Auto Recalls for Consumers

HONDA ODYSSEY - 2004 HONDA ODYSSEY Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Honda (American Honda Motor Co.)

There are 540 complaints filed for the 2004 HONDA ODYSSEY

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2004 HONDA ODYSSEY. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2004 HONDA ODYSSEY, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (98) Exterior Lighting (7) Other (2) Service Brakes Hydraulic (6) Traction Control System (2)
Child Seat (2) Fuel Propulsion System (7) Power Train (214) Steering (11) Unknown Or Other (15)
Electrical System (48) Fuel System Gasoline (13) Seat Belts (14) Structure (54) Vehicle Speed Control (22)
Engine (46) Fuel System Other (2) Seats (19) Suspension (5) Visibility (6)
Engine And Engine Cooling (22) Interior Lighting (1) Service Brakes (7) Tires (11) Wheels (1)
Equipment (2) Latches Locks Linkages (23)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 50
 
ComplaintDescription

AIR BAGS

3/5/2016 - CANTON, GA
I'VE BEEN A LOYAL HONDA CUSTOMER FOR 20 YEARS BUT WILL NEVER PURCHASE A VEHICLE AGAIN FROM HENNESSEY HONDA. WE RECEIVED A RECALL SAYING MY AIRBAGS CAN ARBITRARILY DEPLOY. WITH 2 LITTLE CHILDREN, THIS IS DISTURBING TO ME. I CALL SATURDAY MORNING RIGHT AFTER I GET NOTICE (HENNESSEY HONDA) I'M TOLD TO CALL MONDAY THROUGH FRIDAY AND NO ONE CAN HELP ME ON THE WEEKEND. I STATE THAT I WORK AND THAT IS DIFFICULT TO DO AND DON'T THEY A SERVICE CENTER OPEN ON THE WEEKENDS TO FIX IT AND SHE SAID NO. I REITERATE THAT SOMEONE NEEDS TO INFORM ME IF THE REPLACEMENT PART IS AVAILABLE AND THERE'S A DEFECTIVE POTENTIALLY HARMFUL AIRBAG IN MY CAR. THAT'S WHEN THINGS TAKE A TURN FOR THE WORSE. ED MILLER GETS ON THE PHONE FROM THE SERVICE CENTER AND SAYS THEY REFUSE TO FIX IT ON THE WEEKEND. I STATE I WORK AND HAVE 2 SMALL CHILDREN IN WHICH I'M CONCERNED ABOUT THEIR SAFETY AND THAT MY JOB IS NOT FLEXIBLE AND I CAN'T TAKE OFF, CAN'T THEY PLEASE FIX IT ON THE WEEKEND. áWE ARE ABOUT TO TAKE A LONG TRIP TOO! áHE RUDELY AND CONDENSENDINGLY SAYS A LOT OF OUR CLIENTS HAVE KIDS AND JOBS AND ARE STILL ABLE TO DO IT DURING THE WEEK, IF YOU CAN'T THEN TO FIND ANOTHER DELARSHIP (THE NEXT IS OVER AN HOUR AWAY) I SAY IN TEARS AT THIS POINT, CAN I PLEASE SPEAK TO YOUR MANAGER. áHE PROCEEDS TO LIE AND SAY HAVE ABSOULTELY NO MANAGER. áI QUESTION THE VALIDITY OF THAT AND HE REITERATES THEY HAVE NO SERVICE MANAGER AND NO DEALERSHIP MANAGER. I'VE HONESTLY NEVER BEEN TREATED SO BAD BY SOMEONE IN MY ENTIRE LIFE. áI DON'T EVEN KNOW WHAT TO SAY, I'M HONESTLY IN SHOCK, I DON'T KNOW WHAT'S WRONG WITH THIS GUY BUT THAT WAS THE MEANEST I'VE EVER BEEN TREATED. WE BROUGHT A BRAND NEW SUV FROM THIS DEALERSHIP A YEAR AGO AND ALWAYS USE THEM FOR SERVICE. TO TALK TO ANYONE LIKE THAT IS SO AWFUL. THEY ARE REFUSING TO FIX IT DURING HOURS I'M NOT AT WORK, DOESNT THAT VIOLATE SOME SAFETY LAWS?????

View Details

POWER TRAIN

2/3/2016 - CANTON, GA
I STOPPED AT A STOP SIGN, THEN TURNED RIGHT AND PRESSED THE GAS TO ACCELERATE. THE VAN THEN SHUDDERED VIOLENTLY AND THE WHEELS COMPLETELY SEIZED UP. I COULD NOT DRIVE OR CONTROL THE VEHICLE. THE VAN SKIDDED TO A STOP IN THE MIDDLE OF THE ROAD. IT WAS COMPLETELY LOCKED UP AND WOULD NOT GO INTO ANY GEAR, INCLUDING NEUTRAL OR REVERSE. I HAD MY FAMILY EXIT THE VAN BUT HAD TO LEAVE THE VAN IN THE ROAD. LUCKILY, THE POLICE SHOWED UP QUICKLY TO MAKE SURE THAT THE VAN WASN'T HIT. THE VEHICLE HAD TO BE WINCHED ONTO A FLAT BED TOW TRUCK AS THE TIRES WERE COMPLETELY LOCKED UP.

View Details

AIR BAGS

2/1/2016 - FREMONT, CA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2004 HONDA ODYSSEY. THE CONTACT RECEIVED NOTIFICATION OF NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 15V045000 (AIR BAGS) HOWEVER, THE PART TO DO THE REPAIR WAS UNAVAILABLE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE MANUFACTURER EXCEEDED A REASONABLE AMOUNT OF TIME FOR THE RECALL REPAIR. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE ISSUE. THE CONTACT HAD NOT EXPERIENCED A FAILURE. VIN TOOL CONFIRMS PARTS NOT AVAILABLE.

View Details

AIR BAGS

1/26/2016 - HOUSTON, TX
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2004 HONDA ODYSSEY. THE CONTACT RECEIVED NOTIFICATION OF NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 15V045000 (AIR BAGS); HOWEVER, THE PART TO DO THE REPAIR WAS UNAVAILABLE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE MANUFACTURER EXCEEDED A REASONABLE AMOUNT OF TIME FOR THE RECALL REPAIR. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE ISSUE. THE CONTACT HAD NOT EXPERIENCED A FAILURE. VIN TOOL CONFIRMS PARTS NOT AVAILABLE.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

12/30/2015 - AUBURN, CA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2004 HONDA ODYSSEY. WHILE THE VEHICLE WAS PARKED IN THE GARAGE, A STRONG FUEL ODOR WAS PRESENT WITHOUT WARNING. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 250,000.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

12/15/2015 - FORTWORTH, TX
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2004 HONDA ODYSSEY. WHILE BACKING INTO THE DRIVEWAY, THE VEHICLE MADE AN ABNORMAL NOISE AND ACCELERATED BACKWARDS. THE CONTACT SHIFTED INTO DRIVE AND THE VEHICLE CONTINUED TO ACCELERATE. THE CONTACT ATTEMPTED TO ENGAGE THE BRAKES; HOWEVER, THE BRAKES FAILED AND THE VEHICLE CRASHED INTO A PARKED VEHICLE. THE AIR BAGS DEPLOYED AND CAUGHT FIRE. THE CONTACT SUFFERED INJURIES TO THE HANDS AND EYES, WHICH REQUIRED MEDICAL ATTENTION. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO THE DEALER, BUT WAS NOT REPAIRED. A POLICE REPORT WAS FILED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 70,000.

View Details

AIR BAGS

12/15/2015 - FORTWORTH, TX
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2004 HONDA ODYSSEY. WHILE BACKING INTO THE DRIVEWAY, THE VEHICLE MADE AN ABNORMAL NOISE AND ACCELERATED BACKWARDS. THE CONTACT SHIFTED INTO DRIVE AND THE VEHICLE CONTINUED TO ACCELERATE. THE CONTACT ATTEMPTED TO ENGAGE THE BRAKES; HOWEVER, THE BRAKES FAILED AND THE VEHICLE CRASHED INTO A PARKED VEHICLE. THE AIR BAGS DEPLOYED AND CAUGHT FIRE. THE CONTACT SUFFERED INJURIES TO THE HANDS AND EYES, WHICH REQUIRED MEDICAL ATTENTION. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO THE DEALER, BUT WAS NOT REPAIRED. A POLICE REPORT WAS FILED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 70,000.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

12/15/2015 - FORTWORTH, TX
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2004 HONDA ODYSSEY. WHILE BACKING INTO THE DRIVEWAY, THE VEHICLE MADE AN ABNORMAL NOISE AND ACCELERATED BACKWARDS. THE CONTACT SHIFTED INTO DRIVE AND THE VEHICLE CONTINUED TO ACCELERATE. THE CONTACT ATTEMPTED TO ENGAGE THE BRAKES; HOWEVER, THE BRAKES FAILED AND THE VEHICLE CRASHED INTO A PARKED VEHICLE. THE AIR BAGS DEPLOYED AND CAUGHT FIRE. THE CONTACT SUFFERED INJURIES TO THE HANDS AND EYES, WHICH REQUIRED MEDICAL ATTENTION. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO THE DEALER, BUT WAS NOT REPAIRED. A POLICE REPORT WAS FILED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 70,000.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

12/15/2015 - FORTWORTH, TX
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2004 HONDA ODYSSEY. WHILE SHIFTING THE VEHICLE IN REVERSE, IT MADE AN ABNORMAL NOSE AND BEGAN TO ACCELERATE BACKWARDS. THE CONTACT SHIFTED GEARS TO DRIVE AND THE VEHICLE CONTINUED TO ACCELERATE FORWARD. THE CONTACT WAS ABLE TO STOP THE VEHICLE. THE CONTACT TOOK THE VEHICLE TO THE DEALER, BUT THE DIAGNOSTIC RESULTS WERE UNKNOWN. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED, BUT THE FAILURE RECURRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS UNKNOWN.

View Details

AIR BAGS

12/11/2015 - PORTLAND, OR
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2004 HONDA ODYSSEY. THE CONTACT RECEIVED NOTIFICATION OF NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 15V045000 (AIR BAGS) HOWEVER, THE PART TO DO THE REPAIR WAS UNAVAILABLE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE MANUFACTURER EXCEEDED A REASONABLE AMOUNT OF TIME FOR THE RECALL REPAIR. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE ISSUE. THE CONTACT HAD NOT EXPERIENCED A FAILURE. VIN TOOL CONFIRMS PARTS NOT AVAILABLE.

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 50
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds