Auto Recalls for Consumers

HONDA ODYSSEY - 2004 HONDA ODYSSEY Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Honda (American Honda Motor Co.)

There are 553 complaints filed for the 2004 HONDA ODYSSEY

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2004 HONDA ODYSSEY. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2004 HONDA ODYSSEY, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (101) Exterior Lighting (7) Other (2) Service Brakes Hydraulic (6) Traction Control System (2)
Child Seat (2) Fuel Propulsion System (7) Power Train (219) Steering (12) Unknown Or Other (15)
Electrical System (49) Fuel System Gasoline (13) Seat Belts (14) Structure (55) Vehicle Speed Control (22)
Engine (47) Fuel System Other (2) Seats (20) Suspension (5) Visibility (6)
Engine And Engine Cooling (22) Interior Lighting (1) Service Brakes (7) Tires (11) Wheels (1)
Equipment (2) Latches Locks Linkages (24)

Pages:  
<<  44  45  46  47  48  49  50  51  ... 51
 
ComplaintDescription

POWER TRAIN: AUTOMATIC TRANSMISSION

10/18/2004 - NASHVILLE, TN
MULTIPLE FAILURES. BRAKES PROBLEM, TRANSMISSION, ROUGH IDLE & ENGINE SURGING, STEERING COLUMN CONTROLS AND OTHERS. THE AUTOMATIC DOOR WOULD NOT OPEN OR CLOSE, THE TRANSMISSION DID NOT SHIFT PROPERLY AND THE DEALER WAS UNABLE TO DUPLICATE THE PROBLEM. THE BRAKE PEDAL SHUTTERED, THE BRAKES WOULD CATCH WITHOUT BEING APPLIED. THE CONSUMER WAS TOLD THE STEERING COLUMN CONTROL SWITCH HAD A SHORT, HOWEVER THE NEXT DAY THE HORN HONKED AND THERE WAS AN ODD NOISE IN THE STEERING COLUMN AND THE INTERIOR LIGHTS FLASHED MULTIPLE TIMES.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

10/17/2004 - WASHINGTON, IL
WHEN DRIVING AROUND 60 MPH ON THE HIGHWAY OUR 2004 HONDA ODYSSEY BEGAN TO ACCELERATE ON ITS OWN LIKE SOMEONE PUSHED THE ACCELERATOR ALL THE WAY TO THE FLOOR AND HELD IT TO THE FLOOR. THIS CONSTANT ACCELERATION ALMOST CAUSED AN ACCIDENT AS WE WERE FORCED TO WEAVE AROUND IN TRAFFIC UNTIL WE COULD PULL OVER TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD WHERE THE ACCELERATION CONTINUED AND WE FOUGHT THE VAN WITH THE BRAKES ON UNTIL WE COULD SHUT THE ENGINE OFF. WHEN RESTARTING THE ENGINE IN PARK, THE ENGINE CONTINUED TO REV AT REDLINE LEVELS. TURNED THE ENGINE OFF AND ON AGAIN A COUPLE OF TIMES AS IT CONTINUED TO BE REVVING AT RED LINE LEVELS. EVENTUALLY AFTER SLAMMING ON THE ACCELERATOR SEVERAL TIMES, THE ENGINE IDLED AT NORMAL LEVELS. THIS WAS A VERY FRIGHTENING EXPERIENCE IN A LIGHT TRAFFIC AND COULD HAVE BEEN DISASTROUS IN MODERATE OR HEAVY TRAFFIC - ESPECIALLY SINCE WE HAVE 4 KIDS.

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, OTHER: DELIVERY: FUEL PUMP

10/14/2004 - MERRICK, NY
THE CONSUMER RECEIVED A RECALL NOTICE(04V420000) FOR THE FUEL PUMP NO PARTS WERE AVAILABLE.

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE: DELIVERY: FUEL PUMP

10/13/2004 - CEDARHURST, NY
NHTSA RECALL 04V420000 SUBJECT: FUEL PUMP. NO PARTS AVAILABLE UNTIL DECEMBER 21, 2004.

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE: DELIVERY: FUEL PUMP

10/12/2004 - STATEN ISLAND, NY
NHTSA RECALL 04V420000 SUBJECT: FUEL PUMP. NO PARTS AVAILABLE UNTIL JANUARY 25, 2005.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY: DOOR: HINGE AND ATTACHMENTS

9/29/2004 - FAIRLAWN, OH
I OWN A 2004 HONDA ODESSEY. I WAS OUTSIDE THE VEHICLE AND OPENING THE PASSENGER DOOR, WHICH IS AUTOMATIC. MY 2 YEAR-OLD LEANED AGAINST THE OUTSIDE OF THE VAN AGAINST THE REAR PANEL AT THE SAME TIME THAT THE AUTOMATIC REAR DOOR WAS OPENING. SHE BECAME LODGED BETWEEN THE DOOR AND THE VAN. THE REVERSE MECHANISM ON THE DOOR DID NOT OPERATE (OR DOESN'T EXIST) AND I HAD TO MANUALLY PULL THE DOOR OFF HER AND DISLODGE HER FROM BETWEEN THE DOOR AND VAN. I REPORTED THE INCIDENT TO HONDA AND THEY INDICATED THAT THEY HAVE HAD 10 OTHER REPORTS THUS FAR. MY DAUGHTER DID NOT SUFFER A SERIOUS INJURY. HOWEVER, I FEEL THE POTENTIAL EXISTS FOR SERIOUS INJURY TO A CHILD IN THIS MANNER.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC: POWER ASSIST

9/27/2004 - NORTH DARTMOUTH, MA
WHILE APPLYING PRESSURE ON THE BRAKE PEDAL TO REDUCE THE SPEED BECAUSE THE TRAFFIC WAS SLOWING DOWN VEHICLE IN FRONT OF ME STOPPED ABRUPTLY. I APPLIED MORE AND MORE PRESSURE ON THE BRAKES, AND NOTHING HAPPENED. VEHICLE WAS NOT STOPPING ANY FASTER. I DID NOT PUMP THE BRAKES SINCE ODYSSEY HAS ABS AND THEY DID NOT KICK IN THOUGH I APPLIED A LOT OF PRESSURE ON THE BRAKES. I COLLIDED WITH THE VEHICLE IN FRONT OF ME AND AIRBAGS DID NOT DEPLOY. PRIOR TO THIS INCIDENT I WAS ABLE TO STOP THE CAR FASTER.

View Details

POWER TRAIN: AUTOMATIC TRANSMISSION

9/21/2004 - EAST SYRACUSE, NY
A RECALL WAS ISSUED FOR THE TRANSMISSION SECOND GEAR SET. CONSUMER STATED THAT THE DEALER WILL NOT HAVE THE REPAIR KIT UNTIL NOVEMBER 28,2004.

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, OTHER: DELIVERY: FUEL PUMP

9/21/2004 - DYSART, IA
DAILY MY 2004 ODYSSEY WILL STALL. THE ENGINE WILL START, RUN FOR ONE SECOND, THEN SHUT OFF. THIS WILL OCCUR FOR ONE MINUTE TO ONE HOUR. IT FIRST OCCURED WHEN THE VAN HAD THREE HUNDRED MILES ON ITS ODOMETER. IT HAS BEEN INTO THE DEALERSHIP FOUR TIMES, BUT THEY TELL ME IT CANNOT BE FIXED UNLESS IT ACTS UP AT THE DEALERSHIP. THEY ALSO TOLD ME THAT I AM PRESSING ON THE FOOTFEET AND FLOODING THE VAN. LASTLY, THEY TOLD ME TO HOLD THE KEY TWO SECONDS AFTER THE VAN STARTS-EVEN THOUGH THIS WILL WEAR OUT THE STARTER. NO DEATHS OR INJURIES HAVE OCCURED DUE TO THIS, JUST A RUINED VACATION AND MANY TIMES OF BEING STRANDED WITH A BRAND NEW VEHICLE THAT WILL NOT START. IT HAS NEVER BEEN EXAMINED BY ANYONE AT A DEALERSHIP-THE SERVICE ADVISER WOULD ALWAYS SEND ME AWAY WITHOUT HAVING A TECHNICIAN LOOK AT IT.

View Details

SEATS: MID/REAR ASSEMBLY

8/30/2004 - AGUA DULCE, CA
WHILE CONSUMER WAS ENTERING INSIDE OF THE VEHICLE PLACING THE CHILD ON THE SECOND ROW SEAT THE SEAT SNAPPED BACKWARDS AND HIT THE CHILD. THIS CAUSED THE CHILD TO HIT THE FLOOR OF THE VEHICLE. NO INJURIES REPORTED. CONSUMER TOOK VEHICLE TO THE DEALER FOR INSPECTION, AND MECHANIC CLAIMED THAT THE VEHICLE WAS OPERATING AS DESIGNED. MECHANIC INFORMED CONSUMER THAT THE SEAT SPRING LEVER WAS TOO FORCEFUL AND NEEDED TO BE REPLACED.

View Details
Pages:  <<  44  45  46  47  48  49  50  51  ... 51
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds