Auto Recalls for Consumers

CADILLAC ESCALADE ESV - 2004 CADILLAC ESCALADE ESV Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 17 complaints filed for the 2004 CADILLAC ESCALADE ESV

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2004 CADILLAC ESCALADE ESV. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2004 CADILLAC ESCALADE ESV, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (2) Fuel Propulsion System (1) Power Train (4) Service Brakes Hydraulic (1) Suspension (1)
Communications (1) Fuel System Gasoline (1) Seats (1) Steering (2) Wheels (2)
Electrical System (4)

Pages:  1 
 
ComplaintDescription

STEERING

7/8/2013 - DORCHESTER, MA
THE STEERING WAS VERY HARD TO TURN.THEN THE POWER STEERING FLUID WAS LEAKING. BRAKES ARE LOCKING UP. BUT RIGHT BEFORE ALL THAT HAPPENED THE AIRBAG LIGHT WENT OFF. ITS NEVER BEEN HIT OR HIT ANYTHING. THE TRUCK WAS PURCHASED IN NOV.2012. WE GOT A CARFAX WITH THE VEHICLE, IT WAS CLEAN, I LOOKED FOR RECALLS AND 4 APPEARED, I ALSO CALLED CADILLAC, SPOKE TO A DEALER AND THE WOMAN SAID MY VIN NUMBER HAS NEVER BEEN RECALLED, I STATED IT WAS IN 2004 IT WAS RECALLED AND ALL THE THINGS IT WAS RECALLED FOR WAS WHAT WAS HAPPENING NOW..AT TIMES IT WAS MAKING A NOISE SHIFTING FROM PARK TO DRIVE.

View Details

AIR BAGS

7/8/2013 - DORCHESTER, MA
THE STEERING WAS VERY HARD TO TURN.THEN THE POWER STEERING FLUID WAS LEAKING. BRAKES ARE LOCKING UP. BUT RIGHT BEFORE ALL THAT HAPPENED THE AIRBAG LIGHT WENT OFF. ITS NEVER BEEN HIT OR HIT ANYTHING. THE TRUCK WAS PURCHASED IN NOV.2012. WE GOT A CARFAX WITH THE VEHICLE, IT WAS CLEAN, I LOOKED FOR RECALLS AND 4 APPEARED, I ALSO CALLED CADILLAC, SPOKE TO A DEALER AND THE WOMAN SAID MY VIN NUMBER HAS NEVER BEEN RECALLED, I STATED IT WAS IN 2004 IT WAS RECALLED AND ALL THE THINGS IT WAS RECALLED FOR WAS WHAT WAS HAPPENING NOW..AT TIMES IT WAS MAKING A NOISE SHIFTING FROM PARK TO DRIVE.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

7/8/2013 - DORCHESTER, MA
THE STEERING WAS VERY HARD TO TURN.THEN THE POWER STEERING FLUID WAS LEAKING. BRAKES ARE LOCKING UP. BUT RIGHT BEFORE ALL THAT HAPPENED THE AIRBAG LIGHT WENT OFF. ITS NEVER BEEN HIT OR HIT ANYTHING. THE TRUCK WAS PURCHASED IN NOV.2012. WE GOT A CARFAX WITH THE VEHICLE, IT WAS CLEAN, I LOOKED FOR RECALLS AND 4 APPEARED, I ALSO CALLED CADILLAC, SPOKE TO A DEALER AND THE WOMAN SAID MY VIN NUMBER HAS NEVER BEEN RECALLED, I STATED IT WAS IN 2004 IT WAS RECALLED AND ALL THE THINGS IT WAS RECALLED FOR WAS WHAT WAS HAPPENING NOW..AT TIMES IT WAS MAKING A NOISE SHIFTING FROM PARK TO DRIVE.

View Details

SUSPENSION

9/30/2010 - FISHERS, IN
TL CONTACT OWNS A 2004 CADILLAC ESCALADE ESV. WHILE DRIVING AND MAKING A RIGHT TURN ON A BUMPY ROAD, THE FRONT END CLUNKED AND SOUNDED AS IF IT WERE COMING APART. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN AUTHORIZED DEALER WHERE THE CONTACT WAS INFORMED THAT THE INTERMEDIATE SHAFT WAS THE CAUSE OF THE FAILURE. THE CONTACT CALLED THE MANUFACTURER WHO STATED THAT THE VEHICLE WAS OUTSIDE THE WARRANTY AND OFFERED NO ASSISTANCE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 40,000.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM: INSTRUMENT PANEL

8/29/2010 - STRATFORD, CT
2004 ESCALADE ESV; SPEEDOMETER AT ABOUT 70,000 MILES BEGAN TO GO HAYWIRE, SOMETIMES STICKING ON 0MPH OTHER TIMES ON 140MPH. AFTER A FEW DAYS OF THIS IT STOPPED WORKING ALL TOGETHER. I TOOK THE CAR INTO A DEALERSHIP FOR AN ELECTRICAL ISSUE AND TOLD THEM TO PLEASE LOOK AT THE SPEEDOMETER BECAUSE ITS NOT WORKING. THEY REFUSED TO FIX IT SAYING IT HAD MORE THAN 70,000 MI...THAT WAS 2008 AND IT HASN'T WORKED SINCE. I ESTIMATE MY SPEED BY THE TACHOMETER (NOT SAFE)...ORIGINAL BROKEN PART IS STILL INSTALLED...I AM THE ORIGINAL OWNER OF THIS VEHICLE.

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE

5/19/2010 - HAZLETON, PA
PREMATURE FUEL PUMP FAILURE WITH NO ERROR CODE OR WARNING. OCCURRED ON A LOW TRAFFIC AREA HAVING NO COLLISION OR INJURIES. VEH IS 2004 CADILLAC ESCALADE ESV WITH 67 K MILES. TOTAL LOSS OF POWER CONTROLS.

View Details

WHEELS

2/24/2009 - SPRINGVILLE , NY
MY 2004 CADILLAC ESCALADE ESV, THE FACTORY CHROME WHEELS HAVE RUSTED AND PEELED AND INTERFERES WITH SAFETY SENSORS ASSOCIATED WITH TIRES. THIS HAS BEEN A PROGRESSIVE PROBLEM SINCE THE FIRST TIME THE TIRES WERE ROTATED AT 6 MONTHS. THE MANUFACTURER HAS REFUSED TO CORRECT THE ONGOING PROBLEM.

View Details

STEERING

1/15/2009 - SAINT LOUIS, MO
TL CONTACT OWNS A 2004 CADILLAC ESCALADE ESV. THE CONTACT EXPERIENCED ISSUES WITH THE STEERING IN THE VEHICLE WHILE ATTEMPTING TO PARK. SHE NOTICED THAT THE POWER STEERING WOULD LOCK UP, CAUSING HER TO WRESTLE WITH THE STEERING WHEEL TO PARK AND MOVE THE WHEEL TO THE LEFT OR RIGHT. THE CONTACT HAD TO USE GREAT EFFORT TO TURN THE STEERING WHEEL. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED IN REFERENCE TO NHTSA CAMPAIGN ID NUMBER 04V045000 (SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC). SHE WAS REFERRED TO THE DEALER AND THEY STATED THAT SHE WOULD HAVE TO REPAIR A FAILURE WITHIN THE STEERING GEAR BOX BEFORE THE RECALL REPAIR COULD BE PERFORMED. THE REPAIR WOULD COST $1,100. THE CONTACT ASKED IF SHE COULD GET A SECOND OPINION AT A REPAIR SHOP, BUT THE MANUFACTURER REFUSED. THE MANUFACTURER STATED THAT THEY WOULD NOT TAKE THE OPINION OF ANOTHER MECHANIC INTO CONSIDERATION, IF THEY WERE NOT AN AUTHORIZED DEALER. THE VEHICLE HAS NOT BEEN REPAIRED. THE CURRENT MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 57,790 AND FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 57,699. UPDATED 02/05/09 UPDATED 02/09/09.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC

1/15/2009 - SAINT LOUIS, MO
TL CONTACT OWNS A 2004 CADILLAC ESCALADE ESV. THE CONTACT EXPERIENCED ISSUES WITH THE STEERING IN THE VEHICLE WHILE ATTEMPTING TO PARK. SHE NOTICED THAT THE POWER STEERING WOULD LOCK UP, CAUSING HER TO WRESTLE WITH THE STEERING WHEEL TO PARK AND MOVE THE WHEEL TO THE LEFT OR RIGHT. THE CONTACT HAD TO USE GREAT EFFORT TO TURN THE STEERING WHEEL. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED IN REFERENCE TO NHTSA CAMPAIGN ID NUMBER 04V045000 (SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC). SHE WAS REFERRED TO THE DEALER AND THEY STATED THAT SHE WOULD HAVE TO REPAIR A FAILURE WITHIN THE STEERING GEAR BOX BEFORE THE RECALL REPAIR COULD BE PERFORMED. THE REPAIR WOULD COST $1,100. THE CONTACT ASKED IF SHE COULD GET A SECOND OPINION AT A REPAIR SHOP, BUT THE MANUFACTURER REFUSED. THE MANUFACTURER STATED THAT THEY WOULD NOT TAKE THE OPINION OF ANOTHER MECHANIC INTO CONSIDERATION, IF THEY WERE NOT AN AUTHORIZED DEALER. THE VEHICLE HAS NOT BEEN REPAIRED. THE CURRENT MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 57,790 AND FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 57,699. UPDATED 02/05/09 UPDATED 02/09/09.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

12/22/2008 - CHESAPEAKE, VA
THE NEEDLE ON THE SPEEDOMETER OF MY 2004 CADILLAC ESCALADE WILL STICK OR SLOWLY DROP DOWN TO 0 WHILE DRIVING. IT APPEARS TO ONLY HAPPEN AT NIGHT TIME WHILE THE LIGHTS ARE ON.

View Details
Pages:  1 
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds