Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHRYSLER SEBRING - 2004 CHRYSLER SEBRING Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Chrysler (FCA US LLC)

There are 210 complaints filed for the 2004 CHRYSLER SEBRING

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2004 CHRYSLER SEBRING. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2004 CHRYSLER SEBRING, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (31) Equipment (2) Latches Locks Linkages (4) Service Brakes Air (1) Tires (4)
Communications (4) Exterior Lighting (4) Other (2) Service Brakes Hydraulic (9) Unknown Or Other (4)
Electrical System (19) Fuel Propulsion System (2) Power Train (26) Steering (8) Vehicle Speed Control (20)
Electronic Stability Control (2) Fuel System Gasoline (8) Seat Belts (7) Structure (10) Visibility (11)
Engine (8) Fuel System Other (3) Seats (12) Suspension (26) Wheels (6)
Engine And Engine Cooling (53) Interior Lighting (1) Service Brakes (3)

Pages:  
<<  12  13  14  15  16  17  18  19  20  21  22  ... 22
 
ComplaintDescription

VISIBILITY: POWER WINDOW DEVICES AND CONTROLS

7/8/2005 - PLYMOUTH, MI
2004 CHRYSLER SEBRING HAS A RECURRING AIR BAG PROBLEM. THE AIR BAG LIGHT WARNING LIGHT WOULD COME ON AND GO OFF NUMEROUS TIMES WHILE DRIVING. A SEAT BELT PRE-TENSIONER WAS REQUIRED, BUT THAT DID NOT RESOLVE THE AIR BAG LIGHT PROBLEM. THE A/C WOULD ONLY BLOW ON THE HIGHEST SETTING. THE LEFT FRONT WINDOW MADE A CREAKING NOISE WHEN GOING UP OR DOWN. THE THERMOSTAT AND GASKET WERE REPLACED DUE TO A COOLANT LEAK. THE DRIVER SIDE MIRROR WAS LOOSE.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

5/27/2005 - JACKSONVILLE, FL
WHILE DRIVING DOWN THE ROAD, MY RADIO WOULD PRODUCE A LOUD POPPING NOISE AND THEN THE DISPLAY WOULD GO BLANK. MY ODOMETER WOULD BEGIN BLINKING AND THE REST OF THE GUAGES WOULD GO DOWN. MY CAR STALLED AND I HAD TO RESTART IT. THE FIRST TIME THIS HAPPENED, I TOOK IT TO THE DEALERSHIP AND THEY FOUND NOTHING WRONG. THE SECOND TIME, THEY REPLACED MY BATTERY. THE THIRD TIME, NOTHING WRONG. THE FOURTH TIME, THEY REFORMATTED THE COMPUTER IN THE CAR. THE FIFTH TIME NOTHING FOUND. TODAY WAS THE SIXTH TIME AND IT IS STILL AT THE DEALERSHIP. I'M BEGINNING TO FEAR FOR MY FAMILY'S SAFETY BECAUSE IT IS STALLING WHILE DRIVING. THIS HAS BECOME EXTREMELY FRUSTRATING BECAUSE THEY HAVEN'T BEEN ABLE TO DUPLICATE THE PROBLEMS AT THE DEALERSHIP.

View Details

POWER TRAIN: AUTOMATIC TRANSMISSION

4/26/2005 - CARTERET, NJ
PURCHASED 4 DOOR CHRYSLER SEBRING SEDAN (4 CYLINDER AT MCDONNOUGH CHRYLSER OF EAST BRUNSWICK, NJ 7/9/04 W/ 13 MILES. 2 DAYS FOLLOWING THE PURCHASE, CAR STALLED AT APPROXIMATELY 42 MPH ON A CROWDED INTERSTATE, AND STARTED RIGHT BACK UP. DROVE TO DEALER TO FIND THAT I NEEDED A COMPUTER SOFTWARE UPDATE. TOOK THE VEHICLE BACK, IDLING ROUGH, RPMS JUMPING ALL OVER THE PLACE. SEVERAL WEEKS LATER, VEHICLE STALLED AGAIN THIS TIME ON NJ TURNPIKE WHILE SLOWING DOWN, BUT NOT BEFORE SURGING FORWARD, MY FOOT WAS NOT ON THE ACCELERATOR, AND AGAIN STARTED RIGHT BACK UP. RETURNED TO DEALER @ 994 MI, NOTHING REGISTERED ON DIAGNOSTIC CHECK, ANOTHER CPU UPDATE. CAR STILL IN SAME CONDITION ONLY DID NOT STALL. SURGING GOT PROGRESSIVELY WORSE, FINALLY AT APPROXIMATELY 8,000 MILES CAR STALLED COUNTLESS TIMES IN THE 13 MILE RIDE TO DEALER, CHECK ENGINE LIGHT ILLUMINATED, COULD HARDLY DRIVE THE ENTIRE WAY. DEALER FOUND BAD IGNITION COIL, BUT ONLY BECAUSE THE LIGHT WAS ILLUMINATED COULD THEY DETECT A PROBLEM. DEALER KEPT CAR 3 DAYS, DID NOT OFFER RENTAL OR COMP CAR, NOR TRANSPORTATION TO MY WORK. PICKED UP CAR, NOT STALLING BUT STILL IDLING ROUGH, STEERING WHEEL VISIBLY SHAKING. CAR SURGES FORWARD AT EVERY STOPLIGHT, I HAVE JUST LEARNED TO CONTROL THE BRAKE TO AVOID ACCIDENT, NOT ACCELERATING PROPERLY & TRANSMISSION SLIPS AT LOW SPEEDS. WHY CAN'T THIS PROBLEM BE ERRADICATED, THIS IS MY FIRST BRAND NEW CAR, AND RUNS AS POORLY AS MY TRADE IN DID AT 230,000 MILES! I NEED A BREAK, AND I NEED A SOLUTION. IN ADDITION, CAR MAKES LOUD WHISTLING NOISE BETWEEN 68-73 MPH , AND HEADLIGHTS HAVE SHUT OFF 2 TIMES IN THE MIDDLE OF DRIVING AT NIGHT AND FLICKERED BACK ON ALSO, NOT TRACABLE BY DEALER COMPUTER.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

4/26/2005 - CARTERET, NJ
PURCHASED 4 DOOR CHRYSLER SEBRING SEDAN (4 CYLINDER AT MCDONNOUGH CHRYLSER OF EAST BRUNSWICK, NJ 7/9/04 W/ 13 MILES. 2 DAYS FOLLOWING THE PURCHASE, CAR STALLED AT APPROXIMATELY 42 MPH ON A CROWDED INTERSTATE, AND STARTED RIGHT BACK UP. DROVE TO DEALER TO FIND THAT I NEEDED A COMPUTER SOFTWARE UPDATE. TOOK THE VEHICLE BACK, IDLING ROUGH, RPMS JUMPING ALL OVER THE PLACE. SEVERAL WEEKS LATER, VEHICLE STALLED AGAIN THIS TIME ON NJ TURNPIKE WHILE SLOWING DOWN, BUT NOT BEFORE SURGING FORWARD, MY FOOT WAS NOT ON THE ACCELERATOR, AND AGAIN STARTED RIGHT BACK UP. RETURNED TO DEALER @ 994 MI, NOTHING REGISTERED ON DIAGNOSTIC CHECK, ANOTHER CPU UPDATE. CAR STILL IN SAME CONDITION ONLY DID NOT STALL. SURGING GOT PROGRESSIVELY WORSE, FINALLY AT APPROXIMATELY 8,000 MILES CAR STALLED COUNTLESS TIMES IN THE 13 MILE RIDE TO DEALER, CHECK ENGINE LIGHT ILLUMINATED, COULD HARDLY DRIVE THE ENTIRE WAY. DEALER FOUND BAD IGNITION COIL, BUT ONLY BECAUSE THE LIGHT WAS ILLUMINATED COULD THEY DETECT A PROBLEM. DEALER KEPT CAR 3 DAYS, DID NOT OFFER RENTAL OR COMP CAR, NOR TRANSPORTATION TO MY WORK. PICKED UP CAR, NOT STALLING BUT STILL IDLING ROUGH, STEERING WHEEL VISIBLY SHAKING. CAR SURGES FORWARD AT EVERY STOPLIGHT, I HAVE JUST LEARNED TO CONTROL THE BRAKE TO AVOID ACCIDENT, NOT ACCELERATING PROPERLY & TRANSMISSION SLIPS AT LOW SPEEDS. WHY CAN'T THIS PROBLEM BE ERRADICATED, THIS IS MY FIRST BRAND NEW CAR, AND RUNS AS POORLY AS MY TRADE IN DID AT 230,000 MILES! I NEED A BREAK, AND I NEED A SOLUTION. IN ADDITION, CAR MAKES LOUD WHISTLING NOISE BETWEEN 68-73 MPH , AND HEADLIGHTS HAVE SHUT OFF 2 TIMES IN THE MIDDLE OF DRIVING AT NIGHT AND FLICKERED BACK ON ALSO, NOT TRACABLE BY DEALER COMPUTER.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

4/4/2005 - MENTOR ON THE LAKE, OH
WHILE DRIVING 55 MPH VEHICLE STALLED. WITHOUT WARNING. DRIVER RESTARTED THE VEHICLE, AND TOOK IT TO THE DEALER FOR INSPECTION. HOWEVWE, MECHANIC COULD NOT DUPLICATE THE PROBLEM.

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE

3/7/2005 - EAST PEORIA, IL
WITHIN THE FIRST WEEK AFTER PURCHASING A 2004 SEBRING CONVERTIBLE LIMITED, THE PROBLEM OF THE ENGINE ALMOST DYING OR DYING STARTED. THIS PROBLEM OCCURS MORE OFTEN AT HIGHER AMBIENT TEMPERATURES. WHEN COMING TO A STOP THE ENGINE DROPS DOWN TO 200-250 RPM. WHEN IT RECOVERS IT OVERSHOOTS THE LOW IDLE SPEED CAUSING THE CAR TO LUNGE FORWARD. SEVERAL TIMES THE ENGINE HAS DIED. THE ENGINE WILL RESTART IMMEDIATELY. ONE DAY AS I WAS GOING THROUGH A GREEN LIGHT A CAR TURNED RIGHT IN FRONT OF ME. I HAD TO MAKE A PANIC STOP IN THE MIDDLE OF THE INTERSECTION AND THE ENGINE DIED. I ALMOST GOT REAR-ENDED BECAUSE THE CARS BEHIND ME WERE NOT EXPECTING ME TO HAVE TO RESTART THE ENGINE. YOUR WEB SITE DEFINES THIS AS A SAFETY ISSUE BECAUSE THE DRIVER HAS AN UNEXPECTED EVENT THAT PUTS THE DRIVER IN A SITUATION WHERE THE DRIVER CANNOT SAFELY CONTROL THE VEHICLE. AFTER STARTING THE CAR AND BACKING OUT OF THE GARAGE THE ENGINE IS RUNNING LIKE A SEWING MACHINE. SUDDENLY THE ENGINE BEGINS TO RUN ROUGH. IT REMINDS ME OF THE DAYS OF CARBURETOR CARS WHEN THE CHOKE WAS STUCK ON. SUDDENLY IT STARTS RUNNING LIKE A SEWING MACHINE. MOST MORNINGS, BUT NOT EVERYDAY, AFTER BACKING OUT OF THE GARAGE AND PUTTING THE CAR IN DRIVE THEN ACCELERATING THE CAR WILL STUMBLE 1-4 TIMES. THE ENGINE SPEED BEGINS TO COME UP AND THEN STOPS ACCELERATING, THEN SUDDENLY ACCELERATES AGAIN. THIS ONLY HAPPENS SHORTLY AFTER THE ENGINE HAS BEEN STARTED. ONCE THE ENGINE WARMS UP THIS PROBLEM WILL NOT HAPPEN. CONTINUED 1 OF 3 THE CONSUMER BELIEVED THE FUEL DRAINS BACK TO THE TANK WHEN THE VEHICLE SITS OVERNIGHT. AFTER THE VEHICLE IS STARTED THE FUEL SYSTEM IS NOT PROPERLY PRESSURIZED FOR A SHORT PERIOD OF TIME, WHICH COULD BE A RESULT OF A DEFECTIVE COMPONET.

View Details

SEATS: FRONT ASSEMBLY: SEAT HEATER/COOLER

2/5/2005 - SALINE, MI
HEATED SEAT FIRE ON 2004 CHRYSLER SEBRING LIMITED. ON A TRIP WITH OUR FAMILY - THE PASSENGER HEATED SEAT WAS TURNED ON AT SOME POINT GETTING IN OUR OUT OF THE CAR. A STANDARD INSULATED COOLER WAS SITTING ON THE SEAT SO NOBODY KNEW IT WAS ON. WE CONTINUED TO SMELL A FOUL BURNING SMELL (SIMILAR TO DIESEL FUMES) AND BEGAN TO MOVE LANES, ROLL THE WINDOWS DOWN, ETC. A SHORT TIME LATER, THE SMELL BECAME SEVERE AND THE CAR BEGAN FILLING WITH SMOKE (WHILE TRAVELING DOWN THE HIGHWAY). I PULLED OVER, MADE SURE EVERYONE WAS OUT OF THE CAR AND STARTED TO LOOK AROUND THE INTERIOR. FOUND A PORTION OF THE COOLER MELTED TO THE SEAT BOTTOM. SEVERAL SANDWICH BAGS HAD MELTED TO SEAT ALSO. I TURNED THE SWITCH OFF, AND LET IT COOL, THEN CONTINUED DOWN THE ROAD. WITHIN 5-7 MINUTES, THE CAR WAS FILLING WITH SMOKE AGAIN - I HAD TO PULL OFF THE HIGHWAY IMMEDIATELY AND REMOVE THE RELAY FROM THE PDB TO CUT THE POWER SUPPLY TO THE SEAT. WE CALLED POISON CONTROL THAT NIGHT SINCE OUR NEWBORN INFANT WAS IN THE CAR WITH US AND INHALED THE BURNING BY PRODUCTS. I SCHEDULED AN APPT AT THE DEALERSHIP SHORTLY THERE AFTER TO HAVE THIS ADDRESSED - IT TOOK MONTHS TO GET THIS REPAIRED - AND WHEN DELIVERED BACK TO ME - WAS SUPPOSEDLY CHECKED BY TECHNICIAN. THE RELAY WAS NOT EVEN INSTALLED IN THE PDB! I HAVE MORE INFORMATION AND PICTURES - THE WEBSITE LIMITED INFORMATION IN THIS BOX.

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, OTHER: DELIVERY: HOSES, LINES/PIPING, AND FITTINGS

1/26/2005 - HAMPSTEAD, NC
RECALL CAMPAIGN 04V313000, AFTER DRIVING THE VEHICLE A SHORT DISTANCE CONSUMER SMELLED GAS, PULLED INTO A GAS STATION, AND THERE WAS GAS LEAKING OUT THE VEHICLE. DEALER REPAIRED THE FUEL LINE. THIS WAS THE SECOND OCCURRENCE.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

1/8/2005 - CLEMENTON, NJ
CUTS OFF WHEN IDLE OR MOVING AT LOW SPEEDS, IRRADICALLY JERKS WHEN STOPPING OR PULLING OFF, SMELL OF GAS. I TOOK MY CAR TO THE DEALER ON THREE SEPARATE OCCASIONS. THE FIRST TIME THEY MADE ME PAY FOR FUEL INJECTORS. THE SECOND TIME THEY RELEARNED THE COMPUTER. THE THIRD TIME THEY SAID THEY COULD NOT FIND ANYTHING WRONG. NOT ONCE DID THEY SAY ANYTHING ABOUT THE RECALL AND I HAVE STILL NOT RECEIVED NOTIFICATION OF THE RECALLS.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

1/3/2005 - APPLING, GA
CONSUMER COMPLAINED ABOUT AN ELECTRICAL SYSTEM PROBLEM. VEHICLE CAUGHT ON FIRE AND BURNED THE WIRING. ALSO, TRANSMISSION EXPERIENCED PROBLEMS, SUCH AS DOWN SHIFTING. WHILE DRIVING AUTOMATIC TRANSMISSION WOULD GO INTO A LOWER GEAR AND REMAIN THEIR FOR AN EXTENSIVE PERIOD OF TIME.

View Details
Pages:  <<  12  13  14  15  16  17  18  19  20  21  22  ... 22
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds