Auto Recalls for Consumers

DODGE RAM 2500 - 2004 DODGE RAM 2500 Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Chrysler (FCA US LLC)

There are 560 complaints filed for the 2004 DODGE RAM 2500

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2004 DODGE RAM 2500. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2004 DODGE RAM 2500, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (83) Equipment (2) Fuel System Other (4) Service Brakes Electric (2) Unknown Or Other (6)
Communications (5) Equipment Adaptive (1) Latches Locks Linkages (7) Service Brakes Hydraulic (7) Vehicle Speed Control (17)
Electrical System (43) Exterior Lighting (25) Other (1) Steering (134) Visibility (19)
Electronic Stability Control (2) Fuel Propulsion System (8) Power Train (115) Structure (37) Visibility Wiper (13)
Engine (12) Fuel System Diesel (13) Seat Belts (1) Suspension (109) Wheels (14)
Engine And Engine Cooling (27) Fuel System Gasoline (5) Service Brakes (8) Tires (8)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 72
 
ComplaintDescription

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

9/20/2018 - CRESCENT CITY, CA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2004 DODGE RAM 2500. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE FRONT DRIVER'S SIDE DOOR WOULD NOT UNLOCK FOR THE DRIVER TO ENTER THE VEHICLE. THE ELECTRONIC REMOTE LOCK WAS NOT FUNCTIONING. THE CONTACT ATTEMPTED TO MANUALLY OPEN THE DOOR WITH THE KEY, BUT THE KEY FAILED TO TURN AND UNLOCK THE DOOR. IN ORDER TO ENTER THE VEHICLE, THE DRIVER HAD TO ENTER THROUGH THE REAR DOOR AND CLIMB OVER TO REACH THE FRONT DRIVER+S SEAT. THE DEALER AND MANUFACTURER HAD NOT BEEN CONTACTED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE VIN WAS NOT AVAILABLE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 160,000.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY: DOOR

9/20/2018 - CRESCENT CITY, CA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2004 DODGE RAM 2500. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE FRONT DRIVER'S SIDE DOOR WOULD NOT UNLOCK FOR THE DRIVER TO ENTER THE VEHICLE. THE ELECTRONIC REMOTE LOCK WAS NOT FUNCTIONING. THE CONTACT ATTEMPTED TO MANUALLY OPEN THE DOOR WITH THE KEY, BUT THE KEY FAILED TO TURN AND UNLOCK THE DOOR. IN ORDER TO ENTER THE VEHICLE, THE DRIVER HAD TO ENTER THROUGH THE REAR DOOR AND CLIMB OVER TO REACH THE FRONT DRIVER+S SEAT. THE DEALER AND MANUFACTURER HAD NOT BEEN CONTACTED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE VIN WAS NOT AVAILABLE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 160,000.

View Details

STEERING: GEAR BOX (OTHER THAN RACK AND PINION)

5/30/2018 - GRANTS PASS, OR
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2004 DODGE RAM 2500. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 10 MPH, THE POWER STEERING GEAR BOX SIDE BOLT SHEARED IN HALF. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC AND REPAIRED. THE MECHANIC INFORMED THE CONTACT OF A POSSIBLE RECALL, BUT THE CONTACT DID NOT HAVE THE RECALL INFORMATION AVAILABLE. THE CONTACT CALLED LITHIA CHRYSLER JEEP DODGE OF GRANTS PASS (1421 NE 6TH ST, GRANTS PASS, OR 97526) AND WAS INFORMED THAT THE VIN WAS NOT INCLUDED IN A RECALL FOR THE FAILURE. THE MANUFACTURER HAD NOT BEEN CONTACTED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 152,073.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

5/14/2018 - SENOIA, GA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2004 DODGE RAM 2500. WHILE ATTEMPTING TO HOLD ONTO THE ROOF HANDLE, THE HANDLE DETACHED FROM THE VEHICLE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE DEALER AND MANUFACTURER WERE NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 230,000.

View Details

ENGINE

2/24/2018 - PORT ST. LUCIE, FL
TRUCK DIES WHILE DRIVING AND MAKES IT EXTREMELY HARD TO STEER ! SEEMS TO BE SOME SORT OF FUEL PROBLEM ! THIS HAS BEEN ONGOING FOR SEVERAL YEARS AND I DON'T TRUST IT TO ATTEMPT TO DRIVE IN TRAFFIC TO A DEALER FOR REPAIRS ! THE TRUCK CURRENTLY HAS APPROX. 87,000 ORIGINAL MILES ON IT ! PROBLEM SEEM TO START SHORTLY AFTER LAST DEALER VISIT IN 2008 FOR REPLACEMENT OF A/C DUCTING UNDER DASH ! DEALER SHUT DOWN RIGHT AFTER OUR PRESIDENT TOOK OFFICE, AS DID MANY OF THE LOCAL DODGE DEALERS ! TO ME, IT ACTS AS IF THE FUEL JUST SHUTS OFF. HARD TO RESTART OR STEER - DEFINITELY A SAFETY HAZARD ! WHILE SURFING THE INTERNET FOR LIKE COMPLAINTS, MOST ALL COMPLAINTS OF THE SAME NATURE, SAY THAT DODGE IS AWARE OF THE PROBLEM AND WILL DO NOTHING ! I'M A 100 % SERVICE CONNECTED DOUBLE AMPUTEE, AND NEED THIS VEHICLE FOR TRANSPORTATION AND TRAVEL TO THE VA HOSPITAL 45 MILES AWAY FROM WHERE I LIVE ! I CAN'T AFFORD ANOTHER VEHICLE AT THIS TIME.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

2/24/2018 - PORT ST. LUCIE, FL
TRUCK DIES WHILE DRIVING AND MAKES IT EXTREMELY HARD TO STEER ! SEEMS TO BE SOME SORT OF FUEL PROBLEM ! THIS HAS BEEN ONGOING FOR SEVERAL YEARS AND I DON'T TRUST IT TO ATTEMPT TO DRIVE IN TRAFFIC TO A DEALER FOR REPAIRS ! THE TRUCK CURRENTLY HAS APPROX. 87,000 ORIGINAL MILES ON IT ! PROBLEM SEEM TO START SHORTLY AFTER LAST DEALER VISIT IN 2008 FOR REPLACEMENT OF A/C DUCTING UNDER DASH ! DEALER SHUT DOWN RIGHT AFTER OUR PRESIDENT TOOK OFFICE, AS DID MANY OF THE LOCAL DODGE DEALERS ! TO ME, IT ACTS AS IF THE FUEL JUST SHUTS OFF. HARD TO RESTART OR STEER - DEFINITELY A SAFETY HAZARD ! WHILE SURFING THE INTERNET FOR LIKE COMPLAINTS, MOST ALL COMPLAINTS OF THE SAME NATURE, SAY THAT DODGE IS AWARE OF THE PROBLEM AND WILL DO NOTHING ! I'M A 100 % SERVICE CONNECTED DOUBLE AMPUTEE, AND NEED THIS VEHICLE FOR TRANSPORTATION AND TRAVEL TO THE VA HOSPITAL 45 MILES AWAY FROM WHERE I LIVE ! I CAN'T AFFORD ANOTHER VEHICLE AT THIS TIME.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

12/10/2017 - LOVELOCK, NV
I BOUGHT THIS TRUCK BRAND NEW AND NEVER BEEN ABUSED BUT BACK ON 4/03/2004 MY TRUCK GAUGES WOULD FLICKER AND GO TO ZERO AND THEN GO BACK ALL IN A MILLISECOND. THIS HAS HAPPENED SINCE I HAVE OWNED IT. IT KEEPS DOING IT TO THIS DAY. YOU COULD BE DRIVING THE TRUCK AT LOW SPEED AND HIGH SPEEDS WHEN IT DOES IT THE GERMLIN DASH SHAKE. IT HAPPENS SO FAST THAT I CAN+T GET A PICTURE OF IT. I HAVE TAKEN IT TO THE DEALER NURMIOUS TIMES AND THEY SAID THERE+S NOTHING WRONG WITH IT. BUT YET YOU LOOK AT ALL THE DODGE FORUMS AND EVERYONE THAT+S OWNS A 2003 TO 2005 DODGE RAM CUMMINS 2500 OR 3500 THIS HAS HAPPENED TO THEM. WHAT HAPPENS IF THE GAUGES CAUSE THE TRUCK TO SHUT DOWN AT A HIGH RATE OF SPEED? I HAVE LOOKED OVER ALL THE RECALLS AND THINK A INVESTAGATION SHOULD BE DONE ON THIS. I CURRENTLY ONLY HAVE 106,000 MILES ON MY 2004! DODGE RAM 2500. LIKE I SAID THIS HAS GONE ON SINCE APRIL OF 2004 AND TO THIS DAY STILL DOES IT. LIKE I SAID I HAVE TAKEN IT TO THE DEALER NURMIOUS TIMES AND THEY SAID NOTHING IS WRONG AND NO THEY SAY THEY CAN FIX IT FOR A LARGE AMOUNT OF MONEY SINCE IT+S NOT COVERED UNDER WARRANTY.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

12/10/2017 - LOVELOCK, NV
I BOUGHT THIS TRUCK BRAND NEW AND NEVER BEEN ABUSED BUT BACK ON 4/03/2004 MY TRUCK GAUGES WOULD FLICKER AND GO TO ZERO AND THEN GO BACK ALL IN A MILLISECOND. THIS HAS HAPPENED SINCE I HAVE OWNED IT. IT KEEPS DOING IT TO THIS DAY. YOU COULD BE DRIVING THE TRUCK AT LOW SPEED AND HIGH SPEEDS WHEN IT DOES IT THE GERMLIN DASH SHAKE. IT HAPPENS SO FAST THAT I CAN+T GET A PICTURE OF IT. I HAVE TAKEN IT TO THE DEALER NURMIOUS TIMES AND THEY SAID THERE+S NOTHING WRONG WITH IT. BUT YET YOU LOOK AT ALL THE DODGE FORUMS AND EVERYONE THAT+S OWNS A 2003 TO 2005 DODGE RAM CUMMINS 2500 OR 3500 THIS HAS HAPPENED TO THEM. WHAT HAPPENS IF THE GAUGES CAUSE THE TRUCK TO SHUT DOWN AT A HIGH RATE OF SPEED? I HAVE LOOKED OVER ALL THE RECALLS AND THINK A INVESTAGATION SHOULD BE DONE ON THIS. I CURRENTLY ONLY HAVE 106,000 MILES ON MY 2004! DODGE RAM 2500. LIKE I SAID THIS HAS GONE ON SINCE APRIL OF 2004 AND TO THIS DAY STILL DOES IT. LIKE I SAID I HAVE TAKEN IT TO THE DEALER NURMIOUS TIMES AND THEY SAID NOTHING IS WRONG AND NO THEY SAY THEY CAN FIX IT FOR A LARGE AMOUNT OF MONEY SINCE IT+S NOT COVERED UNDER WARRANTY.

View Details

VISIBILITY/WIPER

12/9/2017 - CENTER MORICHES, NY
WINDSHIELD WIPERS WORK ONCE AND THEN THEY STOP WORKING. I SEE THIS HAS BEEN AN ISSUE ON A LOT OF DODGES DURING THESE YEARS. MY TRUCK DOESN'T HAVE THE RECALL. BUT THIS IS A SERIOUS PROBLEM, I CRASHED INTO SOMEONE DUE TO IT. PLEASE FIGURE THIS OUT I KNOW OF SEVERAL PEOPLE THAT THIS HAS HAPPENED TO AS WELL.

View Details

AIR BAGS

11/26/2017 - RUTLAND, VT
TAKATA RECALL POSSIBILITY OF DANGER DUE TO DEFECTIVE EQUIPMENT TO DRIVER AND PASSENGERS

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 72
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds