Auto Recalls for Consumers

HONDA REBEL - 2004 HONDA REBEL Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by HONDA

There are 15 complaints filed for the 2004 HONDA REBEL

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2004 HONDA REBEL. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2004 HONDA REBEL, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Engine And Engine Cooling (1) Exterior Lighting (1) Power Train (16)

Pages:  1 
 
ComplaintDescription

POWER TRAIN

6/28/2009 - LOWELLVILLE, OH
2004 HONDA REBEL MOTORCYCLE. BOUGHT NEW IN 2003 IT IS A 2004 MODEL. IT HAS 1400 MILES ON IT AND THE CLUTCH IS SLIPPING SEVERELY. I THINK HONDA SHOULD BE HELD ACCOUNTABLE FOR THE REPLACEMENT OF THESE DEFECTIVE PARTS.THE CLUTCH ASSEMBLY HAS TO BE REPLACED.

View Details

POWER TRAIN: MANUAL TRANSMISSION

5/13/2009 - CEDAR RAPIDS, IA
I HAVE A 2004 HONDA 250CC REBEL MOTORCYCLE. IT HAS HAD SOME PROBLEMS GETTING IT INTO NEUTRAL OR FIRST GEAR SINCE I BOUGHT IT IN 2004. THEN I STARTED HAVING PROBLEMS IN 2008 SHIFTING INTO LOWER GEARS WHILE IN TRAFFIC. THIS CAUSED TRAFFIC TIE-UPS DUE TO THE LACK OF BEING ABLE TO PROPERLY START IN TRAFFIC NEARLY CAUSING AN ACCIDENT. THIS HAS HAPPENED MORE THAN ONCE. I HAVE TAKEN IT TO A HONDA REPAIR SHOP IN MAY 2009 AND THEY SAID THAT ALL PARTS ARE IN SPEC. BUT ADMITTED THAT THEY ALSO HAD PROBLEMS GETTING THE BIKE IN NEUTRAL AND THAT IT WAS HARD TO SHIFT. THEY SAID THAT THEY COULD DO NOTHING MORE FOR ME. I HAVE SEEN MANY COMPLAINTS ABOUT THIS ISSUE ON THE INTERNET WITH ONLY 500 TO 8,000 MILES ON THE ODOMETER. MINE IS NOW HAVING MAJOR SLIPPING PROBLEMS WITH ONLY UNDER 7,000 MILES. WHILE TRYING TO ACCELERATE, THE CLUTCH SLIPS AND I CAN NOT GAIN SPEED TO KEEP UP WITH TRAFFIC. IT APPEARS THAT I NOW HAVE A BIKE THAT IS TOO DANGEROUS TO RIDE WITH NO HOPE OF ANYONE WILLING TO FIX IT CAN YOU PLEASE INVESTIGATE THIS PROBLEM AND LET ME KNOW WHAT I CAN DO?

View Details

POWER TRAIN

5/13/2009 - CEDAR RAPIDS, IA
I HAVE A 2004 HONDA 250CC REBEL MOTORCYCLE. IT HAS HAD SOME PROBLEMS GETTING IT INTO NEUTRAL OR FIRST GEAR SINCE I BOUGHT IT IN 2004. THEN I STARTED HAVING PROBLEMS IN 2008 SHIFTING INTO LOWER GEARS WHILE IN TRAFFIC. THIS CAUSED TRAFFIC TIE-UPS DUE TO THE LACK OF BEING ABLE TO PROPERLY START IN TRAFFIC NEARLY CAUSING AN ACCIDENT. THIS HAS HAPPENED MORE THAN ONCE. I HAVE TAKEN IT TO A HONDA REPAIR SHOP IN MAY 2009 AND THEY SAID THAT ALL PARTS ARE IN SPEC. BUT ADMITTED THAT THEY ALSO HAD PROBLEMS GETTING THE BIKE IN NEUTRAL AND THAT IT WAS HARD TO SHIFT. THEY SAID THAT THEY COULD DO NOTHING MORE FOR ME. I HAVE SEEN MANY COMPLAINTS ABOUT THIS ISSUE ON THE INTERNET WITH ONLY 500 TO 8,000 MILES ON THE ODOMETER. MINE IS NOW HAVING MAJOR SLIPPING PROBLEMS WITH ONLY UNDER 7,000 MILES. WHILE TRYING TO ACCELERATE, THE CLUTCH SLIPS AND I CAN NOT GAIN SPEED TO KEEP UP WITH TRAFFIC. IT APPEARS THAT I NOW HAVE A BIKE THAT IS TOO DANGEROUS TO RIDE WITH NO HOPE OF ANYONE WILLING TO FIX IT CAN YOU PLEASE INVESTIGATE THIS PROBLEM AND LET ME KNOW WHAT I CAN DO?

View Details

POWER TRAIN: DRIVELINE

2/24/2009 - FREDERICTON NB, 00
CLUTCH FAILURE AT 711KM TOTAL MILEAGE.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

2/23/2009 - KINGSTON, NS, 00
WHILE DRIVING MY HONDA REBEL 250, 2004. IT STOPPED PICKING UP SPEED. I COULD NOT SHIFT GEARS.

View Details

POWER TRAIN: MANUAL TRANSMISSION

8/15/2008 - LOUISVILLE, KY
CLUTCH SLIPPAGE AFTER JUST 3,000 MILES. I HAVE DRIVEN A MANUAL TRANS BEFORE BUT NEVER HAVE I EXPERIENCED A CLUTCH GO OUT SO SOON.

View Details

POWER TRAIN: CLUTCH ASSEMBLY

11/6/2007 - MESA, AZ
MY 04 REBAL 250, BOUGHT USED WITH 1,500 MILES ON IT HAS LIKED TO SLIP FROM 2ND GEAR TO FIRST. I HAVE JUST REACHED 8,000 MILES ON MY BIKE AND NOW THE CLUTCH HAD FAILED. I HAVE BEEN RIDING FOR YEARS AND HAVE NEVER SEEN A CLUTCH FAIL LIKE THIS IN SUCH A SHORT TIME FRAME. THAT INCLUDES HARD RIDDEN AND ABUSED DIRT BIKES THAT I OWNED FOR YEARS BEFORE EVER REPLACING A CLUTCH PLATE. I HAVE TAKEN THE BIKE TO THE DEALERSHIP A FEW TIMES ABOUT THE MATTER, THEY HAVE GIVEN IT AN OIL CHANGE TWICE -- I THINK JUST TO GET ME TO LEAVE. AN OIL CHANGE DOES MAKE IT BETTER BUT ONLY FOR A WEEK OR SO.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

11/6/2007 - MESA, AZ
MY 04 REBAL 250, BOUGHT USED WITH 1,500 MILES ON IT HAS LIKED TO SLIP FROM 2ND GEAR TO FIRST. I HAVE JUST REACHED 8,000 MILES ON MY BIKE AND NOW THE CLUTCH HAD FAILED. I HAVE BEEN RIDING FOR YEARS AND HAVE NEVER SEEN A CLUTCH FAIL LIKE THIS IN SUCH A SHORT TIME FRAME. THAT INCLUDES HARD RIDDEN AND ABUSED DIRT BIKES THAT I OWNED FOR YEARS BEFORE EVER REPLACING A CLUTCH PLATE. I HAVE TAKEN THE BIKE TO THE DEALERSHIP A FEW TIMES ABOUT THE MATTER, THEY HAVE GIVEN IT AN OIL CHANGE TWICE -- I THINK JUST TO GET ME TO LEAVE. AN OIL CHANGE DOES MAKE IT BETTER BUT ONLY FOR A WEEK OR SO.

View Details

POWER TRAIN: CLUTCH ASSEMBLY

6/12/2007 - GLADSTONE, OR
I PURCHASED A USED 2004 HONDA REBEL MOTORCYCLE 2 YEARS AGO USED. I HAVE ONLY ADDED ABOUT 400 MILES TO IT FOR A TOTAL OF 1,700 MILES. THE CLUTCH STARTED SLIPPING THE OTHER DAY AND BARELY MOVES. THIS IS VERY PREMATURE FOR ANY VEHICLE.

View Details

POWER TRAIN: CLUTCH ASSEMBLY

3/3/2006 - BRYAN, TX
I BOUGHT A 2004 HONDA REBEL 250 NEW AND AT 500 MILES THE CLUTCH BEGAN TO SLIP. I RETURNED THE BIKE TO THE DEALER AND THEY AGREED TO REPLACE THE CLUTCH, BUT SAID IT WAS NOT NORMALLY COVERED UNDER THE WARRANTY, BUT AGREED TO DO IT ANYWAY. NOW AT 5,000 MILES THE CLUTCH HAS BEGAN TO SLIP AGAIN. THE DEALER SAY'S THAT THEY WILL NOT COVER IT UNDER WARRANTY. I FIND IT PRETTY HARD TO BELIEVE THAT THE CLUTCH HAS NATURALLY WORN AT ONLY 4,500 MILES LATER. A FRIEND OF MINE BOUGHT A DIFFERENT MODEL FROM HONDA AT THE SAME TIME AND HAS TWICE THE MILES I HAVE ON HIS BIKE AND HAS HAD NO PROBLEMS WITH ANYTHING. AFTER DOING SOME RESEARCH ON THE WEB I HAVE FOUND SEVERAL OTHER PEOPLE ENCOUNTERING THE SAME PROBLEM I AM HAVING. THERE HAS TO BE A MANUFACTURES DEFECT IN THE CLUTCH ASSEMBLY CAUSING THEM TO PREMATURELY FAIL.

View Details
Pages:  1 
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds