Auto Recalls for Consumers

PONTIAC GRAND AM - 2003 PONTIAC GRAND AM Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 299 complaints filed for the 2003 PONTIAC GRAND AM

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2003 PONTIAC GRAND AM. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2003 PONTIAC GRAND AM, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (19) Equipment (3) Latches Locks Linkages (3) Service Brakes Air (1) Tires (1)
Communications (2) Exterior Lighting (65) Power Train (4) Service Brakes Hydraulic (11) Unknown Or Other (4)
Electrical System (130) Fuel Propulsion System (3) Seat Belts (2) Steering (12) Vehicle Speed Control (33)
Electronic Stability Control (1) Fuel System Gasoline (10) Seats (2) Structure (11) Visibility (15)
Engine (12) Fuel System Other (3) Service Brakes (4) Suspension (8) Wheels (1)
Engine And Engine Cooling (25) Interior Lighting (2)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 30
 
ComplaintDescription

EXTERIOR LIGHTING: TURN SIGNAL

12/10/2014 - TUCSON, AZ
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2003 PONTIAC GRAND AM. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 35 MPH AND MAKING A RIGHT TURN, THE TURN SIGNAL LIGHT FAILED TO ILLUMINATE ON THE EXTERIOR AND INTERIOR OF THE VEHICLE. THE FAILURE RECURRED SEVERAL TIMES. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 100,000.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

11/18/2014 - WEST LAWN, PA
I HAVE BEEN HAVING ISSUES WITH THE ELECTRICAL SYSTEMS IN MY CAR FOR THE LAST 1-1/2 YEARS. WHEN I TURN ON THE CAR THE DASH LIGHTS/HEADLIGHTS/RADIO/WINDOWS AND HEATER/AC USUALLY WON'T WORK RIGHT AWAY. WHILE I AM DRIVING, THEY WILL POP ON OR OFF DEPENDING ON THE BUMPS ON THE ROAD. SIX MONTHS AGO, THE "SECURITY" LIGHT ON MY DASH STARTED TO GIVE ME TROUBLE. APPARENTLY, THE CAR SOMETIMES THINKS THAT I AM NOT USING THE CORRECT IGNITION KEY AND WON'T START. I NOW HAVE TO BUDGET AN EXTRA 10 MINUTES INTO MY DRIVE TIME EVERYWHERE I GO ON THE CHANCE THAT THE CAR'S SECURITY SYSTEM NEEDS TO RESET ITSELF (I HAD TO FIND THE "FIX" TO THIS ISSUE ON YOUTUBE.COM WHICH ANOTHER GM CAR OWNER POSTED, SINCE THERE WAS NOTHING REMOTELY HELPFUL ABOUT IT IN MY OWNER'S MANUAL). I WENT TO A DEALER TO GET THE INSERT TO MY KEYS AND IT HAS NOT SOLVED ANY OF THESE PROBLEMS. MY BIGGEST FEAR IS TAKING MY CAR ON HIGHWAYS SINCE THESE ISSUES STILL EXIST, AND I AM DEATHLY AFRAID OF THE POSSIBILITY OF THE KEY MOVING OUT OF THE "RUN" POSITION AND STOPPING COMPLETELY WHICH I AM AWARE HAS HAPPENED TO OTHER GM VEHICLES THAT HAS CAUSED ACCIDENTS AND FATALITIES.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

11/18/2014 - WEST LAWN, PA
I HAVE BEEN HAVING ISSUES WITH THE ELECTRICAL SYSTEMS IN MY CAR FOR THE LAST 1-1/2 YEARS. WHEN I TURN ON THE CAR THE DASH LIGHTS/HEADLIGHTS/RADIO/WINDOWS AND HEATER/AC USUALLY WON'T WORK RIGHT AWAY. WHILE I AM DRIVING, THEY WILL POP ON OR OFF DEPENDING ON THE BUMPS ON THE ROAD. SIX MONTHS AGO, THE "SECURITY" LIGHT ON MY DASH STARTED TO GIVE ME TROUBLE. APPARENTLY, THE CAR SOMETIMES THINKS THAT I AM NOT USING THE CORRECT IGNITION KEY AND WON'T START. I NOW HAVE TO BUDGET AN EXTRA 10 MINUTES INTO MY DRIVE TIME EVERYWHERE I GO ON THE CHANCE THAT THE CAR'S SECURITY SYSTEM NEEDS TO RESET ITSELF (I HAD TO FIND THE "FIX" TO THIS ISSUE ON YOUTUBE.COM WHICH ANOTHER GM CAR OWNER POSTED, SINCE THERE WAS NOTHING REMOTELY HELPFUL ABOUT IT IN MY OWNER'S MANUAL). I WENT TO A DEALER TO GET THE INSERT TO MY KEYS AND IT HAS NOT SOLVED ANY OF THESE PROBLEMS. MY BIGGEST FEAR IS TAKING MY CAR ON HIGHWAYS SINCE THESE ISSUES STILL EXIST, AND I AM DEATHLY AFRAID OF THE POSSIBILITY OF THE KEY MOVING OUT OF THE "RUN" POSITION AND STOPPING COMPLETELY WHICH I AM AWARE HAS HAPPENED TO OTHER GM VEHICLES THAT HAS CAUSED ACCIDENTS AND FATALITIES.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

11/12/2014 - SAGINAW, MI
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2003 PONTIAC GRAND AM. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE FAILED TO START. THE CONTACT MENTIONED THAT SEVERAL ATTEMPTS HAD TO BE MADE BEFORE THE VEHICLE RESTARTED. HOWEVER, THE FAILURE RECURRED ON NUMEROUS OCCASIONS. THE INDEPENDENT MECHANIC DIAGNOSED THAT THE IGNITION SWITCH FAILED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 53,000.

View Details

STEERING

11/10/2014 - WASHINGTON, DC
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2003 PONTIAC GRAND AM. THE CONTACT STATED WHILE DRIVING OVER A BUMP AT APPROXIMATELY 25 MPH, THE STEERING WHEEL SEIZED AND THE BRAKES FAILED. AS A RESULT, THE CONTACT SIDE SWIPED ANOTHER VEHICLE ON THE PASSENGER SIDE AND CRASHED INTO A CONCRETE RIDGE BEFORE COMING TO A STOP. ALSO, THE CONTACT ADDED THAT DUE TO THE FAILURE ONE OF THE TIRES BLEW. THE CONTACT DID NOT SUSTAIN ANY INJURIES AND A POLICE REPORT WAS FILED. THE VEHICLE HAD NOT BEEN TAKEN TO THE DEALER. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE VIN WAS INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 14V400000 (ELECTRICAL SYSTEM). THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS UNAVAILABLE.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

11/10/2014 - WASHINGTON, DC
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2003 PONTIAC GRAND AM. THE CONTACT STATED WHILE DRIVING OVER A BUMP AT APPROXIMATELY 25 MPH, THE STEERING WHEEL SEIZED AND THE BRAKES FAILED. AS A RESULT, THE CONTACT SIDE SWIPED ANOTHER VEHICLE ON THE PASSENGER SIDE AND CRASHED INTO A CONCRETE RIDGE BEFORE COMING TO A STOP. ALSO, THE CONTACT ADDED THAT DUE TO THE FAILURE ONE OF THE TIRES BLEW. THE CONTACT DID NOT SUSTAIN ANY INJURIES AND A POLICE REPORT WAS FILED. THE VEHICLE HAD NOT BEEN TAKEN TO THE DEALER. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE VIN WAS INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 14V400000 (ELECTRICAL SYSTEM). THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS UNAVAILABLE.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

11/10/2014 - NEWTON FALLS, OH
TURN SIGNALS WORK ONLY RANDOMLY, SOMETIMES THERE IS A CLICKING NOISE THAT IS CONTINUOUS, LIGHT COMES ON IN DASH WHEN YOU FLIP CONTROL BUT TURN SIGNALS DO NOT BLINK.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

11/10/2014 - NEWTON FALLS, OH
TURN SIGNALS WORK ONLY RANDOMLY, SOMETIMES THERE IS A CLICKING NOISE THAT IS CONTINUOUS, LIGHT COMES ON IN DASH WHEN YOU FLIP CONTROL BUT TURN SIGNALS DO NOT BLINK.

View Details

ENGINE

11/7/2014 - TULSA, OK
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2003 PONTIAC GRAND AM. THE CONTACT STATED WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 10 MPH, THE ENGINE STALLED AND THE STEERING AND BRAKES SEIZED. AS A RESULT, THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT ILLUMINATED AND THE VEHICLE CRASHED INTO A POLE. NO POLICE REPORT WAS FILED. THE FAILURE RECURRED TWICE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS UNKNOWN.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

11/5/2014 - SURPRISE, AZ
I AM THE ORIGINAL OWNER OF THIS CAR AND AFTER MY LEASE ENDED, I PURCHASED IT. AS OF A FEW YEARS AGO, I SIGNED IT OVER TO MY DAUGHTER. AS SHE WAS DRIVING IT, ALL DASH INSTRUMENTS WENT OUT, THEN ON, THEN OFF. SOMETIMES IT WOULDN'T COME ON AT ALL. EVENTUALLY WE DISCOVERED BY BUMPING THE DASH, EVERYTHING WOULD COME ON.AS THIS BECAME A REAL ISSUE, I CALLED AROUND AND WAS TOLD THAT THE DASH INSTRUMENT CLUSTER WAS BAD, SO I PURCHASED A NEW ONE. INSTALLED IT, AND FOUND OUT IT HAPPEN AGAIN. I SENT IT IN FOR REPAIR, GOT IT BACK, RE-INSTALLED IT ONLY TO SEE THE SAME PROBLEM. I THEN PURCHASED A USED ONE,,,,,SAME THING. FINALLY DECIDED THAT IT MIGHT BE THE IGNITION SWITCH. REPLACED IT AND PROBLEM SOLVED. I OPENED UP THE OLD SWITCH AND FOUND IT WAS ALL SHORTED AND CORRODED. MY ISSUE IS THAT OCT. 2014, MY DAUGHTER JUST GOT A LETTER OF THAT DEFECT TO GET REPLACED. ALL THAT TIME SHE WAS DRIVING IT, ANYTHING COULD HAVE HAPPENED NOT TO MENTION ALL THE MONEY AND TIME IT COST ME. 11 YEARS LATER. WHY WAS GM ALOUD TO HIDE THE DEFECTS THAT LONG PUTTING SAFETY OF DRIVERS AND PASSENGERS AT RISK? THEY NEW OF THE PROBLEMS AND IGNORED THEM. I'M PISSED AND RIGHTFULLY SO. I JUST GOT A LETTER ON MY 2005 CADILLAC DEVILLE FOR THE SAME ISSUE, 9 YEARS LATER. ALL GM IGNITION SWITCHES ARE BAD!! WHERE WERE YOU PEOPLE ALL THOSE YEARS AND WHAT TOOK SO LONG TO GET SOMETHING DONE ?? I BLAME YOU TOO. MAYBE YOUR ORGANIZATION NEEDS A SHAKE-UP ALSO. OH, ON MY CADILLAC,THE DEALER JUST REPROGRAMMED SOMETHING AND NEVER CHANGED THE SWITCH AND I WAS TOLD IT WILL BE OK NOW ???? WHAT ??? AND, MY DAUGHTER TRADED IN THE PONTIAC. YOU PEOPLE NEED TO QUIT SLAPPING THESE BIG COMPANIES ON THE WRIST. DON'T TELL ME THAT 9,,,11 YEARS, IT TOOK TO REALIZE A DEFECT. SOMEBODY ALLOWED THIS TO HAPPEN. I AM A FORMER GM EMPLOYEE, RETIRED, 30 YEARS. LET ME TELL YOU HOW SCREWED OVER I GOT BY THEM. ENOUGH SAID,.

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 30
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds