Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHRYSLER SEBRING - 2004 CHRYSLER SEBRING Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Chrysler (FCA US LLC)

There are 210 complaints filed for the 2004 CHRYSLER SEBRING

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2004 CHRYSLER SEBRING. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2004 CHRYSLER SEBRING, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (31) Equipment (2) Latches Locks Linkages (4) Service Brakes Air (1) Tires (4)
Communications (4) Exterior Lighting (4) Other (2) Service Brakes Hydraulic (9) Unknown Or Other (4)
Electrical System (19) Fuel Propulsion System (2) Power Train (26) Steering (8) Vehicle Speed Control (20)
Electronic Stability Control (2) Fuel System Gasoline (8) Seat Belts (7) Structure (10) Visibility (11)
Engine (8) Fuel System Other (3) Seats (12) Suspension (26) Wheels (6)
Engine And Engine Cooling (53) Interior Lighting (1) Service Brakes (3)

Pages:  
<<  9  10  11  12  13  14  15  16  17  18  19  20  21  22  ... 22
 
ComplaintDescription

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM: WIRING

2/15/2006 - DETROIT, MI
: THE CONTACT STATED THERE WAS A BURNING SMELL COMING FROM THE INSIDE OF THE VEHICLE. THE NEXT DAY THE VEHICLE CAUGHT ON FIRE. THE FIRE DEPARTMENT WAS CALLED AND FILED A REPORT. UPON INSPECTION THE INSURANCE COMPANY DETERMINED THE ELECTRICAL WIRING IN THE REAR DEFROSTER CAUSED THE FIRE. PREVIOUSLY, THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN IN FOR REPAIR BECAUSE THE REAR DEFROSTER, TURN SIGNALS AND THE WINDSHIELD WIPERS HAD FAILED.

View Details

VISIBILITY: DEFROSTER/DEFOGGER SYSTEM: REAR WINDOW

2/15/2006 - DETROIT, MI
: THE CONTACT STATED THERE WAS A BURNING SMELL COMING FROM THE INSIDE OF THE VEHICLE. THE NEXT DAY THE VEHICLE CAUGHT ON FIRE. THE FIRE DEPARTMENT WAS CALLED AND FILED A REPORT. UPON INSPECTION THE INSURANCE COMPANY DETERMINED THE ELECTRICAL WIRING IN THE REAR DEFROSTER CAUSED THE FIRE. PREVIOUSLY, THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN IN FOR REPAIR BECAUSE THE REAR DEFROSTER, TURN SIGNALS AND THE WINDSHIELD WIPERS HAD FAILED.

View Details

SEATS: FRONT ASSEMBLY: SEAT HEATER/COOLER

1/12/2006 - VEAZIE, ME
ON A RECENT TRIP OUT OF TOWN I SMELLED SMOKE WHICH I THOUGHT WAS COMING FROM THE CAR IN FRONT OF ME. AS I WENT FURTHER THE SMELL BECAME A BIT STRONGER AND I KNEW IT WAS COMING FROM MY CAR. I WOUND UP PULLING OFF THE INTERSTATE, PULLING INTO AN EMPTY LOT AND JUMPING OUT. WHEN I REACHED IN FOR MY POCKETBOOK I SAW SMOKE BILLOWING UP OUT OF THE PASSENGER SEAT OF MY CHRYSLER SEBRING. AFTER TURNING THE CAR OFF AND THE CONTROL TO THE SEAT, WHICH HAD BEEN TURNED ON ACCIDENTALLY, THE SMOKE DISSIPATED. I TOOK IT TO THE GARAGE AND THEY IN TURN UNPLUGGED THE HEATING ELEMENTS AND TOLD ME THEY WOULD ORDER A NEW ONE AND A NEW SEAT CUSHION SINCE THAT WAS DAMAGED IN THE FIRE. MY HUSBAND CALLED TO CHECK ON THE PARTS HE WAS TOLD THEY HAD RECEIVED THE HEATING ELEMENT BUT WERE WAITING ON THE CUSHION. WHEN HE ASKED IF THEY WERE GOING TO REPLACE ALL THE ELEMENTS HE WAS INFORMED THAT ONLY THE FAULTY ONE WOULD BE REPLACED AT THIS POINT. I THEN CONTACTED CHRYSLER ONLY TO GET THE SAME RESPONSE FROM THEM. MY FEELINGS ARE THAT IF ONE ELEMENT WAS FAULTY THEN THE REST MOST LIKELY ARE. THE DODGE CARAVANS HAVE BEEN RECALLED FOR THIS REASON. WOULDN'T IT SEEM THEY'RE USING THE SAME COMBUSTIBLE ELEMENTS IN THE SEBRING AS IN THE CARAVAN? I KNOW OF 3 OTHER PEOPLE IN OUR SMALL COMMUNITY THAT HAVE HAD THEIR SEATS GO UP IN FLAME. HOW MANY PEOPLE OR INJURIES DOES IT TAKE BEFORE THEY'LL DO A RECALL? THE WORST CASE SCENARIO WOULD HAVE BEEN IF MY OXYGEN-TOTING MOTHER-IN-LAW HAD BEEN IN THAT SEAT AS SHE IS ON MOST OCCASIONS!

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE: FUEL INJECTION SYSTEM: FUEL RAIL

11/22/2005 - WEST CHESTER, OH
THE FUEL LINE LEADING FROM THE FIREWALL AREA TO THE FUEL DISTRIBUTION RAIL LEAKING ALLOWING PRESSURIZED FUEL TO SPRAY IN THE ENGINE COMPARTMENT. THIS WAS NOT NOTICED AT HIGHWAY SPEEDS BUT WAS DETECTED BY THE ODOR AFTER SHUTTING CAR OFF.CHRYSLER HAS NOT BEEN ABLE TO GET ME THE CORRECT PART TO REPAIR AND SO AN AFTERMARKET PART WAS USED TO RETURN THE VEHICLE TO SERVICE TEMPORARILY.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL: ACCELERATOR PEDAL

11/18/2005 - LAKELAND, FL
DT: THE CONTACT STATED THE ACCELERATOR PEDAL STUCK , CAUSING AN ACCIDENT. WHEN THE ACCELERATOR PEDAL STUCK THE CONTACT COULD NOT CONTROL THE VEHICLE. THERE WAS A PROBLEM WITH THE ACCELERATOR PEDAL STICKING PRIOR TO THE ACCIDENT. THEN, THE VEHICLE WAS INSPECTED TO DETERMINE THE PROBLEM, BUT WAS NOT REPAIRED. AFTER THE ACCIDENT A DIAGNOSTIC TEST WAS PERFORMED, BUT IT DID NOT SHOW ANYTHING WRONG WITH THE VEHICLE. THIS WAS AN INTERMITTENT PROBLEM. THE VEHICLE HAS NOT BEEN REPAIRED. UPDATED 11/7/2005.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

11/16/2005 - JACKSONVILLE, FL
PURCHASED THE 2004 CHRYSLER SEBRING IN NOVEMBER OF 04. HAVE HAD AN ELECTRICAL ISSUE SINCE THE PURCHASE. WHILE DRIVING THE DASH BOARD LIGHTS WILL FLICKER ON AND OFF, THE RADIO WILL MAKE A POPING NOISE, AND THE CAR WILL STALL OUT. HAS DOWN THIS NUMEROUS TIME WHILE DRIVING DOWN THE INTERSTATE. DEALERSHIP HAS REPLACED THE BATTERY, REFORMATTED THE MAIN COMPUTER AND STILL HAS NOT SOLVED THE PROBLEM.

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE: DELIVERY: HOSES, LINES/PIPING, AND FITTINGS

11/16/2005 - BRANDON, FL
NO SUMMARY LISTED.

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE: DELIVERY: FUEL PUMP

11/16/2005 - BRANDON, FL
NO SUMMARY LISTED.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC: FOUNDATION COMPONENTS: DISC: ROTOR

11/5/2005 - WEST WINFIELD, NY
VEHICLE WAS PURCHASED USED WITH 18,455 MILES ON IT. AFTER VEHICLE WAS PURCHASED WE NOTICED A GRINDING NOISE WITH THE BRAKES. WE TOOK THE VEHICLE INTO THE DEALERSHIP AND HAD THE ROTORS REPLACED BECAUSE THEY WERE WARPED. THE VEHICLE CONTINUED TO HAVE THE GRINDING SOUND, WE BROUGHT THE VEHICLE BACK TO THE DEALERSHIP AND AGAIN WORK WAS DONE ON THE BRAKES. WE DID NOT HAVE OPPORTUNITY TO DRIVE IT MUCH AFTER AS OUR DAUGHTER GOT INTO A CAR ACCIDENT WITH THIS VEHICLE ON OCT 13, 2005, SHE WAS PULLING OUT OF THE ELEMENTARY SCHOOL PARKING LOT (NO MORE THAN 5-10 MPH) TO GO ACROSS THE ROAD TO ENTER THE HIGH SCHOOL AND ANOTHER VEHICLE HIT HER FRONT CORNER PASSENGER SIDE (OTHER VEHICLE WAS GOING APPROX 40-45 MPH). THE REAL ISSUE IS THAT BOTH FRONT AIRBAGS DID NOT DEPLOY UNTIL SEVERAL MINUTES AFTER THE ACCIDENT OCCURRED...THAT IS WHAT CAUSED THE MAJORITY OF THE INJURIES TO MY CHILDREN.

View Details

AIR BAGS

11/5/2005 - WEST WINFIELD, NY
VEHICLE WAS PURCHASED USED WITH 18,455 MILES ON IT. AFTER VEHICLE WAS PURCHASED WE NOTICED A GRINDING NOISE WITH THE BRAKES. WE TOOK THE VEHICLE INTO THE DEALERSHIP AND HAD THE ROTORS REPLACED BECAUSE THEY WERE WARPED. THE VEHICLE CONTINUED TO HAVE THE GRINDING SOUND, WE BROUGHT THE VEHICLE BACK TO THE DEALERSHIP AND AGAIN WORK WAS DONE ON THE BRAKES. WE DID NOT HAVE OPPORTUNITY TO DRIVE IT MUCH AFTER AS OUR DAUGHTER GOT INTO A CAR ACCIDENT WITH THIS VEHICLE ON OCT 13, 2005, SHE WAS PULLING OUT OF THE ELEMENTARY SCHOOL PARKING LOT (NO MORE THAN 5-10 MPH) TO GO ACROSS THE ROAD TO ENTER THE HIGH SCHOOL AND ANOTHER VEHICLE HIT HER FRONT CORNER PASSENGER SIDE (OTHER VEHICLE WAS GOING APPROX 40-45 MPH). THE REAL ISSUE IS THAT BOTH FRONT AIRBAGS DID NOT DEPLOY UNTIL SEVERAL MINUTES AFTER THE ACCIDENT OCCURRED...THAT IS WHAT CAUSED THE MAJORITY OF THE INJURIES TO MY CHILDREN.

View Details
Pages:  <<  9  10  11  12  13  14  15  16  17  18  19  20  21  22  ... 22
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds