Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHRYSLER SEBRING - 2004 CHRYSLER SEBRING Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Chrysler (FCA US LLC)

There are 210 complaints filed for the 2004 CHRYSLER SEBRING

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2004 CHRYSLER SEBRING. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2004 CHRYSLER SEBRING, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (31) Equipment (2) Latches Locks Linkages (4) Service Brakes Air (1) Tires (4)
Communications (4) Exterior Lighting (4) Other (2) Service Brakes Hydraulic (9) Unknown Or Other (4)
Electrical System (19) Fuel Propulsion System (2) Power Train (26) Steering (8) Vehicle Speed Control (20)
Electronic Stability Control (2) Fuel System Gasoline (8) Seat Belts (7) Structure (10) Visibility (11)
Engine (8) Fuel System Other (3) Seats (12) Suspension (26) Wheels (6)
Engine And Engine Cooling (53) Interior Lighting (1) Service Brakes (3)

Pages:  
<<  14  15  16  17  18  19  20  21  22  ... 22
 
ComplaintDescription

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING

10/3/2004 - CHESAPEAKE, VA
2002 CHRYSLER SEBRING , THE CAR WAS FOUND WITH SLUDGE IN THE ENGINE. OIL CHANGES WERE DONE EVERY 7500 MILES WITH THE ECEPTION OF THE FIRST WHICH WAS AT 4800 MILES. THE DEALER CHANGED THE FIRST ONE BUT WAS TOLD NOT TO BRING THE CAR IN UNTIL EVERY 7500 MILES . THE NEXT TWO OIL CHANGES WERE DONE AT THE DEALERSHIP AT 13454 AND 20932. THE NEXT TWO WAS DONE BY THE CUSTOMER AT 26532 AND 33750. THE LAST ONE WAS DONE AT THE DEALERSHIP AT 41258 AND THEN THE CAR AT 46819 WAS TAKEN BACK TO THE DEALER FOR A KNOCKING SOUND AND CAR NOT BEING ABLE TO GO PAST 35 MILES AN HOUR.DEALER BLAMES CUSTOMER.AFTER CUSTOMER INVESTAGATION HE FOUND SERVERAL COMPLAINTS ON THE INTERNET WITH THE SAME "SLUDGE IN THE ENGINE". THIS SLUDGE WAS DUE TO SMALL OIL FLOW PASSAGEWAY CAUSING THE OIL TO HEAT UP TO A HIGH ENOUGH TEMPERATURE TO FORM INTO SLUDGE. THIS CAUSING NO OIL IN THE CAR WITH OIL LIGHT NEVER COMING ON AND THE SLUDGE CLOGGING THE FILTER CAUSING OIL STARVATION TO THE ENGINE.DEALER ACUSING CUSTOMER OF NOT CHANGING THE OIL THE TWO TIMES SINCE HE ONLY HAS IT WRITTEN IN A CALENDAR BOOK. CUSTOMER HAS TWO OTHER VEHICLES WITH 180,000 MILES AND 100,000 MILES THAT HE CHANGES THE OIL IN AND THEY RUN PERFECTLY FINE. IN FACT THE 180,000 MILE CAR ALWAYS RAN POWERFULTHAN THE SEBRING WITH LESS MILES. WARRENTY DENIES CLAIM AND BLAMES CUSTOMER FOR THE SLUDGE IN THE ENGINE.WHAT IS THE TRUTH BEHIND THE SLUDGE IN THE ENGINE ? IS THEIR A DEFECT IN THE ENGINE? DID THE DEALERSHIP CHANGE THE OIL AT 41,258 MILES?.

View Details

AIR BAGS: FRONTAL

9/2/2004 - HAMILTON, OH
AFTER BEING STRUCK HEAD ON AT 40 MPH AIR BAGS DID NOT DEPLOY. DRIVING CAR DOWN ON PRINCETON ROAD IN HAMILTON. OHIO REACHED POSTED SPEED WHICH WAS 45 MPH SUDDENLY BRAKES LOCKED, AND CONSUMER'S VEHICLE REAR ENDED AN OLDER MODEL CAR, CUTLASS SUPREME DOING ABOUT 40 MPH. UPON IMPACT, AIR BAGS FAILED TO DEPLOY. NO SERIOUS INJURIES, JUST ACHES AND BRUISING.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING: COOLING SYSTEM

8/20/2004 - LAS VEGAS, NV
I HAVE A 2004 SEBRING WITH AN INTERMITTENT PROBLEM WITH ENGINE SURGING, DYING, REVING UP WHILE DRIVING AT SLOW SPEEDS. THE DEALER HAS TRIED SEVERAL FIXES WITHOUT SOLVING THE PROBLEM, THEY CAN'T DUPLICATE THE CONCERN SO THEY SAY THERE IS NO PROBLEM. I HAVE FOUND 19 COMPLAINTS ON THIS WEBSITE THAT SHARE THE SAME CONCERN. IF YOU HAVE ONE OF THESE PROBLEM CARS, LETS COMPARE NOTES. [email protected]

View Details

VISIBILITY: GLASS, SIDE/REAR

8/12/2004 - KENNER, LA
WHILE PUTTING THE TOP DOWN, THE REAR WINDSHIELD SHATTERED. THE TOP SHATTERD WHILE IN PARK. THERE WAS A GRINDING NOISE HEARD IN THE REAR WHEN THE WINDOW SHATTERED INTO THE VEHICLE.

View Details

COMMUNICATIONS: HORN ASSEMBLY

8/10/2004 - SPRING, TX
WHEN DRIVING HORN WILL NOT BLOW. WHEN THE VEHICLE WAS NOT IN MOTION, THE HORN BLEW IN 2 SECOND INTERVALS. CONSUMER CONTACTED THE DEALER AND THE MANUFACTURER, AND NEITHER WAS WILLING TO ASSIST THE CONSUMER. THEY TOLD CONSUMER THAT THE PROBLEM WAS BEING WORKED ON.

View Details

POWER TRAIN: AUTOMATIC TRANSMISSION

8/5/2004 - HENDERSONVILLE, NC
I PURCHASED A NEW 2004 SEBRING LIMITED CONVERTIBLE FROM EGOLF MOTORS, HENDERSONVILLE, NC IN SEPT., 2003. I IMMEDIATELY NOTICED THE ENGINE IDLE WAS A PROBLEM BECAUSE WHEN THE BRAKES ARE APPLIED WHEN SLOWING TO STOP, THE ENGINE SEEMS TO PULSE OR REV UP AND THEN DIE DOWN TO A NORMAL IDLE. NO ACCIDENTS HAVE OCCURRED, BUT THE ENGINE HAS DIED ON TWO OCCASIONS WHILE IDLING. WHEN THE TRANSMISSION SHIFTS IT IS JERKY AND AT TIMES NOISY. I HAVE HAD THE SERVICE MANAGER AND TRANSMISSION SPECIALIST AT EGOLF MOTORS INSPECT AND DRIVE THE CAR AND THEIR RESPONSE IS THAT IT IS NORMAL FOR THIS VEHICLE. HOWEVER, I DROVE ANOTHER NEW SEBRING ON THE CAR LOT AND FOUND THE TRANSMISSION TO SHIFT SMOOTHLY AND THE IDLE HAD NONE OF THE SURGING FEATURES OF MY CAR. I POINTED THIS OUT TO THE SERVICE MANAGER AND HE SAID MY CAR IS NORMAL AND IF I COULD REPLICATE WHAT IS HAPPENING THEN TO BRING THE CAR BACK. I LEFT THE CAR OVER NIGHT FOR THEM TO EXAMINE UNDER COLD CONDITIONS AND THEY STILL SAID IT WAS WITHIN NORMAL RANGE ACCORDING TO THEIR COMPUTER ANALYSIS. GRANTED, THE IDLE, TRANSMISSION AND STALLING PROBLEMS ARE SOMEHWHAT INTERMITTENT, BUT I WOULD HOPE THEIR IS SOMETHING THAT CAN BE DONE TO FIX THESE ANNOYING PROBLEMS. IN ONE ON-LINE SUGGESTION I READ THAT SOME OF THE PROBLEM COULD BE CAUSED BY A FAULTY IDLE CONTROL SENSOR.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM: WIRING

8/4/2004 - MCDONOUGH, GA
INTERMITTENTLY WHILE DRIVING VEHICLE HESITATED WHEN ACCELERATING OR STALLING. VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO 2 DEALERSHIPS, IN WHICH THE SECOND DEALERSHIP, FOUND LOOSE WIRING IN THE ENGINE COMPARTMENT. THE WIRES WERE TIGHTENED, BUT THE FAILURE RECURRED.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

7/14/2004 - MELBER, KY
I HAVE ALREADY SUBMITTED ONE COMPLAINT AND THIS IS AN EXTENSION OF THAT PLUS A NEW COMPLAINT. ON 7/11/2004 MY VEHICLE SURGED AGAIN WHEN I STARTED TO TAKE MY FOOT OFF THE BRAKE WHILE SITTING AT A STOP SIGN. WHEN WILL AN INVESTIGATION BEGIN ON THIS PROBLEM? INCLUDING MY PAST COMPLAINT I HAVE FOUND 10 COMPLAINTS ABOUT THIS PROBLEM. DOES SOMEONE HAVE TO DIE BEFORE AN INVESTIGATION IS STARTED? THE ODI ID# FOR JUST THE SURGING ISSUE ARE: 10075295, 10079965, 10079969, 10072311, 10063597, 10064593, 10074633, 10065378, 10075041, AND 10080475. I INFORMED THE DEALERSHIP ABOUT THE PROBLEM AND THEY LOOKED AT ALL THE SENSORS AND COMPUTERS AND SAID THEY FOUND NO PROBLEM OR RECORD OF A PROBLEM IN THE CAR'S COMPUTER, THIS WAS ON 7/12/2004. ALSO A PROBLEM FROM MONTHS AGO, THE CAR SUDDENLY DIED, LUCKILY MY WIFE WAS CRUISING THROUGH A PARK AND THE SPEED LIMIT WAS 10 MPH, SHE WAS ABLE TO RESTART IT AND IT HASN'T HAPPENED SINCE. WE TOOK IT TO THE DEALER AND AGAIN THEY CHECKED EVERYTHING AND FOUND NO PROBLEM. 3RD ISSUE, MY SEBRING HAS BEEN IDLING VERY ROUGH EVERY NOW AND THEN. I DRIVE MY CAR EVERY SINGLE DAY, BUT IT APPEARS TO DO IT MAINLY WHEN IT IS THE FIRST START OF THE DAY BUT IT HAS DONE IT AT OTHER TIMES. THE DEALER HAS BEEN NOTIFIED ABOUT THIS ISSUE AND THEY REQUESTED WE LEAVE IT WITH THEM OVER NIGHT SO THEY COULD TEST IT ON THE FIRST START. SERVICE ARRANGEMENTS FOR THIS ISSUE HAVE NOT BEEN MADE YET. I HAVE FOUND MANY COMPLAINTS ABOUT ALL THREE OF THESE PROBLEMS ON THIS WEBSITE, BUT THERE IS NOT A SINGLE INVESTIGATION OPEN ON THIS MODEL OF CHRYSLER, WHY?

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

7/6/2004 - MELBER, KY
SITTING AT A STOP LIGHT, THE VEHICLE'S RPMS INCREASED AND IT TRIED TO SURGE FORWARD, BUT FOOT WAS STILL FIRMLY ON THE BRAKE SO THE CAR DIDN'T MOVE MORE THAN A COUPLE OF INCHES. THE NEXT DAY A TRUCK STOPPED IN THE ROAD AND IT HAD NO BRAKE LIGHTS, SO MY WIFE HAD TO SLAM ON THE BRAKES. SHE RELEASED THE BRAKE AND AS SHE DID THE ENGINE'S RPMS REVVED UP VERY STRONGLY AND THE CAR SURGED FORWARD. THE BRAKE WAS APPLIED AGAIN AND THE CAR CAME TO A STOP AND HELD THE CAR BACK UNTIL THE ENGINE'S IDLE SPEED RETURNED TO NORMAL A FEW SECONDS LATER, BECAUSE OF THE SURGE AN ACCIDENT ALMOST OCCURRED. TOOK THE CAR TO THE DEALERSHIP, THEY LOOKED AT IT AND FOUND NO PROBLEMS, SAID IT MAY HAVE BEEN A COMPUTER GLITCH. A FEW WEEKS LATER, WHILE LETTING OFF THE BRAKE THE CAR SURGED AGAIN, BRAKE WAS APPLIED AND CAR CAME TO A STOP. THEN A WEEK OR TWO AFTER THAT WHILE STOPPED IN A PARKING LOT WITH THE TRANSMISSION IN DRIVE AND THE BRAKE APPLIED, THE CAR REVVED UP AGAIN AND TRIED TO SURGE FORWARD, BUT AGAIN ONLY MOVED A COUPLE OF INCHES BECAUSE THE BRAKE WAS FIRMLY APPLIED. LATER CAR DIED, BUT WAS ABLE TO RESTART RIGHT AWAY. CAR TAKEN BACK TO DEALER IN REGARD TO BOTH PROBLEMS. THE DEALER SAID THE STALLING PROBLEM COULD HAVE BEEN BECAUSE OF THE OIL FILTER. THEY REPLACED THE OIL FILTER AND THE OIL SWITCH, AS FOR THE SURGING PROBLEM THEY SAID THEY COULD NOT FIND ANYTHING WRONG, AND AGAIN IT COULD HAVE BEEN A COMPUTER GLITCH.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC: ANTILOCK

6/29/2004 - JACKSONVILLE, FL
WHILE BRAKING VEHICLE STALLED INTERMITTENTLY. CONSUMER PULLED OVER, AND RESTARTED THE VEHICLE. DEALERSHIP WAS NOTIFIED, BUT DID NOT RESOLVE THE PROBLEM.

View Details
Pages:  <<  14  15  16  17  18  19  20  21  22  ... 22
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds