Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHRYSLER SEBRING - 2004 CHRYSLER SEBRING Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Chrysler (FCA US LLC)

There are 210 complaints filed for the 2004 CHRYSLER SEBRING

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2004 CHRYSLER SEBRING. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2004 CHRYSLER SEBRING, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (31) Equipment (2) Latches Locks Linkages (4) Service Brakes Air (1) Tires (4)
Communications (4) Exterior Lighting (4) Other (2) Service Brakes Hydraulic (9) Unknown Or Other (4)
Electrical System (19) Fuel Propulsion System (2) Power Train (26) Steering (8) Vehicle Speed Control (20)
Electronic Stability Control (2) Fuel System Gasoline (8) Seat Belts (7) Structure (10) Visibility (11)
Engine (8) Fuel System Other (3) Seats (12) Suspension (26) Wheels (6)
Engine And Engine Cooling (53) Interior Lighting (1) Service Brakes (3)

Pages:  
<<  15  16  17  18  19  20  21  22  ... 22
 
ComplaintDescription

POWER TRAIN: AUTOMATIC TRANSMISSION

6/25/2004 - STATEN ISLAND, NY
TRANSMISSION WAS REPLACED AFTER ONLY 1,000 MILES. ALSO, VEHICLE EXPERIENCED INTERMITTENT POWER SURGES. CONSUMER CONTACTED THE DEALER, AND DEALER COULD NOT DUPLICATE THE PROBLEM. THEN, DEALER STATED NO PROBLEM, GOOD-BYE. CONSUMER WAS EXTREMELY UPSET.

View Details

POWER TRAIN: AUTOMATIC TRANSMISSION

6/25/2004 - STATEN ISLAND, NY
ON TWO SEPARATE OCCASIONS WHEN RELEASING THE BRAKE PEDAL FROM A STOPPING POSITION VEHICLE SUDDENLY ACCELERATED AND LURCHED FORWARD, CONSUMER HAD TO SLAM ON THE BRAKES TO GET THE VEHICLE UNDER CONTROL. VEHICLE HAD BEEN TO THE DEALER ON TWO SEPARATE OCCASIONS, AND THE TRANSMISSION WAS REPLACED TWICE.

View Details

SUSPENSION: FRONT

6/13/2004 - HOUSTON, TX
I HAVE JUST BOUGHT A CHRYSLER SEBRING 2004, AND EXPERIENCED SOME PROBLEMS. I HAVE NOT BEEN TO TEH DEALER YET FOR THEM, JUST WANTED TO CONFORM THE PROBLEM FIRST. I DID A SEARCH ONLINE AND SAW THIS WEBSITE AN DTHE I AGREED WITH ALL THE COMPLAINTS ALREADY ON HERE. 1). THE CAR IDLES BADLY, AND WHEN SLOWING DOWN AT A LIGHT OR WHILE U HAVE YOUR FOOT ON THE BRAKE, THE VEHICLE WILL JUMP FORWARD SUDDENLY! I ALMOST HIT THE CAR IN FRONT OF ME. THIS HAS HAPPENED TWICE SO FAR. I HAVE 128 MILES ON MY CAR. AFTER READING SAME COMPLAINTS ON THIS WEBSITE, I AM AFFRAID THAT THE DEALER WILL NOT BE ABLE TO FIX THIS, WHICH IS PATHETIC THAT A 30000 DOLLAR CAR WOULD HAVE SOMETHING LIKE THIS THAT IS SO ANNOYING. 2. WHEN U ARE DECELLERATING WITH UR FOOT ON BRAKE TO STOP AT A STOP LIGHT FOR EXAMPLE, JUST BEFORE THE RPM NEEDLE REACHES TEH IDLE POINT AT "1" ALMOST.. IT WILL SUDDENLY GO BACK UP TO ABOUT 1.5 AND THEN COME BACK TO 1. I DONT KNOW IF ITS BAD GEAR SHIFTING BY TEH AUTOTRAN OR JUST BAD TIMMING ADJUSTEMENT? BUT ITS ANNOYING, CUZ IT MAKE TEH CAR JUMP A LITTLE IF YOU ARE SOFT BRAKING. 3). TWICE ALREADY THE ENGINE JUST DIES.. AND I THINK THSI IS RELATED TO THE PREVIOUS TWO PROBLEMS. I WAS BACKING UP IN MY PARKING AT HIME.. AND AS SOON AS I PUT GEAR IN REVERSE.. THE RPM SUDEENLY DROPPED.. AND EVENTUALLY ENGINE SHUT DOWN. SAME THING HAPPENED WHEN I PULLED UP TO THE PARKING ENTRANCE AT WORK TO SHOW MY ACCESS CARD, AND WHEN I PUT IT IN P, THE RPM DROPPED CAUSING THE CAR TO STALL. 4). TRANSMISSION MAKES CLUNK SOUND SOMETIMES WHILE DRIVING WHEN CHANGING FROM N TO D. OR WHEN I DO A COLD START IN TEH MORNING AND THEN PUT TEH GEAR IN D, AS SOON AS I MOVE TEH CAR AN INCH.. IT MAKES THSI SOUND.. SOMETHIMES LOOKS LIEK COMING FROM TEH FRONT END NOT THE TRAN.. I DONNO WHAT THAT IS. BUT THIS ALSO HAS BEEN REPORTED BY OTHER PEOPLE ON THIS SAME SITE, NO ONE IS HURT BUT I SEE MY SELF BUMPING SOMEONE IN FUTURE SOOO CLEARLY.!!

View Details

POWER TRAIN: AUTOMATIC TRANSMISSION

6/13/2004 - HOUSTON, TX
I HAVE JUST BOUGHT A CHRYSLER SEBRING 2004, AND EXPERIENCED SOME PROBLEMS. I HAVE NOT BEEN TO TEH DEALER YET FOR THEM, JUST WANTED TO CONFORM THE PROBLEM FIRST. I DID A SEARCH ONLINE AND SAW THIS WEBSITE AN DTHE I AGREED WITH ALL THE COMPLAINTS ALREADY ON HERE. 1). THE CAR IDLES BADLY, AND WHEN SLOWING DOWN AT A LIGHT OR WHILE U HAVE YOUR FOOT ON THE BRAKE, THE VEHICLE WILL JUMP FORWARD SUDDENLY! I ALMOST HIT THE CAR IN FRONT OF ME. THIS HAS HAPPENED TWICE SO FAR. I HAVE 128 MILES ON MY CAR. AFTER READING SAME COMPLAINTS ON THIS WEBSITE, I AM AFFRAID THAT THE DEALER WILL NOT BE ABLE TO FIX THIS, WHICH IS PATHETIC THAT A 30000 DOLLAR CAR WOULD HAVE SOMETHING LIKE THIS THAT IS SO ANNOYING. 2. WHEN U ARE DECELLERATING WITH UR FOOT ON BRAKE TO STOP AT A STOP LIGHT FOR EXAMPLE, JUST BEFORE THE RPM NEEDLE REACHES TEH IDLE POINT AT "1" ALMOST.. IT WILL SUDDENLY GO BACK UP TO ABOUT 1.5 AND THEN COME BACK TO 1. I DONT KNOW IF ITS BAD GEAR SHIFTING BY TEH AUTOTRAN OR JUST BAD TIMMING ADJUSTEMENT? BUT ITS ANNOYING, CUZ IT MAKE TEH CAR JUMP A LITTLE IF YOU ARE SOFT BRAKING. 3). TWICE ALREADY THE ENGINE JUST DIES.. AND I THINK THSI IS RELATED TO THE PREVIOUS TWO PROBLEMS. I WAS BACKING UP IN MY PARKING AT HIME.. AND AS SOON AS I PUT GEAR IN REVERSE.. THE RPM SUDEENLY DROPPED.. AND EVENTUALLY ENGINE SHUT DOWN. SAME THING HAPPENED WHEN I PULLED UP TO THE PARKING ENTRANCE AT WORK TO SHOW MY ACCESS CARD, AND WHEN I PUT IT IN P, THE RPM DROPPED CAUSING THE CAR TO STALL. 4). TRANSMISSION MAKES CLUNK SOUND SOMETIMES WHILE DRIVING WHEN CHANGING FROM N TO D. OR WHEN I DO A COLD START IN TEH MORNING AND THEN PUT TEH GEAR IN D, AS SOON AS I MOVE TEH CAR AN INCH.. IT MAKES THSI SOUND.. SOMETHIMES LOOKS LIEK COMING FROM TEH FRONT END NOT THE TRAN.. I DONNO WHAT THAT IS. BUT THIS ALSO HAS BEEN REPORTED BY OTHER PEOPLE ON THIS SAME SITE, NO ONE IS HURT BUT I SEE MY SELF BUMPING SOMEONE IN FUTURE SOOO CLEARLY.!!

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

6/9/2004 - LAS VEGAS, NV
MY 2004 CHRYSLER SEBRING LIMITED CONVERTABLE HAS AN ONGOING PROBLEM OF THE ENGINE INTERMITTENTLY SURGING, REVVING, AND DYING AT SLOW SPEEDS. I'VE BEEN TO THE DEALER 11 TIMES. HE CAN'T DUPLICATE PROBLEM BUT HAS FOUND OIL ON MAP SESOR,PCV VALVE & HOSE AND INTAKE PLENUM. HE HAS REPLACED THESE PARTS AND FINALLY HAD TO REPLACE WHOLE ENGINE ALONG WITH RUNNING SERVICE BULLETIN # 18-041-03. THE SURGING, REVING, AND DYING HAS STARTED AGAIN. THE FIRST TIME WAS AT 531 MILES AND THE MOST RESENT WAS AT 18500 MILES. THE CHRYSLER PEOPLE TOLD ME MINE WAS THE ONLY CASE BUT I'VE FOUND 9 MORE ON THIS WEBSITE. SOMETHING MUST BE DONE!!!!

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING: EXHAUST SYSTEM: EMISSION CONTROL: CRANKCASE (PCV)

6/1/2004 - CONWAY, SC
FOLLOW UP TO ODI #10064593. VEHICLE CONTINUES TO ACCELERATE UNEXPECTEDLY WHILE SITTING AT A STOP. HAS ALSO STALLED ON THREE OCCASIONS AND IDLES ROUGH. IT HAS BEEN TO TWO (2) DEALERSHIPS 8 TIMES. TCP SENSOR, AD SOLENOID, MAP SENSOR AND PCV VALVE ALL BEEN REPLACED. SERVICE BULLETIN #18-041-03 HAS BEEN RAN TWICE. THE VEHICLE HAS ALMOST HIT TWO CARS, ONE MOTORCYCLE, ONE CONCRETE PILING AND TWO BUILDINGS. THE ONLY THING THAT HAS KEPT ME FROM HITTING ANYTHING IS THE FACT THAT I ALWAYS HAVE MY FOOT ON THE BRAKE. WHY WON'T CHRYSLER OR THE NHTSA BEGIN AN INVESTIGATION? I HAVE FOUND OVER A DOZEN COMPLAINTS REGARDING CHRYSLER/JEEP VEHICLES WITH THE SAME DANGEROUS MALFUNCTION. I LOVE MY CAR, BUT I AM AFRAID SOMEONE IS GOING TO GET HURT.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

6/1/2004 - CONWAY, SC
FOLLOW UP TO ODI #10064593. VEHICLE CONTINUES TO ACCELERATE UNEXPECTEDLY WHILE SITTING AT A STOP. HAS ALSO STALLED ON THREE OCCASIONS AND IDLES ROUGH. IT HAS BEEN TO TWO (2) DEALERSHIPS 8 TIMES. TCP SENSOR, AD SOLENOID, MAP SENSOR AND PCV VALVE ALL BEEN REPLACED. SERVICE BULLETIN #18-041-03 HAS BEEN RAN TWICE. THE VEHICLE HAS ALMOST HIT TWO CARS, ONE MOTORCYCLE, ONE CONCRETE PILING AND TWO BUILDINGS. THE ONLY THING THAT HAS KEPT ME FROM HITTING ANYTHING IS THE FACT THAT I ALWAYS HAVE MY FOOT ON THE BRAKE. WHY WON'T CHRYSLER OR THE NHTSA BEGIN AN INVESTIGATION? I HAVE FOUND OVER A DOZEN COMPLAINTS REGARDING CHRYSLER/JEEP VEHICLES WITH THE SAME DANGEROUS MALFUNCTION. I LOVE MY CAR, BUT I AM AFRAID SOMEONE IS GOING TO GET HURT.

View Details

COMMUNICATIONS: HORN ASSEMBLY

5/17/2004 - OSPREY, FL
HORN IS NOT FUNCTIONING PROPERLY. IT HAS BEEN IN TO THE DEALERSHIP APPROX. 4 TIMES FOR THIS PROBLEM, AND IT STILL DOES NOT WORK. IT APPEARS TO BE SOME KIND OF ELECTRICAL SHORT OR MALFUNCTION. THE HORN DOES NOT WORK PROPERLY TO BE USED AS A SAFETY DEVICE. THIS HAS POTENTIAL TO HAVE DIRE CONSEQUENCES.

View Details

POWER TRAIN: MANUAL TRANSMISSION: FLOOR SHIFT ASSEMBLY

5/9/2004 - IRVING, TX
ONGOING ISSUE WITH 2004 CHRYSLER SEBRING CONVERTIBLE (LIMITED EDITION) AUTOMATIC TRANSMISSION "CLUNKING WHEN CHANGING GEARS", "NOT ENGAGING GEAR SELECTED" AND TWICE TRANSMISSION SHIFT TO HIGH, THEN LOWER GEAR RESULTING IN VECHICLE SURGING. FIRST TIME THIS HAPPENED IT CAUSED THE CAR TO JERK STRAIGHT FORWARD (WAS IN A CURVE) TOWARD A BRIDGE ABUTMENT. SECOND TIME THE SURGING OCCURED, WAS SLOWING DOWN FOR A RED LIGHT WITH A CAR IN FRONT OF ME. I BARELY MISSED HITTING THE CAR IN FRONT OF ME. DEALER REPLACED TRANSMISSION PUMP, THEN NOTIFIED ME THAT THE SHIFT CABLE WAS BROKEN. IT WAS REPLACED. VEHICLE CONTINUES ALL SYMPTOMS DESCRIBED, INCLUDING NEW PROBLEM WITH CLUNKING WHEN SHIFTED FROM PARK. THIS IS NEW AND WAS IDENTIFIED BY DEALER SERVICE DEPARTMENT ON 5/5/04. DEALER SAYS THEY CAN'T IDENTIFY THE CAUSE SO REPAIRS CANNOT BE MADE. I TOOK THE CAR BACK WITHIN DAYS OF TAKING POSSESSION IN AUGUST 2003 ONLY TO BE TOLD THAT IT WAS NEW AND NEEDED SOME TIME TO BREAK IN.

View Details

POWER TRAIN: AUTOMATIC TRANSMISSION

5/9/2004 - IRVING, TX
ONGOING ISSUE WITH 2004 CHRYSLER SEBRING CONVERTIBLE (LIMITED EDITION) AUTOMATIC TRANSMISSION "CLUNKING WHEN CHANGING GEARS", "NOT ENGAGING GEAR SELECTED" AND TWICE TRANSMISSION SHIFT TO HIGH, THEN LOWER GEAR RESULTING IN VECHICLE SURGING. FIRST TIME THIS HAPPENED IT CAUSED THE CAR TO JERK STRAIGHT FORWARD (WAS IN A CURVE) TOWARD A BRIDGE ABUTMENT. SECOND TIME THE SURGING OCCURED, WAS SLOWING DOWN FOR A RED LIGHT WITH A CAR IN FRONT OF ME. I BARELY MISSED HITTING THE CAR IN FRONT OF ME. DEALER REPLACED TRANSMISSION PUMP, THEN NOTIFIED ME THAT THE SHIFT CABLE WAS BROKEN. IT WAS REPLACED. VEHICLE CONTINUES ALL SYMPTOMS DESCRIBED, INCLUDING NEW PROBLEM WITH CLUNKING WHEN SHIFTED FROM PARK. THIS IS NEW AND WAS IDENTIFIED BY DEALER SERVICE DEPARTMENT ON 5/5/04. DEALER SAYS THEY CAN'T IDENTIFY THE CAUSE SO REPAIRS CANNOT BE MADE. I TOOK THE CAR BACK WITHIN DAYS OF TAKING POSSESSION IN AUGUST 2003 ONLY TO BE TOLD THAT IT WAS NEW AND NEEDED SOME TIME TO BREAK IN.

View Details
Pages:  <<  15  16  17  18  19  20  21  22  ... 22
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds