTS OF SIMILAR ELECTRICAL ISSUES. I HAVE MY DAUGHTER DRIVING IT TO COLLEGE AND WANT THE HORN WORKING. I DON'T FEEL I SHOULD PAY SOMEONE TO REPAIR THIS WHEN IT'S AN ISSUE OF THE ELECTRICAL SYSTEM BEING DEFECTIVE. I HAVE HAD THIS CAR SINCE NEW AND WANT MY DAUGHTER TO HAVE THE HORN WORKING CORRECTLY AND NOT GOING OFF AT WILL. I REPLACED THE HORN RING CONTACT IN THE STEERING COLUMN AND THAT WAS NOT THE PROBLEM. HOW DO I GET THIS REPAIRED? IT IS A SAFETY ISSUE DRIVING IT WITH NO HORN AND I SHOULDN'T HAVE TO PAY FOR A DEFECT' PLEASE RESPOND TO ME ON THIS ISSUE. [XXX] INFORMATION REDACTED PURSUANT TO THE FREEDOM OF INFORMATION ACT (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

9/1/2011 - FLORISSANT, MO
THE TURN SIGNALS INTERMITTENTLY WORK. GM IS AWARE OF THE PROBLEM. THERE ARE 2 OTHER RECALLS FOR THE SAME ISSUE, BUT FOR DIFFERENT YEARS. 2000-2001 GRAND AM, OLDSMOBILE ALERO, CHEVROLET MALIBU (NHTSA CAMPAIGN ID NUMBER 03V327000) AND 1999-2000 GRAND AM, OLDSMOBILE ALERO, CHEVROLET MALIBU. I HAVE CALLED PONTIAC, HOWEVER THEY WERE UNABLE TO ASSIST ME WITH THIS ISSUE. THIS IS A VERY SERIOUS PROBLEM THAT COULD RESULT IN A CRASH.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING: COOLING SYSTEM

8/5/2011 - SAN ANTONIO, TX
WAS ON THE FREEWAY WHEN CAR STARTED OVER HEATING AND JUST SHUT OFF. I HAD TO ROLL ONTO THE SIDE OF THE FREEWAY WAS ALMOST HIT BY TWO DIFFERNT CARS. HAD IT TAKEN TO DEALERSHIP I BOUGHT IT FROM THEY FIXED THE HEAD GASKETS, BUT CAR IS STILL OVERHEATING.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

7/25/2011 - MIAMI BEACH, FL
BEGINNING IN OCTOBER 2010, THE SECURITY LIGHT SHOWED UP ON MY CAR DASHBOARD. IT BRIEFLY WAS LIT AND WOULD DISAPPEAR. OVER THE NEXT FEW WEEKS AND MONTHS, MY CAR WOULD RANDOMLY NOT START AND THE SECURITY LIGHT WOULD FLASH ON. I HAD TO HAVE THE CAR TOWED EACH TIME TO THE DEALERSHIP WHICH AT THE TIME OF ARRIVAL, THE CAR WOULD THEN RUN AND THE LIGHT HAD DISAPPEARED. I WAS TOLD THERE WAS NOTHING THAT COULD BE DONE UNLESS THE CAR WAS NOT WORKING. THIS WAS VERY COSTLY IN TOWS AND MISSING WORK. THEN I NOTICED AS I WOULD BE DRIVING, RANDOM SINGLE PUFFS OF SMOKE COMING FROM THE STEERING WHEEL COLUMN. I DESCRIBED IT TO THE DEALERSHIP AND THEY THOUGHT I WAS CRAZY. AFTER THIS HAPPENING OVER AND OVER FINALLY I WAS TOLD THE IGNITION SWITCH HAD BEEN FRIED AND NEEDED TO BE REPLACED BEFORE A FIRE STARTED AND THE CAR WOULD NOT START AGAIN. I WISH THERE WOULD BE A RECALL AS I SEE THIS SEEMS TO BE A COMMON AND EXPENSIVE REPAIR PROBLEM IN PONTIAC GRAND AM'S. WHAT WOULD HAVE HAPPENED IF MY CAR HAD STARTED ON FIRE AS I WAS DRIVING!

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE

3/31/2011 - FOREST PARK, GA
TL CONTACT OWNS A 2003 PONTIAC GRAND AM. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE WOULD NOT INITIALLY START UP. AFTER A FEW MOMENTS, THE VEHICLE WAS ABLE TO BE STARTED AND TAKEN TO A LOCAL REPAIR SHOP, BUT THE FAILURE COULD NOT BE DUPLICATED. THE CONTACT ALSO STATED THAT WHEN DRIVING FOR MORE THAN 30 MINUTES WITH THE HEAT OR AIR CONDITIONER ON, THE VEHICLE WOULD SUDDENLY STALL AND SHUT DOWN. SHE LET IT SIT FOR 30 MINUTES AND IT WOULD RESTART, BUT THE FAILURE WAS INTERMITTENT. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A LOCAL REPAIR SHOP WHERE A FUEL PUMP WAS INSTALLED BUT THE FAILURE OCCURRED AGAIN AFTER THE REPAIR. THE CONTACT CALLED THE MANUFACTURER WHO OFFERED NO ASSISTANCE. THE CURRENT MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 113,000. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS UNKNOWN. UPDATED 07/01/11

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 22
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds